Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort 3 stars

Hildmannplatz 5, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#53 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2790 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows can be a bit more comfortable.

    We stayed at a top floor room in the annex building: Room was very clean with all mentioned amenities available. Bed is comfortable. Receptionist (Danny) was courteous and helpful. Hotel is a few minutes away from city center on foot, yet in a quiet area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't have the room ready and they still have me the keys. Then cleaners came into the room while I was there. And they didn't even clean it properly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the fact that we had to pay an additional cost for our two adult daughters sharing our room with us. It was the same room, and no breakfast is provided. If they had been under 18, we would not have had to pay anything additional. Same room, same beds. This did not make sense. What were we paying extra for?

    Excellent location! Very close( five minute walk) to the old town of Salzburg. Helpful staff. Very nice, bright room with two big windows! I would definitely stay here again if I was just travelling with my husband.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flat pillows although quite large Having to ask for equipment on arrival. Should've been in room already before release. Kettle, knives/forks

    The bed size Terrace with views of hillside Kitchenette Layout

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive. Simple less expensive offering would be good.

    Quiet, clean location close to old city. Easy walk through tunnel to main attractions, restaurants etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annex rooms provide no security, shower stall slippery, was not informed of free parking on street and paid 16€ to park in garage

    Walking distance to the city center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Proximity to the old city. Staff were super helpful, everything is walkable and there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel. The room was comfortable but a bit smaller than what we thought. Altogether a nice hotel in perfect for tourists.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad location, on the opposite side to the city's main attractions. You have to cross a long tunnel to access those. I didn't like that my credit card was charged before my stay. Conversion rates are too bad and there is 6% tax in my country.

    Fair price, spacious room, good shower. Good service at the front desk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Travelled with friends and we were all thrilled with the hotel and its excellent location to the old town of Salzburg. Great value for money would highly recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much , wish nice rest, around.

    Nice spot hiding behind the rock/ tunnel, but if you going to town work 25, by the river quite uncontrollable by the tunnel by night, view homeless people around .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Everything was correct. We had a suite with a terrace, which we enjoyed very much. The AC was great, 2 aircondition controllers (1 for the bedroom, 1 for the kitchenette and the living room. ) Anything extra those we needed we got them (extra pillow, cable etc). Altough there was a concruction site near to the building it wasn't disturbing, because of the soundproof. The busstop was just 1 minute from the hotel, so we didn't need to go through the tunnel. To buy day tickets for the public transport gave us the comfort to go anywhere (3,80 Eur/day). If we return to Salzburg (it was in the city our 3 time) we'll stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a quiet room, perfect first night. Second night a family with children had 2 rooms - children running up and down hall, playing tennis! Same early morning. What kind of parents allow this when others trying to sleep - disgraceful!

    Staff were lovely, really easy walking distance to old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing in terms of facilities. No coffee maker/ kettle, water, charging adapter. These were easily available at other properties of our stay. It wasn't a value for money. Being a big property, didn't meet the expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an issue with hot water supply, We received an excuse, the maintenance works were ongoing at time we left. No big issue, the hotel handled the problem professionally.

    Location, spacious room, clean, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This venue wasn't anything to rave about in itself, but that was fine considering that none of our time was spent in the room outside of sleeping and showers. The hotel is situated right in the middle of everything and is walking distance from most of the attractions worth seeing. If all you plan to do is sleep and shower in the hotel, this location is perfect. All of the attractions are a 10-15min walk away, the parking available at the location is convenient(there are two garages available for parking), food options are abundant in the surrounding areas and most of those options are not overly expensive(read: majority of the options are affordable). If we go to Salzburg again, we will definitely stay at this location again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the breakfast was included on the reservation, but i did not check it.

    The location are pretty good. The room was really cleaned and very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is very basic. My expectations were higher because of high booking.com score and price for night as in very good hotels. Wi-fi connection is unstable, you need to log-in every 3-5 minutes.

    Location is good, only one stop or 5-10 walk from the city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room was clean and comfortable. It is easy to reach from airport and to city center. You should buy 24 h travel card if you stay a day in Salzburg. (Buying tickets from ticket machines is cheaper than buying from driver)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were terrible, way to soft, felt like there wasn't one there. Asked for extra pillows and they were delivered though. Fridge in room didn't work, we asked for it to be fixed but wasn't. Air conditioning is centrally controlled and too warm so had to open the window which wasn't a big deal as it was at the rear of the building, probably would have been an issue if room was at the front though!

    Bed comfortable, shower strong, room very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is actually out of the way from the old town of Salzburg, you have to go through a tunnel...and walk. No good restaurant around. Hotel doesn’t have kitchen to give option room service meal. Front desk are not very helpful and tend to give justvshort answer if we ask questions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Size of the room could be a little bit bigger for the family with kids stay.

    The stuff was more than supportive. Location is good, 10 min max walking to the center of the city and most of attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here many times over the years and this was our first negative experience. We were given two rooms on the ground floor of their second building. The rooms were a little dated but had good WiFi. Our biggest concern was that this was not a secure building. Anyone could come from the street up to the room door or enter the patio. In addition to the poor security, the price increase no longer makes this our first choice for Salzburg.

    The location of this hotel can not be beaten. You can park your car at the hotel and then take a short walk to the pedestrian zone of the old city. Excellent WiFi service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was very odd. As we tried to park in garage there is a sign listing you have to check in first. Had to move someone behind us out and back out and find parking. Then when checking in no way to actually enter or leave parking area without a staff member looking for you and opening gate.

    Very close to old town. Great location. Staff was friendly and helpful in finding places and things to do. They reviewed the city card which for us worked out nicely. Was great we could buy from them directly. Room is on the smaller side.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great and the family room definitely had enough room for an extra baby bed besides the two full beds. The hotel is a 5min walk from the old town. It was also very convenient to have a safe parking space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For breakfast there was two coffee making machines. One had a sign on it “Out of Order” The other one was able to produce two cup of coffee, but after that only hot water. It seems like it run out of coffee beans and nobody was in charge to refill. Also the waitress who collected the empty dishes was such kind of rude and should not be used on that duty. It was really embarrassing.

    Like the location, functional room and the privat parking garage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good location - just behind the rock Munchsberg, exceptional breakfast, comfortable room. Ideal hotel for a trip to see the city and suroundings.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful and friendly staff - happy to answer queries and provide us with extra pillows when requested. Clean, comfortable and big hotel room with plenty of space for suitcases. Nice shower and basic toiletries provided. We stayed in February when it was close to -10 so the room was lovely and warm. Really close to the old town centre - so great for a short stay in Salzburg. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that comes to my mind.

    The hotel really exceeded my expectations. I booked at the last minute and I got it. location is excellent, busstop is just opposite to the hotel. View from the room was mesmerizing, and also views from the top floor. I reached a hour early and got an early check in without any hassle. Staffs are really friendly and helpful. Next morning I was late for breakfast, they allowed me to have it and even waited for me to finish it. They cleared and closed after we left. When I visit Salzburg in future this is the place I would look for at first.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchenette was not very well equipped for self catering. Microwave but no coffee maker.not a problem as we drink tea but apparently a water boiler was missing and we had to boil the water in mugs in the microwave.we did not intend to do much cooking but still found the kitchen inadequate.

    Proximity to the old town within walking distance. Spar grocery store within a couple of blocks. Rooms very warm and cosy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived before the rooms were officially ready and the staff gave us the room in advance because it was ready. Parking was possible in the own parking space of the hotel. The location is absolutely perfect and It took only couple of minutes to reach the old town. I do not have anything bad to say of this hotel. Parking fee was 16 euros per day and the duration was also rather flexible.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was a little warm and the bathroom was like an echo chamber...

    Great location. Staff really were excellent. Parking was very close by (though not part of the main property.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved to have been able to make a cup of tea somewhere - it costs as much as a beer in a cafe. Breakfast was excellent value and great variety.

    Loved the spotlights making for easy reading in bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fist minutes of our arrival destroyed the general expectation of the hotel. We met Albina on check-in, who was extremely rude and unprofessional (I have never experienced such service in any hotel). She was not willing to answer to some simple questions, like how and where to park, etc.. And the way how she talked with us was out of any comments. I wish I would never met her again. Then we entered the room and in towels and the shower I found somebody's long hair. Pillows were poor and extremely not comfortable. Blankets had black stains (I hope that it is not because of bed bugs.) This place is definitely overpriced!

    hard to find anything I liked. Maybe only the location was close enough to the center, although there is everything is close anyway.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed and pillow are too soft

    great location (just a few minutes walk to old town), easy to find (get the obus no. 1 and get off at station "Reichenhaller Straße", the hotel is just opposite the bus stop), tidy room with balcony, nice and helpful staffs

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing especially bad which should be mentioned if person doesn't expect the 5-star quality and facilities in the hotel.

    If book this hotel it should be taken into account that it is a normal chain hotel of the average quality and price of the same hotel level of the chain. So everything met my expectations and the description of the hotel is fair. The breakfast is quite enough, not delicious but quite bellenced for different tastes. The location is fine, just 5 min by walk from the city centre through the tunnel. The staff was polite and helpful, multy national and speaking lotsof languages. As well the parking garage with easy access was quite comfortable to get in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the bathroom lights was not working.

    Very helpful staff and great breakfast. We were provided with extra set of pillows. Short walking distance to the old town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Room and bathroom are small - Not enough hooks to hang clothes in the bathroom. A bit inconvenient - There is only one elevator and in the morning during breakfast time we waited at least 4 rounds to finally manage to get in as it was too crowded

    - Front desk staff was helpful. We had an accident when trying to get into the parking garage and the staff helped us to report it to the police and get it sorted out. Really thankful for that and I am terribly sorry for the trouble/damage caused. - Location is close to the old town (10 mins slow walk max), yet still quiet enough at night. - Two restaurants right next to the property

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A coffee maker in the room would have been nice. Also, I would have liked some hand towels. Only bath towel size were provided.

    The location of the hotel was great, only a short walk to all of the major sights (through the pedestrian tunnel which brings you to the other side by the horse wash). The hotel is a quick and easy taxi ride to/from the train station. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room faced the rear of the hotel and was extremely quiet (it overlooked the neighborhood and faced the hill). Both the room and bathroom were very clean. The decor of the room was simple but functional. The free wifi worked very well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small parking, but expected from a hotel next to the city center Basic room, no AC plugs next to the bed Our room had a leaky shower

    Good location, next to the city center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping could be better. We had our room cleaned once and they neglected to leave enough towels, didn't replace the drinking glasses or shampoo/soap and tissues. Basic housekeeping standards seem to be lacking. Garbage cans were tiny and overflowed quickly. Although in the stated policy, the upcharges on the number of people in the room based on ages were expensive as it really doesn't change anything in terms of extra work for the staff.

    The proximity to Old Town Salzburg is excellent. Parking was adequate. Desk staff is helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Staff was super-super friendly! We traveled with our 2 dogs and they even gave us a room with a little terrace, they really treated us quite well! Place is on right downtown, but you can walk pretty easy and comfy under the mountain to get there. It's also only a €12 ride from train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would love a kettle and cups in the room for a cup of tea.

    The staff were more than helpful with dietary requirements and anything else I needed. Many thanks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room wasn't as clean as we would have liked it when we first arrived. However, the issues were raised with the staff on the desk and it was dealt with the following morning.

    We love the hotel and enjoy stopping here. If there is any issues, the staff are always on hand to get the issues sorted. The location is central and perfect for sight seeing. Close to shops and other amenities, the Star Inn is great value for money. It has optional breakfast and a choice of annex rooms or rooms in the main building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit far from central train station so we had to take a taxi

    I only stayed one night, so cant say much 1- Staff were nice 2- location is good as it is close to city center 3- the rooms are clean 4- WIFI was ok , not super strong but OK

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I need to ask the reception before entering the garage. Entering door before the room was very hard and my daughter had some problem with it so please take care of your kids.

    Nice Breakfast, Great Colleagues

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our check-in host was extra friendly. He provided very useful information about local eateries and attractions. We would love to stay here again. The hotel was walking distance to the old city center and the fortress, which was on our list of attractions to visit - very convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really good place, convenient to take buses to old city, 1 and 22 directly to train station, to downtown on foot around 10 minutes, their staff is nice, I recommend it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress is not comfortable, no kettle, room is dark

    Very good location, next to the tunnel, a few minutes walk to city center. Parking is available at the hotel and costs for 16 per day, need to reserve, don’t know how come booking.com doesn’t have such information. We first parked at the garage outside the hotel, €8 for 1.5 hours, very expensive. Some cars just parked on the street, seems free. Hotel facility is old, but clean. Room is super warm, need to open the window and turn off the heater. There is a fridge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved how close to old town it is , easy 10 minute walk to Christmas markets just through the tunnel . 5 klms from airport . We didn’t even use hop on hop off buses as we found we could walk that’s with an 8 yo and 75 yo. No problems.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/coffee making facilities in the room would be good. A minor problem on a couple of occasions with new room key system, but not a big issue. At peak times limited space for breakfast.

    Great location, excellent staff, proficient rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was locked with no interfon. You had to go to the reception to ask to let you in, but I had to pay 15Euro per day. The beds were unconfortable. Pillows also. I was waking during night with pain and had to walk arround the room to relax the muscles.

    The surrounding and the fact that the hotel is near the center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were a bit uncomfortable.

    The Location was easy to get direct on a bus from the train station. Access to Old town was a nice 10 minute walk through the well lit and busy pedestrian tunnel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioner is tuned up centrally and you can`t actually choose the temerature in the room. During the night the temperature was OK but in the morning the room was cold which was very unpleasant.

    Perfect location and friendly staff. Our room was spacious enough as well the terrace. The clenliness is immaculate however this refers generally to all the accommodation in Austria.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    nice location and for commuters is accessible and just near at the center area and tourist spots and just one ride going to the train station.The Staffs are friendly and very helpful.And the place location is also safe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    We liked our two night stay at hotel. Room was very good and bed was comfortable. Hotel is very quiet. Front staff courteous and helpful. Location of hotel is very good and old town is at walk able distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I seen a lot of staff during my stay, I stayed for 6 nights. Some were helpful, others no so. Always seemed to be a lot going on around reception with a number of staff at a time 4/5 and you were left waiting to be acknowledged. Whether is was a training week, I'm not sure. The weekend of 16th, 17th of Sept there was a young man and woman on and they were extremely nice and lovely to deal with but unfortunately I didn't get there names. Age wise only in their twenties, their customer service was second to none.

    Cleanliness was excellent. Location for Salzburg City excellent. I only booked room only so I can't comment on the food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO LAUNDRY! I guess travelers are suppose to wear dirty clothes or wash by hand! This stinks and is not that unusual in Europe from what I'm told. So with that in mind, there is a Spar grocery store down the street where you can buy a bottle of laundry soap and wash in your sink. Get your bottled water there too. They charge a high price for breakfast which is limited and should be included. Cheaper place in the hotel across the street.

    Good hotel as far as chains go, everything was satisfactory, great inexpensive Chinese restaurant across the street. Good Italian restaurant 3 or 4 blocks down the street very busy/ popular place. And once again some very attractive desk clerks, but you don't want to hear about that.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    The hotel is great located for visiting all the beautiful things that Salzburg has to offer We felt at home and among friend with the most helpful staff Most recommend without any reservations

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was expensive so chose not to have it.

    Good location, friendly staff. Whilst no car park on site there was a huge car park one minute away so no issues.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the option of booking two joined rooms for our family. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. The location is great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff were exceptional. The receptionist gave us lots of insider information on the best places to visit. And the evening receptionist Sophia was very friendly. Staff are a credit to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The refrigerator was too small. There was no coffee or tea or water boiler. There are no toiletrees and there were very few outlets to plug in I-phones, laptops etc.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a nuisance having to log back into wifi twice or sometimes more often each day!! For some inexplicable reason there was a large stone column just behind the door in my room? It was incongruous and seemed a waste of space and could potentially be dangerous in the dark ..,

    Spotlessly clean; good location about 5/10 minutes' walk from the Old Town; breakfast was an extra €13 a day but choice and quality were good. The bed was wonderfully comfortable, which was great after long days walking and exploring.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    To keep costs down, the Star Inn doesn't put lots of small extras in the room. That means it charges a refundable deposit any time it lends you something. €20 for a card to access the garage so they don't need to buzz you in every time you enter or exit? €20 to lend you a corkscrew? Kind of ridiculous! And the staff really do need to learn their own policies and procedures rather better—they were confused about whether I needed to show my credit card on check-in, or check-out given that I'd booked on booking.com.

    Location, location, location. The Star Inn is just on the other side of the castle hill from the the Festival theatres in the Altstadt, easily reached by a pedestrian tunnel. But because it's not actually IN the mediaeval Altstadt, it's much more easily accessible by car. And much better value for money. We chose a room in the Annex, which had the advantage of a terrace and greenery, as well as direct access to the underground garage.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing, or perhaps only a rather small lift, not very suitable for more people with luggages

    Location, close to the centre and public transport, modern property, friendly staff, breakfast. My room was quiet and had a nice view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get the clothes pressed before the performance, only one ironing kit available for all hotel guests which is under huge demand

    Parking always available, tidy conditioned rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I was in the room I felt like I was sitting in the middle of a highway. The road noise was terrible. It was loud all day long.

    Price was reasonable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A coffee machine in the hall or the breakfast room might be nice, where you can get coffee around the clock, like other hotels do offer it

    The rooms are well furnished, bright, clean, the location is great, very close to the Salzburg Festival, the bus stop is just opposite the door, the staff is very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to get to the property because our train was delayed for 3 hours and we came in later than expected. No place to ask how to get to our property.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scattered rooms for my family. We reserved 2 rooms although they were in the same corridor but they should be closed to each other without requesting this for families .

    The location and the parking (16 euro per night)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice quiet place, easy to reach the sights. We were walking distance from everything. Easy to find hotel. Parking underground at site. Well marked. Love this location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities. The room Air conditioner never worked for 2 days and it was 28 to 30 degrees outside. The staff and manager did nothing about it and made it out as if it was our fault. Very poor customer experience. Place is avoidable.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Albina at the front desk made all the difference... She was committed to delivering world-class five-star service throughout the stay. She is a true asset to this hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel tried to charge us extra per night for our 13 year old even though the booking was pre-booked and pre-paid through Booking.com!

    The location was great, very quiet spot, just a short walk through the tunnel and you were in the old town. The hotel let us check in abit earlier at 2.30pm and they were happy to mind our bags until we were able to check in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked a little shelf in the shower and a table lamp on the desk area.

    Location is perfect to walk into Salzburg's Altstadt. I was worried about having to walk through a tunnel, but there is a separated pedestrian walkway well lit and friendly, even at night. Even to walk to Domplatz, it is not too far from Star Inn. Air conditioning worked very well (was there in July heat wave). was on street side but didn't think noise was out of line, windows were easy to open and close.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: