Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Imlauer & Bräu 4 stars

Rainerstraße 12-14, Altstadt, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#43 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1844 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways were dark and cramped and did not have an inviting feel to them at all. I felt like I was going into a parking garage. It didn't appear that any staff were on duty during the evening and night.

    The bed was comfortable. The price was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad about the stay, but nothing overly spectacular (except for the food).

    Rooms were adequate. Location was about a 10 minute walk to the train station, and 5 minutes to the Mirabellplatz (in the other direction). We ate at the restaurant, which was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful in assisting me with directions. I only stayed one night, but would return again if the opportunity arises!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed wasn't that comfortable. Shower had plentiful hot water and good pressure but was awkward and cramped.

    Totally decent. It's not in the old part of town but it's very close. It has the feeling of a hotel that has recently had a nice facelift. I don't know if I would stay there again as it's pretty bare bones, but it was perfect for our 36 hours in Salzburg.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only breakfast option is 15 euro buffet.... hard to eat enough food to justify the price.

    Well equipped hotel, across the river from old town, easy 10 minute walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe a view? Should have asked for it.

    The stay was as expected, the only drawback with the room was ,the window looked into a wall.Other tan that, everything was as expected, short distance from the train station,food at the restaurant excellent, room and bathroom very clean and personnel very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing other than it was a bit bland. Shower holder was broken.

    Comfortable and spacious room, good location near centre, good A/C, decent WiFi. Nothing exceptional but decent all round. Nice bathroom. Tea and coffee provided in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was two single mattresses in a frame which created a large gap in the middle; not very comfortable.

    Staff was very helpful and we were able to store our bags until our departure later in the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast cost not included in the room rate

    Breakfast and dinning was very expensive, far above average. Quality of food and service of the restaurant was above average just way too expensive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist is very helpful, polite, and welcome. They give us city maps and tell us how to reach some place and which bus stop near the hotel. They help us to book reservations for concert. The room is clean and comfortable. Its located near train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering it’s not the the core of the old city, price could have been a little lower but still I was quite happy with the quality to price ratio.

    The room was very spacious, staff was extremely friendly and the breakfast in the restaurant is well worth it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom - showerhead not fixed, difficult to take a shower! Shower glass door dangerous to open. Unfriendly arrogant reception on arrival (especially the older lady). Car park problems even confirmed that we can park in front (so informed during check in), later called us that we have to move the car; however other people could stay for the whole period (several days). No apologies or whatsoever, just very rude talking to us and we speak German too! Only the gentleman at check out was friendly and helpful. otherwise during our entire 3 nights stay, font desk never greeted us, we felt not welcome at all.

    Nice clean rooms room and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly I was delighted with the hotel.

    Good twin beds which we separate as I was travelling with my 25 year old son. The receptionist was delightful. Room and bathroom were spotless.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, it was great. About 15mins walk to old town, but we'd specifically chosen location nearer to the station on this occasion.

    The staff were welcoming & helpful and room comfortable and clean. Travelling solo with my son is was great to have an armchair and tea-making facilities in the room for once he was asleep in the evening. Location not too far from the train station suited us as it was walking distance even with 3 heavy cases. The bar/restaurant is lovely and breakfast was great, lots of choice. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I suppose a bar at night with a good choice would have been an added bonus.

    Breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice and having coffee and tea available all day was an added bonus. I would highly recomend this hotel to ojthers, and i would go back again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't really like the service at the hotel's restaurant. The waiters don't treat us seriously and threw plates on our table when we requested for one. Food was nice but the waiters kinda spoiled the whole ambience.

    The room and staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel sometimes looks a bit run-down - some cracks on the floor, stains and dots on the walls etc. It needs "cosmetic" repairs. And I met ants in my room:) Huge amount! They said it was seasonal - every spring the ants wake up and get into several rooms, which have balcony doors to the terrace.

    Location is quite good - just 10 min on foot from the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not found the telephone number of the reception in the room. We had to make a call from external line!

    Clean and spacious room. Good breakfast, kind staff. Close to central station and city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints Best experience ever! Too bad my trip to Salzburg was short (

    Breakfast and service was way above and beyond!!! Excellent location: 6 min walking to train station and about 15 min to the old Town. Room was big, so was a bathroom. Bed was very comfortable; and there was a teakettle! (very important to me:) since I love my tea. Staff was very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ice machine, had to go to restaurant to get and they weren't friendly. No fan and couldn't turn off heat, was told to open window...

    Convenient location, 10 minute walk to train station. Loved the staff very helpful! Couldn't ask for better

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind of far from restaurants.

    The staff were really nice. They gave me guidance about the city transportation and many more. I came back to check-out late and they didn’t mind at all. Thanks! Also, the towel heater was really new!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator is older and looks worn but is perfectly functional

    - Excellent location, very close to sightseeing. We reached our first tourist destination in 5 minutes walking. - Very clean. - When I will visit again Salzburg, I will try to stay in this hotel (hope to find place)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were very hard and the room was over-hot, with no ability to control the temp of the room. The windows opened, but then it was noisy as its next to a railway line. The child's bed was very close to the door, and all the hallway sounds could be heard through the door, which the little one wasn't a huge fan of.

    The location is excellent though, for bus routes, walking to the old town via the Mirabell gardens and across one of the river bridges and it is a couple of mins walk from the central station. The restaurant was v friendly and accommodating, if a little pricey. Fab cafe opposite for breakfast. The room had the feel of a suite with the children's bed away from the adults'. Bathroom was v clean and had a full sized bath shower - always a plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very large room, nice decorations and style, large bathroom; Tea and coffee making kit in the room. very comfortable bed. great breakfast with good variety. Very good restaurant on the spot. Great location, close to Mirabell platz and the train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were on road side although it was weekend so quiet anyway

    Very clean & with lent if room for cases etc in room. Rooms ready on arrival which was great as we were early

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small details... The furniture and decorations of the room seem not the best quality although decent. The view is not as good on pictures.

    Breakfast really good. Big TV. Warm. Good sound insulation despite the railway.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and the bed extra comfy. The hotel's location is excellent - really close to the railway station and the central bus station as well as the city center and a 24h supermarket.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with the toilet during my stay. The staff was very helpful about it, but it hasn't been solved on the first try. The room was a bit warm with no chance to regulate the heating.

    Convenient location. Great breakfast with a very big choice. The room was nice and there's a bathtub. City plan offered. Late checkout is convenient. The windows have very good insulation, no noise from the nearby tracks come through.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the window of our room was not so inspirational: the wall of the other building. The breakfast has not a lot of options and kind of poor for this amount of money. You can easily get better breakfast for the same amount in the any other cafe. The water stream in the shower is quite weak.

    The location of the hotel is quite comfortable: 10 minutes from the railway station and 15 minutes to the center. The room is really clean and the bed is comfortable to sleep. It is also worth to admit that this hotel has good soundproofing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Dirty 2. Price 3. Didn't received "one-bed" as promised during the booking. Upon arrival to hotel and asking for a room with one bed , instead of "twins" we received, personal agreed to change, but they didn't have us e new room, they put two beds together. Also, nobody bothered giving us single big blanket. 4. Blankets are small. Get ready to get cold at night if you move even a little during the sleep. 5. It was cold in the room, and there was no way to heat the place, room had only air conditioning. 6. Bathroom is equiped only with soap. 7. For water to heat up it takes time, around 3-5 mins.

    Spacious

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Guests felt a little uncared for in presentation. The hotel staff were friendly, yet the floors always looked quite messy with a transparency to all the daily work carried out such as laundry and cleaning which took a little of the charm away.

    The hotel is perfectly situated for tours. (200m from the tour operators and main pick up place - for those Sound of Music fans). Rooms was a good size.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy...doors slamming in the hall.

    Easy walking to and from train station. Easy walking to the Old Town. Nice restaurants in the area especially My Indigo.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Location is perfect near to everything central station the old city and all restaurants - staff super friendly - room was great - highly recommended

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were very happy a few more on site facilities might have been welcome but everything worked well with our friends and the children.

    We were pleasantly surprised, advice was to stay away from the station but we found the location very convenient and the walk to the old town simple and it gave perspective to the old town. This made it easy to decide where to go and how to get there by being able to see where you wanted to go rather than use a street map. Food in the Hotel and the service very good and made for a wonderful atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not very close to the old town where you end up spending a lot of time on a trip to Salzburg. The room is considerably smaller with single beds and from what we were told all the rooms at the hotel had single beds. It is not value for money.

    It is very close to the main train station and is very clean. There is no noise from the passing trains.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff always had a smile for us. The location is very good, only a 10-15 minute walk from the old town center and 5 minutes by taxi from the train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only negatives: - Breakfast is only served until 10am (bit hard with jetlag and the sun rising at 8:30, we didn't make it down until 9:30) so we went to Cup&Cino across the road avery morning - opens at 8 and does a good value breakfast. - Like other hotels, we book for a double bed - it's actually two singles pushed together so there is a crack in the middle - A bit inconsistent with touristy advice... When asked if Untersberg cable car was open, the first reception man one night said 'no' with no explanation about why... We asked again another morning to be told 'yes it is, take the 25 bus in, it closes at 5 etc'. We caught the bus out there and it is indeed closed for renovations - the website says this in dutch (hence why we couldn't read it).

    This was easily one of the best hotels we stayed in during our 3-week Europe trip. Key things that were great: - Location is a 10-15 minute walk to old town and you get great views of the city from the side of the river that the hotel is location on - Beds are comfortable, great pillows and the temperature is good - quite warm sometimes but windows easily opened out - Tea and coffee supplies are much appreciated, really cool kettle with temperature settings - Spacious big rooms and bathrooms, loads of room for bags and toiletries - It has a bath and great shower, awesome hairdryer as well - Good value and an easy walking trip to the train station and a short taxi trip from the airport

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not comfortable , looking more suitable for business trips. Although the room looked renewed the toilet appeared such old style instead.

    The Location is perfect to visit the city center and the staff is very kind and prepared .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is very good - near to the train station and to old town. You can just walk! It is super convenient. However just a caution to people who are sensitive to noise, you can hear the train passing by but it is tolerable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little bit of a walk to the old town but near Mirabell Garden..with kids, the walk can be a challenge when it's cold and raining

    Comfortable beds, good room size, nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been good to have a safe or a 'do not disturb' option just for added precaution, since it became apparent that the turn-down service staff accessed the room in our absence.

    Front desk staff were friendly and helped us get tickets to the Sound of Music tour. We thought the hotel location would have been in a bit more central location to the downtown - which would have been nicer, but it was a very convenient distance from the train station - so that was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, lovely staff. Had dinner at the restuarant (would recommend booking in advance), it was fantastic and very well priced traditional Austrian food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a little bit small, but acceptable.

    Good Location, Only 8-10 Minutes walk from Salzburg HBF and a further 15 Minutes walk to city centre and most of attractions. The Check-In girl with blonde hair was so sweet and warm-hearted, we felt so welcomed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In our beds was some hairs. We had a room near the Railway and this was really bad thing :/

    Hotel is really nice, room was clean and the staff was really friendly :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All accommodations were perfect!

    Both location and staff are tops! A few minutes from train station and near Panorama Tours! Quiet! Clean! Polite! We will stay again in our return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just had 2 issues, the staff telling us about things to do were not answering all our questions they seemed a bit laid back since we were tourist and unaware about the discounts on carda they didn't mention about the salzburgh card or any places of interest to visit. The refill in the wasgroom of shampoo and hand soaps were not made. This was something not at big issue for us as we had carried our shampoo.

    The hotel was simply amazing. We enjoyed our stay, the room and the washroom was big with all facilities in the room.The breakfast was excellent and the staff at the restaurant were really sweet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think I have placed above as to what we didn't like.

    The hotel location was great! The room advertised as one full/queen bed, with a sofa bed, and a additional bed would be placed in the room without an additional charge. Instead we had the full/queen, the single bed that was placed there and what I guess they was advertising as a sofa bed was in reality two little cushions that we had to place on the floor that my child could not sleep on so she was cramped in the bed with her sibling. The room was small and sleeping arrangements were uncomfortable. We would of changed hotels if we thought we could get our money back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some English language channels on the television. More teabags in the room.

    Excellent breakfast, great location for river walks and exploring the old town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have free parking

    Great location clean room and compy bed. RESTAURANT ATTACHED great place to eat. Easy access to parking and sites

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor is a bit dated but I guess that goes with the character & vintage of the property and this in NO way was any impediment to a very comfortable & pleasant stay.

    It is a very cozy & family-friendly place to stay. The room that we stayed in was spacious & with lots of natural light and view of mountain. In fact during check-in, the reception staff showed us 2 rooms, at different floors, and asked us for our preference! While the room was being prepared, we took the opportunity to try the in-house restaurant/beer-garden, and the food & service were excellent. The property is conveniently located in proximity to the train & bus station, and this meant moving around was very easy. The hotel staff provided us with good tips about places to see and helped us with taxi when we wanted one. The staff was friendly & helpful throughout & especially nice to the children. Will look forward to go back to beautiful Salzburg and stay at this property again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the moment I checked-in, I felt welcome since the reservations staff were always smiling and accommodating! When I requested for my train ticket to be printed, it was done immediately! The room is very comfortable and spacious for the price I paid. The hotel's location is very central since its walkable to the must-see attractions of Salzburg. Its also walking distance to the main train station. I highly recommend Hotel Imlauer & Bräu to anyone who will come to Salzburg. To the reservations group of the hotel, thank you very much!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hallways were a little dingy. Lots of housekeeping stuff stored in the hall outside the elevator. A big rug on the floor and a console table would go a long way to make it look nicer and more inviting.

    Very nice staff. Treated my dog and I very nicely. Clean room. very good A/C. good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was swill Room temperature was too hot and customer cannot control it When I asked for recommendations staff knew none except their own restaurant and the hop on hop off tour

    Room too warm. They set the air conditioning temperature.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy housekeepers early in the morning: a lot of banging and loud talking. It was not very nice to be woken up that way - esp. when on vacation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were glad that the large windows, which faced east, were equipped with blackout curtains. Unfortunately, the curtains weren't large enough to cover the windows completely. The clothes cabinet drawers and doors are designed in such a way that they're difficult to use without slamming and making a lot of noise. Breakfast was good, but didn't seem good enough to justify 13 Euros/day/person. Guests who ask for a quiet room (as we did) shouldn't be put next to the elevator (as we were). Thoughtless people will talk loudly while they wait for the elevator.

    The room was clean and nicely decorated. We also appreciated the very large windows (but blackout curtains were too small). The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed chatting with them. The location, a short walk from the train station, is excellent if you use the train. It's also a short walk to the river, from which you have spectacular views of the Old City. Some travelers might prefer to stay in or nearer the Old City, but this hotel is undoubtedly quieter.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could have some nice amenities and the AC could cool the room better.

    Excellent location, the staff was amazing and happy to help with anything we needed and the restaurant downstairs is by far the best one we found in Salzburg.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The good experience of accomdation bring additonal good feeling for the beautiful city. It is difficulty to find out any bad points about this hotel. Of course, I hope I could get lower price if I visit here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff was very rude. Upon arrival they checked us into the "old wing" which was dilapidated and had old smelly towels. Even the bed linen was old and had bed bugs. We stayed for three days. The house keeping was really bad. We had two rooms and they didn't clean one room completely. Left the towels on floor and never cleaned the dust bins. Nor did they replace our coffee/tea sachets. When checking out we even told the reception manager about our bad experience as Salzburg was beautiful but our euro trip was ruined because of the bad rooms and facilities. The manager just ignored and never replied to our comments which was very rude! The new wing must be nice as the only reason I booked this hotel was because of the good reviews on booking.com but our personal experience was really really bad! Smelly rooms and bad dirty towels and linen. Iv always had a great experience with booking.com but this hotel ruined it for me.

    The location was very near to the train station as well as walking distance from Old town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ticks all the boxes for the right place to stay.

    Everything was beyond our expectations. Extremely helpful staff, good food, great location, easy in and out plus on site parking. This is where you want to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    The hotel is walking distance from the old town and on the main street. The staff was very friendly and the family room was extremely comfortable and clean. The hotel has a very good restaurant with a good offering of food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room does not have enough floor space for two suitcases without putting them where you need to walk.

    Short flat walk to train station, bus stop, and old town area. Good restaurant on site with lovely outdoor area under big trees, good food and service. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a tad too far from old city centre,

    The room is very spacious. Bed is very comfortable. Imaluer Skybar Restaurant serves fantastic food. Must try.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we were given as a couple was a disaster The size of a shoebox would make a compliment to the shoe box. Such a room can be given to a family with four people, where the young children can be accommodated, but not to adults. The management of the hotel should give serious consideration to whom they allocate their rooms (36, 46, 56, 66etc), since these rooms hardly contribute to the good reputation of the hotel

    I booked this hotel because of its location. Close to the train station and walking distance to the Altstadt. The garden restaurant was very charming, the food delicious and the staff very attentive.We spent a lovely afternoon and stayed until quite late at night and were happy in every aspect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing not to like. Al good.

    On arrival, there was a very friendly welcome by reception staff. The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast had a good selection to choose from. Location is only about a 10 minute walk from the main train station and is about 350 metres from Mirabell Platz which is a Sound of Music location and starting point for bus day trips. Hotel Imlauer and Brau is highly recommended for a great place to stay in the beautiful city of Salzburg.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location near the station and just 5 mins walk from Mirabella Palace, 15 from old city. Very pleasant area. Great reception - we were allocated a room very early and given all sorts of useful tourist information to look through including directions to the sights. Room was a good size and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a good location - a 5 minute walk to Mirabell Platz, and another 10-15 minute walk to Alt Stadt. The rooms were a good size and very clean. The air conditioning worked perfectly. We chose this hotel because it has a/c in the rooms, and we definitely needed it as temps were in the mid-80s Fahrenheit. We didn't do breakfast at the hotel, so I don't know whether it's worth the 13 €.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The Staff was very kind and very pleasant and went out of there way to help us as my wife is very ill we stayed in a lot with no trouble at all. We had our meals there and thay was very good for the money.The 2end best stay that we have had.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping could have doe a bit better. First day, my bathroom counters were not cleaned. It seemed to improve in the following days.

    The camaraderie of guests and staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed the selection in their breakfast buffet. There is also carafe of hot coffee on each table. The location was excellent because it was near the train station and the old town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was overpriced, especially as we had a family room with a pull out bed that filled all the available space - the kids had to climb onto the bed from the foot-end to get in and to pull the curtains. To make matters worse, the receptionist wrongly informed me that we could either park on the side street or in their car park. I chose the former and got a 25 euro parking ticket. Only when l complained was l told that all Salzburg is metered parking and that l should have bought a ticket. I told them that l was never advised of this and after some discussion, they waived the 14euro hotel car park fee and let me in for free. I would have begrudged paying 14euros on top of their room rate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The name of the hotel was well displayed but was incomplete ( only Brau) which created confusion. Neighbour hood did not guide properly. Room was much smaller then expected and the price level.

    Location; 7 minutes walk to the Train station , 3 minutes to the bus stop.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms could have been a little larger.

    The Hotel Imlauer was a great value. It had a lovely restaurant with an outside terrasse where we had drinks and could have eaten if we wanted to do so. The rooms were a little small for all our luggage, but the AC was good as were all the other amenities. I definitely would stay there again and recommend it to my friends.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location to the train station was a manageable six-block walk; most of the desk staff was very friendly and helpful (with the exception of one lady). Room was small but adequate. An added note: We left something important behind in the room (a bike helmet), and a week later, notified them of this. They still had it! So we arranged to pick it up since we were in the area. Many thanks to the hotel staff for holding onto it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was right on a Main Street but not near the sights of Salzburg. The facility needs updating cosmetically. Not exactly 4 star material.

    The hotel was very near the train station. We were able to walk there. The staff was very nice and helpful and competent. Good English. The rooms were clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing not to like.

    Excellent location. A short walk from the railway station, the Mirabell Palace and gardens, the old town and the meeting place for the majority of the tours. A good, varied selection of delights for breakfast which we ate in their terrace restaurant, sheltered from the sun by the canopy of sweet chestnut trees rather than by parasols that are commonly used these days. When we were there the temperature averaged 30 degrees C. The rooms have excellent air conditioning and soundproofing. Our room overlooked the street, but we were not disturbed by the traffic. Tea and coffee facilities, mini bar and safe provided in the room. Bathroom large and very clean. The staff were very friendly. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Imlauer & Bräu traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: