Reviews of Sun Valley - Wildschönau This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!
Bernauerweg, Auffach 211, 6313 Auffach, Austria

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Sunny Beach, Bulgaria
Buonconvento, Italy
Wrocław, Poland
Nice, France
Lybster, United Kingdom
Berlin, Germany
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Kose, Estonia
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1 and 10. To get the overall score you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of them. We use a weighted review system, which means the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. Guests can also give separate “subscores” in crucial areas like location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value, and free Wifi. Note that guests submit their subscores and overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an accommodation that you booked through our platform if you stayed there, or if you got to the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialize in detecting fake reviews submitted to our platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team so that our fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we'd publish every review we get, positive and negative. However, we won’t display any reviews that include or refer to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive info (e.g. emails, phone numbers, credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (i.e. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out. We may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old, or if the accommodation has a change of ownership.
An accommodation can reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (e.g. language, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). You can sort and/or filter them by time of year, review score, and more.
Sometimes we show external review scores from other well-known travel websites, but make it clear when we do this.
Guidelines and Standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly, without limiting expression or strong opinions. They're also applicable regardless of the comment's tone.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, or the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and other similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties, and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options might be available (by type of traveler, by score, etc...).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, and non-infringement.
Reviewed: July 30, 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewParking is available, which is convenient. The receptionist was friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious enough—not huge, but comfortable. While the furniture and renovations aren’t particularly modern, they’re acceptable. The small pool is a nice touch, and the surrounding nature is absolutely beautiful.
The location is quite remote. Getting there requires driving a steep, winding mountain road with multiple sharp 180-degree turns. There’s only one restaurant nearby, so dining options are very limited. Overall, it feels overpriced for what’s offered. Breakfast is included, but it’s very basic—just eggs, sausage, ham, some fruit, toast, muesli, and hot drinks. Nothing particularly special.
Reviewed: July 30, 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewVery clean and very nice staff, the pool was fun
We missed an AC in the rooms, but besides that it was great
Reviewed: April 30, 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewGood location. Excellent spa and swimming pool. Nice breakfast. Generally a nice hotel.
We arrived early and could not make check in system work. Owner said we would have to wait (I think 3 hours) if computer system didn't work. No suggestion about bags etc. Fortunately one of the cleaners was helpful and showed us a storage room so we could go into town and have some food without all our luggage. May be an English thing, but no kettles in rooms and hotel owner said we couldn't have boiling water after 9.30 in the morning. So no tea or coffee after 9.30. Also, again maybe an English thing, but the spa is naked only, which for English people on a family holiday may seem odd.
Thank you for your stay and your feedback, which was a bit surprising. Upon departure, "everything was great." There was no discussion about hot water. We offered to bring hot water in a thermos. Due to official regulations, kettles are not permitted in the room, except in the Superior Suite (kitchen). In addition to check-in starting at 2 p.m., we offer our guests self-check-in before this time so that guests arriving earlier and the room is already ready can check in independently. This is an additional service and not a restriction! You arrived around noon, and unfortunately, no reception staff were on site at that time. Self-check-in was possible at that time—we also informed you of this by phone. We would be happy to welcome you back to Sun Valley soon.
Thank you for your stay and your feedback, which was a bit surprising. Upon departure, "everything was great." There was no discussion about hot water. We offered to bring hot water in a thermos. Due to official regulations, kettl… Show more
Reviewed: February 28, 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewGreat Spa facilities. Fantastic Pool. Rooms were nice with decent beds.
No kettles in rooms and only after some discussion were we able to get a thermos flask to make tea and coffee after 9.30 in the morning. Otherwise, you will have to walk into town (10mins) to get a hot drink once the dinning area closes at 9.30. I think for English people this may seem odd, but maybe not for Austrian and Germans. We couldn't get the App to work when we arrived, which was 2 hours early, before we officially had the rooms. We spoke to the manager via phone and his solution was to just wait until reception opens in 2 hours (I was with a 12 year old and a 84 year old). Fortunately, one of the cleaners took pity on us and showed us where to store our bags, so we could walk into town (and get food and a hot drink) without carrying our suitcases with us.
Thank you for your stay and your feedback, which was a bit surprising. Upon departure, "everything was great." There was no discussion about hot water. We offered to bring hot water in a thermos. Due to official regulations, kettles are not permitted in the room, except in the Superior Suite (kitchen). In addition to check-in starting at 2 p.m., we offer our guests self-check-in before this time so that guests arriving earlier and the room is already ready can check in independently. This is an additional service and not a restriction! You arrived around noon, and unfortunately, no reception staff were on site at that time. Self-check-in was possible at that time—we also informed you of this by phone. We would be happy to welcome you back to Sun Valley soon.
Thank you for your stay and your feedback, which was a bit surprising. Upon departure, "everything was great." There was no discussion about hot water. We offered to bring hot water in a thermos. Due to official regulations, kettl… Show more
Reviewed: December 22, 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewBeautiful area, big room with beautiful view. Pool and wellness were Amazing! Each morning perfect breakfast. In case you have EV car, there is 11KW charging station.
Nothing
Reviewed: September 8, 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewWe liked this beautiful hotel and place very much. If in german schön mean nice or awesome, it is really nice. Quiet place, breathtaking views around, exceptional indoor-outdoor pool, the breakfast everything was awesome. Wish come back again next year, because we have August round trips to Alps every year. By the way, the Platzl restaurant 100 m away was also incredible.
Our stay was so short:)
Reviewed: September 4, 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewBeautiful location, super clean, very good breakfast, perfect facilities and lovely and kind staff! 10/10
Reviewed: August 11, 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: August 1, 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: July 23, 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: July 21, 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewGreat breakfast. Super clean. Wonderful town. Nice hosts.
They had a self check in feature that you could use through their app. I am not a fan of every little activity moving to apps that require log ins and passwords. But that was a minor issue.
Reviewed: July 20, 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: July 17, 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewBreakfast, pool, spa zone, stuff, ticket to gondola 😍
No kettle in the room
Reviewed: July 11, 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewNo A/C
Reviewed: June 22, 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: June 22, 2024 · Stayed in June 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: April 16, 2024 · Stayed in January 2024
Verified reviewAmbesten, alles war perfekt💙
Reviewed: March 29, 2024 · Stayed in March 2024
Verified reviewGreat sauna area and delicious breakfast.
Reviewed: March 17, 2024 · Stayed in January 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: February 27, 2024 · Stayed in January 2024
Verified reviewVery clean, excellent spa, and very good food
Reviewed: February 25, 2024 · Stayed in February 2024
Verified reviewVery friendly staff. The hotel was excellent tidy. Tasty breakfast with wide choice.
Everything was good.
Reviewed: February 22, 2024 · Stayed in February 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: February 8, 2024 · Stayed in January 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: February 1, 2024 · Stayed in January 2024
Verified reviewVery clean, cosy and friendly
Nothing
Reviewed: January 7, 2024 · Stayed in January 2024
Verified review