Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Altstadthotel Weisse Taube 4 stars

Kaigasse 9, Altstadt, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#25 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1247 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being an old building, it is not possible to air condition so in the hotter periods of the year the rooms heat up. A rather noisy pedestal fan is provided though.

    Very convenient location. Excellent check in and preliminary information. Old building. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had stayed there before and found the staff delightful This time we were disappointed by the receptionist who checked us in, who did his job but appeared to prefer being on his computer than dealing with the guests. However, the young women who was on duty the next day, more than made up for her surly colleague. The fact that there is only an electric fan in the room when temperatures outside are 30C and more, makes sleeping less restful than it might otherwise be.....

    The location is unbeatable! In the old part of the city (limited traffic!) within two minutes walk of all the „sights“! Parking available (at a reduced rate!) in the underground car park no more than two minutes walk from the hotel. The rooms were refurbished two years ago and show minimal signs of wear and tear.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot in the rooms even though it was not hot outside. One of our rooms had a portable fan to make it ok, but the other did not. The location in the pedestrian zone makes check-in a bit tricky, though it's a great area once you're in.

    Excellent, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is not easy to find. Parking garage should be included in price of stay because there is limited space to park. No air conditioning.

    Comfortable beds - excellent location within city center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con so it was too warm at night

    Location was excellent for old Salzburg but getting to the hotel with a car was a nightmare due to restricted access

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no soap nor shampoo provided at the bath tab. I have to get out of the tab to get the soap which is attached to the wall by the basin.

    A little cozy hotel which turns from an old building in old historical town center area of Salzburg. Salzburg Museum is just across the street and several other sites are in walking distance. The girl at the reception has the best smile ever seen and she is willing to answer all kind of questions. There are also several restaurants with different kinds of food. We enjoy nearby Mexican food and drinks at Irish pub. Very good buffet breakfast. Rooms are spotlessly clean and super comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioner though fan is available.

    Had a pleasant stay in this hotel. Located in walking distance to sightseeing spots and bus stops to go to airport/train station/Untersberg. Breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the heart of the old centre of Salzburg, the location is EXCELLENT. The hotel building is very old; my room was good but not excellent. The staff were great, and the breakfast (at additional cost) was also very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small; shower was tiny!! Lack of air con could make it intolerably hot in summer!

    Location was excellent; hotel and room nice and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were clean but basic for four stars, the room fridge literally only had 2 bottles of water and the tea-making facilities were in short supply and there was no milk, I’m sure we could have asked and received some but really shouldn’t have needed to. Breakfast eggs a little tough!

    Excellent central location with very friendly and helpful staff, quaint that they were dressed in National costume. Rooms were clean. The hotel was in good decorative order and I loved the chickens in the dining room!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It is a basic hotel with no air con but you are made aware of this prior to booking.

    The staff were excellent. They were efficient, friendly, spoke English and very helpful. The hotel is very clean. There is a lift. The hotel could not be more central with lots of places to eat and drink nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything!

    This is a very comfortable hotel! Given its location and price our expectations were not that high but the hotel greatly exceeded our expectations. It helped that we were upgraded to twin rooms but the beds were very comfortable and there was oodles of hot water for baths. The staff were very helpful and the location perfect - on a quiet street but moments walk from the Mozart Square and the old town. We had a very late check in after the reception was closed but had clear instructions and when we got in we had envelopes and instructions waiting for us. Wifi was free, no password and excvellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our rooms were towards the street, there were no conditioners in the room. We happened to be there during the hot days and honestly it was too warm. So, we needed to open the windows which obviously brought in some noise. However it did not spoil our night sleep.

    A very good location right in the centre of Salzburg, close to Mozart Birthplace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. Some things didn’t work like the phone.

    Eva is the most amazing g staff member. She went above and beyond her duty to help us my friend’s retrieval of her bad that had been lost by the airline.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be included in the price of the room.

    Location is spectacular in the heart of the old city. All the famous venues are steps away from the front door. Outstanding local restaurants and coffee shops are all nearby. The room we stayed in was well appointed and a good size by European standards. Coffee, tea, and a water heater all provided in room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Nothing at all.

    +The staff were very helpful. +Breakfast was great. +Location is the best, just a few steps away from the city center. +Room was enough for 3 adults. +The hotel was generally nice and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and shower cubicle difficult to get in and out. Lucky we were small to medium size people and managed for our short stay.

    Friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent. Room was nicely furnished and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both questions replayed to above

    The location of the Hotel, Having a hip replacment the room was not good, firstly step going into room then the shower was so small, being a small person I managed did tet the receptionist know on my first day the room was not suitable, coming home late of an evening I did not think letting myself in with an access card would be a problem but has you opened the entrance door there ware steps which again I did not feel it was a safe access, I did mention I had a hip replacment but thankfuly Im fully recovered and was walking 12.000 steps a day and have been doung so since a month after my operation,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lamp beside the bed was not suitable for reading in bed.

    The hotel was nice and quiet and there was no noise outside around the hotel. The bathroom was scrupulously clean. Breakfast was very wholesome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The size of the duvet was smaller than the bed and what I am used to, but the staff promptly offered a solution and provided an extra blanket.

    Very central location, a stone throw from the main attractions of the city, the hotel is an excellent place to stay and explore the city or as a base for work trips. The staff is very courteous and helpful, offering prompt and excellent response to any possible request. Nice sized single room with comfy bed, clean bathroom, and good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has a friendly, informal atmosphere but behind the scenes, attention to detail is rigorous . Facilities are comfortable as well as spotless. Staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast is delicious with a wide range of local, fresh produce. The location, in the middle of the Altstadt, could not have been better. Will certainly consider returning and happy to recommend this hotel to others.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets could have been a little cleaner.

    1. Great location. In the center of Old Town and just 2 min walk to Mozart Plaza. 2. Breakfast. Many choices and taste good too. 3. Fast WiFi, productive TV programs. 4. Room area was fairly good considering its price and location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom’s see through glass door

    Everything was perfect. The location is excellent, close to every important place in the city. The building was beautiful and unique. The reception was great , the workers there were extremely friendly. Breakfast was not only delicious but also beautifully set, the ladies working in the dining area were friendly and helpful with beautiful smiles. All in all the best experience I have ever had in a hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get milk/creamer with the tea and coffee in the room but it was too late to ask when we realised and this may have been an oversight. Parking may be a problem if travelling by car.

    The hotel is in an excellent location really close to the cathedral in the old town. Clean comfortable with good restaurants nearby

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Do not take much luggage and do not expect anyone to help you with your luggage or stroller etc down the little stars at the entrance or to your room. A small hotel with little lift and not many staff, you have to be patient which was ok since we were on holiday. The Italian Il Centro near the hotel is not friendly and food not good, hotel recommended but don't go, a better Italian further down road next to cinema is a better bet also with kids.

    The location was great for during this time of the year near Mozart square. The breakfast ladies are nice and I really liked their Austrian outfits. Loved the tips of the day at the breakfast table and the reception helped us with bookings. They have a high chair.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quite expensive for a small room. Take a taxi/bus from the train station - we walked from train station to the hotel - mistake. When we returned we took a taxi for about 10 Euro.

    Excellent location - especially during Christmas markets - 2min walk. Helpful staff - especially when asking for tour/attraction guidance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    This hotel is located just off Mozartplatz, which is a stone's throw from Hohensalzburg Fortess, the main shopping streets, Cathedral & Residenz quarter and 2 minutes from the river and major bus interchanges. It's a very old building with character, but with rooms furnished to high modern standards. Most hotels in this part of Salzburg are expensive to very expensive, but the Altstadthotel Weisse Taube is affordable, friendly and a great place to stay. It may not be as opulent as some of the others, but we couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room 29 windows were facing a small inner 'courtyard' or 'space' which created echo and amplified any sounds, for example, rain drops hitting metal roof or TV from an open window. Had to close the window. I didn't notice air conditioner, but staying in winter that was not a problem. Minibar was empty - perhaps some extra had to be paid for it.

    I haven't been in such a good hotel for a long time. In my room 29 bathroom equipment, bed, lights (see for yourself - you'll understand!) were new and very high quality. The staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good and tasty. Kitchen staff was very accommodating, e.g. asked if you wanted tea or coffee and would bring it for you. Location - Altstadt. Basically - was very satisfied and would stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I checked in, they gave me room 36 and it smells like there is died body inside when I first walked in. I opened the window ( it was cold) and it smells better but it comes back after I closed the window. I complained to front desk , the guy immediately changed room for me and it was much better room without smell.

    Friendly front desk

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant would have been good but not essential

    Location was 1st class whilst in quiet location. Parking is a short walk away but not an issue as hotel can be accessed on barriered road easily for off/on load of luggage. Would deffinitely use again and recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the hotel is located in the city center, there is paid parking. However, if you are a customer of the hotel, you are entitled to a discount.

    Clean room Good locality Good ratio price/locatily

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only flaw was that the bathroom door was frosted glass meaning there would not be enough privacy if friends were sharing (OK for husband and wife), but worse, either guest using the bathroom in the night floods the sleeping area with light. This could be fixed with a screen or conventional door. Other than that a perfect stay.

    Very authentic, local atmosphere and ambience, unlike the anonymous big chain hotels. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel is perfectly located. No view, but the room was quiet, warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked the only room on the site was a standard. It was no bigger than a closet by the elevator and dingy and worn out looking. We asked for another room and they accommodated us by upgrading to the delux standard. It was roomier and brighter. I would suggest staying there but not in a standard triple room the 3rd bed was a worn looking chair that flipped into a bed.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was great for visiting the Christmas market and the old town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a big negative, but, If you are driving, be aware that car access to the old town is limited. Be sure to read the directions on the web site for passing through the bollards which close it off. One must make contact with the hotel using a speaker at the barrier — all of which worked perfectly and promptly.

    Though there is no parking directly at the hotel (which is not unusual for the old town location), the staff was helpful in directing us to the various options. The breakfast and breakfast room were fine. With enough selection and plenty of tables. Our room was small, but had all the necessities. Same with the bathroom. Having an elevator was important for us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature control was a challenge. It was too hot and there was no sheet on the bed. Also the pillows were uncomfortable.

    Very good location with extremely helpful staff. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a thing.

    Loved the breakfast. We are tea drinkers, and the tea was wonderful. Loved the fruit, meats, juice, the people, the employees ( very nice). YES i WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PLACE.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was a bit rude and not very helpful with directions

    Great location room was roomy excellent shower head-good water pressure and large big enough for two people to get ready in the morning

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location, easy walk to the Hohensalzburg Fortress and the walking street. We stay only one night but had opportunity to visit almost all key attractions in Salzburg.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was about 5-7 min away. I can live with that considering it is the old town area. Front desk closes at 10:00 pm. Difficult to enter area after 9:30 due to road barriers that need a code from hotel.

    LOVED LOCATION; breakfast was great-lots of variety. Very kid friendly 😊helpfully made dinner reservations

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed frame supporting the mattress - it stuck out and we ended up putting pillows over the corners as we kept bumping our legs.

    It was very convenient to the old town, and the staff were very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative about the room is the shower which was too small and that made it difficult to move around in

    The room is much better than what's displayed in the pictures. Excellent service and location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you would like access to your car during your stay in Salzburg, DO NOT STAY HERE. Absolutely a pain to try to get to this hotel--it's located on a limited access street and you need a code to enter. Then you have to check in and offload your luggage and leave within a short period of time by using the same code. Then you have to park really far away and you have to pay every time you exit the garage. Seriously, this hotel was a really unremarkable for the cost and the trouble. Could have easily stayed at the Crown Plaza, not too far outside the old city, for the same cost with better amenities and parking. The staff sold us a number of tickets for tours including the hop-on-hop-off bus which wasn't even running properly that day because of a festival. Overall, I would not recommend at all despite its great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was a little bit of a walk but not too bad.

    The location was great and the breakfast was very good as well. There were a number of restaurants very close to the property which made finding a location for dinner very easy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Through Booking, terrible room; top floor; looked out window at wall; no heat; no a/c; very small; musty smelling carpet; Andreas very very rude to us; terrible

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    to go up my room which is located lv 5, I have to climb up 1 floor by stairs. so If you have much luggage, need to ask to arrange a room lower than Lv 4. If you have a car, need to ask pass-code at the terminal device of the barricade(This hotel is located in the Pedestrian area).

    Easy to access to the old city area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good position in old town to walk everywhere of interest. Room good and breakfast satisfactory. Especially liked pamphlet on breakfast table as it gave interesting titbits about Salzburg and places to visit. All staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is really a charming hotel. It has genuine character. We absolutely loved our stay. The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The location couldn't be better. We were there with our 9 and 11 year old children, but remembering what it was like when they were littler, I should add that the hotel is practically across the street from a series of large public squares, each of which has safe areas for little ones to run off all the energy that builds up in small hotel rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor point and probably not resolvable due to the nature of the building but the lift does not serve the top floor. Not a huge issue for us but it could be to less able guests.

    Well designed, modern room & bathroom....all spotlessly clean. Staff very efficient and friendly. Superb location in the heart of the old town. I would definitely stay here again and recommend highly to others.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nnothing...

    the hotel was in a good location...within walking distance to everything. the staff were very friendly and helpful. the rooms were good...clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a fan in the room tg but if not would have been very uncomfortable Rooms were quiet small Shower small

    We were room only. Lovely quaint hotel and good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was great for our family of four, with 2 connected areas and 2 double beds. The 14th century building was charming, the breakfast was bountiful and tasty, and the staff were extremely polite and helpful. They even let us leave our luggage there past checkout so we could continue sightseeing until the time we had to leave to drive back to Munich.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean the carpets!! They were dirty in most of the properties we stayed at. The room was quite small and no air conditioning. That made it very uncomfortable although there was a small fan. Also the bathroom had very little space to put things.

    Staff at the front desk very friendly but didn't make up for fact that there is no AC in the rooms. Breakfast was good, basically same breakfast we got at every hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was difficult to use the shower without getting water in the floor. However, considering how large and convenient the bathroom was, I still count it as a very good bathroom! It was easy to spread out our toiletries and the large tub was a joy to use.

    Our room was attractive, large, and exceptionally comfortable. Actually, it was one of the most comfortable rooms I stayed in during a three and a half week trip. The location of the hotel was excellent, and we were allowed to bring our car into the pedestrian zone when we checked in and checked out so that we could transfer our luggage. Discounted parking was provided in a garage very close by -- I believe that the walk only took around 5 minutes. The hotel provided a good breakfast, and the man at the front desk was helpful with restaurant suggestions and reservations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC , no fan in room. At night it was 30C in the room, no air circulation. I would not recommend staying here on the summer.

    Location was great. Hotel has no AC, no fan. I would not recommend it in the summer. We had one rainy day, staff had umbrellas ready for guests which was very thoughtful .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there when the weather was hot. The rooms do not have air-conditioning. They have electric fans in the rooms, however, we could not sleep well because we had our windows opened and the noise and rowdiness of the young adults eating and drinking from the restaurants nearby kept us awake.

    The property was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Reception in particular helped us book a tour which we decided on last minute. It also tried to help me identify a store, the name of which I could not remember. Hotel is convenient to everything, church, supermarket, shopping and the sights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was in the heart of the old city. We were provided with very accurate driving information prior to our arrival. All the main tourist sites were within an easy walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was extremely helpful and courteous! Willing to answer our myriad questions. The umbrellas were a nice touch to use on the one rainy evening we had.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was warm when we were there so it was a bit warm in the room. Once in the room for sleep with the window open and the fan on it was just fine!

    Location was superb!!!!! The hotel was immaculate, and the staff were very helpful with any questions we had. The beds were comfortable, and our bathroom, although small was perfect! We would return to this property if we ever return to Salzburg. Also, we will recommend this hotel to friends if they travel to Salzburg . The price was quite reasonable!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff member on arrival was very unhelpful, seemed to be preoccupied and failed to offer assistance with our bags The wifi was a hit and miss affair. It would cut out while being used and was completely unreliable. The response to our query on whether there was a problem was the usual "no one else has complained" and do nothing and certainly not follow up and give us any feedback. By the way this was the same staff member who welcomed us at the start. Breakfast was an interesting affair with staff members helping themselves to the wares from the serving area and then walking around carrying and eating the food.

    The location was perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi didn't work in our room for the entire stay, and the reception is close at night so I had to sit in the corridor and work. Our room was on the first floor, with the window right above the night entrance, where everyone's standing to smoke. Those were very warm nights, there's no AC in the room, and we couldn't open the window because of the noise and smoke.

    Great location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible room, stains on the rug, no A/C, loud fan in room, rooms so small you can bearly have 2 people in the room at 1 time. This wasn't old world charm, it is just old. They say they give you toiletries, but it is 1 bottle for body and hair,bring conditioner if you need it. Towels are so cheap, they are ruff and stiff, the kind you get from a gym. No staff after 10 pm you are on your own. If a problem, too bad call in the morning. No response when asking questions for over 24 hrs. The TV will only go up to 25 volume which is lower than the loud fan they put in room so you either sweat or watch TV This is not a hotel, it is a glorified hostel.

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a drag.

    The location: it's in the center of Old Town but on a quiet little street with restricted traffic. All of the receptionists were cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left an envelope with a substantial amount of money in my room accidentally. I called back and staff member Andreesen found the trash receptacle, went through it, found my money, and mailed it to me. Amazing integrity in this day and age!!! Thank you very much!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed two nights but one of the nights was Saturday and was very expensive - Euro 190. Though the room was comfortable, I can't say it is good value considering the price. Parking is far, 10-15 minutes walk.

    Location is good, 2 mintes walk to the Cathedral and main square. There is a very nice restaurant two doors down form the hotel. Hotel has elevator.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The limitation of the car access, and the price of parking

    We liked the sympathy of the ladies at the reception and at the breakfast. Also the placement inside the Old part of Salzburg, allowing all the visits by foot

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The new section is enormous and a bit impersonal in the corridor area. The restaurant was expensive and not great food.

    The modern fabulous room. Bonus was that the window opened!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The situation of the hotel is excellent in the old town. Easy access from the railway station and to the airport by bus. The breakfast was very good. The room on the third floor was quiet and the bed was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 4 star. It is just an Inn without any facilities. The staff try reasonably hard though you can see they're not given the correct directive from management/hotel chain. They don't go the extra mile. We were told to walk to Salzburg info when asked about transport. Only to come back and ask them to call us a taxi- it was unusual. This was not a language barrier but a lazy, I'm too busy, one. Turn your shower on 16 minutes before you want to take one - yes we timed it. Only English Channel was for children. We have stayed in 4 stars across Europe - this is a 2-2.5 at best if you take away the breakfast. The hotel chain must either be self rated/rated on another branch/completely false

    If you would like to stay in an Inn that has burst water pipes stay here. The hotel is clean considering construction.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is under reconstruction and we got small room in the part where are reconstruction. Window has view on wall, with no light at all. This is not at all four stars hotel. Ratio of quality and price is very bad.

    Only location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small but otherwise nothing to dislike.

    Really nice hotel, very central location in the old town. Great for sightseeing. All the staff were delightful,very friendly and helpful. Good choice of tasty food for breakfast. A lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel feels old and the room was nice but could use a little updating.

    The hotel is in a great location, right near the old town. Very convenient and a great base from which to explore the city.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom were tiny and there was construction noise

    Very convenient location (in Old Town, close to sights, restaurants and stores), extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly staff, good breakfast,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relatively minor but the wifi could be improved. The wifi works great in reception but is borderline in the room.

    For the price point, this is a perfect hotel. Very central location, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot fault this hotel.

    The location of this hotel is fantastic. Staff are very friendly, the room is very comfortable. This hotel is fantastic. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor, almost non-existent leisure area. No lounge, no place to sit for reading, chatting, waiting... Windowless breakfast room. All in all a bit too gloomy.

    location

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Altstadthotel Weisse Taube traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: