Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof Tauernalm 2 stars

Untertauern 30, 9844 Heiligenblut, Austria

Review score

Based on 275 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous location at the end of the Grossglockner
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From our point of view it was perfect. You need to be aware that it is in a remote location.

    The location was fabulous. We were a group of 12 touring Europe. We had a meal outside looking at snow topped mountains The host was excellent. It was clean and comfortable. At night the lack of light pollution made the stars in the sky amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Made every effort to please, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds we had to push together despite booking a double room, easy enough and didn’t bother us too much to be honest.

    Couple of minute drive from town, limited English from owner (and sadly no German from me) but every effort was made to make sure we were comfortable. Breakfast was nice. Main advantage for people driving the Großglockner pass, it’s literally just past the final toll booth for the drive so you will not be charged an extra day on the pass by staying here (regardless of which way you are driving).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    We arrived later than expected at check-in, but the manager...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived later than expected at check-in, but the manager was very accommodating. He even made us dinner since all the other restaurants were closed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Josef, our host, was friendly and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host didn't speak English, however this added some character

    Josef, our host, was friendly and attentive. The rooms were clean and spacious. If you are heading to the area to ride/drive the Grossglockner High Alpine Road, simply fuel up before arrival so you can take off in the morning - the property is literally at the toll booth.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Perfect staying! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect! Great location if you are traveling to the Grossglockner alpine road. We arrived to the accomodation little late, but owner was waiting for us, welcomed us warmly and helped with the luggage and everything. Rooms were clean and nice, with very nice mountain view. In the morning we got very tasty breakfast with coffee, owner was very positive and we felt like home. We were very sorry, that we stayed there just one night. I would definitely come back and recommend staying in this place. We were group of 4 people, and everyone loved the place. Thank you Gasthof Tauernalm :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Great stay with t
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were great; clean and very big. We had our own balcony with the view of Grossglockner. Man on reception was super nice and helpfull. We also had breakfast included with various tipes of bread, salami/cheese, oats, jucies... Man from recepcion also made us eggs and coffee! Good food, good people!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfect spot right before the toll gates
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in bath, without curtain, so bathroom becomes quite wet.

    Perfect spot right before the toll gates, hotel run by a very friendly guy. Rooms, with balcony, were fine, dinner and breakfast as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    It's been a while since I've seen so many starts in the sky as from the balcony of our room here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner didn't speak English much, so the communication over the phone was a bit harder.

    We were coming really late and the owner has left us key outside, so we could get in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Brilliant, very quirky , very good value, great food, staff are great, if you are on a motorcycle holiday stay here, come from the Italian side the Toll booths are just after hotel You won't be disappointed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    3.3
    Do not believe gasthof urzn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gasthof promise , we booked the room with view, but from our window we saw the wood materials room was old style and stuff impolite

    great lake view and mountain view , but from only 5 rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Great place in the Alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My second visit to the hotel. Great place and location to visit High Alpine Street to Grossglockner in Austrian Alps - visible to the hotel on a clear day. The Manager is a friendly, helpful and wonderful gentleman, who is retiring at the end of this summer. Wish him Good Luck!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was just nice.

    Location is just great, before entering Grossglockner. Staff are great and very accommodative. There is a restaurant/bar within the premises, unfortunately did not have time to try out but looked cozy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Great hütte :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its next to the Grossglockner High Alpine road entrance, Heiligenblut is also near, its a good starting point to visit nearby places. Breakfast is very good. Food is also great at the local restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    The best guest house we've stayed in Austria! Very friendly host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Everything was fantastic!

    Considered I am a clean freak and never feel comfortable in most places but this gasthof and our room was extremely clean. We simply felt like home during our 2 nights stay. The host and the staff in there were amazingly friendly and welcoming. They treated us as family. We will definitely come back to it again the next time we visit grossglockner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Good place to start Grossglockner by bicycle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful room, attentive host, mountain view from room, this is an excellent place to stay if you are attempting Grossglockner pass with your bicycle as it is already part way up the road next to the toll booth.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very friendly and helpfull staff, rich and delicious breakfast, free wifi, nice view from the room, + Kärnten card which gives you a possibility to reach a lot of atractions for free and discounted use of the Grossglockner High Alpine Road

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    Perfect location, views and hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, staff (Gerwald, Maria, Sepp and Sandra) and hotel were superb!! We enjoyed 9 fabulous days with terrific meals and fun conversations with the hosts and other guests. Good internet, views and the card covering the toll road (which we used daily) and cable cars were greatly appreciated! Thanks for perfect Grossglockner holiday!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    The owner is very kind and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner is very kind and accommodating. Good place to stay, so close to the Grossglockner toll gate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Very nice host, cozy atmosphere and fantastic view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice host, cozy atmosphere and fantastic view of mountains from the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel near Grossglockner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy room. Tasty food in the restaurant. Convenient location - closest to Grossglockner. Perfect view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Best warm lovely host with nice guest house ^_^
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No.

    Host Very Lovely look like a father. Very nice bed, use quality Latex mattress. Room very big. Very good coffee. Thanks Zim.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location outside the south side of alpine road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Funny bathtub door.

    Great location outside the south side of alpine road. Friendly owner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful place with very hospitable staff and the view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful place with very hospitable staff and the view from the room was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice lower budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything fine.

    Kind owners, good location, simple but clean rooms, good food : i had halfboard , liked it and will come again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location with great staff and awesome view to the Grossglockner
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location with great staff and awesome view to the Grossglockner and mountains all around

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Delicious breakfast, friendly staff, great starting point...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delicious breakfast, friendly staff, great starting point for visiting grossglockner alpine road

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Very nice guesthouse with kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.2
    Super service and location ski in/out
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The service and kindness of The Staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.6
    Nice large room with great views over mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice large room with great views over mountains. Friendly staff. Comfy bed. Very clean room. Good location by Grossglockner toll booth. Good breakfast and evening meal. Nice discount for Grossglockner pass

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    Dream Pension, situated 100 m from Heiligenblut...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dream Pension, situated 100 m from Heiligenblut Großglockner Hochalpenstraße entry. Friendly staff and good mood. Rooms with spectacular views of the mountains. Dinner was a royal Austrian culinary flavors.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.6
    Very beautiful room in a stanning position surrounded by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Very beautiful room in a stanning position surrounded by the glossglocker mountains. The hotel is in front of the entrance to the glossglocker road. Kind staff wich speaks a bit of italian. Loved it.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.2
    Super friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Super friendly staff. Both of our rooms had a direct view at the Grossglockner: panorama was stunning. Nationalpark Kärnten Card for 3 night's stay in the summer (grants free access to Grossglockner High Alpine Road, and provides add'l discounts/free entry to various facilities in the area) Excellent location for GHAR visitors in the summer (and probably also for ski sport fans in the winter because the ski lift is within about 70m distance of the Gasthof). Very good value for price; would come back in the winter too. Free WiFi.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    10
    Character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing really.

    Character. Friendliness of the staff. Location. Views (when the fog lifted). Rooms with huge balconies. The proprietor cooked a veggie meal for one of the party after reading that 1 member a veggie on the reservation.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    10
    Excllent postion if you like being in the mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Excllent postion if you like being in the mountains. The Karnten Card gave frre gondola access to go down the mountian into town or ir was a 2 minute drive. Good food, lovely hosts, we were made to fell most welcome. Awesome views and lovely room.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    7.5
    Right on the doorstep of the Grossglockner, the location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Menu a little basic but okay

    Right on the doorstep of the Grossglockner, the location was perfect. The owners were great, couldn't do enough to help and seemed genuinely pleased we had chosen to stay there.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    A very good hotel in a great place with a traditional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only problem was unstable internet but they were repairing their system and hardware so it has to be fixed by now.

    A very good hotel in a great place with a traditional unbeatable Austrian hospitality. Althouth close to the road it was very quiet (Hochalpenstrasse is closed at night). We had a comfortable bed and a pretty large room with a balcony. Breakfast was also great. More than enough parking spots.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    9.6
    This is a really great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all.

    This is a really great place!!!! In the alps. We can see Grossglockner from the place. A few kilometers from Heiligenblut. And the staff: fantastic – fantastic. So helpful. If you are around here, please stay here.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    The host of the gasthof is very nice, he likes to help and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The host of the gasthof is very nice, he likes to help and share. Although we are not good at Enghlish, we also talked very happily to him; the room is big enough for us(just two adults), I think it is big enough for a family with two children. The food there is the best Austria food during our trip, very suitable for our Chinese stomach. And there will be some daily specials also. The chef is the hotess I guest, a very lovely grandma. We took every dinner during our stay! The free entrace to the greatest grossgrocknler way is offered by this gasthof, it's very very useful and the grossgrocknler is so impressed for us, we will come back again to drive on the grossgrocknler and stay in this gasthof agan in the future!

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.2
    The location was very beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing much really, only thing was that there was no WiFi in the room

    The location was very beautiful. Great breakfast and our host was very nice and helpful. We also received a discount to drive the Hochalpenstrasse.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    9.6
    Very lively place in the mountains above the clouds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very lively place in the mountains above the clouds. Very tasty meat and cold beer made our evening memorable. Special thanks to the owner for his soulful regard, fast help and explanations of dishes in English.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    9.2
    The apartments are only available in winter, by email...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    After dark the walk to the apartment is...dark...

    The apartments are only available in winter, by email reservation. They are very clean, similar to the gasthof rooms. We had halfboard served in the gasthof Tauernalm. The kitchen is clean and has all needed tools. Great location for skying holidays in Heiligenblut.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    10
    The location of Gasthof Tauernalm is just sensational,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of Gasthof Tauernalm is just sensational, opposite to the Grossglockner mountain peak, close to the middle station of the cable car and just beside the ski slope. We've liked the service, the hosts are very helpful and the food is good!

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.6
    Anyone traveling to Grossglockner for one day this is the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Anyone traveling to Grossglockner for one day this is the place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    9.2
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some things a little old

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    9.2
    Location is awesome, right a the beginning of the park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is awesome, right a the beginning of the park. We could see the sun rising up behind the mountains from our balcony.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    7.5
    A SIMPLE HOTEL, BUT VERY CLEAN, COMFORTABLE AND RUN BY VERY...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    A SIMPLE HOTEL, BUT VERY CLEAN, COMFORTABLE AND RUN BY VERY FRIENDLY PEOPLE

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.2
    Staff friendliness and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a bit cold, everything else was super!

    Staff friendliness and location.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    Friendly and characterful owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Friendly and characterful owner. Great views Excellent food quality

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    10
    we needed help with a flat tire and the owner was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we needed help with a flat tire and the owner was very helpful. He is a very cheerful person. The breakfast is good and the dinner too.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    10
    The location and the warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The location and the warm welcome

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.8
    good C/P value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    poor WiFi

    good C/P value.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.8
    Amazing view, good food and friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Amazing view, good food and friendly hosts. Very convenient to Grossglockner alpine road. This is our second stay and would certainly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    8.3
    cosy atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    weak WIFI

    cosy atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    10
    Very friendly owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly owners

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.3
    Friendly welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't like the smell of cooking fat constantly wafting around the property.

    Friendly welcome Nice staff excellent location

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    9.2
    great mountain view of the grosslockner, very friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing.

    great mountain view of the grosslockner, very friendly staff (Gerwald and his team) good breakfast....in one word everything. :)

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    Position with cattle grazing nearby and view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Position with cattle grazing nearby and view of the mountains - Gross Glockner! We could have an excellent dinner at the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.6
    everything was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was wonderful. It is an ideal place to relax and go hiking. The hotel is very clean and the owner was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    8.8
    Great location and level of service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location and level of service

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    9.6
    The location, the food, the staff of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location, the food, the staff of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    9.2
    Location close to the lift, hight altitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The owner is very distinctive

    Location close to the lift, hight altitude

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: