Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tauernhaus Wisenegg 3 stars

Römerstraße 3, 5562 Obertauern, Austria

#41 of 66 hotels in Obertauern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 256 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't really complain about anything - the hotel isn't a modern building, but they never claimed it is and they upkeep it pretty well (apart from the front steps, it seems). The online pictures represent the actual state, so decide for yourself. The only irritating thing I found in the room was the fact that the only two electrical outlets in the room are several meters away from the bed. Would be nice to be able to charge the phone closer to the bed and not have the laptop cable stretched out across half the room. Especially since there are reading lamps incorporated in the the bed frame, so installing some additional outlets next to the night table wouldn't be much of an issue.

    Only stayed there for two nights but the dinners menus each night seemed diverse, and the appetizers were more than just a usual selection of cheese. The staff was friendly and as others mentioned the rooms did seem exceptionally clean. Breakfasts seemed typical and tasteful - can't really say there was that much more on offer in 4 star Austrian hotels I've stayed this season, which is a plus. Mainly eggs & beacon, a variety of cheeses, salami and bread, a variety of marmalade and even Nutella and of course your typical cornflakes & muslies with either milk or yoghurt. I couldn't really figure out the ski bus schedule (didn't ask either) but from my understanding it comes around every 30 minutes or so, hence I didn't want to waste time waiting for it and just walked to the nearest ski lift. As others said it's, a short uphill walk of around 5 minutes - not ideal but manageable, even more so for snowboarders with soft boots.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food is great. The location is also very convinient, the bus stop is right at the hotel and by walk it is max 5 min to the first lift from where you can access all slopes. You can ski-in to the hotel if there is enough snow and you like a bit of freeride :). The cross country track is also just across the road. There is also room with toys for kids. We were very satisfied.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It would be nice if the rooms had a kettle to boil hot water - in this way one can have a cup of tea at his/her room without going down and ordering one. I think this is especially relevant when reading a book in the evening, having already the pyjamas on :)

    1) The hotel is perfectly tailored for persons traveling alone. Location is PERFECT. The bus 280 coming from Radstadt, where the train from Salzburg goes regularly, has its bus stop literally in front of the building. 2) Although the hotel is next to the main street, the "tourist noise" cannot be heard, perhaps because the hotel is a bit out of the town's central area. 3) Moreover, you can directly ski to your hotel room. 4) SPAR supermarket, post office, few souvenir shops are not that far from the hotel (healthy 20-minute walk). If you want to go to church - it is 50 m from the hotel. 5) Few lifts are very close by (3-5 min if walking in snowboard shoes). 6) The hotel itself is very cosy: its interior and the atmosphere. Later I learned from the hotel manager that it is the oldest building in town, built originally as a hotel. It has a spirit. 7) My room was not super big, though matched my needs well. Very clean, great pressure in the shower (with fantastically hot water) - something you might like after a whole day skiing. The meals served are tasty (breakfast is a buffet, so the breakfast menu generally repeats, but crispy and fresh bread/buns with some scrumbbled eggs... who doesn't love that?). For the coffee lovers I have some good news: the coffee machine grinds the beans freshly, so you can count on a proper espresso (or two or even three ;)) in the morning, or cappuccino :) 8) Good sauna facilities. 9) Last but not least: The hotel staff are more than great - super helpful, positive and outgoing, though never "being too much". If I decide to go to Obertauern third time (quite likely), I will not waste time on looking for a different hotel in town 😊

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everybody was raving about the food but breakfast was very basic. And there is a massive issue of where you seat, make sure you are assigned a table :) Nice breads though. Also, we had awful pillows, felt as if there were hard wool balls inside the pillowcase.

    The hotel is unbelievably clean! Our room was standard double, ok size for 3 of us incl 5 y.o. Very warm! Really powerful sower and proper hot water which was really good. Clean towels every day. Polite and friendly staff, especially the girl at the reception. 5-10 minute walk to ski lift but if you decide to eat out for dinner then you'll need either a taxi or a car. Very authentic Austrian hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    You'll need to be fit to get to the lifts, it's a 10min walk in all your ski gear, with your skis every morning. No discount for single occupancy in the rooms. Decide if you are eating with them in the morning, you might not be fed otherwise!

    The food in the evening was very good and plentiful, a real plus point. It's an old hotel, like 11thC so quirky in parts, which is great if you like a bit of character. Not so great if you like big modern places with lots of amenities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The Ski bus literally stops in front of the hotel - but also walking is basically no distance - The owners of the hotel were very keen on helping and explaining us about the Skiing facilities nearby

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Pillow could have been a bit fluffier for my larger shoulders.

    Very quaint and rustic but clean and quiet. Awesome manager. Solid breakfast. Excellent three course dinner with two choices for each course + cheese. Probably the best hotel restaurant food I have had in a long time and well presented. Very attentive staff. Good location. Two saunas.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no hypoallergenic blankets.

    Everything was perfect. Staff was friendly and helpful. Close to all major lifts. Overall definitely a great place to stay)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast waiter attitude (we've supposedly sat down to the wrong table) - if she already had a solution for that (setting up another table), there was no need to explain it to the guests. Squeaky beds and floors - a bit annoying in the beginning, afterwards actually funny :) Not really ski-in-ski-out - however there is a ski depot in the Tal Station - you can leave the skis there not to carry them the whole way up every day.

    Very good coffee and delicious breakfast. Kind host and receptionist, everything went smoothly. Mattresses a bit softer as usually and I liked it a lot. Room a bit outdated but well cured and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the parking space is a bit small but it's ok

    - really door-to-door opportunity for skiing at Obertauern - staff are really nice and helpful. Major plus point.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Especial coffee variations requested extra-payment. I would prefer to chose my sit for breakfast instead of a previous sit allocation. If you want to go to the pubs/party area in the evening is not so close, maybe 15min walk each way.

    The room was large and with private toilet/shower. Reasonable breakfast. Nice sauna and infrared cabine, but not very large, not suitable for many people at the same time. The bus stops really close. Ski rental, kassa and Grünwaldkopf ski lift aren't far away (about 5min walk).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is not quite ski-in-ski-out, but you just have to walk up the road a short distance to the ski lift or take a bus. The walk is short - about 300 meters or 1 city block

    Staff was super friendly and accommodating. The hotel is just a very short walk to the ski lift (or you can take a bus I think)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast organisation was lousy.. as we had to cross the reception hall with our plates & milk and then go up some stairs to the room where we took our breakfast. The waiter claimed that this was because their were fully booked, however did not have an answer on why they could not add a small buffet table in that room too..

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are very satisfied with our stay in the hotel. Hotel is clean, neat, amazing staff, great choice of food for breakfast and dinner. We will definitely visit again!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A limited vegan dinner menu.

    Location, friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wine very expensive in the hotel, although bar prices in the hotel for beer, G&T's no too bad :)

    Good value for money and excellent food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old.

    Good breakfest, nice staff, close to ski lift.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All Good

    Very Austrian, which was nice..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms doesn't have a good place to dry clothes.

    Ski in. (Not suitable for beginners)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and clean room 200m walk to nearest lift

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, good location, clean, perfect breakfast, close to the ski lift and good price

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The sauna hours were limited, but the was not any big issue. This isn't a real ski in/ski out, as we had to carry our equipment up the road to the lift. However, we knew this in advance, and it wasn't a big deal.

    We were a group of friends who each stayed in his/her own single room. We picked this place, because of the low prices/good deal we found. We arrived late on Friday night and they kept the kitchen open late for us. The included breakfast was very good and dinner was okay. It was also nice to have a little bar to hang out in after we finished dinner Overall this was the friendliest hospitality I have received in Austria. The hostess was especially very kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The building is very old so the floors are quite noisy/creaky to walk on. You can also hear people walking in their rooms above your room.

    Great location, ski lifts are a 5 min walk in ski boots. Very good food for breakfasts and dinners - salad buffet and selection of cheese, ham and salami. Staff was very nice, polite and helpful. It's possible to ski into the hotel - although not recommended for average skiers. Surprisingly fast internet for a fully booked hotel!

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location is excellent for lifts, but a 20min hike up hill into town if you want to enjoy the apres ski. Taxi's became essential. Buses were not so frequent.

    Very clean, very attentative staff, and excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No hot tub or pool. Floors in room and hallway were loud to walk on but since the place wasn't busy in the evening it didn't disrupt our sleep.

    The food was excellent. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Very clean room Location was perfect. Close to chair lifts and rental shop.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Delicious and abundant meals,very friendly and helpful staff and professional service. Rooms are clean and well furnished. Ski lifts are easily accessible.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wooden beds are awfully squeaky! We would wake eachother up everytime one of us turned in bed. :/

    The staff was extremely polite and friendly. Hotel has a small playroom which saved us with kids on many ocassions.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not too much worth mentioning - based on the location it is not a typical ski-in/ski-out Hotel, but all other parameters are on a very good level.

    Good location, ski lifts are 10 min walking distance - on the way back you also have an option to ski in closer to the Hotel. Staff is very nice and helpful, caring about all our wishes, and care about feedback. Decent and good quality breakfast with all you might need, and also very nice 3 course dinner provided. Our room was clean and neat, always warm when we got back from skiing and even in the mornings. The building itself is a very old one built in the 1100s, thus the wooden floor creeks somewhat, but if you like this kind of atmosphere you will be delighted. An extra point for the staff is they all speak Hungarian :) There are of course separate rooms for skis and boots heated, as well as a sauna available. We definitely recommend the place for staying, and intend to come back!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Listed as a ski in, ski out hotel but isn't really, although the nearest lift is only a five minute walk.

    We arrived late and missed dinner but the staff put together a cold buffet for us and were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didn't find internet in the room, only in the common rooms

    200-300 meter from skilift good snow for skiing very kind staff, speaking 6 languages comfortable room, everyday cleaning in the room good food, excellent price/value relationship wonderful christmas evening

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was speaking only german ecxept the manager

    A lovely brekfast and delicious diner. Very friendly staff. We felt special.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Small room

    Sauna, breakfast, very kind staff

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved my bed, the food, the sauna, skiing was fab. All in all, iwould go back any time.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly staff, welcoming hospitality, and great austrian cuisine!

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Parking place

    Location, size of room, soundproof walls

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very nice personnel and tasty food (except scrambled eggs and coffe ;)

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    EVERYTHING Friendly Staff Great Location Room was Great

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: