Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Crystal 4 stars

Gurglerstrasse 90, 6456 Obergurgl, Austria

#3 of 24 hotels in Obergurgl

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 225 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the hotel is really great but if I had to pick some faults I would say: the toilet being separate from the bathroom but not having a sink for washing hands, the fact that there was no coffee making facility in the room and that we couldnt book a massage while we were there (they were fully booked all week)

    The hotel is in a great location with direct access to the skiing facilities. the staff are extremely friendly and attentive, we didn't meet a single members of staff who didn't smile, say hi to us or didn't go the extra mile. you can really tell that the hotel is well managed and everyone is great at their job. it was refreshing. a particular shout out to our waiter Septimiu (I hope thats the correct spelling) who made sure all our meals were comfortable, served at the right time and was just really lovely. such a nice experience. The room was spacious, which is great when you ski as you have so much stuff to keep. the bed was very comfortable. there was good storage. the bathroom is great and spacious, the shower and bath are good too. the spa is nice, we only used the pools and the textile sauna which were good and clean. we did use the Finnish sauna.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit too warm, even with the balcony door open.

    Staff were excellent, from the reception staff to the porters to the waiters to the cleaners. Every member of staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children's bed broken. Would like tea / coffee making facilities in the room.

    The staff were excellent. The ease to get on the slopes was idyllic. Plenty of space in the room. Food great. Superb location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room temperature at night a little too much for me

    Room was very clean and well presented Buffett selection and variety of menu for Breakfast and Dinner was excellent Hotel position on top the lift and piste One of the best boot rooms I have ever experienced

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside pool water could be a bit warmer. WiFi was sometimes slow or not working Despite very high quality food, I have some negative thoughts on the waste of food when buffet is served. I fear that a lot of that very nice food is not eaten and thrown away afterwards

    Spa was magnificent, food great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very kind people. Great sommelier. Super welness with outside pool. Very nice big room with balcony. Nice wiew. Excelent position near to the gondola. Breakfast and diner excelent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our view. We faced the other half of the hotel which blocked the mountain.

    Choice of food was excellent despite our vegan diet and sauna world is fabulous!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the spa was overrun with children and very unrelaxing. It would have been preferable if there was a time that families were allowed in the main spa so it didn't turn into a kids zone. Either that or allow swimming costumes into the adult only space (reserved for nudists). Drinks at dinner were very expensive for a very small glass of wine

    The rooms were lovely and huge but the cleaning was a bit haphazard. facilites for ski equipment and access to the slope was great and very convenient and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was very 'average' cleared away sharp at the end of service, difficult to attract attention of waiting staff.

    Good location, comfortable well equipped room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise from the bin store each morning from 6am which woke me each time, not really acceptable when paying over £400 per night!

    Breakfast was good Leisure facilities good Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a barman I think from Croatia who I found to be rude, slow and unhelpful.

    The food at this hotel was exceptional! The waitress from Budapest was so lovely and friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Always excellent restaurant service and cuisine. Direct access to ski lifts from hotel. The best spa on the slopes

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff could of been friendlier.

    Location for skiing is great. Rooms nice with great storage for ski gear, separate wardrobes an added bonus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The new bar area and grumpy staff

    The food is excellent at breakfast and dinner, with options. And the restaurant staff were superb

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    n/a

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, ski in and ski out, Qualität des Essens ist einmalig, Garage

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only possible glitch is room and hotel rather on the toasty side.

    Prime location. Effortless chic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the menu choices at dinner

    Location, rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room always too hot

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was better last year than it was this year

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No jacuzzi

    Monday night free drinks in bar and band

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spare bed was not especially comfortable. Additional mattress was provided but this only partially solved the problem.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the pillows

    Friendly staff, excellent food, perfect location and luxurious spa.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant excellent, direct access to slopes

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids dinner selection could be made more variety

    Staff extremely accomodating in all sorts of situations

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our ONLY gripe is that the hotel is a tad overheated. Oh yes, and the bathroom towels a bit small...

    Well designed rooms, friendly staff and very clean hotel. Very comfortable beds, exceptional spa facilities, good food and plenty of it. Lovely open fire in the bar. The breakfast buffet is exceptional, great choice including freshly juiced carrot, apple and orange plus fresh fruit and a wide selection of pastries, delicious hand baked bread and even pancakes! For the skiers, it is right next to the lift and you can ski in at the end of the day.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WiFi very slow and a lot of activities blocked. Can't even update your iPhone Apps as the iTunes bandwith is minimal.

    The location is perfect for the ski tows and the leisure facilities are excellent.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A bit too expensive (~ 400 eur / night for a basic double room beginning of April - halfboard included, no drinks)

    Location, next to cable car and ski slopes, facilities (spa area)

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The double bed is two singles with a joiner, but as it had two separate duvets it felt more like two beds than one.

    Wonderful hotel, loved the spa, the food was fabulous, and the service just fantastic. The room was a good size with a lounge area & balcony. Probably the best hotel we've stayed in & look forward to returning.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was probably designed by psychopathic architect. Never, even we tried hard, we found direct way from one place in the hotel to our room. We approached this as a game and we took this as a entertaining challenge. Style of the hotel is a little bit outdated (not so stylish as some of the competitors in Alps), but it's not a problem if you go there to enjoy ski, spa and food. Hotel bar was completely abandoned - may be the good thing as we didn't have a temptation to party.

    Excellent ski in/out hotel. Fabulous spa. Superb restaurant. Big rooms, big bathrooms. Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. We really enjoyed the stay and came back relaxed after four days as it would be two weeks. Helpful reception desk solved any type of request we had and food was extraordinary even for this level of hotel.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If the drag lift had run until 6 it would have been perfect

    The whole hotel was amazing, the room had everything , the spa area was great but the most impressive thing was the food. The choice at breakfast was the best I've ever seen , there was an après ski buffet of soup , cakes, meats, cheese and bread and then even once that was cleared away they put out more cheese , salami, nuts and olives. The only reason why I haven't given it full marks was the location as although you come straight out of the ski room to the gondola , if you stay at the après ski on the niederhutte you can't quite ski back unless you get to the drag lift before it stops running . Apart from that it was brilliant

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Via booking.com there is no information about extra charge for children. Due to the fact that the charge for children is extremely high (not just an extra bed) I would prefer to know about it prior my check-in.

    It's an excellent hotel for families with children. Great facilities and great location

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My hangover

    Excellent service and warm hospitality, the staff went out of their way to make our stay perfect. The restaurant was top notch. Best martinis ever.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    May be nice for adults spa to open little earlier for those adults not skiing.

    Probably one of the best ski hotels we have stayed in. Warm welcome from the staff who parked and unpacked the car. Excellent cakes and soup in the afternoon after a days skiing. Evening menus varied and fabulous. Rooms clean with very comfortable beds and last but not least location right next to ski lift was super!

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Absolutely perfect stay. The hotel and it's inner design, hotel rooms are beautiful. Services provided are great, I really appreciate the attitude of staff and the cuisine was breathtaking. Also the location is awesome!

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI was unusable the majority of the time even with a WIFI router over our room door. Hot like a Sauna in the room even with the heat completely off - all that accomplished was making the floors cold. Check in process was very rude. The hotel is basically a huge kindergarten with more children than adults, if you don't want to spend your trip surrounded by screaming children running around with no control do not go here! Not what I expect for the price of the facility. Example - trying to have a nice drink by the fire in the 'bar', kids everywhere playing games and climbing on the seats we were sitting on already.

    Great location, great food, friendly staff (except for the check in process), nice facility overall.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely friendly staff. Very fine services provided. Great food. Located directly at the lift to the ski slopes. "Hier kommt mann gerne wider"

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was outstanding. The buffet was everything a healthy eater could dream of, plus a three course meal on top. The spa area was relaxing. 6 different saunas and steam rooms was like nothing I have ever come across. Perfectly clean and very soothing.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wished they had black out curtains so our daughter could sleep longer

    Great food and service. The Kids club from 4-9pm, swimming facilities and sauna, location and ability to hire equipment within the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room!! Lifts very slow!

    Staff were superb, location superb, bus services (if you need it) excellent ... Lovely holiday!

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pretty expensive

    Great food and service

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing......

    Great hotel located next to the ski resort, amazing friendly and helpful stuff and excellent food!

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Outdoor spa needs to be hotter

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great! The welness was amazing The staff were very friendly and the food was delicious! Next year we come back!

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great hotel

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Heated boot racks needed

    Location, food, facilities all good.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location, food, sauna/spa

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Outdated bathrooms

    Staff and service was great, nice spa area, direct access to the ski lift. We also had massages which were both excellent.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything in this Hotel is of a very high standard.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sauna aerea is too small, not enough space in rest area.

    Close connection to the ski slope

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Excellent spa and great food!

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Browse The Crystal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: