Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Amedia Wels 4 stars

Adlerstraße 1, 4600 Wels, Austria

#9 of 17 hotels in Wels

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 889 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Great+++++
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We just stayed 1 night on our journey from UK to BG, was very tired and welcomed the friendly and helpful reception staff and the restaurant staff were greta also. Didn't really have a chance to check out the hotel facilities etc as away so early in the morning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Happy I chose to stay here with my family on our trip across Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning in the rooms

    The Best Western Amedia Wels is in a central location, just a couple minutes walk from a pedestrianised area full of cafes and bakeries. Staff were helpful and friendly, breakfast was great and affordable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    one night stop
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ok for a night stop in a long trip. Close to old city center with few nice restaurants. Room was really huge, clean bathroom. Convenient garage in the underground.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    Not the best value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms dont have air-con... we stayed there during very hot day for austria, it was pretty hot in room

    Nice big room..modern bathroom..comfortable bed..big enough tv..good wifi..parking in garage bellow 8.5 eur/day

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    I was really happy to met this guy on the reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was really happy to met this guy on the reception. My arrival time was 2:30 am and he was so friendly, polite,positive and helpfu!It's very enjoyable when we communicate with people of another race and stay fascinate.The bed was very comfortable and the room was big.Thanks for this wonderful service 👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    For location it suited our needs but will find an alternative for our next trip to Wels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite simply does not meet the usual standards of the Best Western brand. Advertises 24 hour bar, in reality one must ask reception to open the bar which has a very limited choice which they may, or may not do. Could not charge restaurant bill to the room. Breakfast selection OK but very slow to replenish items.

    It was clean but ‘tired’. The staff were mostly helpful. The restaurant “Steaks” was very good but not open on Sunday and one needs a reservation for Saturday - this information would have been helpful from the reception staff when checking in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice sized room with large, comfy bed. Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 coffee sachets - nothing else.

    Checked in 6/7pm and out 6am the next day so not much time to experience any of the facilities. Very clean and bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Calm stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in could be a little bit sooner.

    Breakfast was plentiful room was spacefull and clean. Close to center with parking Really polite and pleasant personal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not like the smell of cigarette in the bathroom and in the room, probably because the room was on the 1st floor just above the restaurant. During the night, the room was not heated as it should be.

    Nice bed, clean room and bathroom, nice to have a coffee and fridge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfy stay close to most what Wels has to offer.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air-conditioning in the room.

    Very good location with walking distance to nice parts of Wels (cinema, restaurants, shops, cafes...). Convenient parking in an underground garage (for surcharge). Well equipped wellness area free of charge and with long opening hours. Tea/coffee set in room. Breakfast with wide selection with good quality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    Large room with a huge bad and plenty of open space compared...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a parking lot underneath the building, but it belongs to the whole block and not only to the hotel, hence, it is not free, it costs 8,5 EUR a day. There is a close publik parking space that is also not free, but in case you stay just for one night (like we did), it's a cheaper alternative.

    Large room with a huge bad and plenty of open space compared to other hotel rooms, it was super comfortable. The reception is open 24 hours a day with helpful and friendly stuff. Great location to reach the city center, everything within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    5.4
    Lovely staff, dirty place...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Place was dirty, carpets not vacuumed properly or at all (quite bad!), dead insects on windowsills in room and down in The reception. Supposed non smoking room but stunk of fresh cigarette smoke, perhaps The 'cleaning' lady had probably been smoking instead of vacuuming. No air con....

    Staff helpful, beds comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    8.3
    Comfy and clean rooms with all you need, incl.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff quality at the reception varies, especially in the late evening hours.

    Comfy and clean rooms with all you need, incl. tea kit and kettle. Great spa area with steam and finnish sauna and access to outside secluded roof terrace (great cool-down in the winter). Underground parking just under the hotel. Plenty of restaurants and shops to choose from in a walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.3
    Wise choice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just one lift out of the two was working, so I had to wait a bit longer for it in the morning.

    The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. There's a tea/coffee set in the room. There are plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from in the walking distance. The welness area on the first floor is great - clean, open 24h/day, features steam and finnish sauna, jacuzzi and resting area with an access to outside terrace.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    8.3
    Very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was nos as clean as it should be reagrding the name and the price of the hotel.

    Very good breakfast, good bed, nice staff, quiet room, close do centre, easy to reach.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    6.7
    Not the level of quality we expect from Best Western.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel smelt of smoke both in the corridors and in our room.

    The breakfast was good. The bar at the hotel was not open the evening that we were there and the restaurant attached to the hotel, was mediocre.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    7.5
    In principle a good hotel, but lacking maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worn out chairs, plugged drain of bathtube.

    In principle a good hotel, but lacking maintenance. I am staying in this hotel already for many years, premises are aging, would require refurbishment.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    5.8
    1) One single bed for a couple was not provided
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) One single bed for a couple was not provided 2) A Boiling water electric kettle for making tea/coffee was not there inside the room 3) A lot of cigarette smoking smell coming from outside to the room 4) The room heater were insufficient to control the chill from outside.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Hotel location is great in middle of city.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel location is great in middle of city. Rooms are nice, big, and clean. Value for money

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.6
    Good size room.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant wasn’t open Sunday evening

    Good size room. Clean and comfortable. As I would expect from a hotel room. Helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice staff, very helpful, over all clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini fridge didn’t work, there’s no AC and it was super super hot... The water pressure was non existent

    Nice staff, very helpful, over all clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Restaurant manager was unhelpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant manager was unhelpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice business hotel in the centre of lovely city of Wels
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking garage was not free of charge, no airco

    Nice business hotel in the centre of lovely city of Wels

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    much more expected from the Pictures than reality showed!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    totatly overrated with 130.- € per night! The Hotel is very old, and used. The rooms are clean but also lowest standard!

    staff was very friendly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The refrigerator does not work and the water is always warm and I can not drink it

    The room is large and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Woman at front desk was very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Woman at front desk was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location, beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed as it was a local holiday. This wasn't mentioned when we booked.

    Location and parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    Cleaners just changed my towels, didn‘t make up the bed or...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners just changed my towels, didn‘t make up the bed or anything else.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location and easy access
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was really close to the center, with parking directly below the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.2
    General things.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    General things.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.9
    Good
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean

    Cozy and big rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    met our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    easy to find, breakfast good, beds comfortable, wifi good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice location with a lot of eating possibilties on walking...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nice location with a lot of eating possibilties on walking distance. Parking is organised well. Fair is almost on walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice value hotel with proper location nearby the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice value hotel with proper location nearby the city!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.8
    A nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, especially Mr. Naser at the breakfast - an incredibly helpful, professional and customer-oriented person

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Difficult to access by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to access by car. Not enough signs in the city to point in the right direction, especially once we entered the little streets

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Very nice breakfast, near to city center.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice breakfast, near to city center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    4.6
    A generally poor experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff incapable of issuing a proper exit ticket for parking and caused a major problem upon exiting.

    Enjoyed the location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Very nice and pleasat hotel - good place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expensive parking for the hotel guests

    Everything was more than perfect

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Superior hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing

    All services are good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    The staff is very friendly, breakfast is ok, the steak...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The staff is very friendly, breakfast is ok, the steak restaurant in the hotel is very good. Room is nice and clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    5.4
    I asked for a non-smoking room, got a smoking room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a non-smoking room, got a smoking room. You cannot adjust the temperature in the room (only on/off)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Hotel has changed location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has changed location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    6.3
    Room was oke
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and bar are closed due to holiday for 2 weeks! No option to buy anything....

    Room was oke

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.5
    OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Definitely should improve breakfasts. Expensive for what you get. But I guess the location makes the price that high.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable, reasonable price, very polite and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some extras like a bathrobe, more variety in breakfast

    Clean, comfortable, reasonable price, very polite and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing was wrong.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable and spacious room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    6.7
    Quiet and good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking possibilities could be better.

    Quiet

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    7.1
    Very nice receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The payment method of blocking the money first and still paying when we get there. It should have been done at once to avoid confusion.

    Very nice receptionist

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    5.8
    I was in Austria for medical reasons and when I had to leave...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    How at first they were not willing to give me my money back because I had to leave early

    I was in Austria for medical reasons and when I had to leave early they first stated they couldn't give me my money back then I called booking.com and they fixed it for me and it's been almost a month and I'm still waiting for my money back

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Good hotel with large and comfortable rooms, recently...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    If anything can be consider negative the water pressure in the shower is not super powerful but it's a very minor issue.

    Good hotel with large and comfortable rooms, recently refurbished with great shower and toilet, large and super comfortable bed. Both reception and breakfast staff very friendly and helpful. Garage parking was very useful to feel safe with a partial loaded car.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    6.3
    The hotel is very close to the river Traun which offers a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is no air conditioning in the rooms (maybe the Best Western Group should revise their policy) and at 30 deg C you are roasting yourself up!!!

    The hotel is very close to the river Traun which offers a good way to relax.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.9
    The stuff and the sauna
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel needs more maintenance. In the sauna room some lights did not work and the water dispenser was broken. The room smelled like B.O. that I had to cover with cologne, the WC smelled like urine, and I found lots of dust under the bed. I am an regular client and can see a big (bad) change happening.

    The stuff and the sauna

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    7.9
    The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet.
    • Family with young children

    It was overpraised for what it was. The breakfast was far to expensive.

    The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. There was WiFi in the room and it was working. The hotel stuff was friendly and helpful, especially the girl who was at the restaurant during breakfast. Parking is very easy but pricey.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    9.2
    The service was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The interior wasn't really our style but that we knew beforehand from the pictures.

    The service was exceptional. We arrived way too early but the nice man at reception organised everything in minutes, the same person served later at the bar with friendliness and joy. At breakfast did the waiter ask our son if he wants a hot chocolate or any special juice. Later he gave him extra nutella, so my 3.5 year old son felt like a star.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    8.8
    Location: in the very heart of the city, close to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Taking into account that it's 4* hotel, breakfast schould be more various

    Location: in the very heart of the city, close to the Stadthalle and Messegelände. Friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    7.5
    The staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some problems with creditcard even if the amount was reserved on card

    The staff. Nice steak in resturant

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    8.8
    Very comfortable hotel, in the center of Wels, private...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    all was wonderful!

    Very comfortable hotel, in the center of Wels, private parking (not for free) and good buffet breakfast. It is very well located.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfortable rooms

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    6.7
    Spider web inside the room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spider web inside the room!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    9.6
    Your staff should speak a better english
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Your staff should speak a better english

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    7.1
    Not enough personal at desk at the morning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not enough personal at desk at the morning

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    7.5
    Good location, car parking below the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location, car parking below the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.9
    Known quality and consustency across the brand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Known quality and consustency across the brand

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.8
    Free wifi all around the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Free wifi all around the hotel

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.0
    Clean
    • Solo traveller

    They could not find my reservation at once saying that the reservation was for the day before

    Clean

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No air conditioning

    Location

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    6.7
    don't eat in their steak restaurant, not nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    don't eat in their steak restaurant, not nice

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    10
    i realy enjoyed the stay, thank you :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    i realy enjoyed the stay, thank you :)

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    7.5
    Not having to stay in Linz!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    More English speaking TV channels Shower pressure quite low

    Not having to stay in Linz! Clean rooms, great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.9
    the location is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant closed at 22 hour, the bar was never opened. Dispite cold weather the heating was turned off

    the location is excellent

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    2.9
    Reception stag not friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception stag not friendly

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    7.5
    blanket was too small
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    blanket was too small

There are also 47 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Browse Best Western Amedia Wels traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: