Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Das Triest Hotel 5 stars

Wiedner Hauptstraße 12, 04. Wieden, 1040 Vienna, Austria

#194 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 247 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First allocated room was without a/c (room was changed after short discussion with reception) Significant construction noise (however that was notified at time of the booking)

    Very helpful & attentive staff Excellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above comments

    The only fault we found with the hotel was the breakfast which was not good value and also not of the highest standard. We would have expected fresh juice. However ther dinner was excellent although expensive and sitting in the garden was a bonus. The staff were delightful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked what TV channels are in English - sadly, received a nonsense reply from Reception, “don’t know, you need to check yourself”. Moreover, besides the endless TV news channels hutch recycle the same programs, no English language TV channels to choose from - meaning, movies, documentaries, etc. Disappounting.

    Room was very spacious. Staff exceptionally competent, friendly & efficient. Breakfast was outstanding. Wonderful balcony!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the front desk manager, he was rude - We were just charged for breakfast, even though we didn't once have breakfast and our booking was without it in the first place. For a design hotel we found the interior quite basic.

    Location was walking distance to Vienna center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To expensive for what the hotel could offer ( location, services...) very old and ugly furniture and the room was cold. The hotel is maybe a 3 star hotel.

    The restaurant was ok

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some plumbing issues.

    Bedding, excellent breakfast (quality and variety), location, iMac and Nespresso coffee maker in the room, quality of bathroom amenities, very quiet hotel (only some occassional noise due to construction works in progress MON-FRI)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    Michael is great - smart, warm and helpful - hotel close to music - very hip design and technology. And Kombucha at the front desk for a quick sip of good health.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would appreciated more helpful staff at the reception . The girls there wouldn’t consider to offer their assistance - offering unrelevant guidance . I would expect a strong concierge for a five star hotel !

    Breakfast had variety ...considered the strong point of our stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. property says breakfast wasnt included. however, I rememberbasic breakfast being included in the booking. 2. wasnt a suite. rather a large room with a central bathroom (?!) and sofabed on one side and queen bed on the other.

    location. location. location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Optional mattress topper as mattress a bit too firm used an extra duvet. Maybe introduce optional tea coffee making facilities in room.

    Staff always willing to help and sort out anything that arises. Very Comfortable rooms, short walk to Opera house and Nachtmarket.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You notice already that here and there the hotel would need refurbishment again. The shower-handle and the shade of the bed lamp were a bit wonky. Not really disturbing though but considering the price per night I would have preferred that every tiny thing were in perfect condition.

    The hotel's interieur was designed by Sir Terence Conran. You see the English style especially in the bathroom. The house is a historical building, well adapted and modernized. There a lots of trendy places for going-out in walking distance, as well as the Naschmarkt and the city center. Definitely, the heating is working well. It was freezing cold outside, but the room was cosy warm. Must-do: Have a drink at the hotel bar! One of the best bar-keeper in the world is working there!!! I would definitely stay there again, let's see if Robbie Williams also does again :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel facilities are visibly dated and are in need of remodeling. Staff seemed to be a bit bored and not as attentive as one would expect although they got the job done. Breakfast buffet is poor for a 5* hotel in all respects from the variety of choices to the quality of food provided. Hotel was overpriced based on our experience probably due to high demand of the season (Christmas / NYE).

    Very good location for exploring the city centre and close to major public transport hub (Karlsplatz). Room was spacious and comfortable with good storage and big bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet equipment were not effective. Can not control easily.

    The room is generally comfortable and staff are amazing in extending all help they can offer.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The works next to the building is inconvenient more than "small inconveniences" mentioned by the hotel. But If you are on business trip leaving hotel at 8:30 will not cause any issues.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet was very weak, almost impossible to use. There was no drinking opportunity at the sauna, which wasn't very pleasent. Also, there was construction in the hotel. It is understandable that it needs renovation from time to time, but I think it is not acceptable, that the information about the work and the incredibly loud noise from 8 am to 6pm is only provided at the venue after I checked in. It should have appeared already when I booked the room on Booking.com, since once I arrived I could not cancel my accomodation for free, which put me in a very uncomfortable position.

    The location was excellent, and the room was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced- not clean anymore and bad service..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise of the tram (first floor frontside)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms to noisy at the street side and much to warm. No heat control possible.

    Central Place and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn’t great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was partially under construction and during a day we could hear perforator.

    Location, stuff , room and price was very nice .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking at 35€ per day is too much.

    Good location, nice design.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited facilities available in the hotel and breakfast to expensive

    Close to the centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful garden!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise !!!!

    Very noisy Zz they are under construction and the work starts at 9 am !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Design was very modern and stylish

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good size bathroom, good water pressure and large sink. Computer in room, robes and slippers

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and calm breakfast environment. Good value for money!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is big and clean, equipped with an old iMac. The location is good, you can find tram and metro station nearby.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Brilliant Hotel. Staff very friendly and so helpful. The attention to detail was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bett sehr gut...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location

    bathtube was great

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Modern and stylish, breakfast was well worth the discounted cost if you agreed to it at check-in.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That breakfast wasn't included in the room rate.

    Liked the fact that the room was close to a lift and also that the bathroom had a walk in shower.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long wait at check in, breakfast very expensive for what it was offered.

    Room with personality (I was in a room under the roof)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found hair in the bathrobe!

    friendly and helpful staff. good location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction works

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    outdated, not very clean, staff at breakfast was awful, the pillows are uncomfortable, very noisy if you get a room facing the street. oh yeah, and no proper curtains so don't exoect a good night's sleep.

    the location is great, and the breakfast is good.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Non-smoking hotel. Wants to be very design-oriented, but it isn't. Nice room however. No bottle of water in the room. Shower makes the complete bathroom wet. Nice idea to have an imac in the room serving as internet access/tv/entertainment. Welcome staff was not really friendly. Check-out went smooth. No scrambled eggs at breakfast. Other food were ok. Nice cocktails in the bar. Close to the city center. Street rooms are kind of noisy. Paid 50 eur more than my college, who also booked via booking.com!!! Very bad!

    Muesli, imac

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea or coffee making facilities. No bottled water available and the restaurant was closed the whole of our stay which was disappointing.

    Great location, friendly staff, comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was a hair in the bathtub, breakfast buffet was not very extensive I am allergic to milk so I did not have really much option. But the food was fresh.

    The bed was comfortable, I stayed here at a promotional price so I can say overall it was good value for money. Overall I would say it is a good 4 star quality but not 5 star. I don't know why do they prefer to present themselves as one.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I stayed many times at this hotel and everything was perfect:it is situated in central area,the room was spacious,clean,the staff was very polite and the price was in accordance with the quality. I will certainly return here.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had booked a superior room but in this hotel the term superior room actually means standard room. Secondly you must phone the hotel beforehand and insist you have a room at the rear as the front rooms suffer dreadfully from noise from the trams

    This hotel is wonderfully situated within easy reach of main attractions

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The night receptionist who doesn't speak English or other language except for German, and she was not friendly or helpful. The room towards the street very noisy. But they offered us a quiet room the second night which was perfect!

    Fantastic location, the silver bar and its famous bartender! The reception manager was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - ants in the room near the bed - extremely expensive minibar with really old drinks (there was an awful feculence in the bottle of Shweppes and the small bottle of champagne costed 16€ when in the store in city centre the same costed 3-3,9€ - wi-fi almost didn't work

    - the placement is great

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The first night we spent at the hotel when I wanted to use the shower, I found hair on one of the handle. Later I found hair on the back of the hair dryer. For a five star hotel, I thought they will do a thorough clean after check out.

    The location is good everything is in walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff at breakfast not attentive, ignored request for extra settings at our table for other family, (we ended up doing it ourselves), slow with coffee etc

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For a "deluxe" room we were disappointed. The "view of the garden" wasn't great, the window barely opened making the room constantly stuffy, there was a real meanness about the number of towels, toiletries and pillows given in the room. Lack of pillows made reading in bed an absolutely neck-acheing chore. There were no "extras" in the room - mineral water, fruit etc, the bathroom was unbearably hot and the shower tap broke twice meaning that we had to call maintenance just to turn the shower off. This was not a deluxe experience in any way. Loved the location. Loved Vienna. Disliked Das Trieste.

    Great location and the staff were nice enough

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A couple of minor points. On check-in, I was offered a "discount" on the breakfast, which I had been warned about from previous reviews. I think this makes the hotel look a bit unprofessional, and is particularly irritating for the people who have pre-booked breakfast without the discount. The bed in the room was a king single, which was fine for my purposes, but I had actually booked a double room. It would have been cosy with two people in that bed! The only other thing was the terrace - it was not separated from the other terraces, so anyone could walk through from one to the other. This had a double impact in that the door to the terrace was also the only means of getting fresh air into the room. So unless you wanted to sleep with the door open, knowing that people could stroll in from other rooms, there was no fresh air in the room. Fine for March, might be a different matter for August!

    The hotel is located close to Karlsplatz and the centre of the city, but nevertheless very quiet. I had a room on the 6th floor, which had its own terrace. Very nice for summer, unfortunately didn't get to use it this time. Room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was great. Plenty of storage space for clothing etc.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The towels are a bit rough and not in their best shape. I would say the hotel is rather 4*, not 5*.

    We stayed 2 nights, at Das Triest, starting Mar 15, 2015. We had the room 304. There was an iMac in the room, which served also as a TV, and CD/DVD player. The free WiFi was fast. The room was clean and big enough. Very comfortable bed and pillows. There was a bathtub in the bathroom with very good water pressure and very hot water. We had a nice view to the street. Location is great, about 150m to the metro station and about 450m to the Karlsplatz. We did not take the 22.5 Euro/person breakfast, we preffered to "use" the Billa supermarket across the street . Staff was helpful and polite. I would definitely return there !

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    paint work a bit chipped the gym area may need some updating

    general ambience very good friendly helpful staff very good breakfast - the best excellent restaurant really rated the cooking and the restaurant staff were very good bar and the bar man were superb too It was a real pleasure staying there Charming

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception wouldn't accept british debit or credit cards so I had to get cash from an atm (with all the entailed fees) in order to pay for my room.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - There are some blind spots (not seen at first look) in the bathroom (the sinks, tha glass door base, etc) that need either change or thorough cleaning...

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    location

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    perfect location, price and breakfast. cleaned rooms, calm atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel needs some interior refurbishing. It appeared a bit dated.

    Location, minimalist design and hotel staff which is very efficient

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor and too expensive breakfast.

    Good location close to the centre and train station.

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Overall value for money, Best shower ever (water pressure), Nice location

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Amazing hotel. Nice staff, nice location

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is too expensive.

    Very Nice Hotel, well located in the cool part of Vienna and nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was very clean.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not very clean and rooms and carpet looks old and broken

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Super nice hotel. Comfortable, clean and friendly staff. 5 minute walk to the Opera and U-bahn, but very close to tram stop.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decoration of the rooms; it looks a bit like one of the chain hotels from the 80s.

    The garden and the lounge area

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The carpet a little bit smells humid

    The size of the room is comfy and the hotel people service is good! The restaurant food is good!

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Well-appointed boutique hotel in a hip neighborhood with easy access to central-city attractions.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy convenient to city centre and close to bike docking station Breakfast superb Value for money Quiet

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a mixture of classic and modern experience in that hotel which I will never forget and I would like to stay there whenever I visit Vienna.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The service is good and staff were friendly.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No proper fan in bathroom.

    Staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing and spacious room

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dusty room old hotel

    Location

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Browse Das Triest Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: