Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Via Roma 4 stars

Nonntaler Hauptstraße 47, Nonntal, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#66 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 936 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was often full, no possibility to reserve. The air conditioning was behaving strange, I couldn't start it in the evenings, but next day when I arrived back in the room it was running. The fridge from minibar was not cold

    The personal was very friendly, the room was clean and big, ( comfort room), the location was excellent. The garden was wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wall separating the shower from the room was made of (brushed) glass which could make for awkwardness if travelling with someone who's not a significant other.

    Came to hotel Via Roma practically in tears after a nightmare with booking.com customer service, staff was extremely kind and helpful, making me feel at ease as soon as I walked in the door. Was initially worried about the location being too far from the city center, but the bus was a quick 5 min ride into the center and always on time (I had the Salzburg card so was free to travel on it) - pro tip, take photos of the timetable just next to the terrace of the Italian restaurant so you can time your departure and won't have to wait too long. Rooms were really comfortable and clean and overall the hotel is located in a quiet area which makes for a peaceful night's sleep. I didn't get a chance to try the breakfast but it smelled great. The Italian restaurant downstairs is excellent - felt a bit guilty having Italian food in Austria but the pizza was so good it was worth it! Would certainly recommend Hotel Via Roma to other travelers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was only spoiled by the poor, almost rude receptionist, who probably requires either retraining or an entirely new vocation. Otherwise, including receptionist on check out, we had a very pleasant stay.

    Excellent value in a great location with safe and easy parking within 20 minutes walk of the centre of town. Would also like to recommend the attached Italian an restaurant, which offers excellent food and hospitality and clearly draws in dining guests from the local area, I.e does not merely cater to the hotel guests

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limit of public transport only tram no.5 can access.There is no pot for hot water. No large suze bed but connect 2 small size bed together.

    Large room with bath tub, Free parking lot with great italian restaurant next door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated in a nice and quiet neighbourhood outside of the old town but very convenient with line 5 bus stop ( to both old town/city Center and to main train/bus station ) just outside the hotel corner .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is great but a bit pricey.

    Quiet and peaceful area, perfect for a great walk. Google map doesn't say but there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel with direct connection to the train station. People at the reception are super kind. Wifi in the room was good, no problems.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have had an excellent stay except for the mattress issue which we discovered too late. It was after 10PM when we removed the comforters and discovered that the second mattress was wet. We think it was the matress pad and we only found out when we laid down on it. We think the hotel would have resolved the issue had the front desk been open. Fortunately, we are relatively skinny people and could manage sleeping on the one dry mattress. Sadly, we forgot to tell the front desk when we checked out (room 403). And based on all the other good reviews, this is not the usual level of cleanliness you can expect at this hotel.

    We arrived by car so ease of parking was a real plus for us. The location is just a 15 minute walk to the dom. Our room was in the rear building, spacious and quiet. The receptionist was professional and efficient. The facilities were basic and in working condition. For the most part very clean and organised. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was really nice and helpful. We got all the information we needed to get around in the city and have good time. Would definitely book again! Thanks for everything!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the location is on a busy street, the 2nd house is very quiet. It is close enough to walk to the edge of the old city in about 10 minutes. Breakfast is great, but like the hotel and restaurant, a bit pricey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was great, with a large selection to choose from. Walking distance to the Castle and restaurants in town. Has parking and allows pets, which is nice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great, we were with a 6month old infant, hotel is near to the historical centre...great breakfast, coffee is not the best..but everything was good :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Simple, but clean and comfortable room (with lot of space), nice bathroom, and very good, rich breakfast. The old town is 15-20 minutes on foot and the area in between is very pleasant. Good offer for tourist who cannot afford to stay in the city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area was a little impersonal (in breakfast room).

    Room was a good size. Good powered shower. Restaurant in building (not belonging to the hotel) was very good (booking was necessary on a Friday evening).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    12Eur to add the breakfast is quite expensive, 20/25min is needed to reach the center by walk, the room should be renewed

    the room was big and with living area, Parking is near and free

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed has two matresses nx to each other but for me was fine since i was a single traveler.

    In the same building on the lower level there is Italian restaurant.Supermarket is walking distance as well shopping mall.Takes around 15-20 mins walk to get to the old town but Salzburg is surrounded by natural beauty the Alps and amazing architecture.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't complain about a thing. I didn't try the breakfast but other than that everything was exceptional and perfect. Maybe the beds were a little soft, but I still felt super comfortable and will definitely stay there again.

    I loved everything about it. Superfast WiFi, lovely staff, big rooms, and all my extra wishes were taken off! Some rooms have a balcony and the area is quiet but still close to the centre of the city. I would recommend this hotel to everyone looking for a nice place worth the money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the sheets were a little bit old; the location: the hotel is not in the center, is 25 minutes walking from the center, in a quite and fancy neighborhood; there is a bus station right in front of the hotel, and the bus nr 5 (which can be followed on a mobile app) takes you in 5 minutes to the center (so, it's not really a disadvantage);

    the place is nice, is not very fancy but it's clean and the staff is very helpful. the breakfast is absolutely awesome, we liked it a lot, it has anything you want

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is a bit far away from the city centre. There are also no lifts at the new house.

    The italian restaurant downstairs is good. The free parking was also good. the bathroom was unusually spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is really nothing that I didn't like. The location of the hotel is not in the central touristy area but it's actually super convenient. #5 bus going to Salzburg hbf is right in front of the hotel and a Billar supermarket is within 5 minutes of walking distance. It takes 10 - 15 minutes of walking to all sightseeing attractions.

    The staff at this hotel is super helpful and friendly. I booked this hotel for my parents who are Asian and need to drink hot tea all the time. There is no coffee maker in the room but when I told the staff about this need, they provided an electric kettle to my parents to use during the entire stay. Thank you!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is shared by the pizza place Nextdoor which was a pain. The air conditioner in the room was not working. Didn’t need it because it was not hot yet would have been good have some air circulation inside the room.

    15minute walk to the old town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Heating was not switched on, only in the bathroom. Parking is free in the hotel, but in the evening smetimes there is no place due to the guests of the restaurant.

    Breakfast is excellent, location is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dark and you had to go through two locked doors out from the corridor to get into it. Not as nice as the pictures. Was quite cold and couldn't get the heating to work but we didn't call anyone because of the hassle of unlocking the two doors. The bathroom was down a flight of steps and seemed like a hospital bathroom. No kettle or water.

    Cheaper than most of the other hotels in Salzburg which is a very expensive city. Plenty of parking and staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was incredible. I inadvertently left some important paperwork in my room and they mailed it to me. Very helpful staff, particularly Michaela Hamminger.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Hotel just on the other side of the Fortress and Old Town of Salzburg so really quiet and easy to reach with a car. Staff were excellent and our room was very generous in size. The restaurant that was adjoining the property was brilliant. Couldn't fault the hotel during our stay and would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff had no tourist knowledge i.e. tours and hop on hop off buses. the car park was very small and also served the restaurant next door so we just left the car on the car park. hotel was a little further from the centre that I had hoped.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was incredibly helpful, answering every question we had. The breakfast was very comprehensive, tons of options. The rooms are modern and super clean, well equipped and spacious - a great stay across the board. I'd highly recommend it again. Also cool - the Salzburg Card is available for purchase at the front desk, and the main tourist bus (Untersberg, the Zoo, Hellbrunn Palace, bus to town) had a stop right across the street. Excellent connection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a little out of the centre so if you don't want a 15 minute walk then its not for you. Poor wifi, kept dropping out and slow

    Lovely room and fantastic wet room. Very nice facilities and very helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Angelika at the front desk was fabulous! She went out of her way to help us by giving sightseeing options and helping with the comfort of our stay. The hotel is a 15 minute walk or a short bus ride to old town. The bus stop is very close to the front door of the hotel. The food in the Italian restaurant that is attached was very good. The service was not. The breakfast in the hotel was very good also. Many options including fresh fruit, breads,eggs and meat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attached restaurant (not the hotel's ownership) was very inefficient.

    The front desk person was excellent. Her name was Annika (sp). She helped us with special priced tours and everything else we needed. She made our stay perfect!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - uncomfortable bed, gave us twin beds whereas we specifically mentioned double-bed - most of the staffs are very unfriendly and unhelpful. - blankets were really tiny - no drinking water

    One staff named Sylvia was really helpful and friendly. Good washroom but no dental kit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -a little bit too expensive (at this price breakfast could be included)

    -interesting room -private parking -friendly staff -nice and clean -good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a bit small.

    The hotel was very nice. The rooms big, breakfast was one of the best I have seen, the owners were present all the breakfast time helping you. The location for us was very appropriate because our son lives 5 min away..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Premises were quite outdated, definitely not a 4* hotel, max 3. The only thing I liked about the room was bathroom, which was freshly renovated.

    Breakfast was good, staff was helpful, a/c in order. The room had double door, which helped to keep it quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast seemed a bit pricey at €18/p, we walked to a bakery 700 meters toward center instead.

    Good location, A/C, pleasant staff, the restaurant is not affiliated with the hotel but it is still delicious! The wait times are ridiculous; however, the food is worth it!! The pizza, the lasagne, the salad, the bread... all super.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is clean and tidy but is very dated and in need of renovation to justify the money charged for a nights stay.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I find it hard to say a negative apart from you have to use a card entry into the hotel after 10pm and I was worried if I lost my card how would I get in but the issue never happened so happy days

    Staff were above and beyond helpful , pleasant couldn't of been happier

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a criticism of the hotel because they are not associated with the restaurant, Trattoria da Giacomo, but our hotel room was at the rear of the property so we had to walk out of the main building and past the eatery to get to our room so it's relevant, in my opinion. The industrial rubbish bins down the side of the driveway smelt of seafood and I saw a large rat run across the gravel drive from the bins towards da Giacamo restaurant next to Hotel Via Roma on our last morning! Yuk.

    The hotel is very close to the wonderful Salzburg electric bus service and is only a 15 minute walk into the historical old town anyway. The bus is free with the Salzburg card available at the hotel. It is a must to buy as it saves both time and money. The car park at the rear of the property is good with some undercover spots sometimes available. The breakfast is adequate, the adjacent restaurant is busy but just okay and our bedroom and bathroom spacious and clean. The roller shutters cut out both light and noise so sleeping was easy. The staff tried hard to please. A bar is available until about 11 p.m. in what doubles as the breakfast room in the morning. I would stay here again if traveling to Sazburg.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connection cut out A LOT!! Every 20 minutes or so the connection would drop out which was very frustrating.

    Bed was comfortable and my room was quiet as it was down the end of the hall way

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They use shelf toilets in the bathroom which was a little awkward for us- not really used to it. Google it if you're not sure what a shelf toilet is, we had no idea how common it is in Europe and honestly cannot understand what's good about it. However it's just a toilet and it really didn't bother us that much.

    The air conditioning was amazing for a hot day in Salzburg - it's hard to find a hotel in Europe with decent price that comes with aircon! The bed was comfortable and the room was bigger than expected. The hotel is close to a bus stop that takes us to most major attractions in Salzburg. The Italian restaurant next door was an added bonus- tasty food we had it for both lunch and dinner! There's also a big Spar supermarket nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very friendly and helpful staff. Went out of their way to keep us comfortable. Gave us really useful tips and went over and above to provide us with what we needed. Great value for money. Local bus stop is right outside and it's a 5 minute bus to the city center or a 12 minute walk. Would definitely go again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only bus No.5 stops in front of the hotel, and it could be difficult to travel because after a certain time, say 8pm, it won't pick up from a major sights, e.g. Mirabellplatz or Hbf train station. Connection with other buses is easy, but would be troublesome and confusing for recently-arriving visitors.

    - Friendly, helpful staff trying to help customise and adjust my travel plan - Spacious room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The taxi's.... We were dropped at Salzburg P + R Sud...not taxi's around. Thanks to the local officer at the Salzburg P + R Sud who helped us ordering the taxi. We really appreciated!! The taxi drivers are not very helpful / friendly. On the way to hotel, the taxi driver gave us 1 Euro less !!! On the way back from hotel to bus stop..we paid the taxi driver while seating in the taxi and the moment we got down, he (was a local) just tried to drive away with our luggage. Had to run after the taxi and ask him to stop. When asked him why did he did that...he made excuse that he forgot there was luggage !!! which was strange...he himself kept the luggage just 10 min back when he came to pick us up. It were just the taxi drivers which we found not very friendly. While in the town we interacted with a lot of locals they were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the staff had mentioned the Salzburg Pass at check-in. I had bought a ticket online already before I discovered it and that the local hotels sell them. Other than that, absolutely no negatives.

    The buffet is fantastic with eggs, sausage and bacon (even salmon), plus the typical European options. My bed was comfortable, room was quiet, staff friendly and attached restaurant had great Italian food! Conveniently located on two bus lines to the main part of town (5 min) & the bus line to Hellbrunn and the cable car. Best hotel I've stayed in during my 6 months in Europe!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom glass into the bedroom. No privacy, with the light beaming in the bedroom when the other one sleeps or the fact that this is see through even with half of the glass frosted. I found it weird. The bathroom/toiletts has no lock. Just closes.

    Breakfast was great. Beds very comfortable. No noise from anyone in the hotel although the Hotel was packed. Very close to town center. No funny smell in the bedroom and that is wonderful. (This has no price to me as too often bedrooms have a funny smell).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and only 15 minute walk into historic centre. Fabulous Italian restaurant next door however please make sure you book; would definitely return both to the hotel and the restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person checking us out changed the price of our accommodations and charged an additional 20 euro for an additional 1 hour because we were on a tour! The pink hair lady checking us out was not friendly and suggested that the price quoted by booking.com was misquoted and refused to honor the price. The price was supposed to be 61.55 Euro and I walked out with a bill of 120 euro! I will be contacting customer service as well as American Express because I have the confirmation!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is very weak, sometimes very hard to be connected.

    The staff is helpful and room is clean and tidy. Hotel location even though is a bit out of center area, but it will only take about 15 mins to walk. And there is bus stop just in front of the hotel, which the bus No.5 will directly bring you to city centre and most of the attractions.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like

    Friendly staff, clean and large room, good location. Walk to city center or the bus stops almost right in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to find fault with. Great value for money.

    The room was a great size, well furnished, including a fridge. You could make tea and coffee in the breakfast room during the day or night, which was great. The air conditioning was fantastic in the hot weather. The walk into Salzburg was very pleasant. Great restaurants on the way, including a vegetarian one. Delicious. The breakfasts were generous and full of fresh, varied food. Staff were all helpful and very pleasant. Better than staying in the heart of Salzburg.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No real complaints - the only unfortunate was the smell from the restaurant downstairs seem to permeate the corridor.

    Location is about 15-20 mins walk from town, with some nice leafy neighbourhood to walk around (which is useful when travelling with dogs as we did). Parking is included and there are a couple of restaurants (including the one in the hotel) nearby for meals.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was a bit small. the bed sheet was stained.

    the location is good. Breakfast was fantastic. The Italian restaurant is next door and worth it!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Something closer to city (although only 5 minutes by bus).

    Spotlessly clean, staff very helpful,, room a bit small although that seems to be the norm in Europe. A bit far out of town but bus goes past every 10 minutes or so. Breakfast very nice. Coffee/tea available downstairs 24 hours a day. Iron/ironing board available via reception.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice little hotel at short distance from the center. Bus stop fifty meters away, 5 to 10 minutes to center town.Nicely redecorated and air conditioned. There is a fabulous italian restaurant in the hotel called " Da Giacomo ". Food is excellent, as is the service from real italian waiters. There is a quaint garden terrace in the back with great atmosphere. highly recommend hotel & restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Austrian hotels typically don't provide shampoos and separate bath gels. This one was no different, but the mechanism for the shower gel/shampoo dispenser kept falling off. It made a loud noise and it should be replaced with a different one.

    Given that it was Salzburg Festival time and most of the hotels were booked or beyond sky-high budgets, the Hotel Via Roma was a nice solution. Easy to get to the Altstadt (Old Town) and taxis came very quickly. (€10) Staff was pleasant and breakfast good. Nice bathtub in the room was a very pleasant surprise as most hotels in Austria that we've stayed in don't have bathtubs.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom smells to pizza all day long. There is an italian restaurant on the first floor and all the hotel including the bedroom smells to food all day long.the recepcionist was not very kind and they took note of the umbrella we borrowed and threatened us saying they will charge us for it if we lost it. I have stayed in many 4 star hotels and they never wrote down if i borrowed an umbrella. We asked for restaurant recommendations and they ignored us

    It is a good hotel if you are travelling with car as it has a free parking but it is a 20min walk away from the center of salzburgo

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub/shower was a non-functioning jacuzzi that was hard/ dangerous to step out of, with only a partial glass door. The second room our group had was a regular shower setup. Rooms were smallish with twin beds together whether you asked for double or twin room. Breakfast was 2 types of bread or packaged toast with thin juice that tasted like instant Tang.

    Very friendly and welcoming staff, generous with info. Nice decor with marble floors everywhere. Beds were comfortable. Air conditioning worked well, which was very much appreciated in July. Good breakfast setup with choice of indoor or outdoor seating and carafes of coffee and milk rather than small cups.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Close to the town center and all the attractions. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast. You can inform the hotel if you have vegetarian or vegan preferences for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception calls you at 10 pm to change the place of your vehicles parking. And an unfriendly neighbour tells you that you should park your bike 20 cm right side. Ridiculous...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Generally, hotels in Salzburg are over-rated and over-priced. Via Roma is a nice hotel, but I would consider it more a 3 star plus than a 4 star.

    hotel was ok. Staff great. They offered all needed information. Room was ok. Large room. Parking place was a big plus.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is OK but a little isolated (on the edge of the Salzburg map). Would be perfect if closer to the centre.

    Large bedroom with mini-bar, fridge, TV and air-conditioning. Large bathroom with twin sink, powerful shower, hairdryer & shaving mirror. Free parking with some shaded areas.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location, however we knew that it was not in the center when we booked.

    The breakfast was very good. I enjoyed the updated bathroom and walk in shower.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, spacious room, friendly staff, free parking onsite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to Go in city center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit far from the city centre

    The staff were OUTSTANDING!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in best location and the staff were really amazing. Thank you for nice stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Italian restaurant there served pretty authentic and great Italian foods at rather reasonable prices

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFi was VERY slow

    Location, and restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, friendly, great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good ratio price to quality. Just for sleeping while you visit Salzburg

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Parking Reception staff Easy checkin Bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel located in a quite area around 20mins to city center by walking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating didn’t work, room was very cold.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smell spreading from restaurant to room corridors.

    Easy parking, large rooms, nice bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The WiFi was extremely weak

    Good location with friendly staff, lovely rooms & great breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Via Roma traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: