Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Solitude 4 stars

Kaiser-Franz-Josef-Str. 16, 5640 Bad Gastein, Austria

#13 of 75 Holiday rentals in Bad Gastein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 130 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a quaint hotel in an old building which gives a special feeling stayng there. It is right by the main street in Bad Gastein and close to most things but pls remember that its hilly and uphill is quite steep. Very excellent breakfast (not buffet but served) included and price value ratio is excellent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows in the bedrooms probably need renovating. Not double glazed.

    The Hotel has a quaint old style feel to it which was really nice. Breakfast was more than adequate with no complaints whatsoever. Although only one breakfast waiter(ess) each day, there was no waiting time. The restaurant was excellent. The staff all very friendly and informative Was a pleasure to stay here and we would most certainly go back again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NO sign of reception + Host! We had to go to the restaurant to get keys, resulting in a mix up in rooms, thus room rates! The restaurant is Not part of the Hotel, amazing Food and very friendly staff!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were really looking forward to visiting Bad Gastein. We were expecting it to be a highlight of our tour of the Salzburg region, but it was the biggest disappointment. Many of the buildings are abandoned and run down. The winter ski season was drawing to an end. The city is still beautiful and historical, but it lacks vibrancy and people! We were the only guests at the hotel. The hotel was the most expensive out of all the hotels we stayed at while in Austria, and we mostly do 5 star.

    food and service at the restaurant was quite good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask for more shower gel and shampoo. Told restaurant open to 1100pm - kitchen closed at 2130.

    Nice room number 7. Spacious. Good views over valley.Comfy beds.Arrived late but dinner provided and delicious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect ! Thank you so much

    Luxury castle feeling with all the modern comfort, very charming place with a lot of character. Amazing views over the whole valley and the waterfall. The owners welcome and make you feel like home from the very first moment. I particularly loved the common areas, with fireplace, old paintings, comfortable sofas. The restaurant (part of which is also used for breakfast, with views over the valley) is a great place to spend the evening, all staff is extremely nice. The room was big and all in wood, very very cute. The villa is very quiet, there are only a few rooms, one can easily spend all day inside. It's an unique place. Strongly recommended. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's difficult to get around Bad Gastein, it's a very hilly town, so can be v. Tiring. But this is not a criticism ofVilla Solitude, just a general comment on the town.

    The food, the building and the staff were all excellent. I would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two things can spoil your experience (although none of them have anything to do with the hotel as such): - Bad Gastein village seems to be slowly dying. Some of the grand old hotels are permanently closed, old villas are boarded up, relatively few restaurants are still in operation. - If you are in Bad Gastein for mountain sport or summer hiking, the Gastein Card which you will get at the hotel is simply not good enough. Similar summer cards - from St.Anton or Ischgl in the west of Austria to Dachstein in the east - offer free access to lifts, buses, etc. The Dachstein Card offers only a minimal rebate. One single roundtrip ride with the Stubnerkogelbahn is EUR 24. With the Gastein Card you get a "rebate" of EUR 3,50. It will set you back EUR 20.50 per person. In Dachstein or St.Anton a similar service is free of charge. That's quite a difference.

    Wonderful hotel in a historical building with period furniture and a turn-of-the-century atmosphere combined with luxuries like a perfect modern bathroom (in 19th century style).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    However hard I try, I am unable to find something wrong

    The terrace with an unobstructed view on the valley is outstanding. The villa is wonderfully maintained: it's like going back in time.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    kitchen/ cigarette smell in rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful place to stay in an excellent location. The room was nice and comfortable and the staff were great! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it is a magical place !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was toi expensive and not so good

    Room sas so classy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the best location in Bad Gastein. Wonderfully renovated villa.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location Restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location. Restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's far from the ski resort.

    Tthe place is just beautiful, cozy and lovely.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable and wonderful historic house, nice view, varied breakfast, very friendly staff.Strongly recommend!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could be better!

    Everything was wonderful!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    weak wifi - only in hall small breakfast

    attractive style perfect location good breakfast nice view

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed in the beginning of the week. Wifi with low range. Uncomfortable pillow s.

    Amazing breakfast and view. Homely feeling.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were there during the off season so the town was practically deserted but the waterfall and the views were stunning even if there wasn't much open.

    The food in the restaurant was amazing and the property itself is beautiful and charming. We were very well taken care of.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The wifi is practically only available in the public area and not in the rooms.

    Location is great and the building is magnificent with a stunning view. The people who run it try their best and it has a really nice family atmosphere!

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wi fi works only in living room but who says its a disadvantage when you are on holiday?

    very beautiful villa with beautiful view; restaurant is very good, recommended wine was just perfect; we were absolutely satisfied with idea of personalized breakfasts for every table; villa owner is a very pleasant woman, and we loved the idea of sitting every evening in living room (its more homie in comparison with standard lobbies) this accommodation was perfect addition for skiing and thermen in Bad Gastein for an Easter

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is poor Without wifi!:-( House keeping could be better. Small parking No lift!

    Good location in the centre Nice room Nice restaurant for dinner

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This was our second time at the villa and we love the place, the rooms are very spacious and have old world charm, the pictures off the rooms are very accurate, this time we were there during off season and had the entire place to ourselves, side note that if you are there in the off season, the town is very much on the quiet side so don't expect to much in activity. Iris was a great host. We arrived at 4 and were hungry but not much was open until dinner so she was kind enough to serve us her homemade strudel and coffee in the sitting area which was delicious, we will be back again

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice bath tub but a fixed shower head placed higher up, instead of one limited by the length of the flexible hose pipe, would have made it just perfect.

    Rooms were clean and well kept. Beds were very comfortable. Staff were very helpful and efficient. Wonderful view from our room. Very nice fresh buffet breakfast placed next to each table. We ate out with friends most evenings but the one night that we dined in, the food was excellent. We had the pleasure of meeting the Director but did find him under our bed one evening (he has 4 legs and weighs about 5kgs).

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only place the wi-fi worked in our room was right by the door

    We stayed over the Christmas holidays and booked this hotel as it was one of the few still open (planned the trip mid-Nov). What a lucky surprise! Our room was huge with a separate sitting area and a bathroom with a large bathtub. There were amazing views over the town from the many windows. The location is in town and within a 5-10 minute walk of most everything. The breakfast was very good and the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A true alpine Europe experience, little secret hideaway in almost theatrical surrounding. Exceptional restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    nostalgiq

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view from the room was fantastic. The Restaurant provided a superb meal with wonderful wine selection.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very old hotel, very well maintained and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What I really didn't like is that there's no air condition

    The service of the staff was excellent

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No WiFi

    The location

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old world charm

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Grumpy chef.

    Large rooms ( we had superior rooms) and they upgraded one of the rooms up to superior for free.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: