Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Trapp

Traunstraße 34, Aigen, 5026 Salzburg, Austria

#45 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1054 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only disappointment was that we had to go down to the living room to use the wifi and the light from the front of the house lit up our room ALL night, need black out shades. Otherwise, it was lovely. You could leave on a few more lights. The living room was dark and not inviting.

    We really liked the history of this home. the rooms were adorable and decorated nicely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    The room was beautiful and we loved the balcony/patio...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like that the bathroom was shared. We thought we reserved a room with 2 beds and a bathroom, but were told on arrival that we had booked a “basic” room which shares a common bathroom. Alex was kind and the room truly was beautiful, we would have just reserved a different room with a bathroom had we been aware.

    The room was beautiful and we loved the balcony/patio that we had. We also loved the ambience - the historical Knick knacks and information. Also, we appreciated the free WiFi.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    historical background - the actual home if the Trapp family;
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    some rooms do not have their own bathroom or even any running water.

    historical background - the actual home if the Trapp family; lots of info on that. Very quiet, large park.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful, historic property with amazing actual photos...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a negative comment but the villa is located in a residential area so we’d suggest you bring everything you want to eat and drink with you and there is no refrigerator or restaurant available for a main meal. breakfast is the only meal available at extra cost.

    A beautiful, historic property with amazing actual photos and the setting is just perfect. We had the family suite on ground floor. It was very spacious and beautifully appointed. Highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived one night later because of a funeral in my family. I had sent an e-mail to ask for a possibility to cancel that night (one week early) and they didn't allow any changes even in these circumstances. I found this quite cold, as was also the reception during our stay. Very high price for our small room without bathroom. Breakfast at a long table, not very comfortable.

    Nice gardens and living room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    Just for historical relevance it was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sharing bathroom was bit inconvenient, as one had to wait turn for the toilet. Though the room prices were same, one room was very small. (we booked two rooms) Price was too high considering the size of rooms, also it is away from the city, and without breakfast. Though they say that check in is from 3pm, and we arrived at 2.45pm, lugging our lugguages, after a train journey(The walk from the closest train station/bus stop is 8mins), we were made to wait till 3.15pm for checking in.

    The historical context. The surroundings. The lift in the building to take lugguage up. The grounds of the house. The house felt warm and welcoming. The manager is friendly and warm person.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed our stay, lovely rooms & best sleep of our touring holiday and great experience to remember.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maria's Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearest Restaurant 20 mins walk away, could do with a couple more deck chairs in garden

    Very peaceful airy, spacious, light bedrooms, got great sleep, breakfast excellent, garden relaxing, near bus stop, good welcome, enjoyed real Van Trapp experience

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Book this villa due to the movie “sound of music”.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Edelweiss Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light of bath room is not so table.

    Book this villa due to the movie “sound of music”.There are lots of photos for true Trapp family in all round.The room is big,but the facility is just Ok. The breakfast is good.The garden is beautiful and peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    If you love Sound of Music you’ll love this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about it

    Beautiful place full of history,and staff (Elizabeth)was so friendly,helpful and made us very comfortable and welcoming,lots of parking that we even used public transport which is close by.Very clean hotel and I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    3.8
    Extremely over priced for what it delivers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a celebrity property and it ends there. No extra touch, no attempt to make travelers feels welcome, poor housekeeping, going an extra mile to cut corners etc. etc.

    A celebrity property. Nice grounds and not a cookie cutter hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    The place to stay whether you are a Sound of Music fan or not. Tranquil, historical and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is quite expensive for what it was.

    The building was full of history and the rooms were enormous! Set in such a tranquil location and close to bus and train links to the city centre. The staff were lovely and late check-in process was easy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    The staff is super friendly and the villa is kept clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little far from the city and we couldn't find any restaurants in the vicinity of the villa.

    The staff is super friendly and the villa is kept clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.8
    The history of the the family was all over the house and was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived about 830pm,no staff to welcome us,key was taped to the front door in a envelope. Although this as the Von Trapp family home,if was not the one in the film,we were disappointed.

    The history of the the family was all over the house and was interresting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    I love this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love this place!! Very friendly and professional stuff. The host was very accommodating and kind. The villa was amazing. My kids loved it as it connected them to the sound of music movie. We will go back in the near future. I will strongly recommend it to everyone.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful building full of history, it’s a little bit out of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot while we there, being an old building it’s very creaky and the walls are quite thin so we didn’t get a lot of sleep but still really enjoyed our stay here.

    Beautiful building full of history, it’s a little bit out of town but you can easily get the bus in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Great rooms in a superb building with amazing history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was fantastic... I was sitting in the salon catching up on some emails while my family were up in the rooms and Marco came out of nowhere with a machiato (was exactly what I needed at that time of day) He was also extremely helpful with our travel documents which we had left in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    2.5
    Really Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a tourist trap. 25m2 room, no a/c, no bottled water, no fridge, no tea and coffee facilities, fluctuating water temp in a tiny shower, room not clean lots of dust behind sofa, the one member of staff available for a few hours a day doesn’t remember guest names, very noisy from other people in the house and trains nearby, no mention by staff of what the house is all about - I could write many more negatives but frankly - please just stay somewhere else we were overcharged and taken for a ride

    This is a tourist trap. 25m2 room, no a/c, no bottled water, no fridge, no tea and coffee facilities, fluctuating water temp in a tiny shower, room not clean lots of dust behind sofa, the one member of staff available for a few hours a day doesn’t remember guest names, very noisy from other people in the house and trains nearby, no mention by staff of what the house is all about - I could write many more negatives but frankly - please just stay somewhere else we were overcharged and taken for a ride

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable but watch out for mystery charges
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like that it wasn't made clear to us that breakfast (at this bed and breakfast) was at an additional cost until after we had had it.If we had known we where going to be charged 12 euros each for a piece of fruit, we would have stayed in the comfy bed longer and bought an entire supermarket with our money instead. We also had an extra 48 euros taken out of our account with no further explanation which was a horrible thing to happen. The house was nice but it was very expensive for what it was. We had a nice time but wouldn't recommend it/ ever stay there again.

    the bed was honestly the best thing in the whole place. like sleeping on a freaking CLOUD. i want that bed. i NEED it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    We'd come back in a heart beat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The home and grounds are beautiful, location is a bit difficult to find. Breakfast is very good and served in a lovely room, bed is wonderful for sleeping. We enjoyed our stay and would love to come back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Truly special property, beautifully furnished and gorgeous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like. (English breakfast tea was not available - but a large range of fruit and other teas were.)

    Truly special property, beautifully furnished and gorgeous grounds. Hosts very professional and helpful (eg with booking and chasing taxis). Breakfast is extra but worth it especially as everyone eats at one large table which leads to guests saying hello to each other. A must for Sound of Music fans. The songs are played at breakfast (by modern singers) and original photographs of the real Von Trapp family are everywhere. About 15 mins by Taxi to centre of Salzburg (€12-15). The larger suites (the Maria suite and the Von Trapp suite) are more expensive than average but definitely worth the extra for the beautiful high ceiling rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Amazing piece of history!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old estate home with charming interior and private rooms. Felt like we were going back in time and experiencing an iconic piece of history. Staff we kind and friendly. Breakfast was available every morning and was close enough to the Old City of Salzburg to walk! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended Villa Trap to all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit trouble to go to/from train station as well as downtown. If hotel can offer shuttle car, that would be perfect.

    The spacious environment and beautiful decorations really attracted me.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay near the forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was hot - no air conditioning and no fan. Wifi was slow.

    Quaint building in a quiet area right next to forest trails of the Gaisberg. No fridge, but glad for the kettle in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful original home to the Von Trapp family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since we did not have a car, finding options for dinner were limited. We had the help of some locals we met while out walking who found a great family friendly place for us though! Also, it was hard to reach the staff before our stay. We tried to contact them a few times and didn't hear back.

    We loved the historical connection to the Von Trapp family. The house was beautiful and so were the grounds. The staff, when we saw them, were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Tranquil ambiance and clean premises.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much Ikea kitsch around the house. No airconditioning. Should have small fridges in rooms since no F&B-services. Bathtowels very small.

    Tranquil ambiance and clean premises. Good beds. Extremely polite and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Wingside Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house is old so the floors do creek loudly. If you want to be central to old town this is about a 10 min drive but it was very easy to find parking even for oversized vehicles like mine. I would stay again.

    We booked the Wingside Suite which was much bigger than I expected, it had 2 separate bedrooms with their own bathrooms and a separate sitting room which was perfect for my family of 6. All 3 rooms were in its own little hallway with a door that I was able to lock so that we could leave the doors open at night and check on our kids. Nice patio out back with tables and a big yard. Parking onsite and a vending machine that sells liquor too. The manager, Alex was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a dream come true. Being a Sound of Music fan since a child, could never imagine ever staying in the original Von Trapp Family home. Alex is very welcoming when you arrive and very helpful throughout our whole stayed. The house is full of the family history which is very interesting. Decor is inline with the period of the Von Trapps with slightly modern adjustments but you still get the feel of the Von Trapp way of living. Rooms very spacious and clean. Breakfast was out of this world and on checkout we were able to purchase some souvenirs. Would definitely recommend even if you are not a Sound of Music fan. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic overnight at Villa Trapp
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Wingside Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a little pricey for what you got, but it was tasty. The check-out process was a little long since there was only one person working in the office at the time, and we were trying to get out the door to a tour starting at 9am. What you gain in personal service you lose in efficiency, especially when there are people waiting.

    This is such an amazing place to stay, especially if you are a fan of Sound of Music. As the original home of the Trapp Family, there are pictures all over for guests to look at. We had an extremely well-appointed suite with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The beds were so comfortable, we were pleasantly surprised. There was a tea tray in every bedroom with a hot water pot and several options for drinks. Sadly it was raining while we were there so we didn't get to explore the garden, but what we could see from the house was beautiful. There is plenty of parking in the small gravel lot to the side of the house, and the staff are all extremely accommodating. The breakfast was very tasty and the kids enjoyed all the options. We really loved our stay at VIlla Trapp!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    This is a special place and a must for those who want to live their childhood dreams
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Alex the person in charge was very friendly and helpful. For those who want to experience the original home of the von Trapp family. Many original items and photos. It is excellent for those who want this experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.4
    The von Trapp connection of the property was attractive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no bathroom in the room we booked, and we didn't know that before arriving. Had we knew that, we would not have booked the room. Also, after the stay, both my wife and I felt very itchy on our skins.

    The von Trapp connection of the property was attractive

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay Large bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Edelweiss Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little pricey

    The size of the room and the decor. The bunker from WWII was still able to be seen in the property. I was able to enter the bunker to view the various rooms in it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay, especially if you love the Sound of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent place to stay, especially if you love the Sound of Music. Close to public transportation, so even though it was outside the city center, it was easy to get in to town for tours and walking around. Staff was very friendly and courteous! The grounds are beautiful and I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Really special visit to a beautiful historic house!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Trapp Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a historic house with no tour or literature of any kind. It was so beautiful and special. I think the guests could have benefited from that.

    Then room was spacious and beautiful. Breakfast was fun and cozy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    This is the original family home of the Sound of Music...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the house was purposed to be a family home instead of a hotel, it can be a little noisy with the wooden floors and thin walls for the light sleepers. Also the basic rooms have shared bathrooms.

    This is the original family home of the Sound of Music family!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    The history of this place was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Wingside Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely need to use a gps to find it.

    The history of this place was amazing. If your a WWII buff then this is your place. Do your research but I’m pretty sure Heinrich Himmler took over the house in the late 1930s. There is even a bunker still there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Salzburg at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maria's Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wireless was slow in our room

    Everything else and because the wireless was slow, e mails had to wait until later. Beutiful place with a cute story that most people know.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful and Peaceful Villa in Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Wingside Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A beautiful Villa that is well appointed with modest honoring of the genuine Van Trapp family pics. The Manager. Alex, was absolutely terrific! Great personality accompanied with excellent customer service! Breakfast was very good. 5 star experience will be back for sure!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    The bed and breakfast was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and breakfast was wonderful. We stayed on the top floor in Agetha's room. It was clean and comfortable. Villa Trapp is walking distance to Old Town Salzburg. My wife and I walked along the river a few times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Sensational in every way! Such a wonderful experience at such a beautiful setting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were very comfortable and it was great to have a lift. The house itself is simply fabulous and really special. The location is easy to find and a short walk from the bus or train stop which is great! Alex, the host was exceptional in every way and made our stay so much more enjoyable! He is such an asset to Villa Trapp. Finally, the breakfasts were superb! I would definitely recommend and would love to return one day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.8
    Dark & spooky
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have already written one review for the hotel. As we had consecutive nights booked. We were not comfortable during our stay. Not with only a motion sensor light in the hall leading to the communal bath at night. And very little lighting on the first floor as well. Walking in a dark hall & hotel at night is not appealing to us. Lastly, we were not comfortable with hearing footsteps at night in the hall outside the bedroom. We don’t want to pay money to be in what we consider dark & spooky. Not restful. There are many reviews of people who enjoyed their visit here however. But since reviews are about personal perspective and experience, Ours was not a good one. Happy travels🌟

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Magical stay at Villa Trapp
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to realize that it is a old home without air conditioning. Our bed was not very comfortable.

    It is a beautiful home with a wonderful history. If you ask for a tour of some of the other suites to see more of the house, the staff will try to accommodate you. They also sell a delightful children's book with memories from one of the Von Trapp children. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    The room had a nice balcony with a view of the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their are only motion sensor lights in the hall leading from the bedrooms upstairs to the communal bathroom. They do not seem to be working consistently. You must turn the light on manually when this happens. This is disconcerting as you are in the hall in darkness until you do. And the lower part of the house is dark at night as well. The property does not have active staff at night either. These things plus noises like someone walking up and down the hall at night (when it appears no one is there when investigated) makes it a place that was not well suited for us. But there are other reviews with people loving it. So it’s a matter of preference. We prefer a more well lit facility at night. And one without the sound of disconcerting footsteps walking up and down a dark hall at night. We do not care for “things that go bump in the night”. However, as I’ve said many people love it. This is our individual opinion and personal experience. Happy travels🌟

    The room had a nice balcony with a view of the property. The area is a beautiful place to visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.6
    Interesting hotel, nice Trapp family touches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite far from central Salzburg. While the bed sheets were clean, one of the couches smelled like someone quote sweaty had slept there a week ago. That was in a suite room too.

    The history. It's what you pay for.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay and nice hosts, but it doesn't make the most of its history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not worth €12 each. Most of the free breakfasts we had on our vacation were better. Also, while the house itself is historic, there's not much exploring you can do. Almost every room is a guest room, and they didn't give us a tour or so much as a word about what makes the house special, so a lot was left to the imagination. Everything we learned about its history was from their website. Unlike most Booking.com places where you pay at the property, Villa Trapp charges your card when you make your booking. Also, we changed our reservation from two nights to one, and they didn't refund us until we specifically requested.

    It's a very historic house, both from the Von Trapp living there to the Nazis and Heinrich Himmler occupying it during the war. We were upgraded from the smallest room to a bigger room with a private bathroom (Agathe) for free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.0
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were extremely uncomfortable, could not read in the main room down stairs as we could not locate the light Swtich and there were no instructions or staff to help as they are only onsite until 7.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful room with a Mountain View.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful room with a Mountain View. Fast connection to the city with the S Train or bus. A beautiful villa that was the original home of the von Trapp family. We really enjoyed our time here and thank the staff for their assistance and for the lovely three days.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    The history of the Villa was the only reason we stayed here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were only a couple pieces of furniture representative of the period of time when the Trapp family was living here. Much of the furnishings and décor felt inappropriate.

    The history of the Villa was the only reason we stayed here. The photography in the Villa helped to paint a greater understanding of the Trapp family story. The grounds were nice and the staff was helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    We had a great stay and for the price we paid, it was worth every cent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sound of Music Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, coffee or milk/creamer were not provided even though we had kettle and cups etc. 2 teabags were provided

    We stayed in the sound of Music suite and it was amazing. Very well presented and well furnished. The grounds are very well maintained and breakfast was of a high standard. The views from the windows were magnificent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Had a fabulous time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was an office and so not always manned which felt a bit strange as it was so quiet. Would have preferred small separate tables for breakfast rather than one big table to share.

    Very clean and beautifully kept Staff very helpful and friendly Beautiful location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Great stay in an iconic facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is an historic but well preserved and maintained building. The iconic connection to "The Sound of Music" , priceless' . The extra cost buffet breakfast was good. Our room was small but adequate. The grounds, although crowded in by suburban Salzburg, were ample. All in all, we are glad we stayed in this very special pace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    It was a lovely stay, we really enjoyed our time at Villa Trapp and Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sound of Music Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea was provide but not coffee and there was no milk or creamer either.

    We stayed in a suite and the room was fantastic, it had great views, lots of windows and a luxury feel only an old house can give.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    It was a lovely home. It was very close to historic Salzburg. The room was lacking in decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price of breakfast was too expensive. Would have been comforting to know staff was on hand 24 hours.

    It was very quiet and secluded. The birds chirping outside were so relaxing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Villa is nice with a real charm of the old days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old school charm has few negatives as creacking floors and thin walls. And you can hear everything that's going on in the corridor. And matresses were really soft and could be already changed.

    Villa is nice with a real charm of the old days. Location is good, it's a nice to wak to the city center (20-25min) or if you have bikes that's even better. Staff was polite and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    For sound of music fans
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Edelweiss Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not included in room cost and at 12 euros was a tad expensive. Also the receptionist couldn't seem to work out the bill correctly on checking out and tried to overcharge us twice !! Be wary !

    The room was a good size with toiletries, large bathroom and tea making facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Hystorical villa in park
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some furniture was not up to the quallity you might expect in such an historical house.

    Staff was very friendly and you can fill the history of the building. We fill only positive wibes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    It's a great idea to stay where the Trapped family...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water on the day we arrived. We informed the staff right away and he promised to have it fixed by the end of the day. But nothing was fixed when we returned from sightseeing. At the same time, we couldn't communicate with anyone because the staff already went home. We didn't have a shower until the next day. No wifi in our room only in common areas.

    It's a great idea to stay where the Trapped family actually stayed especially for the SOM fans.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    I like everything about the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guests on the same floor with me was very loud and it was until 12:30. They open the door and move rooms all the time. They were laughing and talking loudly. I couldn’t have a rest while i have to leave at 4 am in the morning.

    I like everything about the property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome experience staying in the von Trapp family house. It is a beautiful house and the surroundings is so peaceful. The room is nice and big and was very comfortable. And it is not too far from the city centre. Also plenty of parking available and the wifi is fast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Special atmosphere, lovely rooms, perfect for Sound of Music fans!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Edelweiss Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit costly. It’s not walking distance to downtown Salzburg. Can’ t think of anything else.

    What a beautiful place, and with a personal touch. It felt special to stay at the real van Trapp family house and they have worked hard to make it as close to the original interior design of the van Trapp family as possible. It doesn’t at all feel like a hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Neat to stay at for the history of the home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Wingside Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood surprised me but that's my fault for not google mapping it better. For the price, breakfast should be included.

    It was really a fun experience to stay here and imagine the Trapp family living here once upon a time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    We are big SOM fans, so we loved the history of the villa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More amenities [small shampoo/conditioner/lotion bottles, etc.] in the rooms/bathrooms would have been great!

    We are big SOM fans, so we loved the history of the villa! The staff, location and food were all wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    It is a lovely place to stay for one night if you really like the history. But it's not a fine hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maria's Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing in the rooms. (we stayed in Maria's suite) No coffee maker, no nice little shampoos or body lotions. There was not even a bottle opener. The rooms are completely bare of any extra perks or special attentions.

    The history of the building is extraordinary. The breakfast was nice. Free parking is always a bonus. The area is very quiet, and highly relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    Room comfortable and clean, interesting history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No service available after arrival 7.30pm, no visable staff to hand, no phone in room for contact, breakfast was effected by insects so didn't eat.

    Room comfortable and clean, interesting history.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    It's the "Sound of Music" villa :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Wingside Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit more plug-in space for the electronics, maybe.

    It was a great experience to sleep in the same house, where the Von Trapp family lived. Its in a quiet area, nice surroundings, but also its easy to get into the city. The staff was exceptionally nice, the breakfast had a good selection of food. The house is old, which is what you expect from it, but it was renovated and comfortable. We stayed in the west wing suite (2 bedrooms). There are pictures/paintings of the von Trapp family all over. The entrance and lobby are beautiful. I definitely recommend staying here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.0
    lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Wingside Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have been coffee left in the bedrooms rather than just tea and more selection of hot food for breakfast, also I felt for the money you pay to stay in the villa that breakfast should be included in the overall price.

    The rooms were very clean and comfortable and lovely and warm, we had a suite which was great and plenty of space for us all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    An incredible experience. Amazing staff, rooms, and environs! Go here! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An incredible experience! A wonderfully friendly man checked us in and accommodated us for our two night stay in the Sound of Music suite. An incredibly beautiful room, and the house is steeped in wonderful history. We had an amazing time in Salzburg and will return for a summer visit sometime. This Villa comes highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Ok. So exciting to stay there but staff definitely could have made it a more memorable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t much in the way of personalitity with the staff. We only saw her once and she would have given us a little tour of the place or at least sean on certain history part of the house.

    Amazing to stay at such a historic location!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous property, loved the history provided and in the end so close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A better explanation when booking on how easy and close the public transport of bus/train from main stn was. Would have saved us a few $$$.

    Loved the atmosphere, the feel of the home was great and the lounge area was comfy to spend a few hours reading.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely comfortable, warm, spotlessly clean and welcoming. Very pleasant and helpful staff. The hotel has been beautifully furnished and there are interesting photos of the original Trapp family. Excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    we´d like to come again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Atmosphere in the Trapp House - historical flair, old nice furniture, especially good and nice Serviceteam, in of the best things? breakfast at the long table together with other guests thank you, we´d like to come again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    A dream come true!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sound of Music Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The staff, Marcos, was amazing. The room was far beyond what I expected. It felt like a dream come true! I stopped at the hotel store in town and the lady there was just as wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.4
    Historical Sound of Music villa of the Trapp Family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When checking in no info given on facilities of villa or things to do there. The one staff member that worked in office seemed flustered and busy. Our enquires were answered each day in a rushed manner. Not encouraged to explore building and look at photos etc. Grounds are not visitor friendly. Breakfast is not included and expensive compared to other places we stayed on our trip. I realise they have to make money from the Trapp/ Sound of Music connection but I did expect more than Ikea furniture, laminate floating floors with falling apart skirting boards and a cheap feeling bathroon for the price. As this was to be the grand finale to our holiday and as Sound of Music fans we were left underwhelmed and a bit disappointed.

    Historical Sound of Music villa of the Trapp Family. Photos of the family around the entry hall and lounge room. Rooms are identified as a particular family members. Attractive building. 15 minutes walk via underpass and through suburbia from train station and bus stop.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    An exceptional stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trapp Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No shower in our room

    The size of the rooms were exceptional and the staff were super friendly. There was a good choice for breakfast although it could have been served earlier. Lots of Von Trapp family memorabilia

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    Charming historical home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - wish we could have stayed longer

    The staff are great. Due to flight delays and snow we arrived well after 11pm, it was a great relief to see the envelope with our key and instructions to find our room on arrival. We stayed in room 5 which is not depicted on the website and didn't have much natural light with just a small dormer window, however it was spacious and had a comfy bed. Usually we don't pay for breakfast if not included but the lovely large table where you can chat with fellow travellers and the variety tempted us. We found the bus into Salzburg which is a 5 minute walk very convenient. Villa Trapp is lovely renovated old home, I would recommend staying here

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    Incredible, and I was sad to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sound of Music Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was difficult to take a shower in the combined shower/bath in our room. However, this did not detract from my experience of the hotel.

    Waking up in the Sound of Music Suite, I felt like royalty. This is the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in, and my partner and I both adored our stay here. The breakfast is also delicious, and the hotel is easy walking distance to a train station and bus stop. We plan to return to Salzburg again specifically so we can stay in this beautiful hotel again.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Villa Trapp traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: