Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Carlton 4 stars

Markus-Sittikus-Straße 3, Altstadt, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#36 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1118 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ..except no air conditioning and no fridge (had medication that needed to be refrigerated, for a 4star hotel that was for sure expected)

    Everything except ...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning, no ceiling lights. I stated our arrival would be between 1 and 2pm, we were made to wait until 2pm to check in and charged for the coffee whilst we waited!

    The location was very convenient to walk to sights, cafes and the centre. The area was quiet enough

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amenities are too basic for a 4-star hotel. There was no fridge in the room and no air conditioner, only a small fan which was not enough for the room. The bathroom needed some fix: the door paint was coming off, the toilet flush button had a problem and the water always get stuck in the shower.

    The hotel has a very good location, close to the train station, Mirabell palace and the old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee maker in the room. No iron. No drinking water. Staff at reception was very cold. However the lady at the time of checkout was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous few days in Salzburg staying at this great little hotel. Great staff, great breakfast, very clean and awesome location. room 206 has a balcony too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was crude. Not very helpful with information on Salzburg. Seemed like anything we asked for was to much of an effort. Room was large, but broken down into too many small spaces.

    Fun interior Design in a neat old building. Room was generously sized with a nice balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 2 nights, so like duh we'd use the cups etc, the cleaner never bother to wipe the table. The draining in the shower room was bad too, water overflow.

    The receptionists were very friendly and helpful! It was warm during my visit and they sent me fans upon request!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is insufficient for number of guests. Staff attitude needed a lot of encouragement from customer. Helpfulness not a character trait. Bed mattresses are terrible quality. Cost of breakfast was significantly excessive for Salzburg.

    Location, clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was particularly intrigued by the really cold and distant behavior of the staff at the reception the next morning. Almost to the point of feeling unwelcome. While I am not getting offended by things like this, it was an unpleasant end to otherwise a very nice stay.

    Very interesting boutique hotel with a bulldog theme. Really! :) Some funky artwork all around, makes for a nice atmosphere. Very close to the Saalzach river, in a quiet area. Rooms are really large and comfortable. The bed was a twin bed but the staff on the evening of the arrival was helpful and came forward helping us, "creating" a king sized bed out of the two twins. That was appreciated and we slept really well. There is a very pleasant walk to the Alt Stadt, along the river and then over the pedestrian bridge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had no tea and coffee facilities in room nor a small fridge in summer it has no air con either so could get warm

    Location and style of hotel was great room was big and had a sitting area staff were friendly and room very clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy ventillation in the bathroom that can be heard from neighbouring appartment. Annoying during the night. Strong traffic on the street. Lack of refrigarator. Deposit is reseved immediately. You do not know when it will be freed.

    Kind staff. Good breakfast. Close to old town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like the traffic noise and lack of isolation. The large rooms with balcony face two main roads with a lot of traffic and the balconies are useless, the access on one of them was even forbidden. The decoration is old (pictures are much nicer than reality). the parking availability is unclear. The old city is not so close, especially on rainy days...this is also true for any nice restaurants.

    I liked the size of the suite and family room we had. The access to the river side walk was good. The dogs are welcome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a small bar fridge in the room. I would have liked more then 1 pillow per person.

    There was no minibar facilities in the room or coffee making facilities. When I went to get coffee from reception and the dining room... I was unable to. So...if you are not going to provide coffee making facilities at least make it easier to get coffee without having to leave the hotel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not something typical for this nice place but the prices for breakfast surprise my again and again

    Perfect located just a walk from the city center Villa Carlton is a wonderful boutique hotel wiith very friendly staff. There are Avocados for breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard, only one flat pillow despite asking for more, cost of breakfast versus what was available a gift walk away.. Not a UK 4* hotel, very much 3*. Nearest evening meal or social bar was in hotel up the road.

    Location, room size, style

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It takes 15 minutes for walking from Salzburg train station to the hotel.

    The staff he is very nice with warm welcome. The room is also clean and well-designed. The price is reasonable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel mixed our wedding apartment ( the stuff knew about it) , to the room that we booked to our friend. if it wasn't to our persistent asking, we would have slept to a quite small room and not the one we paid for. the stuff tried to excuse themselves, but for a Carlton Hotel, that was plain inexcusable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee making facilties could have been provided in the rooms

    Massive rooms and a cosy hotel. Location was excellent as we were able to walk everywhere. The lobby area is great and the staff were friendly as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small, without bidet. The “parking on site” is an euphemism!!! Less than a dozen parking places outside the building, open and unattended...

    Nice and big triple room. Convenient location for a pleasant stroll to the Old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    3.5 EU for a cup of hotel coffee is way too much

    great location and the rooms were big enough for a party of three. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Walking distance with rolling luggage from train station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception girl was not professional. She couldn´t inform us about how to get around in Salzburg, if the hotel could send post cards etc. She was not too friendly.

    We got a room on street level near to the reception, which was very good for us. Easy to enter and leave the hotel. A clean and comfortable room and very nice bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed and bed set were really uncomfortable with a big gap between the beds. You can park your car easily on street instead of tiny hotel parking which costs 12e per night.

    Clean room,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was two twin beds and the more we moved are separated, it should be king or queen. The restaurant was relatively good we had breakfast only honestly but lacked the variety of food.

    The view of my room even the decoration of it and I liked the dressing room it was very modern and unique, the toilet was nice and with all of accessory that I need.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wish it have some air conditioning as its a bit warm and can't open the window for it will be so noisy as well

    its very convenient, staff are helpful and the place is so clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pricey rooms and additional for breakfast is expensive!!! no fridge in the room..... :(

    Easy to find from the Main train station (walking distance). It´s an old mansion!!! modern decor, I got Marylin Monroe hanging above my head! Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    We were lucky enough to have a small suite style room. Bathroom was very nice and spotlessly clean. Bed very comfortable. The facilities in the lobby were comfortable and the staff were obliging. We were able to store our cases.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing we did not like.

    The staff was simply extraordinary, particularly Julia and Sophie. That said, all the staff were wonderful, housekeeping, front desk and at breakfast. The location is simply perfect, out of the crowded hubbub of the old, old town but an easy walk. Quiet, impeccably clean room, beautiful hotel and extraordinary staff...............great breakfasts.........what more could you ask for. Thank you Julia, Sophie, Andrea, and the rest of the great staff at the Hotel Villa Carlton. It is a sleeping giant, a wonderful place to call home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the room.

    Location was nice, close and easy to get to anywhere. It was really easy to park (if you arrive by car). Rooms are somewhat small but overall we thought we got a good value for our money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't think the value for the money was good, especially after it became necessary for our 16 year old son to stay with us. Villa Carlton charged €67 additional per night for him to stay in our room. At €20, breakfast was expensive. And, while I understand air conditioning is not usually necessary in Salzburg, it was exceedingly hot and uncomfortable when we were there and the hotel has no air conditioning.

    Good location. Breakfast was nice, though expensive, at over €20 pp.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all to do with the hotel but I was very surprised to see that public smoking is tolerated. Many smokers, lots of cigarettes butts in the street. That was the biggest disappointment during our trip to Germany. Here in Japan smoking in public is illegal, it has done so much to clean up the environment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Parking at the hotel is tight especially if it is a holiday weekend. To make up for this, the hotel has an arrangement with an underground parking garage. However the garage is a bit too far to walk if you are carrying lots of baggage. 2) The Wi-Fi connection went out in our room and was not fixed during our weekend stay. However to the hotels credit, they did give us a complimentary bottle of Sekt to make up for it. 3) The suite was a bit expensive - but we did book last minute during a busy holiday weekend so this may not always be the case.

    The suite was very clean and the bathroom & shower is larger than most European hotels. the staff is friendly and helpful. The location is good - you can walk to the downtown (altstadt) area within ten minutes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Aircom, no refrigerator ,no tea / coffee making facilities ,uncomfortable nights ,room hot despite left windows open ,closed by staff during the day ?? Desk staff provided no information on Check-in that common refrigerator can be used to place drinks to cool.No point to inform BY CHECK- out !!!

    Clean,quite

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No AC, noisy, a little too far from the center of the city. Adequate, but again, nothing special.

    Nothing special about the hotel. Parking was available but limited and there was a charge. Walking distance (longish) to the center of the city. The path along the river was nice (in the daytime, not recommended at night). Good for a one night stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air con and fridge in the room. Hard to believe it's a 4 stars hotel. Room is not as big as those in photos.

    Location is good. Close to Mirabell Garden. Walking distance to both the main train station and the city centre. Room is clean and comfort.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There should be small bar-fridge in each room so we have a cool bottle of wine in the evening and juice in the morning.

    Great location, spacious room, CNN on TV.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - No fridge to keep fruits and drinks - Ventilation of toilet - A bit stuffy during rainy day as the windows cannot be opened

    - Spacious and comfortable room - Nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air-conditioning. So quite hot in the room when it's hot weather. Also, there wasn't any tea or coffee making facilities in the room, which is unusual in the hotel business.

    The room was quite big, nice and clean, but only a small window for the whole room. It's good the hotel has car parking there, as not many hotels in Salzburg centre have that.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing from my point of view. We were very satisfied.

    Location was very convenient to the train station - an easy walk. The hotel was very clean. The individuals at the reception desk were friendly and very helpful when we had specific questions

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No space for anything but sleeping in the room and the common areas were somewhat dated. The location was not in a very nice part of the city but it was quiet. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise a problem at night with the window open, but rather to warm with it shut.

    We found the staff helpful and friendly at all times. They were happy to offer advice on where to eat and advise on suitable tours.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room closes to the road and it's noisy. We stayed at the 3rd floor which is the attic room. It is small and a bit warm during the day. Staff denied to change the room for us. We was not notified that the room is the attic room when we booked from booking.com. I would suggest that the hotel or Booking.com should state clearly that the room is the attic type for one who is not comfortable to stay.

    The hotel is very clean and convenient. Good location and it closes to the old town with working distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    decor is modern but a bit cheap - a bit like a Russian nightclub. Staff were efficient but not warm. Suite was at the end of a corridor with several steps - we wheeled our own cases. Maybe tricky if you have lots of luggage or mobility issues? Wifi was free but erratic (but wifi seems iffy in most Austrian and Swiss hotels, as far as I can tell)

    You can walk to hotel from train station. It's a pretty 18th century building. Walking to old town is also easy - you are one block from the famous Mirabelle gardens and bridges over the river into the old town. Our room was quiet and you can open windows to get fresh air. Salzburg is expensive, so this place is a good compromise price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at a room (207?) at the end of the second floor on our first night. The internet was almost non existent. We mentioned this to the front desk when we left for dinner (a couple who walked out behind us cited the same problems) and they said they would reset it to see if that fixed things. Upon returning from dinner, we still had trouble with it. It did not hold the connection. When we moved to room 202? 204? our second night and had no trouble with the internet. We assumed we were closer to the router.

    We loved everything about our stay here. We were roadtripping through Austria and had only booked our first night as we were planning on the go. The hotel staff was able to accommodate us upon arrival for our second night as well. We had a triple room our first night (but did not need it for the second night, due to one of our friends not being able to come with us). We left our bags with the front desk in the morning and they were moved to a superior room while we were out for the day. The superior room was beautiful with a small alcove in the turret of the building. The hotel is in a great location, a short walk to the center of town. The hotel offers parking in the parking lot behind the building for 12 euro, but we were easily able to find street parking both nights. Hotel staff is friendly and accommodating. The gave us a great suggestion for dinner our first night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was excellent. The only thing we were not used to is the bed for a couple. It is basically two twin beds together and you get two individual comforters for each person. The bed was comfortable and the decor was really nice and it was a suite with living room and bathroom with a shower and no tub. It worked out perfectly for our trip and would definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I suggest not to take the parking place for 12 EUR per day, if you travel on the weekend, as the parking is free on the street that time.

    The staff was kind and helpful. The location and the quality of the hotel are perfect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for breakfast was a little steep, but there are plenty of bakeries in the area.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were very spacious. I traveled with 2 children and a dog and there was ample room for all of us.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towels for the shower are too small. The parking is a little bit expensive.

    Good position at walking distance from the center. Very nice hotel with spacious and well-decorated rooms. Clean and modern bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too cramped. Overpriced Bed was not comfortable. Basically two single beds joined together to make one, so there was always a gap between two mattress. Not worth it

    The only thing good about this place was the staff at reception (by name Connie). She was very helpful and informative

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sleeping room was small - and our bathroom was really small.

    Staff excellent. Convenient to have breakfast at the hotel. Easy walk to Old Town. Good value for the price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If weather is too cold, because of the old structure, room is not warm. Also no opportunity to get an additional heater. Blankets offered. Also a bit noisy at enterance floor rooms. Because, people has no idea how to behave while leaving or entering the hotels

    Position of the hotel is 15 min away from centralbstation and 20 min to the altstadt by walk

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from train station and attractions. It's not that far but me and big luggages seem to be a little bit inconvenient. Toilet smells a little stinky.

    Staffs and room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was sub-par and the pillows were lumpy and very uncomfortable, as we found in several other non-5-star hotels we stayed at in Salzburg recently.

    The building is a very nice villa with seating area in front. It is decorated modernly throughout. The receptionists were very nice, especially the gentleman in the night shift that helped us check-out at 5am. The room was spacious and well-decorated. It didn't feature a minibar or a fridge, but it was cold enough that we put our drinks on the windowsill to cool them. The bathroom was very clean and modern, with marble accents and stone floors. It was particularly expensive on the weekend of our visit due to some cultural activity in Salzburg and the city was crowded, otherwise they have more reasonable rates. The walk to the centre is reasonably short and very nice along the river.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is not a hotel, more like hostel. No parking and no for help to parking. Worn and dirty furniture, low facilities. The biggest problem with the staff, lack of helpfulness. After hundreds of hotel, this is the first I dont recommend.

    Good location for sightseeing.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited parking availability - we have to park by the roadside and regularly have to come out and put coins in the parking meter. So inconvenience.

    The room is very nice and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Will b good if they will have a washing machine with extra charge.

    It is close to train station and Maribell plaza. Staff r friendly and helpful. However it is a bit too far to walk to the old town. Taxi in Salzburg is reasonable so it is another option if you are no more 4 in your group.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its on busy roads, no AC and all tv channels were in Germans

    Very good for family with children, their 3 beds room is actually 2 rooms Location is great 10 minutes walk to old city, central trian station and malls

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no air conditioner does not have a refrigerator and boiler and swimming pool they forced us to take the extra rooms to separate my kids even though I booked a large room has been the treatment of my children that they are adults the worst hotels I have visited

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some buffet breakfast foods such as yogurts were uncovered. Noise of banging doors some nights. Hard beds - two singles pushed together. Only one thin pillow. No Sky news. Only BBC world. Poor intermittent wifi. Quite a long walk into town. Perhaps 15-20 mins to old town centre.

    Location close to river means you can walk into Salzburg along riverside. Staff were cheerful and motivated. Biggish bathroom. Wooden laminate floors, not unhygienic carpet. Staff can book concert tickets and tours. Breakfast buffet - I liked the smoked salmon and scrambled egg, the delicious loose leaf tea infusers, the WMF coffee machines, the wholesome healthy breads and cakes. Request for room with bath was honoured.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning

    Just outside of all the action. Perfect to walk. Helpful staff but crappy recommendations for dinner. Do your own thing check the net etc

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Poor facilities for a 4 star hotel. No drinks making equipment in room, no air conditioning, Sparse toiletries offered. No restaurant. concierge staff friendly but not very knowledgeable on restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very bad staff absolutely not customer friendly - not enough parking facilities - lack of organisation - no solutions to solve problems created by hotel staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no criticisms.

    Charming hotel with excellent staff and an amazing full breakfast. Great location near the Mirabelle Gardens, just off the River and a short walk to the Old Town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is rude,paid for all family member but they didn't provide pillowed and blanket and didn't provide an extra bed but charged money for it!this is the worst hotel I ever stayed in!!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise from the road at night if your room faced the front., but it was very hot while we were there so had to have the window open.

    A good breakfast. Adequate rooms - not luxurious, but had everything you needed. Walking distance from the old town via a lovely park and riverside walk.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a crossroads with lot of traffics, it is a little bit noisy with open windows. The wifi was very weak in the room. There is no refrigerator in the room. The alarm demand of the previous guest was not cancelled in the room, so there was a loud alarm at 5 o'clock on Sunday morning - the staff would control it after every guest. There is no breakfast in the room-price.

    A very nice building in a good location, near to the old-city and the town-center. Spacious room, very nice and well equiped bathroom. Parking possibility.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillow was too soft for me... lol

    Perfect location, walking distance to almost every spots and train station; what I appreciate most is the huge space inside the room which made our stay as freely as I could ever imagine.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and pillows were a bit soft and uncomfy No mini bar or fridge No coffee or tea making facility No air con

    The quirky make over of an old classic hotel The easy walk to everything Close to train station Terrace is brilliant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is substantial, but expensive. Parking is difficult if you are not lucky to find a slot at the hotel ground - guests are alerted at booking.

    Excellent location in Salzburg downtown. Beautiful building with nice decoration. Good space in the rooms. Coffee at the reception. Friendly staff, good communication.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a baby and lots of luggage, struggeling to carry. Personnel was standing and observing and instead of offering a helping hand just asked 'is all ok'? Even if you choose not to offer porterage as a hotel, we think it's a matter of service to offer a helping hand (makes staff seem involved, as they are part of the total experience). Beds have some kind of plastic cover; makes noise and is hot. Rooms are VERY hot eventhough hotel makes an effort by placing a ventilator, opening windows is possible, but loads of noise from street, makes sleeping uncomfortable. Wifi kicks you offline every half hour orso. Rooms could use some upgrade, furniture seems quite old and has scratches. Carpet in rooms not hygenic. Outside area were you can have drinks is directly next to road which is really quite noisy and loads of exhaust fumes.

    The location is good, centre is easy to reach! We could enter our room before check in time which we found nice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not air-conditioned. Even though a fan was provided, it was still quite hot which made it hard for us to get a good sleep in the summer.

    Friendly staff. Nice clean room. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our window faces to a main street, it is quite noisy in the morning.

    Very close to Mirabell garden and the riverside. Walking to the main train station takes only a few minutes. The room is quite big and airy.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have absolutely nothing negative to stay about the Villa Carlton.

    I stayed in a superior room. It was beautiful, clean, very comfortable and had a nice view. The shower was nice and large. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They seem to go out of their way to make you feel at home. The breakfasts were delightful. Well worth the extra money. The location was outstanding. Easy walking distance to Old Salzburg and other interesting sites, parks and public transportation.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Super Friendly staff .. clean and comfortable Easy to move around the hotel and close to old town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every thing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, the garden, the staff

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Villa Carlton traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: