Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus 3 stars

Reitlstraße 20/Kaiser-Wilhelm-Promenade, 5640 Bad Gastein, Austria

#2 of 32 hotels in Bad Gastein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 435 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is good, but served way too late. Nothing until 8.00 ... the day is half over! Plus there are no facilities in the room to satify an early morning craving for a cuppa. It is a bit of a hike to restaurants which tend NOT to be in the old centre.

    It is a bit of a throwback to the interwar years, with Palm Court music, whiter than white linen and sparkling cutlery. It is a bit like Agatha Christie's Bertram's Hotel. The furniture is ornate 19th century. But then there are modern touches: a pool, a sauna and all manner of treatments from which to choose.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heat was always on in our room and it was a bit too warm. We slept with the window open even while it was snowing. Also, the sauna is small and quickly gets crowded but we still had plenty of opportunity. All in all, it was a really nice place to stay.

    Everyone spoke English which was really convenient and helpful. There was a room for drying your ski boots and lots of cosy nooks to read in! Also, they handled my food allergies very well. My allergies were confirmed at every meal to make sure I could eat it. Just let them know ahead of time!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our time at the Villa Excelsior was one of the most special stays ever: You dive right into Bad Gastein‘s glorious past when you enter the hotel: the beautiful flair and interior that reflects everything one adores about the last century - from the quaint lobby area to your room’s wallpaper, the small library salon and the breakfast tea set. Lovely details everywhere that make it an altogether great experience. Staff including the hotel‘s owner are wonderful. An authentic Bad Gastein dream come true!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The cleaning lady could have done a bit better job. Only the minimum was done every day. The restaurant could use a larger wine list. The religious and treatment paraphernalia around the hotel take a bit of getting used to.

    The staff was what made our experience great. The atmosphere throws you back into the past. The balcony had cast iron furniture and a great view of the mountains. The bar is very enjoyable with a wide selection of drinks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There is only one big downside to staying in this hotel: one day you have to start your journey back and leave this beautiful paradise ;) , but always with the hope to ever return :) !

    A fanatastic stay in a very nice hotel from the end of the 19th century, very tastefully decorated in the rooms and in all corridors and the stairwell. You have a very nice view of the whole valley from your room and balcony. The owners (Johanna and Christof) are very pleasant people who are genuinely concerned in the well-being of their guests. This manifests itself in the smallest details. The varied breakfast bufffet and the four course evening meal (with choice of starter and main course) are particularly tasty and prepared by Johanna and are served by top staff in a particularly cozy dining room and by candlelight on your table. The Austrian white wine from Burgenland, Tschida, is a true discovery with all this delicious food. You will be picked up at the station and you will be transported to and from the ski slopes as you wish. This hotel that we visited three times, remains an absolute winner and is really worth a very big detour or a destination in itself !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Its all good!

    Its very authentic hotel, worth staying. Decoration, rooms for bar and leisure. Extremely nice management and staff. Their own shuttle to ski area going there in morning every 15 minutes and taking you back at daytime. Close to the walking routes in the mountain / forrest. Their own sauna and bath. For some people interior might seem old, but thats the feature of the hotel. Its very harmonious with overall experience, and music in restaurant was amazing!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better though :)

    It is a beautiful and authentic villa with very friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere. Well organized for skiers with a ski storage room and boot dryers, ski shuttle that takes you to the resort every 15 minutes in the morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We liked absolutely everything - the experience was great! Small, peaceful hotel, like no other. The building is old and you should know that, but everything is tidy and in good condition. Our room was spacious and equipped with amazing view - it was almost unreal. Interior of the hotel is decorated with old furnitures and it has it's own atmosphere. The best is yet to come. The staff is absolutely most pleasant we have ever got to meet. They make you feel cosy. And then the food. Take the half board - there is not so many restaurants close by and the food is really good, it includes three courses (salad table-starter-main-dessert) and it is like gourmet level! We didn't have a single bad meal during our 8 day stay. Nice to know: Take something "bit better" clothing for the supper, it is a classical room and the waiters are dressed well. We skied every day - NOTICE: Hotel has it's own private skitaxi for transportations to the slope! It worked very well and if you want, you can use the skibus also (bus stop is quite nearby, but hotels transportation is the way to go). There is a cottage for skies and a room for your ski boots. There is also a small sauna for hotel guests, which is nice after a day in slope. The hotel is located in the walking promenade, a bit aside from the Bad Gastein centre, but there is a nice walkway to the centre, with a great view. All in all, if you are thinking is this a place for you, we can strongly recommend it, if you are looking for a atmospheric experience in Austria!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there are no shops nearby, and the whole bad gastein is rather quiet place, so dont expect wild apres-ski or late-hours party.

    all the staff were so committed and passionate to deliver excellent service. i was amazed by this. the hotel itself is like a real-time belle-epoque museum, which affects you in excellent manner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - they could have been a bit more generous with the shower gel & towel changes

    - a place with a great vibe: the villa and its pitoresque location, the people, the silver knives & forks, the classical music played during breakfast & dinner, the antique furniture, Dr. Freud's room and more all work together to create a unique athmosphere; - the hotel owned ski shuttle has precision timing and allows you to get smoothly and quickly to the slopes (register the day before to save your place on the shuttle); - great breakfast for a 3 star hotel; - exquisite dinner for just 15 euros/person/evening; - large rooms; - confortable parking;

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed. It was nice and old but needs refurbishing: every small movement made terrible noize. Something needs to be done with bathroom ventilation.

    One week living like in a museum. Fantastic restaurant service. Perfect daily shuttle service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hard to think of anything. Perhaps, the location is the only super small drawback of the place (though the staff seem to have put serious effort to address this as well!). The view from the window is perfect, but if you need to commute to other places (and do not want to use the shuttle offered by the hotel), then there are not many other convenient options.

    The hotel has a nice and charming feel, as if from the old days (in a good way, if you like that sort of thing!). The staff was super-helpful and friendly ready to assist even with the smallest troubles. Definitely this is a good place to stay if you are more into cosier and smaller hotels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit of a steep walk uphill from the hotel to the town centre, beautiful walk though.

    Spacious room, warm and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My family and I were very happy to stay here for a couple of days, the stuff is very friendly and helpful, food was good and the atmosphere of this beautiful place was amazing. We truly enjoyed our vacations in Villa Exelsior !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is very good about this hotel. The staff, rooms, furniture and the overall feeling when you are there. If you want to rest, to enjoy some silence and to relax, then this is a hotel for you. We all had a very pleasant feeling when we were there. And Bad Gastein is interesting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Explenation how to arrive poor. Just putting the address for navigating will be helpfull. Parking could be a problem.

    Nice people good service location furniture atmosphere were excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Salads for the dinner could be a bit better, but overall dinner was of good quality, nice meat dishes.

    The service is great, all the staff is very friendly and puting max efforts to make your stay comfortable. I received a separate email from the property which is very nice and much appreciated, they were responding promptly and helped with my request. Very nice view from the balcony!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The atmosphere of the hotel is relaxed. The personnel is very attentive. The owner goes out of his way to be helpful to his guests. Breakfast is super and evening meals very good. The location is very peaceful and convenient to the town centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We are lucky to get a room in this beautiful place. Hotel is something very special - vintage styled, family run and seems like everyone knows each other. Tremendous views around. Gastein valley pedestrian trails are next to the villa. Location is very good with a small watchout for families with little kids - it's not a downtown and it takes 10 minutes walking to get there (and 20 minutes to get to the therme).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room is extremely small and makes someone uncomfortable to stay there. No proper size of writing desk. Half board dinner is only passable.

    It's a classy hotel with antique furnishings. Swimming pool is small but nice. Staff at the restaurant are of top service and they use silver forks and knifes. Good view of the valley. Free pick up from the train station. Surrounding area is nice although there is only one cafe next door. A restaurant not far away serving lunch as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could do with a more stable frame, not bad though

    The view from room is exceptional, would visited the same area again. Thanks for the patience given for the late night checkin

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is available in the bedroom but would be better if it is stronger and more stable.

    1) Staff polite, helpful, informative and nice. 2) Free pickup and drop off. 3) Free sauna and swiming pool. 4) Atomsphere excellent. 5) excellent breakfast and dinner 6) 10 min walk to city center (the city center is under full rennovation and the completion date is still unknown). 7) Beautiful scenery.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast buffet was the same every day, no "abwechslung" and the choice and quality of sausages and cheese was not exactly very exiting by austrian standards. jam and marmelade were from plastic containers only which was in contrast to the tea and coffee served in lovely sheffield style grand hotel era pewter pots. fried eggs were charged extra at 3.50 euro. i would have preferred a free egg service of choice, inclusive poached eggs on toast. it would go so lovely with this type of hotel. the tea was not really great but this is common on the continent, so has to be accepted. but this is really my only complaint.

    the director de hotel is first class and a highly professional gentelman who knows what he is doing and is always there for his guests. the service is true austrian hospitality and perfection. thank you so much ! - the director and his staff are very kind and caring and all guests are being treated equally, from the grandson of sissy princess of austria to the factory worker from east germany. there are beautiful, spacious rooms with great character - dressed with antique furniture and wonderful views towards the alps. there is also a little library with interesting books for rainy days. the lovely dinner and the wonderful herr oberkellner from croatia were an extra plus during the stay. the hotel-director is very knowledgable and intellectual with a great sense of humour and a good knowledge of austrian history and he takes time to talk to the guests. this was very much appreciated. wonderful, well chosen international easy listening classics over dinner, one day even live music. lovely views from the dining room panorama window with high alpine weather drama going on outside - from rain and fog to thunder and sunshine. a paradise for everyone who loves nature and colours. also: sigmund freud stayed here and left some positive energy for us, i felt really good after my stay. thank you.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Food is good quality but not much variety (this is normal as it is a 3-star hotel, i was ok with it, but just have in mind if booking accommodation including food that it is a poorer choice compared to a 4-star hotels); child friendliness - i wouldn't recommend it for families with very little children

    Friendly stuff, spacious rooms, quiet location, cleanness, unique furniture

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very friendly staff, pleasant atmosphere, excellent service, delicious food, free parking, perfect location for walking tours (on Kaiser Wilhelm Promenade), free bus to the ski lift. It was a very nice stay - we highly recommend the place!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Noisy fan in one of our two rooms. No/bad wifi in one of our two rooms.

    Staff was great and went out of their way to solve problems and make the stay memorable. Great athmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is bit away from the skilifts, but the hotel offers perfect private shuttlebus service - and it is also nice to take the beautiful walk to town and the lifts! So all in all that does not matter!

    Perfect place, wonderful hosts - we will return if we ever get back to Bad Gastein!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little bit hard to find, actually just drive pass the ski station in Gastein then follow some GPS navi will lead to the venue, just not sure which is the villa's parking place. And reception is down 2 floor from the entrance close to the car park.

    Villa with history, good view, large family room. Staff are very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing that I can think of

    Location, ambience, personal service is the best. Rooms are what descriptions and photos tell. Bed and bathroom where very good. The reason to choose Villa Excelsior is the ambience though. Unique and individual - far from mass tourism. Location with walking pahs at your doorstep and walking distance into town center. Its like travelling to the past - in a great way:)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was great! The staff was so nice and lovely, the atmosphere in the hotel was warm. I am in love with this place. Definitely will come back!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Came back för a second stay - this time at christmas. Room was large with a newly renovated bathroom, view towards the town center and the mountains. Door to a shared huge terrace. Other romms have balconies or terraces. Villa Excelcior has an air of the grand past. Its not exactly luxurious but the owners and their staff gives You first class treatment and the friendliest service with a very correct and professional touch. This high standard of service (and food) in a beautiful setting and cozy time capsule interior serves a s a five star effect. It is a place for those searching for tranquility far from mass tourism. The location at the promenade into town center, and or walking paths is another perfect side of the Villa. Another part not to ignore is the nice breakfasts and dinners and very reasonably prices well selected wines to choose among.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just came back from spending Christmas at Villa Excelsior. What a wonderful experience! Christof and all the staff are so welcoming, nice and really good at what they do. They make you feel at home. We had a nice room with a balcony with a wonderful view of Bad Gastein, which was so good to go back to after a day of skiing. We opted for the half-board option (breakfast and diner) and they would offer a more kid-friendly diner menu for the little ones. On Christmas there was a super nice gala diner. Only great things to say about Villa Excelsior. Thank you everyone at Villa Excelsior for making our Christmas away from home so special and unforgettable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reaching the hotel was a bit difficult - plus, we drove during the night. Google maps doesn't direct you to the right place, better call first and ask for directions.

    The staff were amazing. Even though we had some unusual requests, they were accomodating, understanding, helpful, and always willing to go above and beyond for us. The hotel has a great view and breakfast, and overall - a really good experience.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Wonderful in all aspects. Owner and his wife were lovely and very helpful. Food was delicious, gluten free was no problem at all. Room was spacious, comfortable, and very clean. Can heartily recommend a visit. Just make sure you read their directions if going by car (both on their website, and in the booking confirmation). We didn't, and our satnav tried to take us to the front entrance, which is only accessible on foot.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and owners are lovely, and went out of their way to make our stay more comfortable. They even gave us a ride to the train station. The hotel itself is great, very quirky as you'd expect Freud's summer house to be. Very comfortable beds too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location, rooms and ambience, excellent hotel, very friendly staff and superb food all combined to make this the best place we stayed during our trip. Can highly recommend eating in the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View good but not outstanding from our lower room as hotel sits a little low on hillside. Although never a problem for us, parking could get a little tight in high season.

    Our favorite hotel of a 2 1/2 week trip. Very atmospheric, fits the nostalgic vibe of Bad Gastein perfectly. Half board was a very good bargain as dinner was exceptional and very welcome after a day of hiking. Great trails from atop the lifts in the area. Staff was also excellent. Big room, quiet. Somehow, not just another stop, It's an experience, a destination.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee in the room

    Service was fantastic - very friendly and attentive. Delicious evening meal and breakfast. Special atmosphere and unique location with stunning views. Exceptional value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing.

    Great hotel! Really nice staff, they do everything to make your stay excellent. The food (especially dinner) was amazing, traditional Austrian cuisine. The location is superb for hiking, as it is close to a lot of starting points, it's also on walking distance from the center of the town, 30-40 mins to the train station. We arrived by train and the owner picked us up by car. It is a very quiet hotel, clearly catered towards an "older" public, so there were no kids, which was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything - I could fully relax, the food was delicious, the staff were incredibly kind and helpful, the room was comfortable, the pool and saunas were fantastic ... Faultless! I definitely plan to come back to Bad Gastein to stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The below is only minor annoyances: It was quite difficult to find the hotel. This is mainly due to the special geography of Bad Gastein and the numerous pedestrian zones. It would have been nice with a more detailed description on how to find the hotel. According to the waiter the tables in the restaurant are assigned to specific rooms, which means that there is no free seating. Despite having a superior double room, our assigned table was in the back of the restaurant away from the windows. When we came down for breakfast quite early, all the tables by the big panoramic windows were free, but despite this, we were not allowed to sit there. Experiencing that all of these tables remained unoccupied for the entire duration our breakfast (1 hr.) was slightly annoying.

    This is a quaint old hotel in beautiful buildings and with a lot of atmosphere. The view from our room was amazing and the room itself was cosy, large and comfortable. We arrived late and was offered a three-course dinner for 10 EUR per person, and this was both very convenient for us and extremely good value for money. The reception staff was extremely helpful and service oriented.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old world charm - like stepping back in time! Amazing experience, amazing radon baths, hotelier super attentive - overall a very special place! A must!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Allthough the housekeeper is helpful, there is some difficulty to bring suitecases in the room.

    The pool, the friedly home feeling service in the restaurant, the food quality. The cosy balcony.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main dish could be little bit bigger.

    Nice, old style hotel with great personel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Excellent stay as always in this hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    staff very friendly and helpful, the hotel's interior is impressive, gourmet dinner, everything is great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very quiet room with good view Friendly staff ; nice bar

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful manager. Some off the restaurant staff could work better on their hospitality skills.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous. With a love for each little details. Couldn't be better

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room is a bit small

    the view and location is perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice stylish villa, sympathetic staff and great home cooking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wonderful hosts, pleasant atmosphere, delicious cuisine, cosy and clean rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    stuff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    sleepery entrance

    Austrian style

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice view to the city and surrounding mountains.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sauna- small, not confortable to rest.

    Nice staff, very clean,old hotel with special "soul",excellent food, fair price

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Fantastic hotel - clean, perfect organization from the owners, delicious food and nice rooms.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jastuk, spa

    Grejanje, Dorucak, Stil hotela

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent, a wonderful step back into time, in a family run villa with well trained staff and excellent food. Incredible value for the money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful facilities and excellent service! We had a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Charming hotel with very professional and friendly staff. Excellent breakfast and dinner!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just perfect and calm

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit ling to walk downtown bad gastein to reach restaurants etc

    Wonderful friendly staff!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa facility hours weren't too convenient.

    The 4 course dinner for only ten extra euro was definitely worth it. A delicious meal.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bathroom was a bit tricky being in the eaves and no proper shower.

    Charm and character - lots of lovely features and items of interest. The owner was extremely helpful, polite and welcoming. Free transport by mini bus to the lifts every day. Good food and service.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We arrived late in the evening and not being able to find it due to our gps app so we phone called them. The person from reception was so kind to come find us and joined inside our car to guide us through the city narrow uphill streets until we reached the hotel's free parking. Afterwards we've learned that is not at all dificult to get there. They also waited and serve us dinner that night even that the dinner time was long gone. The city center is very near (8-10 min by foot) and the view is spectacular. The hotel itself looks very nice (it has a palace atmosphere). Free w-lan (quite good download speed). Ride to the slopes is easy (8-10 min by car). They also have free private shuttle for your convenience). Also the slopes themselves are quite good, for every taste. Breakfast and dinner was good and diverse, the stuff was very kind to us. We were there with our 2,5 years old son who also enjoyed a lot the stay. After dinner, you can enjoy their late bar, 2 very cozy rooms, and enjoy some drinks, surrounded with a nice friendy atmosphere, engage in discussions, play cards or chess. We hope to revisit someday. Overall a great experience!

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast offered us no surprises, beeing the same each day.

    Everything was superlative! What was really amazing was the restoration of the bourgeois atmosphere of 19th century: furniture and decorations, silverware, music, in quiet and beautiful location! The owners and staff were warm and discreet, at the same time. The diners were well balanced! A fantastic value for money!!

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was quite small, but with a great balcony. Bed linen was changed only ones a week

    Great nature around! Very warm and welcome staff. Good food. One of the oldest hotels in Gastain, full of history, antique furniture and spirit of the old times

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there was nothing we did not like

    personal attention by hotel management, excellent foods, spacious and comfortable rooms and great attention to detail

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything! If you want to discover the Old Europe, you should come here. Beautiful decorations and architecture, nice and quiet rooms, beautiful looking over the mountains. Original furniture is still there give this place grandeur of 100 years ago ( and maybe some ghosts from 1900 are still waking in the corridors :) . The staff was great. Thank you Christof and Johanna for such a beautiful stay. This hotel will stay in our memories for long time! We hope to come back soon!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Due to the topography of the town and street patterns on the hillsides plus arriving after dark we had difficulty finding the hotel and recommend calling for directions upon entering the town.

    The manager was very good as were the other staff as well. The location provided us with an excellent view of Bad Gastein from our room and balcony. The hotel was from Bad G's golden age updated to today's standards. We would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel was charming, inside the hotel is chapel, library corner, games room with chess. The service was fantastic and also the food. The view from window was beautiful, I could stand there and watch for hours.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only problematc issue was the narrow streets on which the Hotel was accessible. This makes it romantic, but - especially in winter - can cause trouble.

    Homely hotel in a beautiful city with friendly helpful personnel, delicious dinners and nice interior. The hotel is run by a family which makes it even more pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smoking is allowed in some areas in the hotel.

    Extremely friendly and helpful owner and staff. Fantastic value evening meals. Lovely views. Very well maintained swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to leave at the end of our stay, would really have liked to stay on indefinitely!

    Wonderful room and furnishings Proximity to town centre Great hosts and staff Extensive breakfast Fabulous inexpensive dinners

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: