Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Der Waldhof 3 stars

Schwarzach 3-5, 6351 Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser, Austria

#21 of 22 hotels in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 194 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 10

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Country House
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No elevator.

    I have good memories, but the elevator is missing there - I hurt my knee, and walking up two floors was not much fun. But generally very pleasant place to stay at.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Internet rarely worked and on last day it appeared to be turned off. Asked the owner and he said "technical difficulties." Oddly the internet worked before he left the front desk for the night at 6pm. 2. The steam room and sauna worked the first two nights -- then it did not. When owner asked he said "technical difficulties." 3. The bowling alley which was advertised was closed. 3. Cappuccino machine was "broken" first night, however the staff did not appear to know how to use it. 4. Bring your own SOAP and SHAMPOO as none is provided. 5) they do not take AMERICAN credit cards. This hotel is on its own and isolated from other activities. You cannot "go for a walk" and window shop. There are no sidewalks and the they "roll up" at 7pm. Unless you like Austrian TV there is not much to do at hotel. Unlike Telluride they do not have a common area to congregate, play games or talk with other guests.

    The dining staff was stellar! They accommodated our 10 year old son's pickiness over meals as well as doing reasonably well in translating the dishes. By American standards the room/suite was huge! The gondola was 100 yards from hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in Guest House
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel was at a very busy, noisy road! The room was super simple with mould in the shower. The price for the room with breakfast was almost the same as the room with breakfast and diner, but booking.com didn't show this. The stay wasn't worth it's price wath so ever.

    The view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Selected the option for late check out on booking.com for being a genius member... we had planned our Sunday morning to ski before checking out but once asked we were told they don't do late checkout. There was free wifi but we just couldn't connect for some reason.

    Everything was very nice and updated! One Of the best breakfast we had from a hotel. Staff very friendly! Every time we passed by they would say good morning. Loved being right by a main ski lift with the view of the mountains from the balcony. 🙃

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Country House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    different breads

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is located next to the skislopes - easy to ski in and out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like the service. For breakfast we were given a table with another couple when there were so many other empty tables. We asked the receptionist for the next morning and they did nothing. Breakfast time is a private moment for us. This was the first bad experience.

    I liked the surrounding and the green nature.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be little better. WLAN was not so good in the room. I had to restart their router (yes, it just sits there on the table, anyone can acess it) to get my gadget connected. When I do have connections, the speed is just okay. Could be noisy in the night depends on your neighbour.

    Location is perfect. Walk 1 min to ski rent shop, another 1 min to the cable car station (in case you are wondering, it is the station 61). The restaurant next to the hotel (which belongs to the hotel, apparently) is great too, with a lot of options and good price. I checked reviews on booking.com and found someone saying the shower and TV are way too old, well, at least in our room, they are already renovated.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Door to balcony did not tilt to allow fresh air at night.

    Excellent location close to the slope. Ski to and from the door

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were here in Summer. Cannot wait for the winter season to come back. Excellent kitchen!

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 10

Guests also reviewed these properties: