Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel zur Dorfschmiede 4 stars

Dorfstraße 129, Hinterglemm, 5754 Saalbach Hinterglemm, Austria

#53 of 76 hotels in Saalbach Hinterglemm

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 238 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 15

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    The family Wolf work hard to give you a great holiday and succeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If you want peace and quiet, whatever you do don't book when the Glemmride is on. Basically, think mountain bikers rather like surfer dudes all over the place, running up quite close to your legs when you're walking down the street and loud, base drum music from 9pm to 12midnight. Not relaxing! Having said that, it was nice to see them having a good time - just not my cup of tea but it might be for you. Check events in the town as they have others like a bikers one too, which is not for everyone. Any other issues, just speak to the owners: they're excellent at putting things right and that's good enough for me. Lisa in the restaurant was really nice. Very friendly and kind, which made a big difference to my feeling comfortable and at ease 'after' the first day or so. Well done Lisa! Indie on reception was also very helpful and friendly. Friendly makes all the difference.

    I'd definitely book here again. The owners were excellent and tried hard to make it a pleasurable holiday. They dealt fairly with a booking blip and you could tell they wanted us to have a nice holiday. The breakfast was excellent with a choice of juices, yoghurts, fruit salad and cereals, plus coffee and tea. There was also a variety of breads on offer and white toast plus an egg station and bacon and a selection of cold meats, cheese + salad veg. Sadly no omelette 'bits' on the last couple of days or bacon but she fried up some ham with our fried eggs. The teas were very good; an excellent, varied selection - the breakfast tea was quite strong. (We brought our own PG Tips). I thought coffee goes better with the whole milk on offer. The spa area was excellent with special touches like the cold water with lemon slices in it to drink after a hot sauna/steam. Plenty of clean towels too! On our last day we were welcomed earlier than the official 7.30am start so we could still enjoy a basic breakfast and get to the airport in time. The balcony to our room was brilliant. It was very special looking out onto the beautiful Austrian mountains, being caressed by light breezes. Heavenly! In the Wolf suite, the ceiling to the upper room is quite low and there's heavy wood around. But once we'd knocked our heads a few times we knew to bend down a bit sooner! All in all a wonderful stay for our first visit to Austria. Thank you to the family Wolf.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location in what feels like a family run hotel, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel parking was away from the hotel in a multi storey car park.

    A really great hotel in an Austrian valley location. Couldn't beat the view from the room it was magical. Very helpful reception staff both at arrival and departure. Rooms were spacious and unique, lovely balcony overlooking the main street. Great breakfast in the morning with lots of choice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfectly located hotel with great facilities and really helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    *Choose your room wisely - some first floor rooms can be noisy from mid-afternoon up until 8pm as there is a very lively apres-ski bar underneath (with DJ) in which everyone likes to sing very dodgy old pop hits very loudly! We were on the second floor and it was fine, but our friends were initially given a first floor room and had to move after a couple of nights, as even after the singing stopped there were still some noise issues.

    *Location (close to two lifts and a ski hire shop) *The staff - all very friendly and helpful *Room size and room facilities - large, with safe, mini-bar, robes, slippers, hairdryer, nice toiletries *Food - large choice at breakfast, and a 5-6 course evening meal (with three choices of main course). All very tasty. *Secure ski lockers & heated boot room in basement of hotel *Lovely indoor swimming pool (there's also a 'naked only' sauna!)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    The Highlife in Hinterglemm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In centre of Town so could be a little noisy on occasion but don’t let it detract from this superb hotel!

    Location Staff Restaurant Leisure Facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel for great winter holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Thin walls between rooms on 4 th floor - you can hear almost everything that happens in other rooms.

    Very friendly staff always ready to help, excellent restaurant and perfect hotel location by ski slopes. Ideal place for winter family holidays.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.9
    Everything was perfect: location, breakfast, dinner, room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Before we started 7.00 a.m. home, we could not get our skies from skieroom. It was locked. The reception must be open at 7.30. Nobody helped us, nobody knows nothing, nobody was not interested of our problem. Wait, the said. Reception people - it is very far from nice behavior. We never come back.

    Everything was perfect: location, breakfast, dinner, room, spa.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.6
    The heart of a superb holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking wasn't included. But at 15EU for valet parking a day, you can't quibble.

    The location was bang in the centre of Hinterglemm just a short walk to all lifts. The gumbold rental centre was excellent and right opposite the hotel. Hotel staff were cheerful, helpful and polite. The food was excellent and the Wolf Suite enormous. It's not the cheapest nor the most expensive but it is quality, and the whole family would love to return. We went b&b and ate at the hotel's fuhrmannsstube a la carte restaurant, which was very good, plus several others in the village. It was no trouble and we loved the variety.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.5
    Shoukd check again in season to have better inpression!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Htl just opened, we were only guests 2 days, at arrival room was cold one day, restaurant was cold 2 days. Wall are not noise stop, you here everithing throught. Very bad is they charge at the dinner tee for 4.9 eur at bar and a lacarte is cheaper?!

    Very nice stuff!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Short but great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful design, great outdoor indoor pool, spa and wellness area. Breakfast bufe was to die for. Staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    Friendly atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing better

    Friendly atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    The nature and the ild austarian style hoyse
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too old facilities and i was staying in the old section

    The nature and the ild austarian style hoyse

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    The place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place But I dislike the toilet type we wish to have water w

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Stay here for being in heart of Hinterglemm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The host will help you with everything. youbarebin the heart of the town which is very comfy. The best host ever.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    3.8
    Only location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only location

    Stayed in February 2017

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 15

Guests also reviewed these properties: