Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel zur Post 3 stars

Westbahnstr. 36, 4300 Sankt Valentin, Austria

#1 of 8 hotels in Sankt Valentin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 671 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.6
    Happy Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is some renovation going on, which is a bit noisy.

    This hotel was very pleasant. Nice clean rooms. Excellent breakfast. Friendly staff. Good location. I would recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    Fine but some problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The curtain didn't cover the window so it was very bright in the room early in the morning. The listing said I would have a balcony but I didn't. One night I got back to the hotel quite late and was locked out for 5-10 minutes because the touchscreen system to open the front door was out of service. I rang the doorbell and called with no idea if anyone would answer or if i'd be stuck outside til morning, eventually someone did answer to let me in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Very nice place
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and nice room. Confortable bed. Private parking. Strong wi-fi. Breakfast included. Not too far from the highway but in a peaceful location. Very nice hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Perfect choice for entire area - run by family for years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot think of anything really. Just at first we were pointed in the exact way to get to room. However - We were tired and not listening - so our fault. They were ready for our check in. The layout of hotel is really neat - makes the hotel better - we just were disoriented after traveling all day and being so exhausted. So glad we stayed there.

    I chose it because it is right beside the train station. What I liked best though, is that the owner runs the hotel and has for years. Family pride. So friendly and helpful. He made sure we had a way to go see the sights we wanted in the area, despite some bridge issues that were unavoidable. He even made us dinner, as our timing was wrong for the restaurant to be open. Excellent schnitzel meal served in their beer garden. We had a great conversation with him as well. The staff was hard working and friendly. The hotel is unique with some lobby areas in hallway / elevator areas with antique furniture - as this hotel has been there for decades. The rooms are modern and comfortable though. The stay was quiet, even though at train station. So no worries there. I would highly recommend this hotel. Easy check in as well. We wanted to tour Mauthausen concentration camp, so this was a good location for that. Right near the Danube, as well. I think an easy place instead of staying somewhere in Linz. Also a great value/price. We came here by train the night after touring at Halstatt.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    Good location but overrated!
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made a reservation for triple room and I called them to check if everything is ok as we were arriving late but when we arrived they had only double room so we had to wait with small kids to provide us additional bed. Kids were tired and wanted to sleep but I had to go around to find someone to prepare the bed. We got the room at old part of hotel and it’s not like in photos, quite old and no air conditioning! Receptionist was kind and gave me his ventilator.

    Good location, close to highway. Breakfast not bad!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice, well located close to Enns
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been more varied, but what was on offer was good.

    Completely renovated, very clean. Staff willing to please and explain clearly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice place to stay with kind staff and tasteful breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very rich breakfast, the staff very kind, and fast, great service. Beds are comfortable, we had a quite room not oberlooking the street, we were totaly pleased.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Simple, but good value for money.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was closed on Pentecost. The bill was to be corrected because of double invoicing.

    Big comfortable room with a garden view. I really appreciated the kind hospitality of the owners.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Very clean room, comfortable beds, nice and helpful stuff,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because I'm not a smoker, I didn't liked the cigarette smoke in the lobby.

    Very clean room, comfortable beds, nice and helpful stuff, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful staying we would come back here for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just wow! The hotel is so close to the train station just cross the road. It was so quiet. The room we got was new and big - amazing far beyond what you would expect from a 3 stars hotel. The breakfast is rich and the hotel is very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.8
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet room, helpful staff, nice shower. The breakfast was ok - enough choice and more fried eggs upon request. Close to the highway and parking on premise. This was a good choice for a one-night stay during our trip from The Netherlands to Hungary. We liked it! Fortunately we had a good deal because the standard price is a bit too high for what you get.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately Austria's no-smoking laws in restaurants does not become mandatory until March 2018 and as a consequence it is up to the hotel/restaurant's discretion as to whether they wish to have a non-smoking restaurant or not. This hotel allows smoking in its restaurant.

    We stayed in a newly renovated room which was excellently appointed with air conditioning. The air conditioning is mandatory as the room faces the main street and train station which is noisy 24/7. Although there is a lift to access this room there were some steps involved but staff offered to help with luggage. Breakfast was not lavish but sufficiently good. Overall a comfortable stay and would stay again but only in room with sound proofing and air conditioning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    I have visited that hotel just for night to rest from...
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have visited that hotel just for night to rest from driving long way between Bulgaria and Belgium. Extremely friendly staff and excellent restaurant where I had and wonderful dinner with my family. Perfect room helped us to refresh and to have good rest.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice of only a very few restaurants in the vicinity.

    Rooms were really nice & modern. The place looked like it had recently been refurbished. Excellent big HD TV in the room. Bathrooms were also nice & modern. The outside beer garden was a great feature that added to the ambience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.9
    The onsite parking worked well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There breakfast was fine but with limited choices. The public areas were a bit dated.

    The onsite parking worked well. The room was modern; the shower worked well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    Perfect stop to CH or DE
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were some steps to get up to the rooftop - where the new rooms are available, so we had to walk a bit, was not a problem. The elevator operated only by card, as the doors - one card would not be enough for more persons. I missed gluten free bakery and fresh fruits from the breakfast, but the dinner was fine, They have a good cook/chef and choice of food. í suggest for you : Stay there and eat there!

    The reason was to stay there this hotel was nearby the highway. We were satisfied with the hungarian staff (?Klaudia?), also the owner, they were very helpful. It was a big surprise when they showed us personally where Barlauch is available. Was a great fun! The room was quite new (top floor) and really nice. I love this style, so I enjoyed to stay there and can recommend you to stay also.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.9
    One night stop
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very small and really could do with a redecoration.

    This was just a stopover night on our way. The hotel is pretty but outdated - in the 80th. This did not bother us at all. We even had a balcony facing the bear garden but the weather was awful and could not take advantage of it. There is a restaurant on site (reasonable prices), as well as a bear garden. We had dinner in the evening and it was very good. So was the breakfast in the morning. There was no charge for pets or parking (which is on site).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    10
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    8.3
    Close to train station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to train station

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Have stayed at this hotel many times and it is consistently...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have stayed at this hotel many times and it is consistently good!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.0
    Bad location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A totally unpleasant experience. I could not pay with the card even though she said on the site that she could. Conditions below average.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    all in all it was a very nice stay at this hotel. I recommend it.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    one has to like the wooden look

    Very comfortbale rooms, spacious. friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    price

    food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice room style and awesome breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay for the baby bed. First time ever...

    Nice room style and awesome breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Very nice and modern rooms, good WIFI
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Instead of a twin room as per reservation, I was put up in a small single room

    Very nice and modern rooms, good WIFI

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    4.6
    A good choice for one day sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly prepared breakfast, very formal attitude of hosts and staff

    New equiped clean rooms, dog friendly hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Good localization close to highway, excellent staff, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good localization close to highway, excellent staff, very clean and nice room. Good breakfast with Polish service :-)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    See above

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable stay next to bahnhof for a great price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant food could be better

    Bed comfortable, room spacious, clean, modern and functional - alp chalet style!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    As always this hotel provides excellent facilities, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    As always this hotel provides excellent facilities, good food and local wine at very affordable prices. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Room was clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean. In restoran waa nice food .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    It was OK, no bad surprises. When we will be in the area for sure we will choose the same hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price is maybe to big

    Very friendly stuff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Nice overnight stay in this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable room and bathroom - was very nice !!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Smart choice in Sankt Valentine
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely clean rooms, outstanding bathroom, friendly staff and spacious parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Everything was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok. Nice and confortable place, central location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great room, free parking, easy access from the highway.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    The management of the hotel is very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The management of the hotel is very helpful and understanding. Thank you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable and relaxing stop.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are very very comfortable, the room was very clean. For dinner we had the traditional meal and was delicious, very nice breakfast too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    just in front of train station, super convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    just in front of train station, super convenient. staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    Excellent value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    water pressure in the shower was quite low

    The bed was exactly to my liking, food was also very good - regional cuisine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Location Great - Food superb - Room excellent - Our third...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location Great - Food superb - Room excellent - Our third stay at this hotel and will stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location, friendly staff, wonderful complete breakfast. would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Best value for money.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best value for money. Could be easy registered as a 4* hotel. Very clean and very nice decorated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Great!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More breakfast and dinner menu options would be an improvement

    Verry nice and clean place Great to stay with familly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    Free car park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free car park. 20min to Steyr. Early breakfast. Large family room with spacious bathroom. Good shower. Helpful family staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Very nice room, friendly staff, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice room, friendly staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect St. Valentin
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fridge in the room was missing

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    We stayed in the new part of the hotel and it was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the new part of the hotel and it was great. Everything was new and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Great place for short or longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large, newly renovated rooms. Nice lobby. Very close to the motorway. Fantastic restaurant. Air conditioning. Very decent breakfasts. Free parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Smart and good value. Perfect for Tesla.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    11 kW charger on the parking, very good 10 points 👍🏻 Also very nice high tech renovated room, many outlets and even USB. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and spacious room. Friendly staff. Free parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    5.8
    Only for smokers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking still allowed in the bar, stinks all over the place

    Service is good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    9.6
    Excellent restaurant
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.2
    Nice location, pleasant leasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to pay local tax for a child ...

    Excellent location, nice rooms, good kitchen

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    8.8
    - good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - unfortunately the hotel allows smoking, and that was (in the common areas) a little bit disturbing

    - good breakfast - private parking - near to the motorway, perfect for one night

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    We have stayed at this facility several times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have stayed at this facility several times. The hotel is a family run hotel. the staff are friendly. the hotel has expanded to twice its size since out last viit

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike

    Everything. The family run hotel is very welcoming, clean efficient. We have previously stayed here and hope to do again next year.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    6.7
    Friendly staff, very helpful owner, convenient location...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff, very helpful owner, convenient location across the train station.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.3
    Meals were very tasty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too noisy because of the train station (no AC, so windows were open)

    Meals were very tasty!

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    7.5
    Easy to reach from Motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy to reach from Motorway. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    9.6
    The meals were excellent, and having a room with a balcony...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The meals were excellent, and having a room with a balcony was a bonus.

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: