Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel zur Wiener Staatsoper 3 stars

Krugerstraße 11, 01. Innere Stadt, 1010 Vienna, Austria

#124 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 619 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in the center with great staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is very small but the biggest problem for me is the fact that the room does not have natural light and fresh air.

    The location is excellent, right in the center. The staff was great. They were friendly and always ready to help you with everything. When I first enter in the room, the whole room smelled of roses and it was so clean. The WiFi was very fast and free of charge. The breakfast was excellent, especially the coffee.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    I would go there again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea making facilities in the room would be nice. You expect rooms to be small in the inner city, but really the bathroom was like a shelf - challenging with an upset stomach !

    The building is lovely, a real piece of Old Vienna. I was unwell while I was there, and the staff were so kind and helpful, it made a big difference.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant stay for a friend's birthday made perfect by great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Always long for a bigger bathroom and airconditioning

    Comfy, wonderful heritage building. Exceptional wonderful staff especially at the front desk - the guy was the most helpful and warm of any hotel we've stayed at

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    All in all, we loved this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft and it could be noisy though we found closing the window and turning on the fan took care of the noise. Any hotel in this part of town may be noisy - people are out and having a good time at night!

    Old world charm in old town Vienna, wonderful staff, nice breakfast and great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Great staff and excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No AC in the room. Also no minibar.

    The staff is so friendly and helpful! The location is GREAT! Breakfast is also very good, with fresh fruits, breads,,,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    There is a lady at reception desk which is giving more then...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a lady at reception desk which is giving more then the best of her to make guests feel comfortable.Her name is Clivia- like flower.Any manager can get success with employees like this wonderful lady!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    Wish I had picked a quieter spot with AC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy in the front rooms. No AC so very hot once you close the windows to try and shut out all the surrounding business noise. Also forgot to clean my room the first day.

    Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    A gorgeous weekend that I would love to repeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little small, but as I was travelling alone it didn't really matter.

    Everyone was very friendly, the breakfast was lovely, and the hotel was ideally situated within walking distance of the concerts I came to see. I would certainly stay again in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Super great nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was extreamly great hotel. Perfect location nearby Opera house, subway station, taxi and shopping streets in 5 min on foot. Also, Super nice staffs too. Room was clean even when we opened the door, we can feel rose. It was not modern hotel but you can find everything you need to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.0
    We liked the position of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a very uncomfortable room. We wanted to change it, but the staff said me, that they can't do it. I didn't like the condition of the room (601) and the small and the uncomfortable bathroom.

    We liked the position of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Friendly hotel in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was very small but this was to be expected in such an old building.

    Friendly and helpful staff. In an excellent location for the old city and in a reasonably quiet, pedestrian street. The room was clean and, although air-con isn't available (this is mentioned) the hotel provided a fan. The breakfast was compact but had everything available for a continental breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The single room was a little to small and it overlooks a lighting well (and not a courtyard). The single bed was exactly 180cm tall. So if you're over 6foot, you will struggle. The breakfast room is also rather small. We couldn't eat together the first morning (we were a party of 3) The website says that there is a welcome drink (?) We didn't get any... (Small detail.. I know)

    The location is excellent. The staff are attentive (if a little over attentive). It's right at the doorstep of Vienna city centre. The weather was perfect when we were there and the heating was on. However, there is no air-conditioning in the rooms, so I can imagine why other reviewers comment on this.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful city, well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was very small and with a view to a wall... having in mind the cost per night I was expecting a much better room.

    The staff was really professional and very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    A very nice hotel on an excellent location. Very good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and the bed with blankets was too small for a tall guy.

    Good location in the centre of Viena. A small hotel with very good attention from the team.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Enjoy my stay at this hotel. Perfect choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are a little small and possibly some furnishings need changing

    The staff were very polite from the moment we arrived. The location of the hotel is perfect close to all main sites restaurants and shops

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    Very small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. Only one cleaning during a three nights stay. Stuff disappeared from my room..staff was friendly. Little overpriced for a very basic and small room, good location though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Convenient, friendly and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly staff and comfortable bed, slept like a baby. Toilet facilities were a little cramped but adequate. Conveniently situated near Karlplatz and centre of town but in a fairly quiet street. Good breakfast. We arrived late and check in and out seamless. Thank you all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not enough space, rooms are small though comfortable, the room for breackfast, even the plates were really tiny. We felt a bit like we are in a doll's house. But i guess this have own charm.

    Perfect location! You go out and you are right at the city centre. The staff was very helpfull and friendly, i asked if they have black bread and they baked some just for me!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location in Vienna
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was at the top floor where cleaning staff had their offices. They started work at 6.30 on a Saturday morning and were very noisy.

    Great location and a very nice breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    home sweet home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Please add more French/ English/ Arabic tv channels. (specially movies channels) or news. It is boring when alone to watch tv in a language we don't understand. There was only one French channel (TV5) and CNN only in English (but they were not working properly) so couldn't watch them. try to put electric kettle in the room and free tea and coffee. it helps a lot specially when it is freezing outside.

    Great location, very friendly and professional staff, cozy rooms, nice neo baroque hotel, nice breakfast. I felt I was home with family members. I know where to stay in Vienna if I will visit it again. The receptionist (specially Clivia) was so helpful and I thank her and the night shift guy (Tarek) for all the assistance and patience. The hotel is a walking distance from all attractions and the staff (Claudia) makes sure you are comfortable. I also found a nice cookies basket, chocolate and Christmas tree in the room , with a nice card to welcome me in the house. the card was signed by the hotel manager. These are small gestures, but mean a lot , the personal touch is so important and I couldn't find a better hotel with better staff elsewhere. Bravo and please continue to be yourselves. Thank you indeed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    Our stay (my wife, my college age son, and myself) could not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our stay (my wife, my college age son, and myself) could not have been more enjoyable. The location is perfect for seeing all the downtown sites of Vienna. It is also very convenient to multiple subway stops so getting out of town and out to the rest of the beautiful sights of Austria couldn't be easier. The staff was outstanding and responsive to our every request. Morning breakfast was a wonderful way to start an awesome day in Vienna. We WILL stay here next time we are in Vienna.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Room was absolutely clean and visibly thoroughly maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was not suitable for someone suffering from claustrophobia - it was simply really small. Or maybe cosy. Depends on point of view.

    Room was absolutely clean and visibly thoroughly maintained. Really good breakfasts. And wonderful hotel staff - always friendly. It was for the first time in my life when I was asked for feedback personally from owner of the hotel (I presume it was owner, but surely at least manager).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Very easy to find, perfect location for visiting Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom a little bit tight in our room, but not a problem for us.

    Very good staff, really helpful. Breakfast extremely good. A very homely atmosphere, making it a perfect hotel for single travellers as well as couples. A treat to stay in a family run hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.3
    If you want to enjoy Vienna downtown and evening walks, this hotel is a great option.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Assortment in breakfast was quite limited for the business trip usuall standarts in Europe. From time to time during the night there was a strange noise in the hot-water pipe.

    The personell was very kind and welcomming and gave me good tips and map of the city. Location was perfect and close to the city center and public transport stations.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    It was nice stay at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the small room But it was explained in advance

    The location is great in the center of the center The staff are very kind and helpful The breakfast is very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    Good placement of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is really small, and the room is not very comfortable for 3 people, just fine for 2.

    Good placement of a hotel. Very nice breakfast. The staff is very pleasant and is 24h ready for any help. A fine place for a one-night stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    A good coffe, a nice start of the day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Renovate the rooms and the lobby.

    Very nice staff, tasty and fresh breakfast, very good coffe and tee. Great loction, you are in the middle of everything. But the rooms need to be updated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel, great location , lots of street noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street noise was so loud that you had to keep the windows closed and it is an old hotel so there is no air conditioning and the small room fan was not enough to keep the room cool

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    In the heart of Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the bedroom.

    It's excellent location close to many wonderful sites. The staff were extremely helpful and nice. The room was very well kept clean, and breakfast was more than adequate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful Stay in Inner-stadt Vienna!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Claudia and her team are very responsive and helpful. Located in the heart of the city, the hotel is perfect for sightseeing in Vienna. Everything is within walking distance or a convenient tram ride away. We stayed on the fifth floor. Easy to get in and out. Our room was clean, bright and comfortable. Set up well for the traveler. Breakfasts were very satisfying. Staff very friendly and eager to please. We will come and stay again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Charming hotel and equally charming staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room is small and no air con but a desk fan. I knew in advance so not an issue for me but other visitors might want to know

    Convenient location, helpful staff, on a quiet street with good breakfasts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant experience, easy to get to major sights, and shopping areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It came up to our reasonable expectations.

    Great location, and easy to access underground and old city, and many of the sights. Quiet area, with selection of cafes and restaurants within easy stroll. Staff were very friendly, and helpful, and even gave us a complimentary welcoming wine when we arrived late in the evening. Continental breakfasts were fresh and plentiful, and the service from nicely uniformed waitresses was excellent. This is a small family owned and run old style hotel, so it's quite compact, and not your 5 star type, but it makes up for that and more by offering a traditional Austrian experience, warm and welcoming. For a couple of 70plus oldies we really felt comfortable here and would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    6.7
    Good location, friendly reception staff but spoilt by noise. Tired room and linen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was full of paint fumes on arrival. High gloss smell !!! Bed mattress sunken. Bed frame dangerous due to damaged metal sharp edges. Lower shin injury as not much room to walk around bed( Room 22). Also ankle injury trying to get out as so low down as bed frame came too high above mattress. Curtains too thin so let light in a 4am ! Although ear plugs provided very noisy street outside with deliveries and bin collection at 7am!. Shame the cleaning staff sat in full view in uniform smoking, drinking red bull not a good image to set !

    Reception and breakfast staff very helpful and attentive. Good power in shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    We had an excellent stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It could be noisy at night due to the location. The shower was quite small and not much space around the toilet.

    Lovely Breakfast, very comfortable bed. The location was very central and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Excellent location, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    As a person over six feet tall, I found the bathroom uncomfortably small. Otherwise, no complaints.

    The location could not be better. Easy walking distance to major sites inside Ring - Opera, Hofburg Palace, St. Stephens Cathedral, etc. Also easy access to transportation - tram and U-Bahn - for distant sites, e.g., Shonbrun Palace. The daily breakfast was excellent - good food and filling, so we were not hungry again before mid-afternoon. The staff were uniformly helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    To find a perfectly adequate single room in such an...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To find a perfectly adequate single room in such an excellent location is increasingly hard.This hotel is an asset that I will remember and use again if I am in Vienna on a similar trip.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    4.2
    A comfortable and convenient small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom; Bed very low to floor - a problem for old people.

    Location; staff; breakfast; lift; comfortable bed; good shower; quality towels and bedding..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    An interesting place with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This attractive hotel with interesting decor and architectural features is an excellent place to stay. It is located in the heart of Vienna near all the marvelous attractions (Hofburg, Staatsoper, Mozarthaus, Kaisergruft, Rathaus, Parliament, Karlsplatz, Belvedere, Naschmarkt, etc.). Our room was nicely decorated, cozy, clean and quiet. The breakfast was delicious with the homemade Kaiser rolls and fantastic cookies. Truly excellent and very helpful reception staff. We will definately stay here in our next trip to Vienna.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    7.1
    Too noisy to sleep well
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOISE! Too hot in room and because of noise, could not open the windows at night. Pictures are deceptive about the small room I had on the 6th floor. Bathroom was tiny. Room is ok for 1 person. No fridge. Coffee costs additional fee of 5€.

    Location, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic location in the centre of Vienna, cute little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two single beds pushed together instead of one king or double, and the mattresses were a little too soft so our backs weren't used to that

    Fantastic location in the centre of Vienna, cute little place. Some people on here complained it's too hot, but all we had to do was to turn down the radiator and open the window for a bit before going to bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Cannot rate this place highly enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot rate this place highly enough. Staff were very friendly on arrival and greeted me with a glass of bubbles. Hotel was easy to find and close to everything.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    9.6
    Great little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have like tea and coffee in the room. The breakfast is really basic. We hired a car and the hotel offers parking but it costs 17 euro's a day. I would not recommend hiring a car as it is really not necessary and works out expensive.

    The hotel is situated in a perfect position for the tourist. Rooms are really comfortable and quaint (small but adequate) and the staff were amazing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    Best boutique hotel in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is very well located for opera and concerts as well as most of the important sites to visit in Vienna. It is very efficiently operated by extremely helpful and knowledgable staff who are always available night and day. It is also very good value for the price.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    10
    Luxurious way to spend time in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were calm, friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were excellent - variety of breads, meats, fruits, etc. Decent enough for someone health-conscious. The rooms were lovely, clean and kept warm.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful place in the heart of Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms in this hotel are small but with everything what you need.

    Position of the hotel is excellent and the hotel staff is very polite and sympathetic. The room was small but good equipped (for 3 persons). And as usually the breakfast was very good. We found our new favorite hotel in Vienna.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    Exellent base for exploring Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The single room was very small. But it was well furnished, clean, warm and had a comfy bed.

    Exellent location with very friendly staff in a lovely old building with nice decor. Small but very comfortable and clean single room with a comfy bed. The hotel was nice and warm [ in December]. Very good breakfast with a choice of cold meats, cheeses, jams, honey, bread, yoghurt, cereals, fresh fruit and cake or pastries.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    Super but warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hi. It was very nice central hotell and family owned. Personal was ver kindly and helpful. Locations was perfect to go to city and look historically building. Hannu

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.2
    Unexcelled location, congenial staff, and great breakfast. Such a bargain.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room and bath have always been very small (perhaps it's always the same room), but still clean, comfortable, and directly accessible. The comfy reading and writing lounge is a good place to relax.

    In my third visit, I found the same completely congenial and efficient small staff on duty 24/7, the same excellent breakfast, and the same unexcelled location. This really is exactly the best block in the old city, quiet yet only a half block off the Kärtnerstrasse, much nearer to everything south and west of St. Stephans (Hofburg, Operhaus, Musikverein, Rathaus, Parliament, Karlsplatz, Belvedere, Naschmarkt, etc.) that you want to experience, than being right close to St. Stephens, and yet just a leisurely 10-minute walk to there. Overall, value for the money is exceptional.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    8.3
    You will not find a more centrally located hotel with an...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although nicely decorated and practically arranged the rooms are small and less suited for business travelers

    You will not find a more centrally located hotel with an intimate atmosphere, ideal for the tourist that travels light and for fun.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    Advent weekend in Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are quit tightly, but they are so nice, that you forget about the space. Everyday the housekeepers charges in the room on the pillows sweet stuffs, which makes a good impression.

    The personal is very kind. The hotel has a wonderful "fruhstuck zimmer". And not at last place the hotel is in the ideal center of Vienna, the location is great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.6
    In the city center, few meters from main pedestrian street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the city center, few meters from main pedestrian street. It feels like home (away from your own). Close to secured parking, good wifi, excellent breakfast and very helpful and polite staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.1
    A lovely and safe place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv was situated in a place where it could not be viewed. The lift is very, very old fashioned. You have to leave your key at reception.

    The staff are friendly and caring. The bed was comfortable. The location is fantastic. Very clean. They always left a sweet on my pillow :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Perfect location,in the heart of Vienna!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location,in the heart of Vienna!You really can visit the most of Vienna's sightseeings (staat opera,hoburg palace,stefansdome)on foot!All the museum's , coffee places and restaurants of vienna are around the hotel! The room is small,but it is very clean,warm and cute!The staff is very polite and helpful! We really had great time there! Although the room lack of space,it is sweet warm room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Perfect location for this charming hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit small, but not surprising for an older hotel.

    Location was perfect , and staff very warm and helpful. Old world charm. Room a decent size and bed comfortable. Charming hotel and quite reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.2
    Location and Charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the rooms may be an issue to some; a large person could not have made use of the bathroom we had. There's no air conditioning, just a fan and open windows, so some might not be able to sleep through the noise of a busy commercial street. In spite of the possible issues, we probably would stay there again when in Vienna.

    This is such a quaint and pleasant hotel, it's difficult to talk about the negatives. Each traveler will need to make his/her own decision. The staff is wonderfully friendly and helpful; the building is lovely and well-kept. The location is wonderful! Shops and restaurants line the hotel's street, and the city center is an easy walk away. A very good breakfast is served on rose-patterned dishes in a charming room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    5.0
    It was not pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The management was awful. Their policies and support are far from good to encourage visitors to go back to this hotel. Too bad because the location is really good.

    Some of the front office staff members where very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.2
    Great place.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. Lack of air.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was excellent. My only concern was the lack of air conditioning, and since we only had one warm night, the fan provided kept us comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.6
    A Viennese jewel right in the heart of the first district
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had fans in the room, which was ok. Air-condition would have been nice.

    This is a real jewel in the heart of Vienna. With it´s classic Viennese style this little hotel which is right in the buzzing centre of the first district offers the real Viennese experience. Owner and staff were really helpful and friendly, the rooms (we only had double rooms, with a nice view on to the Kruger Strasse) had a great atmosphere. We were there as a group of lady-friends and could not believe what we got for the money we paid. All in all a phantastic experience. We can highly recommend the "Hotel zur Wiener Staatsoper".

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Lovely quaint place in very central position with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room a little cramped but adequate

    The centrality, friendly staff, cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    not your fault, had mixed up hotels when making the booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room very small- I am the travel agent, clients picked the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast.

    Staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Very close to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Very close to city centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Welcoming friendly place oozing history in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small and stuffy

    Great location friendly staff good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are phenomenally friendly and helpful. The location is perfect to be right in the heart of Vienna, would recommend it to all my friends.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    Better in Spring, Fall, and Winter on weekdays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Loud at night due to restaurants below.

    Very nice staff. Clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    Not satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facilities poor, very tiny bathroom, no air condition, noisy during the night

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Small but Chique
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could be a bit more comfortable - the mattress.

    Almost everything. See above.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Great Location, excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom

    Great Location, excellent staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Good location, kind staff, clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    plug is easy to drop, made me wait to check out for 10 minutes due to their shift change

    old good style interior

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, decrepit, noisy

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    4.6
    They.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They. Don’t. Even. Try.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    very satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Daniel from the reception is very friendly, always smiling, dynamic, helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    the location is privileged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the bathroom was very small and a little old.

    Very friendly the morning shift concierge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds should Be higher

    Ubication

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location, good wifi, friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, good wifi, friendly staff. The room was tiny, but it had everything you need.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel zur Wiener Staatsoper traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: