Stays Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Attractions Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Australia hotel reviews
  3. Australia hotel reviews
  4. Australia hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel 75 - The Hudson

Reviews of Hotel 75 - The Hudson

75 Shortland Esplanade, 2300 Newcastle, Australia

Review score

Based on 25 apartment reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.0

  • Staff

    6.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2019

    7.1
    It was pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be good to have clean towels daily. The fact it is called a hotel is a little misleading.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bedroom was tiny - so tiny we couldnt even shut the bathroom door as it kept getting stuck on the end of the bed. this would have been fine for one person but not for three of us. also it claims 'free parking' however this is only if you manage to get one of the three cisitor carparks allocated to the entire apartment block - otherwise you pay ticket parking on the street.

    great location and very clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The address should be no.5 King Street, Newcastle West. That would make it easier to find. Unless you have a smart phone, directions would be hard, as far as the parking and getting into the building is concerned.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view

    Kitchen was well equipped

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst check in/ verification process I’ve experienced. It should be made clear at the start of the booking how the apartment works. I did not feel comfortable uploading all my details via a link text to my phone. I was not aware I would have to drive 50 minute round trip to show my ID. Lucky I had a car this holiday otherwise I would have been much worse off.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2019

    9.6
    Great location but difficult to pick up keys
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception, difficult to pick up keys

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2019

    9.2
    Superb
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean,secure easy parking

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value and location.

    Great Location.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2019

    9.6
    Great 2 nights in Newcastle. We didn’t want to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing apartment, not sure if we got an upgrade! But exceeded our expectations!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good size, clean & spectacular views. We will be back 👍🏻

    Lovely apartment wished we stayed more nights

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    5.4
    Passable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a joke. Was told parking is an extra $40 so paid the day before check-in and got there to find out there’s only visitor parking and it’s not a guarantee. Got to the apartment and it smelt very strongly of cigarettes.

    Apartment is in a really good spot, close to cafes and the beach.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    3.3
    The worst set up I have ever encountered. Will not be staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The key collection system is ridiculous, as this is a obviously a residential property not Hotel as stated. Definitely not suitable for groups as advertised. They can only provide you with 1 key. We phoned the host for clarification but no luck. Host was adamant that it was a successful system and bragged that he owns 20+ apartments in the city. Frankly he was rude, probably gets guests asking the same question every time. Booking.com states "Pay at Property" which is physically not possible as there is no Reception. Payment is taken from your credit card up to 3 days earlier without warning. Upon arrival, the apartment is far smaller than depicted. Bathroom door actually hits corner of bed when opening. No room either side of the bed. No doona provided for sofa couch, just a few 'thick' sheets. Only 4 towels provided for 3 women staying 5 days. Attempted to use washing machine to wash towels - washing machine dysfunctional. No spin cycle so left items saturated. On another use, washing machine actually locked mid cycle and clothes were left soaking for 24+ hrs, resulting in expensive items colour stained and ruined. Maintenance were contacted. Minimal toilet paper provided - had to purchase our own. No housekeeping as one would expect with a 'Hotel'. This is not a hotel. We had to contact maintenance as we were locked out of our apartment (as predicted given 1 key with 3 people). Forced to pay $150 cash on the spot. Luckily we had that. The website states this fee is only $75 and does not state any after hour charges exist. I phoned reception the next day and was told by Dominic "That's a bargain. We could've left you outside in the cold". I was told he would investigate given the price discrepancy but have not heard back. Absolutely disgraceful customer service. Confusing checkout process. The key pouch said to return to letterbox, yet the website said to leave on coffee table.

    Location - great! Right on the Newcastle beach, close proximity to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.8
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable and the pillows felt like we slept on cement The couch was very uncomfortable also but also had stains all over it which made it not very appealing to sit on The sun came in around 6am as the blinds had gaps in them

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Good location, comfortable accomodation.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small bedroom. Barely enough room the walk beside the bed. Complicated entry process.

    Lots of space. Comfy living room. Good kitchen. And excellent bathroom. Close the restaurants and beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    2.5
    Very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We never even got into the property. We arrived at 2:30 parked where it said guest parking then when we couldn’t find the entrance called the hotel. They said I would be given an link to open explaining where to go to get the keys. As I couldn’t get the link I was given another phone number to call. the lady explained to me where to go and get our keys, which was around in another street which was down two lots of stairs and around the corner in a post office box. I had to call her again to get the code to get into the box. After that I still couldn’t find the car parking to get us into the apartment by this time it was after 4pm we had driven over 400 kms that day and this was not what I expected when we arrived in Newcastle we where exhausted. Eventually I called the manager again he offered us an apartment in one of their other apartment areas a few kms away called honey suckle apartments. We couldn’t find that either as the proper name for them is the Chifley hotel it was around 5pm by this time. The worst experience I have ever had. Very disappointed customers. The staff in the Chifley were great and finally we were settled in our room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money just a pity they don't have reception services on site
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    No reception services at the hotel. Confusing system with picking up keys, the last thing I needed after 5 hours of travel and carrying luggage. Called their phone assistance service was told the key pick up box is behind the novotel but its actually behind the cafe in that block. Dropping the key with no code to unlock the box also confusing. Wifi didnt work. Bathroom door couldn't close due to size of the room and the bed blocking the door from closing.

    Modern. Opposite the beach. Close to town and amenities. Clean and comfortable. Great value for money. Parking on site which was a bonus with the lack of free parking close by. Two TV's in the apartment. Liked the fancy coffee too.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2019

    9.2
    Clean, Cosy and Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You couldn’t fully close the bathroom door without moving the bed

    I enjoyed the plush bed that you could just sink into. It was clean and the kitchen was so handy to have.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in process, allow extra time as need to wait for both an email and text with instructions. Very hard to contact reception line. Maitenence and cleaning of room also lacking for room of this price range.

    Great location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2019

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2019

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2019

    6.3
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.4
    Passable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2019

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in November 2018

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!