Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tropical Nites 4 stars

119, 4877 Port Douglas, Australia

#53 of 101 hotels in Port Douglas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 48 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    2.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff, great location nice and small so not overrun...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a few small maintenance issues, a couple blinds missing from main lounge room and could do with a refresh of paint but otherwise nothing worth complaining about

    Friendly staff, great location nice and small so not overrun with guests everywhere if wanting something more intimate and smaller.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    The apartment we stayed in was clean and comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment we stayed in was clean and comfortable and perfect to relax in. The owners were really helpful in booking activities for us and giving us recommendations for food in port douglas.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Thumbs up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location huge comfortable accommodation with great balconies friendly and very helpful owners /managers even lent us their crab nets without hesitation couldn't of asked for anymore thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend to anyone

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Our unit at A Tropical Night was beautiful, spacious, and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The personal touch of our host and the comfort of A Tropical Nite reminded me of some higher end homestays I have booked while traveling abroad. Sharon was always available and ceaselessly accommodating. She helped us obtain everything we needed either directly or by pointing the way. She also went above and beyond to help return something to me that I left behind. The apartment was clean, bright, and had everything we needed including, but not limited too, a full kitchen, washer/dryer, dishwasher, cookware, coffee, and an electric kettle. Eating out can get tiresome when traveling, but at A Tropical Night we were able to enjoy cooking for ourselves and using the grill by the gorgeous pool.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Really Clean, spacious, amazing facilities in the house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a short walk from the beach. However, you might need the car in order to reach the are with all the restaurants and shops (20 min walk). The managment was not clear about the use of an extra room present in the apartment (I’ve book two bedrooms, I recieved a three bedrooms one).

    Really Clean, spacious, amazing facilities in the house. air-con and fans in each room. Lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Modern, very clean, with very good facilities, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking at the rear of property was compromised by a stack of pavers in next door space, making it difficult to manoeuvre.

    Modern, very clean, with very good facilities, and the choice of fan or air conditioner was good. The pool and adjoining BBQ, was convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    The property is quiet, a handy location, worth recommending, and I would certainly stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the most important light globes was blown which made navigating the stairs to the only bathroom facility tricky. If we were staying longer, a call to the owner would have solved the problem, I'm sure.

    The beds were very comfortable, with good quality clean linen. In fact, the whole apartment was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    Family friendly good size apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just little things - only provided half a roll of toilet paper in our starter kit for our short stay so we had to race out before the shops closed to get more, no sharp knives for cooking preparation, tv remote batteries were dead and sliding doors heavy and hard/ noisy to slide.

    Good size apartment with communal swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.8
    Good value for money, nice with the kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location a bit remote from the center of town - wasn't a problem as we were with a car. Kitchen a bit under-equipped.

    Took the 3-bedroom unit for 6 people. Space enough for everyone. Staff was extremely nice and helpful with bookings. The girls loved the pool. Got free beach towels to use.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Nothing was too much for Mel & Andy our hosts. We will certainly be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Spacious, comfortable & bright accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff lovely Place quite close to Port Douglas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff lovely Place quite close to Port Douglas update nice pool as well

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Excellent all round. We even saw the 5m crocodile on our way back to the airport!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very welcoming couple in Mel & Andy. Helped us a lot to ensure we got great value for money from our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Excellent, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neat" clean and good facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Everything was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Very big and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very big and spacious. Fully equipped apartment. Great location and knowledgable staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.4
    Interesting place to stay if you enjoy walking but not much else to do. One night is plenty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of in house facilities

    The tranquility was great, and the 8 o'clock fire brings strangers together to share their stories.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.9
    Adequate for our purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi poor

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very friendly staff. Large, comfortable apartment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    The pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent recommend it to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some of the lights did not work.

    Friendly helpful staff in a good location. Good facilities with no need to go out if you did not feel like it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    10
    Every thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing. Could not fault this place.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.2
    Home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower heads were damaged and a little out of town.

    Huge, modern, well-equipped unit with everything you need.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    6.7
    OK place in Port Douglas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen needs new utensils, pots and pans. No remote for DVD, unable to use.

    Spacious, clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.6
    Manager extremely helpful and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager extremely helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.8
    Great spacious, clean and comfortable accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    wifi not working in our apartment for the whole 5 days we were there and we had to go and stand outside reception to get wifi. Also oven broke whilst we were there but it wasn't repaired and we weren't told what was happening about it.

    Great spacious, clean and comfortable accomodation.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    10
    Lovely little villas that was nicely decorated and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely little villas that was nicely decorated and comfortable. The kitchen was incredibly well equipped. The location was a short walk to the beach and the town centre. Great base to see the barrier reef. And lastly the owners were very friendly and helpful!

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    7.9
    It was a large comfortable apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Manager was more interested in making excuses for lack of working lightbulbs and talking about herself...

    It was a large comfortable apartment. Fluffy towels were lovely Very convenient to main street but quiet..

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    10
    The double-deck apartment is luxurious with 3 bedrooms and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The double-deck apartment is luxurious with 3 bedrooms and a fully equipped kitchen. Besides, the receptionist is so kind to help me send parcels to my residence hall in Canberra. I will definitely recommend it to others.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    9.2
    Room sizes good, kitchen facilities good BBQ and Pool &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The units lack maintenance ie; rattling fans, leaking air conditioners, Sliding doors sticking, & jamming,freezers iced up, & some lights not working, simple to check!! It's a shame that these cant be noted when rooms cleaned on checkout & fixed. Just lazy management or owners of units wont spend the money, it prevents more costly repairs, or guests not coming back. Needs sink in BBQ Area.

    Room sizes good, kitchen facilities good BBQ and Pool & Area excellent for families

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.6
    really helpful manager arranged bookings and gave great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    really helpful manager arranged bookings and gave great advice on Daintree area.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.6
    I loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I loved this place! It was immaculate and very comfortable. Nice quiet spot and had every thing we needed

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.6
    Clean and friendly with nice modern amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Little bit too far from main centre of town

    Clean and friendly with nice modern amenities. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.8
    Very good accommodation in Port Douglas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very good accommodation in Port Douglas.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    A wonderful, comfortable apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A wonderful, comfortable apartment. Nice and clean. Very helpful and lovely, lovely managers.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.2
    large apartment, great facilities and lovely garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location. a bit far from town

    large apartment, great facilities and lovely garden

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.2
    Peaceful yet close to all the main attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Peaceful yet close to all the main attractions

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.2
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    10
    Great owner gave us lots of advice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Internet did not work

    Great owner gave us lots of advice. Great location

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    9.4
    close to town and wharf .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing.

    close to town and wharf .clean comfortable accommadation ,nice pool ,very friendly managers,we loved it.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.3
    Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfort

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    7.1
    Very friendly staff, pool, close to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Dated furniture and facility, toilet smells although clean. Noisy air condition directly next to bed.

    Very friendly staff, pool, close to beach

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41