Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Ultimo 4 stars

37 Ultimo Road, Sydney CBD, 2000 Sydney, Australia

#82 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1741 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Single Room with One Single Bed (1 Guest)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There seemed to be some general background noise in the building. Staff said it was due to the rain. Street noise woke me in the small and early hours.

    Nicely converted old warehouse building. Easy walk down from Central Station with plenty of places to eat nearby. Free WiFi worked well and good range of TV channels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel location is superb, close to Central Station (a short stroll away), just behind Paddys Market/Marketown, a lovely walk to Darling Harbour (a few minutes). Because it is near UWS there are a lot of good priced restaurants all around. The staff are very accommodating and friendly. The room was a very nice size with a small sitting area and windows that can be opened, for me that is heaven to have fresh air in the middle of a big city. Will definitely be staying at the Ultimo again. FABULOUS HOTEL

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't get a lift to up to the 3rd floor courtyard rooms

    So convenient to everything. The staff were friendly and helpful. We'll be coming back here with our puppy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's only the start of winter but the room temperature was baking with no air circulation. The air conditioner could only be used on the heat setting... we slept terribly both nights. It felt like a heat wave and we couldn't do much about it. No one likes that sticky uncomfortable feeling.

    The location is awesome. Everything is tidy and modern.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have loved a microwave in the room.

    The beds in this hotel are so comfortable! It's relatively close to the train station, and there is a Woolworths across the road.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was amazing!! We had everything we could possibly have needed; even down to coffee pods for the espresso machine!! The private dock was incredibly peaceful and the garage plenty big enough for unloading the car etc. The property was also dog friendly and our little pup loved playing in the garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Ultimo Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy but this is because of the location in a busy part of town. Other guests very noisy too when returning to rooms

    Very central. Easy access. Good facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wi-fi was terrible in my room. Though it was a lovely excuse to head down to the lobby and have another coffee.

    The coffee was excellent, and the location was great! I was able to walk most places, and if I couldn't walk, I was very close to Central Station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear people in the room next door as walls are a little thin. But now a massive issue.

    Staff are amazing and extremely helpful! Rooms are lovely, very clean and modern.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The karaoke bar was a bit loud during my second nights stay but I still got to sleep in no time.

    The reception staff are lovely, the free room upgrade was nice. Located right near Central Station was super handy. The king size bed was so comfortable, had a great nights sleep. The scent of essential oils through the halls was a lovely touch and the shower and toiletries are great! Loved the astrological theme. Will stay here again on my next Sydney trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee starts at 7am in the lobby so if you leave before you have to have nescafe :0( (first world problems)

    The bed was super comfy and the Reception staff were exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable, nothing was a problem. Excellent value and location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sound insultation at all. Could hear everything from other room and the outside corridor, which was especially bad as we were right across from the lift. Also bathroom felt a bit like a hospital and there was no window in the room.

    Staff were very friendly. Room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minimal cutlery, room is clean but bed did have a few minor stains (Not very noticeable). No windows in bedroom.

    Great value for money, comfortable beds, the design of our room was very cute, cosy atmosphere. Bathroom is very spacious, staff are excellent. Convenient location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ultimo Single Room with One Single Bed (1 Guest)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be floor lighting to highlight the step down to the bed.

    Well located and all you need for a short stay. I like that you are able to shop nearby and there is a table and chairs in the one bedroom room to sit and eat a meal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Single Room with One Single Bed (1 Guest)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of cupboards and hanging space for clothes. Table with 3 stools - table very small. OK for a lone traveler, but need to be considered if there were more in the room.

    Staff were friendly. Location for me was great as was the price. Lifts were good and fast. Shower good. Quiet. Clean and tidy. Room made up every day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little on the small side even for 2 and could be a bit noisy in the evening/night. Not so ideal for light sleepers.

    Friendly hotel staff. Great location with plenty of food options and Woolworth round the corner. The Thai eatery nearest to the hotel served excellent and authentic Thai food. Tram station was also easy to walk to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the mattress is too soft, expect better quality mattress for this type of hotel

    Great value for money Location is excellent if you want to go to all best Asian Restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That they charged for water.

    really nice hotel and staff. Quiet and clean. Free WIFI. Very central location right near Central Station. Just needed to provide breakfast and would have been perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Ultimo Single Room with One Single Bed (1 Guest)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a small cockroach crawling on my covers so i couldnt sleep Also found 2 small cockroaches in the bathroom.

    The staff were very polite. Modern designsþþ

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place has quite alot of outside noise. Lots of restaurants around which are open late so lots of drunken people later in the evening.

    Its a great location for the ICC conversion centre. Loved the free coffee every morning made fresh in the reception area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Single Room with One Single Bed (1 Guest)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet access is a bit of a joke and most of the time is unusable. Really not okay this days to not provide decent internet but it is enough to down load emails some of the time. The institutional grey paint on the room walls is depressing and makes you feel like you're in prison. The coffee and tea machine downstairs is ridiculously over priced - especially the tea which cost like 30 cents a cup to make (even T2). There should be cheaper prices for guests if you want guests to make use of it. I can pay $3.50 for earl grey at Starbucks and thats the enormous cup.

    The staff - especially Bianca (thank you to Bianca - you deserve a raise) were amazing and dealt very quickly and Kindly with my request to change room. The room I was then given was wonderful and comfortable. The only thing missing was a suitcase stand. The last time I stayed here it was called The Aaron, was dreadful for so many reasons and had I realised I wouldn't have booked in but with new staff and a renovation this place is great - amazing location right opposite Paddy's Market and behind George Street. I will definitely be booking in again next time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    The room was clean and comfortable - it was very suitable to a one night stay. It was within walking distance to Central Station, restaurants nearby and to Darling Harbour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in room 217 - but noise from delivery truck in mornings and vibrations from fish market below were annoying - would stay again but would request a different room

    It was perfect! Only small issue below... would stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit on the small side, but having read previous reviews, this was not unexpected.

    Great location. This will improve once all the works for the light rail is completed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smaller room than it looks, noisy room near by street side

    İt’s located close 5 minutes to central station by foot. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely boutique hotel a short walk from Central station! Not quite close enough to the harbour & CBD but only a short bus ride away or a 25 min walk. Lovely little hotel moments away from loads of restaurants and bars, bathrooms were super clean and showers were lovely. Bed was divine. Great great great stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgrade to courtyard room was great. Didn’t have key to lock exterior door tho so security was a bit concerning, did ask about it twice with nothing done. Other than that, it was great, just don’t book courtyard rooms if you can’t do stairs!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound travels through walls and ceilings too easily. There were small cockroaches and other insects in the room, possibly from bathroom(windows were never opened). Hot water was an issue in the mornings over the weekend.

    Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't given any information by the reception staff that there was free wifi or given any password, so I actually didn't realise there was free wifi. Maybe staff should automatically give out this information at check-in. I have local 4G so it didn't matter, but for international travelers, it would be nice to just give them the password without having to ask.

    This lovely little hotel is in a great location, 5 minutes from Central Station, 5 minutes from the light rail, 5 minutes from...everywhere ! Located literally across the road from Paddy's Markets and right in the heart of China Town, there is a lot to see and do right on the block. But a short wander takes you to the city centre, Darling Harbour or to transport that will take you further afield. The refurbishment of this old building is tasteful and nicely done. It feels brand new, but retained some nice references to its heritage, with the exposed brick walls, wide corridors, random little stairs and nooks and crannies, and old-style windows. The bed was comfy, the bathroom well set out, and very clean and modern. The room was quiet and cosy, and even with the window open, the street noise wasn't bad. There are a million restaurants and supermarket options nearby, including the 'wet market' in Paddy's. As usual, the shower leaked like mad all over the bathroom floor, but this seems to be standard where the attention is on sleek, minimalist lines versus actual shower doors that close properly. Just put the bath mat further away when you use the shower :) There is a little fridge in the room, as well as kettle and tea, coffee and milk supplies, which I always appreciate after a long day out. All in all, very good value for money, and although I only had a very short stay for work this time, I would definitely come back to this hotel next time I am having a more relaxing Sydney long weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    I loved the location, the quirkiness of the place with the star sign advice, the staff who are so nice and the comfort of the room. The proximity to fabulous food.and Darling Harbour. I loved it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No sleep - jack hammers and pneumatic tools going off all night outside my bedroom window and this building is likely to last in to 2019! Staff at 1.am offered for me to move to another hotel in the middle of the night, if they could find one, but not another room, I was exhausted the whole next day... Zero USB hubs, only electrical sockets were under the bedside cabinet, or in the bathroom. You can only boil the kettle on the floor by the bed or in the bathroom near the lavatory! You had to charge your phone on the floor as a standard 1 metre phone cable didn't reach from the socket under the cabinet to the actual cabinet top.

    Comfortable bed. Good location close to the markets.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Single Room with One Single Bed (1 Guest)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position of room 133 which was more than I expected by such a comfortable bed in a room so well designed and so well situated for enjoying your time in Sydney. I am looking forward for having it again when I go back to Sydney in 2019 (It's already already booked !))

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some street noise on Saturday night but it is the heart of the CBD!

    Staff were very helpful and polite, the rooms were clean, bright and relaxed. The location was excellent - right next to Paddy’s Markets, and a few minutes walk from the Powerhouse Museum.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is definitely nothing to dislike here.

    This hotel always excels. Staff always super friendly and helpful, hotel always looks loved and cared for. The position of the hotel in Sydney is perfect. Room although not large is well thought out and very comfortable, has everything you need for a happy stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is so comfy with 4 fluffy pillows for us. The room is large enough, worth its price for the facilities we get and accessibility to Chinatown and eateries around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I will say is you can hear people walking through the corridor at night and in the morning but I didn’t really find it a big deal.

    Stayed in the trio room after being upgraded from the queen room. Very spacious, clean, cosy, bed was so comfortable I’d love to know what mattresses they use haha. Shower was amazing, clean facilities. Staff were so friendly and helpful. The astrology theme was a cute little touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towers are not soft. Seems like they are used for thousands of times

    The location is perfect. We can just walk about 6 mins to the hotel from the bus station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was much smaller than I expected but very clean and neat. No wardrobe or drawers or place to store suit case. Otherwise it was very well serviced daily and was all I needed for a few short days.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property was a bit run down but it fits our needs. For the price, I can not believe I stayed at such an amazing area.

    Location Location Location. It is located by a water refuge and one of the best beaches in Manly. Can not stress that fact enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Friendliness of staff, super clean rooms and bathrooms, design, small hotel feel so different to large indifferent hotel chain. Quirky and different, a "hip" hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window blinds didn't block the street lights shining into the room, so the room was very bright even in the middle of the night. Made it quite hard to sleep. I think this would only be a problem for the rooms facing the street.

    The room was small, but very clean and modern. The staff were all very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ultimo Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the minute stepped through the doors the staff were so helpful and quick to assist. We came in early to drop off our luggage but they were even able to check us in!! Beds super comfortable, and bathroom was perfect. So close to everything in the CBD.. will definitely want to stay there again!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ultimo Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was great

    The staff were so lovely, the room was great, they even brought me up a complementary wine and chocolates for my birthday it was great, we will be going back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were welcoming, interesting and interested, warm and helpful and helped make the stay enjoyable. Good location with convenient access to transport, shops, markets. Rooms adequate, clean and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ultimo Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hardly any counter space to put your things, both in the bedroom and the bathroom. No sofa. Only two chair with a very small table. It is quite cramp for a family of four.

    Excellent location. Near public transportations and lots of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Ultimo King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to dislike as long as you do your own research and understand what facilities are available. For example there is no restaurant, gym, pool, sauna etc given it's a boutique hotel. The floor of our room would not have been suitable for disabled individuals as stairs must be negotiated but that's not to say other floors wouldn't be.

    The bed was so comfortable I'd rate it up there amongst the best sleeping I've had. We were fortunate to get a larger room very grateful for that. Heaps of good restaurants around and only a 10 minutes walk from the Central Station. Staff also happy to oblige a late check out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ultimo King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not sure this can be changed but a room onto the lane you need a deep sleeper. pub patrons, skateboarders, rubbish truck and food delivery trucks made sleeping difficult.

    location,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, so close to the main train station. Rooms are really modern and clean . Staff are nice. Great value for money considering the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ultimo Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a couch or even enough chairs for all four of us to sit on, rather than the two that were there.. Cutlery would have been helpful too.

    Amazing location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing about the ultimo we did not like.

    The location was excellent. Near to main shops and railway station. The room was large and the bed was extremely comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no wardrobe space, only a slight minor issue though!

    Location is great, a 5-10 min walk to Darling Harbour, the staff were lovely and welcoming, the room was nice and fairly comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at checkin were amazing. The room was spacious and inviting with a comfortable bed Was the 2nd time we have stayed there and will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast offered, but few good options just around the corner. (just ask the staff)

    Very well located in walking distance to the main station and darling harbor. Very nice, new rooms. Nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, Location and location. The Ultimo hotel is located in Chinatown right next to Paddy Markets, where you can get some awesome souvenirs at the best prices, and in walking distance from every where like the botanical gardens and Darlington Harbor and everything in between. The staff is really helpful and nice. They helped me book my trip to the Blue Mountains and told me of must see places in Sydney and surrounding areas. Great stay. Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m not sure if there was WiFi. There wasn’t any information in the room on the connection or about checkout time. That would’ve been helpful, but other than that our stay was great!

    The staff were so fun and helpful. The hotel is so quirky, yet clean and well maintained. It’s also in a great spot, right near Central station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean rooms, the bathroom appeared to be brand new. Comfortable beds, very quiet rooms, no noise from outside or ftom corridors Excellent value for inner city Sydney.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no where to hang your clothes or even drawers. Lots of outside noise every night of our stay. Cockroaches in the room. Under bed was not clean. Waiting on response from hotel.

    Staff were very welcoming and friendly. close to Central train station and across the road from Paddy’s Markets. Easy walk to Darling Harbour. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    1.) They should have some free pay-TV Foxtel 2.) Internet always get disconnected at regular intervals. I like to watch online movies and internet stops, than need to re-login 3.) Level 3 rooms where I stayed, stairs are very steep. My dog and I have to be very careful using those stairs. He has 4 paws, so much harder to use steep stairs. They should say at booking no wheelchair access to Level 3 and steep stairs. 4.) The door connect my room to my balcony. It can be locked but no key. If I accidentally lock myself on the balcony, I cannot get any help to get back into my room because nobody in the hotel can hear me. 5.) Cannot find light switch to turn on balcony light

    Good location, friendly staff, allow my baby Mickey (the dog) to stay and he got some free food from hotel, good size room (level 3 rooms) , quiet hotel room (level 3 rooms), good size balcony, clean and tidy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That the room rate had increased so substantially (50%) for that night. No place to sit and have a coffee because of the reno's AND through no fault of yours we were all out the street at 6.30 am due to a false alarm !

    The room was in a quiet location for a change NOT facing Ultimo Road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Staffs are friendly. A little bit tense I was late to pay for my extended stay. In my booking I said I would settle at 12 midday to ensure hotel notified, but at 1115 am, reception panicking contacted me to clear the rate immediately. I felt as if the reception did not trust me. Even if I could not make the payment, I only extended my stay till mid day. Late check out in this instance would be a one off. But I did clear it at 1130 after few calls to my room. Even after three days staying there I was hoping no one call my room till later but I got a call at 1130 to remind me . Overall was ok except few things which can be personalized in case by case basis.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could've been a bit cleaner, not saying it was dirty by any means.

    The room was great, tons of space in the queen room. The accommodation was more affordable than other locations but the location was just as good if not better than some. Already booked my next stay there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relatively comfortable, though tiny box of a room. Not cleaned to a good standard with rubbish under the bed and coffee marks on the table. No desk or anywhere to work. Coffee not refilled properly. I would also expect a four star hotel by definition to have breakfast available, or other amenities to justify its star rating, and this was not the case. Overall a two/theee star stay, though in an excellent location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soft comfortable bed, good airconditioning, double pain glass windows...I’m a light sleeper and wasn’t bothered or woken by street noise. Great water pressure in the shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Two points: 1) The bed is a bit too soft for me. 2) Wifi is from average to unavailable.

    Location of the hotel is fantastic. Right at the edge of Chinatown. Surrounded by good eateries and restaurant. Next to a mall. And just a 1km/15-minute walk from Darling Harbour. Room is clean. And the housekeeping is hard at work keeping it this way :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Both stays were to attend concerts and important events in the area as my own house is too far from the city to bother going back and forth each day, so a nice quiet room and a good shower were important to me. This time I had a queen room, and when I arrived I found it lovely, it was large and spacious but did not have a nice table and chair area like my single room the week before. The previous weeks single room had been a strange shape, having an entry area with hanging rack combined with a lounge room where 2 chairs and a table were set up for watching TV, and then a separate area where just the bed fit in and obviously a separate bathroom. This room had an annoying step down into the bed room and it wasn't possible to see the whole TV screen from the bed. However it was comfortable and reasonably insulated from street noise. Anyway, the queen room had a large separate entry with hanging rack, then through to the bed area and then separate rooms for the shower and toilet. I think it was only a bit larger overall than the single room but the bed room area was larger and I was happy with that. I went out that evening and returned early in the morning to then sleep til the afternoon. I was woken by drumming presumably for Chinese New Year Celebration, but the room was insulated from general traffic and street noise as it faced an alley and had been quiet during the night. I didn't need to use the shower on my first night, so the first time I used it was Friday afternoon to get ready for an event. Unfortunately the shower head leaked, spraying water all over the shower room and into the bed room. I finished my shower and reported this, after an investigation it was decided it couldn't be fixed by the onsite staff as it needed a new part and I was given two options. The first was to have someone come to my room at a random time the next day, possibly early in the morning but possibly not til Monday and to use the communal shower in the meantime.

    I had stayed here the week before by booking directly with the property, and as I found that experience quite good, decided to return again the following week. While I liked the property overall, there were some specific reasons for my low scores that are listed in my 'didn't like' story. Overall, the location of the property is great, it can be good value if you get a good deal and a good room and some staff are pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Single Room with One Single Bed (1 Guest)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The screen door on the shower allowed water to flow under and onto the bathroom floor - so I had to use the bathmat and my towel to "mop up".

    The location is "spot on" - easy walking distance to Central Station, to the Convention Centre and Darling Harbour, to Chinatown eating places, and to so many other eating places. Although small, the room had everything I needed, was absolutely spotless, and the bed was just so comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The biggest problem we had was that the room was very noisy i.e. our room faced Ultimo Road & there were a lot of hoons racing up & down the street, people yelling, etc. It didn't make for a good nights sleep. Also, there were no chest of drawers to be able to unpack your clothes only a hanging rack. They couldn't even supply a biscuit to have with your cuppa!

    This hotel was very central to everything around Paddy's Market & Chinatown with plenty of places to eat & only a short walk to Darling Harbour. The staff were helpful but there seemed to be a fair bit of confusion with our booking so check in & check out were a bit drawn out. The beds were comfortable & the bathroom was a good size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No on site breakfast, but options were close

    Near Central Station, grocery and dining very close. Modern and clean. Staff helped with a noise issue. Wi-Fi included.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower leaked onto the floor soaking the bath mat every time we had a shower, as there were gaps in the door, so just seemed badly designed

    Comfy bed, nice airy room, nice vibe in the hotel, staff etc

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the "fortune cookies" we had at the moment of the check out we expected to find a lucky quote but there wasn't any! :))) Hope to see you soon guys!

    For all the days we've been there, the reception staff has been always extremely nice. In the hotel the atmosphere is friendly and relaxing. Our room was spacius and clean. The windows guarantee a great sound isolation from the street. All the building seems have been recently renovated, everything was in excellent conditions. The position is central and well connected with everything. For us everything was perfect, we hope to come back in future! Thank you!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    why is this shown as 4 star....entrance was poor and the bling was off-putting, floors were long, dark and dingy with outdated look albiet clean but very worn with chips on frayed carpet....the rooms were decorated with outdated cheap chip-board furniture and the windows were so high up you felt like you were in prison. the bed was uncomfortable the wifi was so slow and unusable,

    the reception staff were friendly, the cleaners were friendly, the rooms were well cleaned and the sheeting was well laundered otherwise definitely not 4 star!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ultimo Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They didn't change the sheets when my son split pizza on the cover and didn't remove our rubbish from the room

    The location was great , staff were very friendly and the bed was comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough vanity space in the bathroom so there was no where for me to put all my toiletries and contact lenses etc. no luggage rack to place the luggage so had to bend down on to the floor to access my luggage. It would have been okay for a short stay but for 7 days it was annoying and back breaking.

    The room was very clean and the location is central to everywhere that I needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ultimo Trio Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a little noisy you could here the shower next door.

    the beds are supper comfy and the shower pressure was great. location was excellent with a 5min walk to darling harbour. So many great asian restaurants in the same block and Paddys market across the road.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ultimo Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's not a big deal at all and I am sure they would have addressed if I bothered to tell them about it but the only thing was I left my used wet towels on the bathroom floor, so that they could be replaced but because I did not put the 'change my towels' card on the outside of the door, they did not replace the towels, just hung them up. Plus, the location for me I would prefer a little closer to the shopping centre.

    The cleanest hotel I have every stayed out.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Ultimo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: