Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Australia hotel reviews
  3. Queensland holiday rental reviews
  4. Gold Coast holiday rental reviews
  5. Reviews of Alexander Holiday Apartments

Reviews of Alexander Holiday Apartments 3.5 stars

2943 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers' Paradise, 4217 Gold Coast, Australia

#271 of 486 Holiday rentals in Gold Coast

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 69 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Paid WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 50

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2019

    6.3
    Average and wouldn't book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the bedrooms, only one in the living area. Only 1 roll of paper given, extras have to be purchased even if staying 4 nights. After hours emergency number was called 5 times and no answer or voicemail available. We didn't even get a call back. Website says security deposit is $200 yet we were charged $300. Wouldn't book again

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2019

    8.8
    Nice and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The picture frames hanging in the apartment wasn't appropriate at all though with children staying in it so I took one of the picture frames down which was nude picture frames.

    The place is very handy to everything the only let down was the fold out bed my back was aching sore when I tried it. The air con needs to be bigger and have air con in all rooms. It's great how we had foxtel that's a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2018

    8.3
    It was a great stay and would stay again, well priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit more attention to detail with cleaning walls in the rooms.

    Hotel was across from tram and 3 blocks from cavil avenue so a nice walk if you can walk, the room was big and comfy but a little extra attention to detail with the cleaning, the walls had dirty marks which can come off with a little cleaning product. The gentleman at reception was very friendly and was able to assist with any questions we had. facilities were great.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    8.8
    Overall great spacious apartment, within walking distance to...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the surfaces were a bit dusty and the rug felt a dash sticky.

    Overall great spacious apartment, within walking distance to shops and the beach, great location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    9.6
    Lovely and friendly highly recommendede
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon we didn’t have spare toilet paper or washing powder for the washing machine. Everything else was lovely.

    I liked that we had a beach view on the side we stayed on and could hear the ocean and we had cable tv

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Great place to stay for multiple people, good price and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor complaints regarding the hotel. Although there was undercover parking, it felt tight moving a car around, this would be fine if you had a small car but for a big SUV it can be difficult moving around. Both the wifi and air conditioning were available but you had to pay extra which wasn’t much of an issue due to the temperature when I went down to the Gold Coast being cool, but during summer this can be a bit off putting to the hotel (although the room had fans)

    Bed was comfortable, the hotel had great facilities available which didn’t cost anything extra and free undercover parking. This hotel has a lot of beds available (1 double, 2 queen single and 1 single) Location is great it is just opposite the tram lines and it has a small grocery store right next to it, so no need to drive to another location to get groceries.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location but lacked cleanliness and basic services for the amount paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No room service for the 5 days we were there - apparently only happens once a week! Had to ask to restock towels ect. Room untidy/dirty on arrival Sliding doors do not lock properly leading to the balcony - very unsafe if children were around (made property aware but they did not fix during our stay). No door on one of the bathrooms nor proper ventilation

    The location was great - tram stop right out the front. The size of the rooms were very spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    Overall OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Toilet cistern was leaking. Slow drainage from vanity basin. Kettle needed replacing as flaky rusty bits kept appearing in the boiled water (didnt notice till last day, yuk!!!)

    Overall OK. Had everything we needed. Apartment clean. Balcony great, apartment very roomy and view and location great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay for a quick and spontaneuos trip ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay for a quick and spontaneuos trip , staff/manager friendly and helpful at all times , if you’re looking for a good price and easy stay these apartments are the place to stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    2.5
    It could have been awesome if the owner put a little care in the maintenance of the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Cleaning rooms and surrounding. 2. Shampoo and soaps with clean bathroom. 3. Aircon in the bedroom 4. Toilet should be in the bathroom not in laundry. 5. Cattle is like 100 year old and rusty appliances. 6. Fan so slow you can stop them by hand while in motion.

    There is nothing to be liked about the hotel except the location. Not clean and smelly rooms, no shampoo and half used toilet paper, no air con, poor and uncomfortable cheap mattress, no milk for coffee/tea and most importantly no cleaning until for the duration of booking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.4
    room was filthy and grotty, pool facilities good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was filthy & grotty & on complaint still didn’t get cleaned for 2 days. Microwave and backsplash filthy, bathroom mirror had toothpaste on it & cups/plates were dirty. Couch was uncomfortable and dirty

    Location being a 10 minute walk to surfers paradise was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    A very comfortable appartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nop,everything good,try it you'll like it too

    3 balconys,good view of indoor pool,outdoor pool,streets are busy on Saturday night good views,2 toilets,2 showers

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    5.0
    Fairly below average and wasn't until I mentioned to the manager a week later, did I get my bond bac
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't worth the money. No door for the master bedroom's bathroom. Awful paint jobs, skirting boards were broken. Fair few more problems in the room that are too many to list and the floors hadn't been cleaned either

    The view was nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.3
    Good location, needs improving
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two towels for a booking of 4 people. The shower could use some exit mould. The floor of the room was sticky and the smell of the cleaning chemical was so strong it made you feel ill.

    The room was well equiped and in a great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.3
    Relaxed and fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment was not stocked with essentials like toilet paper, diswashing detergent or towels

    The location was central to everything and the facilities were great. The manager was friendly and always happy to help

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    CLOSE TO ACTIONS
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room could be cleaner NEEDS A GOOD SPRING CLEAN and touch up of paint etc

    Great pool and spa and facilities for kids and family walking distance to everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    4.6
    Would not recommend. Very Disappointed. Over priced for room conditions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    My response has been rated on the second room ( level 9) we received as after a 12 hr drive when we arrived the first room given to us (level 4) was either under renovations (which they denied) or was very poorly kept. The room had recently been half painted, paint brush left on balcony and the smell of paint so STRONG and was AWFUL. Light fittings hanging loosely or not on at all. The bed in the main room was folded back (had someone been in this??), The cupboards in both bedrooms had not been completed. The furnishings were no where to the standard of the photos you see on the website, it was very disappointing start to our holiday. Bedspreads where old and tacky, bathroom was very old and yukky, the kitchen was very outdated. The toilet seat had paint splatters on it form the painting. Management did offer us another room after I requested this, but he could not see the problem of the room not looking or being to the standard of the photos from their website. The room we were given on Level 9 was more like the photos on the website. But still had issues. toilet seat had not been put on the toilet (so my husband repaired) and there was no toaster (but we received one the day after we asked for one). Musky smell in room, blown lights. Room fittings (mirrors, screws etc) not finished just shoved in cupboards or draws. Cupboards not wiped out, dust and food crumbs in cupboards and cutlery draw. Material place mats very dirty. Hot water in showers very unreliable. Parking is extremely poky, very tight underground parking.

    The outdoor bbq area and pool was nice. Surf Club 10mtrs away, great meals and drinks. Great location to beach and to surfers just a 15 minute walk or the tram right out the front.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    The whole place was absolutely fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place was absolutely fantastic. The staff were extremely friendly and made us feel right at home. Will definitely be returning to the hotel.many thanks guys

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    6.7
    The Manager was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the utensils weren't cleaned properly. Flakes of tobacco were in the bed and on the toilet roll holder. Fold out couch was hard to use. Oven didn't heat properly which made it hard to cook. T.V reception wasn't good, trying to watch a moving and it kept pictulating and freezing sound was also cracking.

    The Manager was awesome.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    Very clean and well presented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ran out of toilet paper and there wasn't any more in the apartment..

    Very clean and well presented.. The staff memberJacki was an absolute gem he is definitely an asset to the apartments..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2019

    6.3
    Served a purpose
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con didn’t reach the bedrooms. The bed was very hard

    The pool was clean

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    7.9
    highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    reception hours are very limited which can make it a bit hard sometimes

    the location and price were very good. nice and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    10
    Fully equipped for a family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors opening on each other made it a little awkward

    Fully equipped for a family holiday

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    10
    Great location great host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location great host

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    10
    Overall very lovely accommodation and staff thankyou very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall very lovely accommodation and staff thankyou very much

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    7.5
    Overall a pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasnt cleaned properly still had mess in places.

    Good location good size

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.3
    Location was great, the flat is wide.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast, old furniture.

    Location was great, the flat is wide.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Location to tram station, pool facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not services and bins not emptied during stay.

    Location to tram station, pool facilities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    So cute and cozy,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So cute and cozy, Great space.. and good ocean views. We really enjoyed our stay. :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Staff and location
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Apartment was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment was good.Manager was very friendly, helpful & co-operative

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.7
    Apartment is good
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet WiFi is very bad , no internet free!!!!

    Apartment is good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.3
    The pool and locality were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and lounge were a bit uncomfortable.

    The pool and locality were great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Enjoy the stay
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi

    Good view. Comfortable. Fully cooking stuff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Best apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Close to everything and it had lots.of stuff do to

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent , I will stay there again
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, excellent location, great facilities - indoor and outdoor pool, spa and sauna and with a great price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    6.7
    Thank fully we were moved rooms, to begin with on level 2,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bit more info when booking, so we wouldn't end up on level 2

    Thank fully we were moved rooms, to begin with on level 2, beds covered in stains, and needed a lot of attention. We were moved to level 11 and the room was superb.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    Great location, great staff, very clean, full Foxtel instead...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing, it was a great stay!

    Great location, great staff, very clean, full Foxtel instead of just a few channels and spacious apartment. Recommended!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    4.2
    Close to trams, northcliffe surf club.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No extra toilet paper in the apartment, light fittings blown in bathrooms,ants in the kitchen,no extra blankets, no doona covers. Kitchen cupboard doors wouldn't close properly.

    Close to trams, northcliffe surf club. Indoor pool and spa was nice.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    5.0
    Staff on reception were nice enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room wasn't ready when we got there at approx 4:30pm. Paid for an ocean view which we didn't receive - we hardly even had a river view. Got told we would be on level 6 as apparently the double beds are only on the lower levels but got put on level 4. Room had old shampoo sitting in the shower. Paint was dodgy in the room and room was dated. Bond fee is $300 which I think is absolutely ridiculous!! Room was over priced and not worth what we paid. Staff offered free wifi as an incentive to the room not being ready which we didn't even use as we were only there for one night and didn't get to go up to our room till approx 5:30pm. Shower head is so low in the bathroom my partner had to bend down to try and fit under it. Overall even though the staff were nice that's not good enough and I will not be staying here again. Be warned.

    Staff on reception were nice enough..

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    low fans. I cut my fingers on one. Ducted air conditioning to each room would be a safer and more effective option. Small parking spaces difficult to negotiate in and out of them

    Friendly staff. Views and balconies on every room. Supplies to make tea & coffee on arrival. Shops next door for supplies Voucher for breakfast at the surf club

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.2
    The location was fantastic with the beach just down the road...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Apartment 51 was spacious and clean but the bathrooms are in desperate need of an update. They are usable and there was plenty of hot water but they are very old.

    The location was fantastic with the beach just down the road and the tram stop just outside the door. Easy walk into the main part of Surfers too. Appreciated the supplies included such as wash up detergent, dishwasher detergent, tea, coffee etc. Needed to buy toilet paper, but there is a small supermarket virtually next door and it is open late so it is easy to pick up anything you need on the way back to the apartment. Also liked the security of the building with a security key needed to access the building after hours and for the lift.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Couple

    Very very old style room - Floor 9 room 33. Sliding door to balcony and wardrobe doors so very difficult to open. 2 metal chairs and table on very small balcony were very uncomfortable. Pillows were very thin and no spares in the room. Couch was old vinyl and peeling. Poor lighting in the bathroom for makeup application. Overpriced in comparison with other accommodation in the immediate area.

    Good location. Friendly at reception.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    5.0
    View, proximity to beach, restaurants etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very tired apartment, no hairdryer Difficult to raise anyone at service desk Hugely overpriced due to Gold Coast Marathon & school holidays.

    View, proximity to beach, restaurants etc

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    6.3
    The location was good walking distance to Cavill Ave and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I think it was a bit expensive for the room we had. Needs updating looks very tired. Tripped up the little ledge from the bedroom to the bathroom twice. Couldn't control the volume on the TV.

    The location was good walking distance to Cavill Ave and beach.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    10
    The view and the close proximity to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    The view and the close proximity to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    4.6
    Indoor pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of cleanliness No hot water Out dated furniture Musky smelling rooms Pool closing too early

    Indoor pool Jacuzzi

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    10
    I loved the location - so close to everything and public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing it was great

    I loved the location - so close to everything and public transport The staff was great !

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    8.3
    Room location overlooking ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room location overlooking ocean

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    8.3
    The ocean view room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower head was terrible

    The ocean view room

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 50

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: