Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of By The Sea Port Douglas 4 stars

72 Macrossan St, 4877 Port Douglas, Australia

#1 of 101 hotels in Port Douglas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 732 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Very well maintained, great location, amazing staff, loved...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Partial Sea View - First Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all to complain about

    Very well maintained, great location, amazing staff, loved all the free extras offered (beach umbrellas chairs eskies pool inflatables bikes umbrellas shopping carts & bags dvds games books...) guest use.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic value for money accommodation with happy friendly staff- highly recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Partial Sea View - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband was concerned that there was no one on site in the evening should something happen but they did leave a mobile phone number should we need assistance.

    We loved how welcoming the staff were and nothing was too much trouble- we were going out on a sunset cruise and one of the lovely girls even offered to lend me her windcheater. Location was fabulous and all the extras that they provided were fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Great beach family/friend relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio 44
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything was great

    We stayed in a studio, this was spacious, great bathroom, beds and tv. We also loved that there was so much free stuff in reception for our use - pool floaties, beach towels, deck chairs, bikes, games, dvds - the list is endless, the staff have really thought of everything to make the perfect holiday!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Extremely enjoyable in a fabulous location. Loving friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was close to the garage and the stairs and a little noisy at times.

    Closeness to the beach. Verandah and outlook. The sound of the bush fowl at night. Comfy bed. Extras free to loan. Bicycle, DVD’s books, beach gear, shopping trolley :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    amazing staff; location and apartment. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    kitchen paper towels would have been a nice touch but that is very minor. still 10 for me!

    the staff was incredible and went out of their way to help me with all my queries before I arrived at the apartment including booking all our tours and the shuttle service; printing off boarding passes. Special touch with a bottle of champers waiting for my sister to celebrate her birthday. The attention to detail was something else. They had thought of everything including deck chairs; bikes and movie library. We loved the bright colours in the apartment. Thank you ladies for the best stay during our holiday!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Cannot not fault a thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio 44
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot not fault a thing... the staff were so friendly, the facilities were amazing, the bed was comfy, everywhere was clean, lovely modern vibe to the place. Was a little windy, but amazing location for the beach, walking distance to shops and restaurants (way to much choice). Literally cannot fault it. Loved port Douglas and this lovely boutique hotel finished off our time here. We were a couple, but stayed in the studio. Perfect for family or couple.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Incredible place to stay. You don't find many like this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Partial Sea View - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great.

    The most wonderful place to stay. Staff are happy, cheerful and you feel valued as a customer. Room was bright, clean and colourful. They have thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    lovely, friendly, great location & comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Partial Sea View - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little small but we were told about the size of the room before we arrived so can't complain.

    The staff were friendly but I was very happy about all the free use of equipment that was available, like eski, beach chairs, ice machine, pool toys, DVDs, etc. Its things that you can't bring but very handy for trips away. Thankyou 😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Family friendly in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of any negatives.

    Location location location! A few steps from the beach in one direction and the town in the other. Free extras galore eg beach and pool paraphernalia, electronics, DVD's etc. Clean rooms with a choice of configurations. Great helpful staff who are on hand for local advice and excursion bookings. If I were to return to Port Douglas I wouldn't hesitate to book again as the value for money and savings compared to the pricier resorts I would gladly spend in the wonderful restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Very clean, lovely decorated room and very welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Partial Sea View - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, lovely decorated room and very welcoming staff. Exceptional service with many extras provided (bikes, pool and beach equipment, entertainment, etc.). Located at the quiet end of the main street next to the four miles beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Extremely relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken up at 6.30 by the coconut tree trimmers. From their height in the treees the could also see straight in the windows

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We loved the relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location, well maintained property, friendly, helpful staff, amazing included extras!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fabulous facility, friendly ‘can do’ staff, in a fabulous location. Although we did not use all the included extras , particularly for comfort on the beach, we thought they were an incredible offering . Would not hesitate to recommend By the Sea! Thank you for a wonderful holiday ! We wish it could have been longer . Did not need to use the air conditioning at all so did not put a rating - the fan & open door ( protected with easy to operate screens) were perfect !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Hope to go back some day !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our stay could have been longer !!!

    The lovely staff, all of the thoughtful extra's the hotel provided (for free !), Ryan the soccer playing dog, the excellent location; close to the beach and within a few minutes walk to the marina, shops, restaurants and bars but happily in a peaceful area with no noise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Has everything you need and more, in order to enjoy a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    Has everything you need and more, in order to enjoy a wonderful holiday in Port Douglas. Very clean, tidy rooms and extremely friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Service with a big smile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff there set the place apart from everyone else . They make you feel so welcome and they are always willing to help out . The facilities there are clean and comfortable .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    The amount of equipment available for guest is incredible -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Im a smoker. I got the message - your property is 100% non smoking. Could you at least put some proper ashtray at the entrance? Maybe allocate some space close to the parking for smokers, with a bench etc. I know I am harming myself - but - you dont need to remind me that. You are non smokers - great for you, but some of your guest are - help us enjoy and dont judge.

    The amount of equipment available for guest is incredible - bikes, games, dvds, telescopes... Amazing! Marikah (Marika, Marrieke?) - absolutely phenomenal girl, lovely, smiling, happy to help - if you are reading this we would like to thank you so much for such a great welcome, hints, advices.. Rooms (Superior with Ocean view) are spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location, friendly staff, made feel so welcome.
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is not a thing that we didn't like about this place.

    The location was just amazing! The staff leading up to our holiday were prompt with emails; informative and made us feel at home before we even got there! Once there - well another surprise for us - beach toys; chairs; umbrellas and books; movies every single thing a holidayer could wish for were available for our use. The rooms were sparkly clean; the staff were so terribly friendly. We will be staying here again when we return. Thanks girls.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Paradise close to everything with so many extras included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This place was so lovely. It’s almost impossible to list all the things that were amazing about it. It is pretty much right by the sea and near to everything in the town. No car needed if happy to be picked up for tours etc. the girls were joyful, greeting us whenever we walked through with genuine smiles and kindness. They sorted any request, booking, questions, anything. Reception was full of accessible entertainment, picnic, beach equipment. Was hard to think of anything that was missing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location, massively comfortable in every way, tons of quality free items to enjoy your stay (bicycles, excersise tools, beach chairs, coolers etc). Once of the best run places I've ever stayed in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Great family friendly hotel with great facilities in a fab location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Partial Sea View - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything!location great, this property has thought of everything. Loved the decor , loved the vibe and the staff could not have been friendlier, great place to stay😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    The location is very good, near ocean and lookout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Studio is too small for us. As we live in ground floor, we sometimes heard chair movement from the upper floor.

    The location is very good, near ocean and lookout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    Location was perfect but the room had no view of the beach and got no sunlight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped room. Very damp- due to humidity. No sunlight -it was very dark even in the middle of the day. Quite depressing really. It was called a rainforest room.

    Comfy bed. All the extras the girls provide for their guests eg umbrellas, beach chairs, free beach towels, bikes, shopping trundlers etc

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !!!

    Fabulous stay- so many facilities and many thoughtful touches. Great friendly staff too- would love to come back!! Will defo recommend it!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is quite small, as is the area for sunloungers. We didn’t use it as the beach is right there, but may have done if it had been bigger and there was more space.

    The staff were fantastic, they are so friendly and helped with booking of a trip as a surprise for my boyfriends birthday. They also sent a free bottle of bubbly and a card (though got his name wrong) to our room on his birthday. There are so many thoughtful things to borrow/hire for free just to make your holiday perfect. The location is amazing, near the beach and the shops/restaurants yet still quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Little haven in a fabulous location, resort amazing everyone we met could'nt do enough Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Partial Sea View - First Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Amazing spot right next to the beach, unfortunately Cyclone Nora hit but the did not dampen our stay. Staff and extra equipment available for use was a lovely bonus

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Cute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cute. Funky. Has everything you need. Great location. 2 seconds from the beach but also at the end of the main road in town - so close to everything but nice and quiet as well. Girls at the desk are very friendly and warm - happy to help in any way. Almost felt like staying at family friends. Room was clean and modern and nice view of the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, holiday facilities and location, but not recommended for full self-catering.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen part was rather cramped up against the door and once you started cooking, the fear of setting off the fire alarm (and being charged for unwanted fire services)was always there - which is what happened to people down the corridor on the second night, which took quite a long time to stop. No problem if you don't aim to do any cooking, of course! Also useful to know up front you need 3x AS$1 coins each to operate the washing and drying machines - difficult to get change past 5.00pm (on return from a whole day trip) when reception staff have gone home!

    Clean, lovely shower, comfortable beds, efficient air conditioning, lots of free equipment inc DVDs (very welcome!) and free wifi. Friendly, welcoming staff who were good at recommending and booking anything needed, including airport transfer and trips - much appreciated!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Great place but dont share it with anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rainforest Canopy - Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ive never stayed in a place where the people are quiet so friendly and helpful. They have just about everything you can think of free to use. Its the pefect spot in a perfect little town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Absolutely loved our accomodation at By the Sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved our accomodation at By the Sea. It was very reasonably priced, the apartments were in stunning condition, beds were comfy, great location, view of the beach, staff were so friendly. The hotel included use of pool toys, bikes, icebox, dvds, books, beach chairs, bbq were fabulous and so useful on a holiday. Really appreciated that added touch. Next to none place to book, definitely recommend!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Highly Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio 44
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative

    Fabulous location close to beach and shops, friendly staff, many extras offered free to make your stay perfect. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Partial Sea View - First Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Style and color scheme of the property is very outdated... Pool area is very tiny and not much sunlight or lounges to lay on.

    Staff were lovely and great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is amazing! 1 min walk to 4 mile beach and you’re on the main st of Port Douglas. So a good coffee is not far away! The accommodation has sooo many little extras that make it a wonderful place to stay. Highly recommend if you have kids. There are pool/beach toys and flotation devices, beach carts & chairs, shopping trolleys, movies, umbrellas (beach & normal), towels all free of charge to borrow.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Great mix of relaxation and unforgettable trips to the rainforest and Barrier Reef
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    Helpfulness and friendliness of all the staff Proximity to town and all the shops/ restaurants Closeness to beautiful beach Easy parking Nice pool Free use of a huge range of leisure equipment, beach gear, bikes, games & dvds, towels, ice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Our family 100% recommeds by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather....lol

    The staff were amazing, the jelly bean villa was stocked with high end utensils and appliances. Decoration was fresh and bright, lots of extras. The 2nd pool was almost finished while we were there but didn't affect our experience. The free bikes, beach gear, games, books dvd's were brilliant. Not even a cyclone could dent our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent facilities and use of so many ‘extras’ for free - shopping trolley, umbrellas, towels etc etc. Staff so willing to help before and during our stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Great quiet location. Clean rooms. Not too far from the hub. Excellent staff; very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Partial Sea View - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was lots of extras to the room rate that were so appealing. For example, pool accessories, push bikes, board games, dvd's, sunscreen, umbrellas, beach chairs for guests to use free of charge. A place like no other!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful family friendly hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    The staff were amazing. When we got stuck on the road from Cairns due to the rain they told us where to go and what to do and didn’t charge us for that night. They will lend you for free literally anything you need including beach chairs, DVDs and toys. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    An exceptional stay at a well run establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Firstly they advertise the property exactly as it is with no spin. There is so many additional items that you can use for free it was exceptionall. Whilst I was there they experienced a record breaking storm and even though they officially finish the reception at 2pm on a Sunday the girls were in attendance well into the evening to ensure everyone was ok. They handled all my trips for me and did so with enthusiasm. As I told the girls I do not usually follow up on Booking.com stays but my experience was beyond my expectation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Absolutely brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff here (the girls by the sea) absolutely make this place. They are so helpful and just go out of their way to help you. The facilities were great and it was so easy to book airport transfers and tours from the hotel too. Thank you for having us!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Will be coming back with the family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    lack of ventilation in the bathroom (having said that, we were in rainy season so we couldnt put clothes out to dry either) :-)

    Excellent room for 2 people. Couldnt believe the amount of towels and pillows already in the room (without having to ask for extra). Also, best extras - beach stuff, bikes, videos, books etc Girls at reception were lovely and amicable. Couldnt fault anything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    A wonderful holiday with plenty to do or not do depending upon how you wanted your holiday to go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I did get the impression from the website that the accommodation was ground level and found that we were in fact on the first floor ... with the garage sub terranean ... so had not counted on having to carry bags etc .. up several short sets of steps to get to our room. This was a minor inconvenience for us at this time but as you get older this consideration does become more relevant.

    The accommodation was self contained and we usually made our own meals. We only ate out if we were on an excursion. We found it was convenient for us to have micro waved tv dinners rather than cook at night. The location of the premises was right on the beach and we enjoyed walking along the beach. It was also within convenient walking distance to most of the main shopping area in Port Douglas, and this is particularly why I chose this accommodation for my booking. I had been to Port Douglas before (also staying in town) and knew that a lot of the accommodation was 'out of town' and did not want to be in this position. So By The Sea was accommodating to all the requirements I wanted included to my holiday. The staff were very friendly, helpful and most courteous... I could not have asked for better service from them. The activities were great, books to read, DVDs to watch, the pool .. push bikes, even eskys and ice for picnics... umbrellas .. towels ... you only had to ask and it was provided.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely self contained units 200 meters to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Lovely self contained units 200 meters to the beach. The ladies who run this resort can't do enough for you. Lots of items like beach chairs, toys, dvd's books, bicycles, trolleys and shopping baskets to use for free. A really great place to stay with wonderful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Peaceful beautiful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Terrace - Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish I stayed longer :(

    It’s a rare find to come across accomdation that offers so many freebies to accomodate your stay whether your a couple or family with young kids ! The staff was even better with their help and knowledge on activities to do. We stayed in the two bedroom rainforest terrace and it was peaceful and homely with a beautiful sunrise view in the morning on the top level. The beach is 100m walk and the shops are the same in the opposite direction which is also a bonus. This was my first time staying in port Douglas and I wouldn’t bother looking else where for accomdation if I was to return. 20/10

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    A great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location yet quiet. Could walk everywhere. Staff on reception extremely helpful and friendly. Amazed by the amount of things we could use free of charge. Far more than we expected. Great selection of dvds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Partial Sea View - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that bugged me a teeny bit was not being able to boil the kettle in the kitchen area as the cable is too short to reach the sockets that are placed too high on the wall. I boiled it by the TV instead, hoping the hot steam wouldn't do any damage (which it didn't and probably wouldn't!).

    There was so much that you could borrow for no extra cost such as beach towels and a deck chair for when heading to the beach or a bike if you wanted. This was very handy for a backpacker on a budget but who also wanted a night or two in a nicer hotel with some privacy. I made good use of the DVD library as well!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Very relaxed and relaxing short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosie room's outlook was a little dark and did not get much sun. Beach closed to swimming one day because of stingers!

    So many free facilities/equipment for beach, etc. Very friendly staff with instant responses to any queries.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay in the town of Port Douglas, Paradise by the sea!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Bedroom Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything!

    Very comfortable bed and pillows, well stocked kitchen and good appliances. Apartment well decorated and situated next to the beach. Great access to the local town which was a 5 minute walk away. Staff were excellent, good knowledge of area and tours available. They booked these for us immediately. Would return to Jelly Baby Apartment again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed it and appreciated all the ' extras' which meant we had all we needed for the beach .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't expect to have the bed in the lounge. We thought we had booked a two bed roomed apartment.It didn't really matter in the end as were out most of the time, but it just meant one of us had to sit on the bed if we all wanted to watch tv totogether in the evening. The kitchen was a little cramped but I think that was more to do with where it was positioned in the apartment as it was the main route to the bathroom and second bedroom.

    Good to have two balconies and the beds were very comfortable. Shower good and really clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    The staff was extremely helpful in explaining and booking my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely helpful in explaining and booking my tours. I did not have to do anything myself, they did everything. The room was great and the facilities of the hotel beautiful. Definitely recommend it and definitely coming back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    If you can - go
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very helpful, informative and nothing is to much trouble. They really want you to enjoy your stay to the full and get the most out of what Port Douglas has to offer. Snorkelling on the Great Bariier Reef with Wavelength was a once in a lifetime experience. All the staff on board the boat knew their stuff and wanted to pass on their knowledge and experience to the benefit of all. Tony’s TropicalTours to the rainforest is another must do. You are guided, educated and well fed both literally and metaphorically.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Everything provided to make our stay memorable and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Couldn't be improved

    Extremely helpful staff! Good information provided regarding excursions. Thoughtful provision of beach equipment free of charge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    The staff are so friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really but if I had to make a comment would be the pool is a little small

    The staff are so friendly and accommodating. I was so impressed with all the extras available, such as the dvds, games, beach and pool equipment

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Kudos to Lizzie and Myra (did the crime) for being ever so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Partial Sea View - First Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kudos to Lizzie and Myra (did the crime) for being ever so helpful in going beyond the call of duty for those little issues that we needed assistsnce. Superb location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    excellent staff comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My Sister was with me and she gets dizzy negotiating stairs...but for me it was good...had sore calf muscles..next day...but that's just the unfitness of me...

    excellent staff comfortable room....nice location easy walk to shops and beach I want to go again...better then other places in the vicinity of Cairns..including Lake Tinaroo and Cape Tribulation and you don't have to travel that far..Really enjoyed it..Thanks Sonja

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Amazing. The great barrier reef is a must do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Partial Sea View - First Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so pleasant and help full Great facilities clean comfortable rooms. Beautiful location lovely and quiet but close to restaurants and bars. Lovely beach. All round perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Awesome staff and location, lots of extras included for guests!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That I couldn't extend my stay

    We booked this as it looked pretty good value for money on the photos, however when we arrived everything was awesome and exceeded all expectations. The room was spacious with modern kitchen appliances, large aircon and a ceiling fan was awesome, even the TV was huge ~50inch and plenty of space for storing bags and clothing. We stayed with a toddler and the staff organised a portacot for us as well. A huge bonus here is that this place has 100s of toys, books, DVD's, chairs, towels and even bikes that you can borrow anytime and go off to the beach which is 2min away. It was just so easy I honestly wouldn't bother even looking anywhere else, we will be definitely coming back here for all future Port Douglas visits.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of it

    Would have stayed longer but no space. Brilliant sea view do yourself a favour and book this,facilities brill. Every conceivable extra you could think of,bike, floats,CD to name a view and 20yards from beach..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    This is the place to stay in Port Douglas, without hesitation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Partial Sea View - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great. Minor point would be to include cleaning gloves and tools for the bbq as I wasn't able to use the oven cleaner spray without those and had to update reception so I didn't get caught with a $50 surcharge. Reception were great though and told me not to worry!

    Loved everything - staff were great and the theme felt like home (Brighton!) Brilliant idea to provide all the complimentary items in reception, made our stay effortless! Internet was also the best we've had during 5 weeks across Oz!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Excellent accomodation in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Partial Sea View - First Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Great quirky accommodation. Easy walk to main street and beach. Well appointed room (upgraded to Superior seaview room) with excellent airconditioning. Very friendly staff and heaps of things like eskys, chairs, books, dvds etc to borrow for free. Internet upgraded and very fast. One of the best places we have stayed at for years

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.5
    Good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 8 nights, a room clean and a change of sheets would have been expected and was needed. Checkout was a little underwhelming considering the great attitude of the ladies on reception during our stay. The positives certainly outweighed the negatives though.

    Friendly staff, access to bikes, eskies, towels etc etc was a great addition. BBQ on the balcony was also fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Our stay was enhanced by great service, great staff and great location - definitately 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs were challenging after a long day, I counted 30 to my room - but soon forgot once I saw the View I had..

    The staff was excellent - not sure of the lady's name she is a new Zealander , nothing was too much trouble gave us a lot of local information we required plus her experience was fantastic for us to draw upon. Her assistance and information was above and beyond. The availability of any resource required, such as trolleys, bikes, esky's, ice & towel availability was really great and the fact that reception stays open to avail such items even when unstaffed, was just an excellent feature of the stay, as we didn't always have a plan that fitted to utilize such goods between office hours.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Friendly , superb service and facilities hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Very comfortable rooms , nothing disappointed in this hotel , beds very comfortable , top of the range equipment in the rooms. Superb helpful staff and loads of beach equipment for the kids to use for free. One of the best family hotels we have stayed in

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Friendly, fun place to stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This property is a breathe of fresh air. Nothing is a problem for the staff & they go out of their way to make your stay wonderful. They even booked our reef trip, so easy! Rooms are clean & comfortable & with all the fun stuff to use for free, it couldn't be better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    We had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have had a little more shelter over BBQ area to protect when raining.

    Overall our stray was very enjoyable. We were able to do everything we wanted to do.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.9
    All staff helpful, friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Should advertise non smoking site - wouldnt have booked if aware had to sit at kerbside for ciggy. When booking it looked like would be "beach front", on arrival discovered these are the 2-3 bedroom apartments only.

    All staff helpful, friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    All you could want and more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio 44
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything in abundance - and free of charge; beach towels, umbrellas, beach chairs, deckchairs, inflatables for the water, games, books, dvds, coolboxes, bikes, shopping trollies and more than a starter pack of 6 teabags, sugar and coffee. All trips could be arranged by the Girls. Great advice on where to go & things to do. The location is excellent; approximately 30 metres from the beach which has life guards and a safe swimming enclosure. Shopping and restaurants/cafes all within a short walking distance. We travelled especially to snorkel on the reef - woukd recommed Wavelength - a smaller boat that visits the outer reef.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    The perfect place to stay!! If you have children this place is a must!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Partial Sea View - First Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The beds very comfortable!! Plenty of tea and coffee in rooms! Not having to go out and buy washing powder just for one wash. Always plenty of hot water for showers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Perfect stay at By the Sea!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had an amazing stay at By the sea in a 3 bedroom ocean front villa. It was the most well equipped holiday apartment I've ever stayed in, anywhere in the world and we've travelled alot. The kitchen had EVERYTHING plus some. A lot of wonderful small touches like beach towels, extra bath towels, sharp knives, lots of chopping boards, great utensils, even a lettuce spinner, blender and milkshake maker. Beautiful location right across from the beach. Comfy beds. We had the pool to ourselves (shared pool with 3 other villas, but didn't see anyone else use it). Loved all the extra gear available for free; like games, dvds, shopping bags and pool toys. Finally, all the women working behind reception were incredible. So welcoming, friendly and helpful. Always ready and willing to share their local knowledge. We had an issue with the lock on the door one day which was very quickly dealt with (lock replaced) while we went out for a swim. We came back to a bottle of champagne, chocolates and an apology card but the lock caused no inconvenience at all as it was fixed so quickly. A perfect 10/10 stay with 10/10 hospitality. Can't wait to come back. Thanks By the Sea!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    An innovative hosting system that's really convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room could have a better view

    By the Sea offers all the gadgets the guest might need in a stay by the beach: chairs, coolers and ever carts to take it all with you to the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom would benefit from an extractor fan

    Compact apartment, but the balcony, views, comfort and customer service were excellent! We have nothing but good memories of our holiday 👍👍😁

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Travelling Duo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only regret was having time for just a 2 night stay

    Quirky, boutique, a reminder of what a beach holiday used to be like..the staff were amazing..the availability and range of recreational gear for free use was astonishing..clearly a lot of thought has gone into every aspect..some examples: 6 towels for 2 of us, ample pillows to meet different preferences..loved the beach decor inside and out

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment with Superior Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place to stay. The hotel accommodates for all activities. The rooms are spacious and clean. The Staff are very friendly and helpful. Close to beach, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    Would like to stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio 44
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly and helpful service with lots of free and valuable extras (bikes, tons of beach and pool equipment, coolers, DVDs, Wi-Fi, underground parking, BBQ on balcony to just name a few...) - we loved the location close to the shops and even closer to the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Great staff who put in the extra effort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio 44
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess it can't be helped but the unit upstairs was very noisy with the moving of furniture during the night.

    The pr of the staff was fantastic and to have the use of beach towels, chairs, umbrella etc. included is an extra bonus. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    The property was mediocre but the staff made it all worthwhile!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom were very clean but basic. Reception hours should be till 8pm instead of 5.30pm. Pool was also very basic!

    Staff were fantastic and extremely helpful. Was great to have tours and transport booked by them for same price...they really made the stay enjoyable! Great to have free WiFi and laundry facilities!

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: