Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Arts Hotel 3 stars

21 Oxford Street (near Greens Road), Paddington, 2021 Sydney, Australia

#125 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 400 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelent location for our needs, St Vincents Hospital & Kinghorn Cancer Centre. Helpful staff. Hotel next door for evening meals, serving delicious food & varied menu choices at affordable price. Short walk to the City. Very impressive will definately stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi Fi in the room was slow!

    Great little hotel in the middle of Paddington! Close to transport and where I needed to be. Friendly staff and fabulous facilities. Cozy Blankets, nice hot water and AC for heating!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was awesome! In the middle of everything and there's regular buses available to go Bondi Beach and Circular Quay. The hotel was quaint and had everything needed for a good night's stay. They gave out discount card for some shops and services nearby. The bar next door was great and had nice seafood on Fridays - Sundays on their menus. Overall, it was a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room didn't get serviced even though we left the "please service the room" sign on our door handle. But clean towels were brought up straight after I rang reception

    Very close to St Vincent's hospital, on the bus route and next door to a great little pub

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a room on the quieter rear side of the hotel and had a good night's sleep free of traffic noise. There are nice places to shop and eat nearby as well as bus connections to the centre and rail station. For walkers the surrounding neighborhood is great to explore.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean. The carpet had not been vacuumed after the previous guest. There was so much dust between each layer of the triple glaze window. The bathroom floor had not been mopped after the last guest. There was a gross smell of mould in the passageway. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was really great.

    I was super impressed.. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The location is so convenient.. The 10% off for meals and drinks at the pub next door was also a bonus! and the food was amazing! Will definitely stay again! :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in my room was quite small, not much room to move with the door closed.

    It was clean, a good size room, and in a good location. One of the cleaning staff actually checked that everything was ok with my room, which was a nice touch. There was also a folder with interesting information about local history and suggested walks around the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’ve been traveling for 28 days now and with all the places we’ve stayed I can honestly say there isn’t one thing at the Arts we didn’t like.

    The Arts is very centrally located so it’s just a hop skip and jump to the markets, bus and ferry, restaurants, and more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing to complain about. It is a budget Hotel located in the 'hot spot' od Sydney.

    Highly recommended. Great location, super friendly Staff. Unusually large rooms for Sydney standards. Very clean, triple glazed balcony doors, so no outside noise. Good beds. I will return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small, bathroom was tiny and flooded every time shower was used. Carpet was dirty and room smelt upon arrival but disappeared after opening the window, however after the room was serviced the next day the smell had returned and windows were now locked thus the smell could not be removed. We were told upon check in we were upgraded to a garden room however went into friends room who were not upgraded and room was clean, did not contain a smell and was much larger in size.

    Location was great and staff were friendly upon arrival and check out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we would have liked the opportunity to have a light breakfast in the hotel.

    The room backed on to the internal garden and we had easy access to it. This was a delightful amenity. The helpful and cheerful attitude of the staff made us feel very comfortable. On an occasion when we needed to hail a taxi the receptionist came out and stood on the road to help us. When we returned to the hotel to collect our luggage it was carried out and put in our car. Great examples of the attention we were given.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendly and efficient. Easy checkin. Great outside private court yard and swimming pool area with lovely little fountains and potted fruit trees. Made us feel that we were back in Spain. Comfy bed. Great info on attractions and transport around Sydney. Pub next door, great food and beer. Close to hospital the reason for our visit. An oldie but a goodie. Could see Double Bay in the distance from our balcony. Lots of specialty shops opposite and close by. Cinema very close also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room stank from smoke but the friendly receptionist promptly got us another one.

    Very friendly and accomodating staff. Great courtyard and pool area. Very nice pub downstairs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It smelt strongly of bleach the first day but it was then fine. We understood that the tiles were sterilised and clean and the bleach smell lingered only a short time - plus we were allowed to access our room several hours early - so perhaps that explains it. After a day it was not noticeable at all. We just opened the window - which is a nice option to get fresh air. When we wanted to use the air con at other times it was very effective too. So the odour was only a small issue for a short amount of time.

    The bed was comfy and room had everything we needed. The ensuite was small, clean and functional. The daily attention to the room was appreciated and we liked the fact you gave us the choice to re-use our towels but replaced them when they needed it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and bathroom are a little small

    It is not a 5 star hotel, however it was comfortable location was great but most of all The staff and management was truly amazing and for that reason alone I would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They can scrap the pool and change it into something else like a gym or a breakfast place for the patrons to cater with. If you wanna swim, go to the beach.

    Located close enough to walk around the gayborhood of Sydney.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is a bit dated but comfortable enough.

    Super location in the middle of Oxford Street. Bus connections to city centre and Bondi on the doorstep. Lots of restaurants and coffee bars nearby. Very helpful info provided re restaurants, bus connections to sights etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We left our phone charger behind and the cleaners said they didn’t find it....

    Discounts at arts bar, very informative book on what to do in the area, upgraded to garden room!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    From our first initial check in staff were not helpful,friendly or welcoming. The room we checked into was smaller than photos, smelt of bleach and musty... old decor and carpet was not clean-- bathroom flooded each shower and the bed configeration requested wasn't met. We checked in at midnight, went back down after a bad short sleep at 0630 to state not happy with the room to only be told the owner had to be notified and we had to wait til 0900 for any updates- even though we wanted to check out of the hotel- but didnt want to forfeit our money for the rest of the stay! After 0900 we were told after going down to speak with the staff that they hadnt heard from the owner and they had emailed them- yes emailed them- and waiting to hear back but didnt think there would be hope in us getting money back from our future 3 nights stay- as it was mardi gras weekend. After asking to speak to management and us suggesting if there was another room- and the manager telling us that he doesnt know why we got put in that room in the first place- we were give a larger room in a quieter area of the hotel- not the most ideal but better than the first awful room. The customer service really didnt exist in this hotel- we had to go get our bags from the old room and carry them to the new one after all this happened and then return the old keys to reception- and even little things like not getting new towels when the room was serviced. Also on checking out leaving bags was a challenged- had to collect a key from reception- carry bags up a staircase into a random garage and lock them away ourselves. Overall great location, couldnt fault that.... but as for everything else, would never stay here again or recommend it again. The service was not up to standard and we were made to feel like a burden when we actually paid decent money for what was not a decent hotel. Ps- if anyone gets room 113- dont go inside.

    Location was great and centrally located.... that was unfortunetly all that was liked from our hotel experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    maybe if they can spend to do a small gym it would be really great. just a few treadmills, set of weights will do.

    I like the 10% discount with the restaurant beside it. helped me saved a lot of money. it has really good food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was sharing a three single room with two others so a little crowded and no chair or place to sit other than the beds.

    It was very quiet for being on a major road. Double glazed doors to balcony and a quiet air conditioner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC took a little time to bring the heat down, but it was manageable.

    The bed was comfortable and the shower worked well. The staff when I checked in were very helpful (two young women) and answered questions I had about local restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the windows are secured shut but the air conditioner worked fine.

    Fabulous outdoor area with pool On the first floor, very private and picturesque with minimal noise from Oxford St. great location and handy to great cafes and hairdressers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool chlorine smell in the room but we were right next to it so understandable

    Upgraded to a 3 person room instantly when it was realised we had 3 guests

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet in room was pretty dirty.

    Good value. Room large enough to accomodate suitcases. Tea and coffee in room. Safe in room. reasonable size bathroom. Reading lights. Windows that opened. Aircon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perhaps Al Jazeera news channel on TV And the Classical music station also.

    The mussel dish at the Arts Hotel pub restaurant next door was superb. The best cinema in Sydney is just on next corner. Two of the best bookshops in Sydney are within 50 yards.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. Just worth noting that the rooms are tiny and very basic. Was fine for us as we wanted to mostly be out exploring the area but just worth knowing - not a place to stay if you are wanting to lounge around in your room at all.

    The location was excellent and it was great to have a pool on a hot Sydney day!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though there were plenty of good places for breakfast and other meals locally, it would have been good to have been able to get something at the hotel itself, even if it was simple (from a machine or basket )

    My room was well equipped, with thoughtful touches like small chocolates. Even though the hotel was on a busy main road,in my room overlooking the lovely courtyard garden and pool, it felt peaceful. All the staff were welcoming. They and the information provided in the room, were a great source of advice about the city and transport etc. The location was excellent, set in a delightful neighbourhood wIth great bus service into the centre and other places.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I was only staying 1 night I was given a room in a difficult place for me to access as it involved stairs and steps. The manager had to carry my bags for me. Very nice staff . This room was very small, very worn and tired looking and the carpet was awful and not very clean. I was very disappointed as last visit was excellent but in another section of the hotel. Sadly it was very expensive for the standard -

    The location and staff were very good.I have stayed here before and gave it a good score on my first visit however the second one was not such a good experience

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fairly expensive room for what it was. Small, cramped, a bit dated. A shame the breakfast section was under construction, but plenty of alternatives close by. Stingy with the bathroom supplies.

    The location was great. Staff terrific.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room clean, Staff very friendly, bed comfortable. Bathroom small but has everything needed. Room 115 looking over the pool was great. Dinner at the Pub next door has discount for guests. Transport outside the door very handy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shoebox-sized room. Patchy Wi-Fi. Paying $220+ per night for a standard room is expensive. But that's Sydney I guess.

    The location was what sold this hotel, and it delivered just that. Convenient bus stop just metres from the front entrance, plenty of cafes nearby for breakfast or lunch. Close to Paddington Markets and Allianz Stadium.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There really wasn't anything that I didn't like.

    I was close to St Vincents Hospital to visit my husband. The Arts is not an up class accommodation. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The beds were comfy with lovely crispy white sheets. The Arts was great for my needs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paddington was a nice surprise. Nice area that would otherwise very easily go completely unnoticed. And a super-great bookstore (that"1812" ) just around the corner

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very tired and front desk staff uninterested. The garden view we paid extra for was mostly paving and big empty pots.

    That it is next door to the wonderful Berkulowes Bookstore and Cafe.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise from above Room 104. Someone must have been drilling a hole all night.

    Bed excellent, shower facilities very good, TV very good. Staff especially (Ali) very friendly. Room a bit noisy, Will stay at the back next time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and honest staff. After a big night out I left my sunglasses in the room after check out. Three days later I had a voicemail advising that they had been found and would be mailed back to me interstate. I had them back by the end of the week.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were very thin. Could hear everything from the next room.

    Stayed for a function at Victoria barracks hence the top location. It's 2 mins walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful and fun time my partner and I . Located in a great place for the night life and sight seeing, the hotel was still peacefull, comfortable, the staff, all speaking French was helpful and really nice. I will recommend this place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a sheet under my dunna on single bed. Queen bed had both. Could have been an oversight. Only needed bed for 1 night so didn't tell housekeeping.

    So convenient . Walking distance to son's home. The area is interesting. Easy access to city. Property has two wings - one with lift to rooms. Property still to finalize renovations so no dining as yet.plenty of options in Oxford Street. Great air conditioning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No trough for washing a few clothes when machine was for loads.

    Location price good cafes and shops nearby. Helpful staff. On bus route and walking distance to town museums galleries

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-fi updated with higher speed. Nicer crew at the hotel.

    Some of the staff where very nice. Some of them made me feel that it was annoying that I stayed there

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great for us as we needed to attend 2 functions over 2 days. One in centennial park and the other at Paddington town hall. The pub next door was handy and had good meals. We had Garden rooms and I was surprised how quiet they were considering Oxford st is so close. The garden rooms have been renovated recently and are very stylish. While the room is a good size the bathroom is compact but nicely fitted out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked shower caps, and by the time I was getting in the shower it was too late to go and buy one.

    The easy meal service at the pub next door was great, and the food really yummy and well-priced. The location is great because I need to be in both the eastern suburbs and the inner west frequently, and the Bondi Junction bus is a direct link between both. Really handy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was not heated.

    It was close to everything,parks,cafe,pub,designershops,cafe book store was the best. Would have used the pool, but it was too cold.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel in midst of renovations so maybe reception area will be moderised,

    Great location, on bus route to city centre and Bondi beach and walking distance to restaurants and shops. Pleasant clean room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable. My father and I were given a room that had an interconnecting door which was locked. Unfortunately they must have thin walls because all we could here was their loud conversations in the next room as well as their night of several loud sex sessions. It was disgusting, I could hear him wee and heard their shower running and toilet flushing. We drove 6 hours to the accomodation as I had to be at St Vincents Hospital for surgery check in at 6am and dad had to drive back, all on hardly any sleep. With their parking I rang ahead to enquire and told them what time I would be there. Upon our arrival I pressed the intercom to get into parking and was told "the last one has just gone" so we had to drive around to secure our car for the night. There was tea and coffee facilities but not even a little packet of biscuits. There was one extra blanket in a room with 2 single bed. On a positive note they did give us a card for 10% off any purchases in the pub next door, so we went there for dinner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long short short, Checked into the room, Which had an deour of sewage/mouldy/dump smell. Noticed that the toilet was linking all over the bathroom floor... Had to complain, Changed room only to lay on the bed which seems to be 2 single beds,put together, But both different sizes, So sleeping on was horrible, plus the bright purple sign outside the window,which shines through the sides of the curtains. (Even when closed)at night it's to bright to sleep. The toilet needed about 8 flushes to finally clear the bowl. The hotel is very old & out dated. Still has "asbestos ceilings) It's way "OVERPRICED" for an inner city dump. Could only stay 1 night. Found a better hotel & cheaper just down the road. Be careful when looking at booking this place!

    The checkout

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom very tight bathmat was sodden. it was good for a quick trip

    Nice outlook to the pool area and garden area. Cool hotel and I'll come back if I need to be in Paddington again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't provide hand towels or facewashers (only liquid soap provided) as these were in the wash. No breakfast or dining facilities. Beds and pillows were OK, not great. No extra blankets provided. TV was very small. Hallways dark, gave the place a dingy feel.

    Lovely bathroom products and choice of teas. Proper ironing board and iron. Paddington is a great area and there was a bus stop a few steps from the hotel. Size was reasonable for the cost of the room (stayed in a twin), though bathroom very small.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit run down & smelly, roof was leaking. Was overpriced compared to others I stayed in over the week.

    Good location , next door to a nice cozy pub.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can see real potential in this hotel to be the new boutique accomodaion in Sydney under the "arts" idea. Rooms are getting a bit tired and bathroom certainly could do with an upgrade.

    Location, location, location! The hotel is plain but functional and the stay was very pleasant, staff were helpful and the pub downstairs is very lovable!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Arts Hotel was a lovely comfortable place to stay and we certainly will be back. The bed was very comfortable and the facilities and service fantastic. With the Arts pub next door it was handy for food and tasted absolutely beautiful with a great affordable prices and the 10% off voucher also contributed to the already great pricing. Also Breakfast at 356 was amazing and was suggest by Hotel Manager perfect Sunday morning breakfast opened on time and service was fantastic. All round Perfect stay will definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked to have actually seen a garden as it was advertised as a garden room. You did see the garden with you stood up and looked out the window. I think I just invisaged the room coming off the garden by the description. It was lovely though.

    The accommodation was basic but very clean and all that you needed. The position was amazing. The staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Like many hotels, there was a doona, but no top sheet, which means that we either had to sleep without a cover or turn the air conditioner right down. We asked for an additional sheet and were happily provided with a single sheet (for a double bed) as we were told that this was all they had. That solved the problem for us, though a double sheet would have been better. We would have chosen this hotel anyway due to the location suiting us, but when we have a choice, we always choose a hotel that has a top sheet on the bed, as well as a bedcover.

    We chose this hotel due to the location, as we wanted to be able to walk to a couple of destinations. The room was small but comfortable - all we needed and good value. It was quiet - no noise problem at all and the streets around the area had a good feel. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would be very happy to return there on another similar occasion.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the tiles in the bathroom are overdue for a good grout clean. I don't think it needs upgrading much but could be more emphasis on really good art.

    Compact but clean and comfortable room; while the hotel is not new it was nicely furnished in a tasteful, trendy way. Everything worked well and there were nice touches like free apples and little Easter eggs. Lovely staff, very helpful. It was an ideal location for my plans which are related to the Arts. Galleries nearby. Close to the city with good bus services. Near to two cinemas and a food bookshop. It was a cultural paradise. Terrific restaurant called Love Supreme nearby. Some places weren't open as it was Easter, so couldn't really judge others. This hotel was well designed when built and that I appreciated. Overall this is an ideal hotel for me, good value for location and no hassles to deal with. I'd recommend and will go there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so much a dislike but just a thought to some receptionists... when picking up bags from the stored area....do you really think that ppl have not settled their account before storing bags????

    It was very convienant for an overnite stay, excellent location for sports, why I was there, but simple bus ride to beaches or city, or the walk is also good lol. Look up wats going around the area & its really great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom was small. Would also have liked a hand held shower instead of a fixed shower head.

    The location - very handy to St Vincent's Hospital, close to cafes, shopping centers, boutiques and transport. Quiet - could not hear the traffic at night on busy Oxford Street. Staff - Friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hair dryer in the bathroom was hilarious. Belonged in the 70's. Think this could be updated.

    Our son was in St Vincent's hospital and it was a great location for visiting.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dead cockroach on window sill when we opened the curtains. Otherwise very clean

    great location ,very quiet with parking and places to eat close buy .Great value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little bit noisy and the fridge made a funny noise sometimes during the night

    It was very convenient for me while my Mother was in St Vincent's hospital , so close. Also handy have the pub with meals right next door and you could get take out .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room wasn't that clean, it was dusty, not properly cleaned in the bathroom and the carpets and furniture were very worn/with marks and scratches. There was very little soundproofing so you could hear all the neighbours very clearly. The cleaners left the contents of the bin in a plastic bag on top of the desk when they left-they obviously forgot to take it with them.

    The location next to where I needed to be for business was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifii Beds were not made the next day You had to ask for fresh towels as bathroom was not cleaned cleaner came in but did not clean the room - we advised the front desk and it wasnt very well received - there are heaps of insects in the bathroom - would never stay here again

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work in our room. Not very sound proof.

    Compared to other hotels in that part of Sydney, the Arts Hotel was comfortable, reasonably priced and very clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, helping with doors and even assisting getting to the bus stop with baggage. It was more than I expected and I will be staying there again. I had a garden room that was very quiet, especially given it is on a busy street. Very enjoyable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelled and cockroaches running across the floor. Check in was very late so we couldn't look for another hotel. Shower curtain was old and needs changing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great as my family live in Paddington. The rooms are comfortable and clean, however I prefer the garden rooms as its nice to be able to open a window, and the view is pleasant overlooking the pool.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is very small, but it didn't spoil our stay.

    The staff members are very friendly and helpful. We got exceptional service from Mark, in particular. The bed was very comfortable and the view to the courtyard is very pleasant. Great shops and cafes are all just over the road.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls a bit thin between rooms. Could hear neighbours. But no-one was noisy through the night.

    Helpful friendly staff. Clean room. Great location for visiting St Vincent's Hospital. As single traveller I felt safe here. Pretty good sound proofing from my room that overlooked Oxford St. great local cafes.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location is excellent and just a short ride to Sydney. Excellent location for attending events at Allianz Stadium. The staff and manager Mark are very helpful and polite

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds need replacement. Pillows pretty awful. Glad we brought our own!

    Great location. Stayed twice (in and out of Sydney). One room better than the other in space and design. Funky area. Good eating spots and wonderful second hand book stores.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This place is tired. The first room I was put in smelt of sewage, to their credit they moved me when I asked, however the second room was not up to the standard of the first in every other aspect. Dated decor, old noisey air con and a missing shower screen. No conditioner in showers. There was also some strange whirring noise I could hear when I slept. Perhaps a dryer below or electricity buzzing? Walls also pretty thin. Could hear other guests swearing at each other through the walls (not the hotel's fault about the swearing, but would not expect you could hear every word).

    The staff were very friendly. The girl on the front desk particularly was very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My husband was very ill in nearby St Vincents Hospital and I was able to walk back and forth several times a day. Certainly helped to reduce the stress. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Room and bathroom small and simple, but perfectly adequate for my needs..and spotless. Bed was good too. Value for money. I would certainly stay again. The divine three storey Berkeleow Book store was right next door too , with a coffee shop and wine bar. Lots of Restaurants nearby. Barbara

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioner couldn't be left on while out of the room so room became very hot.

    Recently updated bathroom. Harbour glimpses from room and balcony. Free parking. Breakfast was simple but not bad value.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75