Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort 3 stars

1 Monkey Mia Road, Shark Bay, 6537 Monkey Mia, Australia

#1 of 1 hotels in Monkey Mia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 817 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.2
    The girl on reception was very pleasant and informative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar charges $13 for a flat pint in a dirty glass and you only have to wait for half an hour to get served. One person ‘working’ behind the bar for the amount of people is a joke. The restaurant was disappointing for our evening meal the service was very slow, glasses and cutlery were dirty. In the morning for breakfast staff where unorganised, unprofessional and extremely rude. It would have been nice to have been informed when we made our booking that there was construction work going on and no WiFi. This wasn’t an issue I just think it should be made clear before arriving. The resort as a whole is extremely overpriced. We had a ‘buget’ room with a shared bathroom with the room next door however everyone seemed to think it was a public bathroom and it was hardly free, we had to use the actual public ones, not pleasant at all. Over all dirty and overpriced. Bedroom had no bin, no basic amenities and not even any batteries in the tv remote. The Kids (11 & 12) complained about the games room and the condition of the equipment, hopefully it will get upgraded with the rest of the resort.

    The girl on reception was very pleasant and informative. The new campers kitchens was amazing great facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.6
    although having wifi signal, we the guest we not allowed by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    although having wifi signal, we the guest we not allowed by the reception staff to connect and told it was not working... funny because western Australia is already a problem for internet, how could we even follow up bookings and further communications. also they had to make a booking for a cruise for our family and told me they would sent an email for confirmation :-)! check out time is 8AM be aware you need a wake-up call on holiday!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    trading off the beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    unfriendly reception. minimal facilities for budget room - not even a glass to have a glass of water. no tea/coffee making facilities. crockery/cutlery only available on paying a deposit.

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    After feeling a bit disappointed after our arrival, the next morning was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were a bit indifferent when we arrived, and also there was no food available as they were ‘between chefs”. And due to the renovations the shop wasn’t open. It wasn’t a huge deal for us but it was only 3pm-ish.

    Lovely food, and our family chalet was clean and comfortable. The dolphins!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    The trip of a life time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All amazing!!

    Absolutely amazing! Food was delicious and the views were so picturesque that my partner knew we would never get such a perfect moment in life so he proposed!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    The new campers kitchens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private 4 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dorm bedding looked old / not quite clean. We used are own regardless. No wifi, although advertised as available. No Optus network? perhaps not the facilities issue. No shop.

    The new campers kitchens.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    3.3
    Not much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room for two adults & 2 children was 6m x4m two singles & a double very small bathroom/toilet & a tiny kitchen that was basically useless for the amount charged was disgraceful.

    Not much

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    -extraordinary location of the resort, you can spot dolphins...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -we reserved a particular room, the hotel confirmed our reservation of the room by phone and email, but when we arrived we got a totally different room without view (on the next day we could change our room, but this is still unacceptable and unprofessional for such high prices of the accommodation, thus the customer service is not adhering to international standards -the walls are very thin -very loud guests, loud families -the resort should improve its noise policy: Our neighbours who were apparently construction workers and were working in the construction of the facility, got drunk and were very loud at night

    -extraordinary location of the resort, you can spot dolphins everyday -beautiful balcony with sea view -clean rooms -good restaurant with sea views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    the location was lovely and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private 4 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rather expensive rooms when comparing against other cabins in different locations in Australia. You pay premium to see the dolphins. We got to see dolphins in Fremantle harbour from our lux room with much nicer views. It is a very long way to drive.

    the location was lovely and relaxing. Fantastic opportunity to get up close to the dolphins and watch their antics from the shore.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    2.5
    A waste of money ... stay in Denham ... pics of “views” from our room ... we “booked” beach front!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disliked everything about the accommodation, the facilities (construction site!), the exhorbitant price and being utterly ignored by staff when we voiced our dismay at what we “got” as opposed to what we “booked” ... and, having our “messenger message” completely ignored too ... you need to significantly lift your game!

    Liked nothing at.all about the accommodation, the facilities (construction site!), the exhorbitant price or being utterly ignored by staff when we voiced our dismay at what we “got” as opposed to what we “booked” ... The bar staff were, actually, great ...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.4
    Location good to see dolphins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private 4 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t realize it was going to be a construction zone. No hot water in showers, no top sheet on bed, bar was noisy and pizzas fair, construction workers were noisy till 10pm. No parking, pool not accessible.

    Location good to see dolphins.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    recommend highly especially for families the kids I saw had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really it is a holiday destination you take the good with the bad

    didn't have croissants, but the food was great, my pillow smelled of sweat had to get one off the top bunk

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Postpone your visit until building works are complete!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation rather disappointing, eg room did not have a chair or table. It was not a good time to visit as the area was a rebuilding site with a narrow muddy track to the road. This was an anomaly in view of the ownership!

    Location, helpful,staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    A fantastic experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being a make a hot drink in our room. The tea and coffee at the cafe/restaurant were expensive at $5 a small cup.

    The dolphin experience is unparalleled. The room was comfortable, however, it did not have any tea making facilities and you had to go to the cafe for a hot drink. The sailing excursions were well worth doing and we saw lots of dolphins and the most glorious sunset whilst out in the bay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only fault was that we were unaware there was no wifi and that there is currently a lot of building under way. Would have liked to know this prior to our arrival.

    Great location, Dolphins fantastic to see

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    We had a House on the beach front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Beach View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing - beides the construction site ;-)

    We had a House on the beach front. These houses have been renovated recently with new inside Walls, floor, bathroom. All in all a beautiful room with phantastic view from bed on the Sea! Everey evening we had dinner in the local Restaurant. Nice selection, good food, good selection of wines. Exkursion with Overshot Katamaran was just awesome, very friendly skipper, knows a lot about this area. Spende an hour or 2 more than scheduled, if no dugong could be found!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Would have been a great stay if not for the renovation. Expensive. Wont go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Beach View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole place was muddy and under renovation. From reception to roads, everything was makeshift. Couldn't find the reception and had to drive out to it. Day 1 there was a mighty storm and because of all the renovation, the whole place was flooded. When I walked to reception, I was ankle deep in mud. Not cool. Don't go till they finish renovating -- every inch of this place is being renovated. There were flies everywhere -all over your food in the restaurant.

    The beach shack we got was great. IT was right on the beach. Emus came and dipped their beaks in my hot chocolate on my beach front balcony. We could feed dolphins that came up to the beach, very close to our unit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    Great location but will stay in the near by town of Denham next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a lot of construction going on & very dark in the car park. We had dinner at the Monkey Bar - the food was very average pub-style meals. We didn't realise until the next day that there was a restaurant further up where we could have enjoyed a nicer meal. The room had 2 twin beds when I had booked a king size bed so we had to go back to reception and get the room swapped out. The curtains in the room weren't clean & the beds are not very comfortable.

    The location of the resort is beach front & close by to the dolphin experience show.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that almost any facility you wanted to use was closed or out of order due to massive renovations. Noise from the excavators starting at 7 am was unpleasant. No discount offered by yourselves on account of the construction and disorder. Even the Boughhouse resturant was shut.

    The surrounding nature

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    Beachfront heaven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Beach View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have a comfortable place to sit. Chairs are very uncomfortable to sit on for any length of time.

    Beachfront heaven! Our villa was right on the beach front giving us easy access and choice of either being on the sand or choosing to look at the view from the comfort of our villa .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    I long way to travel for an avergae beachside experience.
    • Couple
    • Superior Beach View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is a building site, however if you are paying top $ then you will be fortunate enough to be booking into your own private Chalet which shields you from the chaos that exists elsewhere on this site. I would not stay here unless you are able to afford the Deluxe Sea View Room!!!

    Deluxe Sea View Room is the only way to go! Uni-interrupted Beach and Sea Views, and a short stroll to the Restaurant and Bar Area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.0
    Dolphins are absolutely amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private 4 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No warm water in the showers, not been told that we need to ask for towels and kitchen utensils at check-in (after 8pm they are closed so it was a bit inconvenient to wait for the next day). No wifi, construction going on, not very pleasant scene. Old beds, sheets, kitchen appliances, dirty fridges and stoves. The windows in the room were locked so no fresh air in the room, we kept the door open. Dolphins are, amazing location but absolutely you don't get value for your money. The bar is closed at 10pm but before that every now and then you hear loud music. Water activities shop was also closed so no kayaking. This is especially audible if you are close to the bar. Hopefully it will improve.

    Dolphins are absolutely amazing. RAC has the absolute location advantage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    Adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private 4 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paved areas completely flooded, ankle deep water on arrival & departure. Bed rail had 2 bandaids and a wettex cloth left on it. I have a photo. Early check out key deposit was at the temporary reception which was not easily accessible under the prevailing conditions.

    It is a beautiful location, enjoyed the wildlife.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.8
    Not happy
    • Couple
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was a building site we gpt bloked in and was unable to move our car out to travel home Was given a room key that didnt match our charge card. So if wr was inclined i could have charged stuff to compkete strangers

    The food was good and restaurant staff were amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.0
    Construction site, over priced. Stay in denham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A construction site, stay in denham and drive across. Reception difficult to find with all the construction and very unhelpful reception staff

    Good food in restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.2
    Don't bother.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking was for 3 adults, 1 18month old and a 4 year old. On arrival we were informed the booking was for 5 adults. This was a error, but as there was no Wifi As advertised so it was hard to clarify the error. The resort was a complete construction site. After dodging earthworks, walking through mud and heavy machinery to get to the temporary reception hut this was corrected. The offer of 5 free drinks to compensate wasn't honored by the the bar staff. The resturant staff. were rude, Average food high prices.Poor service.

    Nice beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing and should of stayed in Denham instead
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building renovations disrupted the checkin and made office hard to find. Room was extremely small with no bottled water as specified, our room had mould and water damage and the whole resort looked shabby and rundown

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    I do love staying at Monkey Mia so I was prepared to put up with some inconveniences
    • Couple
    • Budget Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Renovations being carried out meant noise at night and inconvenience, and the mini supermarket was to be demolished so limited supplies. The communal shower doors not closing properly so floor gets soppy wet

    Love the location Staff helpful and friendly Good vibes at the Monkey Bar Fantastic sunsets

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Extra beach towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bill was sent via email & when we read the itemised account ( after paying) we had been overcharged for bar drinks & a can of coke we never purchased. Not happy!

    Extra beach towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.0
    The beach is nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private 4 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations going on definitely took away the serenity of the place. Bathrooms were dirty. There was no hot water. No wifi. Ants all over the room

    The beach is nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    A fantastic location and can only be improved once renovations are complete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Beach View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many services not available but a small inconvenience (general store closed, no phone coverage). Most annoying were my next door neighbours whose loud conversations started at 7am and contined well into the night and the constant running of their outdoor shower to keep their kids amused.

    I booked into the superior beach front room. Amazing views with private patio looking straight to the beach. Resort is undergoing renovations which can only improve the resort for the future. Many services currently not available such as wifi and telephone coverage. Room was serviced every day with a linen change offered after 3 nights, as I was only staying 1 more night this was not needed. Full credit to all staff who are working in the middle of a building site .. As all works were happening behind my room the only time I noticed was driving in and out of the complex, I had parking right beside my room. Dolphin feeding was great .. But even better is seeing them at sunrise and sunset in their natural environment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Monkey Mia lived up to expectations and dolphins great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst renovations were advised the large extent of renovations was more than expected. Also access to reception was made more difficult by building supplies nearby. Stand alone fans in rooms also would be good.

    Rooms comfy and staff kindly rearranged rooms to accommodate our group

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    2.5
    I will never stay there again. Quite disappointing for a "Resort". Stay at Denham!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Private 4 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) No signs indicating the location at the property; 2) The hole site is under construction, so quite dificult to find the access or any info on the way; 3) At the reception no one has explained about how to get clean towes and/or kitchen utensils; 4) There isnt WiFi as advertised; 5) The toilets and showers were disgusted. Very dirty. 6) At the Monkey Bar were my family and I had dinner there were at least 17 people quite drunk. Making a lot of noise and being very inconvenients; 7) The toilets after 8pm were worst than before. Someone has thrown up in the urinal and diposed cigarrette butts in the sink. It was just cleaned after 10am of the next day; 8) The whole place was with heavy construction equipaments around and lacking of lights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall, lovely stay, decent room. We specifically went to see & feed the wild dolphins which we did
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a family room which was poorly laid out ie the TV is on top of the fridge which means it’s difficult to watch. There was only one small cupboard in the room which was full of things such as an ironing board broom, pillows etc. This was annoying as we had no where to unpack our things as were there for 3 days. The children wanted to play at the pool but each day the pool was taken over by people who were not staying at the hotel such as rowdy young backpackers - not just one or 2 but up to 20. The reception doesn’t open till 8am so there isn’t an opportunity to check out earlier. We also tried calling the mobile number which is displayed at the reception but no one answered.

    We loved the fact our room was next to the pool and beach. The staff at the restaurant and in particular ‘ Lucy ‘ & ‘ Kirsty ‘ made us feel very special each night for dinner. The beach was lovely and it was amazing sitting on the beach in the morning and evening or during the day, watching the dolphins and the pelicans. Wonderful experience for my children.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    A must see, but perhaps wait until the renovations and upgrading has been completed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The equipment hire was not open for the entire Sunday we were there and we were looking forward to kayaking. Accommodation is need of updating which is now occurring.

    Relaxing atmosphere and surrounds and Monkey Bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    Poor quality food and not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private 4 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet breakfast was cold and wasn’t stocked. We got there at 7 when we were told it was open. Also when booking we weren’t told it was going to be a construction site. The food and the monkey bar was terrible the fish and chips wasn’t fresh. The toilet facilities were dirty and there were only two showers for a whole block of dorms

    good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    4.2
    Heavy constractions ongoing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heavy constractions which starting at 630 am in nearly the Whole resort. No information or message in Advance. Not the Right Place for holidays at the moment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location and beach was beautiful but resort was poor, didn’t feel like anyone was in charge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction going on and the fact that our water was turned off twice, power also turned off and wifi didn’t work the entire ten days. All with no warning or communication from management when each facility breakdown happened.didnt feel like guests were put first in anyway and staff played extra loud club music in the middle of the day at the restaurant filled with elederly and families. Very mismanaged resort.

    The beach and wildlife

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Close to the beach and dolphins.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey for what you get, but we did go in the high season, and we didn't really spend enough time there to take full advantage of it.

    Close to the beach and dolphins. They provided warm Anzac biscuits and coffee/tea for the Anzac Day dawn service which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Dolphins feeding on the beach every morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private 4 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to pay $12/adult/day to actually stay in Monkey Mia, even though you previously booked a room.

    Dolphins feeding on the beach every morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    Nice place. Will be better one day I hope.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Beach View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were being constructed near by and on site with work trucks everywhere. We should have been told. Will make for a better resort one day. Thanks.

    Location was great. Staff were very good throughout. Meals were more than ample

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Good with the exception of staff in the front office and the works being carried out without notice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet and no care from staff when asked. Extensive works being carried out with no indication from booking.com or the resort when initial booking made

    Restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    Would recommend to others if the construction was finished or better managed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction could have been partitioned to avoid having that as the impression of the resort and possibly an alternative route for entrance, looking like a shanty town with beers bottles everywhere. Also the construction workers were loud and obnoxious at night around the monkey bar.

    The beach front of the resort was great and catered for all people, great location!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.0
    great location to view the dolphins but resort really needs upgrading
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    place is currently a contruction site and no one advised us this nor was it advertised on the booking page, we paid $330 per night ( it was easter so expected to pay a little more) the fridge was mouldy to the seal area, the iron was dangerous with exposed wires they replaced with a new one however this should have been picked up by housekeeping especially as its RAC recommended

    great view of the beach and dolphins swimming past staff at the restaurant were very pleasant lovely peaceful area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall an enjoyable stay and lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The villas are outdated for the price with limited facilities to cook . No bbq facilities for the garden view villas. In terms of the dinner menu at the restaurant, I would suggest a bigger variety i.e. surf and turf / stir fry / lamb chops / risotto / pasta as the meals are pricey and limited. The Monkey Bar is for informal dining i.e. pizza and burgers.

    The resort location is easy accessible to the beach. The dolphin sessions were informative and the dolphins are a highlight and a rare opportunity to experience them so close. Keep up the good work and conservation. The location of the restaurant and the venue is lovely. The breakfast menu was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Magic Monkey Mia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beachfront cabins were absolutely wonderful. The view is breathtaking. We celebrated a birthday starting with cocktails that were fantastic and then the restaurant which was equal to any city fine dining experience. The staff were brilliant, the service top notch. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    There was no delph or cutlery in the self catering kitchen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no delph or cutlery in the self catering kitchen we had to go to reception pay a deposit and then carry it back which I found frustrating as every other place we stayed had a fully stocked kitchen

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    good view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    ice in the refrigerator melts and water flows on the ground, so we have to clean it. in addition, no one informs me that the worker starts to build from 6:30am

    good view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    The dolphin experience was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction everywhere, construction workers staying and attending bar facilities in work uniform chatting up the waitress was a bad look!

    The dolphin experience was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort is a nice resort with a nice beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort is a nice resort with a nice beach and beautiful dolphin along the coast. It’s a little bit touristic but all the marine animals are totally worth it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Just fantastic very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Beach View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fully cooked breakfast is very confusing What is a cooked breakfast for me It includes a drink of some sort cereal or toast Fruit of some sort etc here it is just 1 item off the menu the coffee is out of the buffet machine the juice is out from the buffet but you have to pay for cereal and fruit etc it is confusing this just needs a tidy up

    The new fit out in the beach front villas are brilliant all they need is a small cloths line next to the our side shower to hang wet towels and bathers on

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.8
    Don't waste your money. Stay in Denham and drive the 20 minutes to visit the resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay at The Monkey Mia Resort was less than satisfactory. We were unable to enter and exit our room as we pleased because of faulty locks and keys meaning in order to stay in the room we were paying for, we had to leave it unlocked at all times. Outside our room was another issue. The onsite trades people that were housed in the same complex as paying guests stayed up late drinking and partying with loud music and conversations in front of their rooms every night. The workers had no care for the paying guests that were kept up late at night or for families trying to get their children to sleep. I wouldn't recommend staying at the resort with all the issues we encountered due to the renovations, which included having the water shut off without any warning. Until the renovations are done I would suggest staying in Denham, which is less expensive and offer better facilities and services.

    The Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort would have been a perfect day trip. The staff at The Boughshed were amazing and helped save a fail of a holiday, the staff around the grounds and in reception were also lovely. The wildlife tours and the sunset cruises are a must while you are there, they were excellent as was the morning dolphin feeding experience. It was amazing to see the dolphins up close and to learn a little bit about them. Unfortunately these wonderful experiences were clouded with the poor standards from the management of the resort. I would have had much better memories had I driven from Denham and stayed for the day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    Good beds, nice location, you're minutes away from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private 4 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough showers and toilets. The Monkey Bar was closed, and that wasn't advertised on their own website. Be aware: you'll have to pay an entry fee for the park (not connected to the owners of the park).

    Good beds, nice location, you're minutes away from the dolphins, good showers (but not enough). Good restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    Outstanding location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to go to a communal kitchen to cook as there are no facilities at all for cooking in the chalets, not even a microwave.

    The location is outstanding-right beside a beach. The sea life comes up close to the shore. Turtles swim beside the jetty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    3.8
    I wish I could have my time and money back to actually experience something good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The major construction that we were not informed about before booking. The smell coming up from the drain in the bathroom was horrid. The fact that the bar near the pool was closed. The restaurant had a poor selection of meals (trying to be too fancy I think). The room was so basic but paid more than I did for a room in Fremantle and Scarborough which both offered 4star luxury. The dolphin interaction was very disappointing as I just observed them swimming from the waters edge. The fact that I drove 1000km and lost 3 days of my trip to be thoroughly disappointed by Monkey Mia.

    The shells on the beach were nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Fun in the Sun
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s a massive construction project underway (early March 2018).

    Monkey Mia (pronounced Maya) is a typical beach resort in many ways. Outdoor activities abound, but it’s real charms are spontaneous - six little girls frolicking in the grass at dinner while silent lightning played in distant clouds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location but wasn't very impressed with room or the lack of view we had of the ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid extra money for an ocean view and was put in a room with a large bush area in front of it, so you couldn't actually see the ocean. We weren't told that the accommodation was under construction, they had machinery everywhere and half the parking area was dug up so only a small number of parking bays were available.

    The dolphins and the restaurant area had a beautiful view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    We loved it. We were minding our business swimming at the beach and we were joined by dolphins!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The distance we had to travel to get there. The food is expensive. The flies were annoying

    We had a Garden Room that was really close to the beach, and we went swimming with dolphins. What more do you need? It was peaceful and seemed like we were in another world.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    4.2
    Would not recommend anyone except teenagers to stay here .stay in denham and travell daily to the.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay a surety for the cutlery after paying $250.00 a night for dirty room....I understand that it is isolated....but they made no effort on our behalf for the tariff we paid! The carousing went on deep into the night.....welll after the10pm deadline....party time in a world heritage site ☹️

    What?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    4.2
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Private 4 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't clean, I booked a beautiful room from booking and when I arrived there I got other room, the staff was hungry because many customers were complaining about the some problem. The bathrooms are outside and unclean.

    The dolphins are there

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.0
    None.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Small room with basic facilities but charges a lot. 2. Dolphins feeding is absoulutely boring. The volunteers may talk too much and the feeding process is very short. 3. The main restaurant is not impressive. I ordered a median well steak but it turned out to be well done. 4. The resort is building in progress and kind of dusty. 5. Too many flys in the island but it is not the resort’s fault.

    None.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Big clean modern room, air cond, clean bathroom and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The empty rubbish bin under the kitchen cabinet not clean, it has slightly bad smell.

    Big clean modern room, air cond, clean bathroom and friendly staff at Monkey Bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location for dolphin encounters
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not helpful in explaining what activities you could do whilst staying. The rooms never got cleaned during our stay it would have been nice if we got a room clean mid stay during our week. The restaurant food didn’t cater for vegans. And the wait staff were reluctant in helping make up a food option that could be eaten for someone who didn’t eat dairy or meat that didn’t include a bowel of chips. The parking was difficult. We weren’t for told about there being construction on site.

    Location fantastic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When on the balcony you could see the people below and have to be very careful not to send sand on them while walking. They also could see us if they put up their eyes. Also had to be careful with the noise - no noise isolation anywhere There were works going on so a lot of dust in the room and all around the hotel. The room prices are very high. The cleaning was not very good but maybe because of the works. No heat isolation for the first floor rooms so it would be very hot during the day if you don’t put the air conditioner.

    Beautiful location in the middle of nature. The room was on the beach so was able to watch the dolphins and other animals from the balcony every morning. For me it was a beautiful experience overall.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.1
    The interaction with the dolphins
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not expect to pay entrance to the park to get to the hotel I had booked. There is considerable building work currently in progress. There was no mention of this when I booked. Building work included shutting one of the two bar / eating facilities.

    The interaction with the dolphins

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.0
    Cockroach on the pillow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private 4 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockroach on my pillow and lots of dirt under the beds. Booking.com says there is aircon in all rooms but there isn’t aircon in the dorm style rooms.

    Location was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    Dissapointing and very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looked like a building site. Monkey bar closed. Video machine broken. Pool didn't look clean.No one helpful when I made enquiries about the pearl farm .

    Comfortable beds and staff helpful in the restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    2.9
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    faciliries were sub standard. Cleanliness and hygiene we’re unacceptable Staff were barely courteous and playing the blame game Not their problem it’s booking . Com bla bla bla

    The restaurant staff were nice and courteous

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    Solid accommodation in unique spot in national park. Perfect place to just wake up and see dolphins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late in the day and there was almost no parking left.

    Located in a marvelous unique spot in the national park. Th breakfast is very nice and if you're a bit lucky you can even watch the dolphins when eating your brekkie.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Glorious days in a perfect setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the tradies (Irish guy) working on the redevelopment was drunk on the bar one evening. When my friends and I made it clear we were not interested in his advances he became abusive and shouted obscenities at our group. Such a shame considering the bar was full of holidaymakers, locals and staff and everyone else was just having a good time and enjoying the atmosphere. We still had a good time regardless of one idiot 😁😁😁😁

    Resort staff were amazing. They work so hard and are so friendly. Harry, Will and the lovely barista ladies (can't recall names sorry!) were so polite and couldnt have done more to make my friends and I feel welcome. Redevelopment was taking place but caused no disruptions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.3
    Accommodation was comfortable, dolphins & catamaran were awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is a little tired & over priced.

    Being right on the beach. The catamaran trip, on Aristocrat 2, both around the bay & the sunset cruise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.8
    Good facilities in a stunning part of the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very relaxing environment, really nice staff and surrounded by incredible landscape. There's a broad range of activities and you can stock up on essentials either at the on-site shop or in nearby Denham. The wildlife by the sea is as diverse and as beautiful as I have ever seen

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing, chilled! Beautiful location. Special place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach view room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort was superb but the drive to the resort is very long and tedious.

    The location and the view from our beach view room. The choice and quality of food from the Boughshed restaurant. The service from staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.4
    The whole facility seems quite run down and overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was dirty, the beach was the dirtiest we'd seen in the area and crowded with boats and anchors which several people tripped over during their walks, the balcony off our family studio didn't have a railing which means that it was very exposed to the car park and (especially smaller children) could fall a good 1.3 m, overall rundown appearance. Wifi didn't work.

    Room and bathroom were clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.1
    Overall very good. Lots to see and do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower facilities in the shared bathroom was very mouldy around the floor and lower walls of the shower. My family had to shower with their thongs on

    The staff were extra helpful. The budget accomodation was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: