Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Darwin CBD 4.5 stars

100 The Esplanade, Darwin CBD, 0800 Darwin, Australia

#60 of 85 hotels in Darwin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 336 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.8
    Convenient location ina hotel that was once exceptional and is now ordinarily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are in need of an upgrade. We were locked out of our room 3 times out of the 6 nights. Fumes from painting the public areas was appalling. Service at reception varied from excellent to poor.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor spa was freezing! The pool water was warmer than the spa (it was even too cold for my kids!).

    Good location, close to the main street. We ordered food from the tapas menu on our first night & the food was delicious. We were a family of 5 & stayed in the 2 bedroom suite. Beds were comfortable, nice shower pressure & there was a good sized fridge in the room as well as toaster & kettle (we didn’t use them as breakfast was included in our stay - which was also very nice but handy if staying longer). Would recommend staying here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.4
    The Hotel is in a good area but not great value for money. The place needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking situation is not ideal having to get the fob from reception every time you wanted to park the car undercover as there was more cars than spaces. The hotel is looking a bit tired.

    The Hotel is in a great position and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    2.9
    Disgusting and not worth the money we spent on 2 bedroom apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this stay.

    Unfortunately there was nothing nice that I can say about our stay here. The rooms were disgusting and the bathroom was just covered in mound and the shower over the bath did not drain away. We travel quiet a lot and this would have to be the worst Novotel we have ever stayed at.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    It was good but i wouldn't have breakfast there again as it was not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet was a disappointment - The mushrooms, baked beans and scrambled eggs were cold (we had breakfast at 9 am) The pineapple juice was not refilled and i had to have an alternative but i really wanted pineapple. However the selection of various food was excellent a great range! Just very unhappy the hot food was cold.

    I really liked that the room had a fan, not many hotel rooms have fans and this was great when i was getting ready :) The poached eggs were perfect though :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms are in need of an update particularly the bathroom which has shower over very slippery bath. The hot water was boiling and hard to adjust.

    The junior suite had a wonderful view over the harbor. The buffet breakfast was diverse and well presented and gluten free options catered for. Location is excellent facing harbor and easy walk to main shops.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.4
    Rooms needs a serious update
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - Harbour View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old room with grubby carpet, shower curtain and shower with no pressure. Uncomfortable beds and plaster falling off balcony ceiling. Our cards also stopped working 3 times during our stay and were told it was our fault because we kept them next to our phones or credit cards. Not all of us did this, yet all our cards stopped working at the same time. Power points and lights that did not work and one tv remote for 2 tv's.

    Your definately paying for the location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Convenient, friendly, very worn and outdated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is old and outdated and really needs to be refurbished. The carpet was old and smelt very stuffy in the room the whole time we were there. There was on one remote to control three different aircons. One tv remote from two different tv's.

    Great location. Friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was good and had a good variety
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building smelt old. The lifts were really slow and being on the first floor we would have liked access to stairs instead.

    Breakfast was good and had a good variety

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    The lobby was lovely a great first impression with the water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an issue with ants all over the room (which we understood happens but they were everywhere) but the way it was dealt with by some of the staff was absolutely atrocious. It was very dissapointing, made for a crappy start to the holuday and if it wasnt for 1 particular staff member settling the situation and doing his job well this review would be far far worse and alot more descriptive.

    The lobby was lovely a great first impression with the water features, greenery and seating. The pool was lovely especially after a day in the heat. 70% of staff were absolutely lovely, helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Used to stay here when we lived in the Territory so this was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place really needs a good make over - especially for what they are charging per night

    Used to stay here when we lived in the Territory so this was a bit of a nostalgic visit. Was disappointed. Was nothing like it used to be. Looks a little dilapidated and run down. Thought it was expensive for the 2 nights we stayed. Parking was a rort. $10 per night in their carpark with no security camera to be seen. Parked on road for free and plenty of street light. Didn't eat here so can't comment about restaurant. Was pleased to see the bar and stream had changed little which gave some ambience to the place at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Location great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit rundown, could do with a renovation. Room not as spacious as we expected.In 1 bedroom couldn't open door fully as bed in way.

    Location great. Staff great. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.3
    Not comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was grumpy at the reception. We have waited for quiet long time after placing our dinner order. Bathroom had lots of black hair on the floor and walls, which is not acceptable especially traveling with kids.

    Hotel is in nice location inside looks welcoming. Breakfast was awesome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location and fantastic views from Harbourside room we...
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in desperate need of upgrade inside. By far the most run down Novotel we have stayed in.

    Great location and fantastic views from Harbourside room we had. Staff were awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Was a great little get away for the night for my partner and I
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was as displayed in the pictures, decorations and flooring look great together. The room had a double bed and a single, was spacious and was a nice room. The cosy hole window was awesome to sit in and chill out with snacks and great company. The bathroom was basic with a shower, toilet and vanity. Main stand out was the breakfast! it was a full buffet brekky with a huge range, including waffles! I asked for 2 sunny side eggs and the kitchen cooked them fresh for me. I enjoyed my stay here and would definitely go back, its great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    3.8
    Terrible. Lazy Staff - Unclean
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Barman poured only half a cocktail and charged $16.00. When questioned, he then proceeded to belittle my wife. Not acceptable. Room was dirty with no water pressure. Not one staff member helped when I was struggling with luggage and two young children. Just looked at me and didn't care. Breakfast was also cold. - Disgusting attitude towards us. Not happy.

    Only one staff member smiled the whole time we were there. All others had a very arrogant attitude - didn't care.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel and location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Breakfast had wide selection. Water available at entry-nice touch! Location was walking distance to restaurants, shopping and waterfront area. Esplanade great for a walk/run and we were at the doorstep of ANZAC Dawn Service and march. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Allowed late checkout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice location close to city but compromised by facilities which did not equate to good value for $.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower facilities (no walk in shower) were not easy for restricted movement/disability access. Door card did not work and had to be fixed. Everything a little tired and needing attention - paintwork in the room and in the atrium area etc.

    Excellent breakfast and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.4
    Comeback to stay at different hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is very uncomfortable sink in the middle we have to sleep at the edge of the bed. At 3 am fighting woke us up and yelling as well screaming front of hotel

    Location of the hotel was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    4.6
    Poor
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After dinner where our coffee was forgotten.Find one if my iwn pens because yours didn't work. We placed the breakfast menu outside on the door before midnight As per instructions. Not collected, still there the next morning? Old carpet. Bathroom Mould in all the tiles.Disgusting. The hair dryer cord black, Yuk. At least put the quilt in a cover. Fan was noisey as.Must if been the cheapest tissues very scratchy. For the price need improvement.

    I liked the kettle and cups were a decent size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Lovely tropical feel on entry and around bar comfortable room for a family of 4
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just outide our door looked quite unclean A/C dripped on my daughter through the night

    Good facilities for a family close to Restaurants friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    There were some really good things about this hotel and some not so great things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decore of rooms was very dated and tired looking. Phone didn’t work, bathroom tile grout was black, towel rail was loose and falling, sliding door to balcony came off the runner. There was no English breakfast tea bags supplied and restocked (only herbal) and the fridge was dirty where the milk was kept was sticky and needed cleaning. The tv’s were dated and very non-friendly to use with figuring out channels. There were no spare blankets in the room and despite asking twice, no one brought us an extra one.

    Breakfasts were great, staff very friendly and obliging, atrium lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable for a short stay but disappointed with some things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable and sank in the middle and the slats or mattress springs were noisy every time you moved. Very disappointed there was no Gym. Our view was an apartment block at the back.

    Friendly helpful staff. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.3
    Apart from the comments we did enjoy our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in need of a refurb and redecoration. The plant pots inside the hotel are empty giving an unkept appearance. In the rooms there are no drawer or shelf space to put clothes or belongings if you are staying for more than a couple days. You are basically living out of your suitcase.

    The size of the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for late check out but was not given an answer. Would have been nice to jecknout later in the day

    The bed is sooooo comfortably. Could have stayed in there all day if I didn’t have to check out so early

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.3
    fix the air-conditioning and I might stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room air-conditioning failed to deal with the humidity. There was moisture everywhere … on the glass door fridge, the ceiling and even the carpet felt damp.

    Wonderful atrium area with bar and restaurant. Beautiful food and service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    You get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I ordered room service at 8pm. The food was delicious!! What I didn't like is that my tray sat outside my room from 9pm until 2pm the following day, and was only removed when I asked the staff to remove it. I also had problems with my key card access and had to received 6 new cards over the 4 days. I was told not to carry it with a mobile phone, which I didn't. It was extremely frustrating and the staff were not that helpful, making me walk to my room 3 times before replacing it!

    The location is fantastic!! I love that it is in easy walking distance of the main street, the cinema, the esplanade and the great dining/drinking experiences.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.4
    Unbelievable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 lights not working in room ; another one faulty and flickering constantly when on “Ocean view “ had us looking over an untidy dirty outdoors bar area with torn/ ripped awning which had obviously been there for ages ... We stay at novotel often around Australia and this one was unbelievable.. One dryer in laundry overheated and did not turn itself off as programmed after 2 and a half hours ; a potential fire risk ?

    Breakfasts and staff good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    Definitely a drop in standard of facilities and the hotel since my last stay. Leaking cistern!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV was not working. It WAS fixed, but then the control was not friendly and definitely frustrating. It could only search channels by the up and down arrows. NO 'information' button or 'guide' button or any other friendly user buttons working. No shower caps in the bathroom????? No biscuits to have with the cup of tea/coffee.

    Favourite place over recent time. The restaurant food and staff - SUPERB!!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice and close to everything and secure open air parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The old musty smell in our rooms from the air conditioning system.

    Nice and close to everything and secure open air parking staff were friendly and helpful. hotel had a nice ambience .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel and staff, facilities are excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pay $10 per day parking and at one point there was no parking and had to park in the street. Doesn't appear to be any control over who parks in the allocated car park.

    Great location and beautifully appointed rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - City View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The laundry facilities could've been a little better, when travelling as a family of 5 you need to constantly do laundry.

    The breakfast each morning was fantastic. The staff were very friendly & helpful. Location was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Great position
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - Harbour View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Decor tired- particularly painting and common areas but overall excellent for what we wanted.

    Most of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Proximity to cbd and the Esplanade walk great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    5.0
    Not really happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given the wrong room, tried to charge us more than we had booked for. We were right above the kitchen and the industrial bins were emptied at 5 am then again at 7.30am the first morning. Second morning they were emptied at 6.30am. That room should have better sound proofing or not used at all!

    When we asked for what we were entitled for they gave us substitutes. They tried to accomodate after their huge stuff up.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    6.7
    Relaxing time in an old fashioned hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything is outdated and need refreshing (mouldy smell). Carpet, walls, bathroom. TV set is too old, not good quality image. Room 319 - one bedside lamp was not working. Mattress a bit uncomfortable (but personal opinion). Windows not sufficiently insulated, too much noise coming through. Swimming-pool very average and small. Lift needs to be repaired.

    Hotel lobby extremely interesting and relaxing, nice breakfast, missing a bit of music in background though. Very efficient aircon + fan in room. Location really good on esplanade, easy parking in the street. Thank you

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service meal "Soup of the day" was amazing and the breakfast was lovely also. All amenities were great :) will defiantly stay again soon! & highly recommend!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.3
    Pillows were comfy and we were upgraded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV didn't work, but it had a standby light that did. Couldn't turn it off at all. Had to put a towel over the TV just to sleep.

    Pillows were comfy and we were upgraded.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - Harbour View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to fault. Older property with all you could want. Bathroom could do with an update , but was fine. Aircon dripping on balcony could do with some work , again was ok.

    Fantastic location. Great room with awesome view. Good food and cocktails. Relaxed and easy all round. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    The entrance atrium bar area was quite nice to sit in for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom tiles had dirty and peeling sealant, needs redoing or an upgrade. The hair-dryer was past its electrical integrity testing date by more than a month.

    The entrance atrium bar area was quite nice to sit in for a drink.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.3
    Great accommodation for what we wanted during our few days in Darwin for the Midnight Oil concert
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed in the second bedroom - not the master bedroom was particularly soft and hurt my back after a few nights.

    Location was good, staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    4.6
    Extremely disappointing for Novotel
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are badly in need of renovation, no exhaust fan, looks like they have painted over mould, the bathtub is not very inviting, for 3 days had a cold shower, when mentioned this was fixed. Tiles in the bathroom need some attention badly, Had requested the sofa bed be made up for my granddaughter, this was mentioned to 3 people including housekeeping...came back, not done. Staff lack communication, they knew my granddaughter would be arriving but other than her name no details. I had extended my stay by 4days, on the original check out day, I had do not disturb on the door, housekeeping knocked and said reception wanted to know when we were checking out....they couldn't find it on the system....housekeeping, well you can see the bathroom in the pics. I have recently had surgery and needed to use betadine this l left a brown mark on the sheet see photo....came back after housekeeping pulled back the bedding to find they had not changed the sheet, betadine really looks like it could be something nasty.... The swipe keys had to be reset nearly every other day, get all the way to you room and have to go back to reception.

    location, The duty manager was very nice, seemed empathetic to my grievances, offered 1night free accommodation and sent a bottle of wine for my granddaughters birthday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.1
    We've had a lovely holiday but feel the Novotel facility itself is average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment had a suitable layout however there were a few light bulbs that didn't work.(1. the rangehood and 2. bedroom number 2). When the room is sold as a bay view and you have building and a tree in the way it's REALY not an appropriate description. The cooking facility's were appropriate however access to cooking tools and a dish draining area would have been ideal. The television in the bedroom did not access all free to air channels, and there were few inhouse movies to chose, plus the television picture quality was very average. Wifi was not freely accessible in our room. The swimming pool whilst clean needs updated furnishings, plants etc (it didn't feel luxurious for the Novotel). The shared bathroom needs an updated refurbishment, was grubby in appearance due to wear (not the lack of cleaning).

    The staff were lovely, the location perfect, clean and air conditioning in the room very effective.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Good choice, will stay next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was in a junior suite room, the WIFI was not strong enough in the 2nd bedroom (the one close to window).

    Good location (beach and restaurants in 5 minutes walk), just right breakfast, friendly staff, spacious room, strong air-con, big fan in room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.3
    A little disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had been mistakenly cancelled and given to another guess. New room provided and changed next day in all had taken up time. The hotel all over is a little tied not up to Novotel standard and as such did not represent value for money

    Size of room, convenient location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    I enjoyed my visit to the Northern Territory, and Darwin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub hotel on the next corner, outside my room, I was at the back of the hotel, was very noisy with loud music in the evening. Plus I was slightly confused with their payment system. I wanted to see the same amount in writing from the hotel as what I had agreed upon with Booking.com. I mentioned this when I arrived. So the morning I left I asked to see the agreed amount and the receptionist showed me on her computer. It shouldnt be this hard! It should be clear from the beginning.

    A good location. Opposite park, and close to the centre of town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    Convenient, friendly place, needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is not well ventilated and steams up to the extent that the fire alarm can go off; this happened while we were there.

    The location is excellent and the hotel atrium very pleasant. The staff were friendly and responsive. The breakfast offering is good. The rooms are reasonable but a little dated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.4
    The hotel was good value for a mainsteam hotel in the location, however it was dated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is tired and lacks the feel of a quality hotel. It was refurbished a long time ago, and really needs to be brought up to date again. I would have liked to see a selection of beers stocked in the room fridge, but non were available.

    The property was in close proximity to the main restaurant area. The staff were friendly and courteous. The parking was fine, and it was easy to get to the main road quickly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Over all a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool maintenance could be better and the surrounding area needs a good tidy up. Shower is in the bath and the base was only cleaned once in the week we were there.

    Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help with any request. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    I wish I could say something positive but it just wasn't good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom light didn't work, the air con whistled loudly in one room, the phone didn't work at all so couldn't call reception, the pool was underwhelming and small and many times we weren't able to use it because all the seats were taken. We also got little to no sleep because the noise from the bars was so loud, and went until very late. Once that stopped, then we could just hear someone rummaging through the bottle bins below every night. Glass smashing, people yelling. Totally understand there's nothing they could do about the public but I would have booked elsewhere if I'd had the heads up. They definitely need double glazed windows because I could hear conversations word for word.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room felt a little crummy. The sheets felt old and scratchy. The pillows were lumpy. The shower had a shower curtain rather than a screen. These sound very picky, but for the price I expect much better.

    Good location. Staff were friendly and gave me a later checkout.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    3.3
    Extremely dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Absolutely nothing it was filthy in every area of the 2 bedroom apartment we had I was going to request for my money back as I paid over $300pn and I certainly was not worth a cent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    Room was located overlooking boiler outlets and above...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was located overlooking boiler outlets and above rubbish and bottle collection. Cleanliness was very average. Lift up the couch cushions and you will get the picture! An evacuation occurred in hotel during the night of our stay and no alarms were audible and no one notified or checked us off to see that we had evacuated the building. We only heard about it the next morning and several of us are light sleepers. Very disconcerting and I hope this is addressed. Hotel is overall too tired and dingy and we wouldn't recommend it to anyone of our friends.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.9
    Overall our stay wasn’t too bad as the accommodation was adequate for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On Reaching the hotel I was told that there were no Ocean View rooms available yet I booked and paid for them almost 2 months in advance I’m not sure how the booking system works as I booked our rooms through Booking.com so I don’t know who is at fault We were eventually given a room with an ocean view My overall impression of the hotel looked tired and outdated The room we stayed in had problems – the tap for the shower didn’t work properly, needed new carpet ,aircon was noisy I think a lot of updating is required to bring it back to its former glory! It was a bit pricey but handy if you want to be close to town

    The staff were friendly and accommodating Very central to everything – easy walking distance into the town centre The view of the ocean from the room was pretty good specially the sunset

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location and friendly staff- but the rooms need updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was small, had to pay for parking $7.50 per day on weekdays on road verge or $10 in Novotel car park. The whole complex needs a bit of an update- a bit rundown- old bathrooms. We had to clean our own airconditioner filter as it wasn't cooling enough.

    The breakfast was good and lovely staff, we had two bedroom apartment with basic kitchen facilities which was reasonably priced for a family compared to other accommodations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    We liked the position as we enjoyed walking in the park in the mornings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think there could be a bigger toaster. The water was not always hot enough for making a good cup of tea at breakfast

    The croissant were flaky and delicious. The staff were extremely helpful at all times The room was very clean and attended to each day. In all we were very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    3.8
    location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building smelled stale on first arrival - as though it needed a good airing. the planter boxes upstairs were poorly maintained and dirty. The rooms were not as described or shown on the Website.

    location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    4.2
    In need of an upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need a major upgrade. The bed was so saggy that you nearly roll off it. I booked a 2 bedroom unit with 2 single beds and a sofa. Got there to find 2 double beds and they wouldn't bring a bed up.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.0
    Very outdated, over priced and two bedroom apartment was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated, over priced and two bedroom apartment was small. Sink and bath were rusty and shower curtain dirty. Definitely wouldn't recommend and not sure about staying at another NOVOTEL as a result.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only worked in the hotel lobby

    Great location, friendly staff, huge rooms. Easy walk to a huge choice of restaurants so we never ate at the hotel restaurant. Interior of the hotel is quite unique, love the little man-made river that runs through the ground floor! Will definitely be back here again! Wifi only works in the lobby, but who goes to Darwin to sit in their room and use the internet?

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable but tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel while comfortable looked tired and dated. There were marks on walls and doors and chipped paint on many areas . The carpet was old and smelly. Due to this being a busy time in town the Friday night cost was what you would pay for a four star hotel but the overall presentation was only that of a three star.

    The staff were very helpful, friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.4
    Hotel needs some TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phone in room not working. Bath chipped. Curtains and shower curtains dirty. Furniture dated. Dining chairs sagging. Lift out of order. Wifi slow. Door keys only lasted two days. Not enough staff. Reception sometimes unattended.

    Beds comfortable. Harbour view great. Space good. Quite clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.8
    You are paying for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too hard. Dirty/stained towel. Unsafe powerpoints coming away from walls. Clothes line in bathroom did not work. Very old feel in the atrium are when you look up and around. Carpet in lifts and on the 5th floor at times a bit smelly. Outside name branding on building at night only half lit (Nov) not Novotel. Very short staffed at times with 1 staff member working from restaurant area to other side of atrium bar. Upgraded our room for a balcony to look out over the bay, which you could only stand on, it was on the corner of the building, none overlooking straight out the front, should have gone and looked at room first. DO NOT stay here if you want a nice pool to swim in, very old style and small, not what you would expect from Novotel brand.

    Location. As for Darwin itself, loved it. Hire a car and drive around, it is a very spread out city with so much to see and experience. Sadly the popular Mindil Markets start 2 weeks after my visit. Great history, restaurants and natural beauty, stunning sunsets. Great people watching in Mitchell street at the many bars and restaurants. Visit the War Museum at East Point, also the Darwin Museum and Art Gallery,do this on a Sunday afternoon and you can walk across the road to the Yacht Club for live music while you watch the sunset (take aerogard), romantic dinner at Pee Wees, Litchfield National Park Buley Rockpool is worth the drive, Parap Markets on a Sat (very yummy laksa).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.8
    A comfortable 3 star property in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is tired and in need of some upgrade. Particularly the bathrooms of the 2brm suite. The pool area was terribly uninviting. Its the forgotten space out the back of the hotel and really needs some attention. It would boost the overall feel and aesthetics of the hotel if they looked at upgrading this area.

    The room was clean and the atrium/foyer and bar area qas really lovely

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable &Central Hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seperate shower one over the bath can be dangerous for any age who are in any way slightly disabled.Also bathroom should only have liquid soap ,not bar of soap ,a waste

    Staff happy to be there ,seemed happy ,hotel very central.Quiet part of city ,wonderful views to harbour.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    5.8
    Short Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not enjoy our family being woken up at 6am with a fire alarm because someone had a steamy shower.. mind you this was after we had been awake for 26hrs the day before! The place does desperately need a revamp too!

    The staff were friendly, mostly attentive & did put in effort to try make our stay enjoyable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.3
    Pleasant but not cold enough and I'm a territorian.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Way too hot at this time of the year when it is close to 40 outside I found the reception/lobby dining areas to be only just bearable temperature wise. Our rooms temperature was also only just comfortable the aircons need to be at a cooler temp or one put in the bedroom area?? I went next door to the mantra on the esplanade into a friends room and it was so much nicer in the hotel areas and the room due to the aircons.

    Staff and cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location for all our entertainment needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing major we didn't like.

    We had a great experience at Novotel. The location was excellent as we saw a concert at the entertainment centre and of course easy access to a wide variety of restaurants and pubs. Staff were friendly and nice. Room was pretty clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.5
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a bit firm but you can't please everyone. Overall, the place needs a makeover to update it.

    Buffet brekkie lovely. Totally enjoyed it. Had dinner also, great!!!! Service wonderful. Staff pleasant and helpful. Everything at your fingertips.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    2.5
    Don't do it!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was too small, what I thought I was getting from this website turned out to be wrong. This website says all rooms come with bath tubs, they do not. I checked a smoking room but our room did not have a balcony. When I spoke to reception about the differences she didn't care unless I was willing to pay at least an extra $120 a night. The most disgusting thing about that room was the smell from the bathroom which constantly smelt like urine and the flies. We killed at least 15 in our 3 night stay. I will never stay here again and warn any friends travelling to Darwin to steer clear there are plenty of places that are better value for money.

    The bed was comfy and the only good thing about the room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.9
    good location,close to all amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor breakfast for 29.-on the hot section,room service no salt or pepper,no garnish,untidy at the pool area.Hotel needs a face lift,plants in hotel could be managed better.

    good location,close to all amenities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    Good location, needs TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Certainly in need of a refurbishment, decor was dated and some a bit worn. Generally clean, but when paying close attention after reading other reviews did find some things that would have been expected to have been done a bit better. My door had been painted over with about 10 different shades of grey in different places, little things like that. Wouldn't recommend as a resort to stay if holidaying, but fine for a stop-over.

    Staff were incredibly friendly and went out of their way to help where possible. Big room, good location for walking anywhere in Darwin CBD, great lobby to escape the heat too!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    Fun, friendly and fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No secure parking. Smoking allowed near pool enclosure.

    Fantastic breakfast. Excellent range of food. scrumptious waffles. Apples to take on day trips. Reasonably priced guest laundry. Gardens in the Atrium.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    6.3
    Room was clean, comfortable bed, staff friendly enough,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room decor outdated, room air-conditioner a little noisy. Waited about 10 minutes to get into hotel at 3am in the morning. Staff notified of delayed flight, just a bit inconvenient at that hour.

    Room was clean, comfortable bed, staff friendly enough, tropical lobby setting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.1
    Beautiful atrium but building looks old
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much to see from hotel room window I booked. Aircon wasn't working properly so had to use the fan all night. Pool was small. Building and walls look old and seems like it need some repainting done to freshen it up.

    The atrium was beautiful! Good location! Food and drinks were yummy from the restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Don't make the mistake of staying elsewhere!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was modern,clean, loved the view & the esplanade & vicinity to town. We found the people of Darwin cheerful & helpful. Staff at Nobatel were happy & helpful also, except for just one staff member in the bar, who appeared aloof. But she was professional. We stayed else where in Darwin for the start of our holiday... It was pleasant but no beautiful water esplanade & shady park!

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: