Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aurora Alice Springs 3.5 stars

11 Leichhardt Tce, 0870 Alice Springs, Australia

#16 of 25 hotels in Alice Springs

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 792 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Good room but bad noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A really horrible noise from the roof of the hotel restaurant pervaded the whole area outside the row of first-floor rooms. Very badly designed, I assume. More blowing noises when waiting for the lift to go up. The lift was quite slow. The staff were helpful in offering me a different room, but the same problem remained.

    The room facilities were good. Plenty of space for laying gear out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    A good location for exploring Alice- a good spot for a night or two
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was dirty in places and the shower recess needed a good scrub in between the tiles.

    A great location, very central to everything, which made it easy for walking around. The room in general was a good size and the bed was very comfortable. The room itself was generally clean. The balcony looks over the dry river bed and street.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Central location with comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall clean and comfortable, although the facilities are certainly not the newest. The central location is a great advantage over many other hotels in Alice Springs. We found the bedding to be quite comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable and quiet, helpful staff, good restaurant, will recommend to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Large quiet comfortable room, friendly helpful staff, good restaurant, outstanding location. The rear entrance takes you to the mall in the centre of Alice Springs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    3.8
    The Aurora was within close walking proximity to the bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there was no bath mat or hand towels and no plug for the hand basin. We arrived in the dark and the light switches were hard to find - eventually we located them above the bed! The bathroom was sub-standard and needs a complete renovation. The wi-fi didn't work for most of the time we were in the room. :(

    The Aurora was within close walking proximity to the bus terminal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable, great location, clean, safe, good parking and good staff in the hotel,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    All was really good except the service at the restaurant wasn't the best. Lots of staff who didn't seem to be very attentive. Fridges were locked one breakfast (no keys to be found) and therefore no milk for cereal or coffee, no yoghurt - we survived but a bit annoying when breakfast has been paid for.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff quite cold and not that welcoming Cleanliness of room poor Air conditioner didn't work in my room resulting in a very hot and stuffy room

    Comfortable bed Great location Easy parking on site

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.7
    I couldn't wait to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Loft
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Other fighting, swearing and loud guests. Hot water pipes banged in the walls. Car park reeked of some S*** odour. Some other guest damaged my trailer.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location and reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was delayed by a few hours. Thanks for giving us a complimentary breakfast and late check out to compensate for this,

    Location is excellent - right near the river and the Todd Mall. Could walk all over town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    I always choose to stay at the aurora while in Alice Springs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tap leaking into cupboard

    For my purpose the location is brilliant. Without a vehicle I can walk to supermarket and carry bags back to the hotel. The walk through the back to the mall and shops is perfect, where the front gives access to the riverside walk and pickup area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location, but shouldn't be a CC surcharge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quite angry, charged more than signed for and a surcharge on CC payment, I've never been charged a CC surcharge at any hotel/motel in my life!

    Excellent location, city centre, good restaurant but...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing and expensive for quality of accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, bizarre bedding with just a sheet, blankets in cupboard even though it dropped to freezing at night, reception wouldn’t agree to a late check out of one hour.

    Good location in centre of Alice Springs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    I have stayed there many times and this time felt the rooms...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed there many times and this time felt the rooms I had were a bit run down The breakfast for $14 was poor I would not bother again However the hotel is in a great spot

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Unfortunately booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why booking.com did this. It was most inconvenient but the hotel was able to sort it out.

    Unfortunately booking.com caused us a great deal of angst by first confirming our three night booking and then subsequently sending confirmations for two nights and one night which meant we had to find the hotels phone number and contact them to ensure that we stayed in the same room for the three nights. Neither we know they could understand Why booking.com did this. It was most inconvenient but the hotel was able to sort it out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.3
    Tired rooms and pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room freezing and heater not very efficient. Breakfast expensive but average quality. Room very tired and badly needs updating.

    Central location, free parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed our stay, great location but make sure you have enough blankets in winter
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds only had sheets made up. Found spare blankets in wardrobe however we still slept cold the first night even with air conditioner turned up (July & nights down to - 3°). Staff happy to supply a second blanket on 2nd night which was much more comfortable.

    Proximity to shops and main street. Clean & fairly comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning could have been more thorough. Bathroom a bit tired and in need of renovation We had to ask for blankets as our beds only had sheets on them?? It’s winter and overnight temperature was 0 or less

    Location was great for us

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.2
    Straight across from the Tod river, where you can see camp fires burning, the car park is so small
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet was absolutely unusable. The car park was so small people were parked in the drive blocking it and double parking. If you have a car do not stay here!

    Nothing, I was annoyed about the car park

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.8
    very disappointing
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The sheer curtains were torn to shreds, dirty and held together with safety pins 2. No staff member to help with luggage which had to be lugged up 2 flights of stairs 3. Pubic hair on the tiles in the shower 4. No tissues available either in the room or at the front desk

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Ground floor room

    The staff were fantastic,extremely helpful and friendly the location was excellent for shopping, eating out or walking tours.The room was spotless, bed comfortable, and very quiet air conditioner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Good budget choice in Alice Springs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alice Springs is not the type of place I would want to spend an extended period of time in. Bit sketchy & creepy.

    The location of the property on Leichhardt Terrace was bang on for me coming off the Larapinta Trail (the connector track from the Telegraph Station rolls into town past here), Loren on the front desk was really helpful & the $14 breakfast great value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.6
    Glad I left
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired rooms with little character. Barely comfortable. The restaurant is terrible and only customers are guests (should have been a warning)

    Good location on Todd mall

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Location. Location. Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was located on the ground floor. No view to speak of. Looked like the daily service had not been completed e.g. no cups and only 1 wine glass. Very popular time with Finke desert Race so price was high.

    Location of the Aurora was excellent. Walk right out in to the heart of the CBD. The Red Ochre Restaurant provides very good meals. Staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location and the airport shuttle was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little sketchy as we had to wait for most things which had run out. The lady serving was great and doing her best but would suggest with the amount of rooms that there are two staff for breakfast. Otherwise fab.

    Location and shuttle to airport. Also large rooms with an excellent restaurant linked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    Convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no microwave so I'll choose more carefully next time. As I was there for a few days I wanted to save some dollars so I was hoping for a microwave. The car park is a tight fit although it is peak season.

    Good central location with secure under cover parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Good for short stay, families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit dirty. There were never enough towels for the number of people in the room, no bath mat.

    The location was amazing. The restaurant attached was nice for dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a big thing, but it didn’t have a kitchenette - we enjoyed eating out, but I do like being able to at least have a microwave.

    We got a king room, and were quite happy with the size of the room and it’s amenities. The location really was the selling point for us. We were in walking distance of all of the restaurants and bars/pubs we could want - and the cinema and shops as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    Location is good; located in the CBD. Other more luxurious options are quite far from city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast features powdered reconstituted eggs “scrambled” YUK. Staff is anxious to hurry you out when your meal is finished. Housekeeping does not provide fresh towels and only one bath towel and one hand towel greets you in your room. The one elevator is small. There is no assistance with luggage.

    The front desk staff is incredibly good. If you arrive, as I did, without tours booked, they’ll help. I Suggest Outback Elite Tours/Filippo Gelada for tailored yet well-priced tours!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    After moving to a different room, the stay was good overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had to request a different room as the room allocated was unsatisfactory. The 3rd room was acceptable although the bathroom was quite small. The room looked onto the roof over the entrance and was noisy when tour pickups occurred. This was usually only for short periods of time.

    Close to town facilities and places to visit. Staff were helpful with information about the town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    The location is really perfect, that is the one big plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As many others already have written, you have to keep the curtains closed to have some private sphere. It was very noisy often at night with a bunch of drunken tourists in the hotel running in front of your windowfront, and I had a room with a door to the next room, so I could enjoy their music at 1:30 a.m. Wifi didn`t work properly, there was no room service for 3 days over the Easter weekend and the pool was very cold and hidden. I wouldn`t describe my stay there as very relaxing and convenient, but the value for money was okay. Good option for 1 night though, the better hotels in the south of Alice Springs are quite a long walk away from the center, especially in the dark or when it´s hot you will appreciate a central location.

    The location is really perfect, that is the one big plus. I didn`t have breakfast there so I can`t judge that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful, I stay here every chance I get.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that let me down were the bed sheets, a nice blanket on the bed would of been nice. Maybe that's something the Aurora should think about, especially since winter is coming :)

    The rooms are nice and cozy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Great place to lay one's hat after (or before) an Uluru adventure! Good restaurant attached.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our "Upgraded" rooms were comfortable enough but looked out onto a brick wall. I guess from a positive perspective it meant one was not disturbed by street noise!

    We were upgraded from a standard to a deluxe room which was kind. Book early if you can to get best rates!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were a little in need of renovation.

    Good staff. Good location in centre of AS. Restaurant was good. Much better than we expected for the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Great Alice Springs location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This motel was within walking distance of stores and facilities in Alice Springs. We found the reception area and staff to be very welcoming, we could drop off our luggage early and they found us an empty room so that we could check in before 2.00 pm. which was a great help to us. We ate dinner there and certainly enjoyed the generous self service breakfast before departing for an early flight.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Good basic accommodation in the heart of Alice Springs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities felt old and a bit rundown. Pool was small, dark and with no outside view.

    Excellent location close to main pedestrian mall, tourist info, groceries, restaurants and tour operators.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    5.8
    STAFF IS VERY GOOD
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    BUT THE FACILITY IS TOO OLD AND ENVIROMENT IS TOO DIRTY. IN THE ROOM , I SEE MANY MANY DIFFERENT INSECT and THE AIRCONDITOR IS NOT WORKING VERY WELL. AFTER CHANGING ROOM ,A LITTLE BETTER ,I CAN BEAR ALL DAY NIGHT.

    STAFF IS VERY GOOD

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.3
    Staff contacted as regards parking and he replied saying...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff contacted as regards parking and he replied saying when he finishes at 2300hrs, he’ll call to let me know so for the time been to park on the kerb. Asked him, why not park on the kerb so I park in the parking lot, his reply was it’s not safe. But ‘‘twas okay for the the customer to park in an unsafe place and yet he still did not call. Free wifi was part of the deal, but could hardly use the internet as it never worked. Can they pls stop giving the 3gb username and password and make it general for easy use as well as upgrade the wifi to accomodate people.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.5
    I went to see the outback and the gorges arond Alice. The motel provided a starting point for my hoi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Loft
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beings on level 2 and having to climb stairs to get there. With a suit case, I found it a bit treacherous and felt lack of balance.

    Though a bit pricey, the restaurant was good, and the staff were very welcoming and served food and drinks with a positive manner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Value for money its great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower wasn't clean and the air vent in the shower very dusty, after we were told at check in that the room was newly renovated, if they could improve this then its great value for money

    Room size was great, Bed was comfy & aircon worked well, great location, great price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    4.6
    Rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room, the lack of customer service, not the room I had been given despite the confirmation email. No apology given at any time. Take it or leave it attitude. Not good enough

    Despite a total of 13 emails, 4 phone calls from my daughter in Sydney to this hotel regarding the accommodation, it was only the 12 th email confirming my request to change from a loft room. The booking was made and payment taken in July 2017 yet it took them weeks to email me with confirmation that I had a ground floor room near reception. Arrived at hotel no groundfloor room for me. On second floor lift access, help with luggage so agreed. Room was dark, patio doors looking onto brick wall. Electric light on all the time. Power cut second day, woman stuck in lift so did stairs with some of my luggage, other taken in lift by staff member. No free chilled water offered during power cut, no apology when checked out. Worst hotel ever stayed in. As it was too hot to be outside I just wanted to rest from train journey on the Ghan in a pleasant room with a view. There were other rooms on same floor with patio doors looking out onto the roof garden. My room was horrible. To travel all the way from the UK and given such a rubbish room was very upsetting. It was just a two day stop over before flying to Melbourne. Very very disappointing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    Alice Spring is advertising with: "Enjoy the silence" - and yes it is correct.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very centrel located, for a very good price. If you need a hotel to go for day trips into the Ranges and Gorges Aurora is recommended. (Free safe parking place is included)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.1
    Average accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, I did not touch any mini bar consumables as none were included in the cost for my room. The shower was not efficient and not clean. The tv was very small for the room

    The room was small but the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Good stay for before/after Uluru/Kings Canyon tours
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we got on our first night (before starting tour) was smaller than expected and the bathroom had not been cleaned properly. I ended up rinsing down the shower myself as there was dust and cobwebs all in the corners.

    The location was good and the restaurant downstairs was great for both lunch/dinner and the hotels optional breakfast was also there. The second room we stayed in (after our tour) on the 3rd floor was very nice apart from a musty smell in the bathroom. But it was relatively clean and had a big comfy bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    We stayed for one night. Staff was friendly and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit of noise coming from the corridor and pool area late at night. It's not the hotel's fault but telling people to lower the volume would've been nice

    Nice and clean room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.1
    Fair value hotel right in the centre of Alice Springs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom needed an upgrade, basin hot tap did not work. We advised reception that we could manage for one night though. We could not get a drink at the hotel, the attached restaurant would only serve drinks with food.

    The hotel is in an excellent location in the centre of Alice Springs. Reception staff were helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electric kettle should be changed to a stainless steel one, the coating from kettle inside kept dislodged though water boiled and repeatedly changed

    Staff are excellent, approachable & helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location and comfortable room for your stay in Alice Springs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here for two nights, one before and one after the 3-day Uluru tour. During the first one, Internet was not working, which was a bit of an issue for some planning we had to do. They normally give you 1.5 gigs of free Wi-Fi per stay, which is perfect... technical difficulties can't be controlled, I know, but this one wasn't fixed for a whole day.

    Great location, right in the middle of "The Mall" -the walking strip of Alice Springs. Room was of good size and comfortable, with AC, a mini fridge and a water kettle for tea and coffee. Staff was friendly. We could also leave our luggage here while we went to the 3-day tour to Uluru, which was great for our convenience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.7
    We enjoyed our stay even though the room was overpriced for the age & tiredness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old & tired room, particularly the bathroom. No where to put your things in the shower. The lift to the upper level could do with a good clean.

    The bed & pillows were very comfortable. The light in the bathroom was great. The location was good. The restaurant was great, particularly the evening meal. Well priced meal & friendly staff. Nice clean foyer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.1
    Loved. Every moment perfect location. Great place. T o stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better room service but still ok!

    Lovely sunny location on second floor felt very tropical great for (getting to the mall. For shopping and restaurants. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.9
    We found the staff friendly, the rooms clean and the location great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is right in the centre of Alice Springs, with access directly onto the mall and shopping area. It offered everything we needed and most was within walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    The staff are familiar and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are familiar and very helpful. The rooms are clean and private. There is a good restaurant downstairs and the town and park are just outside the door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    3.3
    Bring your own cleaning supplies to this property
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of sewer, the dirty shower, and having to kill bugs.

    What i liked was leaving and going to the Daly Waters Pub to get a clean place to stay and shower. Our room smelled of sewer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Convenient spot to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Screen door didn't lock from the outside.

    Great, central spot. Chose this because it was where my tour pickup was. Good to have the stairs directly down to Red Ochre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable, enjoyable. Nice being "downtown" and not too noisy!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff seemed a little shy about helping us out with questions!?! No smiles or a "welcoming attitude" that we usually experience with front counter staff. Not too knowledgable about places to eat nearby??

    Central location. Easy access to downtown shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.7
    This establishment used to be great but over the last 2 years is going downhill.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Vomit from balcony/room above not cleaned up during the 2 nights I stayed. Main lights in room not working so very dark. Tear in middle of curtain. Over use of room/air freshener so difficult to breath.

    Location is great. Reception staff (especially Maria) were really good and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    The location couldn't be more convenient, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all to complain about.

    Very convenient location, friendly staff, Taiwanese attendent at breakfast buffet was very helpful, we've stayed there at a previous trip and would choose Aurora again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Centre of Alice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaking toilet & old grubby shower base. Happy to sacrifice this for the price/ location.

    Great location on Todd Mall & good value with breakfast. Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    Necessary trip to Alice Springs for study.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer didn't work. Pool water was too cold. Noises in the street kept my husband awake.

    Walking distance from Alice Springs Hospital where I was studying. Enjoyed Sunday market.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    Perfect base for exploring Alice and the Red Centre, and good value, too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Aurora is obviously popular with tour groups, so it can take a while to check in if you get your timing wrong.

    We were only there one night, but it was comfortable and fair value, as well as really well located. The parking was a bonus and the building was quite attractive. We'd happily use the Aurora again if we're back in Alice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    4.2
    Meh!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most depressing room and hotel ever. Dark, dingy and seriously in need of a full referb. Staff ok, not rude, but not overly friendly, welcoming or helpful The whole place had a seedy 1970's motel feel and I'm glad we were only there two nights

    Location only

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Comfort on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable, in a clean, spacious room. The reception staff were helpful and polite. We we able to walk through the main street at night as it was in a safe, convenient location. Breakfast was adequate for an early start. Bathroom was of a standard reflective of the price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Very well worth staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bottom of shower slightly unclean. Pool was too cold to get in. Maybe a heated one would be better.

    Aurora Hotel was very central to everything in Alice Springs. Very comfortable. The restaurant food was delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location and friendly staff, the room was good value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was that I found a small red wine stain on my sheets when I arrived and it was still there after housekeeping so I felt like they just remade my bed with dirty sheets.

    Great location and friendly staff, the room was good value for money and conveniently located close to Todd mall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Excellent location in the center of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    Excellent location in the center of town. Pleasant courtyards nice trees so a relaxing outlook. On site restaurant serves good meals. All the staff were friendly and helpful with local knowledge. Room was a decent size to live in for a week.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel with good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was quite noisy. Also, when I asked the receptionist to book me a taxi to go to the airport, he booked me a car with private driver instead without informing me (something I only realized when we were already on our way). This way, I had to pay 15 AUD more for the ride compared to getting from the airport to the hotel when I first arrived.

    The staff was very friendly. It was very nice that I could leave my bags at the hotel when going on a multi-day tour. The free wifi works well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    4.6
    Warning! Do not book the spa room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid for a self contained spa room which had a kingsize bed. Bathroom disgusting with ceiling mold, peeling paint, smelly, had no windows, low ceiling and no exhaust vent! Old corner spa which at least worked. Sofas in sitting area old and uncomfortable. No doona so doubled up 2 thin blankets which were in the cupboard as prefer not to sleep with a heater during the night. Floor in bathroom very slippery when wet with bad floor drainage. Décor, dark green floor to ceiling shiny tiles. Come on Aurora! to pay over $200 for a spa room which was not at all pleasant is not on! When mentioned at check out the reception lady just laughed a little nervously....

    The king size bed was old but comfortable...The Ochre Native Grill restaurant which is attached to the back of motel with entry in the Todd Street Mall was Aurora's saving grace for us! Great food service and large serves at reasonable prices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Very good location, friendly staff, but our room was not disabled friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not friendly for those who may be disabled or have difficulty with walking or balance, as the step into shower is quite high. Maybe a question should be posed to those booking as to their ability. Shower base in need of repair as is outdated and appeared either very worn or dirty. Didn't like that you had to get to restaurant via a carpark.

    Very good location, right in the heart of town. Staff were generally very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.0
    Meh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a pubic hair on the4 toilet seat, no drain in the sink and we were charged for 2 bottles of water we didn't drink

    we used the microwave from reception

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lowest price room was basic with no view but had all the amenities and was clean and well presented. Upgrade for a little more light, space and view especially if staying longer than overnight. The bathrooms are functional but need updating.

    Excellent central location. Friendly efficient staff. Clean rooms. Minimal noise transference between rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.4
    Acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is slightly rundown. Water tap could not be turned off completely. Weird door to room as there was a gate before the room door. Difficult to tell if room was locked properly

    Staff were helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.9
    good location which meant we could walk and not move the car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    car parking was terrible difficult to get in and out of and not many parks for the number of rooms. we saw staff parking there so that also cut down on parks. also no power points next to the bed we had to ask for an extension cord as my husband uses a cpap machine for sleeping

    good location which meant we could walk and not move the car

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.1
    Cold at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was cvery cold at night despite having an extra blanket. The blankets are very thin nylon and not at all warm. I doubled them up so I had four layers but was still cold. The aircon didn't work as a heater - just blew out chilled air! You need to invest in some warm blankets!

    Central location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Staff were amazing Room was very clean and organised only...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were amazing Room was very clean and organised only thing there was no mini bar menu unfortunately but when I had to pay for it was surprised by the price very cheap unlike normal hotel Over all loved my stay thankyou very much

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.3
    It was easy walking distance to restaurants and shops so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was easy walking distance to restaurants and shops so taking your car out is not necessary. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    Perfectly adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were 3 of us but only 2 towels provided. Reception quickly remedied this upon request. The floors were a little dirty - our feet got black when we walked around in bare feet.

    The hotel is very well located, convenient to the mall, restaurants and attractions. The restaurant in the hotel was good with interesting options (e.g. crocodile ribs) well prepared and nicely presented.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: