Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4 stars

138 Ferny Ave, Surfers' Paradise, 4217 Gold Coast, Australia

#94 of 128 hotels in Gold Coast

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 500 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    The size of the room I got was huge, and equipped with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very efficient to the point of being almost abrupt, but the might have been because it was a busy time.

    The size of the room I got was huge, and equipped with everything I needed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Good Hotel overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upkeep of rooms.

    Property is well located in Gold Coast and the room has good space. The upkeep of the rooms and the response by the maintenance staff can be improved. The reception is well manned with supportive and smiling people.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.0
    below average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    units were aged. shower rose was broken minimal dishes in the kitchen in the unit. furniture very worn. evening dinner via room service was disgusting. Front desk staff abrupt. had to pay for valet service which was not expected in a very standard hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    The hotel provided very good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Navigation in lift and corridor: signs could be more explanatory. E.g. Came out of lift, didn't know which direction to take. Would have liked to have a separate shower cubicle. (Concern for less mobile elderly persons slipping while standing in the bath)

    The room was quiet and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable, and close to where I needed to be.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It took some minutes for the hot water to come through in the morning, wasting a lot of water. Ironing board cover needed to be renewed.

    Bed was surprisingly comfortable. I had a ground floor room next to the spa which I was concerned about for noise, however it was great. The shower was good pressure and good hot water. Towels were in very good condition and comfortable. Plenty of room to move about and sit. Much better than a hotel room. WiFi was excellent- again much better than hotels at 3 times the price. A short stroll to Surfers and a few good cafes within 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.0
    not as good as photos
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms was dirty. they didn't have a heat pool like it say had very up set kids they didn't book the rooms right the bathroom was broken and bath tub had cracked in it. the chairs was all ripped the sofa bed had urine marks all over the bed , no mattress protectors. not a enough cutlery or dinner set for a family no blankets or enough pillows or towels fridges did not work properly no parking unless you pay and they have to drive your car and keep your keys. not worth the money. have to pay for BBQ thing. need more helpful and friendly staff members needs a bigger tv microwave stop work and staff members was not pleasant to deal with

    the location and the nice big rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    enjoyed our stay and would definitly stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pillows due to be renewed. bathroom soon needs an update.

    The room was large, the bathroom far enough away to give some privacy. the beds were comfy. Staff on reception very helpful. shop very convenient and reasonably priced. Close to North Surfers Paradise tram stop made getting around without a car easy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Good Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms (including the bathroom) had plenty of space and was very quite even with the room facing the highway. Its a 10 minute walk to Caville Ave, and about 3 to the tram stop. Good value for money especially as we stayed during the Commonwealth games. The bag weigh machine isn't so spot on as we found once we got to the airport!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    The room was minimalist but very stylish - felt relaxed...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although there was a kitchen there probably wasn't enough items to cook with. Really could only heat things in the microwave.

    The room was minimalist but very stylish - felt relaxed straight away. Enjoyed the spa - it was a shame you had to pay for towels (?!). All the staff were friendly and happy to mind bags for us prior to check in. Close to the tram (2 mins) to Surfers and walking distance to the shops and beach. Quiet with nice views. Would happily stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    A very pleasant stay in a good hotel, in a great spot. A little TLC would turn good to great though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately our air-conditioning didn't work, but we were quickly provided with a fan on asking. Due to the fact we had no air-con we wanted to leave windows open over-night, but the road noise made that difficult - so that was an issue. The main bedroom had a fan but one of our party was sleeping in the lounge and it got quite stuffy. The bathroom would appreciate an update but it was very functional and had all we could wish for - great size. There was also some confusion with our dates in and out, but again the helpful and friendly staff didn't make a song-and-dance about it and it was sorted with minimal disruption. The pool was very inviting - but the water was freezing! Great wake-up call.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Location was superb for transport links as we had a 90-year old with us and had come up for the Closing Ceremony of the Commonwealth Games. A very short walk to bus and tram stops; and an easy walk into Surfers. Although the hotel is sited on a busy main road, we felt relaxed and peaceful when using the pool and spa. The restaurant looked inviting but was unfortunately closed for lunch over the weekend we were there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuffing was coming out pillow, power board behind bed broken and an electrical hazard. Kitchen inadequate for cooking. Housekeeping very poor. No assistance offered to help me struggle up ramp with trolley full of luggage. Spa cold, sauna seat broken and safety hazard.

    All female staff friendly helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable room, convenient location and best shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small things, but the tea and coffee supplied was not great quality and the cups provided were tiny.

    Comfortable and quiet, own private balcony and one of the best showers I've come across in an hotel. I would be happy to return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    Rooms were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Poor pillows. Thin small towels. Shower difficult to adjust and bathroom dated. Its in a good spot away from the main part of Surfers but in urgent need of an upgrade. Complex very "tired"

    Rooms were clean. Continental breakfasts were ok. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    close to surfers and transport so convenient three minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    when we check in the female staff member wasn't friendly she look tired and ye we were there so she just help us to check in, when I asked questions she seem not interested and she just pointed to the information desk across about how to visit the game venue. However when we check out the female staff member was super friendly and helpful :) and she even print out on how to visit the second venue for the GC 2018 games. This role suit her to help tourist and thank you !!! But the room a bit dirty and stain on the carpet next to the bed look like wasn't clean for many days. for the price we paid close to $200 a night ,the room is standard nothing special.

    close to surfers and transport so convenient three minutes walk to tram station and train straight to Pacific fair/ Broadbeach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing and perfect location with plenty of room but poor sleep offering for the price paid.
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having paid $350 a night due to the Comm Games price hike and clearly stating that four people would be staying in the room, we were hoping for more than a saggy couch bed for the remaining two people to sleep on. We would have much preferred to squeeze two people on another single bed instead of sleeping on the couch bed. It sagged so much in the middle it was better to sleep with the mattress directly on the floor which even then was incredibly hard due to the springs in the mattress.

    The location was perfect, pool/spa facilities were beautiful and the room was very spacious. Perhaps the extra room in the apartment could be used to place another bed though?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.4
    Poor value stay at $200-plus a night (including breakfast) for a dated three-star establishment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decore / interior decoration in rooms and public areas is very dated.... Check-out at 10am is too early. No accommodation for early or late check-in / out. Breakfast only includes poor instant coffee. They expect guests to pay extra for proper machine-made coffee ($4.50 +), even if they have already paid $20 for breakfast, which is really mean. The Internet was pretty slow.

    They gave me free breakfast after a misunderstanding over breakfast charging

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Convenient to transport and beaches and shops and restaurents, good spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The only thing wrong in the room was that the fridge was sitting inside the wardrobe which meant it couldnt be used properly and since we were there for eight nights we needed to use it so we took the fridge out of there and problem solved .

    When I booked this property and then read some of the reviews online I was worried but I need not have been , we only booked a hotel room not an apartment so it wasnt huge but it was comfortable . Beds were comfortable, shower was lovely and hot and the staff were wonderful ,. There Restaurent was also good we ate dinner there a few nights and the food was good and the price was good .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.1
    Generally a nice hotel but room furnishing tired and very small size tv.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was out of date in terms of furnishing and condition of the furniture. The lounge was large with a miniature size tv. Paying $300 dollars a year in advance to get very average room was disappointing. There was also a $15 dollar valet parking fee which was annoying on arrival.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfectly suitable for my short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs some repairs wood rotting. Kitchen needs large bowl and maybe a cooker as restaurant not open for lunch. Foxtel or movies would be good.

    Great bed free wifi kitchen ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel but need to heat the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the stunning pool not being heated it was like ice; even my kids 4.5 and 10.5 would not go in - unheard of for kids. Given this, we will not be staying again unless they choose to heat the pool.

    Good location, rooms old but comfortable, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise at 2am on two mornings as rubbish collected at golden gate motel. Took two days to get light fixed. Bathroom cabinet was water damaged and faint musty smell.

    Location to public transport for cg2018

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The veranda had not been cleaned in a very long time. Room service closed at 8pm but that was not mentioned anywhere on the menu. The kitchen only had a drinks fridge in a family room. Given a room on the ground floor (without views) after specifically requesting views. Would not recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.1
    Pool , room was nice .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughter ordered room service and the lady was rude to her and the meal was cold when we got it . Cake was hard . BLT has tiny bit of bacon and limited all fat chucky chicken basically was a cold lettuce sandwich. Asked for cheese got none . I didn’t even touch pizza smelled gross . Really disappointed in food

    Pool , room was nice . Bed comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Alpha Sovereign was absolutely amazing and definitely exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only flaw was the curtain didn’t close properly and the light came in a little early!

    The room was huge. Big enough to sleep 5 people. The shower was amazing. The aircon was fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Poor internet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet was useless. It was an open network, so not secure. But the worst was that the signal was so poor that it was unuseable. In my room I could not even find the signal, let alone connect. They have a cable that you can use (only in the lobby) as so many people must have trouble on an ongoing basis. Internet is a must for so many travellers that for this reason alone I would not recommend this hotel. They should get their act together and fix this. The hotel just next door has great internet, so it's obviously a problem at the Alpha Soverign itself.

    Compared to other properties in the area, this hotel is good value. Rooms are worn out but very spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was smelly. It had not been cleaned properly. The milk in the fridge had been used. There were mail clippings on the seats stains on the walls and cigarette butts on the balcony.

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.7
    The stay was uncomfortable the lady manager was abusive n rude.. and 1of the staff had a rant and s
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the valet parking.. we were told we couldnt drive our car underneath to the carpark by the manager.. you cant go in and out with your car because you have to get the manager to go and drive it out to you!!it cost $15 a day.. and they apparently keep your key in there office.. thats just ridiculous.. even though its locked up underneath the resort you should be able to access your car anytime you want it..

    The sauna n pool

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.7
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms could use with a touch up, bathroom needs to be redone. Shower leaked and sprayed on to the ceiling. Bed wasn't very comfortable.

    Good location walking distance to the tram station. Great breakfast and pool area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    5.8
    Ordinary
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 021 needs attention. The shower head was broken. No shower recess so the bathroom flooded. The iron was broken and the ironing board was hanging by a thread. Overall there was a lack of cleanliness. The bathroom smelt. The outdoor area was filthy. Being on the ground floor, the outdoor area was enclosed with a brick wall...so no view, no greenery. Couldn’t wait to leave.

    Staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.1
    It was all ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was terrible and the place didn’t some fixing like the kitchen and bathroom cupboards were falling apart but other than that the room were nice enough . My only big degative was the aircon was very dirty I cleane the filters myself which is a 3 min job and they were clogged up and the aircon was full of mould hadn’t been cleaned for ages

    Room was good and location good the kids room and pool were good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.1
    Good location and facilities, but room outdated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room although was a good size, looked outdated, bed was uncomfortable and bouncy, and the TV was so small and far away from the lounge I could hardly see it, thought was a bit poor for a four star Hotel

    Good location within walking distance to centre, good facilities and restaurant with fair prices

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.3
    Great place to stay if your looking for somewhere cheap but still local and with great facilities. T
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were quite outdated and not very clean. The fan in my room also didn't work. The lunch/dinner menu at flavours didn't have much variety

    I really liked the buffet breakfast, and the other facilities were really great (pool, spa and sauna)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    4.6
    The location was great but the property is just not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs to be updated and repaired. Beds were like rock, curtains are to small for window so we were up with the sun every morning. Cutlery in the kitchenette had not been cleaned properly and still had food on it. Some staff were just blunt and came off rude.

    The buffet breakfast was well priced

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.7
    Good location but showing signs of age
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs a refurb - opened in the mid 90’s and doesn’t look like it’s had any work done since then. Housekeeping not brilliant. Long black hair on shower wall tiles. Black mould to shower screen door seals. Soap scum to base of shower screen. Should be picked up during check arrival. Toilet roll holders rusty. Huge crack to bench on right hand side of basin. Hair dryer new but one of those wall motel style wall mounted ones that are hopelessly inefficient. Scuff mark to wall in bedroom to rhs of artwork above dining table. Only 1 thin pillow per bed (using twin beds as travelling with friend) and no spares in cupboard. Ambient noise (talking) from adjacent room very noticeable. Grounds/gardens need some love! The gravel area between the building proper, in front of room balcony and fence had randomly sprouted plants in it and a pine log from something/somewhere just lying on the ground. Having no choice but to pay $15 for valet parking was really annoying. What happened to parking your own vehicle? Only other option which wasn’t really an option was to park on the street.

    Its location, the size of the room, it had a refrigerator and a balcony. Air con worked effectively. Dining table in the room useful. Bathroom spacious. Shower only, no bath. Basic in room tea and coffee selection. Longlife milk provided. Buffet breakfast price for full hot at 19.90 or Continental at 12.90 very reasonable and selection adequate for the price and of good quality. Restaurant staff friendly and obliging. Reception staff could do with seeming a bit happier about being there! Guys working the driveway/parking very efficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Very adequate & comfortable for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen facilities not great but luckily we weren’t relying on them too much

    Comfortable bed, lots of space, great water pressure in the shower & never had to wait long for our car with the valet service. Close to the beach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.7
    We stayed there many times - nothing has changed in the past...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front office staff- contrary to the previous times- they were RUDE, ARROGANT and Incompetent

    We stayed there many times - nothing has changed in the past 10 years 😀

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    3.3
    Crappy
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were super rude and I wouldn’t recommend this place to anyone especially the ranga lady at the front desk

    It was all amazing until we got to alpha

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    4.2
    Great location, but the property really needs some tlc and a good clean and upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty, you couldn’t sit on the lounge because it was so uncomfortable and you sank into the sofa bed, the bathroom had mould in the shower and on the floor tiles, all the cutlery etc in the kitchenette was dirty, and the staff were rude.

    The pool facilities, the location and the price wasn’t bad for this time of year

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    Served its purpose well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty run down. Kitchen, bathrooms etc all in dire need of maintenance or renovation. Kind of expected more for the price we paid. Also the balconys were great but very dirty floor and chairs and table. The staff were super helpful though and the room was nice and quiet.

    Good location, pool was great and room was set up well

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    3.8
    This place needs to renovate and get real about what value means.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed a lot of maintenance. Kitchenette had very little, as in one teaspoon. Staff didn’t seem to care. Parking is an extra cost which isn’t mentioned in the booking.

    The pool is nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.0
    The room was very run down and disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very run down and smelly. Lots of broken things like lights, shower head, bench tops. The bathroom wasn’t cleaned properly before our stay.

    The staff in the restaurant were lovely! The restaurant and pool area was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    Not a bad hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As my room did not have a balcony and the windows are locked due to th AC the room tended to get smelly. Come back from pool and hang everything in the bathroom but the chlorine smell remains as it has nowhere to go.

    Pool was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    3.3
    Some of the staff was so rude.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff was so rude.. One of the lady name starts with J she alwz do night shift she is such a nice girl nd nice employee you guys have.. rest all the staff is not good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    5.0
    expect nothing and you will be satisfied
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything

    I didn't like it at all. In fact we were to stay 2 nights but we left after the first night. The room was damp and smelly and a rotten orange was left under my bed. Our room had a few of the garbage and staff parking and we were woken by the garbage truck. When we went for dinner there was only one staff member and a huge line. The staff member on duty that night taken orders was the only 5 star quality you had. She was amazing. This is the night of the 25th of December. A night that was suppose to be special. After about 25 minutes we finally got served and I am assuming because there was only 1 chef on the food was rushed and tasteless. We had to assume what we wanted to drink as if we didn't order it the same time as the meal we would have had to wait another 25 minutes in the line. It was probably in my top 5 worst experiences in a restaurant. Really I should have a complete refund of the worst experience from a hotel ever.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    5.4
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment was very old and not well maintained, you had wait forever for your car valet service nearly 35 mins and not a word that even sounded like sorry... obviously they don't really care.

    Location was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.1
    nice to get away,
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed needs up dating, the fact that you have to pay for parking is very disappointing for what you are paying, starting to look a little dated. The menu should be different if you are dining down stairs, to room service needs more choice of menu as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Love this hotel will be back next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    There isn't parking unless you pay 15 bucks for it and the beds are hard as rocks. I had to sleep on the couch in my room.

    I loved this hotel The pool and grounds were beautiful. A short walk to the beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    5.8
    They charge for everything which is just pathetic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging for every little thing.

    They charge for everything which is just pathetic. $2 to use a pool towel! And there’s a games room but everything costs money so it was empty. There’s a pool table - costs money. It’s disgusting to have to pay at a hotel that is already paid for. The hallways aren’t air conditioned and our room wasn’t pre-cooled so it was 40 degrees when we checked in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.1
    No brewed coffee for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terribly noisy Chinese guests making a racket everywhere. At breakfast no brewed coffee. Come on guys you can do better than sachet coffee considering brekky has cost me twenty bucks!!!

    Good value and very spacious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.7
    Handy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very tired! The kitchenette is falling to pieces as is the cabinetry in the bathroom. Had a shabby feel and a stale smell.

    Handy location. Large room. Beds comfortable!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.7
    that morning manager who was on duty on 13,14 Nov is a kind...
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    that named Tyxxx night manager and that tall skinny blonde lady were so rude! and both has cold icy heart. i booked two family rooms. but my sister and her husband who came to GC for their daughter's graduation were refused to get checked in, because booking name was not them. although they got permission from morning manager after i explained to him as i was in nz airport. my poor sister and brotherinlaw who can't speak english had to wandered around a few hours in a stranger city.

    that morning manager who was on duty on 13,14 Nov is a kind man. as he learned our situation, he apologized, and offered us breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The shower chair in the accessible room needs to be changed to a padded seat to avoid pressure area's forming

    We liked the location to shopping and surrounding area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the wait time for meals at the restaurant was way to long it took 45 minutes to get meals.a part from that it was okay.we

    the apartment was spacish the bed was very comfortable and great views

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing finish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked a 5pm flight and requested a late check out. I was told that would be fine then as I was heading out on my last day I was told I had to be out of my room by 11am. I ended up sitting in the foyer all day as it was raining outside. I even asked did they have a room I could use for the day and they said no. There’s no way the place was fully booked. It was a Monday!!!

    The location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    It worked out to be sufficient for what I needed, probably a little pricey for the room we got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very small, but ok for what I needed, but at $204 per night probably a bit pricey. Light shades could do with a clean. Only parking onsite is valet, which does work well, but it just appears to be a way to extract more money from you.

    Staff were great, room was clean, facilities were good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities were a little run down but still good value for money.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly Dorotea who I highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    Overall apart from the checkout we had a nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    front staff member very rude and aggressive about car park fee that we were not told about. Definitely didn't get the "customer is always right " attitude from her. Was not nice!

    large sized room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very upset checking in because my dad book the trip and paid for it for me and my daughter's from Sydney and when I got to the hotel they refused to take my dad's credit card that was paid in full prior to arriving and made me pay nearly $700 out of my own pocket that made me short of money for the weekend I was not happy!!!!! And I have been talking a lot with you guys as well

    Nice pool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    4.2
    Budget dated accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dated, very old furniture and the bed was old and small. One pillow each. They were unwilling to give extra towels or pillows. TV was ridiculously small and no Foxtel. The price for what you got was terrible. Expect better rooms and service.

    It had a great pool, spa and sauna. Room was huge but that’s all I could say about it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.0
    never again here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Surprise $15 per day parking(not on booking site-rip off); bottles fall out of sloping fridge;1 bar of soap only; very dim lighting; ultra noisy throbbing air con;inefficient shower plug hole;and more

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel and will be my choice of stay on next visit and very happy to recommend it to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 010 and it was a fantastic room just very noisy as is right beside main doors and alot of times the guests were loudly talking, cars coming and going. The noise level didnt leave us having a good night sleep and both of us were exhausted, BUT, the staff were fantastic, the hotel is clean and everything is there. It's a great hotel and I would return but only if I got a room higher up and away from front door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Busy, good size suite with hidden charges
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in girls on arrival where grumpy, rude and slow. Check-out Gentleman was quick efficient and friendly making it hard to score staff with a single icon. Extra charge - $15 for car per night unacceptable. This should be highlighted next to overall price as it impacts on the nightly cost.

    Huge suite at excellent price(thank-you Booking.com!). Great views and easy lift access. Easy walk to Surfers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    All in all had a good experience, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From the main balcony the sewerage smell was a quite over-powering. The double bed was a bit uncomfortable. Have some mugs as well as the smaller cups in the room and in the dining room. The small ones are hard for some to pick up. Air conditioner in the bedroom would have been nice. There was no iron in the room and we were told on several occasions that one would be brought to us but never was. Luckily I had brought my own. The shower head kept falling down.

    Convenient location. The food was excellent and reasonably priced, especially the breakfast. Room was very spacious. Friendly staff. Would happily stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.3
    Good place but very much a busy tourist hotel and a bit ompwrsonal but yhat did not bother me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices not dosplayed in the shop, snack items on shelves in foyer for sale.

    I decided I could do better rhan $20 for nrrakfast and went out to a cafe for breakfast. Testaurant was good value for money but a very limited menu. I would stay there agsin.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    4.6
    It was quiet noisy as you could hear everything on bottom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quiet noisy as you could hear everything on bottom floor, the lounges were uncomfortable and the beds were uncomfortable. Leaving a deposit also is a little annoying when you have already paid for your room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    Very nice place, choose close to all you could need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    *Sofa bed was could not be used as it was broken. *Coffee machine did not work properly. *Fan did not function correctly.

    *Pin Ball Machines *Gym *Sauna *Spa *Pool *Balcony *Spa [in room] *The view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    We love the location. It isn't a huge high rise building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff are a bit abrupt. The restaraunt was disapointing.

    The hotel is close to the beach. You can walk to the shops etc. The cleaners are really friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Great floor layout and really roomy for 1 room apartment.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was located above some pumps etc of the adjoining hotel. Constant machinery noise even with doors and windows closed.

    Great floor layout and really roomy for 1 room apartment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    The rooms although big are very dated and tired, i.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms although big are very dated and tired, i.e. the bench tops are chipped, the carpet is very old, the vinyl tiles in the kitchen and bathroom are in need of replacing or making over.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.0
    The lady for the night shift at receiption was very rude.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady for the night shift at receiption was very rude. She didn't tell us there was breakfast including I will never think to book there again

    The lady for the night shift at receiption was very rude. She didn't tell us there was breakfast including I will never think to book there again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    Price ok but don't expect too much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms seemed to be dark due to watt saver lamps and a lot of bugs in the lamp shade. There was only a mini bar fridge . I was by myself so it just served the purpose of cooling my drinks and keep the cheese cold. The freezer part was not working so no ice cubes and in the freezer u could not even get a frozen microwave meal in it. And it was not cooling to full capacity. It should have clearly stated small bar fridge. The kitchen utencils where not complete. No charp knife for cheese,basically nothing than just 4 soup spoons,knife ,fork and 1 teaspoon.2 dinner plates 4 cups and saucer. No champagne glasses just wine and water glasses To be fair the toaster and kettle where working fine. The carpet and sofa where clearly dated. Wholes in carpet and a sofa u could not sit on. I had the Room 404 which was 1 bedroom suite with kitchen. Price at the time was good. But if u come don't expect too much.

    Even if I did not use the spa it had a big one. It seemed to be very popular. The location was good . It was 2 streets across to the beach and 5 min walk along the esplanade to surfers Cavil Avenue. 2 lovely sun chairs on the balcony looking towards the beach side with the morning sun greeting you. A very big bathroom with a good size bathtub.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.8
    Bed was comfortable, pool/spa facilities were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was extremely difficult to access Parking availability was atrocious and was not free Pool towels were available at a cost

    Bed was comfortable, pool/spa facilities were great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been cleaner. Needs a bit of a spruce up but I wasn't expecting five star for the money we paid. Cheap and cheerful.

    The rooms were very large. Location good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    The last time we stayed there we loved it but this time we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last time we stayed there we loved it but this time we had to pay for parking which we were not happy about. I blame myself because I didn't check the conditions because we have stayed there before

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.8
    Great but double check the cleaning of rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had not been cleaned thoroughly before we arrived as the glasses were extremely dirty and there was an empty coke bottle and tissues behind the couch. the cleaning staff came to replace towels etc but although we had moved the couch the litter had not been collected.

    Good location. great to have sauna, spa and gym !

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: