Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Avonmore On The Park Boutique Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

34 The Avenue, Randwick, Randwick, 2031 Sydney, Australia

#75 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 469 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    8.5
    Great central place to stay. The building has plenty of charm, is reasonably priced and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s really hard and very expensive to blend the old with the new. Avonmore would benefit from a Reno and the carpets probably need replacing.

    Beautiful gracious old house. The tessellated tiles are a superb example of the era.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    10
    1930s charm in randwick
    • Solo traveler
    • Garden Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was a bit dark, and curtains and furniture were wellworn.

    George was very helpful with finding a parking place for the car that I'd driven from Canberra. Staff ocerall friendly and helpful. The park across the road id lovely and green, and Avonmore looks beautiful from outside.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way.
    • Group
    • Garden Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had two different rooms over 10 days. Both were fine particularly the large family room with french doors to garden was excellent. Ideal location being only minutes to Royal Women's, Children's, and Prince of Wales hospitals. Quiet, spotlessly clean and comfortable rooms. Good heating. Very helpful management and staff. Great range of restaurants nearby and lovely park directly opposite. Parking was OK with 4 designated spots but over night street parking was always available. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.6
    Our favourite in the eastern suburbs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely period rooms in a quiet but central location in the eastern suburbs. Easy access to town by public transport. Several good restaurants and cafes within a 5 minute walk. Charming, relaxed staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxing comfortable convenient and practical great that my room had a microwave and mini kit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bath would have been great but I understand no space for one

    The heritage of the property , the building has a welcoming feel, the staff where really helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    8.8
    We loved the heritage look and feel of the property and found it a convenient place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed coverings were a bit dated, the mattress springy, and the pillows a bit flat. However, we slept well. There was little or no traffic noise and although we could sometimes see airplanes the noise was not disturbing.

    The location was excellent. Close to restaurants and public transport. Lovely park across the road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.6
    This charming old Sydney building is in a relatively quiet...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This charming old Sydney building is in a relatively quiet area, but in easy walking distance to restaurants and a short trip to beaches and Bondi Junction. The place is well run and the staff are terrific.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    10
    The room was clean and roomy and located close to restaurants and the bus stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I cannot think of anything that could have made it any better.

    When we checked in staff was very helpful and offered us an upgrade free of charge for a larger room on the bottom floor so that we did not have to climb the stairs. The staff was very helpful in helping us find our way around the city and using the bus system.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    9.2
    Good. Would stay again for work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioner light extremely bright (and flashed occasionally) during night. Road noise quite audible.

    Great location. Close to shops, bus stop, UNSW. Breakfast discount vouchers provided. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely older hotel very reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't know if some kind of food availability could be offered. Maybe not possible.

    This is a nice, quiet hotel in a quiet part of Sydney. It's at least 20 minutes away from the Circular Quay, but it was very reasonably priced when all the other hotels I looked at were at least $100 or more. No elevator and I was on the 3rd floor. So it's not a hotel for persons who find climbing stairs difficult. It is older and has a musty smell but otherwise is very roomy. There is no food service at all, although there are restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    8.8
    Easy place to stay in central Randwick for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pity no lift as on top floor , though helped with heavy bags on arrival. Booking . Com charged us twice , so had to contact hotel on the Monday to arrange a refund as manager not there on the Saturday. And refund not instantaneous, took a while to be credited back to my account.

    V convenient quiet area and easy parking. As no breakfast lots of cafes nearby. Very helpful man on desk helped with luggage as no lift

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    8.8
    The hotel has so much character, the room was huge and staff were extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is very restrictive in this area.

    Comfortable and good location to local shops. George in reception was incredibly helpful with parking and local amenities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    9.6
    Great old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Garden Family Duplex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning. Couldn't open 2 of the 3 windows as one was stuck and other had no fly screen. Stuffy in rooms. Woke up with a headache both mornings

    Great old building. Fantastic location. Nice and quiet. Unlimited free parking just down the street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    10
    Quit street with little park in front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quit street with little park in front. It is situated in a district with "normal" live of people in sydney, with schools, nice little bars for breakfast. Beautiful old house. We had to stay one more day and the staff was very helpful finding a solution! It is not in the city center but busstop is nearby and takes 20 mun. After long days with walking and visits, it is nice to return to calm place...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    7.5
    Good location for our overnight stay to attend a function.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice to have a biscuit or something to have with a coffee or tea.

    The room was cosy and clean, if a little small, but the location suited our needs. Easy walk to a good breakfast and reasonably cheap Uber ride to Coogee and back for the function we attended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay. Walked to Randwick races, about 20 minutes. Discount voucher to local coffee shop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good. There was anything not to like.

    The bed was very comfortable. Air conditioning good. The location is excellent. The park opposite made for a very quiet night. Recommended to my friends who have booked there for next weekend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    8.3
    Central location, clean and comfortable with on-street parking. Was a great overnight stopover.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Garden Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff member who was on the evening I arrived was lovely and stayed behind just after the nominated 11pm front desk check in and gave me helpful tips on where on street parking would be available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    9.6
    it's a nice enough place, it was clean, tidy, perhaps the room a little on the small size
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little small and even though the owners may not be able to do anything about this, the room was next to the stairs and walkway and guests arriving late and being noisy

    Cleanniness, comfy bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    9.2
    Great quiet location in Randwick
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely classic building well renovated. Lovely decor and clean with a comfy bed! Short walk to lovely cafe for breakfast. Opposite the park which affords the user some quietness and lovely tree view towards the park.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.2
    We were delighted to stay in this beautiful historic building which is very professionally managed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If there had been air conditioning we probably would have turned it on, but really, we so didn’t mind that there wasn’t. How often would it be needed in that lovely room!

    Light, airy, private

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    6.3
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Balcony Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from rain on the roof, but I think you cannot do much about this. The bed and pillows are not that great. Hotel is a bit too old and needs refreshing, room smelled moldy when window is closed. We did not get bars of soap daily. We could hear everything from upstairs, way too much....toilet flushing, steps.

    The location. You do not get to see and hear birds and bats in downtown Sydney. We had a room with balcony on the second floor and we enjoyed taking a break there. We can get everywhere by public bus. It is near the university. Large room. I do not know much about crime in Sydney, but it feels safe. Despite few things I did not like, I think it was a good choice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    8.5
    A very welcoming and helpful person on the desk when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very welcoming and helpful person on the desk when we checked in. I had made an error in my booking and when I requested a change to a twin room, it was promptly accommodated. Very quiet yet in a very good location. The kitchenette was useful and there was a nice big shower in the bathroom. Ideal for getting the bus to activities at Moore Park. Having opening windows is always a plus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    10
    Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No ice trays in the fridge.

    The charm of the hotel was exquisite. The room was very comfortable and the close proximity to cafes and dining venues was just awesome. Would highly recommend this boutique hotel. Well done, so happy we chose you. Thank you for your hospitality.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    10
    Great hotel, would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wasn't sure if breakfast was included with room, wasn't mentioned at check-in. I'm sure that was down to me not reading the booking in full though rather than the hotel's fault.

    Great hotel all round. George the manager super friendly and helpful, beautiful building with a great location and the room was very clean and nicely designed. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    7.5
    The manager was very helpfull we needed to stay longer and...
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building is very old, charming but that old feel and smell.

    The manager was very helpfull we needed to stay longer and he accomodated, very friendly and not too long a walk from hospital

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    7.5
    A very suitable place for our stay very near to the venue of our function.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in the garden section. I think our room may have been the kitchen of the original owners. It had a double bed which was comfy enough. The TV was in a corner but we didn't watch it as we went out to a function. The room was quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    10
    Excellent duplex accommodation especially for families in a quiet, safe, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Family Duplex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of airconditioning in the garden duplex room could be an issue on a hot summers night. Lack of sufficient parking could be a problem - we got lucky and were able to park outside the hotel in one of the few spaces.

    Garden duplex room provided separate bedroom, kitchenette and bathroom for the children with our bed, kitchenette and bathroom upstairs with a joining staircase. Excellent to be able to have two people showering or using the toilet at the same time in the morning. Property was lovely and quiet, staff were very helpful, location was close to cafe's and restaurants and not far from bus stops, and the architecture was stunning. An excellent hotel at a great price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    7.5
    Old world character with a nice outlook to the park from a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Balcony Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Threat of a large fine if the shower door opens when showering if the fire alarm is activated. Not the guests issue it is a design problem.

    Old world character with a nice outlook to the park from a spacious balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    8.3
    Loved the place. Will definitely book to stay again on our next trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Facilities were clean, room was well serviced and staff were helpful. I loved the period features and antique furniture. The location is ideal for us and the street is leafy and beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    10
    This was a nice overnight stay that was just the thing after a long flight that day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would recommend requesting a ground floor room if you have a few bags due to the narrow flight of stairs to upper level rooms. The manager and staff are very helpful with this though.

    Very comfortable period room with a large modern bathroom and excellent shower. The small private balcony was a nice bonus. Plenty of room for luggage and close to all neighbourhood amenities. Although I didn't end up needing it, my request for a late check out was granted.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    7.5
    Good and interesting place in Ranwick
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could be a bit noisy in the front rooms because old building and uncomfortable chairs.

    Quiet street, opposite park, neat courtyard, interesting interior.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    10
    Lovely experience - would stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    stairs - no lift... adhoc parking only

    Loved the Dreamy beds, and the history of the rooms it is a lovely quiet location property is very clean!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    6.3
    I loved the private verandah facing the park.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The downside of the lovely verandah was that there wasn't much daylight in the room. Worst point - the second day my room was not cleaned at all. Just 'forgotten'. The bathroom was a bit cramped.

    I loved the private verandah facing the park. I loved the quietness. In general the staff were very helpful. There was a very wide choice of places to eat in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    7.9
    This is our second stay. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The verandah chairs dirty. Had to wipe before I sat on them.

    Great location. Very nice view of the park across the road. Room clean and tidy. Bed comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    8.8
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The parking situation. Was counting on a definite parking space at the property like stated on website not having to go around the corner and find my own place to park on the street.

    Loved the feel of the cute old place! Also the staff were lovely and the location was awesome

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel,but a little far from the downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room is so small,a little crowded.Bus is the most convenient way to the downtown,but it will cost 30 minutes.

    Beautiful hotel,the building has long history.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    7.1
    Won't be staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Family Duplex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not feel welcomed at all. I'm really sorry for asking more than one question to the man at the reception desk when we arrived. He was not friendly and looked quite bothered. I think he was expecting for us to just take the key, and that's it.

    The accommodation was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    7.1
    Convenient location and olde world decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a little cramped and the locked balcony doors difficult to open with all the furniture surrounding.

    Pleasant welcome and exit from the staff. Quietness, especially for a Saturday night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    9.6
    A pleasant surprise location I would not have considered, lovely quaint boutique hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift , not a problem for me as was able t o manage stairs & bag but could be a problem for some.

    Very comfy bed, love the air con. Location very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    7.1
    it is a beautiful hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff were begrudgingly helpful. It is not a 4 start hotel so one should not expect that level of facility, but in an old fashioned hotel i expected old fashioned good service. It was very reasonable and nothing bad or anything like that. I just expected a bit better. My room was not cleaned on one of the days i stayed.

    it is a beautiful hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    8.8
    Great location for Randwick Races!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stairs are an issue with suitcases

    The old world charm and overall generous size of the room and the refurbished modern bathroom with wonderful natural light.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    8.3
    This is a great location and always easy to get a park, unlike a lot of Eastern Suburbs
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to ask for herbal tea in morning, but they had it at front desk. Bed was not that comfortable.

    Room was at back and quiet. Location is great (we have stayed here before). Big bathroom. Small room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    8.3
    Our room was perfect for my daughter and I. It was clean and had a modern bathroom.
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The old decor in the room our friend was staying. The furniture, flowery curtains and bed linen looked very gloomy and outdated. I would not want to stay there!! Thought I was paying $205 for the night but all these extras were added which bumped the price to $225. When I paid at reception at arrival, another visa surcharge was added which ended up being a payment of $230....

    Our King suite on the first floor behind the hotel. It was modern and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    7.5
    Good value lodge hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite
    • Stayed 13 nights

    It was all we needed, so we had no dislikes.

    Lodge-style hotel (no breakfast) with mini-kitchen in room. Clean and comfortable. Manager was very helpful, as were the staff we met. Easy to get to the city centre by bus. Comprehensive shops in Randwick are a couple of minutes walk away. Quiet area during the night, but like most of Sydney there is traffic noise during the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    10
    Beautiful Boutique Hotel with a History & Charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Avonmore Park Boutique Hotel is a stunning 1880's Mansion that was once home a to a large family named Walsh. We stayed in a large double room that would once have been one of his 6 daughter's bedrooms. It has doors that open out to a large courtyard garden. This hotel has gorgeous 1880's architecture thats been beautifully restored. It has modern facilities but with genuine old world charm. There is no mini bar but there is tea & coffee, microwave, fridge in the room. Spotlessly clean and friendly professional staff. There are 3 restaurants/cafes very closeby and lots more a short pleasant stroll to Belmore Rd. If your looking for comfortable accommodation at a great price, great location with history, style and charm, I recommend you stay at this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    9.2
    Stunning old terrace house property with high ceilings and ambience galore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stunning old terrace house property with high ceilings and ambience galore. Great location to eateries, airport, public transport and across from a park so very very quiet area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2017

    8.3
    Historic charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Concierge was not particularly welcoming and very brief intro to place and facilities

    Nice atmosphere and quiet with no street noise. Close to public transport. Good for people wishing to attend sports at SCG and SFS as very good access via public transport

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Boutique Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking is very limited. No toaster in the room

    Nicely restored heritage property. It was large comfortable room. Close to shops, restaurants and public transport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    8.3
    A dowdy favorite Aunt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Balcony Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a little frumpy. A bit of freshening would be in order, perhaps some artwork on the walls. THere is no elevator for lifting your suitcase. The alarm can be set off with steam from the shower. No coffee maker. Room furniture rather uncomfortable. It is an old house with character that needs a bit more love.

    This is a grand historical house across from a park with many interesting birds, on a quiet street. THe neighborhood is diverse with a variety of restaurants and residential shops. The hospital is nearby if you are visiting there it's a good location. The management was very pleasant and helpful. The balcony is grand. It is not in the heart of Sydney but there is transportation around.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic position, beautiful accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were lucky and got one of the few parks that were not timed. I would imagine it could be difficult to find parking if needed. Stairs! We were on the top floor. I'd suggest asking for one on the ground floor if you struggle with them. These are definitely not negatives, we loved the place. Just pointing out in case someone needs to know.

    Very close to the airport and randwick race track. The room was just beautiful. Heritage pieces, high ceiling, comfortable bed, and spotlessly clean. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2017

    7.1
    Quiet, clean hotel with beautiful Victorian frontage overlooking park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room perhaps a bit small and dark, no facecloths.

    The quietness of the area and the hotel, the general location with proximity to cafes, shops and banks, the lovely Victoria building.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent staff, room needed airing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very musty and I suggest in future, it's well aired prior to guest arrival. It was okay after the windows and door were open for a while.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was excellent for our needs. Thank. you.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable,it's a very central area with a good vibe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was difficult.fortunately the hotel has a couple of spaces around the back,this was a lifesaver when checking in with our big bag.

    We appreciated having the microwave,with plates and cutlery etc. The tea and coffee were refilled every day.The room was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2017

    6.7
    Convenience of shops and bus stops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't understand that this was essentially a backpackers hotel. The use if the word ' boutique ' was very misleading as it has different connotations in uk

    Convenience of shops and bus stops

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2017

    9.2
    Six days in a quiet location in Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room does not have air conditioning, only a ceiling fan. This was adequate for us as we had a week of sun and rain. In the high temperatures of a few weeks earlier, it would have been uncomfortably hot. Good to have free wi-fi but the service was a bit patchy.

    From the outset all of the staff at the Avonmore were welcoming and helpful.Although an older style property the facilities in our room were good. An excellent shower and large comfortable bed were highlights. The hotel is well placed for local bus services to the Coogee beach and Circular Quay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2017

    8.8
    Six days in a quiet location in Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pleased we weren't there in the recent high Sydney temperatures as the room only had a ceiling fan. It rained often whilst we were there so keeping cool was not a problem.

    The staff were delightfuland helpful from the outset and once we became familiar with the older style building we enjoyed the facilities. Excellent large shower and large comfortable bed. The Avonmore was well placed for local buses and once we had purchased an Opal card from a nearby convenience store, travelled about freely and cheaply. 373 or 377 for Circular Quay from Belmore Road. Take the 400 bus from the Belmore Road stop (left side from the hotel) for the airport - cost 3.50 aud each compared to 50 aud for taxi. We would certainly stay at the Avonmore again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2017

    10
    This place has great character, very helpful staff and is good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great location near cheap and interesting places to eat. Very helpful and friendly staff, Best shower in the world. Easy access to centre of city. Randwick is a nice place.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2017

    8.3
    Cute and quaint.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No secure parking. No aircon in the room, but the fan made it comfortable and it was not an overly hot weekend.

    Cosy and quaint. Very clean, ver friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2017

    7.1
    Good location, close to UNSW and overlooked a park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff member was intense and verging on rude. This interaction spoilt my stay and based on this interaction unlikely to stay here again.

    Good location, close to UNSW and overlooked a park. Beautiful gracious building. The room was magnificent and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2017

    8.8
    Tooooooo short but it was super duper
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Family Duplex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tha bed was very comfortable and the location was excellent. We loooooved the old world charm also. It was lovely to be located next to a park instead of a busy road or opposite a high rise building yet all necessary amenities ESP buses were very close by!! Thanks for the stay, we will be back!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2017

    7.9
    Good place, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV was a bit small, but I liked it being hidden in the cupboard.

    Roomy, suited my needs, close to transport and convenient for shopping. Furniture was sensitive to the period. I liked having the choice of ceiling fan or aircon. Staff were friendly and helpful. They gave me a recommendation for best coffee nearby.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2017

    10
    Friendly staff that are very accomodating to assist with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Balcony Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No Face washers in bathrooms is the only thing I can fault but if I asked I'm sure they would provide them.

    Friendly staff that are very accomodating to assist with the extras - love staying here.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2017

    8.8
    Amazing building, would have been nice to have had a tour of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Family Duplex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning would have been good due to unusually hot weather.

    Amazing building, would have been nice to have had a tour of the whole building. Perfect location for event at Sydney football stadium. Restaurants nearby were great value. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2017

    10
    Brilliant place to stay in Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Grrrrrrr not the fault of the hotel but taxi not arrive at 6am and made for a very stressful end to a lovely stay... sorted by your lovely staff thanks!!

    Brilliantly friendly staff... great room beautifully clean... thanks

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2017

    8.8
    Good comfy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Receptionist on first night not too friendly Fridge in room bit noisy and difficult to switch off

    Good comfy rooms Quiet location opposite park Bus stop nearby Shops and breakfast places around the corner

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2017

    10
    Beautiful property in a great spot
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked some shelving in the bathroom for out toiletries

    The room was very spacious and well appointed with a table and chairs and small kitchenette . Very quiet and is a beautiful street and convenient to everything we needed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2017

    9.6
    Family stay for wedding nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were lucky to get a cark park out the front of the property but this could be an issue if you were not lucky like us.

    Lovely large room with an enormous ensuite.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be aware there are four, long flights of stairs up to the top floor if you book a room up there.

    Avondale on the Park's location near cafes, restaurants, Ritz cinema and a shopping centre is so convenient.... It is only 12-16 mins drive to Bondi Junction and around 22 mins to Rose Bay ferry wharf. The size of the 'standard' room was enormous! The kitchenette with the microwave oven, mini fridge, kettle and plates and cutlery were super handy. Thank goodness for the air conditioning unit! It was a very warm weekend. The bed was large and comfortable as were the pillows. I loved how the room was decorated and furnished in keeping with the era in which the mansion was originally built. It was surprisingly quiet, no street noises, so a restful nights sleep. Very handy street parking outside Avondale and more a further 50m on The Avenue as the reception staff had kindly advised. A pleasant change to look onto the lush greenery of Alison Park compared to the view from many other hotels in the CBD.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2016

    8.8
    Delightful chracter hotel in lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Character hotel, staff friendly but not intrusive. If you don't like the business hotel type atmosphere where they're trying to up sell you all the time this is the place for you.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2016

    10
    beautiful, remote and yet close to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing to complain about!

    Wonderful hotel, great location near public transportation to the city - but quiet at the same time. We had a beautiful room in the historic part of the hotel facing the park.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel, lots of old character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was a little noisy, but you'd expect that with an older property.

    Great hotel, lots of old character. Good restaurants a few yards away with good food.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2016

    7.9
    Liked the sense of history. Adequately comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Garden Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It suited my simple needs. Thank you.

    I liked Room 7 being right next to the garden, on the ground floor and separate from any other room. On a very hot day, the room was really cool to walk into in the afternoon, even without the fan on.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2016

    9.6
    A Blast From the Past in Randwick
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have appreciated a couple of biscuits to have with a cuppa on our arrival - we had travelled for over four hours and were quite hungry. The wardrobe door lock didn't work properly.

    Spacious room - very comfy bed. Ensuite was modern and very well appointed. Air conditioning and ceiling fan were appreciated. Yesteryear décor was delightful. Staff very helpful re parking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2016

    8.3
    Clean and comfortable, easy walking distance to shops and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No flyscreen on kitchen window which was the only window so couldn't put it up too far. A couple of face-washers would have been nice.

    Clean and comfortable, easy walking distance to shops and transport. Good value for money, would stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2016

    10
    Avonmore on the Park
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely stunning, character accommodation. Friendly staff and close walking distance to shops, cafe's and restaurants. Recommend the luxury Queen Room.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: