Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Balmoral On York 4 stars

19 York Street, 7250 Launceston, Australia

#3 of 33 hotels in Launceston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1432 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower. Unfortunately the water pressure was really low, which meant we had to stay in there longer and dance around just to get wet.

    The communication from the get-go was fantastic. It was easy to find, and the Staff were nothing less than FABULOUS! They really could not have been more helpful, professional or friendly. So refreshing. The room was clean, modern, comfortable and great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is central and the room spacious, comfortable and clean. The services provided included free internet and Netflix. I enjoyed the breakfast which included fresh fruit salad.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a large older style motel / hotel on several floors with car parking out the back. The price is good, the room was clean and Netflix, Stan and Wi-Fi are available. There is also a minibar in the room. The managers / staff were fantastic, very welcoming and provided lots of useful information, including on local restaurants. The restaurant at the hotel doesn't offer dinner, but you can purchase individual ready-made meals to microwave in your room. Continental breakfast is provided in the dining room (which was included in the price that I booked). This included a range of breads, cereals, fruit, juice, tea and filter coffee. Barista coffee is available at additional cost. The hotel is located in close proximity to a range of restaurants and shops. There is also a guest laundry on site for use (costs apply).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quilt could have been a bit bigger. Hubby was very toastie, while I was a little cooler.

    The little kitchen was a surprise equipped with a microwave and fresh milk in the fridge. Very good sized room and bathroom easily accessible for a wheelchair.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Balmoral is within walking distance to the CBD, it is clean and tidy, warm and comfortable, the staff are really friendly and helpful. Great coffee available all day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent place to stay while in Launceston. Close to all shopping and cafes and eatries. Clean and quiet. The staff are always pleasant and accommodate everything you need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In-room air con was noisy but it did keep the room very warm, which was great. An extra blanket may have been a good option

    Staff were super friendly and helpful. Really great. In-room complimentary pay tv was great. Location excellent. Onsite parking excellent. Facilities are not those of a 5 star hotel but they are perfectly adequate and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location in Launceston , easy walk to shops and restaurants , off street parking . A very large comfy room with a great breakfast included , the staff were very friendly and helpful , would highly recommend this motel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated.

    One of the friendlist and cleanest hotels I've stayed in. A bit dated in decor but everything else made up for it! Would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent staff so welcoming with quiet, comfortable rooms. I also enjoy having the use of Netflix for a movie and fresh milk for my coffee instead on longlife cartons. It's the little things that make a difference.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bad reviews at all

    We liked the property and found it very clean & comfortable. All the staff were friendly & very accommodating. Internet was very fast. 😀

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Balmoral is only a few minutes walk from the city mall, shopping and eateries. From the rear rooms, the ability to see my car in the carpark from my window is comforting. The rooms are immaculate and the beds are comfy. The staff and owners are always pleasant and knowledgeable. I always stay here when I come to Launceston.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The laundry dryer has a lint catcher that needs thorough cleaning under and over but appreciated the facility.

    The outside of the building looks a little tired but the Owners and staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. The simple breakfast included was fresh, had variety and plentiful. Room was spotless and very comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The booking said buffet breakfast it was only Continental and was an extra $7.00 for cooked, still good value. Netflix was very good but it kept freezing and i didn't want to bother the night manager consequently we only managed to watch 5 out of 10 episodes of Lost in Space. Danger Balmoral On York!!!

    the location was good for us as we were visiting family, and to their property it was a very easy route. the breakfast was very good lovely fresh fruit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    It is an easy to walk around Launceston from this hotel. My husband is Coeliac and the staff did everything necessary to accommodate his needs. Gluten free cereal was given to him and also GF bread was toasted for him in a seperate toaster. We will be returning to this hotel sometime in the future. Keep up the good work. It was a pleasure staying here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room faced the car park which was fine, however the lights of the car park are not completely blocked out by the blinds in the room. Didn’t bother husband or baby but I found eye mask useful as a light affected sleeper to get a fabulous night of sleep :)

    Rooms large and comfy, great for a young family. Staff wonderful and helpful. Breakfast lovely. Fantastic location close to beautiful parks. Wonderful to have off street parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ventilation in the bathroom seems not working well.

    The room is spacious and offers great variety of TV channels and even Netflix for free. The continental breakfast is so-so, but the cooked breakfast (with extra charge) is great. Staff are nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms do not have a balcony Breakfast finishes at 9am which is very early

    Friendly staff Great location Very clean Comfortable bed Nice towels Warm rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed her before & always found it very clean , bed & pillows comfortable, easy walking distance into the the shops restaurants & footy, and the park, would definitely recommend this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle looked a bit old but usable.

    Free breakfast at 7am. Very nice staff at the counter. Room layout was great. Comfy bed, big tv with Netflix and Stan. Clean toilet. Extra pillows. Near many food places

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the reception and check in spot really make me confused i saw the other guests also get confused about this

    good location with nice restaurants around

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lovely motel in a great central location. The staff are the best we've encountered. Continental breakfast included was very good. A very comfortable room with lots of space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water only lasted 1 minute and then ran cold.

    Location was perfect for my purposes. Staff friendly and nothing was Too much trouble. I didn’t use it but love the added option of Netflix.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A box of tissues would be appreciated. The building feels a bit tired but is good value for money.

    Good location and parking, quiet rooms, clean bathroom. Breakfast was a bonus and staff were friendly and helpful. Free wifi and modern tv with lots of channels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Netflix arrangement on room TV did not function and reception unable to assist in providing a solution when asked. Starting to look a bit dated.

    Room was spacious. Breakfast staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole building inside and out was outdated, needed new carpets, curtains and a new fresher paint job, bathrooms also need updating.

    Great location, easy walking distance to Town Centre, friendly staff, great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and the service were above and beyond expectations. Very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was above expectations and was fresh & amazing. Very clean and comfortable rooms.. Liked it so much that we have rebooked to stay here in 2weeks time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The uphill walk back from the city shops-we are seniors! No buffet breakfast for the big eaters. No dinner restaurant, ( hot dinners available to microwave in room.)

    Good location, tucked away just outside the city centre. Plenty of off-street parking. City views from room. Walk to shops, restaurants, car museum etc. Charming breakfast area, with small balcony, and lovely continental breakfast. Hot brekkies were also available to order.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff amazing, great breakfast and very accomodating. We travelled with an 16 month old and the added bonus of the microwave made out stay that little bit easier.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is almost at the city center of Launcestion, which helps us explore the city easily. The staff and owner as well are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    "One warm (!) doona, one sheet only," the fashion nowadays, is fine on cold or hot nights; but on merely cool ones, the on-again, off-again of bedding can disturb one's sleep. Two thinner doonas/blankets might be better.

    With an ideal location (a block up from the city centre with its restaurants, the Princess Theatre, shops, etc.), a clean, quiet, well designed and equipped room (comfy bed, thick towels, window that open, fridge and excellent shower--may I take it home with me, please?), a variety of TV stations, free Netflix and WiFi, and comprehensive continental breakfast, the Balmoral on York, is an ideal place to stay in Launceston.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a disappointed that the crockery was not washed in the daily clean. I used plates etc rinsed and left them out. The next night I used the plate/fork and it had food marks from the night before.

    Convenience to the event I was attending and to the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safe box and in-room slippers which are common in Tasmania.

    The service staff is extremely helpful to assist in booking a table at a popular restaurant nearby. The room is bigger than expected with wide variety of movie options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    I had stayed at Balmoral on York a year ago, as well as at the nearby Best Western, and preferred to return here due to its’ location adjacent to, and overlooking, the city centre, as well as the overall atmosphere. I had a rental car to return and that was also nearby. Our room was plenty big enough for the two of us and well laid out. Breakfast was enjoyable and we were able to sit out on the patio. For our 07:00 Melbourne flight a shuttle picked us up at the hotel. Well worth returning to if there should be a third visit to Launceston.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No great views, breakfast was just bread and cereals for quite a high price unless you included as part of oackage stay

    Great location, value for money, has most of everything you need. Decent comfort.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Space for kettle is a little awkward, not a lot of room but it is not a big problem, just a bit pokey

    It just fits, comfortable, great service, great value with yummy breakfast included, quiet and well located with easy parking. Our place to stay in Launceston.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All excellent

    Friendly welcome & service by staff & assistance with late check-out without any fuss. Fantastic location, walking distance to everything, excellent continental b'fast, great VFM & highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apart from the obligatory drab modern decorating colours, I cannot fault Balmoral on York. [I didn't have breakfast there or use the (free) WIFI this time, but both have been excellent in my previous stays.]

    This was my fourth stay at Balmoral on York, once in a room facing the city and three times overlooking the back parking lot. All my rooms have been well designed and equipped with everything needed for a quiet, relaxed stay just above the centre of Launceston--they are clean and well sound-proofed (even the fridge being inside a cabinet), beds are comfy, towels good and thick, and ventilation is excellent (a screened window can be opened--hurrah!). A bonus was, for me, a first--a desk lamp! Shops, the Princess Theatre, and excellent eateries are nearby; the aquatic centre just up the hill.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Staff was the best part of our stay. Always friendly and helpful. The only part of the hotel we could fault was the small outside area with tables was a little tired. In need of some tender loving care.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We have stayed before. The staff are friendly and helpful, continental breakfast is excellent, rooms are spotlessly clean and roomy (with couch and table and chairs), milk in fridge is quarter carton (!), and there are even complimentary packets of biscuits! Everything is good quality. Very handy to city centre. Off-street parking. It's highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing all was great

    the staff were very friendly and helpful made us feel right at home nothing was to much trouble loved the balcony at the restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking could be a little awkward when busy and easy to miss the parking entrance on first arrival

    Very comfortable, generously sized room with fast internet and free use of paid tv services ie Netflix. Located within walking distance (a couple of blocks) of a variety of shops and restaurants. Friendly, helpful staff. The included breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a parking lot view so just kept curtains closed.

    Every single employee I interacted with provided GREAT service with a helpful attitude ! Great breakfast. FAST free wi-fi was best found on my 3 week trip across 4 states and 5 hotels. Free access to Netflix, yes FREE.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is pretty basic, with painted internal block walls (no plaster) - but not really a problem. The room for breakfast was full when we went down, but we had a table outside on the balcony (weather dependent!)

    Very good budget option hotel, close to city centre. Excellent, helpful staff who loaned an umbrella for the unpredictable Tassie weather! Very good buffet continental breakfast included in room rate, which was very good value. Off road parking and everything needed in the room, including large flat-screen TV with Apple channels...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not told that no housekeeping services were provided on a Sunday. Therefore we were shocked when we returned after a day out to find, the beds had not been made, towels changed, coffee and milk not replenished. When I asked at reception why the room had not been serviced I was told it was to expensive to pay for a housekeeper on Sundays!

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly & extremely accommodating. We arrived late in the evening & the night manager was extremely friendly & warm, he helped us take all our bags to our room. The beds were so comfortable. I also loved that the building was not modern & the facilities in the room was everything you needed. Complimentary breakfast was nice also.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location, very friendly staff, large room with all facilities, breakfast room warm and welcoming, great breakfast - walk to everything - would recommend this hotel for sure

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    People should learn how to park between the lines in the carpark.

    Great location, great food, exceptional staff with great advice, easy walk to anything, awesome coffee at breakfast which has real fresh fruit salad.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner needed attention would only come on for a short time then cut out.

    The rooms were very comfortable and exceptionally clean. One could not fault the continental breakfast supplied. Balmoral is a short walk down the hill to the centre of the CBD.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was little too firm. Toilet roll holder poorly located.

    Spacious room, a microwave oven (did not use it, but next time?), friendly attentive staff, close to city and city park, good free parking, fresh fruits and good variety in breakfast fruit salad, quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in a very central location. The room was very clean and quiet. The car parking is free and located onsite. The continental breakfast was delicious. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities clean and room very big. Location is good and easy to get round in city. People at front desk are helpful. I would love to return when I have future chances.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff at the balmoral are very good . The room was very clean and quiet and comfortable with plenty of room . Over all you really cant fault the balmoral as you are close to everything in Launceston and all eatries are in walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is super slow in the room when trying to watch the Netflix provided

    Great location and the manager / owner was very friendly and went out of way to make you feel welcome and having a good stay. Loved the fact it has Netflix and Stan! Delicious breakfast included

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air-cond could have been better in west facing rooms on hot days.

    The hotel is very well located, close to everything. The room was very good and recently renovated. Breakfast was very nice and comprehensive. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We did have an issue but Trevor ensured that it was attended to promptly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and shower a little dated but ok.

    Very good motel in central Launceston. Facilities (eg elevator, breakfast room/bar, TV, parking) and staff very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioner wasn't cool enough for a hot summer day.

    Complimentary Netflix, clean and comfortable for price. Bathroom clean and adequate. The gentleman on reception the next morning was professional and obliging. Parking was accessible and handy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very welcoming and attentive staff. Room was ready when we checked in as requested despite arriving at 10:30am. Location is close enough to walk everywhere in Launceston.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean, comfortable room within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Ample, free parking. Simple but good breakfast. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finished at 9am...a bit early for us, but there are plenty of places nearby for coffee and toast

    Perfect for our weekend. Close to everything we wanted, nice comfortable room. god value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the hotel had free wifi ( NBN ) the wifi kept cutting out during the viewing of a movie as well as losing our internet connection. I found this annoying.

    Friendly staff. The hotel was centrally located to the CBD and local attractions. Room facilities were good with added bonus of supplied breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    AC could use an update

    Great value, friendly staff and comfortable accommodation. Everything I had hoped for. Close to CBD. Free Netflix/ Stan/ internet a bonus Excellent large room with views, balcony and separate alcove/ small bedroom that was perfect for our 14 y/o.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not necessarily a bad thing, but the room we were in was a long walk from reception. Parking was limited and not included for guests - although both more minor points!

    Lovely hotel with stunning lobby and shared spaces. The restaurant was great for breakfast and staff were super helpful. Nice location near the train station and a short walk into the centre of town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor is a little dated. No evening dining at the hotel.

    With friendly helpful service upon arrival, a large comfortable room and mini-bar for those who need it, this hotel is an excellent mid-range option near the centre of Launceston. There is plenty of parking and a basic but tasty continental breakfast was included in the room price. They offer fresh meals in a pack for heating up in your room, or we just walked 300m to the George Street restaurant and takeaway strip where there are plenty of food options.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning could have been put on, it was a very hot day and room was severely stuffy when we got back there.

    Its always a pleasure to stay there

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disappointment was that on the Booking.com site it states the included Breakfast is a full Buffet Breakfast . . When in fact there is no buffet . It is a Continental breakfast or you can buy a cooked breakfast .

    A warm friendly personal welcome from the manager . Prompt friendly check inn. Helpful advice with a good knowledge of the city. Good parking near door. Clean rooms, comfortable bed and pillows. Enjoyed the fresh fruit salad with the continental breakfast . Overall very happy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a little hard for my liking but it would be very hard to please everyone with this anyway. I like quality feather and down pillows, they just seem a little bit more luxurious

    The customer service was amazing. The staff went above and beyond to meet our requests and were so friendly and welcoming. Could not fault them at all. Communication via email, text and in person was great too.. Room was clean and comfortable and very spacious in a central location. Excellent service at breakfast. Staff cleared tables promptly and were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and helpful staff. Good continental breakfast and nice setting on the verandah. Well located for Launceston CBD. Apple TV and Netflix on Wifi a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil.

    Good location short walk from middle of town. Free parking onsite. Good continental breakfast. Staff friendly and helpful. Good sized room. Clean. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The vacuum cleaner is not efficient enough. No replacement of shampoo on my second day of visit though the remaining quantity is very very small.

    I like their staff who are very friendly and Balmoral's interior design.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was small. To compensate for this the water pressure and temperature were great

    Location was close to the city centre and an easy walk to the Tram shed convention centre

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was a little dated. There was no lighting over the shower so it was a little dark. Noise could be heard from the room above.

    Good location, friendly staff. Comfortable stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was lovely and the bed was so comfortable. The shower was amazing too. The staff were so friendly. I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our host Trevor was so welcoming and helpful. He texted me when my room was ready at 11:45 am. Parking was easy and the position was great, in the middle of the restaurant area & 15 minutes walk to the waterfront.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like the shower in one room and sink in the other room with the toilet. Had to go from shower room to toilet room to have a shave.

    Location was great and the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: