Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Base Backpackers - St Kilda 4 stars

17 Carlisle Street, 3182 Melbourne, Australia

#135 of 169 hotels in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 447 hostel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Paid WiFi

    4.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    The very awesome stuff that made you feel a part of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t very comfortable.

    The very awesome stuff that made you feel a part of a traveling family . The awesome food and bar. How close the place was to St Kilda .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.3
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not one of the cleanest properties. Staff were friendly, but perhaps could be given more training regarding information on public transportation etc so that they could provide better information to travellers. If I were a twenty something wanting to party, I would have been stoked :)

    Location within St Kilda is great, with the sky bus running past the door. Cool part of the city to wander and explore.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    4.6
    Party hostel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very noisy from the bar, party hostel, just wasn't my scene, found it difficult to meet other people travelling as most people were just working. Needs painting

    The location is great in St. Kilda, beds are comfy, good breakfast, bar is always busy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Great hostel to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff from the moment of checking to checking out was amazing from the recepion staff, travel, bar and cleaners everyone works with a smile on there face and really helps you to settle in. The entertainment in the nights are really good I will be using base hostels a lot more because of this experience

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Always something to do here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn’t recommend it to a person who wants peace and quiet, someone who works, because it’s pretty loud, and people often moving in and out of room in the middle of night.

    Always something to do here. Staff was great. If you are here for holiday or just to have fun. It’s defo the place for you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Dorm with private bathroom is really awesome, but better to...
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dorm with private bathroom is really awesome, but better to book a female dorm room next time. You will feel more comfortable since there is no snoring man and the toilet seat would be more clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    handy accommodatioxn close to beach
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom with toilet and sink, only 1 person can use, but toilets on the ground floor compensate it a bit.

    close to beach, skybus to airport, lift to upstairs, early breakfast, room space

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    The young man at the reception doesn’t care about the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young man at the reception doesn’t care about the customers (not the girls) we booked online the carpark and when we arrived we asked for the carpark the men asked us to pay first for the room and after we paid he told us the carpark was full he was really arrogant may be because we are French ? We booked this hostel for the carpark and we are a bit disappointed...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Base hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed 5 nights in private room for F1 grand prix. Clean room . Quiet on 3rd floor. Good bar downstairs. Close to other bars and restaurants in st kilda.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Great hostel with a catch
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Licence bar downstairs which means no drink in rooms or they kick you out with no refund if court twice. Which is to harsh on my opinion

    Great social, nice rooms and excellent showers. Something going on every night!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice Party Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's sometimes a bit loud but that's what you should expect at a party hostel.

    Was upgraded to a private room without extra charge as there was no free dorm bed left! The receptionists Christoph and Stuart are both really nice and helped me during my stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Does the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the friendliest staff I had come across. Some staff members really just made you feel like you were an inconvenience.

    Very much a party hostel - which is great if that's what you are after! 😊 Some really good nights at the bar etc. Rooms are fine. Lack of plugs but that is similar to most hostels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    The location suited us too a "T"
    • Couple
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms are small and wierd shapes making it awkward to move around the room but still a great place to stay

    The location suited us too a "T"

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing when we specifically booked and paid for a private bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our toilet didn’t flush and we told them this immediately when we checked in. Returning late late at night nothing had been done about it - so we had no toilet for the whole stay.

    Great spot for accessing St Kilda’s restaurants and bars as well as the F1 Grand Prix action. Staff are friendly and doing well to keep up with demands in this busy busy spot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.7
    Noisy, boozy and dirty like all Base hostels!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty towels hanging in bathroom for who know how many days- placed on floor and told Cleaner (who said someone else was responsible for those) and they were still there when checked out. Yuk.

    Great location for St Kilda

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    4.6
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faeces on the wall, noise, no facilities , cost at $150 fir the night, ensuite door hits the bed, alcohol ban in your rooms, having to take your pillow case to reception to book out

    Position

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    St. Kilda is NOT right in downtown Melbourne so if that’s...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    St. Kilda is NOT right in downtown Melbourne so if that’s what you’re looking for, not for you. That being said, all you have to do is get a Myki card and take the tram into The city. Base St. Kilda is incredible and I’d definitely stay again! I met a lot of amazing people there and the staff had great, nightly activities to help travelers meet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    I would come back to chat with Wayne the maintenance worker about coffee and vegemite
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Can't change roommates, you get who you get. THE KEY CARDS ARE SHIET. But everyone knows that, I got a nice workout walking up and down the stairs.

    Breakfast in the morning was great even though I had my own, I had a few issues that the manager and I were able to deal with. Being accommodating to meet my needs was really nice. It was much appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    3.8
    The good thing about the place was the central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was drunk most of the time n more interested in having a party than helping out. My window couldn't be closed(they didn't fix it), the tv wasn't working(they didn't fix it). The room was pretty low standard n price too high compared to what you got. All in all bad experience.

    The good thing about the place was the central location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.0
    I stayed outside of the hostel the whole time nearly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception didn't told if there is a laundry room or a kitchen for the guests in the hostel when I arrived. Still actually don't know about it. And the first night I stayed was a Wednesday and I paid 30 bugs the next night I had to pay 40 bugs. The prices are ridiculous changing every single day.

    The bathrooms are quite nice and the smokingarea is a nice idea

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    I loved the location St Kilda is lovely, bathrooms cleaned...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found during the day the atmosphere is a bit strange, no one wants to communicate, and my room needed a serious hoover.

    I loved the location St Kilda is lovely, bathrooms cleaned everyday in room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    2.5
    Somebody entered my my room!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somebody entered my room without my permission, they smoke in bathroom, put my personal belongings (perfumes, deo, brush, shampoos) to waste bag and throw towels to floor. No valuable stolen but ı cant find my health vaccine document to enter next destinations. When I ask reception, the claim only housekeeping enteres my room. If it is housekeeping, why did not they tidy up my room? The worst experience in my life. To prove, I attached photos

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    5.8
    Ok if you want somewhere cheap and basic to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The check in was a bit of a hassle. I had to download an app which wouldn't work so took some time. The wifi is only available at certain times and the password is changed every day so you have to ask every day. The bar could be quite loud sometimes at night so not good if you want to get a decent night's sleep

    The location is great, very close to the beach, lots of bars and restaurants nearby and a short tram trip to the CBD. The bar is good and has cheap drinks. The room is quite basic and could do with a refresh but you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    Best hostel so far, most happening place, awesome crowd!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soap in the room's toilets, if I have to point out something.

    The events conducted ever evening at the hostel's bar, the hosts, the crowd, healthy gender ratio all over, as well as the rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    6.7
    Party hostel. Not so great for cooking or sleeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window only opened about 10cm. It's a party hostel, so you hear loud music and cheering until 2AM. The kitchen has two pots, 2 spoons, and not quite enough other stuff. The refrigerators are completely jammed with peoples stuff. They want to sell you expensive trips, and charge for earplugs which you need to sleep.

    Bathrooms in the room. The staff is really so nice. The fries (chips) are really really good. The pub food is good quality. Great location near the beach. McDonalds is right there, Luna park, palais theatre, one tram right to the CBD.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    5.0
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too loud music which we could hear very loudly in the room late at night. No wifi service at night. The room was disgusting. When we checked in to our 8 bed dorm all of the beds were filled with stuff and clothes and we did not know which beds were ours. And the bathroom was not clean and no soap. And the floor in the room was not visible because of the mess. The worst thing was the kitchen. Very dirty and no cutlery. You would not be able to cook a normal meal in the kitchen!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.3
    Second time I’ve stayed here at Base and I can’t fault it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second time I’ve stayed here at Base and I can’t fault it really. Fab location, so easy to get to the city and the beach is literally across the road. Fun stuff going on every single night, never a dull moment. Great hostel for meeting others if you’re travelling alone. Kitchen is big, clean, loads of room and a seating area with a tv makes it stand out to other hostels which have stuffy small kitchens and nowhere to sit. It was expensive but that was because of the time of year / season... would recommend staying here for anyone travelling to Melbourne / St Kilda. Would come back again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.3
    A fair enough place to stay for a few days and you're under 25!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's a noisy hostel - very driven on youth culture and drinking! Lift barely worked on most days, and there was not enough people on hand to suggest things to do. I was given the impression that there would be lots of group activities in the day but they weren't apparent. Most of the evening parties went on well after midnight! Admittedly I was there during the build up to Christmas and was traveling alone so take a few things with a pinch of salt. But as a usually outgoing, solo traveler I was bored on a regular basis and often felt old before my time!

    The location of the hostel is excellent. The St Kilda Skybus drops you right outside the place (Carlisle Street). It is also well placed to get around St Kilda as well as plenty of tram stops nearby. I also have to thank one member of staff who upgraded me to a single room because of problem guests staying in my dorm which was a nice touch! The wifi that you buy (4$ a day) was also very fast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.3
    Bang for your buck. Quality party hostel with great staff and something to do every night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The noise was a bit excessive at some points of the stay. As there was an event at the bar EVERY night of the week, you can't really escape the noise. Even with earplugs in and the aircon fan on, you could hear the bass from the speakers and even the MC on the mic every night. The music and events usually go until 1-2 AM, so if you're incredibly tired, getting a full night's sleep might not be super easy. IT is a party hostel, so do not expect peace and quiet and luxury. If you're lucky, your dorm mates will be considerate, but that's not always the case after a night of Boozy Bingo. Another issue I had was with housekeeping. It is hostel policy to have the rooms "cleaned" every day, which isn't an issue. The issue was with the housekeeping staff themselves. Even with a room full of sleepy backpackers, they will slam the door open, turn on the lights, throw open the blinds, and begin vacuuming and throwing away trash. Often times they would be talking to each other in their native tongues and being generally inconsiderate of the guests. The annoying part was that due to the size of the rooms, it never looked like they actually cleaned anything. Then about an hour or so later, someone else would come in and clean the bathroom. But it never looked any different than before the cleaned it. They would also take any toiletries you left in the shower, and throw them in a garbage bag and leave them outside the bathroom. Even if you had a room full of people who were staying there for the same amount of time, it was the same process every single day. No fault of the hostel, they wanted to maintain cleanliness, but their housekeeping staff could use a bump in customer service training...

    The staff was energetic and friendly, and not afraid to pull you out of the dorm rooms if you were feeling antisocial. Redeye bar was fun and had lots of good events every night of the week if you are interested. Decently priced food and drinks at the bar most of the day. The beds are fairly comfy, and never had any issue with bugs or the like. The rooms were clean, had working air con, and were maintained well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    4.6
    Ok if you are a young backpacker who wants to party all night and is ok with it not being so clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room stunk. The hallways were covered in vomit after the party the night before. The noise in the hallways was insane. People were essentially partying and no staff controlled the noise. The card key was very temperamental

    The location was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    6.3
    No, I won’t be camping out in a room at Base Backpackers St Kilda next time I’m in Melbourne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My Room at Base Backpackers St Kilda was a Disappointment. I paid $99 a night for three nights for a room with a bathroom pre-booked on the net. For this price even in expensive St Kilda I expected a room approaching basic motel facilities. Even though the bed was comfortable and it was reasonably quiet the room came nowhere near satisfying my expectations. Generally the staff and other guests were friendly and helpful. Problems in the room: No remote control for the handkerchief sized TV. No bed lamps as shown in the promotional picture. One tiny little table. No where to store my baggage. All my gear and clothes had to stay on the floor as there was no where else to put it. No where to hang anything. No chair, I had to sit on the bed. It was quite chilly with only one blanket and a cover, I requested another blanket, it never came. No soap. No towel rail. Towels stay on the floor or hung over the door. Inadequate hot water to service all the rooms, temperatures varied from cold, luke warm to warm. Cover missing off the ceiling light. No refrigerator. No cup or glass for drinking water or cleaning teeth. No plug in the bathroom sink. ...etc.

    The lift.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    5.4
    Fun, but kind of annoying.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked at $5 for a night, but the property would not honor the booking price. Tight bunks, easy to hit your head. Very loud, even on the top floor, could feel the base and hear the screaming downstairs.

    They offered a dinner voucher to make up for the "error"

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    3.3
    Close to grocery shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Xbase is overrated. Very expensive for cheap and uncomfortable bed, noisy due yo the tram line right below the room. The window does not close = cold and noisy nights. Very poor internet quality. It is to hostel what fastfood is to your stomach. A plan Z solution.

    Close to grocery shops. Large kitchen to cook.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.1
    Good for young people who want to drink alcohol and party non-stop every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The backpackers hostel, throughout the evening, night and into the hours of the morning, was actually like a continuous combination of a beer hall and a rave party. As a 63 year old non-drinking light-sleeper this was, obviously, not what I thought that I signed up for. And just for the record I have stayed in many backpackers hostels over a period of many years. What was extremely disappointing was that I accidently left behind my toiletries bag hanging on the bathroom door with some valuable items in it both monetary wise and sentimental wise but the cleaning staff did not hand it in to the reception staff. That was extremely disappointing as I have found that in pretty much all places where I have stayed in my travels around Australia and in nearly 30 different countries the staff return lost or left behind items. It was particularly unfortunate because if the cleaning staff had return my property the morning of departure they would have found that we, and our luggage, were still in the backpackers as our flight back to Brisbane did not leave until late that night.

    Really great location. All staff and other residents were very friendly. We mercifully had a room upstairs and out the front of the hostel a little away from the 10 hour-every-night raging parties which mean that we actually got a bit of sleep as long as our windows were shut and we wore ear-plugs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    5.4
    Great location! Perfect for a short stay if you are travelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No oven. Room mates were very untidy. My bed got mistakenly changed causing confusion as to whether I had checked out or not. New person had took my bed

    Good fridge / food facilities. Bar downstairs has a good atmosphere and good drinks offers. Always good events on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    The window in our room didn’t shut properly, it was open...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in our room didn’t shut properly, it was open about 1 inch at the top and bottom. We told the staff at reception and instead of coming to try fix it, they gave us a pillow to try shove in there to block out the cold and noise. If we didn’t have earplugs we wouldn’t of got a wink of sleep

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.8
    I’ve had better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady that checked us in was extremely rude. We felt like we were an inconvenience when we had to go to her after parking our car as she didn’t give us a room key. The room also had a bit of a weird smell

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.3
    Good location in st kilda
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid $10 for the hostel's basement car park. What we didn't know was that there are so many parking around the hostel which is free from 5pm to 9am. We arrived the hostel after 5pm and asked about parking and didn't tell us anything about it. Stayed just a night and checked out early, so technically we could've saved the money.

    Good location to st kilda beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Really reasonable but bring your own linen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were a bit run down but for the price acceptable. If you stay here bring your own sheets. I am so glad I had my own. The sheet on the bed was fully crinkled (looked used) but there was a crisp pillow slip. There was then a doona cover that looked like it had been used many times. There was no second sheet to put in between the bottom sheet and used doona. Quite unhygienic to me.

    It was very reasonable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    5.8
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Party hostel... with a lot of unrespectful backpackers, in deed, the hostel is not at fault, backpacker's are, but sometimes the staff could say something and make sure there settlements and universal rules are respected. For instance : no more noise after midnight, keep room clean and belongings well tidy since you're sharing room with other people, matresses are not to be moved in the middle of the room for a movie afternoon... I will stop there, but the list ca go on, and I only stayed one night.

    Nice location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    Basic, clean, friendly stop over for travellers on the go. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a private room. Initial room was intolerable with uncomfortable bed and very noisy like sleeping next to a thumping engine room in the belly of a ship. After asking to move rooms on the second night we were much happier, able to sleep and much more comfortable.

    Good young vibe with lots of social activities going on

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Changed my View of Hostels in a really good way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am one of those people who never wanted to stay in a hostel as I need things clean and perfect... I'm a typical Essex boy but I'm also a bit of a princess 😜😂... I gotta say this hostel changed my view completely. Base was clean and comfortable and the bar downstairs is a great place to meet people with staff that I couldn't fault if I tried... I stayed in my own room but I also saw people's dorms and they were pretty decent as well

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Private room/bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was slow. The staff were more concerned with what they were doing rather than providing a good customer service experience.

    The staff were super friendly, the environment at the hostel was heaps of fun with lots of parties. The room was cheap, but nothing fancy - what you would expect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Location is awesome and staff are super nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen is super small, the rooms are freezing this must be a base thing cause I had just came from Auckland and that one was super cold... I ended up with a really bad cold.

    Location is awesome and staff are super nice! Very energetic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    5.0
    School camp feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The filthy carpet in the room. The smell of cigarette smoke coming up from the bar downstairs and people smoking in their rooms nearby. The toilet seat was very loose!

    The lift to take you upstairs. There was shower gel, shampoo and conditioner supplied, which was handy, although it was made in China. Towels and linen supplied. Staff were cheerful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.1
    Good location, value for money, you get what you pay for.
    • Couple
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeepers were a little inconsistent, didn't change the bed sheets when we asked and rarely stocked toilet paper and toiletries but we got by. Bar staff would use the PA to make announcements every night and every time they did the fire alarms in the rooms would go off. Sometimes it was late when this happened. Never enjoyable. Communal kitchen only had one microwave for a lot of people so we felt rude every time we took up time using it.

    Good location, easy to access. Drink vouchers came twice but then the second week she knocked on every door but ours :/

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.8
    Great bar but the accom side was a let down, really bad car park
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upon arrival I had problems trying to find the carpark and I couldn't really park anywhere close to check in so had to stop in a bus zone and phone reception, after checking in I was given the directions of the carpark & I still couldn't find it as it has no signs and the door pass wouldn't work anyway. After calling up reception a third time he came out and let me into the carpark which I wouldn't recommend bringing a wagon or large car into as I did a 200 point turn trying to reverse out it afterwards. I initially booked a bed in a dorm, which had a few backpackers in it that look like they're living in there permanently who were fermenting in their beds and had stuff everywhere so I could hardly find the ladder to get up into the bunk. I requested to upgrade to a room on my own, and did, however, I don't think the window closes properly and it was right above the smokers area so the room smelt like a durry pit all night. I would defs recommend the bar at this venue but wouldn't recommend staying here in either a dorm or ur own room, you get what you pay for tho! :)

    This venues bar is really good & has a great vibe so I wanted to check out the accom, I would only return to hang out at the bar

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    We were here for 3 weeks;
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the free wifi that's available throughout the day should remain available until after 6pm and not get shut off - as this is obviously prime time for using the internet. You can pay for unlimited wifi throughought the day & night though which does reach the rooms and works quite fast.

    We were here for 3 weeks; absolutely excellent location, right in the centre of St Kilda and a two minute walk to the beach and busy Acland Street full of restaurants & shops. Also easy to get trams into the city centre which come really frequently. Staff are amazing!!! Never a dull night and great if you're looking to have a good time because of all the events arranged by the bar and discounted drinks. House keeping come in every morning to clean (very thoroughly) so the rooms are spotless the majority of the time, especially the private rooms which are really nice. We had a bit of an incident with someone in one of the dorms we were in toward the end of our stay and the staff were SO helpful and friendly about it which impressed us. Would 100% stay here again, mainly for the great atmosphere and sense of community. Thanks Base!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    6.0
    Worst room in the hostel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last room I was in was covered in mold. By my bed was next to the window and I pulled away the curtain to see all the mold and mildew had made the wall black it was disgusting I'm also ill and I think it's due to this. As I have stayed in several rooms in this hostel and not experienced this. Another guest also got ill in that room to and he was in the bed below me

    I like the staff they are really friendly. And friendly guests

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    You like to party? Go there! If not, search for something else.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was looking for a job and this is definitely the wrong hostel for that. The kitchen was horrible, messy and dirty. They have lockers and a fridge but there was no place left to put my stuff in. You have to pay for the good wifi and you have only free wifi until 6 pm. Because of the party it was very loud even in the rooms.

    It is a very good hostel if you're looking for party everyday. They have a different theme for party every day/7 days a week. They have a happy hour, so the drinks are very cheap. The location was good because it was only 2 min away from a shopping-street. If you're a looking for the next trip, than they also have a travel-agency right beside the reception to help you. The beds are okay and they have a toilet and a shower in each room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    Complete hostel
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I spent there one week, and the bathroom in our room wasn't always cleaned.The kitchen is also often dirty and there is not so much air, I smelt like smoke once I came out of it.

    I liked the night services, the suburb around (St.Kilda), the transportation for the city centre is very perfect and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    5.8
    For young party people only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is perfect for travelers up to the age 24 more or less. Should have a warning- noisy, has a bar in the place, very very young oriented.

    We were moved to a quiet room for the second night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    5.0
    Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people I stayed with were awful. The kitchen was untidy. They got my booking wrong at the reception. It was noisy at night.

    I can leave my luggage when I was away for 2 night before coming back to stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    4.6
    Unfriendly staff and messy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a bed via booking.com. I made a mistake and booked twice. So i asked the owner if he could cancel a reservation. He said no so I had to pay 46aud for a bed in a dorm. That was painful enough for me but he started talking about booking.com and the fact that i should not complain about the price because usually he charges 35aud !! He was so unfriendly ! I've been travelling for 16 months staying in hostels, i've never seen a mess like that in a dorm, only 1 plug for 8 beds and the showers are getting cold if someone else is showering too. Dear owner, even 23aud for a night is too expensive for what I had !

    The location, the kitchen

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    6.7
    Private room is the only way to go!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen was kept quite poorly. All the sinks crammed with dirty dishes, meaning that the cupboards were bare and you had to clean others people's dishes in order to use them yourself. Thank god we only had breakfast in, dinner would have been hectic. The staff gave the bare minimum customer service: they answered your questions and did what you asked, but without any friendliness. I've seen a lot of negative reviews about some of the things here: if you are in your late twenties and are over the usual Hostel rubbish (heavy drinking, messy careless people, dirty communal kitchens, ect) the private room is the only way you will survive here!

    Private room was great - a double bed with ensuite and balcony. Great location by the beach to experience St Kilda, with a quick direct tram to the heart of the city.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    3.3
    Shocking customer service and housekeeping. Quality location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The cleaners come in every morning between 9-10am and hoover for 20 seconds you have no choice of this as you can't lock the doors. They also take all of your toiletries out of the bathroom and put them on the floor including your tooth brush, twice out of the six nights we stayed it was wrapped in toilet roll the others it was laid on the floor. 3rd night i took my pillowcase down as requested before 12pm at 9'oclock i presented my pillowcase to have my bed sheets changed. I come back to my room in the evening bed sheets were not changed. Confronted reception to then be offered a sheet to change it myself by the receptionist. Extremely poor customer service and housekeeping.

    The only good thing about this hostel were the guests and location, they had one out of 7 staff that was kind and friendly and the bingo night on a monday was the best thing about the hostel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    6.7
    Good entertainment available all evenings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not comfortable. Food not available every night and often it was only announced there was food available once I'd eaten. I filtered for places parking was available, but was told I just had to use public car parking.

    Good entertainment available all evenings. Kept clean. Food cheap when available.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    4.2
    Might as well sleep in the trash outside! Nasty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you looking to sleep in a box with a toilet facing you, with random strangers who party all day and night then base is ok. But if you value your privacy and a bit of comfort then don't bother..Nommads down the road is much better and for the same prices. Base is disgusting for disgusting wild people.

    The area was good, close to shops and local public transport.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.3
    Awesome stay for making friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pajd wifi that would not work in our room (3rd floor) - basement has good set up but no reception/3g internet.

    Great for socialising. Good bar, good kitchen and lovely location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    10
    Brilliant - highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    having to leave was sad!

    staff were all so so lovely, dealt with problem guests straight away, were really appreciable and friendly, beds were as comfy as can be expected for a hostel and rooms and bathrooms were clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    2.5
    Never going back dont recommend they are crooks
    • Couple
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were uncompatioate waited 3 hrs of my time wouldnt take other identification we had one photo id I went to get my photo id took ages then they said my names didn't match they gave me hell and back then only way I could stay was if I paid double $208 a night instead of $108 fuming really upset they had no compassion got ripped off for the smallest dirty room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    6.3
    Average hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hot water didn't work for a couple of nights and on the last 2 nights of stay neither did the air con to any of the rooms in the entire hostel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    5.0
    Not worth the money, very expensive for what it was!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not worth the money, very expensive for what it was! Very uncomfortable beds, woken up by 4 menebers of the cleaning team having a chat in our room! we were put in a room with 2 60+ year old travelers which was very uncomfortable for 2 23 year old girls

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    5.0
    Would not recommend this hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room's were filthy and extremely overpriced. That might have been because I was staying there during the Australian Open, but that should still not be an excuse. At others hostel I've usually had access to personal lockers where I could just put my stuff, but not at this hostel. Backpacks and luggages were laying all around the room as we did not have any place to put them except for this open metal box which really wasn't practical at all. Also only having one bathroom per room can become problematic, especially during the mornings when people want to shower and take their time in the bathroom, as they should. Really disappointed with the hostel, would not recommend it.

    The people I met were amazing, which is usually the case with any hostel that I have been at. The location was great, close to the tram and St Kilda is just a beautiful place in general. The straff were kind aswell!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.6
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed one night with my partner and a girls night was going on downstairs. It was fantastic that no noise could be heard from our room. Gorgeous location and staff were amazing. All round great stay and very disappointed about other reviews thinking otherwise.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    8.3
    Excellent Hostel for Solo Travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather expensive

    Hostel staff were extremely friendly and inviting, events were held every night making it easy to socialise and meet new people. Rooms were very clean and house-keeping came every day.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    4.2
    Goood localtion meet friendly travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for what it is. Cleaners werent that great, lack of essentials for the bathroom. Staff at the bar made us feel uncomfortable, werent approachable. Felt like they had a problem with some people and were judging or looking at us rudly.

    Goood localtion meet friendly travellers.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    9.2
    Booked a double room - got a good sized room with towels, TV...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double room - got a good sized room with towels, TV perfectly clean bathroom und comfy bed. Kitchen is clean and staff is very friendly. Great location near the beach with easy access to city by tram

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    7.5
    Lots of activities.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The ensuite with is not a good idea in a hostel room as there will be lot of people using that and that will disturb your sleep. Really depends on your roomate.

    Lots of activities.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    7.5
    Good location, friendly staff and a bar where you can grab...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It could get very loud on a saturday night but the staff provides you with ear plugs.

    Good location, friendly staff and a bar where you can grab something to eat as well and enjoy a beer, if you don't feel like going out.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    6.3
    Snail pace check-in; incompetent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff here were incompetent. We arrived at offpeak times (around midnight) but still took 1 hour to process us. I always stay at party hostels, so its not like I'm not used to the wait times for getting processed, but this was just ridiculous (we had 1 person in front of us checking in). When it was finally our turn to get checked in, the staff just casually took swigs from their drink, chatted with each other, then went away for 5 mins before coming back to us. And then when they did get to us, it took another 10-15 minutes to check in. Then when we were checked in, we left to go for a night out. Came back, staff had put someone else in my friend's bed. He had to move in the middle of the night to another room. Next morning, when we went to get it sorted out, they said theyd move my friend back to my room. We go back, and they'd locked us both out, with neither of our keys working. To add to this, the free drink we were promised as genius member was really a buy 1 get 1 free (not really miffed about this, not a big deal). Thankfully checking out was swift.

    Good atmosphere, definitely a party hostel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    7.1
    I was in a 4 room with men originally
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in a 4 room with men originally I requested a room with ladies, which i was changed to The problem was one lady brought a man into the room and partied all night. Grrr

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.1
    location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    not so clean seemed like the cleaner cleaned the toilet then used it leaving skiddies and a not so favourable smell as we entered and were suspicious the sheets weren't changed...or the cleaner had a bit of a lay down aswell

    location location location comfy bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    5.8
    Close to tram stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 bathroom inside the dorm room.. Not the ideal setup as you can hear people peeing in the middle of the night Creaky beds

    Close to tram stop Nice staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.0
    Not a great start
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite (Mixed)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt sleep, charger every person different price depending who was on desk I payed $40 a night for the same room as someone who payed $26 very unprofessional

    Close to work

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Base Backpackers - St Kilda traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: