Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Base Sydney 5 stars

477 Kent Street, Sydney CBD, 2000 Sydney, Australia

#224 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2015 hostel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Paid WiFi

    4.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Close to Town Hall
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathrooms were often not cleaned but weren't too bad, I Don't like the self check in and there was limited people on reception. the free internet was limited. There was no movie room/chill room

    Close to Town Hall

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Couldn’t get in the bathroom before checking out time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get in the bathroom before checking out time. And doors all locked when we going to check out. We had to through a restaurant basement to get to front desk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    Great location, but having hostel on top of the bar that doesn't close till 3am is distruptive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 112 where is stayed for first night was on top of the bar, which didn't close till 3am. It's not very pleasant to sleep, when you have loud music playing till closing, bar staff crashing bottles in bin and having earplugs in the ear doesn't help when trying to fall asleep. Bathroom in the room was unclean and bins from the room were still full from the previous stays.

    Receptionist who changed the room for second night, as the first night sleep was disturbed by many factors.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Back to basics in good location with private bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be prepared for noise from the onsite nightclub. TV is room but not working.

    Cheap, well located backpackers/budget accommodation in CBD. The private bathroom accommodation was great for 1 night. Not for the fussy , would suit Aussies that have experienced hostel style accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.4
    Quite an expensive stay for myself and collegue for the standard and comfort of the room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower flow was pitiful and at on point just stopped running mid shower. It also ran hot and cold when it did run. The vanity basin was the same. There was a lot of street noise entering the room.

    Location was great to the Darling Harbour Convention cetre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Great picks up
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The receptionists are very friendly and helpful . The room was clean and tidy. Highly recommended for any one wants good and cheap share room to stay in and perfect location in CBD. Perfect perfect

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    The staff was super helpful and kind with us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately they don’t offer breakfast.

    The staff was super helpful and kind with us. The location is amazing and close from the train station. The room was comfortable and clean .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    The staff were friendly, it was located conveniently for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on a floor that had shared bathroom which was fine, but you could hear every single time someones door or the bathroom doors were opened and closed all night. They also only provided towels and ear plugs for 2 people in a room booked for 3.

    The staff were friendly, it was located conveniently for heading out that night and there was parking directly across the road for $30 per night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower rooms needs to be improved

    Perfect place for Backpackers and party animals ... clean , Modern & comfortable.. Bar at the Ground floor was awesome ,,, I love you Sydney

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early Check out Timings No charging sockets near beds Lift wasnt working properly Door keys stop working before checkout timings.

    Location Staff Value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Short, quick and easy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small but it was enough for me and my partner just to crash in for the night

    It was very convenient and close to darling harbour, it is located above scary canary but did not hear the music or people in our room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    2.9
    Give this place a miss
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud, trashy, freezing cold. Receptionist booked me into a room that was already occupied so I lugged all my luggage up there to have to come back down again. When I told him he just laughed - didn’t apologise. Bed uncomfortable, what is really a must is to have individual power socket and light by the bedside - this place had neither. Goes without saying that no towel either. Nightclub downstairs so incredibly loud but even at 10am on a Sunday morning the following day, loud thumping music everywhere, including the reception and foyer. Couldn’t wait to get out of the place. Found somewhere else for $5 more but 100x better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi is only free at the ground floor during daytime (until 7pm). After that (or if you want Wifi in your room at any hour) you should pay. Considering that it is not one of the cheapest hostel, this is not very positive.

    The hostel is really nice. The staff are kind and friendly. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and spacious. They have a self check-in that it is great and they allow late check-ins

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice stayed in base sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WiFi is very slow. 6 females room is small,If can remove the sofa and add other desk should be better.No room for shower items when you are shower

    The staff is very friendly and will recommend nearby attractions. The hotel has a variety of activities to participate in, including barbecue dinners, pizza lunches, pancake breakfasts and more. The hot water in the shower is hot. The kitchen items are clearly categorized and the kitchen uses induction cookers and no oven.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfy mattress and clean sheet.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of shelf in the shower bays and very tight toilet cubicles.

    Comfy mattress and clean sheet. Kitchen also had a new makeover which is a lot nicer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    Location and Price Rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst hostel ever. Most nastiest kitchen I ever had. They need to supervise the people who are using the kitchen, those people treat the kitchen like a garbage. So disgusting.

    Location and Price Rate

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    You get what you pay for, it was a good comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs - they had a lift but it was VERY slow and quicker to walk. Also didn't like the check-in service - had to sign up to an app to check in (or give a lot of details again) and no chance of early check-in - had just travelled overnight on an overseas flight and just wanted to have a rest but this wasn't an option - I was told to come back at 2pm when EVERYONE else was also checking in - thankfully didn't have to wait too long.

    I liked the reception area - which included a USB port where I could charge my phone as I'd forgot to pack the power point part.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Good stay for little money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in was a mess because their system was down. Also the TV in our original room wasn't working and we had to change rooms on the first day. Lift took forever so better to use stairs and keep fit LOL

    The staff is amazing, we had a complimentary room upgrade because our TV wasn't working and also the cards to the room and shared toilets. Location is perfect and kitchen was always clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location, just make sure your room is away from the open fire exit doors-blaring music at nigh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music from downstairs from 10pm till 2-3am, couldn't sleep well.

    Awesome location. Female staffs are very friendly and accommodating. If you're not a party person and would like to have a peaceful & restful early sleep, demand for a room away from the fire exit and avoid level 1 rooms - the PARTY music won't let you sleep until wee time in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    2.5
    Will never recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible smell, super long waiting time when staff is doing his internal stuffs, other customers come into my room appearently their system showed the wrong room number! Worst experience ever

    Nothing is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.4
    I could not get out of this establishment fast enough.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was extremely noisy. I didn't get to sleep till 2:30 AM because of all the thumping music and was awoken at 5:30 AM by traffic and people moving around noisily in the corridor outside. There was a two foot drop just inside the door which could not be seen in the dark before finding the light switch. The receptionist was untrained in the new system and wrote down the wrong room number.

    Good location, clean room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Great experience, staff were incredibly helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great experience, staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating, I think zack was the name of the guy on reception, he helped with the booking and sorted out my stay to ensure I got the room right for me.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    I just don’t think it’s propriate to have a male clean the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just don’t think it’s propriate to have a male clean the bathroom while a female taking shower with a closed curtain only.

    I just don’t think it’s propriate to have a male clean the bathroom while a female taking shower with a closed curtain only.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.2
    Sleepless in Based Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no policy on having guests keeping their things tidy | considerate with others sharing the roon. My room with other 6 people in it looks like a garbage room! No bed assignments that guests just tried to guess which one he/she should sleep in. Coming in late like 3am, drunk, door banging, talking loudly, some friends sneaking in... was a nightmare!!!

    Close to train station and most of the tourists spots. Cool music at the reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    After their wrong information about the transfer from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen is a total mess, false information about the airport transfer, beds are squeaking

    After their wrong information about the transfer from the aiport, they offered me free wifi and a towel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    It was cheap and cheerful and good if you're on a budget and want to meet other young people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen could have been cleaner, other hostel users didn't up there dishes after themselves.

    Great location and good price for Sydney. Staff were helpful with giving advice and helping people to book tours and trips.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent all up
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was facing Durrit St. It was noisy with traffic noise all night. Suggestion: maybe put in noise reducing windows in and not give the person earplugs. They need to put in reverse cycle air conditioners in room with private facilities

    The staff were very friendly they helped out with my problem i had. It was very Central to every thing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    3.3
    Literally just a bed to but your bed on.. you wouldn’t want to spend any time in the room to relax.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size was ridiculous, Staff said that that was an appropriate room size. Have attached a wall to wall photo from my top bunk. The space between the bunk and the sigle bed could only fit my suitcase. That’s how small. The wall space was. Literally just tlye you head on only.

    The room was very very very small for 3 people. it was mentioned to be for only two people but the squeezed another single bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    The staff were very nice but this is a very noisy place to...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very nice but this is a very noisy place to try to sleep . If you are here working and need your sleep this might not be the best place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.3
    Unsatisfactory
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower flooded because the cleaning staff didnt clean under the tile insert in the shower - which I had to clean myself and it was disgusting. I organised a late check out (12 noon) and still had cleaning wake me up at 10, 10.30 and 10.45 - each time I told them I had a 12pm check out. Tried to call the rwception and no one answered. Very noisy right next to a nightclub and hard to get a decent sleep

    It was close to city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location at a cheap price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    long line to check in- although in a hostel at 2pm it should be expected.

    Female only dorm provided hair straighteners/dryers also a free towel, shampoo, body wash and conditioner - a nice surprise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Really good location, easy walk to both train stations and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from traffic outside was very loud however they gave you earplugs which helped a little

    Really good location, easy walk to both train stations and to the the opera house. Staff were helpful. Private room was lovely and the bathroom was super clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    It would be great for who just stay for sleeping and bathing and spend most of time outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller and only one lift in there. Have to walk up or down through a stair if it is using for delivery the larger materials.

    Good location as you can access to the train from airport directly and purchase any products conveniently from supermarket. You can chose to walk or take train to go to the venues of the main attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Great value for a quick trip to Sydney.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower water wasn't draining properly - I took the drain cover off and there was a hair ball in there the size of a cat. I would suggest to your cleaners to pull up the drain covers regularly and clear the hair out.

    We stayed in a private room with our own bathroom. It was very clean. It wasn't that noisy (although I did put the ear plugs in around 3am). Free bottled water was appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    Great location, good bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in lots of base and nomad hostels on our travels and the standard was always super high which is why we went with base Sydney. Was very disappointed. Was told on arrival the staff member I emailed to extend our booking with never booked the room And “assumed it wouldn’t fill up”. There was one room left available and it must have been the worst in the house, was right on the corner of the building at a junction so with the thin walls it was extremely loud. Asked to be moved a few times politely and was bluntly told they were full even though we found a few available rooms online. The only female toilet on our floor was out of service for the entire five days we were there. I have loved base hostels so far so recommend them as a whole But Overall base Sydney was a much less enjoyable stay than any other base or hostel we’ve been to.

    Great location, good bar. Like other base hostels there are decent facilities and good activities ongoing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    The location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets and showers were often dirty or out of order At the reception they don’t rent towels anymore, it’s possible to purchase them only (we were told something different on the phone) The management seem not to care about parties in the dorms. We had people dancing and sniffing cocaine at night The windows couldn’t be unlocked

    The location was good The hall was cozy The kitchen was well equipped Most of the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Met some cool people and didn’t feel alone as a solo female traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen

    It was a little dirty, but that was the customers fault not the staff. I made some good friends, but you definitely have to stay over a week for that to happen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    4.2
    I had booked for its location to a function we attended. Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought I had booked a room with private facilities for the price I was paying. When we arrived they had us only booked for one night with shared facilities We checked out and went somewhere else for the second night but they have charged us for second night and are not responding to my emails !! Not happy !! Above a pub that partied til 3 am

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    Good social vibe, but accommodation is average at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 117 had a bad musty smell, which I later realised was probably from the wet carpet as the AC unit was constantly dripping water, the noise from adjacent cabins was surprisingly loud and heavy duty roadworks outside started at 8am, bed was uncomfortable and room definitely way over priced at $100 a night considering no bathroom.

    Staff were genuine and friendly, great location in CBD. Good showers on my level.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Fairly okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rudeness of the American guy who shared the room with us who didn't do anything but invite people to get inside the room like he's the only one there. Who talks so loudly like he doesn't care if anyone was sleeping.

    The location definitely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff were great and the bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit of a maze to try and find my room at the start leaving from the foyer and using the stairs and I’m not sure I would pay the price again for what was included. If it was a bit less or if I was staying longer and could experience hostel life more then I would definitely consider it again. I liked that they included ear plugs as the streets and club below were quite loud. Other places in the CBD haven’t supplied them before so that was nice :)

    The staff were great and the bed was comfy. If I was staying more than one night I would have been able to experience it a bit more but for what I needed it for it was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.3
    Room was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very rude on arrival and at the travel desk, after paying so much money for a private room i didnt expect to be put in a room right on the roaside, noise was extremely loud.

    Room was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Everything great bar the loud music playing 24hours a day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    music blaring literally 24 hours a day. Very hard to sleep through. Ruined my time at base.

    Great location, good size rooms. Very clean and bathroom was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    I didn't like that they wanted to take a photo of me for...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that they wanted to take a photo of me for my "X Base profile". I'm glad they didn't insist when I said I do not want.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Would definitely recommend staying a base to anyone. It was 10/10 for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a party hostel so it can get noisy but that’s what to be expected at a backpackers

    Had such a lovely stay! Staff were super friendly and helpful and the room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Cute little apartment room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much that I can fault. 1 of the bedroom windows wouldn’t open it as stuck.

    -clean -great staff -lots of activities advertised -good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    It was very clean, nice staff and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They mustn’t have told house keeping we had extended 1 night where housekeeping knocked and came in while we were still in bed asleep questioning our stay.

    It was very clean, nice staff and good location. Private room was just enough for 2 people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Overall good, wish I had friendlier roommates to enjoy the stay more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen was not inviting. I didn’t want to hang around there. The signs were confusing to find the tv lounge. Not enough social events to meet others. My roommates only kept to themselves as they were traveling together, so that was unfortunate. I had the 4-person ensuite room. The Aircon was broken or maybe purposely set to a certain temp. The sun was shining through most of the day, where it made it feel like an oven. There are also no windows to have air flow since the aircon wasn’t working.

    Liked the comfort of the beds, cleanliness, very friendly staff. The bar attached. The fan in the room. Lockers were spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced, convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single rooms are overpriced, and the rooms are remote and difficult to get to. A labyrinth of stairs, which you have to carry your heavy bags through. Bathrooms are super basic and everything requires the use of an access card. The only elevator is from the middle ages and takes ages. I'm probably the wrong demographic for this place: it seems more pitched young people looking to party.

    The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable, very comfortable, just could have been a little cleaner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been a bit cleaner. We found blood stains on the duvet cover and hair and sand grains in the bed.

    Comfy bed, great shower, great price, great location, earplugs provided , friendly service, elevator, TV, towels provided and fresh ones received everyday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.2
    Great location but I'd suggest staying somewhere else as this hostel really was pretty gross.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The showers don't have lockable doors, just a glass door and a curtain in the bathroom, the water was however hot. My dorm of 8 was full of people who were staying long term and working in Sydney, as such they had spread out everywhere, and this included boxers and shorts placed on the steps up to the top bunk. The door to the dorm didn't lock as someone had put a pair of socks in the way to stop this. The other people in the dorm snored, they were loud when they came in at 4am, kept the light on all night, used my things without asking and two people had sex in the room whilst I was trying to sleep - I literally couldn't believe it and then I didn't know what to do and ended up just pressing my pillow against my ears. You can't blame a hostel entirely for the behaviour of people staying there, but the culture of the hostel I think is at least partly responsible. I've stayed in lots of other hostels but I've never stayed anywhere like it, I didn't trust the other people in my room at all and I didn't trust that the staff would help if I asked to switch rooms. I thought about checking out and going somewhere else but didn't as I would have still had to pay for Base and paying for 2 beds would have been too expensive. You have to download Tipi before you can check in which is annoying. Location wise it's great but I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.2
    Internet was awful and expensive, The staff is only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet was awful and expensive, The staff is only interested getting you to buy expensive tours, instead of helping you properly explore Sydney. Staff not very knowledgeable about the city and rude and dismissive,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    Good locations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a little bit noisy. There r some problem when I checked in I booked through booking 7-12 but it show that I booked on 8-13 so first night they put me and my friend to a triple room which is lower price than room we booked. I’ve no idea is the system on booking wrong or their system..

    Good locations.staffs are nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.3
    Good location but very noisy at night
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As hostel is connected to the bar, it is so noisy at night especially I stayed on 1st floor so the noise is clear and the floor shaked all the time by loudly music. I couldn't sleep properly until baris is closed around 2 pm. Not sure if I stay on higher floor will be better.

    Location and facilities is the best. Some staff is very helpful but some seems ignore you when requested for any assistance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    not bad but needs an update
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    beds were extremely loud and rocky - even if you just rolled over the whole bed would move and be really loud, lift was pretty old and took ages however you are warned about this, kitchen is big but they need more pots and pans, also on most evenings people wouldn’t clean their dishes and just leave them in the sink which is disgusting and really put us off from cooking and eating in here, not a bad hostel for the location and price but needs to update beds, lift and kitchen

    good location right next to the train stop, staff were nice and helpful, paid wifi was good although slightly pricey, place is cleaned every morning, beds are comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    My answer to this I put in question 3
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    It was a nice place to stay what made it such a pleasant stay was first contact the staff at reception with excellent customer service & very helpful and the other guests very friendly. I definitely go back & stay there again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was filthy, stained sheets, the common areas were disgusting and someone stuck a used teabag on our door. The bathrooms were pretty gross too. I found the other guest were ignorant and loud at all hours of the night, and some even walked around naked...

    It was very cheap and the check in staff were friendly but that's about it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed it and would definitely recommend to people who have a limited budget to choose it here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit smelly when the first time I arrived at the first floor but I rekon it was because one room's door were open, it's probably the room's smell not because of the hotel itself.

    really fantastic location and reasonable price, and all the staff we met were very friendly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Basically you get what you're paying for, and if you're into partying this is definitely the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the experience depends on who you're staying with if you're alone and you're in a dormitory. The first few days I was there it was an absolute mess, and very loud, but I had a different experience on my last day as things were clean and quieter. Also their washrooms can be very unclean sometimes, and their elevator is very unreliable. Their 6 dollar breakfast is a total rip-off.

    If you need to book travelling trips or tours they make it really easy for you and the location can't get better. Also it's fairly cheap easy to make changes if needed. Definitely a strong party culture so if you're not interested in that type of hostel I wouldn't recommend this place. They also have a decent kitchen and storage for food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    I live in nsw stayed backpackers in Sydney this is not one I would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My key card wouldn’t let me back in room at 5 am in morning so I had to return to reception 4 floors down, to get another working key card; this disturbed my sleep. No fan in room. Room was hot. No window. Room was pitch black. I was on top bunk hard in dark need emergency lights suggest small lights floor for safety. The elevator is on the way out. There were about 6 in it somebody stamped feet it stopped very scary. Thought we we were stuck!

    Happy staff reception clean showers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.4
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    设施和隔音效果太糟,也没有储物柜存放行李,there is a night club just right downstairs,so you have to sleep until 12:30 every night,it’s horrible and the front counter didn’t provide me earplug,no free WiFi you need to pay the bill,no locker you have to put all your luggage on the floor,no hair dryers you have to let it dry in the air....for god sake my roommates were quiet so that I can sleep very calm after 12:30

    good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.3
    The reception staff was nice and beside women’s room there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the night, the sounds of night club was noisy. I couldn’t sleep well.

    The reception staff was nice and beside women’s room there is a make up space, it was useful for me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Time consuming check-in (had to install tipy app), extremely noisy (the club below is open till 3am on some nights), small and filthy rooms. I would not recommend this accomodation.

    Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Great stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the best places I've ever stayed, clean facilities, friendly staffs, beautiful surroundings... The experience of my stay was far exceeding my expectations. I extended my stay twice and if I could, I would definitely stay longer. The vibes here is so relaxing, stress-free and welcoming. Strongly recommended!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.8
    The location was great, staff were very helpful
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kitchen facilities were shocking - I know it is a communal space and you can't count on everybody to do their own dishes but for the prices they charge (upwards of AUD200 for a very basic private room) keep a staff on duty in the kitchen to help tidy up. I felt a bit dirty even eating my food down there. Otherwise rooms and shared bathrooms were fine.

    The location was great, staff were very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    3.8
    Never going back, nearly left early even though I was only there two nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room no space to even open suitcase on the floor. No window, the room smelt terrible. Fire safety rules are not adhered to. Towels are expensive, some staff know what they’re doing, others haven’t a clue. Shower rooms are ok.

    Good location within walking distance of main attractions and parks Got given a spare key for free when I lost mine

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.0
    Location was great everything else was crap
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that the staff realised they had made a mistake with my room after I had been in the room for two nights already and then why I was out and without permission packed up all my belongings and brought them to the front office and informed me when I arrived back at the hotel they had made a mistake and that my stuff is here at the front desk and that they were about to email me, however now here is your new room key. I found that total rude and an invasion of my privacy. It wasn’t my mistake it was theirs so they either should have asked first or dealt with the fact that they made a mistake.

    The location was awesome it made it easy to get around to everything being only 5 minutes from town hall station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    OK but very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the bar below was horrendous. I expect a certain amount of noise staying in a hostel but if you want to sleep before 3am don’t stay here.

    Our room was nice. Cleanish. Air-Con and TV a bonus

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    4.6
    The company uses an application for check in and check out,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The company uses an application for check in and check out, which also allows other guests from the hotel to message you. I was harassed through this service by another guest. Ruined my stay in Sydney.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.0
    Awful vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two people were having sex in my dorm room at night. And ruined my vacation. They made the room looking awful. And I couldn't sleep the whole night. Definitely I'm not gonna comeback to any x base hostel again in my entire life.

    Very nice facilities. Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.0
    It was close to event I was attending at the ICC.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, unconfortable bed and I was on level 1 so it was very noisy during the night because of the loud music at the bar on the ground floor. My room was tidy and narrow and really messy.

    It was close to event I was attending at the ICC. And there was aircon which worked really well.the

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    4.2
    Stay somewhere else if you want to enjoy the city as this is a party hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the night of our arrival the first thing we saw was an upset customer and she called the place a shit whole. Our room was just above a club so hence the house rules we could not sleep until 3 am which is if you just want to see the city too late. When I asked at the reception they only said: Ma‘am, you are staying in a party hostel. I am used to the hostels in Europe and I can tell that it is not always like this, even if the receptionist tried to convince me, that if I wanted a quiet accomodation, I would have to spend more money on a hotel. In a nutshell, don‘t stay here if you want to use your bed for sleeping (and this during the night) and not party all night. It was just a waist of money and we were so happy to get out of there. Furthermore have we found insects (alive) in the corridor und the shower was not properly working the first day.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    4.2
    Avoid at all costs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room smelt like bleach and there was no ventilation. The air conditioning didn't work. When I asked if the air con could be fixed, they told me I could change rooms, but I would have to tidy up the room I was in as someone else would stay there that night. The room key card kept losing its programming so when you desperately need the card to work - like at 6am to use the toilet - you have to walk downstairs in your PJs to have the card recoded (this happened twice). The shower was dirty and didn't look like it had been cleaned that day. Base adjoins a night club that is raging even on Tuesday nights.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Amazing stay in Base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was average at best.

    I really loved the staff. Really helpful and full of fun. Henry on reception was amazing and the guy making the pancakes was really fun!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    The location was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its too noisy at the reception and the bathroom door. Each time ppl use the bathroom door, hit the loud noice and we even woke up bcoz of the noice.

    The location was perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Base Sydney traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: