Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar 4 stars

4 Wentworth Ave, Sydney CBD, 2000 Sydney, Australia

#65 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 977 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Centrally located, convenient and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in system is not very efficient. Reception seems to struggle with rooms assignment if there is a change. Perhaps a better room management system is needed. Otherwise staff are hardworking.

    The hotel’s location is very convenient as there is a Priceline Pharmacy up right, a City convenience store nearby, the Museum train stop just up the corner from the hotel and also a good Thai restaurant MD up at Oxford street all within walking distance. Also near Paddy’s Market, Chinatown and about 800m away is the heart of CBD where George Street, Market St, Elizabeth St, Pitt Street are, where you have mega Westfield shopping Centre where Chanel, Saint Laurent, Gucci are locates with Louis Vuitton George Street nearby. Rooms have comfortable beds and equipped with a functional kitchenette with fridge, microwave, tea coffee making facilities, cups, glasses and all the cutleries. Rooms have 2 in 1 heater and air-conditioner and the bathroom is roomy with good pressure, thick long towels, ample toiletries and the added nice to have heater in the bathroom as well. Staff are nice, courteous and hardworking. Despite full house status, Michael at the reception was able to upgrade my family to a bigger room. Family with children please take the bigger Twin Room which is 32m and not very much difference in price. Overall we had a good stay and will return in future. Thank you to the staff!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Gem in the city
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Spacious room and bathroom. Spotlessly clean. Well appointed kitchenette and separate desk and table to eat at. Pleasant view towards the cathedral. Excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Perfect location and very clean
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lamp in bathroom was coming off the ceiling, but for the rest all was perfect, extremely clean, both room and bathroom!

    Excellent location, near trains and next to Hyde Park!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Great Spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lift is quite slow so you're best off taking the stairs.

    Bonus cardio climbing stairs. Check in & out was easy. Bathroom was clean and well stocked with the usual toiletries + bonus 2 ply. The cleaning staff were very friendly and made the room when we were out. Close to Goulburn Street Carpark [great weekend rates] and close to an array of take away and convenience stores. 8 min wander to Central Station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    The location was so central to the train station and walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were lorry’s in the early hours of the morning which parked down the side of the hotel and would wake you up.

    The location was so central to the train station and walking distance to the main parts of Sydney.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    It is a convenient location for the tourist, especially can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is a convenient location for the tourist, especially can take the public transportation to reach the hotel directly. All the amenities are nearby, within a walkable distance. Besides, the concept of the hotel - studio type is suitable for the family.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    HAVING 2 BEDS IN THE ROOM
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ASKED FOR A HIGHER FLOOR COULDNT GET ONE SO HAD STAY ONLEVEL 1 AND THE NOISE FROM WORK BEIN DONE CLOSE BY WOKE ME EARLY BOTH MORNINGS....WONT STAY NEXT TIME UNLESS GET HIGHER FLOOR...

    HAVING 2 BEDS IN THE ROOM

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    good facilities in a great location. i'll stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    couldn't work out the aircon! it was controlled by a master switch hidden behind the curtain.

    i didnt have high expectations as it was a last minute booking and good value. it exceeded massivley

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.5
    Comfortable, well located hotel where the staff are the greatest asset!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was an issue during my stay.

    Kitchenette was a bonus. One staff member (Pavol) went above and beyond to help when I left a very important item behind. He was fantastic, and saved the day for me! A rare thing these days. Greatly appreciated. A very comfortable, well located hotel where the staff are a bonus!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    I was pleasantly surprised on how this hotel exceeded my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I did not like is the elevator. I feel like it was going to break any time soon.

    I was pleasantly surprised on how this hotel exceeded my expectations. The hotel staff were friendly and hospitable especially the ones at the lobby. I’m sorry that I forgot your names, I’m just getting old. Anyway, the rooms were immaculately clean! There were so many facilities inside the room and I would really go back if I can!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't throw out the rubbish in the toilet and kitchenette although they made up the room. Had to throw them away ourselves on the first day. After that it was fine.

    The towels, location and family room. They also had weighing scales for us to check our bag weights 😁

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Staying in the motel itself was a very good, comfortable stay and easy access to the city.
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main thing I didn't like was how hard it was to find the shop front of the motel. It didn't stand out when looking for it on the street front.

    The room was clean and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and amenities were well finished. The staff were helpful and accommodating. The motel was in a great position, close to Circular Quay, Darling Harbour and central Sydney.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    It’s walkable to most places if walking ain’t a problem to u...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining place close tooo early

    It’s walkable to most places if walking ain’t a problem to u within 10-15 min. So pretty convenient. Hotel had the international adapters. Which was very helpful. The staff was very helpful and tried all they can to help. Fabiana really followed up when my room was given the wrong one.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Great value great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have like the beds to be a bit softer but I know that’s not for everyone

    I loved that everything was in walking distance and if it was central and museum stations were The staff were super friendly and very helpful we were a party of 5 and the room accommodated us perfect with 2 bathrooms there was no lining up

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Good joice to visit Sydney on foot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor sound isolation. You could hear traffic from the road like there was no window, and there wad a constant nocking sound, which can be a problem together with the jetleg

    Good location, spacious rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Good value and spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room on the 1st floor facing the road is noisy. The sound proof of the room can be better. No complimentary water provided. We met some people who had too much to drink on a Fri and Sat night as there is a bar close by the hotel. Hotel is 25 min walk to Circular Quay. Hence, not too near.

    WiFi is excellent. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff are excellent - helpful and friendly. Bed is comfy. Kitchenette, utensils, tea and coffee and microwave are in the room. Amenities are within walking distance. World Square is 5 min walk. Museum station is 3 min away. Chinatown is 10 min away. Breakfast at the restaurant downstairs is simple and good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    car parking was too small and had to go elsewhere to park vehicle for it to fit in - was only a med suv

    Location was great - close to train station and bus stops

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Great stay, definitely recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet door too hard to open

    AMAZING HOTEL. Far exceeded my expectations, the hotel is indeed stellar. I especially liked the heater in the bathroom, the spacious room, comfy beds and the music speaker! Overall very worth the money and in a safe and convenient location with Surry Hills/ CBD just a short walk away in opp directions. Definitely staying here the next time I'm back in Sydney. Thank you Best Western!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    There was lots of confusion between different staff members...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was lots of confusion between different staff members as I had booked two rooms. Some guests were only staying the one night and were treated very poorly by front of desk staff when they arrived at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, a very good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed during winter in Sydney and it was quite cold in the room, especially in the bathroom. The room did warm up eventually, but I would recommend preheating the room in colder months when outdoor temperatures are lower.

    Easy access, near the metro lines. The room was spacious and it had a kitchenette. There is a supermarket nearby, which is very convenient if you choose to prepare simple meals.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Great location. Quiet rooms. Lots of space. Clean.
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm not crazy about the interior design, but I think the spacious rooms, cleanliness and handy location override design in this instance.

    I like everything about this little hotel. It isn't glamorous, but more like the studio apartment you wish you could call your own as a nice little crash pad in the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Convenient location , clean modern room , good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so much a restaurant but a cafe , room has good facilities for preparing a quick meal

    Lovely room , excellent location for our needs very close to central train station and bus stops .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Good value, definitely return to Hotel Stellar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean comfortable room. Concerned to discover its close proximity to a nightclub, however very pleased to say our room on the 6th floor was quiet. We booked ahead to secure a car park, which made settling in easier after a long drive. Great location, and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Good and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow elevator

    Good friendly and helpful front desk, good location close to metro station, clean room, rooms match the description and pictures on site.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, walking distance to central and museum...
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, walking distance to central and museum trains stations, Pitt st mall, Hyde park and Surry Hills. Room was spacious & Bed was very comfortable. Friendly staff. Lovely old building which is very well kept. Will stay again. Value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.3
    Room was basic, all that you need for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were less than helpful. We arrived early from an early morning flight, and there was no effort to allow us an early check in. We booked airport transfers and weren't told till last minute that this had to be paid in cash, so I was running to a cash point at 5am to try and make our pick up. Lighting in our room was awful with only small lamps available, and there was no view of the park.

    Room was basic, all that you need for a short stay. Some staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    I had a great Sydney escape all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable. I liked having a kitchenette so that I can make tea/coffee and breakfast if I choose. Room was very quiet and I was able to open a window for fresh air. Staff very helpful and hotel close to train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    A gem of a hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little gem of a hotel very conveniently located 50m from Oxford St and about 100m to Museum Station. There’s a good IGA about 100m away as well as Gloria Jeans. There is a coffee shop next to the hotel however it was closed Sunday afternoon. The room had a kitchenette with everything you would need to cook simple meals. They provide breakfast packs so you can eat in your room as well as room service. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location allowed us to visit all of the beautiful sites in Sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A comfortable chair for sitting in would have been appreciated. Housekeeping was lacking attention, bathroom sink was not wiped at all during our 6 day stay.

    Wonderful location. Close to Museum train station, Hyde park, Sydney Tower, Darling Harbour and Circular Quay allowing us to walk to most locations. The hotel has been nicely renovated, beds were comfortable, kitchenette had everything we needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Good location, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow lift

    Great location, helpful staff, close to museum and bus stop/stations, good room, close by to department stores, good coin laundry machines

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    Good area to stay in. Close to public transport and CBD.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of cleaning - especially of the tiled floors. Sticky spots on kitchen floor - was there during the entire stay, and the same with the bathroom floors - other people’s hair left left. Had to do a little cleaning myself before I felt I could use them! I also missed natural daylight in the living area (no window).

    Spacious rooms, good mattress and pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable - great position - central hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite requesting Non-smoking - original room was so very much a stinking smoking room - but at 11pm - night desk clerk very quickly found a slightly smaller but non-smoking room for the night - had to move next morning to our booked room - kudos to the night desk guy - NOT to the hotel for that stuff-up. But no other negatives - would stay again.

    Spacious room - great shower - comfortable bed - reasonably priced cafe/bar attached in foyer - under 20 mins walk to darling harbour/ICC - 25-30 mins easy walk to Circular Quay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Suitable for a quick stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was smaller than what presented in the photos and it was very firm - didn't provide the best night's sleep.

    The staff were friendly and always greeted you when you walked through reception, regardless of what time of day or night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Pavol, the conscierge, was so helpful from room choice to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    😁

    Pavol, the conscierge, was so helpful from room choice to transportation tips to hot spot plans. He really helped make my trip memorable! I also loved the feel at home room I had.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Venue close to all amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost per night. Originally I had booked ahead about 4 months and booked for 3 nights. A week before coming to stay, I emailed ahead and asked could I get another 2 nights. The price was $503 for 2 nights. I had paid the 3 nights for $603. You figure the maths out. That was disappointing.

    The bed was very comfortable, linen clean and facilities great for what we wanted. My only gripe was the cost per night. There should be a tempter for people to stay longer and take the price per night down if you do. Surely from a business perspective it would be cost effective to take have people stay longer

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    The King Room was very nice and spacious and it provided...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Apartment with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lighting is very dim in the room overall, and it was probably due to the positioning of the lighting. There were no power sockets at the bedside table, which is rather inconvenient as I'm used to plug in an air humidifier next to my bed. The carpets were rather dusty and you needed bedroom slippers otherwise you be stepping on debris,hairs and dustballs. When we requested for a vacuum, we were greeted with a stare of dismay by the staff. We normally request fresh bedsheets changed every 2 days, but hotel policy was 3.

    The King Room was very nice and spacious and it provided basic facilities. Location was OK, about 10 minutes walk to George Street where everything is. Nice café (Two Good eggs) just around the corner. Met 4 staff throughout our stay, one guy was very outstanding, friendly and helpful (cant remember his name) but others were so so.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Awesome stay near Hyde park and Oxford Street
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift was a little slow but this is a very minor issue

    excellent location near Hyde park with easy walk to the city. Great family room with two large ( assume queen size beds ) awesome dining area with small kitchen and pleanty of storage space. Room was peaceful .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Room was clean and plenty of room but a little to far from city and harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Apartment with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When another room used a shower or hand basin in bathroom the water loudly drained through a drain in our bathroom. Woke us up the first night with a fright. Thought someone was in our shower

    The room was great the city view that was promised at booking really was non existent If you call a city view a view of a side street - that was what we got

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Very good small hotel in the City Center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location in the Center of City. Friendly personel gave us really good tips about what to see, where to go and where to eat. Very good self service laudry room. Nice room with a good bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Very satisfied traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wi-fi a bit slow for me

    Comfy bed, clean toilet and kitchen. spacious for 3 adults. amenities provided was good. a bit of walking needed to the museum station (for elderly a bit tiring) but bus services are nearby and connected well. only one bus to go to bondi beach. there is a supermarket named Food Hall and pharmacy less than 5 minutes walk. its a walking distance to the tram station and central. will recommend this place to family and friends. Would like to say thanks to Michael at reception for his excellent service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Great for first stay in Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Outside of building looks dated, doesn't give nice first impression, but inside everything is clean and modern.

    Large and comfortable room. Great location at Hyde park, walking distance to commercial city center (QVB, Town Hall), close and well connected to the port, bars and clubs around. Clean, daily cared. Kitchen equipped for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    2.9
    Won’t recommend to stay at this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are big

    Won’t recommend to stay at this property. Unfriendly staff, not willing to accept fault. Arrived last night and had to wait to 30 mins before they could get the lift working. The room size is decent and it was clean when we arrived until we found bed bugs while sleeping, couldn’t sleep till 3:30 in the morning, requested the guy at the reception to change the room but he lied saying that there wasn’t anything available, we decided to move out and then he offered us another room on the 1st floor, the bed in that had hair strands from the previous guests and wasn’t cleaned properly, took photos and showed the manager but he was not willing to accept it and said we are doing all this to score a free stay at the hotel, come on seriously, we were there to enjoy our holidays not to score a free stay. After this comment made by the manager we decided to move out. I wouldn’t recommend this place to anyone they might have been good in the past but not anymore.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Great value and a very good place to stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kitchen was not as well equipped as it could have been. The apartment was a bit interesting to access as you had to go via the fire stairs and had to carry the luggage in.

    The hotel is in a handy location to Hyde Park, was very spacious and totally suitable for our needs. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    3.8
    Tired old building with excessive noise and lack of cleanliness which forced me to leave early.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like that anyone was able to access every floor (did not have to swipe to access floor). The cups/glasses were dirty- they had dust, one had a hair in it and another had a dead insect. Bed was hard and uncomfortable. Toilet was noisy and ran all night. Could not hear street noise but clearly the building has not been adequately sound-proofed as you could hear the people upstairs walking, people next door talking and doors banging. I was woken up multiple times during the night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    The best customer service I've ever received!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Apartment with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect!

    This property went above and beyond for me. I had a family emergency and had to leave Australia immediately. This hotel, without question, released me from my stay requirements, and even held my room until they got word that I was able to get on a flight. I don't have words to express my gratitude.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    Good value; superb location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very dated.

    I left my mobile phone in my room. The man on reception (Toby?) ran right upstairs, found it and held it at reception for collection. Great customer service and thank you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent place and informative staff who really help you. Close to centre and transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to fault this place for

    The check-in was excellent and. Pavlov the receptionist was most helpful with advice and guidance, he is a credit to the Hotel as he certainly went over and above to assist with inquiries and giving excellent advice on the various places to see and the transportation too. thanks very much. The hotel is situated within easy walking distance to the centre and the buses and trams are close if you do not want to walk. Plenty of excellent places to eat close by along with convenience stores for any supplies you may need. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay at Stellar Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Apartment with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are well appointed and well maintained. I don't generally comment on the room toiletries, but I have to say they were just excellent. The windows are double glazed, so most traffic noise is muted. Best of all, is the location. It is close to everything and Hyde Park is about 300 metres away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.5
    We would use it again.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We understood there was a restaurant on the premises and expected bar facilities. Your staff member on duty was excellent and exceeded our expectations in making us as comfortable as he could in the circumstances.

    The room, bed and ensuite were all clean and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio Apartment with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) Getting really annoyed with hotels taking extra amounts from credit cards even when the room has been pre-paid. And then taking forever to return/cancel the amount. Wasn't even a mini bar. Tired of feeling like a criminal. 2) The toilet in the foyer was a bit of a mess - and how hard is it to put a hook on the back of the door for coats, hand bag etc.

    Location was good. Room was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location and reasonable price, staff were all very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area a little dated, could do with a makeover, but choices and food quality for breakast were excellent

    Great location, we walked everywhere but also just few minutes walk from Museum station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel - would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Apartment with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is in a great location - 5 minutes from Museum station and you can easily walk to the city as well. The room was very clean and, even though it is located close to a busy road, it was very quiet. Air-conditioning worked well. We only stayed a night but there is a small kitchenette with what you need for a longer stay. Breakfast downstairs was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Ideal location. Able to walk to main attractions. Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had three-bedroomed apartment which was spacious with three large double bedrooms and three bathrooms. It was necessary to carry bags up and down some stairs as lift did not go to our level. No issues for us but could be a problem for infirm people.

    Beds comfy. No views or balcony but great value so close to Hyde Park and easy walking to main sights.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no laundry detergent, dishwashing liquid, salt. And it would be nice to have a coffee machine and a dishwasher. The wash machine is not easy to work and the washed clothes smelled not good.

    The staffs are helpful. When we told them there's warter dropping down from the ceiling, they dealt it immediately and provided breakfast next morning. There are two showers in a bathroom and it's very convenient to take a shower with children.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.4
    I would not stay here again. Not very helpful service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio Apartment with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Swipe car did not work for the car park that I had to pay $30 per day for and that was in addition to the cost of the room. This meant I couldn't access the car park to get my car. Instead of helping me the person working at their reception desk was rude and blamed me for the swipe card not working and wouldn't help me which left me with my car stuck in their car park and late for work as I had travelled down to Sydney to cover a big international event. Also, the aircon was very loud and would keep turning off during the night which left the room very hot and when it came back on it was very noisy. This meant the room was either really hot or it was too noisy when the aircon came back on. Either way it made it difficult to get a good nights sleep. They also charged me 50 cents per page when I asked them to print out a 6 page document, I thought that was a little greedy. I would not stay here again!

    Not much to be honest. The location was very good but not much else impressed me. There are far better hotels in Sydney to stay at for the same price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    comfortable, great for our needs as out every day in Sydney. within walking distance of harbours
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clearer info as charged for a bottle of water 4.50! Expected this to have been complimentary as other hotels during my tours here have provided water. Told at check out that there was a label on the bottle to tell me re the charge, I assured her that there was no label on ours. I was still charged.

    A very helpful reception especially Michael. Great location to tour the city on foot. Room was basic but met our needs with clean comfy beds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for what I wanted - peace and quiet and space to write.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were great, my room and bathroom was spacious and very clean, shower perfect. I loved the smaller size of the building and that the windows could be opened. The lift is slow but this reminded me to relax.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location, nice room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a construction going on the street the first night, and we could hear some noise through the bathroom, which had no isolation. It did not prevent us to have a good night sleep, though!!

    The room is big, spacious, has all the necessary implements. Nice decoration and lights. The kitchen had more stuff than expected. The coffee downstairs to have breakfast (not included) is delicious. Very good location!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    Great value for facilities and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park is ridiculously uncomfortable, staff tried to “help me “ park, however just ended making everything harder and my car ended with some damage.

    Great location Great value Very good facilites

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    A good balance of price and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn’t like really as it suited what we wanted well.

    The bed and pillows were comfortable. Iron and ironing board available. Fridge, microwave etc also available as is free WiFi. The hotel is in a good location within Sydney and was convenient for where we were visiting. Museum station is very close for the metro train service and taxis are easy to get.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.5
    Functional and clean. Came back only to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view- looking into ? warehouse building. Terrible pillows. Cooking smells wafting into bathroom. Blind in bathroom unable to be totally lowered.

    Great location, comfortable bed, terrific shower and very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    4.6
    Very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Apartment with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave us a room, no 601, with an aging air conditioner. There was also vibration noise from the floor above us. This kept both my wife and I awake for 2 nights. Finally the manager reluctantly moved us to room403 which was quiet and peaceful. I like to complement Sabrina at the reception, who took the trouble to call our room informing us of my mistake on the flight time. Thank you Sabrina.

    Big room, and toilet. Easy access to public transport and dining.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about at that price...

    The room was spacious and well set out. The hotel is in a good location in central Sydney. It was also very well priced.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    It was very central to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no toilet facilities in the reception or cafe area on the ground floor. Breakfast choice was quite poor. There was cereals on the menu but none available when requested.

    It was very central to everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    The person working nights over the weekend was very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant/room service meals over the weekend was a lucky dip for what you could order. If the weekends are what the owners class as not being a busy time of the week for them maybe the room prices should match their theory. The room air conditioner is on a push button timer which you find yourself getting up in the middle of the night to reset ( button was originally hard to locate being behind a curtain and not labelled, could be organised to be a lot more user friendly).

    The person working nights over the weekend was very friendly and very helpful. A shame he was on his own and expected to control the front desk,park cars and organise/ cook meals and provide the room service all while patrons are waiting at the front desk for assistance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    the location has easy access to public transportation,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the location has easy access to public transportation, convenience store, halal food restaurant, even chemist warehouse! it's perfect to stay here if you want spend your time in sydney. Thank You Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful room with a king-size bed and a fantastic bathroom with walk-in shower. All linen and towels were super clean and smelled fantastic. The kitchenette saves money as you can prepare your own breakfast and simple meals. AC worked like a charm, windows can be opened in both the bathroom and the sleeping room. We loved it! The Stellar is located at the southeast corner of Hyde Park, 2 minutes walking distance to bus stops and the Museum train station (perfect connections to Circular Quay, Bondi Beach, Airport and heaps of other places. Services run every other minute or so. Excellent!). Special thanks to Pavol, the most friendly receptionist we've ever come across in our entire lives. He gave us the warmest welcome and had fantastic advice on how to make the most of our stay, shared his insights about the good value for money restaurants in the area and how to save big money on public transport on Sundays. Thank you so much, Pavol!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    Ok
    • Couple
    • King Studio Apartment with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t get help from the reception. Paid $30/- for car parking and following day wanted to keep the car for 2 hrs more till we come to collect the car after Christmas lunch. But rejected and wanted to pay another extra $30/- not happy.

    Central location good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    The room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio Apartment with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The parking lot stinks. There was sewage all over the place. Not worth 30$ a day. I paid 120 Aus $. No room service. The restaurant is not fully functional.

    The room.The staff. Cleaniliness inside the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.7
    It’s an ok hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looked so much better in the photos. It’s not a beautiful hotel. It’s not bad but no way near as nice as it looks in the photos. The parking says “small and medium” but it’s really only small.

    Staff were nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    4.6
    They put false charge on me for smoking although I don't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They put false charge on me for smoking although I don't smoke at all. I took an hour to go have lunch and found a letter with pictures of ash behind a curtain and note from manager that my credit card is charged 500. No odor in my room no sigaretes to conversation with me just a letter. I was shocked to be treated that way. Took me a half of my day to fight my rights and prove that that was from the previous stay. Horrible

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Great value for money...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you arrive to the hotel before 14:00 make sure you have something planned as you won't be able to check in before hotel's standard check in hours, it's not a disadvantage but something you need to consider - very friendly staff will help store your bags in a storage room and you're free to explore the city :-D

    It's a small hotel in a very good location just around the corner from Oxford Street and in front of Hyde Park, very nice rooms, fast internet and delicious coffee from the small cafeteria downstairs. My parents best memory about Sydney is the coffee from that cafeteria!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.8
    Good, but not so good.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos show a Hotel that impressed us, but actually it-s a small hotel. We saw cucarachas above our bed and in front of the door (a big one, stayed 2 days at the same place doing birthday...rsrsrs).

    Cftl bed, location around is good for turists. Pavol was a very good attendent, give us valuable tips. He was wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Half all right great night sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was told there was parking only to find by a rude concierge that there was no parking and if there was my vehicle would be to large yo park innthe space Not a great start had to go 3 blocks away to park

    The room was great ,clean and comfortable bed great night sleep

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.1
    We were in transit for one night and value suited our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not given access to the Wifi. Would have prefered a more central location however price was the deciding factor

    Price. Onsite restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: