Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Birches Serviced Apartments 3 stars

160 Simpson Street, East Melbourne, 3002 Melbourne, Australia

#100 of 474 Holiday rentals in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 212 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location to our event. Very comfortable, clean and affordable with off site parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grumpy barking little dog we had to walk past. And it constantly barked. But im not the best little dog lover tho. Oh and the heater didnt worknthat flash but reception took on advice and was informaning maintenance.

    Location to our event was great...short walk. Very comfortable. Would definately stay there again....even with grumpy little dog there 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.4
    Grim
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment did not look as it does in the photos published. In reality it looks grim, smelled damp, bath tub old and crazed- this would harbour bacteria. The bed linen was very cheap and the blankets old and the configuring of two sheets instead of a quilt cover means that blankets and sheets would slide off patrons through the night causing discomfort through cold. White sheets greying. I cleaned place mats of old food stains before and after use. All fixtures old, and some dirty, a general veneer of light grim throughout. The colour scheme on paintwork is depressing and getting faded, the steps, entrance and open hallways all dirty. Apartment insecure - lots of children, people passing noisily, running, screaming and someone was trying to get into our apartment on Sunday night around 3 am, banging on the door and yelling out, frightening! Windows look out onto other residents as they passed by. I think it is more a boarding house, there was no "service" to speak of and as such it should 't be advertised as a serviced apartment.

    The location .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    We stayed twice and happy if opportunity arises to here at Birches again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Drier malfunction once. A sliding door between bedroom and living area would allow one person to be quiet or sleep in the former and the other to watch TV - for example.

    Marvellous picture window giving a view of the birches turning yellow

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Great pet friendly, comfortable & clean apartment in a great location. Wifi could have been better.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had difficulty with the wifi. It was quite patchy and we had to go to reception for it to work efficiently.

    Great location. Great to be able to bring our dog. Comfortable and clean apartment for a couple of days stay. Secure parking onsite was an extra bonus and staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable bed, very clean facilities, very close to the...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy at night, the $30 parking fee, room could do with a paint touch up.

    Comfortable bed, very clean facilities, very close to the hospital for visiting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Apartment close to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A spacious, well kept apartment. Secure parking is a bonus as is the communal bbq area. The location is great - walking distance to cafés, bars, restaurants and parks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.3
    Was comfortable enough for a night .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet noisy,both street and other patrons, outdated and pricey for the quality of the room. But I understand it was Grand Prix week.

    Was comfortable enough for a night . Bed was comfortable staff were friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Loved it! Outstanding staff, would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. The stairs is a bit of a pain if you are in the second floor for the luggage but the reception carried it for us, therefore no issues.

    The staff was super friendly and helpful! The place is clean and comfy ☺️

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.0
    Nice walk into central Melb.😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very dated.The kitchen was old, as was the small bathroomCarpet was freying and the door frames at the top had an quiet alot of fluff and dust on them.

    Location.Also the lady on the front desk was very friendly and accomodating.We found communication with them very easy and very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Great staff and comfortable place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dated but can’t complain for the price. The car parking is a bit tight .

    Location to the venue and pubs and the private car parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows are thin so could hear everything going on outside even with them closed.

    The location was close to the city and the room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    A very pleasant stay with our dog.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing to keep in mind if you are taking a pet is that there is an additional cost for that - and if you have a car and want to park on site - there's an additional fee. These costs were in addition to the booking.com cost.

    The complex is in a great location, close to the city and to Richmond shops and restaurants. There's an IGA nearby. We walked in the Fitzroy Gardens every day - a beautiful spot. But the winning feature for us was that we could take our little dog - so nice to have him along. Car parking is available on site (behind a secure gate) for a fee.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Perfectly suited to our needs.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    It was my first time using "pet friendly" accommodation. To be honest I expected the accommodation to smell given pets allowed - it didn't at all!! I have absolutely no complaints about the cleanliness. The staff were very friendly and the service overall was great. If travelling with a pet I would stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.0
    I appreciate that the staff agreed to cancel our week-long...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    In a poor state of repair. Dirty room and dirty common area. No safe provided in the room. We cancelled our booking after one night.

    I appreciate that the staff agreed to cancel our week-long booking when we found this accommodation to be unsatisfactory.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.8
    Old apartment but well organized
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is beside streets, noisy, especially heard the sounds of traffic light in morning

    Friendly reception staff, he works efficiently and well organized. The bed is comfortable and clean, the apartment looks quite old.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location, gorgeous neighborhood. We would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We selected the place cause we selected pet friendly. Surprisingly we were asked for a surcharge as they were unaware of us bringing dogs. At last we didn't face troubles while checking in our puppies.

    The room and bed were very comfortable, with good Air Conditioning as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.7
    We weren’t in the room much, but it served the purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wardrobes and kitchen cupboards need updating and the bathroom is old, it needs replacing, the bath had no paint on the bottom.

    Handy for the Australian Open Tennis, the room was well thought out

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location but a tired-looking room
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom paint was peeling. The fittings were loose. The shower surface was rough... needs a refurb

    Location was excellent: near trans, minutes walk from Collingwood restaurants and shops and less than 10 minutes bike ride from the CBD

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.8
    Liked that it was pet friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fold out bed was in a tricky location (had to move another sofa to get to it).

    Liked that it was pet friendly. Good location for our needs. Lovely area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    excellent apartments, would highly recommend.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    closer amenities. better eateries nearby.

    Nicely furnished, good situation, quiet street. Easy access to city. A beautiful apartment, with friendly and courteous staff. It was such a bonus that I could take my cat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    6.7
    We felt very welcome by the Receiption Staff & they were very hospitable & a great spot .
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two room suite and bathroom we’re dated, also the furnishings & fittings are quiet dated & tired , plus the bed was very firm & pillows not comfortable to what we are used too . The rooms should be professionally refurbished & refitted to suit the style of accomodation , focusing on ‘leisure - relaxation ’ & comfort ! Security ; The main entry door should have a H/duty security chain .

    The location to the City , MCG & Off street parking with security entry/exit gates. The two room suite had great large picture windows, making the rooms very light and airy .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    would return hope for a better shower
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower poor, was boiling hot then freezing had little time to play around with adjustment. Abit noisey in to the evening

    Hot night, aircon good, lounge great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.0
    Being allowed to stay with my pet
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged for pet boarding of $30P/NIGHT and 15$ for parking P/night. Best to consider AIRBNB accommodation

    Being allowed to stay with my pet

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    2 bedroom house made our Melbourne experience even better!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in the 2 bedroom which was this gorgeous house across the street. Ideal for dogs and for couples staying together. We just loved the location and the house!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.3
    Reasonably good value with super helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were very helpful- a bundle of knowledge and willing to help find cafes, restaurants, MCG ETC. Also friendly helpful attitude. Location ok if going to sport events or even into city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Well located, comfortable apartment, but no elevator
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no elevator and I had to drag my suitcases up the stairs. Traffic can get a bit noisy in the morning if you're a light sleeper. Other than that, all was good.

    Great location, swift check in, comfortable apartment, wide windows so lots of natural sunlight.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Great room and facilities. Shame about the late noise.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Milk in the frig. Quite noisy the night we were there from another Unit with (?) children yelling etc. until around 11:30 pm. A clock radio would have been appreciated as I didn't know hiw to use the iPod docking station.

    Love all the space in our Deluxe Twin Room. Two lovely sofas; two oven tops plus the microwave. Plenty of tea, coffee, etc. Jo at the Reception Deck could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    The receptionist was very friendly and was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was very friendly and was very accommodating. We ran out of toilet paper and there was no one on reception but we called the emergency number and someone delivered some within 10mins. Very pleased with the accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    East Melbourne's #1 Accom hands down!
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't move there forever!

    Jo and alan make you feel welcomed and comforted. They are fantastic and I would reccomend Birches purely on that basis!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Disappointing and will not stay there again
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Photos do not show the true condition of the room. It is tired and in need of repair and maintenance (cupboard door in kitchenette would not stay closed, large cracks in the architrave, marks all over the walls). Some items in the room were not clean. TV remote felt sticky as did the chain on the roller blinds – felt the need to wash our hands every time we used the remote or adjusted the blinds. Bathroom was small, okay for one person but not for two people if they needed to use it at the same time. Bed was on a slight slant so felt like we were rolling downhill. Despite all this the lounge/kitchen area is roomy and open. The Birches apartments are in a side street off nearby busy Victoria Parade. It is relatively quiet at night but traffic noises start early and the windows do not help much in reducing the noise. Walls are thin and allow transmission of noise from adjoining apartment. We were unfortunate to have noisy neighbours with a dog in the room duration of our stay (3 nights). The dog barked but not for prolonged periods. The neighbours were also smokers and used the balcony outside our room to stand, and smoke, talk and argue loudly. As it was late at night and the office/reception closes at 5pm (mobile contact is provided after hours) we got out of bed to speak to our neighbours about their cigarette smoke coming into our room and to keep the noise down. We had to do this each night as there were so many people/visitors coming and going in this apartment late at night. This is a pet friendly hotel we saw another three dogs with people staying there, so if you do not want to stay where dogs have been then find another place.

    The staff, Alan was particularly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking areas was extremely tight! And an added cost...

    Great place to stay. Clean apartment, comfy bed, all basics provided and very convenient location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location to get into town and around, very roomy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Besides the kitchen counter power point, all the other power points appeared to be floor level. These days with so many devices to charge, I found myself hunting behind my bed/under my bedside for a place to plug in my charging cable for my phone. It was a little bit of a pain since everyday I had to take the charger with me on the road, and so had to go digging for the power point every night - yes I could have used the kitchen but I used my phone for my alarm and to read before I slept, I could hardly get up and walk to the kitchen to plug it in and sleep and then walk up and dash out there to silence the alarm the next day. It's a small thing but it's a very noticeable thing, esp if my room, no.1, should be used by someone traveling for business. I don't think there were enough blankets in the room. Not everyone is used to Melbourne's wet cold. And one of the blankets had a distinct wet dog smell. We used some random bedding from the closet to stand in for the night. We asked reception for a new one and the new one was there when we returned at the end of the day to change for dinner but it still smelled like dog. Not as badly but I am sensitive to smells. It ended up used but not by me - I swapped with my companion. There definitely wasn't enough tea towels. One is not enough to wash up with and use as a hand towel and wipe washed fruit. I was also frustrated by the lack of scissors. I looked but couldn't locate one in the drawer. Made getting into some plastic packaging harder, but these are all small pet peeves. When I travel for business and stay in a similar apartment like Birches, I do usually bring my own tea towels.

    I really loved how easy it was to get into town or other areas like Chapel St via the trams. They were frequent and after a few minutes walk to the nearby IGA for a myki travel card, I was ready to roll. I liked the helpful suggestion by the hair dryer of how to operate the shower that ensured I got a nice hot one, but there are less observant people too. While I know putting something like that on the wall leading to the shower might be too slippery, having that in bold on the info sheet for the apartment might have been good. My family friend who was older certainly missed it (no reading glasses) and had to be informed by me. I liked having two couches. More surface areas are good. More places to drop things on when you stagger in the door after a full day and not throw anything on the floor just so you can have the couch. The aircon is pretty up to day - nice to see the whisper function. Useful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.4
    Less than average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is very run down and the pull out sofa bed was broken leading to a terrible nights sleep. The main bed was good though. Overall a very expensive place for what you get.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.1
    Great service, quiet street, close to public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secured parking a bit tight if you travel in a 4x4.

    Staff we're very helpful. Enjoyed free fruit each morning. Good location very handy to public transport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    3.3
    Apartment horrible melbourne great
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was in need of a updated there was alot of marks on the walls, door ways, bathroom door was having trouble closing had to have a/c on at nights due to being cold as there was a thin blanket with 2 sheets on the bed the cutlery were dirty carpet was dirty and had marks the lounges sunk as you sat on them the apartment just seemed dirty.

    Nothing in particular about apartment but melbourne city was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    5.4
    Parking was good
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a 1 bedroom apartment. This had a double bed & a fold out sofa bed in the lounge. When we arrived there was no door to seperate the bedroom from the lounge room, kitchen area. I was very disappointed as we had travelled to Melbourne for my daughter to have an operation. She needed a quiet area to sleep. My husband snores & we had an extremely difficult two nights stay in what I would call a studio room, not a 1 bedroom apartment.

    Parking was good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    Location, location, without the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving.

    Great location, within walking distance of CBD. Very short walk to tram, train or bus. Staff were very helpful, friendly and polite. Bed very comfy and property was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    7.1
    Perfectly adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I told him I was handicapped and had difficulty with stairs and they put me on the third floor. Not too happy about that and she was not very accommodating it was like too bad so sad

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and well appointed
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    The apartment was very roomy and well equipped. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The bed was the best we have slept in away from home. We particularly loved the view of the silver birches out of the big windows. It was surprisingly quiet. We wish we could have stayed longer and look forward to a return visit.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    7.9
    Good location for MCG and discovering parts of Melbourne not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit far out for Melbourne for nightlife but that was our fault wanting to be close to MCG for concert. Barhroom a bit grubby.

    Good location for MCG and discovering parts of Melbourne not usually on the tourist radar. Quiet as it's off of the main drag.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointed there was no lift, as I have trouble with stairs. Couldn't reach the top shelf of the kitchen cupboard

    The bed was very comfortable. Enjoyed the free wifi Very convenient location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.3
    Great place for a weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staring to look a little jaded

    Great position for access to the city and Fitzroy as well as Bridge Road etc. Plenty of restaurant choice within 15 minute walk. Good IGA (incl wines etc) and cafe within 5 minute walk

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.6
    Lovely clean quiet comfy apartment not far from mcg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't sure of area so maybe a map showing nearest restaurants etc.

    Bed and couch was very comfy, liked how bed was separated from the lounge area. The shopping bag provided was a nice touch and came in handy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    8.8
    Great location, value for money and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we weren't really happy with was the bed. You could feel the ditch in the middle where the 2 king singles joined up and the 2 beds had different firmness.

    Great location, value for money and friendly staff!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.6
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    super friendly and helpful staff incredibly clean facilities, despite being a bit dated (repainted in contemporary colours with matching décor) Microwave and cooktop for self catering

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    9.2
    Good location close to city with easy car parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor is a little dated, and sofa bed not as comfortable as a real bed (obviously).

    A bright, airy apartment, with beds ok. For the price and location it is excellent. Tea and coffee making facilities, and free off street parking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    8.8
    Great value for money!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little small but nice and had great hand wash!!!

    It was really good value for money especially being so close to the hospitals. You get what you pay for and I was happy with what we got and the staff was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.2
    Beaut stay at Birches
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water adjustment in shower was a tad dodgy before getting used to it.

    Friendly, welcoming service. Clean and comfortable. Well equipped. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    8.8
    Great location small and friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love the location of Birches..walking distance to the CBD,Richmond Restaurants and Lygon Street Carlton. East Melbourne is a leafy quiet area surrounded by parks. The apartments are fully self contained and well laid out. The parking is easy and we always get a friendly welcome. Stay here often.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    8.3
    Quiet neighborhood, relatively large apartments, have a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The apartment is located a bit far away from the Melbourne city center. Plus the nearest tram stop is not located inside the free tram zone.

    Quiet neighborhood, relatively large apartments, have a kitchen. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    7.1
    Great stay, friendly staff, will recommend :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms could do with good spring clean and general maintenance, hot water pressure very low, overall desperately in need of updating. Local area good but Victoria St a bit seedy!

    Good location close to transport, friendly staff, efficient check-in/check-out process, very comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    7.9
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very helpful. We went there during winter, unfortunately the heater in our room is not warm enough. But overall everything is good. The unit is clean, an big window give us nice view of street.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Convienent spot to have a dog in the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location. Good sized room to have a dog in. MCG is just down the road.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy intersection need double glazing on the apartment we occupied

    Convenience to transport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, lovely staff, nice room with super comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, lovely staff, nice room with super comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Clean, light and comfortable with great room facilities in...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, light and comfortable with great room facilities in good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    All good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    City comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all

    Having secure parking on site and free wifi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.5
    Drier needs electrical servicing
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drier needs electrical servicing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a good size with a nice lounge room and seperate bedroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfy bed;
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy bed; great location; good price; and we could bring our dog! Overall very satisfied.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    Great central apartments with everything you need for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff. Lovely, warm and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    Reception was excellent and room comfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from the street and cramped parking area.

    Reception was excellent and room comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    A great apartment and location especially when travelling with pets .
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No (extremely poor) WiFi in our apartment

    The location including the close proximity to a great park to walk our dogs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    Good for what it is
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiered bathroom

    Location and staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.3
    It was close to the tram stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartments were much more run down than anticipated and get a lot of road noise.

    It was close to the tram stop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Room was okay, staff were lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms/furniture were a bit tired

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed not comfortable room very very small

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.9
    Far from 5 star but more like home in that fixtures a bit worn.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security internal ajoining room door was just a latch.

    Bed very comfy Location perfect Security external

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.4
    The view from the windows, the main bed was comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better facilities, not good value for money.

    The view from the windows, the main bed was comfortable and it was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an end room and could not open the windows and our room had a musty smell.

    Love the location and the 2 room units.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelt of cigarette smoke.

    Location. Close to the MCG

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Great apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great pet friendly accommodation- really love staying here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location. Privacy and comfort during our stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was fantastic!

    Clean and comfortable room, exactly what we needed for our stay in Melbourne.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Units are a bit tired and need upgrading
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Units are a bit tired and need upgrading Also the shower runs hot and cold

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: