Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Blue Cliffs Retreat 5 stars

239 Hepburn-Newstead Road, 3461 Hepburn Springs, Australia

#7 of 8 B&Bs and Inns in Hepburn Springs

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 45 B&B reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gatsby Spa Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minimum 2 night stay but only enough fire wood for 1 night. 1 fire lighter and a note in the book advising if you want more fire wood to purchase it from town. The fire went out and we couldn’t relight it. Received an email on the morning advising that they have removed the BBQ. So only 1 electric frying pan for cooking, no oven or cooktop.

    Quiet, relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dreaming One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt it could have been alot cleaner all the cutlery was dirty when we arrived the last people who stayed didnt clean them and they weren't checked by the cleaner either.

    Very quiet with lovely surroundings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dusk One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome property- a true retreat, very private but also close to Daylesford. Very comfy bed, loved the detox box and spa too. Everything you needed was there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dusk One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to do with the place itself. Just keep in mind you're in the middle of the bush and that insects and especially mosquitos are everywhere. Remember to bring you Aerogard/Rid/Bushman Insect Repellent. We didn't. Still scratching my exposed areas.

    Great setting and great amenities and facilities at the accomodation. The staff communication was spot on and had no issues whatsoever. Also no mobile reception, which is EXCELLENT for separating yourself from the outside world.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dusk One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaness. Cracked chipped glasses and plates , some lights didn't work.. BBQ was very dirty very disappointed

    The bed was great.. only positive thing to say

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dusk One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't very comfortable but nice sheets. Many spiderwebs and found 3 huntsmans in living room and on couch - arghhh

    Bathroom - sauna, spa, shower, spoilt for choice! Location beautiful and gorgeous home.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dreaming One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like (which is not Blue Cliff's fault) is that we were in a mobile internet hole. I checked and the NBN is on its way soon! Maybe Blue Cliff's could let people know up front so that if that want to watch a movie they can bring it with them because there is nowhere to rent or buy movies in the area.

    Great facilities. Was wonderful to have wood fire.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dusk One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road to the location was a bit uneasy, but not too much can be done about this I believe. Very rocky and was a touch worried my regular Sedan would not be able to cope with the terrain, but managed it all good! Perhaps a sweep of the courtyard after each stay would be nice, as there were sticks and branches everywhere, but not a real concern

    The tranquility of Blue Cliffs was unparalleled, birds chirping whilst having breakfast was a clear highlight, as was the bath tub looking to the outside courtyard was fantastic and relaxing. The whole location was fantastic, my wife and I were able to unwind and relax with no stresses at all. The Detox Box was an added bonus too which we loved being included. Overall a really enjoyable stay and we hope to revisit one day!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dreaming One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in Dreaming. It needed a good clean, including windows. Bed was very uncomfortable as it sagged in the middle and pillows were old, flat and hard. I would suggest the owners sleep there and see if they're comfortable.The toilet is designed without a door-we'd prefer a door. Breakfast package was a portion of cereal each but only 1 bowl for the two of us. Just as well we'd brought plenty. Only enough wood for one night although we'd booked for two-but a note in the information pack we could buy more at the local service station. We cooked one night-the exhaust fan didn't work. We were left with only a tiny bit of dish detergent and the quality of the little that was provided was very poor-the cheapest available. Would I go back? No Would I recommend this place to family and friends? No Was it value for money? Definitely not. Was it luxurious? Definitely not. I'm very sorry to give such a poor review but others need to know.

    Loved the location and the serenity of the surroundings. Lots of beautiful birds and two kangaroos were feeding just outside of our accommodation the second morning we were there.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gatsby Spa Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The following things wiulf have made the experience complete. Matching wine glasses and crockery Wood supply - instructions were if we ran out of kindling or wood to buy some more in town. Would be better to supply more for multiple night stays. Spa could have been bigger.

    Superb views, property was well set up. Staff were friendly to deal with. Excellent accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gatsby Spa Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were so disappointed in this venue. The photographs made it look very nice but the reality was very different. The spa villa was dusty and full of cobwebs, the much talked about spa looked dirty. Generally the Villa looked like it needs some general maintenance! The heating unit that was supposed to heat the bathroom (which is a poor extension to the house) was useless. It was freezing! Finally the bed was like sleeping on a blow up mattress, my wife and I sunk into the middle. We were so uncomfortable we only stayed for one of our two night booking and headed home. It just isn't good enough for $300+ per night!

    The land around the property is pretty unique.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dreaming One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of been a little Clener

    The view & location was awesome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dusk One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was not clean. Things were broken and damaged. Was not value for money. Certainty not 4 star.

    The spa

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dusk One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was to soft and that they didn't have enough fire wood. We had to bring our own.

    We loved the location it was beautiful nice and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gatsby Spa Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was amazing, spa bath amazing. Whole ambience 5 stars. Lovely touch having the heating running before we arrived

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hideaway One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!!

    The peace and quiet was beautiful, the views gorgeous and the bath relaxing. The seclusion was nice and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dreaming One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa water was dirty which made it unusable

    Nice remote location with lovely views

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dreaming One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for x3 days and were only provided with x2 towels.

    A wonderful and relaxing experience! Very romantic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not value for money. Room was not that clean. Minimal amenities, i.e. No cake of soap, no milk. For $300 per night expected more

    Room layout

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dreaming One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was maybe a little on the pricey side with no real added luxury extras. Some nit-picking things took it from a 5 star to a 4.5 for me.

    Luxury holiday.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gatsby Spa Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the spa bath and the location - very quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gatsby Spa Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property and gardens

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dreaming One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was lacking a little polish

    Beautiful location and surroundings

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hideaway One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bbq was dirty. The linen was not clean .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dreaming One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good place to relaxe

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Dusk One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big wine glasses and a proper coffee plunger.

    Being able to self-cater and not having to leave the tranquility of our accommodation was a real plus.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dreaming One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt bother me but there is a LOT of wild animals / creatures in the garden / area!!!

    Wow, what an amazing place couldnt have asked for more.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dusk One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was fantastic

    The atmosphere! Amazing room and place

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room stunk of cigarette smoke and the room only had an empty air freshener can. The water used on the property's was understandably bore water but it was quite dirty.

    The location was lovely

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is not five-star accommodation. We were there for four days but got only one towel each, with no facilities to wash and dry clothes or towels. The cottage was dusty and had spiderwebs all over the ceiling, and there was no proper shower inside. There was an outdoor shower attached to the front of the cottage with no privacy screen and located no more than 50m from the next villa. The booking.com description of the accommodation also said that each villa had a double sauna - ours did not. The property itself may be 20 hectares large but there are no marked walking trails or clear access points that allow guests to see much beyond the driveway to each villa. We had an ok stay but were disappointed with the amenities because we paid such a high rate and were expecting them to be five-star. We had no direct interaction with staff.

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lack of kitchen facilities (this was clear in the booking however, but would have been a bonus to have) also some of the cutlery and the electric frypan provided hadnt been properly cleaned when we went to use them. all in all though, excellent.

    excellent venue, beautiful property and the pool was great. loved the spa also. sun room was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lot of things didn't work. E.g. remotes, spa bath, pool lights. Paddle boat was disgustingly dirty. No Wi-Fi and we pay nearly a Grand for 2 nights there could've been Wi-Fi. Also just open up the whole house. We pay so much and don't even get a kitchen. And there's a photo of the kitchen on your website but we don't even get it... Deck was falling a part and thew movies that were left looked like they were imported Thailand. We had no breakfast a except there crapy little biscuits.

    The view and surroundings were beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Couple

    Spa bath tap didn't work. Could have some laundry facility.

    Beautiful setting. Very comfortable cottage. Privacy. Great outdoor shower. View from balcony. Countryside. Animals.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Such a beautiful location and villa! with 22 acres of land and your own little lake to have a romantic dinner by or even a short row makes this retreat something else! Owner is very lovely and accomadating! Will will be returning regulary. Corinne

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the heaters wer too small for what they had to heat. There was no breakfast supplied, no cooking facilities, the DVD player did not work and the thing they call a lake is just a dirty old dam not very big... Also the swimming pool is closed and not heated.... Overall a big disappointment and we would not recommend it.

    The spa, shower and sauna were new and worked well

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needed a more detailed clean, not a very comfy bed, museli for one with no milk doesn't count as breakfast and the right code to get the key would have been good.

    Nice fireplace, good heating and location Nice decor. Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facilities were old, mostly working but not everything. Coffee bin was empty on arrival and the bathroom deodorant empty as well. Location of fridge and sinks were curious. Seemed to be a hastily put up patched up accommodation

    The Quietness and the Spa

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Bali theme used in our cottage seemed very much at odds with the traditional "Miners cottage ". A lack of detail, for example no tissues, no spare towels, only one wine glass and a one cup coffee plunger that was past it's used by date ! There was no staff present on the property during our stay which was fine as we were given a contact number if needed.

    The location was peaceful and very private and we enjoyed that it was away from all the action in Daylesford . The cottage was very clean

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was unclean! we were told that breakfast was included & all we got was a small bag of museli. We stayed for 4 nights & never received any fresh towels. There was only enough wood for 1 night!

    The privacy & no noise factor

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Single person spa means someone misses out (or gets a very stiff neck!) The lack of a proper shower is a bit annoying (the idea of an outdoor shower in a location like Hepburn is a little odd).

    Impressive cabin, nice decor and fitout, very comfortable. Nicely secluded.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast we got included was a bit poor,just mixed oates in a packet with some milk and biscuits.could have provided something a little more mouth watering.we ended buying our own eggs and bacon and cooked it our self.

    We loved our privacy and location was great.the villa was very tidy and clean and had every thing that we needed.the bathroom was huge and even had a sauna!!

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peaceful

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No toilet roll holder and kitchen facilities very basic for the money

    Quiet spot

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the road for the turn off to the cottage. very rocky.

    Every thing

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tank water!!!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet, peacefully and cosy little cabin. Very relaxing

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place is absolutely beautiful, the sauna spa and bedroom all in one view, the photos does not do it justice.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not booking a longer atay

    So perfectly relaxing. Very professional staff. Thoughtful provisions. Stunning location. Easy. Peaceful. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I couldn't figure out the sauna :(

    The bed was like clouds, so comfy!!!

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The driveway

    Everything about it was great

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Privacy and comfort

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: