Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Buxton Manor 4.5 stars

67-75 Buxton Street, North Adelaide, 5006 Adelaide, Australia

#4 of 13 B&Bs and Inns in Adelaide

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 29 B&B reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - George Lowe Esquire
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower overflowed and then on the last day the toilet started to bubble up into the shower. Owner quick to point out that it wasn't their fault, - some previous drainage issue a few houses up the street. (sorry, but if you knew this, then check it out and fix it before you rent the property out) Heating poor (needed to sit under blankets) and noisy . Understand some things can go wrong, but generally disappointing.

    old house in landscaped gardens in good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage with Spa Bath - Paprika
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little hard and the springs a bit creaky

    the cosy feel friendly and unobtrusive caretaker, the lovely gardens, closeness to North Adelaide restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.8
    A disappointing stay with very poor and average facilities. Would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage with Spa Bath - Paprika
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paprika Cottage needs an upgrade to make it more comfortable. The facilities have not been upgraded in a while. It may have old world charm with its period furniture but I would expect some modern conveniences and furnishings for the star rating. The air conditioning is very old and very noisy, making sleeping difficult, especially on a hot night. Furnishings need to be refreshed as they look old and tired. More shabby than chic. Bathroom could be updated. Parking on site has limited turning space. Bins, rubbish and what looks like a car permanently parked all take up the space.

    Great location Caretaker very friendly and helpful The place was clean - the cleaning staff clearly do a great job.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous apartment in super location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Butlers
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of information provided in the property was a bit out of date.

    This is a wonderful heritage apartment in an edwardian residential proper split into 4 apartments and another on same site . The facilities are exceptional with antique furniture and fittings but efficiently functioning shower etc. The aircon struggled a bit but it was very hot and the property spacious with high ceilings. The owner made a particular effort to meet us and give us tips. We were able to make it our "home" for the 4 days we were there. Free WIFI

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    It's beautiful experience in this beautiful house!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Garden & Loft
    • Stayed 5 nights

    only one bathroom that is not convenient for many person live together. and the upstairs could be improved better.

    the environment is really good. it's quite and very convenient to everywhere. it's beautiful house.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    The garden was the best experience along with the outside bbq But the bbq needed cleaning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Garden & Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the idea that it had 3 rooms and 5 beds but still charged extra for the kids when it should just be a single price to accomodate more. They shouldn’t of charged extra The staff A+ though I understand there’s more to clean when there’s more people but everything should be cleaned and ready for the next family anyway

    Garden

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Butlers
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing property, the staff were great and really easy to deal with. The little touches made our stay really special, specialty teas and coffee, a card was left for my birthday and when we arrived the heating was on and music was playing. I couldn't be happier with our stay and would highly recommend a stay here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    10
    North Adelaide Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage with Spa Bath - Paprika
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the old world charm of the place and appreciated the good old fashioned help offered by Amanda. Its location, so close to O'Connel Street for shopping, coffee and restaurants and access to the free circle route bus that drops you almost outside the door were highlights. Great stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Perfect location with a short stroll to the many cafes and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage with Spa Bath - Paprika
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location with a short stroll to the many cafes and pubs in the area. Loved the decor. A very comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    totally enjoyed my stay and would highly reccommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage with Spa Bath - Paprika
    • Stayed 3 nights

    more modern AC please.. it was noisy!! no Foxtel.

    the ambiance, comfort and all the beautiful antiques. the grounds, garden and bbq, outdoor areas

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.5
    Lovely old home. Beautiful garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Garden & Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of toilets Very poor laundry. No safety factors.Washing machine difficult to operate. No detergent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    A surprise。
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Butlers
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A surprise。everything good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Fantastic service , and Ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic service , and Ambience

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - George Lowe Esquire
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and kitchen need upgrading.

    Great location, excellent living space and bedroom. Friendly service. Well serviced daily.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Live like a Lotto winner in North Adelaide!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - George Lowe Esquire
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking wasnt easy because the other folks staying there hogged it.

    Beautiful and very swish!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    9.2
    The over all comfort and home like feel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing really I think that all in all everything was great

    The over all comfort and home like feel .the attention to detail was quite high and the attention from staff was appreciated.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    9.6
    We had the pleasure of spending our 10th wedding anniversary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our short stay - should have been longer.....

    We had the pleasure of spending our 10th wedding anniversary at Buxton Manor. Even though we live in Adelaide we loved the location and quiet surroundings. Other guests occupied the remaining apartments but we didn't here a thing. Extremely worthwhile.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    9.6
    Paprika Cottage is charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Such a pity aeroplane noise starts at 7:30am.

    Paprika Cottage is charming. Good location. Easily accessible off-street parking for a couple cars. Perfect size for a couple, though maybe too small for four adults.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    9.2
    Paul, the caretaker, was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paul, the caretaker, was amazing. Adored him - made us feel comfortably at home. The ambience - was so perfectly heritage. The garden setting was delightful. Walking distance to O'Connell St and all the restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    10
    A wonderful place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    A wonderful place to stay. Surrounded by a beautiful garden and in a historic part of the city. Chardy Huyn from the North Adelaide Heritage group is an absolute gem, taking care of my dietary needs without any of the usual fuss. I really enjoyed my time in the Paprika cottage.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.2
    Everything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only thing I was a but disappointed with was the fire. Didn't seem to get going very well

    Everything else. The bed was comfy. The place was homely. The spa was lovely

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    9.6
    Was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was beautiful. A lovely surprise in a great location, thoroughly enjoyed the history - we will definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    10
    Luxury property - charm of yesteryear
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Luxury property - charm of yesteryear

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    9.2
    It is very nice to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is very nice to stay.much better than normal hotels. Our house is facing to the beautiful garden. And the stuffs are very friendly.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: