Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cairns Beach Resort 4 stars

129-135 Oleander Street, Holloways Beach, 4870 Cairns, Australia

#16 of 58 Holiday rentals in Cairns

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 79 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay .! See you next time. I`ll be back for sure.!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had no issue . I have no commit.

    It was a place of love and food. Home away from home. The whole place.....!!! it was a great get away of relaxing and enjoys peace of life on the beaches of Cairns with love ones.! beautiful home to be in and the food was fanatic including the location sits.! Love it !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Great apartment right on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very noisy in the morning due to the style of window in the room

    Owners were very friendly, great location view of the beach from the balcony, nice Italian restaurants nearby. Room was large clean and had a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Location was opposite beach, 15 min drive to cairns central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything, the apartment was perfect and staff were wonderful

    Location was opposite beach, 15 min drive to cairns central and it was stunning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.8
    Started out well but fell short
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Daddy long legs in a web inside the front door. Perhaps put the glassware through a dishwasher. The room was a bit tired looking and in need of updating , definitely not four stars. I requested a late checkout of only an hour or two and apparently they needed the room. I checked and there were numerous rooms available on line and when we arrived we were given another room so I didn’t understand how a few hours was going to be an issue, disappointing customer service. I even offered to pay.

    The balcony and the room was mostly clean. When we arrived a few hours early they gave us an alternate room even though I was prepared to return later if necessary

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    A friendly, well appointed apartment in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that we didn't like.

    Very large, comfy bed. Large lounge, large bedroom, kitchenette and bathroom with sunny outlook. Right opposite the beach and near all the necessary shops and facilities. A short drive from the centre of Cairns. Very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect place to have a relaxing beach vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are only very few things which can be improved in the apartment where we stayed, first is to have a more comfortable arm chairs or sofa on the terrace - something soft and with a leg rest, second thing is sofa in the living room - also not comfortable to sit for long time. That’s it, can’t really name anything else.

    We really enjoyed our stay. It is a very quiet place in a very quiet and laidback suburb of Cairns. There are just 2 grocery stores and a bunch of cafes, and maybe a couple of other hotels. Perfect place to relax after long trip where we visited 3 big cities. We had a 2 room apartment with a city view on the 3rd floor, very big and very well equipped.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    Somewhat outdated but large and rather comfortable and very close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The balcony was facing the street Furniture and kitchen could be renewed The dishes were dirty

    Beach is very close and can be seen from the windows Spacious rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic! Can't wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is spotty, but it seemed to be the whole area and not something the resort wasn't trying to improve.

    Beautiful little resort. The public beaches were right across the street with easy access and very little traffic. All of the staff was helpful and friendly. The resort was clean, well maintained and lovely! The salt water pool was divine to swim in if you didn't want to go to the beach. Added bonus was the restaurant/bar across the street on the beach (incredible view of sunset with dinner) with local, friendly owner and staff and great food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay due to the owners and staff - thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Only one of the barbeques was working, the striker needed to be repaired on the other.

    Value for money, quiet location, easy access into Cairns and north, shops close by including an IGA, bottle store, convenient store, takaways. The unit was clean, tidy and everything required to be self contained. The unit was very roomy and kept cool with 2 fans ands 2 air conditioners. Reception was polite and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Great value accomodation,more than perfect gardens and pool area,would book Gain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very plain room lacking in the usual holiday extras.disussed this issue with management,

    Ourdoor gardens and pool area a delight ,location to beach and beach side cafe excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An insect proof balcony door would improve things no end. The wi fi was pathetically slow. One of the lounges was worn out.

    The pool and grounds were excellent .The management were most helpful and friendly. The outlook from our unit was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Great Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything, quiet location away from the Tourist hot spots of Palm Cove and Trinity Beach, the Pool area, the friendliness of the Hosts, help and advice available when needed. Very happy to stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Cairns best kept secret!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one fault

    The property is away from the hustle and bustle of the city, although you can drive there in 20 minutes. It is peaceful and has a laid-back, holiday feel. Local beach is across the road, we could hear the waves crashing as we slept. The room was so clean, and all the amenities were modern and beautiful. Best place we stayed in for our whole trip! It would be ideal for a family.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and familiarly athmosphere! Really nice and friendly staff (family owned business). Helped us out with everything and recommended nice tours you can do by yourself aswell as commercial tours if you like. Nice and clean rooms, fully equipped kitchen and a really luxury pool with jacuzzi. Beach right across the street, shops and restaurants in walking distance. Would definitely come back! Greetings to the hole family and say hello to Chloe :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    7.9
    The staff was super awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dryer was broken and management did't fix while we were there. Air conditioning in bedroom only. Rest of apartment was hot!

    The staff was super awesome! Even gave me a card and bottle of champagne for my birthday!! Very thoughtful!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Nice and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nothing

    The accommodation was comfortable and the towels plentiful. The reception staff very helpful. Bus service to Cairns very close. The beach just across the road.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    6.3
    The room was kind of gross. Friendly staff and pretty grounds though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was old and busted. The bathroom stunk like sewage the entire time we were there. Dishes were dirty in the cupboard. The dryer would cut out before the load was done. I restarted it three times before I gave up and laid all the clothes out around the room under the fan. Not a good place for a romantic getaway. It's far away from the town center and some excursions won't do transfers from this location since it's too far away. Cairns also doesn't have Uber and there taxi website sucks, so you'll either have to buy a local SIM card (and make sure your phone is unlocked) or ask the front desk to call a cab for you. The front desk was extremely friendly and willing to do this, however the front desk opens at 7:30 so it poses an issue if you need a cab before then. If we ever went back to Cairns we would stay downtown.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The grounds were well manicured and the pool was much prettier than the pictures lead me to believe. It was very close to the beach (unfortunately Holloways beach isn't very nice).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.3
    nice and enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I missed a cleaning service for this price. The bed was a bit tired and could be replaced.

    Nice apartment. Well equiped, friendly staff, quiet place, not too far from Cairns.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.2
    Amazing cafe across the road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was great - if you have a car. It's quiet and secluded from the hustle and bustle. The best part of the resort is the cafe across the road that serves great breakfasts and has an amazing vibe and a wonderful view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    8.3
    Great Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a Seaview room, and we could see the sea bit from an angle as our room looked out over a local cafe.

    The couple who were managing the property were lovely. The rooms are spacious and had everything we needed

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & would definitely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No exhaust fan in the bathroom! The fridge was extremely noisy throughout the night!

    Our apartment was clean, neat & tidy! We enjoyed the ocean views whilst relaxing out on the huge balcony! Glenn & Lynne were extremely helpful & very friendly!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Cosy and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar noise across the road

    Good value. Spacious. Privacy. Big balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Thank you Wayne and Naomi for everything you did for us and making our time at Cairns very memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t book it for longer

    Great location straight across from the beach. Wayne and Naomi were excellent and made our stay so special.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Staff and their local knowledge of tours and what to do and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning was only in the bedroom and could not cool the whole apartment.

    Staff and their local knowledge of tours and what to do and where go

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms & view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The folks running this property, Wayne and his wife are fantastic. They will go out of their way to make this stay memorable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    The resort was fantastic. The surroundings were beautiful. The customer service was second to none.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect.

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    We stayed here 12 years ago and we were just as pleased with our stay as we were back then .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather😀☔️

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect and very relaxing - wish we could have stayed longer - such helpful hosts

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    I give resort and staff 10 out of10
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There wasnt nothing what i did not liked

    Staff was very friendly and helpfull.Everything wasperfect and I looking forward to visit resort in future!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Nice place. Easy to highway for surrounding attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door stop in front of the toilet I kept stubbing my toe on.

    Awesome water pressure when having a shower 🙂

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    It was a lovely town and close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small shower in the bath was awkward. The traffic was noisy.

    The balcony and the view comfortable lounge comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Value for money accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the lack of a lift when taking the luggage t o our room.

    Quiet area. Good value for money base if you have your own transport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Well maintained, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well maintained, very clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    King size bed was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Traffic noise in early morning

    King size bed was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    6.3
    Lots of noise and light coming in from the bedroom window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of noise and light coming in from the bedroom window.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Very modern decor and lots of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly a higher floor with better views.

    Lovely spacious apartment with great verandah areas for outdoor eating. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.8
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need beach towels

    It was close to every thing and was just so relaxing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.3
    away from tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    shower over the bath stairs up to third third floor

    location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    Short stay honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet. Hidden gem amongst the palms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.9
    All good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    All good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    Great time. Great spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Position of room. Opposite pool. Loved the pool Really comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.2
    The bathroom fogged up all the time when showering.
    • Group
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom fogged up all the time when showering. Needs exhaust fan .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.2
    My wife and I had a great 5 night stay and hope to be back again in the near future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Having to leave!

    Roomy Apartment located so close to the beach and facilities. Very clean rooms and a great view from the balcony.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.3
    Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    6.7
    Less crowded place, lady at the reception was nice and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Facilities could have been better. Remote location, some of the tours don't pick up from their.

    Less crowded place, lady at the reception was nice and warm.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    9.2
    The managment was so great towards us the entire time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The managment was so great towards us the entire time. They helped us book everything we needed and helped us plan how to get there. The day we checked out we even got to keep our room for longer so we could have it more comfortable the day we left!

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    8.3
    A little expensive for the room but good location for where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean enough although a little dated. Fairly expensive for a one night stay.

    A little expensive for the room but good location for where we needed to be. Fairly spacious and had a lovely view to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    4.6
    Short distance to everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor housekeeping. No spare towels in rooms. Poor wifi, kept breaking. No such thing as free wifi. Got charged 5$ in the end as wifi service charge. Leaking bathroom shower and bathtub and washing machine. Had to use towels to mop floor after shower and then wash them to use again the next time. On mentioning this, was laughed off by receptionist saying she had stayed in hotels which leaked more than this one!

    Short distance to everywhere. Kids enjoyed pool.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    Front of office staff wonderful, close to city and very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower is over the bathtub and a shower curtain would stop water going on the floor (not good if you are older and you could slip so easily).

    Front of office staff wonderful, close to city and very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.9
    Very friendly personel and helpfull, bed wich is alway's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Refridgerator was outdated and somewhat smelly, there was a new hood above the stove unit in kitchinet but it made a huge noise even at it lowest. Bit noisy in the staircases.

    Very friendly personel and helpfull, bed wich is alway's an issue for my wife, very good! Bathrooms could be a bit more updated but fonctioned well.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    6.3
    Lovely location away from the hustle and bustle of Cairns
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanliness was poor. Felt that the room needed updating-furniture was dated and parts of the kitchen damaged.

    Lovely location away from the hustle and bustle of Cairns

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.6
    We found the apartment very comfortable, the pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to carry our luggage up 48 steps.

    We found the apartment very comfortable, the pool and gardens beautiful. The staff was very helpful and pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    3.3
    Leaving
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room was in a shocking state. walls needed repainting, furniture was shoddy, dust on most surfaces, crockery and cutlery all mismatched. Attitude of check-in staff not acceptable. Fan switch broken, plug switch in kitchen broken, extractor fan in bathroom not working. All this in a superior room for $45 a night extra.

    Leaving

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    5.4
    Lovely, cozy lounge area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Needed a good clean. For the price paid expected some wear & tear, but at a 4* rating the room should be spotless. Should not be expected to have to go and request that the room be cleaned properly.

    Lovely, cozy lounge area. White, large, fluffy towels. Close to town. Very nice pool and garden surrounds.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    8.3
    Great rooms, lovely and clean pool and garden,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanness of apartment and balcony was a little bit poor

    Great rooms, lovely and clean pool and garden, Management/Desk very friendly and helpfull with information and doing bookings for activities and also with recommendations.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    2.9
    The facilities were in poor condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facilities were in poor condition. Fridge couldn't keep a cold temp, shower screen almost fell out, couches were uncomfortable, smokers below made our air unbreathable. Check out was delayed caused stress in catching flights. Never coming back.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    10
    we arrived late evening and was still helped despite the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    we arrived late evening and was still helped despite the hour. The unit has a lot of space and is well fitted out. The Management was superb in all matters

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    9.2
    The location was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet facilities were expensive!

    The location was perfect

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    5.8
    It's close to beach, but far from city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dishes and kitchen was tidy and small really bad

    It's close to beach, but far from city.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    9.2
    Nice site with friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit close to the flight path for Cairns airport

    Nice site with friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    10
    Fantastic location with great view.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic location with great view. Lovely apartment, had everything we could need. Management were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.3
    location great, being close toCains.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    wifi very poor.

    location great, being close toCains. New modern facility alongside beach and some shops

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    8.3
    Beach really close.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beach really close. Quiet area. Pool inside the hotel. Restaurant and shop nearby. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    7.9
    Spacious apartment with washing machine and dryer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious apartment with washing machine and dryer. Great pool. A few minutes drive from Cairns.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    10
    friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi in room not working

    friendly helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    8.8
    Position, Motel was fantastic and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Position, Motel was fantastic and clean

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: