Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Australia hotel reviews
  3. Queensland hotel reviews
  4. Cairns hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Cairns City Motel

Reviews of Cairns City Motel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

169 Lake Street, 4870 Cairns, Australia

#59 of 75 hotels in Cairns

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 536 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    9.6
    Thank you for your kind hospitality and my comfortable room!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No hair dryer.

    My room was very clean and the motel is located in a very central part of Cairns that makes it easy for me especially for meals and located close to where I was working for the week, CES.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    10
    Cheap motel but with great standrad, clean tidy, great bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cheap motel but with great standrad, clean tidy, great bed and hot water. Wouldnt pay $200 for a night at a fancy place when this place is much better!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    2.5
    Dirty Holliday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place was not clean when we arrived. There was no ongoing cleaning. It was a problem when we asked for bath mats and new towls. The shower was not working properly and we kept getting burnt by the hot watter coming on suddenly. Poor furniture. The bed linnen was not replaced from previous customer. This place made my Holliday a disaster and made me fight continually with my girlfriend. The worst week of my life.

    Leaving this place.not being there.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    4.6
    Besides the very reception person, I am discouraged to stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Door not secure with chain missing from security latch, no remote for a/c, bathroom fittings missing- nowhere to place soap or anything, lack of warmth setting.

    Location maybe but nothing else stands out.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    3.3
    Horrendous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything! Dirty, lazy manager, hot water was dangerously hot. Stated free use of the washing machine, however that’s not true 4$ charge and then got told we couldn’t use the dryer. Did not even get any top up of condiment throughout our stay, no toilet roll because they’re too lazy. The overall motel felt like a smack den, where a night worker would take their clients back to. Disgusting place!

    Location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    6.7
    Advert indicated parking however there were a very limited...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Advert indicated parking however there were a very limited number of parks on a first in best dressed basis and I had to park down the street. The parking was my main priority when booking

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    5.8
    Cluld be nice after a reno
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the insite should be brought into 2019. Carpets dirty with stains and dusty...in the tropic not a good thing to have carpets... Hot water and cold water handle in the opposite place...hard to find hot water ..could be a good place with better beds and without old carpet

    Even I like the building from good old time and this Motel is a good oldie,

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    9.6
    Great price. Nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the great price I couldn't expect anymore. I have been staying there for years.

    Air conditioning. Parking right out the front of our room. Short walk to everything. Small and quiet.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    3.8
    Although cheap you still expect the basics of a motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed for two nights. The room was not cleaned before the second night. Had to tune the TV before using it. No shampoo or conditioner provided.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    9.2
    Welcomed warmly, invited to leave our luggage early
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water hammer in the hot water, tricky to get the shower on without disturbing others, luckily the weather was hot enough not to need hot showers.

    Affordable central location, basic facilities, cosy.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    3.3
    Motel is close to shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was poor about the room. Carpets thread bare, water had been spilled on a section of the carpet and not soaked up. Bathroom faucet tap was loose and had to be managed with 2 hands to turn on and off. Curtains couldn't be properly closed for privacy. No replacement towels or bath mat during 3 day stay. The Motel needs a huge renovation to update it.

    Motel is close to shops

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    5.5
    one of
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was fish and chicken left in the microwave form previous visitors. Plumbing in shower needs attention, water wouldn't go down quickly. My key can open another rooms door which I found out at 1am - security risk . Bannister up to first floor rusted at base not secure rusted out easily could break.

    The fact that it is close to the CBD

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    6.7
    The staff do a great job at keeping the place clean ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property needs a bit of an upgrade really.

    The staff do a great job at keeping the place clean , despite it being a little run down. I stayed twice in transit and have left a more detailed review on 11th November.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Honest price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location. Honest price.

    Great location. The daily amount corresponds to the service offered. Friendly staff and they solve the problems that arise.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant stay here, mid-range motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed twice, 2nd time should have requested ground floor as I had heavy bags to carry down stairs for early flight, and I am a tiny, female pensioner, so it would be difficult. Little touches with quirky plumbing and painted shower trays/basins (paint flaking off) could raise the game, but no complaints - it was clean and comfortable .

    Nice cotton sheets and towels, bed was comfortable and had a good sleep. Stayed twice, they stored my main bag for me between stays, which was a great help. Basic facilities in room to make breakfast or snacks, and coffee/tea making provided. Pleasant stay, not a huge walk from the marina front or main shops. Shuttle service to airport useful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    7.1
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The office hours were very limited. Even when someone was scheduled to be at the desk or reachable by phone, no one was available to assist guests.a

    Location is good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    6.3
    Tired property, convenient location adequate with no frills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only service was emptying the paper basket and topping up the sugar - no bed making / bathroom freshen or clean towels offerred

    Location, pool, easy parking

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    7.1
    I stayed from the afternoon for a very early 6.45 flight the next morning. Convenient for my purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpet was very very stained & the room didn't have a nice smell.

    Very close to the Esplanade, restaurants & shops.The very nice, friendly, helpful receptionist, from Wales, when I checked in.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    5.8
    The room served my purpose - somewhere to sleep overnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in need of minor repairs - everything was old but I suppose still usable. You could not use the mircowave with the tv and jug going at the same time (blew the switch).

    Close to city centre. The room was neat and clean. The reception person was friendly and helpful. Everything worked. The shower was nice and hot. Quiet location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    3.8
    Thank goodness we spent most of the days seeing the sights of Cairns & not looking at the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We both ended up with sore backs from the bed, had a big dip in the middle. There was no place to hang our clothes, it was fortunate that I had packed some coat hangers and we had to hang our clothes on the curtain rod. There was no smoke detector in the room. There was only six car parks and twenty one rooms, it was a fight just to get a car park. I don't think I will stay there again.

    The only good thing was that the motel was within walking distance to most shops and attraction.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    4.2
    Very average stay considering its in budget category
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very uncomfortable bed, we had a break down of water in the bathroom and it stopped for more than an hour. The taps and showers were just ok.

    Location is great. Walking distance from everything in central Cairns. Nothing else to like about the motel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    6.7
    Motel was under whelming in the first instance, it was comfortably adequate ,initial reception poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    I travelled with my elderly mother. The pool was not inviting (it was more like a dinky home pool). Car parking was not allocated so on some occasions I had try and find parking on the street, so a little inconvenient. The shower plumbing was noisy if the room above didn't turn enough cold water on the pipes would sing a horrible racket until it was turned off or much further on. The Clean white towels often had stains on them, but they were clean. the lady on the counter needs some training in dealing with difficult clients/ situations. Calling an elderly woman "I think you are frankly quite RUDE!" (of itself shows the lacking in her own ability to manager the reception) who was not happy to pay the full cost of accommodation up front. The fridge door did not have any rails to hold the milk etc.

    The motel was relatively cheap, the owner Craig was nice. The motel was reasonably central having a rental car. A tourist booking centre was not far from the motel. The fridge worked well. The motels location was nice and quite regarding traffic noise. We had a good stay in spite of the short comings.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    6.7
    Ver good location, near the beach and all other amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were old, A/C was not working well, Many broken or dysfunctional features in the room. It's a nice small motel, which can be managed and maintained much better.

    Ver good location, near the beach and all other amenities. Spacious room. Fairly clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No smoke alarm. Lack of privacy. Needed net curtains to prevent others, who had to keep walking by to access their room, being given a full view of the inside of the room.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    8.8
    A great no frills hotel with a convenient location. Room has everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a great location and room. Had everything we needed for a good price. Bad reviews are likely from people who don't understand a cheaper hotel. You get what you pay for and you're only in the room to sleep if your visiting Cairns. The owner was also very helpful!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    2.9
    Very dirty and would not recommend to anyone. Very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were dirty. Beds not made by room service after day one. Towels not replaced with clean ones. Lot of dust and carpets not vacuumed. No shampoo. Beds and linnen old. No smoke alarms in place. No parking day one.

    Did not meet any of our expectations. Would not refer to anybody. Will not stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    5.0
    The location is pretty central.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place was not clean. The carpets were horribly stained and no mattress protector on the bed is just rank. Plus the shower curtain could do with a bleach.

    The location is pretty central.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    5.4
    location was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    lack of car parking .. bathroom door was broken .. only 1 pillow per person .. showering was hard as the water pressure and temperature kept changing .. the air conditioner was extremely loud

    location was ok

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    6.7
    We enjoyed ourselves doing some of the major attractions and visiting the many eateries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The building and the 2 rooms which we occupied needed updating. Fridge was on the small size (larger ones shown in photos on the website), some rust on the microwave, basin in bathroom had rust around the taps and one of them had a hole beside the tap that you could fit 2 fingers in. When taps were turned on they emitted a loud sound which could be heard in the other rooms and loud hammering (banging) through the pipes. A few tiles missing in shower enclosure and around the walls of the bathroom. There was no smoke alarm in the room (only the base was on the ceiling). I realize that the accommodation was budget price, but that shouldn't mean that the some of the facilities should be in poor condition.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The motel was close to shops, restaurants, markets, cafes and the waterfront. Showers had plenty of hot water and the bed was comfortable. Air conditioner worked well even though it was outdated.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    7.5
    In a great location and reasonably comfortable with attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would be better if bin bags were changed daily. On one day I had to find a spare plastic bag of my own to line the bin. It would also be better if bin had lids. Food scraps in a lidded bin would be less likely to invite six-legged friends to visit.

    Definitely the staff. I had assumed there would be hairdryers available in the rooms, but upon finding out there weren't I asked if I could borrow one and the staff were very prompt in providing me one. They were also very responsive to any calls I made to the front desk. The rooms were otherwise well resourced. Great to have a fridge, microwave and cupboards stocked with crockery and cutlery as well as detergent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    6.7
    Great location. Some rooms not so nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed twice during our trip. First room was not very nice, just looked old and one of the matresses was really bad, quite painful to sleep on it. Second room was much nicer and looked updated.

    Location is great! Close to Marina, shops and Esplanade

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    6.3
    I think i have summed up my thoughts. The bed was super comfortable ☺
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff not available for morning book in. When i was leaving, 2 ladies from Japan sere trying to book in. One lady was certainly not young. They had been ringing the bell for quite sometime but no one responded. As my room was still open and it was about 9am so before my book out time i offered them a cup of tea and to use the chairs outside my room for their comfort as i thought the bad reception they were given was not a good impression of how we treat our visitors. Also the TV repsir man was waiting for someone to arrive so that he could see to the reception problems of all the televisions in the motel. Apparently he had a 9am time arranged again no one could be contacted. A bad look i thought, mangement needs to definitely improve this situation. Hope my input will help improve the experience people have when they want to use your motel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    7.1
    Affordable but will pay more to go elsewhere unfortunately.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy- water pipes and other guests. Didn't like the constant smell of smoke coming into the room from guests and staff smoking so close to rooms.

    Great location and affordable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    6.3
    Very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no room service only to replenish tea and coffee, soap bed was never made unless we stripped the bed the floor wasn't cleaned in the 2 weeks we were there. I found a broom one day to sweep the carpet. There was no mattress cover on the bed. There was a very bad water hammer. If someone had a shower late at night it would wake all the neighbors. There was nowhere to hang your clothes, luckily we had a spare single bed in the room otherwise there would have been nowhere to put our case or anything. Everything was very old and run down maintenance was non existant. The price wasn't that cheap as we found another Place much better a little further away and a lot cheaper.

    The position was great, we were able to walk to most places.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    8.3
    A good clean budget motel but with the features of a budget motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad - The water hammer that wakes, Nuisance-the taps that are hard to turn off, the incomplete sets of crockery/cutlery. the beds crammed into the room, the skimping on blinds

    The staff is friendly and helpful. It is well located for a budget hotel. Between the waterfront in Cairns and the street that this motel is on is tourist town with flashy hotels, fantastic restaurants, supermarket like no other that I have seen, where speaking a foreign language is no limitation but cost!!! This motel is on the cheap side of the street so near but still some blocks away from some things like the port but near good cheap food. It is clean. The beds are comfy,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    6.3
    Good location for the money I’m paying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The motel & room was really old & the water tap was really noisy every time we turn on the tap. The reception area stinks badly. A lot of improvement could be done as it is located very close to the centre of downtown.

    Good location for the money I’m paying.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    10
    Location is close to the center and all near by shops around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is close to the center and all near by shops around. The owner is very polite and provided all required information for the tours and nearby places.Room was very big and all amenities were provided.Value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    9.6
    We parked on arrival and could walk everywhere for our stay in Cairns.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The motel was probably built in the 1960s and needs some TLC to bring it up to match it's location - no fly screens on the windows, next door's noisy plumbing seemed to be in our room, the exterior needs painting.

    The motel was an easy walk to the waterfront and city. The reception lady was friendly and welcoming on our arrival and the room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing, apart from the location ,just a shot walk to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old units, nothing like the website, lights that did not work, only 1 pillow each. The plumbing made horrendous noises in the night. The fridge was rusty, out of the ark.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    8.8
    Holiday in Cairns
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Location is great. It is near many restaurants, shops, the wharf, aquarium, night market and food court and shopping centre. All within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    6.3
    Although moderate tariff poorly maintaned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Inside & outside doors rotting. Towell rail falling off. Sink tap loose. Shower loose & sprayed water. Had to ask for coffee satchets.

    Firm beds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    8.8
    Calming and convenient, with excellent hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have liked a rail for towel. Would have liked TV up on wall. Would have been handy to have a sink or bowl for dishes. We enjoyed our stay but you did ask.

    Enjoyed the fan, peacefulness, handy to walk everywhere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    5.8
    Not again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tap in the bathroom could not be turned off, there was no shower curtain. The whole bathroom had been painted, the walls the ceiling and indeed the floor with the same white paint. The carpet in the room was very old and stained. Whether or not it was clean was impossible to tell. It looked filthy and not such you would want to walk on in bare feet. There was no where to hang anything, no coat hangers etc.

    The bed was comfortable enough. The TV worked. There was cutlery and plates to use. The kettle worked, tea and coffee provided. The staff were polite and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    7.1
    Loved my 18 days in FNQ particularly The Daintree
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Bed could have been bigger Queen even Step out of bathroom dangerous Very noisy plumbing from other rooms usage No ventilation in bathroom

    Very helpful, friendly and accommodating Close to centre of town and coast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    7.9
    This motel is good value for money and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No comfortable chair to sit in after a long day out.

    Good location close to the water front and reasonably priced. Check in was easy, has a button to press for the unmanned reception. Assistance arrived within a minute and was very helpful in providing information of the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    8.8
    comfortable quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an older motel. I like that. But would not suit everyone. Parking area is a bit cramped need to be careful

    Close to beach and big public pool on esplanade, lots of eating places to choose from, close to bus routes. Great value for a short stay in central cairn

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    9.6
    Budget motel, in walking distance from the city, no frills, cheap and easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Last minute booking, the only hotel in Cairns that did not up their rates because the city was almost booked out. Great location, great welcome from owner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    8.8
    Central location, good price, comfortable but bathroom let it down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was tired. The sink did not drain properly with a plunger provided to aid drainage. The grill cover thingy in the sink plug hole was missing. And no shower curtain meant a damp mat.

    Bed was good. Air con worked well and was not noisy. Good central location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    7.5
    ok for what i wanted
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    lights as above

    your water pipes make noise when u turn tap on ...main cealing light never worked..light in bath room goes dull to bright .u got elect problems.but all i wanted was a shower n a good sleep which i got

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    8.3
    Disappointing. I needed a night to relax, wasn't relaxed as I'd liked.
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs: better security, door to be replaced (rotting at base), tiles and vanity in bathroom need replacement (some tiles broken and missing, rusted through vanity at back of tap), doona needs cleaning, curtains need to cover front window better for better privacy, light fixture abovery bed needs replacing (was broken, and had bulb missing.)

    Comfy bed, good aircon, close to city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    8.8
    Nice budget hotel. Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi was a bit shaky. Can add some more toiletries.

    Value for money. Very near to the Esplanade area and night market, both within few minutes of walking distance. Room was quite spacious. The room and washroom are a bit dated but clean. Good stock of cutlery and other basic amenities. Easy check in and checkout. Value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    7.9
    Clean but in need of some TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean but in need of some TLC. Advantage that there is a complimentary shuttle service. If you look at the price of the room and the cost of a shuttle - quids in. It fulfilled my requirements comfortable bed, washing machine (also included) small 'kitchenette'. Very well located.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    9.2
    Great value, proximity to amenities, clean and tidy.
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plumbing needs attention to eliminate "hammer".

    Although it is one of the original motels in Cairns it is very convenient to the city and port. The staff are very friendly. The room was clean and tidy. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    7.9
    Old style, no fuss motel in easy walking distance to the heart of Cairns.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff never seemed to be there, instead relying on you buzzing for them. My kettle was broken and the staff on the desk didn't seem to have an idea how to replace it.

    Great location for the price, everything is a short walk away. Bed is comfortable and the water is hot. If you are looking for a no nonsense hotel in Cairns you can do a lot worse than this place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    7.5
    a fair stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    facilities and furniture, old enough.

    only stayed one night. the motel might need some renovation. general condition was ok, facilities in the room are pretty simple and out of date.room was clean enough, no smell.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location and very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air con and bathroom pipes are so noisy especially at night. My bathroom had a missing panel window so many bugs and a lizard and cockroach made themselves known!

    Fantastic location and very quiet. Staff seemed friendly and helpful too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    10
    A perfect place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Price was excellent for the room which could sleep three people with a private bathroom. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    7.5
    We didn’t let these little faults dampen our holiday. All in all we enjoyed cairns.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The general condition of the room needs some updating. No lightbulbs in the overhead bed lamps, the remote for the tv didn’t work, the water tap in the bathroom was hard to open and close.we

    The location because it was close enough to the action. They did some trip bookings for us to our satisfaction. The beds were comfortable enough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    7.9
    Within walking distance to everywhere you want to go in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The other guests. A larger portion of guests at the motel are inconsiderate scum than you'd find at a nicer (more expensive) establishment. Loud music until all hours whilst drunk, domestic disputes that turn physical...

    Within walking distance to everywhere you want to go in Cairns.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    5.0
    Not a good place to relax after a long day
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet was mouldy and everything was old and not repaired. The bathroom window was missing a pane of glass so I had to plug it up with a towel and creepy crawlies still got in. No water available except in the bathroom. Wifi kept cutting out in room 8. The room is tiny, so if two or three people were staying there it would be very crowded.

    Location was great--shops and eateries close by. It was good to have the free airport shuttle and 1G of wifi each day. Nice TV. Didn't have any trouble with noisy or questionable characters. Good place for a young woman travelling alone if you don't mind unkempt facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    5.0
    Motel was very shabby. The best thing about it was I wasn't in it much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Dripping taps, stained carpet, poorly equipped and maintained. Pretty crap really. No pride taken in the place whatsoever. Would not recommend

    Helpful staff. Comfy bed. Close to CBD

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    6.7
    We were charged a week later for towels we checked into the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were charged a week later for towels we checked into the room and there was only one towel and we were three (2 adults one child) I asked for three towels as the one already in the room was dirty we left towels linen plates etc when checked out and had a charge on our credit card for two towels???? It has yet to be reimbursed even after speaking to the manager who agreed to remove charge. It’s been almost a month and it’s still not been reversed will be taking it up with the credit card company at this point very unprofessional and not impressed with the management and how it’s not been taken care of as they said it would be

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2017

    7.1
    Cheap and ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No plug sockets near the bed. Room had a strange smell. Almost a damp odour. Very bright in the morning which woke me up Room was average cleanliness Beds were clean

    Good location. Large room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money. Just fix the door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Massive gap at the bottom of the door and ground. This is a problem as the room is on ground floor and Cairns is crawling with snakes and insects. Room was very very old

    They checked me in early. Staff was friendly. A/c and fan on point.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    7.1
    Budget accommodation for a super budget price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Two items, albeit it small, went missing from unlocked parts of my baggage when stored in a location that only staff had access to through a locked door; following my check out. I was saddened and really didn't want to believe that it had anything to do with the staff of the motel as the staff were all very nice. It was awkward so I chose not to pursue it at all. That said, I would stay there again.

    The staff were friendly and lived onsite. A member of staff went above and beyond for customers and potential customers in every circumstance. Cheap accommodation. It is a basic, cheap place with privacy to rest your head for the night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    8.8
    Motel is very handy to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sliding door to bathroom needs renewing or a bottom track fitted.

    Motel is very handy to town. Facilities basic but had everything we needed. Very glad of the air-con. Staff friendly and helpful and room serviced daily.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    6.3
    Motel in need of repair in several areas, but for the price I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No smoke detector in room, bathroom sink rusted, staff hardly ever at front desk had to either phone them or wait for someone to arrive, still you get what you pay for, Laundry facilities terrible.

    Room was clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    4.6
    real mess up
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very unfriendly staff. long face - no smile. as if we are a problem. have been to many of your hotels in Italy, Catania. Madjegori, Melbourne, but never have i found such bad staff. Also ac was not working in one room. The other room ac was so loud when the compressor starts that every minutes we get up for the noise.

    location was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    7.5
    Cheap and Cheerfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The towels provided were a little smelly.but everything else was fine.

    Great location, short walk to the city. The free airport transfer was a great bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    3.3
    Loved Cairns, eating out was excellent, trip to Green Island was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room 12 the carpets badly stained, room very shabby. Room 14 carpets better than room 12 but taps in bathroom rusty, electrical power points coming away from wall, very shabby. Rooms not serviced daily.

    Close to everything in Cairns.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    8.8
    Our room was clean and comfortable, excellent value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not sure .....it was perfect for our purpose.

    Our room was clean and comfortable, excellent value for money, the free shuttle from the airport was a bonus, the driver could do with some tourist skills but hey it was a free ride.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    7.9
    Very good and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    People sitting outside our room and smoking. We haven't a problem with smokers, but on this occasion, the smoke filtered into our room. "Smoke outside your own room, mate!"

    Craig, the owner, was really welcoming, helpful and funny. He runs a good business and deserves to do well

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    5.0
    The motel was old, the carpet stained.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The motel was old, the carpet stained. The room was clean. I found it hard to locate the motel as there was another name in the front. Would I stay there again? No, I would not. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    6.7
    Staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The motel is showing its age. My room (17) had large stains on carpet, which needs to be replaced! Bathroom/ Shower cleanliness focus would be appreciated. Ants in bathroom? Pest control would fix this?

    Staff and great location. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    6.3
    A value for money budget motel located a short walk to the CBD.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room had a stale smell & carpet was stained.

    Craig was helpful with all my questions. They provide a free coach transfer from the airport but you do pay $15.00 for the return. They had a clean & refreshing pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: