Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cairns Holiday Lodge 3 stars

259 Sheridan St, 4870 Cairns, Australia

#45 of 58 Holiday rentals in Cairns

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 57 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.5
    Happy enough for $110 per night in school holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the kitchenette, but didn’t need to use it much. Didn’t like the refrigerator away from the kitchen and in front of the mirror.

    Good value for money, neat and clean, close to both town and airport and well signed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Good location, Only 30 minute walk into town along esplanade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no milk for tea and coffee

    Good location, Only 30 minute walk into town along esplanade. Hotel is very dated but very clean and comfortable and has all required mod cons.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.7
    just a decent accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole room need to be refurbished. At least the stove, TV, and light should be renewed. Washing machine and dryer should be equipped.

    Bathroom is ok. Beds are decent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Clean, cheap, family-friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    A pool would have made it perfect

    The hosts were exceedingly nice people who were helpful and friendly. The appartments (we had 2) were exceptionally clean and well thought-out. Perfect for a budget holiday. Great kitchen, well stocked. Good location near Esplanade and on bus route. Bath. Not plush at all, and no pool, but we just used the Cairns Lagoon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Comfortable stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Susie went out of her way to show me our room before bringing the children in. Personally brought up the extra towels needed. Ample space for family of 4 (children 6 & 2). Nice big fridge.Close enough distance to explore esplanade by foot if you enjoy walking that is.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money, clean rooms and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During busy periods the hot water alternated hot and cold. Also the temp of the unit was a little hard to regulate as the fans worked intermittently.

    Value for money. Older units but very clean and well appointed with necessary utensils.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.1
    I stayed there with my hubby and a 3 yr old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little cluttered for our taste with lots of chairs here and there. Beds were lose with wheels, so it kept moving everytime we got on or off. It didn't have a clean feeling to it. But to be fair suzy allowed us to move the sofa which was in the middle. She also cleaned it when requested. They did everything to make our stay pleasant.

    I stayed there with my hubby and a 3 yr old. The owners were super helpful and booked all the tours for us. Room was a good size size. Bus stop outside the property. Though we walked to the cairns esplanade every day though it was a 2 km walk. There was a microwave, stove top and all required utensils. A convenience store was nearby. All in all a gud stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    It was just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The taps for the kitchen & the shower were a bit hard to turn off & on.

    The beds were comfortable, the pool was lovely & the facilities in my room were just perfect.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    2.5
    Most horrible stay in my life
    • Family with older children
    • Large Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 29 nights

    I understood why reviews on the female manager are so contrasting. She is nice and helpful unless you don't complain anything and book a tour through this lodge. 1) I had booked a room with kitchenette first, but the room description was changed later. I sent inquiry because I wanted to cook during my stay. They kindly offered me an upgrade to a room with kitchenette. But the room was not the same as other rooms. 2) When I found some problems about facility, she told me the room hadn't have a kitchenette before and the problems were because of it. It meant it was not really an upgrade. 3) Potable electric stove was old and didn't work well. It took 40 minutes to cook pasta. 4) The room was not suitable for studying although I had informed them that I would go to school. My room didn't have fluorescent lights whereas other rooms had. I asked her if I could borrow a table/desk light. She told me to move a table in front of the toilet where was the brightest area in my room. 5) She did not try to book a tour which I was interested in, but tried to sell me another tour. When she knew that I had booked the tour with an agent outside, she got angry and complained about it. 6) I wanted to take off shoes in the room, so I wiped the floor everyday by myself. I asked her to take off her shoes when coming in. But she said NO. 7) She told me not to use water and electricity as possible since she could only receive 10% commissions from the owner of the lodge and less expense made her receive much more money. 8) WiFi was sometimes cut off from 9 PM to 7 AM. Password was changed without before/after letting know. 9) I was told to get out of the room for 2 hours while she clean the room. She used too much chemicals for cleaning. 10) On 17th day I decided to leave the lodge because I knew I could cancel my reservation and ask her refund. (I paid all when checking in.) My school advised me to tell them that I just had to go back to my county.

    None.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.9
    The cooking facilities , One hot plate which was new was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The cooking facilities , One hot plate which was new was good BUT mirowave faulty we reported this on the Sunday as wouldn't have expected it to be replaced over week end and nothing was done about it while we were still there .Total of six days .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.3
    Mixed Review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Noisy bad located fridge Toilet flush was bad. Needed 3 flushes poor pillows no wine glasses Had to park across the road - no space for me plane noise very noticeable in morning

    proximity to food outlets and 24 hr supermarket was good Travel advice from Susie

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    8.3
    Very helpful and friendly property managers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property managers were very friendly and helpful. She helped us to reserved day tours according to our needs, and tried her best to find the tours suit us and value for money. I'm happy that we chose to stay in Cairns Holiday Lodge (even though it is at city centre, about 20-30 mins walk), but the staff made us have a good stay and holiday.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Friendly, helpful staff/owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, helpful staff/owners.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    staff was very friendly & helpful to introduce the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff was very friendly & helpful to introduce the surroundings area and place to see

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Great stay in a great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it

    Good stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Nothing was a problem for them, they were great, i'll be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing was a problem for them, they were great, i'll be back

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.0
    Always followed Booking.Com recommendations, I'm really disappointed this time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff tried to dupe me out of more money.

    Free wifi and location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing. Lovely pool and gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    For me it was a good time until next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the bed was excelented and the fridge was big to put anything that I bought in the shopping Thank to Mike and Suzie

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    Good Value for Money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Good Value for Money. Would use the accommodation again.Clean and good service. Thanks

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to most things

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable for an over night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfortable for an over night stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Perfect for our 4 day stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find anything we did not like

    Location, helpfulness of managers, size of room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    love cairns-will be back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 8 nights

    did not stay long enough

    helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    3.3
    Location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location .room facilities too old

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    3.3
    Horrible customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The customer service was pathetic. Specially Suzie, who is looking after this lodge with her partner Mike, she is a nightmare

    Liked the location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    8.8
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was really nice and helpful, always willing to help us to make the most of our stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    10
    Very comfortable with well equipped kitchenette.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette- Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    2 x comfortable queen size beds being next to the swimming pool

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    6.7
    Family friendly good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower heat regulation was poor

    Price

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    8.8
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the highway

    Standard room at a good price

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    5.8
    The room has a functional kitchen and is kept clean despite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    An elder couple manages this place with no other employees. We felt being micro managed from the beginning, and they reminded us of the Inn Keepers from Les Miserable. We can only have house keeping every three days (unless you pay extra), no towel replacement (unless you pay extra), no unwashed silverwares shall be left in the sink (unless you pay extra). Having a child using existing bed? You have to pay extra (although not uncommon in AU). The Wifi is very slow and they changed the password during our stay which caused inconveniences. Suzie talked to us with a condescending tone and made us feel stupid when we have any kinds of request.

    The room has a functional kitchen and is kept clean despite its old age. The location is easy to find and has its own car park free of charge. The pool is cleaner than expected.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.2
    Mike and Suzie, who run it, were great, very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Mike and Suzie, who run it, were great, very helpful and informative. There's a supermarket, restaurants and a gym just a few minutes walk away. Taxis to the centre take just 5 minutes and it's literally a stones throw away from the airport.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.9
    It wasn't in the CBD but you were able to walk to the...
    • Group

    The wifi stopped working every now and again, there is no elevator, there was no broom in our room and the stove was tricky to use, although they did bring a brand new one to the room by the end of our stay.

    It wasn't in the CBD but you were able to walk to the beach or the shopping centre as we did several times. The staff were amazing and helped us out whenever they could, they also gave us a great deal when we booked a reef cruise with them.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    4.2
    Room was clean and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff called to check what time we were arriving and we said 3pm we arrived around 3:30pm and our room wasn't ready so we were sent away for 30 minutes. Bed was visibly sunken and when laying on it sunk in the middle, uncomfortable for my back. Hot water kept going cold when showering. Main light above bed area didn't work just flickered and power point between beds didn't work. When complaining to staff and saying it wasn't up to standard and we would like to leave early and be refunded for our last night we had paid for they became rude and unhelpful. Female staff even stereotyped my friend and myself (both 23) and said obviously the hotel wasnt bippity boppity enough for us. She then said what do you expect from a 3 star hotel. I said bed that is not sunken and instant hot water. They then proceeded to change the bed, saying they were going out of their way for us when I didn't ask for that. And it was an inconvenience having them walking in and out of our room for half an hour changing the bed. Shouldn't have that to deal with at a hotel. Extremely rude women, wasn't even prepared to try talk to us with out getting cranky and rudely stereotyping us.

    Room was clean and tidy

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff (smiles;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift. Oven in photo, but they are no longer in use - which we not told until after we bought food to be cooked in an oven. Water sometimes came out of the shower spout while running a bath.

    Friendly staff (smiles; helpful suggestions; pick up from train station; drop off at Reef Terminal; offer of airport transfers). Pool (salt with mild chlorine) Good air conditioning Kitchenette Bath Bus stop near by 10% discount on tours Drink vouchers for The Cock & Bull Pub (along with hint that one meal from the English menu will feed 2 people - glad we listened.)

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    10
    Very clean, close to shops,airport and buses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very clean, close to shops,airport and buses. Suzi who runs the hotel is awesome full of information and knows all the best places to go, she goes out of her way for her guests will definitely stay here again

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    8.3
    large room, old but clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beds too old desperately need new bases.Upgrade to kitchen crockery and utensils would go a long way. Great staff.

    large room, old but clean and tidy.2 beds with kitchenette/ toaster. balcony for smokers.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    Comfortable unit and exceptional friendly, helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Traffic noise and airplanes, but not that bad.

    Comfortable unit and exceptional friendly, helpful staff! Location great, walking distance to esplanade and shopping centres. Bus stop outside if you don't enjoy walking. Great eateries in close proximity.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.2
    Our hosts were awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our hosts were awesome. A real comfortable home away from home, location was good, easy to book anything we needed. All meals within walking distance, parking at the door. We had a great stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    10
    Large bright room with everything necessary for our week...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large bright room with everything necessary for our week long stay. Staff was excellent - only too willing to help with ideas of places to visit. Will stay here another time!

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    10
    Mike and Sue running the Lodge couldn't do enough for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Mike and Sue running the Lodge couldn't do enough for you.they picked my son up from the air port and when it was time to leave they took him back to the air port and myself to the train station.They booked tours for us.Anything you asked for they were more than happy to help..Very friendly and caring people.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    5.0
    The beds were comfortable and the aircon unit worked well,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Located a fair way out of town so we were glad to have a rental car. (Car park is very tight) Would not have been comfortable walking there at night. The entire building is in need of an overhaul. Old bath tub and taps, kitchen not very clean. The team at reception are helpful but were rather curt once they found out we had already booked our day trips. Took offence that the tour company would not pick up at their hotel.

    The beds were comfortable and the aircon unit worked well, though rather noisy. Good water pressure in the shower too. Full size fridge rather than a mini bar fridge

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    4.6
    Spacious apartment type room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Advertised as 0.9km from centre of city... What a lie this lodge is miles away, a good 25 minute fast paced walk!! Not to be rude but the surrounding area of the lodge doesn't have the most pleasant vibe so when going to the garage across the street after 8pm I didn't feel safe. Free wifi was coincidently turned off during NYE and NewYearsDay hmmm money saving method I think, couldn't skype my parents in England. Also, No lift had to lift our 26kg cases up 3 flights of stairs Never found the advertised 'saltwater pool' in my eyes this didn't exist. The red haired female owner was awfully rude, one morning we asked politely if they could call is a taxi as we didn't have an oz phone, her reply "who are you! Where are you coming from!!!" I said "we are staying here.., I said room 41 (mistake for our room) she said "NOO!! We don't have that room who on earth are you two" ... After showing her my room key she then believed us and called us a cab no apology :s , we stayed there a week and just because she hadn't checked us in , then apparently in her eyes we weren't staying there, another night I was skyping my mum on our balcony, however our balcony strangely followed round to the hallway (wasn't private) she walked round and shouted for me to go inside and be quiet and told me the whole corridor could hear me and THEN turned the wifi off!!! I wasn't loud at all it was 12.00am not too late just skyping my mum she is so rude! All other rooms get private balconies but she could just stroll onto ours! , long story short she was awfully rude I couldn't stop repeating the conversation to my partner all day I was shocked!

    Spacious apartment type room Free wifi Powerful aircon Washing facilities on same floor

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    6.3
    pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff to nosy

    pool

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    8.3
    Having kitchenette was great.
    • Family with older children

    Having kitchenette was great. We were very comfortable and had everything we needed. Staff/management very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    10
    The rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff were very friendly, helpful and informative. They went out of there way to assist.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly owners who were extremely accomodating, would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No bad experience.

    Very friendly owners who were extremely accomodating, would stay there again. Bus stop right outside, convenient for beaches.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    5.4
    staff wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    area cleanliness prce paid

    staff wifi

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    10
    The room and facilities were perfect for our requirements
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room and facilities were perfect for our requirements

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    2.9
    Location, no privacy and Susan and Mike simply didn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location, no privacy and Susan and Mike simply didn't like us because we pre-booked our tours and they couldn't get commission.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    I am DING, Suzie and Mike are very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I am DING, Suzie and Mike are very kind.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff go out of their way to make you welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff go out of their way to make you welcome

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.1
    a comfy bed for a good nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    a comfy bed for a good nights sleep

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.8
    Helpfull cheerfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weather was a bit miserable

    Helpfull cheerfull staff

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    7.9
    friendly managers, very obliging!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly managers, very obliging! comfy bed, and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.5
    The staff were really helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were really helpful and friendly. I loved how the female owner told us about Cairns and its different sites.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    5.4
    Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very noisy laundry kept me awake from 2am and street noise - ok for a short weekend stay but not for workers up at 6

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    7.5
    Nice and spacious room with good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was actually a good half hour walk to the city and not the 10 mins suggested

    Nice and spacious room with good facilities

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: