Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cairns Plaza Hotel 3.5 stars

145 The Esplanade, 4870 Cairns, Australia

#20 of 73 hotels in Cairns

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 887 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent overnight stay place precruise and not far from downtown shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good, breakfast was too!

    We opted to stay overnight before catching our cruise. We joined our family who had flown in from Melbourne and who we were crusing with. The staff were friendly and accomodating and the location was close to the waterfront. Strolling along the Esplanade at nightfall was delightful and felt very safe.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    4 days of feeling right at home on the esplanade. Bay virws in quiet. Parakeets:bats from balcony!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So wonderful to enjoy coffee on the patio. Friendly staff in a great location right across from the esplanade an playground. Lots of great eats nearby. Free parking! No traffic. Clean and friendly. We stayed one night before a trip to the Great Barrier Reef and then three nights after. Spacious rooms but seriously the balcony made us feel comfortable. Don’t forget to take in the city pool, night mats and little Indonesian restaurant next door!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The balcony hand railing was a bit shaky.

    The staff was really friendly and helpful. The location is perfect. It's right next to the esplanade and across the road there is a big children's playground. The pier, where all the reef tours depart are in a walk-able distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Good central location, didn't hear the traffic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was too small, you had to step into the shower to shut the door.

    Good central location, didn't hear the traffic. Staff were lovely. Recommend for families

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.5
    Hotel fitted our requirements with well and location to town was a bonus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A general renovation is probably over due but it didn't detract for our stay.

    Clean , tidy and comfortable. All we wanted. We arrived late at night and had no problems accessing the hotel or picking up key. Breakfast in the morning was more than adequate. Staff were more than accommodating..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Amazing Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We were on the 6th floor which gave us a great view over the city and the water. The location was great - being on the waterfront and close to the wharf, lagoon etc. Breakfast in the hotel was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Staff were excellent. Location was really good. Would stay there again
    • Group
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough PowerPoint in the lounge for the table lamps .

    View was great..especially the cruise ship arriving at dawn ablaze with lights. Had almost everything we needed for a one night stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    4.6
    The lounge was saggy , the shower was cold and the bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lounge was saggy , the shower was cold and the bed was hard. No cold water in fridge and for the price there was no mini bar in room . Will not be staying again .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Screaming kids in park below up to 11.20 pm on Sunday night. Got to me after being out on the balcony for a while. Otherwise, perfect.

    Good value; lovely water views, clean sheets, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony rail was very low and, while I'm sure it met regulations, I didn't feel safe. The door lock was tricky to open.

    The room was well equipped and comfortable. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    A good place to stay in Cairns
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is OK but could have more fruits.

    Very well located on the promenade - near the city center but very quite area. Nice view on the sea shore (if you are in an upper floor). The rooms are very nice, well equiped and clean. The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Very spacious apartment with sea views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious apartment with sea views. Comfortable bed, good shower. Able to prepare simple meals using the microwave. About a 10 minute walk to the main restaurants and markets. Cafe across the road on the waterfront. Staff very helpful and interested us and our holiday. Loved it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely view, spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of us did not like the bed - too soft.

    Lovely view, spacious rooms. We came in from long trip from USA and we were able to check in early! Walkable to good restaurants and waterfront. Fun kids playground across the street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay in Cairns - both for short trips or longer vacations.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi connection is weak and no salads and vegetables at breakfast.

    Excellent view from the ocean view suites, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, nice bed. Staff is very helpful with excursion booking and general advices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Friendly staff. very comfortable, clean and an amazing view to walk up to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff. very comfortable, clean and an amazing view to walk up to.

    This was an amazing place to stay. Very comfortable, clean with a lovely sea view and balcony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff, room was clean, great location, the included...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had “sea view” could see more trees than sea. Couch was also a sofa bed was uncomfortable to sit on

    Friendly staff, room was clean, great location, the included breakfast was a great start to the day

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful view over the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The deposit is a bit complicated because the check-in takes longer as normal.

    The hotel is directly on the street along the sea and the rooms to the front have an amazing seaview. The furniture are very new and the mattress was very good. The breakfast is very good, but book it there because you can choose between different options. Recommendable!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant only serves breakfast. Facility could use fresh paint and some remodeling.

    Right on boardwalk. Easy access to Muddy's cafe. Not far from the busy part of town (Esplanade). Mandy at the desk is a true delight!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    The Hotel was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel was ok. The reception staff were very good but a lot of maintenance needs to be done. A small example of this was the holder for the air conditioning remote was falling off the wall and the toilet roll holder whilst looking New was not attached to the wall properly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    great value for money - clean and neat, well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only drawback was that construction across the road commenced before 7am.

    Neat, clean, functional. Helpful, friendly staff. Great location, and view across to the water (front, balcony suite). Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Super friendly and helpful staff - always smiling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows were not sound proof and could hear people and cars in the street below all night long. Construction on nearby building was loud and started early as well.

    Super friendly and helpful staff - always smiling. Nice location and water views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Simple hotel room in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Simple hotel room in a fantastic location. Clean. Walking distance to the lagoon, pier, and plenty of restaurants. 10 min drive from the airport. Kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Happy and hospitable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff in hotel hoovered at 7.30 am

    Extremely friendly owner Nice spacious room Location - walking distance to main Cairns lagoon, shops and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Reasonable hotel, excellent location for kids opposite waterfront huge play area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Email correspondence from staff beforehand was not super helpful or accommodating. Staff member who actually checked us in very late (after midnight arrival) was helpful however.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.4
    Good location, bad facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were mosquitoes and cockroaches in the room. Hardly any facilities in the room like a toaster or a microwave. The shower was pathetic.

    Location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Perfect for what we wanted - position, cleanliness. All we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nice to have a comfy chair for reading and watching TV.

    The room was clean and quite spacious. The location suited us perfectly and the proximity to the Esplanade was great for walking. Short distance to shopping etc. The staff were great. I would recommend this as a place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Best staff ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff is awesome. They help us booking the best trips, giving all kind of local information and being extremely kind at every ocasion. Really lovely ladies. The room is very big, you have all the room you need. The location is good, on the seaside, just 10 minutes walking from the center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Good for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small for 4 people. No daily housekeeping (just collecting rubbish would be good) . Booking.com promised early check in as apart of the booking. This was never made available which is annoying as I chose the hotel on location and early check in. Don't believe these offers unless they are verified in the upfront booking.

    Great location. Clean and easily accessible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Super great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not their fault. Drinking adult beverages in local bars and restaurants can be pricey. They can give you a map and direction to local grocery store an easy walk to stock your frig with food and drinks.

    Great location. Easy walk to shopping and grocery store. Right across the street from a ocean front park. their restaurant had good breakfasts starting at 10 bucks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Generous for the price, had everything we needed for a 1...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotels fault but a lot of construction going on around which started very early in the morning. Lots of noise

    Generous for the price, had everything we needed for a 1 night stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    Value for money,good location,generally good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No structure for breakfast. Wasn’t sure if I had included it in my tariff. Asked Receptionist who seemed most put out at the very thought of my asking. It was not included. I purchased one full breakfast, but they bought me two. This was a mistake by the kitchen staff. They happily took the extra food away. I only ate on one day. Upon checkout the receptionist was rude and inattentive. Finally when she could be bothered to look up from the desk she told me of my extras to pay. Two breakfasts were charged. Upon questioning, she walked off to the kitchen to confirm I had only eaten one breakfast. No appology was given just more rudeness. All in all pleasant except for checkout recetionist who was very rude.

    Enjoyed most things about my stay. Night staff and checkin staff very friendly and helpful. Chambermaid friendly and accomodating

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Checkin/out staff, room size, cleanliness, decor,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon was not working properly, was too warm, couldn't alter it even tho the remote seemed to work but temp didn't change, didn't sleep very well, kept waking up hot. No covered waiting area to catch taxi, got wet to getting into taxi. Breakfast staff were not pleasant.

    Checkin/out staff, room size, cleanliness, decor, comfort of bed. Breakfast great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable stay and a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathroom was a bit on the small side.

    Room was of a good size although TV could have been bigger as it was a large family room. Fresh milk in the fridge for tea and coffee was a nice touch, did not even noticed it until the third day though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Decent value and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed moved around the floor too easily. Shower water did not maintain steady temperature. Wi-fi was sketchy.

    Mostly comfortable room, was able to check in early, very reasonable rate, across from the water and ten minutes walk to the night markets, lido area. They will book boat tours for you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    OK as close to town but not a high class establishment.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a motel that has been recently renovated the shower had chipped fake tiling and a panel nailed to the wall that made it look very ordinary as well as rust coming through the paint around the architrave of the bathroom doorway. The bench space around the vanity sink with no space at for toiletries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable until breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast front of house poor. Uninterested when taking orders and when it was pointed out that product was running low it was an inconvenience to do her job 19/2/18 Food though was excellent certainly good value.

    Location is excellent,Hotel was clean spacey and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.7
    Dated hotel, nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is quite dated, and plain. Swimming pool is small and by the roadside. Windows are not double glazed, and a lot of traffic noise comes through. There is a construction site right next door and it makes tremendous noise from 7am onwards. It was a rough awakening every morning, not what you expect for a holiday.

    The location was beautiful, right on the Esplanade, overlooking the sea. Rooms are spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.7
    It’s ok, but probably won’t go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility isn’t not working properly, such as the air condition is really old and not functioning well, but then you can’t always keep the window open as it’s quite loud if you are facing the street. The sound proof is really poor, you can hear everything in the hall way and you can hear any noise or bang from upstairs.

    Location is great, walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable stay, fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room doors including balcony doors cannot lock from inside, i.e to keep kids inside. The hot water is very very hot. The balcony railing is very low and a little wobbly, abit scary with little children. The mattress on the fold up beds need replacing as quite thin and can feel the bars underneath. The pool water is very warm. Otherwise a great comfortable stay, thank you.

    The hot breakfast is fantastic. Bed in main room is comfortable. Staff are friendly. Very clean. Excellent location. Perfect for families directly opposite Muddys Playground, short stroll to shops, and lagoon. Beautiful unobstructed view from balcony (we were on the top floor).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Cairns Plaza Hotel is clean, comfortable and in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sliding doors do not lock properly.

    Our family of 2 adults 2 teenage children stayed in a studio room. It was perfect with kitchenette and plenty of space, more than usual motel room. It was also very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Overall, me and my partner enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been better if they offer dinner in the restaurant. Amenities are good but it would be superb if they provide stove.

    Lovely view from the balcony! I also like that they have wifi in the room and pool noodle.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Recommend without hesitation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of us could hear the elevator while in bed, but the other couldn't so maybe it's not something to worry about.

    Our 2 night stay at Cairns Plaza Hotel worked well for us. It's a nice walk along the Esplanade or just a few blocks to the shops and restaurants in town. We had a room in the back with a nice view of the hills. Our room was very clean and we enjoyed the pool, too. The staff at the front desk helped us choose our 1/2 day trip to the outer reef. For 2 people, a taxi from the airport is comparable to a shuttle (about $20) and quicker. If you're going to town at dusk, just a few blocks from the hotel, watch for the bats flying in the sky. We happened upon it and they certainly caught everyone's attention! Amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.4
    Ok,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff- don’t seem happy to work there, just not friendly. Not mean but don’t smile for some reason. The hotel appears to be quite old and can use a touch up in terms of lobby and elivator. Tv was tiny and beds were extremely springy. Photos on booking.com are very complimenting.

    Location- it’s 10 minuets from the central area and if you alhave kids, a great playground is just across the street. Value- this was one of the cheaper options we had so we didn’t expect much so it was ok for what we needed. The room was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    Amazing value for money. View is brilliant and staff are so lovely and friendly. Was very pleased
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed was pretty uncomfortable for 2 but can't expect much.

    Location was brilliant and we booked an ocean view room, so the view from the 6th floor was magnificent to wake up to. Aircon was cold and room was so spacey.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.1
    Good value, except for the bond issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They requested a $100 bond, which was not mentioned when I booked, and which I have not yet received back several days later.

    Clean and convenient, with lovely views.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing that the hotel reserves 100dol as a deposit on your credit card. And it tooks 2 weeks to get the money back.

    Hotel in convenient location, near the shops, bars and esplanade. Very clean, comfortable with great view from the balcony to the ocean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.9
    Price is really fair enough and overall is good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well , room is small and no kitchen (only frig and kettle)

    We didn’t book the sea view room, but our room have half sea view in balcony which is really good and we were all enjoy it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    2.9
    Extremely disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked everything through booking.com there was supposed to be no security deposit. When I get there, I was charged an extra $100 that I didn't have for a security deposit I didnt know was needed!!!!! We got it back the next morning but it made our dinner and drinks for the night extremely disappointing. Next time mention the security deposit on the website before someone sues for false advertising 😡😡😡

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Best bed ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk people all frowning. No hello or smiles. Just signed us in and nothing

    Best bed ever. View was great. Location so near the water and not too far from the city

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely quiet location, walkable to restaurants and numerous snorkeling and rain forest activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in sitting room not very strong..room a bit too warm but bedroom perfect.

    The reception staff particularly Alison was quite helpful and accommodating. We were able to rent Beach towels for a nominal fee, Alisonobtained a wine carafe for our celebration champagne and our room view and balcony looked into the sea, quite special. We would return and will recommend to friends.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.8
    top spot will stay here again when next in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing all was things were just great

    the bed was great and the staff extra good with a real friendly persona and all questions were answered with no hint of any question being silly or dumb i will make sure i stay at this hotel next time i am in Cairns

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.8
    Great location. Getting a tired/run down and in need of TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was rock hard. Ceiling panels brittle and pieces were flaking off like white gyprock/powder onto the "kitchen bench". Water pressure in bathroom was appalling.

    Great location. Short walk to dozens of eateries.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    a most comfortable and enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cant think of a thing

    a very convenient place to stay, all comforts of home in the rooms and very clean. Staff were always ready to help and made our stay so enjoyable, Thank you Cairns Plaza

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for value, comfort, a good location, and excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. It is well-located. What really won me over was exceptional help the hotel provided when its washing machine malfunctioned and quit mid-cycle. I discovered the problem about 8 pm and contacted the receptionist because we needed to leave the hotel for a trip to the Reef at 7 am the next morning. The solution the hotel came up with was to complete the wash, dry the clothes and deliver them, folded, outside our door before 7 am. Such superior service. I can't recommend them highly enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.5
    Cheap and easy one-night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a bit too hard and it moved when either of us moved

    Free parking Early check-in Room cleanliness Check-in and check-out efficiency Location - earlier on in the trip we stayed somewhere a lot more central

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.4
    Late check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corporate Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late check in. Requested for early check in before 2pm as we travel 4 hours and with kids but was not granted. They said that they will call us when room is ready but never recieved any call.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    Very clean comfortable and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could hear the planes coming & going overhead from the airport, but that cant be helped

    staff were very helpful & friendly, rooms spacious and clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    very friendly and helpful staff, very clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all good this price

    very friendly and helpful staff, very clean room. allow us to store our luggage in the storage room after checkout. Call for a taxi for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our stay with you, therefore we will definitely stay with you again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our original lounge room couch was uncomfortable, but it was replaced with a new one the next day.

    The staff that we spoke to were very welcoming. Our room was excellent and the view was great. The pool was great too. The location of the motel was excellent too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    5.4
    Great location, clean property and decent views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Felt below par for the price. No major problems, but a number of little ones affected my overall impression. For example, our bathroom had no windows or exhaust, making it smell stuffy after shower. It was clean overall, but did not feel like a 3star hotel.

    Great location, clean property and decent views. There is onsite parking as well, making it a convenient option overall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Corporate Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had no bench area to put our personal toiletries.

    The location in relation to other facilities including dining and shopping was great. They offered umbrellas due to the rain.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Room was spotless with a big sunny balcony, I had 3 beds in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy outside at night as right by the beach, and noisy in the hotel in the morning as no carpets anywhere to soak up the noise, so hear other doors banging etc

    Room was spotless with a big sunny balcony, I had 3 beds in my room which wasn't what I expected for a solo traveller!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    We enjoyed the stay at Cairns Plaza, as it was close to everything we needed for our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Would have liked a toaster as eating out for meals becomes expensive. I realise it was a family room (1 x Dble 2 x Sgle beds) but not enough privacy for adult children. wall to divide double bed from singles? Shower was good but needed a door as water splashed onto floor outside shower area. Bathroom requires an exhaust fan to remove steam as interior of bathroom becomes very moist as shown on bottom of door. Luggage racks insufficient for 3 x suitcases (extra cases on floor). These are not criticisms, but just some suggestions to make guests more comfortable during their stay, after all you are only sleeping in the room. Q 2 requires reply who did you travel with Family delete children under 18 as this was not applicable in our case (4 x Adults).

    Beds were comfy, Facilities good, Bathroom was large enough for all to use, wardrobe hanging space ample, (need extra hangers). Value for price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    Bed was comfortable, would have liked 2 champagne glasses as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Noise from the shower/toilet facilities throughout the floors can be quite loud

    Bed was comfortable, would have liked 2 champagne glasses as only 1 was supplied, however overall it is a great place to stay, location was great as had a grandchild that was pleased with Muddys across the road and perfect location for everthing on the Esplanade

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Served the purpose and we've stayed there a couple other times in the past and had no complaints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is a bit of a disaster with a hole in the wall.

    The bed was a king and comfortable. No hairdryer? Location is great, close to the boardwalk/ restaurants. Only there 1 night as flying out early in the morning so short ride to airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, clean, spacious and comfortable. If you have kids there is a fabulous playground and a cafe just across the road. a nice well priced continental breakfast is available as is a cooked breakfast that I did not try.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    A perfect start to our Queensland adventure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The view from our room was amazing. It looked out over tree tops to the ocean beyond. Watching the birds coming in to roost at night and leaving in the morning was a delight and an unexpected bonus. The hotel staff were very helpful and the location was great - a short walk down the board walk to all the restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel - looks modest but very relaxed, and everything you could need is here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were booked here for one night, ended up staying for four, which tells its own tale really.

    Location, friendly ambience, nothing too much trouble for the staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    The bedroom was excellent with all the facilities we needed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception and restaurant gave an initial poor impression of the the hotel so our expectations were exceeded when we saw how lovely the bedroom was. Breakfast each day was a bit of a shambles. There was never enough of any item and we were always waiting for crockery, juice, bread, etc to be replenished. It seemed really poorly organised with never enough prep done to serve the guests.

    The bedroom was excellent with all the facilities we needed plus a really comfy bed, good shower and an amazing view. The location was good in relation to the proximity to the Esplanade, ferry terminal, etc. Fantastic playground for the kids directly opposite the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Bed was very comfy and we had lots of room for our luggage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Light switch was very high over the bed. The lining of the curtain was soiled. I brought up this to staff when we left. Entry to the bathroom was a bit difficult especially if you are on the plus size. May have to stand in shower recess to open or close door.

    Bed was very comfy and we had lots of room for our luggage. we were on the forth floor and had a view of the ocean. Some Under cover Parking was very close to the front door. 10 minute walk to local restaurants

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location but wouldn't go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was very uncomfortable - too hard for us Room was massive but bathroom was tiny and whenever you had a shower it soaked the bathroom floor and door as the screen was nowhere big enough for the shower. If we had been big people we would of had to step into shower cubicle to shut bathroom door as it was such a squeeze. Bad design. Plus everytime the neighbouring room had toilet you could hear the flush and also the shower going which was very annoying especially late at night if in bed. There is a backpackers hostel next door and a couple of nights they were obviously outside having some sort of social but fortunately it seemed to stop at 11pm. At the moment there is a big building site next door to hotel but fortunately the noise didn't effect us as on other side of hotel. Would be a nightmare for people staying on that side as it was very noisy.

    Location very good and staff very helpful when we needed to ask them anything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.1
    A convenient location with good facilities and friendly staff. A bit noisy across the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's a major redevelopment across the road with quite a lot of noise from quite early to late afternoon

    Very nice breakfast provided with excellent coffee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.9
    Very large rooms with loads of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisey with current construction happening and the walls were very thin, so you could hear everything going on in the hotel!

    Very large rooms with loads of space. Staff were very nice. Lovely view from the room. Very clean too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    3.3
    Will never return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked 2 superior rooms only to arrive and told neither were actually available. Discount not offered for inconvenience- had to ask and was offered $10 off room price for lesser room. Overall very unhappy with the service and the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Close to town centre but not too close to be noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to town centre but not too close to be noisy. Staff were really helpful. Rooms were very bright and airy, lots of space. Laundry facilities were very useful.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: