Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunshine Tower Hotel 3.5 stars

136-140 Sheridan Street, 4870 Cairns, Australia

#34 of 73 hotels in Cairns

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 457 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant roomy accommodation. Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bed light could not turn off at all and this could not be fixed during our 2-day stay, and the telephone was dead.

    The suite was spacious, view of Cairns was attractive, lift was quick, parking convenient. I like that windows can be opened.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    excellent room size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No change of towels. limited reception hours meant difficult to see.

    excellent room size. Good view. Was very quiet. Room well set out. good distance to town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit of a walk to the esplanade, but the room quality was worth it!

    The room was spacious and well equipped, with excellent lighting. It's also possible to see the coast if you're on the 5th floor (or higher). The staff were friendly and helpful too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    Tiled floor throughout.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiled floor throughout. No chair and no desk for a computer. No one at the reception after 1 pm on Sunday and i was given no instruction how to get in

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Reasonable enough , not a hotel but not really up to be called an apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sold as an apart/hotel. Room was pretty basic , I was hoping to prepare some meals but all room had was a fridge, microwave and worktop/ kitchen units with nothing to cook with or kitchen sink , only sink in bathroom but tap hadn’t been plumbed in properly and was loose. I don’t like how duvet is only covered with sheets not duvet cover as these come loose during night exposing duvet which had stains on . Not sure if this is washed between guests . Room basically clean but not the standard I like

    Spacious room , comfy bed Receptionist is lovely and helpful but only on till 6

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no comment due to a perfect 4 Days

    From the time of arrival we felt completely at home due to your staffs commitment to help at any time her lovely smile and eagerness to help made our stay please thank your staff. we will return

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Overall a good place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool wasn't very clean and the balcony door was quite doggy... Hard to open and close and the lock was broken off so there was a hole drilled in the frame to lock it. But it was so hot outside that didn't really matter! Also you would need a small car to get into their secure parking spaces.

    There's two things I remember most about hotels we stay in - the bed, and the shower. The bed in this case was super comfortable one of the better hotel beds I've stayed in a while! The shower was great, good flow and a large shower head (not like the normal circles you do under the trickle to get the soap off).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Was very happy when I saw the room. It was perfect. The staff were very helpful and lovely as well.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I went back to the laundry to remove my washing from the dryer that I had paid for some rude individual had removed my washing and replaced it with theirs and mine was still wet. I was not impressed at all. Not the property’s fault though.

    Felt luxurious. King size bed was very comfortable . Great shower. Staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay in Cairns, Staff more the happy to help with any queries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we where in was had only tiled floors, would suggest a floor rug near the couch. Also a through rug for cooler nights. There was no ventilation in bathroom only a window that was able to open but it was in the shower. Very limited storage for long stays. We were there for 10 nights no draws only a cupboard for hanging.

    Staff very abliging. helped with booking tours giving good information

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Overall, it was a great stay. We enjoyed our time in Cairns, the weather was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not enough hanging space in the wardrobe and also not enough clothes hangers. No clothes airer for the balcony to hang the wet/damp towels.

    The bed was super comfy, the size of the room was perfect. The balcony and views over the pool were very nice. The shower was great, the pressure was very good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Staff where extremely helpful and more than willing to go...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed on the ground floor. At times was very noisy with the lifts and people arriving and departing building . I would imagine other floors would be quieter .

    Staff where extremely helpful and more than willing to go extra mile.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.0
    Suited our overnight requirements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property was advertised as fully renovated which it appears to be , but not to a high standard in our view it was a little more than expected for 3 stars The room was spacious however and clean and a good size balcony to sit outside

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Thank you for making our stay in Cairns memorable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of secure undercover parking available The location was just an enjoyable walk through the city and close to Cairns Central and all the other facilities Perfect weather.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Clean & modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed another mirror as one wasn’t enough when two women staying there when getting ready to go out. 😃

    Clean & modern. Close to city. Walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    2.9
    Dirty and not woth it,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No staff present for check-in or Check-out the have an 8 - 17 hour service durring the week and no staff on weekends. We were also unaware that rooms where not made... very disty and smelly...

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Okay for a couple days. A bit noisy and echoey
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy. Both the drilling from a handyman on two days as early as 8:30am the corridor noise of the lift doors though up the complete opposite end which sounded like the rattling of a large metal bin. The room next door had an adjoining door. I could hear every word spoken by peopel(3) staying through to 2am. Each time they opened a door the vacuum it created in my room would thud the front and adjoining door. It sounded like someone dropped a bag of marbles on the floor upstairs one night too.

    Large room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Would stay again at the right price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The couch in our room which was essentially a foldout bed for extra guests was extremely uncomfortable. The springs were worn out and there was tape on the end holding it together. It was the only place to sit in the room apart from the bed. A couple of armchairs would have been nice instead. Our bathroom door had a significant creak when opened and closed. We reported it the morning after our arrival (along with how uncomfortable the couch was!) because it was quite disturbing in the middle of the night when one of us made a trip to the bathroom. It took 3 days for someone to come up and spray the hinge despite assurances it would be attended to right away. We stayed for 7 nights and we were disappointed to find that rooms were only serviced for guests staying more than 7 nights. We had to request fresh towels, toilet paper etc when we ran out. It would have been nice to have some servicing of the unit during our stay, even every 3 days. I am all in favour of ecotourism, but sometimes I wonder whether it is about the environment or about saving staff overheads.

    We arrived after reception had closed for the evening, but the email instructions we received made accessing our room very easy. The view from our room to the mountains was lovely and we found that there was very little traffic noise even though the hotel is located on Sheridan Street (the main road through Cairns. I will precis that though by adding we were on the 6th Floor. The bed was very comfortable, bathroom was adequate and tea ad coffee making facilities were fine. We were about 4 blocks back from the esplanade so we were able to walk to most attractions in the CBD.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.4
    Was clean, but they need to attend to a few things to make it enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no milk for tea and coffee and reception then blamed housekeeping for its absence. The air conditioner short circuited and didn’t work most of the 2nd night.There were no flyscreens on the windows, so to get some airflow meant we were visited by insects too. The bedside light did the same. There were no tissues. The kettle barely fit under the tap to fill. And reception wasn’t open 24/7 and the room phone didn’t work. The power points would not charge our phones so couldn’t get anything attended too anyway.

    The room was neat and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    We found the hotel very easily. Our room was pleasantly modern and fresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The couch had rips and patches on it. Perfer towels in bathroom not on bed as i forget to take with me into shower. Parking a ute with canopy can not park in secure undercover area

    The renovated bathroom..the tiles and crisp design..pillows were lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    The towel rack was close to falling off the wall, there was...
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towel rack was close to falling off the wall, there was a dirty towel left in out bathroom and there was construction work starting very early in the morning that we were not made aware of, power was not turned on prior to is arriving so we did not have access to dryer, kettle, microwave etc until the morning after our first night in the Hotel. Rooms are not sound proof either.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    A place to stay if the management makes the slight improvements needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Kitchen area had no sink to wash dishes and cutlery: you had to wash them in the sink in the bathroom, which is not acceptable and unhygienic. The fridge lacked a freezer compartment. Had to request fresh towels twice (even though it states that they would be changed mid stay) and ask for the very small waste bin to be emptied. A towel rail was missing in the bathroom, and the receptionist knew of this and said the hotel had been too busy to get necessary repairs in the room done!!! The adjoining room was occupied by a permanent, older resident. Separated only by a door, the tv noise at 6 in the morning was totally unacceptable and I had to complain to management, who did deal with the issue to be fair (avoid being booked into 306). General hotel air con noisy too at times. A good 15/20 minute walk into the main body of the town, with no immediate shopping facilities, so stock up on a visit to the supermarket/local markets.

    A very spacious room with a very comfortable double bed. Ample sized shower room. Lovely balcony with nice view over the nicely lit and well set out pool area. Microwave, fridge etc worked ok. and tea/coffee provided. TV worked fine, and ample clothes storage space for me (but for 2? More hangers needed in my opinion). The ladies on reception were very friendly and welcoming and did respond to my requests, WHEN it was 'manned' (limited hours, and if you go on trips you can see no-one on reception for days, making problem solving difficult). Located out of town, so a quiet spot apart from the internal noises mentioned in the next section.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    Overall it was a good stay, these small things should be fixed sooner rather than later
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towel rack and hand towel hook was broken off and not replaced. There was a small hole in the wall, no light above where you make tea/coffee. The building was very warm, floors didnt look very clean.

    The rooms are nice, good size room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Great value and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Good value for money,great location. Try the Noodle House down stairs,great food! Staff were friendly and helpful. Easy walking distance to main city center. Would stay here again when visiting Cairns.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our ground floor balcony was under a couple of inches of water when we arrived, due to very heavy rain which was coming over the wall from the terrace beyond. The hotel is a bit of a walk from Cairns CBD.

    Quite modern in style, clean, comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    If you want anything like a place to eat, walk visit ets its all withen 15- 25 inutes away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Going home.

    Sunshine Hotel Towers was a great find for us. The front desk Mgr Claire was fantastic. She was very knowlegable in every aspect, I would highly recomend this property to anone that wants to be close to everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.7
    The amenities were great, nice pool and nice big comfy bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn’t informed of their being an “early check in fee” and the receptionist was quick to say it was in the original email. Once I went back to her to state this was not the case, she agreed and yet I still had to pay this?

    The amenities were great, nice pool and nice big comfy bed!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    we thoroughly enjoyed our stay our privacy respected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it would of been nice to have clean towels on a daily basis we were aware we could access some through reception I didnt like the fact we had to leave

    the room was just as it viewed online no hidden adgendas it was lovely and clean well presented the matress was heavenly we even checked the brand the location is great a stones throw from all you may want to see in cairns we enjoyed the pool on a daily basis the staff were attentative to our needs my partner and I look forward to returning to sunshine towers in the near future congadulations well done thank you wendy & dave

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Staff was friendly, room was large, confortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a bit far way from the city center, and with cairns tropical weather, it could cause some trouble, since you have to walk at least 20/25m to reach the city center

    Staff was friendly, room was large, confortable and clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    4.6
    One night for business, close to airport but apart from that - never again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    On a main road - very loud, fairly sketchy location at night, bed and couch both old and saggy and uncomfortable. Whole building smells like the restaurants downstairs.

    Close to airport

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.8
    The room is very nice, definitely better than I had expected...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would have appreciated if laundry did not cost, however it is not expensive so not a big issue.

    The room is very nice, definitely better than I had expected for the price. It was clean and modern. Nice to have a pool and tanning deck in the building, as well as a dumpling restaurant and great beauty salon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Absolutely awesome😊
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noiser for the rooms facing the main highway.

    Location was very convenient for me, closer to service station and other amenities. Closer to the beach too 😉👍👌

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Good location, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is not open all the time, so it's like a serviced apartment which suited us. There is a charge for early check-in which we didn't do, just left our luggage w them and went to see the town. Low key place which we liked.

    Big size room, nice swimming pool. Good location, just a few minutes from centre of town. It is almost like a service apartment. Our kettle didn't work and they replaced promptly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    Very nice and close to the dumpling store
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air con - maybe needs to be serviced

    Lovely staff - who went out of their way to get us extra kitchen appliances! Good value for money. Only down side, was a very hot room - even though we never turn the air con off or up.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Our stay was pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second bed for the third person in the room was extremely uncomfortable. You could feel the springs and it felt like laying on wood.

    The main bed was comfortable. I like that the beds had thick bedding rather than just a sheet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    The location was very convenient for everybody, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were given blankets that were way too hot for the weather, which is surprising given that this is Cairns, so hot weather wouldn't be a surprise. The lack of room service was also surprising too.

    The location was very convenient for everybody, and the rooms were very spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.9
    The room was spatious and renewed recently.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service if you stay shorter than 7 nights (but possible to get new towels and more shampoo in reception). Reception open till midday on weekends and closed during night. 20-25min walk from the center and main restaurants.

    The room was spatious and renewed recently. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Staff were excellent. Room was clean and tidy. Soft and very comfortable bed and pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Quite a few blocks from town. 24 hour check-in didn't apply to reception which opened at 8am.

    Room was large and airy with views of the pool and spa. Bed was comfortable. Large fridge/freezer. Air-conditioned. Well equipped kitchen. Laundry and dryers in basement. Chinese restaurant right next door.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    Cairns just love it ,fun sun and warm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights

    my booking said l had a balcony which there was one outside my window but you couldn't actualy use this it was just for show, the only reason l booked here was because l like being able to go outside and sit.

    convieniance, room and bathroom were a good size . walking distance to the main centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    4.6
    Expensive and sloppy
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You got charged for fresh sheets and towels, unless staying for a week. They did not clean rooms until you left. Also, we ordered a studio that said it came with a balcony but we didn't get one. The tv viewing options were basic. The fan in our bathroom didn't work. The phone didn't work. At first the remote didn't work until we went to reception and asked for it to be fixed. I could hear the people walking around and doing various chores in the room above me. The spa was cold the entire time of my stay. The garage ceiling was low so only smaller cars could fit, if you have a larger or higher roofed car it won't fit and it does not specify this anywhere on their site (or easily). The shower walls were slimey. Seemed pricy for what it was and had I known better I would have booked an air BnB. Really sloppy.

    Having an remote controlled air conditioned room was nice. Size of room was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice,comfortable,quiet,clean,good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels not changed daily.If clean ones required you have to carry dirty ones down to reception for exchange.Also have to make request for next day.Payment required?not sure,didnt check.

    Bed very comfy,pillows very comfy,Room very clean.Staff ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    A great location for a weekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need better lighting in bath rooms. Our room door slammed and was extremely loud. Our balcony door was broken and made it difficult to use.

    Love belt staff. Nice clean new rooms. Great bathroom. Great after hours service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Overall for the price, very happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service. Limited kichen facility's had to pay for exra towel only supplied 2.

    Good bed and balcony. Great shower. Easy after hour access.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    Decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No balcony in the room we stayed in. No staff to greet or really assist us.

    Central to car hire, quiet, clean and a nice pool which we could access whenever.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.8
    A very dissapointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Took almost an hour to get in the building- arrived after hours and then operator couldn't get the door to open. I did not feel safe and the felt the operator and the manager did not care about the situation. Only reason I managed to get access to the building was that another guest was coming in late that night. Was not impressed at all.

    The room was well presented

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Good location, friendly staff but has its downfalls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in the room wasnt the cleanest the floor was still grubby and so was the shower. We asked for fresh towels on one of the days to be told we had to wash our own! Sunshine tower HOTEL, when staying at a hotel you don't Expect to have to do this if we wanted that hassle we would of stayed in a self catering apartment!

    Helen on reception was very friendly took time to show us where was good places to eat and go, took her time didn't rush trough even when there was another customer waiting. Top marks for customer service. The location of the hotel was fine for us it's about a 8min taxi ride to the centre of the esplanade very close without being stuck right on top of everything!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Highly recommended in Cairns
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and modern. Recently renovated. Arrived after check in time and they organised an sms with the details of the code numbers.. a very classy place Great mattress and bedding

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    Great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit out of town and with a small child it was a long walk to get in

    The price, it had parking included. And the room was a decent size. Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    Wouldn't be staying at this 'hotel' again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Guests are required to empty their own bins! 1st time in my history of hotels stays. Even hotels that cost less than this or budget ones don't require guests to do that. 2. There was no room service and was not being informed about that. Even budget hotels provide daily room service. 3. Limited reception hours and couldn't get new batteries for aircon' remote control. Hence room was a bit cold. 4. Limited parking in property and could not get a parking lot and had to park on the street parking. 5. Freezer section of fridge could not freeze the food I had even when the temperature has been adjusted accordingly.

    Modern room Good wifi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    Clean, friendly, basic hotel for a short stay in Cairns.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was not included; so we had breakfast most days at the Bagus Indonesian Cafe at a 10 minute walk from the hotel; there is also the Flying Monkey Cafe literally next door to the hotel. Reception is not 24/7; so if you need to check-out at an early hour, better to get any check-out matters sorted the previous day.

    Convenient hotel for the airport which is about a 10 to 15 minute drive away. Reception staff were very polite and were happy to answer any queries I had. Lovely view of the hills and the western side of Cairns from our bedroom on the fifth floor. Nice big shower, and handy tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    A pleasant stay even if we both got legionella!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights

    There was black mould on the bathroom ceiling and the extractor fan in the bathroom had an inch at least covering it

    I liked that the staff were very obliging

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent help and service when booking tours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The generic TV remote control occasionally failed to connect to the TV. The hotel's wifi required keying in the eight character password each time the wifi was accessed, which we found to be a nuisance.

    Excellent help and service when booking tours. Excellent building security. Location was good for walking to the esplanade, to the docks, to the shops and train station, to the Botanic Gardens and Airport Connect shuttle stop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    It was ok. When I could get in
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We needed a second key and after asking 2 times, and them taking my phone number telling me they'll sort one out, I got locked out twice! One time was 6.30pm and I had to call on the intercom to get let into the builing and my room, second time might have been about 1am and I had to call on the intercom again and the girl said she couldn't help me and to call the person with the key, I told her I'd asked several times, I can't get in and the person with the key is not around and she still could not help.

    Place was all good, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable for a short trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was facing the adjacent relatively busy road. The toilet roll holder should have been repaired by maintenance (prior to my arrival) Kitchenette could do with having its own washing up area (instead of having to use the bathroom)

    The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Pretty clean, parking is free, wifi signal is strong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I received a email about after hours check-in, but I think they should send it earlier instead of the date I'm arrived. Nobody will check the email while driving on the highway. So I found some difficulties during check-in and it cost us some time.

    Pretty clean, parking is free, wifi signal is strong

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Cairns Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Location was great. 15 minutes walk to the heart of town and a $8 cab ride if feeling very lazy. Bed was super comfortable. The shower was wonderful. Big square head and nice and strong. Staff were very helpful. Just renovated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Nothing

    Fantastic room with a great view of Cairns Bay area. The room was one of there larger rooms with a separate bedroom. Kitchen had fridge, microwave oven, Electric jug and tea and coffee. The Hotel is about 20 mins walk from the main beach and harbour and 8 mins to the shopping centre. The staff are friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Good option for staying at Cairns
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's 10-15 min walking to Esplanade. Checkin service was not very easy due to no one was at the reception. Don't expect clean room service, it is an apartment.

    Nice bedroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable overnight stop before taxi to airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern large clean hotel rooms. Pleasant staff. A little distance from centre but a pleasant leisurely walk along waterfront. Tour pick ups and tour bookings easily made at reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Much more modern than expected - the pictures do not do this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a bit cozy with 3 people in the room, it is more suited to 2 people.

    Much more modern than expected - the pictures do not do this place justice!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    The tower is clean and is good for a short stay. Would stay again if room serviced for frequently.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it was odd that you only got your room serviced on request. Normally you only get it serviced if you're there over a week. So we ran out of things like toilet paper. Also you have to do your dishes and empty your own bins. I think for the price you should have more services included. I don't think I should have had to call up for toilet paper or fresh towels.

    It was clean and the air con worked well. The staff were friendly and could accommodate to your needs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This is an APARTMENT, not a Hotel. Which means, Clean your own room and dishes and through the garbage out.

    Bed, couch, bathroom, shower and TV is great. Location is ok, as its a slight walk to city centre but still doable Parking is good, could be better if there was a dedicated spot. MAIN POINT - This is an APARTMENT, not a Hotel. Which means, Clean your own room and dishes and through the garbage out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    Superb apartments with competitive pricing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a few negative points: the fridge was too cold (~ +1 C) and could not be changed. No sink in kitchen, had to use the bathroom sink. Dish washing equipment were lacking, had to buy my own from the store. Internet connection is decent and free, but you need to ask for a new voucher code every 7 GB or so. Internet speed goes down in the evening with many users. Note that there are ants in every house and building in Cairns due to the heat and humidity. Found them slightly annoying but harmless. Room doors were not sound proof, luckily the neighbours were not noisy :)

    The hotel rooms were. modern and extremely large. Balcony was facing away from the main road, and there were no traffic-related noise issues. Room was serviced a 4 times during my 10 day stay, and the cleaning was thorough. The kitchen was equipped with a microwave, an electric kettle, fridge, plates, and cutlery. There was a decent pool, sun deck, and a barbeque grill outside, all of which in excellent condition. Carpark was pretty full, but I managed to park there every night. Laundry room had two big machines which worked with 4x1AUD coins, and a dryer which took 3x1AUD. Location is excellent. Walking distance (1 km) to the nearest grocery store and the beach. Only nearby restaurant is the dumpling studio downstairs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.3
    only did an 8 hour stay as arrived after hours.
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really

    only did an 8 hour stay as arrived after hours. But very easy checkin and out. Good location, right next to car rental co. Asked for a quiet room and it was quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.3
    Clean & fresh.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a business traveller, I was very disappointed to enter my room to find that I didn't have a desk & chair to sit at to complete my day's work.. Very difficult to work sitting in a deep lounge or a bed. Note, ask for a room with a desk in future !

    Clean & fresh.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.9
    great value for money if you like to walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bit of a walk to anything only shop is the fuel station across the road and a dumpling restaurant at the hotel is the only food close for dinner

    Nice quiet location, Good pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.7
    Not Hlappy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels every second or even third day would of been good and toilet paper coffee sugar we had to ask for towels toilet paper coffee sugar by the fourth day because they only clean mid week and our midweek was a weekend and they don.t clean weekends

    Location, decor, stunning pool, reception all great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    Overally very good except for having to use same towels and bed sheets for 6 days!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets and towels did not get changed during our stay (5 nights)! Just one small tube of shampoo and conditioner, and 2 small blocks of soap for 6 days!

    Nice and quiet place. Pretty close to shopping centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    Room was modern and well-furnished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a studio and so i expected to have a small kitchen, at least with stoves. But there was no stove, just a microwave oven. Bathroom does not have enough space for towels. No shower gel.

    Room was modern and well-furnished. Close to airport and not far away from city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.8
    BYO Pillow and Earplugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though we were on sixth floor,the traffic noise from the highway was terrible and went all night including sirens from emergency vehicles. The pillows were too high so I ended up with a sore neck and needed to use one of the towels instead. No reception after 5 so need to check your emails the day before when they send a message with the codes.

    Lovely bathroom with rain shower. Parking was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    Good value hotel. Short walk to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would've liked a spare set of towels especially with the pool. I asked for some but was told I didn't need any more. Also a bit of traffic noise staying on the side of the building which faces the street

    Comfy bed, good pillows, helpful staff, short walk into the CBD

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.7
    Good....but could have been great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When staying in an apartment one would expect a frying pan (eggs - for breakfast) Just a wash cloth provided for washing dishes no scrubbing brush (we bought one and a frying pan) In the bathroom there was a ventilation port for exhausting the steam from the shower. This was not working. We reported this on the first day to the receptionist - who was friendly and empathetic. However by the end of our stay the ventilation was still not operational (we were there nine days) As far as cleaniliness I got the impression that the cleaners did the bare minimum - just because certain nooks and crannies around the apartment seemed neglected from a cleaning perspective. Don't get me wrong the apartment was clean just could have been better. I have stayed at places with 80s decor that are super clean and tidy and it made all the difference.

    Spacious apartment - modern furnishings - air conditioning and a big screen tv. Dumpling restaurant on the ground floor is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Kitchenette did not include a stove or a toaster - hardly any crockery or cutlery. There for a week but room not cleaned at all.

    Location. Room/bathroom quite new and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    5.4
    Nicely renovated but not nice being in the middle of the renovations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived there were several rooms around mine that were being renovated. There were buckets of goodness knows what in the corridor that I needed to step over and around with my arms bulging with my belongings. The smoke detector was covered with a rubber glove during my entire stay. Not safe at all, luckily there wasn't a fire during my stay. When I got to my room someone was working on renovations in the room next to mine. There was a lot of banging, the radio was cranked up, the guy working in the room was singing to the radio as he worked. This went on for several hours. Surely they could of put me in a room on a different floor rather than put me in a construction zone. I was to tired to bother dealing with it.

    The room was nice and comfortable. Good size and good facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.5
    Decent haven away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a quiet room on a higher floor, but apparently the request did not go through and I was given a room on the 1st floor with a balcony facing the swimming pool which I was quite uncomfortable with. Enjoyed the quiet environment for the 1st few nights and subsequently the occupant beside my room decided to talk at the balcony every night. Not too big a deal, but the experience could have been better. The cleanliness in the room could also be improved when I discovered dust on the appliances and a cobweb at the sliding door to the balcony. Makes me wonder how long the room had not been occupied. The wifi is really terrible at level 1 as well, but thankfully...i bought data and could still surf my emails without using much of the wifi. Overall, a decent stay and would stay again and hopefully to see the above gripes improved.

    Check-in was swift and the bed was comfortable. The room has been renovated and the vibe is very new and modern. Also a huge room which is wonderful! Situated in a quiet neighbourhood which is about 10-15 mins walk from all the shops and good food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable, pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really enjoyed our time at Sunshine Tower. Very comfortable room with nice views of the city and bay and I would happily stay there again. The staff were very friendly and flexible regarding the pickup of keys, especially noting we arrived on a public holiday, and communications with the hotel was excellent. Obviously recently refurbished and everything looked quite new.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75