Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Canberra 4 stars

65 Northbourne Avenue, 2600 Canberra, Australia

#71 of 100 hotels in Canberra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1419 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.2
    Room 302 is horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was run down powerpoints were exposed (potential electrical hazard) ,furniture scratched,large stains on the carpet,substandard repairs on ceilings, smear marks on the TV carpark was chaotic, travelling with a friend and our 10yr old sons they did not enjoy the weekend , we met the General Manager at breakfast , who was friendly attentive and helpful who offered his details...then we found a hair in the eggs. 4 star

    location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.5
    Enjoyed time with my daughter
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were absolutely terrible

    The staff were lovely, buffet breakfast was poor for price. Ordered an omelette it was poor. Not enough healthy food selection ie chia seed pudding or nice yougurts etc

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Parking very disorganised.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking very disorganised. We were asked what time would we need the car in the morning, we said 7.30am. When it came time to leave we had to wait 20 mins for them to move 6 other cars that had parked us in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    Have stayed there before and enjoyed it more so a bit disappointed this time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television conked out on second night. Staff tried to help but TV too old. Internet access variable.Room located opposite lifts and renovation noise.

    Central location to shops and buses. Friendly staff. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.0
    Check in staff were lovely and accommodating.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very outdated and felt dirty, the bathroom tiles particularly! They felt sticky underfoot. The hotel restaurant wasn’t able to serve full menu and they got our order very wrong.

    Check in staff were lovely and accommodating. We arrived late and asked for a late check out which was no problem

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    . There was a great pool and spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, the bathroom very tiny, it had no sink in there. There was a sink just outside of the bathroom, which is part of the tea making, you wash hands after using toilet and clean teeth in view of everyone. The thin doona on bed had no cover and had yellowish stains on it. There is only cocierge parking so I couldnt access my car anytime until leaving the next day.

    . There was a great pool and spa. It is close to restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Great location, especially if you travel by intercity bus,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, especially if you travel by intercity bus, town centre, very friendly staff at the reception. And GREAT breakfast with many healthy choices.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    Facilities were adequate. Staff were inexperienced and slow with their service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property has vallet parking and even though we told the staff that we needed to exit at 6.30am, our cars were parked in and we were unable to leave on time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location, comfortable room. Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom setup was not very functional. No shelves or basin inside and the facilities located in a type of vestibule outside of the bathroom was inconvenient.

    The room was large and comfortable. The bed very cosy. Very nice bar. Good location right in the heart of the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Central location, modern facilities and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive and took a while to get the car back when checking out due to the valet style set up they have

    Central location, modern facilities and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    really close to city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i think they over charge us 2x $176 and when we check out they charge another $197 for parking and just a bottle of water from the bar

    really close to city center

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was cold and over run by children and was not able to enjoy a relaxing swim or enjoy the hot tub as it was full of children as well The heating in our room also did not work, when out on heat it just pumped out cold air - reception was notified

    Close to the theatre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.2
    Wouldn’t stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They where doing renovations so this was very poor as we weren’t told. No notice about The parking. Our car was taken away (across the road )to be parked. We weren’t informed about this. We then had to wait as the couldn’t find where the car was. NOT HAPPY!!!!!

    The staff at breakfast where lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.4
    Good place to be disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Let's see. First at check-in they said that I was getting a free upgrade but only later I found that I was actually charged extra. They put a hold on the card for the initial amount and then at check-out charged me for parking and then charged me again when the first transaction went through. The second amount was on hold for 2 weeks. Secondly, the "FREELY UPGRADED" room had no microwave or toaster which meant had to throw away food which I hoped to consume. Lastly, the building looks ancient, the lift seems like super old, the carpets look are daggy, The room was comfy but did not look like the photos on the site.

    It is close to some very good restaurants and is centrally located

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    4.6
    After Mercure Sydney & some pleasant country motels this was a bad experience..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Se above..😟

    Road works outside should have been advised as should the "entry" to car park is BEHIND the hotel. Signage IN carpark is appaling as are the size of the spaces SMALL hardly says it. One of the worst hotels syayed zt in 40 years of travel...would rate it as an unpleasant stay & the reception staff were most unfriendly. Never NEVER again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.4
    Overall we had a good stay just really disappointed, as we have stayed here before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with 1 King Bed And 1 Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very unpleasant smell in the room which I mentioned when I called up about the extra bed not being made up. The water stained carpets on the second floor don't create a very good impression. Finally we had mixed staff interaction, half was excellent and the other half was not engaged regarding basic information. It felt as though my question regarding places to eat ,was unwelcome.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and warm.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only one spare blanket available for a two-bed room. However, the heating worked well so it wasn't an issue for long:)

    The beds were comfortable and clean, the fridge was useful and there was plenty of cupboard and desk space available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    4.2
    No to Novotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel felt like an institution. Bland & ugly. The staff were not competent. They lost our booking even though they had confirmed it & our arrival time by email. We had half a pillow each on the bed, very skimpy. The TV was set too low to watch in bed & the couch was hard & uncomfortable. The shower splashed everywhere. The number of homeless people on the street was heartbreaking.

    The bed was comfortable but needed decent pillows.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    The room was reasonably priced, but we cut out stay short and moved to a much nicer place for less $
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos on the website are very descieving, the room was extremely small. Untidy and unclean, there were Lollie wrappers underneath one of the beds. Hair on the bed spread and I don’t think there was a wall in the room that didn’t have finger prints or scuff marks. We could also hear the conversations people in the next room were having very clearly, including the guy next door coughing all night. Although the room was reasonably priced we could have gotten budget accomodation with free parking for much better quality.

    Staff were lovely and very accommodating, check in was fast and simple. Valet staff were also very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 19 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As our daughter is staying one year in Canberra, we decided to stay in this hotel for 20 days, we chose an hotel that was near UniLodge, the location is perfect, 5mn from a huge shopping mall, and there are lots of restaurants around, there are buses to go anywhere, we went to Sydney with Murray’s Coaches and the jacuzzi and swimming pool are a must.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    The price and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The valet parking, it was completely unnecessary and even after telling the valet people that we were leaving at 5 am and we need to make sure our car was not parked in, we got downstairs and it was parked in. Which delayed our travel down to the snow.

    The price and the location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Wouldn't risk it a second time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disorganised staff. Painting the hallways, but no warning. Sink isn't in the bathroom, which is really awkward. Outside noise due to construction, with no warning. Several (false) fire alarms and VERY badly managed evacuation information during my stay. One in the early hours of morning. Extremely stressful. Attempts to complain and seek recompense ignored by staff and management. Parking ridiculously confusing.

    Location. Bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    Staff are very friendly and helpful
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not what i was hoping for considering the attached price tag. Some of the smaller independent hotel/motels feel nicer to stay at

    Staff are very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    The staff at vallet parking were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with 1 King Bed And 1 Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed for kids was not made and had to request twice for it to be made up. Double charged my credit card. Was very expensive.

    The staff at vallet parking were great. Good central location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable but not 4 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is dated and furniture was old. The grout in bathroom tiles look like they had mould stain. Carpets are dirty in hallways. Its ready for refresh.

    Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.7
    Same fairly high standard throughout - personnel always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Construction activities outside the Hotel were a negative - not the Hotels fault!!

    Same fairly high standard throughout - personnel always helpful. Awaiting resolution of a minor account problem

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Easy walking distance to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with 1 King Bed And 1 Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel needs renovating/updating everything looks tired. Breakfast Buffet NEED MORE CAPABLE STAFF - plates kept running out to use, food platters kept running out & not replaced for a while, dirty plates not cleared away efficiently.

    Great price & location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    5/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was tight and hard to get into, the showers water pressure was bad and when I checked out they took the $800 I owed for the 4 nights + parking and another $700 pending which made my account into negative -$500 which I’m not happy about.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    They had kindly made up the sleeper couch and exceeded...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with 1 King Bed And 1 Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging me for parking, despite on check-in I referenced that I had no car, thus no need for parking

    They had kindly made up the sleeper couch and exceeded expectations

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    It’s the perfect all rounder for a family in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with 1 King Bed And 1 Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad at all

    It’s the perfect all rounder for a family in the city. The pool/spa/sauna is brilliant. And the buffet breakfast is fabulous. Best staff ever

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.4
    Location and staff are great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed the week before, paid less and had a much better room.. level 7 seems to have low pressure showers.. takes 4 x longer to rinse your hair so you are in there a lot longer and probably using the same amount of water by the end.. the water just trickles out..not the kind of bathroom and experience I would expect from Novotel..very average indeed..

    Location and staff are great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    Convient location for what I needed to do (everything was 5...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room with 1 King Bed And 1 Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was charged extra due to my gender and the assumption I would be bringing “my children and hubby along”. Price took 2-3 weeks to amend.

    Convient location for what I needed to do (everything was 5 minutes walking distance).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn’t come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not clean, broken shelf in bathroom, set up of shower over bath with non moving glass panel dangerous, paint smell in hallway which was a renovation site, smoking people in adjacent room. Moved by staff to another room. Much better. Parking a nightmare model! Price of breakfast for children highly inflated.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.6
    A disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room itself was clean but the hotel overall is very shabby. There were large carpet stains in the hallway, food on the floor in the restaurant. The meal was terrible and not worth the price paid. Overall, promised a lot but delivered very little. Not what I expected from website.

    The location is very good, close to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.8
    We had a lovely comfortable bed and the meal we ordered was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am disappointed that I paid $226 on for the motel room when I had looked at others not far from where we were staying for $159.00 similar style of rom as well. The halls where being painted and the smell came into the room we where in , this set off my sinus's making it difficult to breath . The carpet was coming up off the floor near the tiles and the bathroom tiles where a bit grubby looking. We have stayed at the Novotel before and it was fine , hence why we rebooked. However I wasn't as happy with the price and the room this time .

    We had a lovely comfortable bed and the meal we ordered was fantastic .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    We realy liked your pool area a lot.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is really had to right about this as there was nothing that we did not like, we absolutely liked everything even the experienced and friendly staff that was on duty on the day give our complements to them

    We realy liked your pool area a lot. The fact that this was a heated pool, heated room and you have the spa there with the shower is absolutely fantastic!!! The Rooms really nice and your restaurant / area for guests

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with 1 King Bed And 1 Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived and they had us as two adults but not our two children even though I had a confirmation email stating two adults and two children. They found us a room but it had a broken toilet seat, cracked bathroom tiles and flat uncomfortable pillows.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    I wouldn't stay here again, it was poor for the amount of money we spent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with 1 King Bed And 1 Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old, dirty and the bathroom had mould in the shower! The sofa bed was broken and the room was not made up for 4 people and when they fixed the problem they still didn't make up the room for 4 people so we had to keep requesting stuff.

    The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to try and fix things and the breakfast was good value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.4
    Extra bed - sofa bed mattress is very thin and has been well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra bed - sofa bed mattress is very thin and has been well used. The frame under mattress is easily felt through the foam and I got back pain within 20 minutes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.6
    Very Inefficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room rate charged on our card is different from what we booked on booking. We have feedback to 3 staff in consecutive 3 days. We also sent our booking screenshot to their hotel email as requested, yet no response received. We have been overcharged for AUD600. The inefficiency is that, while we spent over 40 mins checking in and feedbacking our overcharge on a consecutive 3 days, we don’t get any effective remedy. Please resolve ASAP.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service, disturbance of false fire alarm and car park. The hotel was too dirty and should be allowed to operate in Nation's capital, Hotel was exactly looking like the one in India

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.6
    Stay at the Quest Canberra, Not Novotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with 1 King Bed And 1 Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not sure if renovations are going on..but the floor we were booked on, the carpet was destroyed and looked terrible. The place did not smell very nice. You could not pay for foxtel to get more services. Staff didnt seem to be very helpful or care much. And they debited my bank account twice. if accomodation was cheaper, it might be worth it, but we payed good money for a very poor experience. Have stayed on lots of other Novotels around Australia and had banked on this being as good as them, Very disapointing

    breakfast was included for 2 adults, and 2 children

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Overall have been there a few times previously and will definately use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit annoying about the loudness of the PA system in the room and the fire alarm going off twice as a FAULT. This should be taken care of as a priority. The person on the PA system in the middle of the night needs to keep a calming voice, NOT THE ONE THAT WAS USED. Can I suggest training.

    The bed was very comfy, room service was timely and the meal (burger) was enjoyable. Parking was carried out efficiently.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    Staff need update on training
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff need to be all on the same page. Front checkin to checkout was a nightmare receiving different information. Would suggest they get update on training.

    Location is good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable stay, great location near the city centre and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpark was very tight and it is frustrating to have to pay an extra $20 per night for this. While rooms were nicely renovated and clean, I felt the hall areas were a bit shabby and dirty room service plates were left in the hallways for a while.

    Room was clean and bed was comfy. Great location - very close to bars and restaurants in Civic/Braddon, without being noisy. Staff were friendly and helpful with any questions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.2
    Awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This property is NOT up to the usual Novotel standard. The property is tired and in need of refurbishment. The rooms are very old and need refurbishment, The carpet is in serious need of replacement...it is threadbare in places and looks grubby. The mattress was old with the springs floppy" on the edges. Basically not a pleasant stay.

    Location. Nothing else.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    One night pleasant stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit small for 2 adults and 1child.

    The location is excellent, close to the shopping area and within walking distance to a number of restaurants. Like the hotel swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Average and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is on a main road, so a lot of traffic noise in the room. Had to pay extra to change rooms.

    Staff were helpful when we requested to change room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great price, central, comfortable.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being told we had to wait at the restaurant.... They could still cook us bar food which was still amazing!! But why not seat us and explain that it may be a bit slow

    Everything... the booking was easy, The ease of valet parking, the room was very comfortable the meals we got were great. Checkout was a breeze... My wife and I were in early labour and needed a hotel in a central location close to services... The Novotel was perfect

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location, comfortable room, car park staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with 1 King Bed And 1 Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was underwhelming. Breakfast was reasonably priced and good variety but dinner menu was expensive and not a large variety.

    Great location, comfortable room, car park staff were especially helpful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    The staff were amazing and extremely helpful and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could complain was the two T-bone steaks we had for dinner they were quite chewy (but we understand that sometime the meats just like this and that’s in no way the restaurant or hotels fault) and vegetables it came with weren’t amazing but the jus was very nice.

    The staff were amazing and extremely helpful and welcoming. I had asked if a portacot would be available and it was set up when we arrived. It was lovely and tidy. The pool and gym facilities were fantastic. Great buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Location near restaurants and novotel had indoor pool to enjoy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    One set of sheets were not clean (looked like make-up stains). Parking fee if using Novotel parking. We parked a few streets away for free (need to watch for signage though as some parking is timed)

    Location of being close to many restaurants. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Use of indoor swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    3.8
    Not suitable for couples. Pool and jacuzzi were full of kids messing. Couldn't have breakfast there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not suitable for couples. Pool and jacuzzi were full of kids messing. Couldn't have breakfast there as they had ran out of food. It was mayhem! The car park was valet which was run really professionally with a que down the road. Took ages to park! Reception staff were rude when I asked for local information. Completely unrelaxing and I'd never stay there again.

    Not suitable for couples. Pool and jacuzzi were full of kids messing. Couldn't have breakfast there as they had ran out of food. It was mayhem! The car park was valet which was run really professionally with a que down the road. Took ages to park! Reception staff were rude when I asked for local information. Completely unrelaxing and I'd never stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty tray was left deposited outside our bedroom door when we arrived. I mentioned it to a passing staff member who looked at it and said “it will be picked up soon” and continued on her way. Buffet breakfast was overcrowded and many food dishes were left empty with only the remnants remaining. Told room service for a hot chocolate would take 20mins. The Restaurant food was very average for a Novotel. The hotel seemed understaffed and possibly staffed with undertrained staffed for the weekend. Many breakfast tables left with dirty dishes on them. An extra bed arrived as requested but with an odd 90 degree pillow and left with sheets and blankets all doubled up and needed to be re-maid. In general there seemed to be a lack of attention to details which makes all the difference. We sat down to the bar restaurant and the table had been cleared but not wiped down since the previous occupants. I have stayed in many Accor hotels and indeed Novotel’s, I am a gold member of the Accor group, however my wife and I were generally disappointed with our 2 night stay and unfortunately we will question selecting the Novotel Canberra next time. Nothing that can’t be fixed by diligent training in attention to detail by all staff members.

    The croissants were the best part, but I needed to ask for them to be brought out as the tray was empty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car Parking fee for a Night !!

    Centrally Located, the best place to be in if you are looking to spend more time outdoors and have a relaxed sleep. clean sheets and Towels

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    We'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is available but felt a little expensive at $20 per night, however is is almost essential as there is NO on street parking to be found. Lots of construction on the street outside which required a bit of traversing but the hotel windows did not let a single sound in!

    Travelled with friends but they stayed elsewhere - they were jealous. Stayed with my two young children and we all agreed - nice hotel, good location, good buffet breakfast, amazing helpful staff, nice pool and gym facilities. We went to the War Memorial and Questacon and both were only a short drive away. There are some great restaurants nearby too. All in all a great stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location but need to review staffing levels to meet peak period demand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with 1 King Bed And 1 Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed over the Queens Birthday long weekend and staff levels were not adequate to keep up with the number of guests. All staff were helpful and apologetic that they were understaffed, but this led to rushed and at times non existent service. Specifically, an example of this was upon dropping the car off at the car park, there were no trolleys and when we didn’t find a trolley, I had to push this up to our room while my wife took our kids up separately. This would have been ok but due to the lifts being only big enough for the trolley and 3 people, it took about 10 minutes for me to be able to catch a free lift to get up to our room. The carpets in the hallways could do with replacing or a very thourough clean. The hallways walls, room doors and room walls have lots of scuff marks from trolleys and luggage dings, so could with a lick of paint to freshen things up.

    Indoor pool was great. Even with temperatures outside in single digits, the family could still swim well into the night. Good location, with easy access to restaurants and amenities. When we did find staff to help us they were as helpful they could be given they we’re stretched very thinly, so not their fault but rather management issue with correct staffing levels for key service roles.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Never to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor attitude from staff- asked reception if possible to book another night and was told to look online. Breakfast hostess seemed overwhelmed by the busy nature and instructed people to find their own seats. Which in my opinion lead to chaos. Kudos to the carpark staff that have to deal with the engineering masterpiece that is a 50 carspace facility in a 250 room hotel. Place seemed to lack any semblance of leadership. Took our business to Crown Canberra!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    4.6
    I've stayed here many times over the years and the...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, it is no longer as it used to be, the service is no longer as it used to be and the rooms haven't been upgraded but the price is still the same. The room had no mini bar even.

    I've stayed here many times over the years and the location is excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location, friendly reception staff, but no good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom very small with just small toilet and shower but no mirror and hand basin outside. Room a bit dusty and needs a little TLC. The signs :Do not disturb" etc should be washed: one was very sticky. Also, no fridge and small red wine and water outside did not have pricing. Buffet breakfast at $30 too expensive.

    The bed was roomy and comfy. The room was large.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nice to have a gym, sauna and a swimming pool in the hotel. Although I wish the closing hours were a bit later. Sometimes with so many kids in the swimming pool, I do wish to spend a slightly quieter time in the swimming pool and sauna with more mature people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Room with 1 King Bed And 1 Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in the room, that you use to wash your hands and clean your teeth . Why is it not in the bathroom? No room to place your bags when you are in a twin room.

    The staff are amazing. I would return just for the staff. Close to all the city has to offer. Easy to navigate to all the attractions that requires you to drive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    3.8
    below average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dusty, outdated place, access card doesn't always work, TV channels selection is poor, no internet, old towels, air conditioning far from 21 century, poor selection of beverages in the room that includes complimentary coffee & tea bad selection, carpet is shocking - wouldn't stay with kids, breakfast - over $30 AUD!!! you can get better coffee and toast in any nearby cafes.

    some of the staff are approachable, good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    The excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The excellent location. There was a little confusion on check-in as another client with the same name had been given our room. Understandable mistake. We were upgraded and given a drinks voucher for the duration of our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Very accommodating staff....obviously direction from management around hidden extras should be addre
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged for parking is taking the mickey....either be upfront and open with your customers on booking. People respect being respected!!!

    The service of the staff both at the front desk and restaurant was exceptional

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    A fantastic destination for a quick family getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park is horrendous. Not enough spaces available and extremely restricted room to manoeuvre.

    Large and comfy bed, plenty of in-room facilities, fantastic view, awesome swimming pool area, trendy restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.4
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    room needs revamping

    the room smelled musty, the carpet on our floor was dirty,stained,damp,reception uncordial,disappointing for a Novotel hotel,location suited us because of the bus station,overpriced hotel, had to pay for breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    We had a great stay. Would definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is a little tight.

    The location is fantastic. The staff were very helpful and personable. Although a large hotel, this place has a nice, relaxed atmosphere. Our bed was super comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    3.8
    NEVER Come back!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at reception from we checked in to checked out were all cold and not helpful. The reception girl Georgian(?) charged my credit card 50AUD even not telling me. very impatient. when I checked with her about the 50 dollars, finally saw a forged smile on her face. The most weird thing is happened at check out. the reception guys told me they could not provide the receipt because I booked the hotel via BOOKING.COM!!!! Absolutely I could not accept this stupid excuse!!Not make sense at all...Finally the manager printed the check out receipt to me. What a weird hotel and staff!!Seems not get proper job training at all! NO FREE WIFI, NO COMPLIMANTARY BOTTLE WATER, NO HELP FROM THE RECEPTION. IN A WORD, Never ever will stay with this hotel again!

    The location is the only plus for such level hotel. What a shame!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    Assistant manager is RUDE. Facilities were brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Assistant Management, their job is to help customers. But the rude woman that was on shift just didn’t care. The cost of the room was $140, they take a credit card deposit of $202. Then upon leaving/ checkout they continue to charge $140 room, $20 parking, and $10 for using internet = a total of $170 + $202 holding fee, ummm this is where they make they’re money, interest of $202 in their account for upto 5/10 working days. SO my bank account, is in debit of $202. I’m a pensioner on the disability, and the money hungry Novotel insisted to take $170 cash for the room and still hold a deposit for upto 10 working days. It’s so wrong. It’s not that hard to refund $202 back into my bank account. Medicare do it all the time. They could’ve even just deposited, the difference Which was $32 but they’ve lost my business, and word of mouth goes the distance.

    The room was very large and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My door room handle was a bit wonky and noticed this issue with orher rooms but it shouldnt be a huge issue.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and toilets were swanky and spacious. Even got a complimentary upgrade to a bigger room! Props to the staff for their amazing service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    convenient and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    disappointed that it's now too expensive for my week-long visit to Canberra the week commencing May 13

    location to Moore St (where I was working) and central to eateries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    notice of pool closure at reception rather than at pool...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    notice of pool closure at reception rather than at pool entrance - kids looking forward to swimming so got there at 4 and met with a notice advising pool closed from 5pm for NRL recovery sessions ! if had of known when checking we would've arrived earlier than 4pm

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Would not recommend - much better places like the avenue only 2 mins away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not answer our phone calls when we would ring for requests (early check in, pull out bed etc)! When we got into the room there was 2 empty bottles of wine from the mini bar - which we immediately took down to reception and after arrival we were charged.

    Bed was comfy, room was big, clean towels/ sheets

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Overall it was a nice stay, for the price I would have expected a little more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were never informed of vallet parking and having to remove all valuables. There was only a bathroom sink in our room and not a fresh water flow for drinking and the only water supplied was overpriced bar fridge water. We were not told we would be charged a holding fee(which would have been okay if we were told prior to checking in) and that it could range from $15-$55

    The bed was very comfortable and the fact there were a pool and sauna, 24 hr front desk and the cleaners supplying fresh sheets and toiletries.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: