Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Capitol Square Hotel 3.5 stars

Corner George And Campbell Street, Sydney CBD, 2000 Sydney, Australia

#206 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1812 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Paid WiFi

    3.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt like a chinese restaurant kitchen. Our room was next to the lift and was noisy the entire night. Bathroom, especially around the toilet bowl was dirty.

    The location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    quite small room, tea and coffee facilities supplied however no bowls or cutlery if you're planning on BYO breakfast etc. elevator is quite slow as there is only one.

    good location, inside a shopping centre/next to capitol theatre and near light rail stop. comfy bed. nice enough staff, reasonable price to add late checkout till 2pm only cost us around $30. have stayed here twice and will consider a 3rd trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs a face lift. Dripping taps, very stained and old cupboards where coffee and tea was. Bathroom taps leaked and framework and tiles stained and very scruffy. The tv control didnt work

    The very helpful staff. Thst we could leave our luggae while we went out after exiting. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    needed new curtains let the light in at night and early morning , some were fallen off the rod

    was clean tidy but needed new curtains on window let the light in and some were fallen off the hooks

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems

    Have stayed a number of times for visits to Sydney or on my return from holidays and always happy with staff and accommodation, great location for food and entertainment as well as rail and travel to airport. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was quite small. The toilet was positioned so close to the wall and door it was a bit awkward to use

    Very handy to everything that interests me in Sydney CBD

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy groups arriving at 230am every night. A reminder to guests arriving late to be mindful of people staying there..

    Great location. Am sure the tram will be finished one century.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sugar in the buffet was just in a big bowl. Not acceptable under OH & S standards in NSW

    The price was the telling factor in staying there. The buffet breakfast was basic but very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was the real let down, especially the shower. Walking through hallways leading to the room was uninspiring with plain walls that looked like they hadn't been painted since the smoking laws changed. Also, the furniture was really old.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon set too low, unable to change so needed the extra blanket. Top sheet far too narrow, could feel blanket at sides.

    Convenient location. Very clean. Quiet, no inside or outside noise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room a little dated.

    good location if you don't have transport. Very close to light rail, one stop to Central rail station or easy walk. Staff always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I always stay here. Very convenient, has a public car park next to the hotel and next to capitol theatre. It’s a place to sleep! That’s all you need :) great breakfast too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a minor thing but the shower nozzle sprayed water out of it sideways and we had forgitten our shower gel and the complimentary gel dispenser in the shower didnt work.

    Location. Parking. Price. Clean and comfortable. We have stayed a few times. Great if you are attending the theatre. Handy this time for a trip to Vivid. We will be back 😃

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed updating, noise from outside, and from room next door late at night while I was trying to sleep.

    Great location, exactly what I needed. The room size was decent. Staff were friendly. It was great for what I needed. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we could have stayed somewhere else.

    shower leaked ( for a long time) told them , nothing done, toilet bowl likewise, two face cloths towels etc. for three people, no free wi fi. whole place badly maintained .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom: Several mould outbreaks, basin cold tap needs a washer, cabinet chip board structure disintegrating.

    Very hand to light rail - Capital Square stop and if it over gets finished George Street access to new light rail.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were far too soft had to sleep with a blanket rolled up perhaps offer soft or firm .

    Front staff friendly we arrived early ready to place bags in storage room , they were more than happy to book us in early.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of room 503 adjacent to lift so all day and night the whirring pulley noise of the lift. Did not get to sleep. Will be wary of my room allocation in future. Otherwise accommodation clean and comfortable.

    Close proximity to various locations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no internet in our room it’s dissapointing and unusual being at Sidney centre. Breakfast should be included on this price

    Breakfast is not included on the price,were dissapointed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had mould on the tiles, whole room smelled of mould. Whole room in a very poor state of repair, would not stay there again. Very overpriced for what you recieve. Worst place I have ever stayed in Sydney.

    Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated. In need of a revamp. My "view" was down into a courtyard which was a dumping ground for old and new furniture and appliances. Mould in bathroom. Long black hairs on linen. We are blonde!!!!!!

    Location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was dreadful!

    The location was great as I was going to a show at the Capitol Theatre, Also, close to Paddy's Market, Central Station & Darling Harbour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    can hear the people in next rooms...very loudly

    Staff were so helpful and friendly. nothing was too much trouble and they were helpful answering tourist questions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm going off at 1am was a special treat, particularly as the evacuation instructions were not able to be heard clearly throughout the hotel, and. There were many people wandering around wondering what to do.

    The room was adequate for myself and my two adult daughters considering we were there for only one night to see a show at the Capitol Theatre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything. it was dodgy, unclean, the room had marks all over the walls and furniture and beds. the bathroom was dark and dirty and the bed was extremely uncomfortable. the price was not worth the hotel, on the location was worth the price but even that was questionable.

    the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really noisy at night but I couldn't tell if it was coming from a concert or the food court down below. TV remote was broken and buttons were slightly broken on the actual TV so it was difficult to change the channels, bathtub was missing the plug so I had to use a plastic bag to stop it up because I specifically booked the room because it had a bath. It was a little rundown and old.

    Awesome balcony thing, comfy bed, amazing location, warm cosy room. I liked how small the hotel itself was, felt like a secure little bubble in the middle of the city - a good place to crash after a night out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Vanity in bathroom needs replacing as it has had major water damage and is swollen and flaking apart.

    Beds were super comfy. Location was excellent. Very quiet of a night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridors and room smell of food.

    We were in Room 233, room comfortable and clean. however the entire floor smell of food because the Cafe was located on the same floor and food court/restaurants located near Hotel.So,my room smells like a kitchen. Receptionist should pre-alert guest that international visa card take 14days to process return fund for holding deposit.Overall, Amit was very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was asked to pay a $50 bond which was unexpected but apparently hidden in the detailed terms & conditions - this needs to made clear up front like most other properties on the front screens Although there was a restuarant onsite, it only did breakfasts. No mini bar items in the fridge. The kettle was in the cupboard which was the wardrobe, so the boiling kettle steamed your clothes. Desk was difficult to sit at with a computer as the TV took up most of the desk space (wall mounting the TV would improve this)

    Location good, able to make up for lacking amenities at nearby restaurant/shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Expensive wifi. No newspapers now.

    Clean, compact room at hotel well situated in Sydney City. Light rail stop at rear of building (one stop from Central Railway), restaurants in same building, near to Chinatown. Good bed and towels. Pump toiletries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift is a bit old, at least put some shower heads on your showers!

    You get what you pay for, only just wanted a cheapy hotel for a night stay. Clean and all you need

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I have stayed many times... everything was as always - the best value nights sleep in Sydney for a traveller - about $100, in the CBD and close to Darling Harbour

    Hotel is basic for Sydney but night staff are fabulous - I am welcomed back each visit. The room had been recently updated and there was an appearance of great maintenance - new paint and carpet. Someone else was checking in at the same time and their general tourist questions were answer wit good grace even though it appeared there was a language issue.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a bag stolen from our room! It was a bag of snacks i had bought from home as i had a child with me.I was compensated straight away for the value of the food.

    It was great value for money and a perfect location to the attractions we were visiting, ie Darling Harbour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is located at the cbd where most of the good restaurants and shops are located. It is also a few blocks away from the central station.

    Staff are very accomodating. Rooms are always clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel met all my expectations for budget accommodations. I was extremely pleased.

    This was a terrific utility hotel room: great price; great location; quiet room. When I travel I want an affordable safe, comfortable, and quiet room with a great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room smelled really bad of mould, and it was nearly impossible to breath in there, the bath had some old stains, which were not possible to clean, I have asked for a different room, and the staff were helpful and moved me to a slightly better room.

    The location is good, the staff are helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors in our room made really loud movement noises so if you got up in the night and walked to toilet it was loud and woke up sleeping partner

    The location only

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaking floors, old toilet layout (but working fittings); no one told me that the mini bar is inside the closet.

    Near China, Korea, and Thai towns, shopping meca Pitt Street malls, and Central train station; blackout curtains, clean, comfy beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning unit made a rattling noise constantly, even when switched off. Also, the bathroom (particularly the shower) needs remodelling and updating

    The bed was very comfy, and there was a bath in the room which you don’t normally see. Also, the location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small with harsh looking furniture Reception area small and crowded.

    Staff was nice. Room was clean. Bathroom was good with amenities. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access to hotel lobby a little difficult

    We have stayed at Capitol Square before. Very convenient location -- close to Central Station, light rail and walking distance to City

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have anything I didn’t like. The only comment I would make is the basin cold water tap leaked when it was turned on.

    Pleasant friendly staff, easy location to get to. Central to all my needs. Comfortable room and lovely bed. No actual view from window - buildings around hotel....but this did not matter as we were out for most of of the day. Had enjoyable breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs updating. It was clean but dated. Air conditioning wasn’t working properly. Staff thought they fixed it for us, but did not adjust to heating cycle.

    Perfect location in terms of using train/light rail, access to Capitol Theatre, Darling Harbour, Chinatown. Room adequate for needs for overnight stay. Breakfast well priced. Was surprised how quiet it was, considering location and road works

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The faucet on the shower was a trickling joke

    Easy and good service. Great location so close to the light rail. loved the windows and the new york rooftop vibes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall feel of the hotel is dated. The beds were not especially comfortable, with the pillows being too high and firm. The bathroom was average, with very little water pressure from the shower and the sink taps worn out. It was an excellent spot to stay for one night, though I would not want to stay longer.

    The hotel is in a prime location, being on the corner of George and Campbell Street walking distance to all the major attractions in central Sydney. The room was immaculate and both check in and out were prompt and friendly. The room had basic tea and coffee facilities, a bar fridge, an iron and ironing board, as well as extra bedding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water tap in the shower didn't work. 11pm at night had to move to another room just to have a shower. The new room still had hair on the pillow, bathroom didn't look Iike it had been throughly cleaned in a long time. Finally got in the shower to realize that I had no soap. Seriously not good enough

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The appearance of the room. We can see rust, paint stain (on the curtain), some dirty stains, dust in the airway in toilet. The room smelled a bit humid.

    The staffs there are very helpful and friendly. The room is clean but obviously very old and dated. Expensive for the price but I guess we paid for the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were old and in serious need of an update. The breakfast should be included in the over priced price because it is not worth the money.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower in the bath, for older people a bit of a hazard. Just the shower would be good.

    The bed was very comfortable. The position of the hotel very good. Breakfast value for money. Towels very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything met my needs for a one night stay.

    Wonderful counter service booking in and out. nothing was a problem. Plenty of shopping and food in walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Door has no dead lock, no safe in room. Bath room dated. No toothbrush. No free wifi.

    Well located for transportation and restaurants. Also walking distance to the major attractions such as Quay, HB bridge and Darling Harbour. Large rooms. Attendant was kind to let me have room 2 hrs before the official CI time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I returned to my room 415 pm on Friday 20th and room not cleaned so I put up DO NOT Disturb sign. Could not sit at desk in chair. No room for legs Cheap soap squeeze bottles.

    Location is great. Price was ok for Sydney

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could of been a bit cleaner and required a maintenance check, especially the Windows needed looking at, as regards open ning and shutting.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled of cigarettes, the lights flickered constantly also. Upon check-in the man that was trying to check us in kept going over to another couple that were trying to be checked in by another lady. They thought they had paid for their accomadation but the hotel said they hadn’t, this caused us to take about 20 minutes to check in.

    Room was in the middle of china town, but very close walk to darling harbour. Bed was quite comfy and it was quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were next to a noisy lift - though to be fair we slept fine. Water flow at the sink was slow and very slow to drain away too.

    Large bathroom, very good price for area and helpful checkin staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness was appalling and the state of the room was frightening, massive holes and chunks out of walls, broken furniture... very shocked by the overall condition.

    Location only

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The TV I could not get all the stations

    . I enjoyed staying there & will do so in the future. Thanks for looking after me. I will miss the breakfast,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom specially the shower. The taps didn’t work properly and shower head broken. A tall person would not be able to shower comfortably there. Toilet seat broken.

    Food availability around the place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room was unclean. The bathroom hadn’t been cleaned and there was a lolly stick on the floor in the bedroom Also holes in the carpet.

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location if seeing a show next door at the Capitol Theatre... Starbucks and many other close by restaurants and cafes to eat at. Tram stop is around the corner or a 10min walk from central

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Biscuits with the tea and coffee win over kids and adults alike. A simple inclusion would add that extra bit of courtesy.

    Center of the city without the noise! I expected to be kept awake by the sounds of the city being in the thick of it, but the room was surprisingly quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since we stayed here quite regularly previously but havent done so for about 2 - 3 years we were so disappointed at the uncleanliness of the bathroom and the overall lack of maintenance. Next time we will look for another place to stay. Price was not up to value at $143 considering the next night we paid $141.75 at the Wynyard Travelodge and had a beautifully maintained clean room and bathroom facilities immaculate.

    The staff and location excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much of a lobby. But that’s all.

    Knew nothing about Sydney, just took a chance and selected this hotel. It was well located to get to everything! The staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was tidy and despite facing a hustling bustling street it was completely silent. The bed was comfy and the linens silky smooth. The restaurant was lovely, charming. The staff were quiet, just provided everything and stayed out of the way. It’s location was nice, overlooking an arcade. The arcade is not open during the breakfast hours so it’s quiet, just to be admired.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    very basic. First room we were allocated I insisted that we were moved as not very clean rather grubby, carpet threadbare, very small. I am afraid it was not what I was expecting.Could not recommend.

    Location very central, staff helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too noisy at nights. No airconditioning in the bathrooms. The bathrooms were not clean. Not enough bathroom facilities.

    The location is great for its easy access to major sightseeing spots. The price for three nights was ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a location nothing else there is no car park you have to pay $30 for overnight and make sure that you'll be at hotel by 12 at midnight so it's just awful and waste of money!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms could have been better as they are very dated and floorboards were creaking when you you walk. The absence of free bottled water was a turnoff as frequent travelers these are normally provided. Rooms were abit pricey. The restaurant only operates in the morning so if you plan on having dinner in the hotel after a tiring day it is impossible as there is also no room service.

    The best thing about the property were its staff. I would say they are a bunch of very helpful people who went out of their way to assist. Other than this the place was as what you would expect. We were staying on the 2nd floor near the free internet zone and from our room we could access the internet throughout the stay. Location was strategic as it is close to the central station and ample taxis around. The shower hot water was a plus as it was consistent unlike other hotels I have stayed before

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for wifi if it is required.

    Good, clean, reasonable priced Hotel, in a fantastic location. Close to Restaurants, Shopping & sightseeing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini bar fridge is too small but otherwise clean.

    In the heart of the city, close to public transport about 2min walk to Paddy's Market & the nearest 7-Eleven. Friendly staff, clean rooms, good heating/air conditioning system and a very good shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All Good

    This is the second time I have stayed here. The location is fantastic. Although the rooms are a little dated everything else this hotel has makes up for this

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior was a little old & tired

    Nothing special - get what you paid for your money but has great location. Convenience for everything from parking, theater, shopping, restaurants etc

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is in a great location in central Sydney, staff were fantastic. The only downside is the age of the building. It is badly in need of renovations to bring it up to speed. Having said that, despite the age of the building, everything was functional and we had no complaints.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could do with a little updating.

    The beds were comfy and the room was very clean but basic. The location was excellent as we went to a show at the Capitol theatre. Overall a pleasant stay but maybe a little pricey for the amenities in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are a little small and outdated but still had everything that you need in a bathroom.

    Great Location and staff were very accommodating when needed. Beds were super comfy. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No WiFi in the room. Room is not cleaned. PAID $140 per night received nothing except for discomfort.

    location is excellent. Just located in the central of chinatown. Location is priceless.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Capitol Square Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: