Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castaways Resort & Spa On Mission Beach 4 stars

Pacific Parade, 4852 Mission Beach, Australia

#9 of 11 hotels in Mission Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 968 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have stayed at Castaways Resort & Spa before. Had a great stay then & this time was no exception. Great location, excellent rooms. Great dining & bar. Would recommend this accommodation to others.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Resort Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room delivery regardless of how close you are is a 10 fee bit excessive, kid menus were not readily available.

    Right on beachfront beautiful location staff were very helpful and very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Resort Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking at the Rainforest end needed expansion/ upgrading/ more thought re: layout of parking/ drivability layout.

    The room was well appointed, the balcony was roomy, it had a beautiful breeze and an overall relaxing ,peaceful ambience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Resort Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan in the bathroom. The shower fogged up the room. It’s probably something that can’t be fixed.

    The hotel was better than the photos showed. The staff were very friendly. The grass out the front was excellent for the kids to play on. We had a fantastic time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath - Beachfront
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked in for three adults and were given a two bed unit. The day we were booked in we received a call to say that the unit only had an ensuite bathroom. So the person staying with us would have to come through our bedroom to use the toilet and bathroom. They asked if this was OK. Which of course it wasnt. So we then had to pay $45 to upgrade to a 2 bedroom apartment which still only had one bathroom but it was in between the bedrooms. The cost was $385 a night and another $5 credit card surcharge so it wasn't good.value for money.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and smelly, staff was not treat all the customer equally as the rainforest room customer I can feel and see the difference

    I like that the hotel right infront of the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of amenities in the room lack of a side table on the bed. Could have been surface spayed for ants and cockroaches

    Good breakfasts and staff great view and pools

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Resort Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Double bed was like solid rock. The single bed had a really good mattress but the double bed did not. Time to upgrade them

    Nice and close to bars and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely uncomfortable The shower wasn’t great The food options and quality was pretty bad.

    The location and view is incredible, waking up to the view and sitting eating breakfast taking in the surrounds was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resort facility’s and resort is great. The 3 star rooms which is a seperate part to the resort where we stayed is like a motel room. However the resort rooms that I assume are 4-5 start looked amazing. I would not recommend the 3 start rooms but would Recommend the resort and the 4-5 start rooms located at the resort

    Resort facility’s and resort is great. The 3 star rooms which is a seperate part to the resort where we stayed is like a motel room. However the resort rooms that I assume are 4-5 start looked amazing. I would not recommend the 3 start rooms but would Recommend the resort and the 4-5 start rooms located at the resort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Air conditioner was noisy and could not sleep at night when on. When turned off room was very hot, humid and stuffy. Everything a bit damp with humidity. Could hear people in other rooms when they woke early which woke us

    Room was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room felt a bit stuffy without a fan and the air-conditioning, being on the coldest setting was still struggling to keep the room cool. The room was nice, however it was a bit outdated for the price we paid. Room service was a let down. We ordered room service and after an hour or so of not receiving our food, we called to follow up only to be told they had forgotten about our order. The kitchen staff then contacted us to tell us that they had run out of the food we ordered. We were a bit disappointed and asked that they cancel our order. By the time they got back to us again, it had been nearly two hours since we first ordered the food.

    The beaches were absolutely beautiful and the location was amazing. The queen room was a good size. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a one bedroom apartment about 2 -3 mins walk from main hotel . Was shocked to find us not in hotel with family members us travelling with . We were in what they call Forest View which transpired to be little adjoined cottages down the road from hotel. Still even though It raining we were expected to walk to main hotel for the breakfast . Those cottage photos were not posted online .

    Evening dinner and breakfast was very good IN THE HOTEL

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Economy Resort Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Try and book accommodation elsewhere and just have lunch or dinner here. Facilities are very below par, particularly for the price. Don't book the rain forest room's. They are moldy and in another complex down the road from main hotel on the main road. As these rooms smelt and were dark and dingy, we personally paid more and upgraded to beach room, but even these are still below par for ridiculous price (could have had 6 nights in a beautiful hotel in Legian or Seminyak Bali). Basically the place is old motel rooms spruced up badly. Air conditioners are rusting away. Lights sparked when turned on. TV is rubbish and cord/plugs everywhere. And finally - the continental breakfast gave both of us "the runs" shortly after. Suspect the funny tasting apple juice. But could be that flies were sitting all over cut up fruit etc. Heard quite a few customers complaining to reception which is interesting. Disappointed to see ripped off paintings using well known Aboriginal artist (Mitjili Nappurula) images in the room. The Indigenous art code would be interested in this and the hotel should be fined. So no, wont really be back (should have heeded other locals advice against going).

    Outlook is fab and pool nice. Good coffee. Otherwise nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa in room was terrible, very uncomfortable, needed replacing.

    Continental breakfast was included which we were unaware of at time of booking- bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath - Beachfront
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two bedroom - bathroom/toilet in main bedroom - not ideal as shared unit with a work colleague. But we managed to work around that.

    The bed was extra comfy and staff very genuinely warm and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was so many ants in the bathroom. The bed was lumpy on one side and uneven. The fan only worked on one speed. The TV has a line through it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was awful. 15% surcharge on all food and drink because it was a bank holiday. Ours was one of the few rooms without a balcony.

    Beach front setting. Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Resort Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful to stay and have a drink by the pool but you obviously have to pay resort prices, all in all through one of the best places we stayed in during our trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the rainforest rooms. We knew going in that they were in a separate area and were older, and we were fine with that. I think I was still a little surprised at just how basic the rooms were, though. Considering how wonderful the main area was, I thought that might've carried across to the rainforest rooms. Bed was uncomfortable etc. But it was good enough. We would still stay there again to use the hotel facilities in the main area (pool, restaurant etc)!

    Stunning facilities in the main hotel area. Pools were beautiful, amazing outlook and access to the beach. The continental breakfast was great and had a good variety. We could've stayed longer! Lovely staff, too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was not what you advertise on your website, when you have to get back in your car travel through road works and travel for you breakfast included deal. It was appalling.

    When you have pictures of a resort on the beach and we are sent to go back on the road to another location that I would never had booked, Its called false advertising! I travel and stayed in many resorts and this was nothing but deceiving.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Resort Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell in our room was awful. It was actually disgusting. Not sure how they can even offer such a room for $165 a night. Strains in the bathroom sink and we didn't get two face towels only one (not a big deal) but was expecting a better quality room for the price I paid.

    The location was perfect. Missing beach is beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old tired room with very noisy air-conditioning. A bearing had gone in the motor so was difficult to get a good night sleep. Very average breakfast buffet

    Awsome Location, lovey restaurant. The food was delicious and the staff excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NO fly screens : ( Bicycle hire advertised but not available : (

    Awesome location & lap pool. Awesome HOT croissants with the included breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath - Beachfront
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we arrived it was perfect, staff , facilities and location are second to none. Next time we'll be back for a week, a weekend just isn't ling enough!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was not comparable to 5 star accommodations in cairns. Should be at half the price considering that the lift wasn't working, the toilet stopped working, cigarette ash was scattered over the day bed and balcony. I could stay at the Shangri la for the same price and it would be modern and spotless.

    The location was fantastic but the rooms are old,tired and needs repair.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two large beds in our room.

    We had a beautiful stay, a shame there were two large beds in our room, would have been nice to have more space. The room was very nice. The staff were lovely and our meal in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Resort Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon wasn't great in the room. Poor parking in facility but could park on the street adjacent which was fine.

    Nice continental breakfast. Sister hotel had a great view out to the beach and we were able to use pool and sunloungers there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was a late booking stayed 2 nights on way to Cairns - was in the old part of the hotel separate from the hotel on the beach so a basic motel room style and not on the beach ok for a short stop over for the price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Resort Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would say you need a car if you are there for more than a couple of days to get to Woolies/Bws

    Fabulous, friendly place for a relaxing luxury stay! Staff couldn’t do enough!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Resort Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had bus tour in so could not get table in dinner area - had to sit isolated in breakfast area with one other family nxt to the noisy kitchen. Maybe the kitchen staff were too busy because of the bus tour but the food was quite ordinary. On a previous visit it had been good.

    The Beach is right next to the hotel and is simply fantastic, probably one of the best beaches in the far north.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Resort Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is hostile, no fault of the hotel. But due to jellies (and crocs) and no nets, the ocean was not welcoming. It was lovely to walk a few blocks down to the little town of mission beach.

    Breakfast was great, basic but the location on the beach made it feel lovely. Beds were comfy. Kids liked the pool (although they would like any pool). This hotel has two nice, clean pools. Every employee we came into contact with was very friendly. Great stay, would recommend this place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked flyscreens on the balcony doors, to be able to listen to the waves crashing during the night. Also, although the continental breakfast was good and got us through the day, we would have preferred to pay a bit extra and get more options, such as boiled eggs and some lettuce - also the coffee that was supplied with the buffet was cold! :(

    The check-in was quick and easy and it was no problem to upgrade to a different room. Staff were extremely friendly. The room was spacious enough for two people with a great balcony and an incredible view! The location of the resort is fantastic, close to restaurants, nightlife, the beach and spas. Free parking on the property was supplied.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was continental and good variety of food offered. Dinner was excellent lots of food to choose, thunderstorm didnt help things but staff where excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area at the rainforest rooms was very bad maintained. Wanted to go for a dive in the morning but it was not really inviting. And just a view minor things like no Wi-Fi in the rooms and no eggs at a continental breakfast.

    Beautiful location. Super nice staff and room was clean and great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lounge seat in room. Pool glass fence broken in 3 places the outdoor seats filthy. Bodgee job fixing tiles in bathroom and parking we had to go so close to the building so other car's could drive in. I know we were in the cheap accommodation the room was mostly clean. But not a comfortable stay

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our air conditioner wasn't working well, so we couldn't sleep well as we had to get up every hour to reset it or swelter in the heat. Reception staff assisted in the evening and we thought it was fixed, but after an hour it stopped working again. As reception was closed from 7pm, we had no option to move after we realised it wasn't going to work all night. There was also a funky, musty smell in the room. The reception staff offered a small compensation the following morning which was much appreciated.

    Staff were friendly & professional. Chefs should be commended - deserts were amazing & breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor, they charge extra money for eggs and all good things at a normal breakfast buffet. Very disappointing for the price

    Location direct at the beach great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Resort Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food the pool and the hospitality amazing. Thank you

    I loved the relaxing feeling of the resort itself the atmosphere the staff very welcoming and enjoyable. Will be returning again soon as I miss it already 😊

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Awesome place, we stayed in the rainforest room. Amazing price, away from the main resort. The main resort is stunning right on the beach. Breakfast was nice, staff were helpful. I really enjoyed my time here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures aren’t realistic, you can’t see real pictures about the rainforest rooms. It is misleading because these rooms are very bad. They should let people know that the quality of these rooms are very low. The queen room was old, dark and used. The refrigerator and the furniture beside that looked awful. We had a very disgusting bathroom here too. It looks terrible and the sink in the shower was blocked and we had 5 cm water in it during showering, also some dirt came up from the pipes down. We asked for another room and we got upgraded to a rainforesf resort room. It was better but musty and the airconditioner smellt bad..probably there was fungus in it. I do not recommened to take out these rooms. I uploaded some photos about the queen room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Resort Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First two nights before being moved the drain didn’t clear properly in the shower, sink was tiny. Was old, swelled timber near the fridge. Wasn’t shown on the photos - rainforest retreat. Wasn’t aware those rooms existed

    Surroundings, the community, beach, rain forest and the main castaways building was stunning

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Economy Resort Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of car parking space and lack of privacy with anybody swimming in the lap pool being able to see into your room. Had to keep the curtains closed! Not very good value for money, I dread to think what the rainforest rooms are like even though they aren't cheap to stay in.

    Our check in was great and it was even better to be told we'd been upgraded to a beachfront room, Thankyou! Continental breakfast was actually very nice and a good selection.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Continental breakfast too repetitive little selection and basic. Had to request refills of items. Two options of fruit juice --same each day. (Orange and Apple) Main restaurant overpriced. Reception needs a lot to be desired ,wrong room allocated, morning phone alarm call forgotten on departure day. Service generally sloppy. For couples avoid weekends which was overrun by locals crowding the bars and restaurants. Social Club type environment for locals with kids dominating the pool areas un supervised. Saturday night noisy around the Resort , doors banging. loud music until 3.00am. No apparent signs of Security in any area. Manager aware of our concerns but chose not "to show" which is suspect management.

    Location of main Resort. Comfort of room excellently serviced by the room attendant. General layout and condition of main Resort to standard expected.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 1 night

    Get rid of the credit card surcharge build it into your price if you must or make a virtue out of not having one.

    The position is fabulous, the restaurant is tremendous and the rooms are comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beachfront boutique hotel in walking distance to local shops. This hotel was a lovely surprise, beautifully laid out, right in front of a sandy beach fringed with coconut trees. The food was delicious, the Exec Chef has the touch. We stayed for a week and loved it. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Resort Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were too soft, lots of repairs required. We initially booked one of the rainforest rooms and it was musty and stunk. Thankfully the staff upgraded us to an oceanfront room which had an amazing view. Ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. Dinner was lovely however they kept on running out of food from the menu, ordered seafood linguine (heads and tails left on prawns,bugs and mussels- the other half finished his dinner by the time I had peeled and got rid of everything - lazy cooking - pasta could have used shaved Parmesan)- bit into shell which wasn’t very pleasant. It was very disappointing considering we spent more then double the room cost in the restaurant on food and drinks. We didn’t make use of the continental breakfast included in the hotel deal but ordered a cooked breakfast which took 50 minutes, poached eggs cooked through one staff member wasn’t very apologetic and was rude but the saving grace was that supervisor was lovely and reimbursed our breakfast.

    The location of the ocean front rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As stated above the rainforest rooms were very basic and we had no power to our room on arrival for 45 min which we were neither informed of on check in nor compensated for. We found the restaurant very 'meat and 3 veg' and quite expensive. The experience was pretty average.

    The room was comfortable and close to the beach, but very basic and tired looking for the price. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room didn't live up to the communal areas of the hotel at all - it was comfortable enough for one night but was damp and tired and old with no real facilities.

    Location was nice as the hotel is directly on the beach. First impressions were great as reception / restaurant looks lovely. Staff were very friendly and the restaurant was really nice - great food and drinks.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no negative feedback, would love to stay here again!

    Absolutely beautiful pool area and it’s right on the beach and a 2 minute walk to the main mission beach shops and restaurant strip. Staff were so friendly and helpful, breakfast was great, room was large and although slightly dated (we were in one of the rainforest rooms that were in a separate block) was very clean. Beds were comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Resort Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family room was very small with space just for the beds, the aircon was directly over the bed and our heads, no flyscreen on the door so you can't really sleep with the doors open without the aircon, found and killed a big cockroach in the kids room, there was a long rail of ants moving into the room, there was a bee hive at the room entrance in the wall of the building, the continental breakfast as the minimum, defrosted pastries, one of the pools was very dirty, etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really friendly and provided such good service. The food was great at the restaurant bar too! Such a nice place to stay if you want to switch off and chill. The pool was brilliant, right next to the beach and there was an indoor sofa area too where you could relax.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't expect to have to walk along the street to get to the main part of the resort (restaurant) from our rooms. Our more private pool area made up for this though. A beach shower near the walkway and pool would have been handy to rinse the sand off our feet from beach walks, and keep it out of our room.

    The garden setting of the pool in our area was amazing. The mature trees added a lot of beauty and shade. This was the pool near the garden rooms. The other pool was right in front of the restaurant and I'm glad we were in a different area and could enjoy our swims without feeling like we were on display. The restaurant and breakfasts were of high quality. The beach view from the restaurant was very ambient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Resort Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was basic, old and has obvious wear and tear, for $160 a night it was well below the standard I was expexting.

    Castaways itself is lovely - we were in the rainforest rooms which were off site and did not meet expectations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rainforest room dated but good value for money!

    Great value as stayed for $100 a night in rainforest section but access to the nicer section. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms need a face lift but ok for one night

    we stayed in the rain forest rooms, the rooms are very dated but clean and not part of the main hotel (about 100 meters away) the pool area was nice and private. we stayed for one night and it was ok but the breakfast was very good, next time ill stop at the main hotel on the beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Resort Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real complaints, Hotel units could do with a vending machine as the main property has the bar facilities.

    Great service to get me a seat for dinner during a booked service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Xmas garbage hadn't been collected and the smell from the bins was BAD! The air conditioner leaked and created a musty smell in the room.

    Easy access to stinger net for safe swimming. Staff were all easy to deal with. Beautiful pool with deck chairs on the lawns.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in serious need of renovation, disappointed with the quality of the room for the price we paid ( damaged / stained furniture, peeling paint) also the only lighting available was wall lights and there was aircon ....but no ceiling fan! We also booked a massage at reception. Told the masseuse it was my first time and although she was lovely she ended up bruising all my back. Expected more from the property

    Amazing view from the Ocean front room, looking over the pool and to the ocean. Beautiful restaurant with great food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've stayed at a room with a sea view. Waking up in the morning and having that view was amazing! The pools were very nice, the breakfast was good and complete. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. I highly recommend to stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t any signage showing the driveway to our room. The receptionist gave us fantastic directions though.

    The rainforest rooms were perfect for what we needed. No complaints

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Resort Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable but..... the curtains didn't close properly and were too short for the windows. The seal around the bath tub needed an update. This just brought down the general standard of the whole bathroom which was quite good otherwise.

    The rainforest rooms just down the road from the main property were surrounded by beautiful tropical plants and ferns. The continental breakfast provided a large range of tropical fruits and delicious pastries. Having a drink late in the afternoon in the big deck chairs out front of the restaurant or on the veranda looking out through the palm trees towards the ocean was awesome. A lovely way to relax. The food in the restaurant was also top quality!!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The umbrellas were not stable, one flew out and very nearly hit me. This is extremely dangerous - sadly the staff didn’t seem to think this was a problem. However, there had been an accident and the Hotel had a huge law suit against them...... The staff were all very sweet but slow.

    The bed was very comfortable and the swimming pool was good. The location was perfect

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Resort Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view was absolutely beautiful and it was a very down to earth friendly experience with the staff. Our room was in the main complex had been renovated and was comfortable with great great beds. The airconditioning was great and the view from our room on the 2nd floor amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service in the restaurant could be better and options more variety would be great. Continental breakfast very light and could be arranged better to allow easier access for diners. Pool at the rainforest needed cleaning as there was moss/slime on the bottom and sides.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Resort Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing to speak of.

    This part of the resort is set in a mini rainforest location with a pool in the middle. postcard photo. The room was large enough for two, somewhat old, needs updating, overpriced. Quiet location, although all of Mission Beach is quiet, relaxing. Mission Beach is perfect, overlooking Dunk Island, the beach seems to go on forever, palm trees wide sandy beach, warm water, what else could you ask for.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Resort Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like being placed jn the secondary resort across the road and down the street. I felt that I had been mislead on the location of the accomodtion that I was staying in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Resort Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night

    We disliked everything. The place is very run down with deferred maintenence obvious everywhere. The Rain Forest rooms are truly aweful. We upgraded, but still there was mold. This property is incorrectly advertised. It should be no more than 2 star.

    We liked the beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls felt paper thin for noise and people walking on room above

    Great view, great location, clean, good facilities, reasonable price, friendly & helpful staff. So nice and relaxing hearing the waves crash in from your room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was faulty. It driped all night, soaking the floor. We tried to catch the water in a wast bucket, however the dripping noise kept us awake. In the morning we were told we should have called maintenance.? In the middle of the night?

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night

    the restaurant was expensive and we said that we didn't want a beach view thinking it was in the same building. We were put in a dodgy room in another building away from the beach which was not pictured in the photos.

    the restaurant and staff were really nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vicinity to beach and village centre. Good value with breakfast included. The room was adequate for an overnight stay, Not as flashy as the main Castaway Resort but it was clean and comfortable for overnight stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Beachfront
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a serious makeover. Furniture and fittings are firmly 1980/90's as is the pathetic internet 0.01mbps (if it works at all, which it mainly doesn't) the rooms are dirty and we found several cockroaches during the three days we spent there. Onsite gym is outright dangerous with broken equipment and botched repairs and should be avoided at all costs. I have stayed in many hotels/apartments around the world but never spent so much on such poor accommodation. Don't believe the promo video. It may have been like that at one time, but it certainly isn't anymore. Rent a campervan instead, it will be cleaner, cheaper and not have same wildlife crawling around your bed!

    Not much. If it was possible I would give castaways a zero rating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Room - Beachfront
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Love the picture perfect location. The beachfront view can be seen from the room and the fabulous restaurant and bar area downstairs. Perfect for a quiet, peaceful get-away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room with Rainforest View - Separate 3 Star Property
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed room, bath room were out dated, need more shelving and bigger mirror in the bath room.

    Love the Restaurant and pool area, the foods and service were excellence.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Castaways Resort & Spa On Mission Beach traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: