Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

169 Castlereagh Street, Sydney Central Business District, 2000 Sydney, Australia

#146 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1062 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    7.1
    Good location but hotel needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Drab room, uninviting bathroom with small sink area. Noisy from nearby construction work. Single glazed windows didn't reduce noise so sleep was interrupted,

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    5.8
    okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I understand that the hotel is old and has lots of character, but some area could do with updating. Two broken panes of glass in our window.

    Location, Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    10
    A delightful place to stay in central Sydney and where I will definitely stay next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was not a dislike but you need to read the opening times of restaurants carefully.

    If you want sleek modern cutting edge this is not the hotel for you. However if you value comfort, quality, lovely 1930 building with superb staff all set in a central location then this is for you. For the solo traveller it is perfect with a key secure lift. Food was very good with lots of other choices nearby. Great asset is a free laundry room on each floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    8.8
    An attractive, clean, well presented and ideally situated hotel in the CBD
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found that the bar is not open on Saturday night, which was a bit disappointing as it meant that we had to go out. Also, there is no room service breakfast on Sunday morning which may have been helpful, but we walked down to Darling Harbour for breakfast instead.

    The hotel is very well located within a short walk of the QVB, China Town, Darling Harbour, The Rocks, Opera House and Hyde Park. There are a number of train stations within a few minutes walk if you want to go further afield. The room was smallish but well appointed and the staff very helpful. The style of the hotel and rooms is not modern and sleek, more old style but very comfortable. The hotel is quiet although there was some traffic/street noise that came into the room overnight but didnt really bother us on the 9th floor. The desk staff arranged fixed rate parking for us in the nearby Secure Parking carpark underneath the Hilton, which is about 5 minutes walk away. Ask them to arrange it when you book the hotel room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We made the mistake of having a light dinner in the dining room. We knew it was a very simple limited menu but it must be rated as the worst food that we have ever paid for.

    Attractive rooms, quiet bar lounge area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.3
    Nice location in a great position to visit the downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice location in a great position to visit the downtown. Clean and quite room, with very comfortable beds. The staff was very kind to suggest us visiting options (a guy spoke Italian and this made everything easier) I suggest this 'charme' hotel. We spent three nights there. We did not have meals (including breakfast) in the hotel restaurant. So I cannot express a judgment

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.3
    A quaint and comfortable place to stay at a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked a cocktail.

    This hotel is lovely. It was like stepping back in time. Our room was small but contained everything that we could want. Unfortunately we were looking forward to relaxing with a cocktail however one bar was closed and the other didn't do them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    9.2
    It was s truly boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much to say. It was great.

    It was s truly boutique hotel. The inclusions were great and the bed was extremely comfortable. Bathroom facilities were roomy and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    5.0
    Good location...that is about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was uncomfortable and the rooms are pretty small. The worst part for us was that our room must have been situated somewhere near an engine room, or other industrial room because we had a constant and very loud drone of noise that continued throughout our stay. It made it very difficult to get sleep. I wouldn't stay here again.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    8.3
    A lovely comfy, character hotel in the heart of town so convenient for all inner city activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The air conditioning/heating was a bit noisy. Loved the furnishings but the springs in the chairs needed to be renewed and on one occasion a stained over-blanket was put on my bed. A clear window would have allowed more natural light into the room especially as when the building next door is constructed blocking out more light.

    I would book there again for the showers alone - strong and hot!! It was a lovely character hotel which is what I enjoy most when I am staying abroad. The room was spacious and we were so glad to have a window and natural daylight. Windowless rooms are a horror!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    9.2
    The neighbourhood had good coffee shops, and felt safe at...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    My personal preference, for the price, would be for the room to be a bit larger and to have access to gym and sauna. But this would necessitate less investment in grand entrance and upfront service.

    The neighbourhood had good coffee shops, and felt safe at night. Great to have a short walk to my conference.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    8.3
    Great location with great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise. I know is not your fault and it is also the heart of the city but works and repairs just downstairs were really noisy and annoying at 2 am.

    Location and staff - AMAZING

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    6.7
    I like the proximity to my conference venue.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like being woken during the night with the building works from behind the building. This woke me up several times during the night. Despite being warned, this had a negative impact on my experience.

    I like the proximity to my conference venue.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    6.3
    Didn't quite live up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was a bit small. The bathroom door had a sliding door, with a gap of almost one inch between the door and the walls.

    Location- it was close to public transport and significant places of interest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    6.3
    It's convenient and comfortable in a nice old building but check the shower's hot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in Room 1015 was freezing cold even after running for 10 minutes. When I mentioned it at checkout the staff said I should have called them to fix it. Really?!

    The location is very convenient to the CBD. The architecture is worth seeing and the history of the building is interesting. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.6
    Overall it was a pleasant experience. A charming hotel in a great location with friendly helpful sta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fan in the bathroom could not be operated independently of the light & was on a timer. Consequently whenever we turned on the light the fan would continue for about 10 minutes after turning it off. It was extremely loud in the tiny room. We vould also hear the gans from surrounding rooms through the wall. It was particularly annoying in the middle of the night. I would suggest installing an independently operated light & fan.

    Very charming hotel with an old world feel. Staff were lovely. I would stay thete again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    6.3
    This facility needs a face lift.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was way smaller than the photos lead you to believe. There was not enough space for the TV - so it sat on the window sill BEHIND the curtain! The curtains were shabby and about 10 inches too small for the window frame so I had to go into the bathroom to change. The extractor fan in the bathroom turned on automatically with the light switch and was VERY noisy. Overall this is a building that is past its prime and in need of a makeover.

    Room was clean, location was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and enjoyable, will stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom sink is quite small, but we managed.

    Close proximity to Circular Quay as we walked everywhere. Good value for the area as other hotels are quite pricey. Rooms are comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    10
    Old World Sydney at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were a little small, but notice was given that a refurbishment was coming to address this.

    Loved the antique décor and historical ambience of this accommodation, a breath of fresh air from the usual production line of modern hotels. The beds were comfortable and the room held great character. The usual amenities were supplied. The room was quiet and the staff very friendly, allowing us to store our luggage after checkout. The location was very central to the eating and shopping hubs, with Town Hall and Museum Train station within easy walking distance, great place to stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.6
    In good position to walk to many of city highlights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Advertised cocktails during happy hour were not available in downstairs bar - bar upstairs had Pokies which did not provide good ambience for quiet drink.

    First room booked was very small however staff upgraded with little trouble. Second room was spacious and bed was very comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.1
    The facilities were lovely, old world charm of dining foyer...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was cold and the noise from a music venue on Saturday night required i use ear plugs. I imagine this will be rectified with double glazing when the refurb occurs. The bathroom sliding door did not allow privacy when using the toilet as you could easily hear what was going on from the bedroom.

    The facilities were lovely, old world charm of dining foyer guest public spaces is lovely. Location sensational close to train etc Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.9
    It was so central to everything I needed to do for pleasure...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The night I checked in was a Monday and the menu was limited to a basic offering and a lot of fried food so I sourced a Thai rest and walked

    It was so central to everything I needed to do for pleasure or work Loved it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable, staff were wonderful. I'd happily stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room size is good for a weekender but not an extended stay. Tiles in the shower could use a bit of TLC.

    Room size was was minimal. Having said that, it was comfortable and all that we needed since we don't spend much time in the room. Perfect location though and plenty of supermarkets and eateries nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    7.9
    good location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, accommodating when my friend couldn't sleep and night staff made her comfortable downstairs and a cup of tea. Very kind :)

    good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    5.0
    Work Trip to Sydney
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Triple Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were terrible, so uncomfortable. The mattresses need replacing urgently. The room was also very noisy, the entry door had gaps all around it & the noise from other guests was unbearable.

    The location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    5.8
    Ok if you want to shop and don’t need to work, read or sleep
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dark rooms, noisy air conditioner which did not work, $18 for very limited ‘continental’ breakfast basic fruit cereals and toast.

    Shower was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    7.9
    a little bit of history, elegance & comfort in a fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room did seem a bit small at first, but the high ceilings saved it from feeling too claustrophobic. The bathroom was definitely squeezy, but the deco tiles made up for a lot.

    The Masonic history of the Hotel, & the lovely furnishings made it feel something like an old-fashioned club, rather than another bland, modern hotel. So, we loved it's atmosphere and it's location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    7.1
    Location is excellent, foyer and entryway beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Construction noise next door. Night concierge was complacent and annoyed we interrupted him to ask a question. Bar server had no idea how to make cocktails. Rooms are clean but in desperate need of updating. Bathroom in our room was TINY. Great shower though.

    Location is excellent, foyer and entryway beautiful. Day concierge on checking in very attentive and friendly, pleasant to deal with. Beds comfortable, rooms clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.6
    Glorious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Silly us, parking our rental car was impossible so we took it back a day early to avoid having to use it at the hotel as there is no need. We walked everywhere instead. See note aboe re TV in breakfast room.

    Love the peace and quiet in the middle of the city, the old world style and elegance is superb. Also the small, intimate spaces of the lobby with comfortable chairs and tables and the very stylish breakfast room. Love the real napkins. What happened to the palms in the lobby? I'm sure there used to be palms in pots - so stylish. Kerp the quiet, stylish, elegant ambience please. I hear you might re-do the roof garden...superb idea for cocktails and nibbles. How marvellous. I LOVE the glorious, stylish roof top bars in Rome. Check them out for inspiration. Suggest you could promote it as a city attraction for rooftop bar cocktails, away from the hustle and bustle, but make it stylish like the hotel. Def be back. We love Hotel Castlereagh. Staff are excellent, so pleasant and helpful. Music, rather than the TV in the breakfast room would be so much better. One last comment; the chef’s granola is the BEST ever!! Superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    6.3
    Good location and lovely period hotel just the facilities could have been better
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist could have explained the use of the lift to avoid confusion. This happened to all the people checking in at different times. Bathrooms were very poky and not suitable for more than one person.

    Receptionist could have explained the use of the lift to avoid confusion. This happened to all the people checking in at different times.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    6.3
    The location was very good and the old style was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lightning in the room was dull making it difficult to dress and put on makeup. Didn’t like the step up to the bathroom.

    The location was very central

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    9.2
    I enjoyed every moment I stayed there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that a key is needed for the lift, but it’s not really a big problem.

    There were more than enough tea bags and milk, the wifi is quite fast, the location is probably amongst the best in Sydney, and finally the decór is simply lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    8.3
    Good value in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arrived after a 24 hr flight from U.K. at 10pm to find bar closed. Not all rooms have windows so make sure you specify one when booking under 'special requests'

    Rooms were spacious with a large shower room. Perfect location at reasonable price for central Sydney.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    10
    Just the ticket
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No real problems. ..knew it would be noisy...so was preoared

    Excellent location, lovely housekeeping and reception staff, a window that opens and fantastic cafe next door (pablo&rusty)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.2
    This is my fourth booking at the Castlereagh and I plan on staying there many times again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kitchen closes too early--8 pm!

    The staff were excellent; polite, friendly and very, very helpful. The building and especially its decor are lovely, giving the hotel a quiet, elegant atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    5.8
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are small. Parking is quite a distance from hotel and expensive. Not easy to park near hotel for drop off of luggage. Continental breakfast was ordinary for the price.

    Bed was comfortable. Heritage building lounge and bar areas were nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    8.8
    Check-in person, Pink, was sweet and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed twice in a 2 week period. First check in was quick and easy and got into room by noon. Second check in took much longer and had to wait 2+ hours to get our room, around 2 pm. Could have left luggage with receptionist but felt it wouldn't be that safe as it was just off to the side and unsecure.

    Check-in person, Pink, was sweet and helpful. Bathroom in room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    5.5
    The staff was very nice and the location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower drain overflowed into the bathroom whenever the shower was used. The lampshade was torn. The chair was so wobbly that I couldn'T sit on it. They assigned someone else to our room while we were already in it. The shower knobs needed repair and the sink had cracks in it

    The staff was very nice and the location was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    9.2
    Old day charm in a new-age world, with a great location close to everything.
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could do with less noise permeating windows, however, is a minor consideration when regarding the room condition overall. A solitary innocuous side ramp would be the icing on the cake, given it is very awkward manoeuvring rolling suitcases whilst negotiating the stepped entrance.

    Both ambience and location was exactly why I booked this Hotel in the first place and was definitely not disappointed. Spacious room could do with more noise blockout, however, was exceptional other than that minor detail and very well cleaned.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    8.3
    Good place for a short stay in Sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit small and the lift is very slow.

    Obliging staff. Old world atmosphere. Good location, central to everything, we were able to walk everywhere we wanted - Domain, Opera House, the Quay, Darling Harbour, City Circle station etc

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location, excellent price but the room is very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room size is too small for a double and needs refurbishment. The furniture is a large and bulky style which is out of place in a tiny room. Not suitable for 2 people.

    Good location and good public areas

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    6.7
    Nothing I would rave about. Tiny room and noisy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    was not avised about wifi. no password given reception staff on checking in was totaly disinterested in me. No eye contact no welcoming smile. I felt I was disturbing her. The noise aat night was horrendous. Could not sleep. Could hear the toilet fkushing next door.

    location very central.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    7.1
    Made for an interesting stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Natural light from the bedroom was limited.

    Loved the history associated with the building and that the restoration work was in keeping with the original.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    3.8
    Definitely not worth the money or effort. Looks great on internet total disappointment in real life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Asked for a twin room on booking. Only had Queen room available so brought in a rollaway bed. They took the money at booking time which was 6months before stay. Air Conditioning extremely noisy. TV brightness very dull unable to adjust. Very loud music from outside coming through the bathroom vent to the street. No see-through window at all. Staff said never had a noise complaint before. Room phone doesn't work had to call reception via mobile phone. Very very basic food. Obviously, food supply subcontracted out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    6.7
    The room was neat and tidy, just a bit disappointed with what the room looked like
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we stayed at had no windows, and the photo of the room that I booked from the website did not look like the photo on the website and I felt that I was misled

    Customer service was excellent and staff were very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    8.8
    Short, sweet and comfortable. Like an old friend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little run down though we know it is the process of refurbishment. The fan/air-conditioning in the bathroom did not turn off so was a little noisy.

    Location is excellent. Comfortable room of good size. Wonderful ambience and old world charm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    7.5
    Good location and reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant food was - in a word - awful. The night we arrived, we were all tired (13 in our party the first night), so went to on-site restaurant. Not many specials left and what there was, was dreadful - almost inedible. The rest of the meals were barely tolerable. No extras included, salads, bread, etc. Also the bathroom door in our room was unconventional and did not close properly.

    Reasonable walking distance to food court, sightseeing areas i.e. Hyde Park, Darling Harbour. There was a problem with my booking and the manager did his best to help with the checkin process. Staff were pleasant and helpful, with the exception of the first front desk clerk we saw. The room was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, great location for where we wanted to go but room was dim and not enough space
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom tiny and uncomfortable and step made it unsafe. No room to put suit case or hand any clothing.

    Beautiful building as you enter, the staff are lovely, very comfortable and clean bedding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    9.6
    Castlereagh perfectly suited our requirements for our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small. It was great for what we wanted but if I was staying for a longer period I would probably look for something bigger.

    Our stay was for just one night to see a show at the State Theatre so the location was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    9.6
    I stay there all the time - location is great and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had a double bed this time - usually have a twin room. There wasn't a lot of room between foot of bed and bathroom wall. Consequently kicked my toe twice on leg of bed. Remedied by placing a pillow on the floor at the foot of the bed. Would be a bit cramped with 2 people in the room but I am basically only there to sleep..

    The beds are always comfy, the location is close to everything and it is quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    7.5
    Pink at reception was great at check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room without a view, but not really available from this hotel. Furnishings and fixtures a bit dated. Better food options and prices elsewhere.

    Pink at reception was great at check in. Helpful, polite, efficient. Evening desk manager was also helpful and informative on a couple of occasions. Great location. Reasonable value for location and general quality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    6.7
    Great location, but room has seen better days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room we were given did not meet expectations. The room was obviously in an old part of the hotel. The room had poor lighting, and the colour scheme (baby poo colour, 1970 classic) needs brightening. The natural ventilation in the room needs to improve with replacement of the window. The mattress has seen better days, as has the slats on the bed. Overall the room needs to be upgraded. The noisy ventilation fan in the bathroom did not turn off after leaving, continued all night.

    the proximity to event we were attending

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    6.7
    ideal location for sightseeing in Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very small room and toilet facilities. Breakfast very poor with little on table for breakfast until person in dining room had to be asked for more food. Unable to get my bill at check out due to computers being down

    stayed there twice, great location in CBD

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room too small, the bed squeezed in, had to step up to bathroom (not good for people with mobility issues). No window with view. Room too dear for what it was. Huge TV for the room but unable to see it properly as everything shoved in front of it.

    Great location. Good bed and WiFi. Staff at the hotel (as opposed on the phone) were excellent and very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    6.7
    The stay was quite pleasent over all. The rooms do have every thing you need, but are way to small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was so small I kept hitting my feet on the edge of the bed when trying to get to the bathroom. The bathroom was extremely small as well. You wouldn't want to be an over weight large person.

    The pillows on the bed were supper soft. Extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    10
    Fantastic way to start our trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dodge the breakfast, there are better options close by.

    Fantastic location, friendly helpful staff, clean room. Context - British couple mid twenties.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    7.5
    Quite good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Continental breakfast was adequate but very basic The check in person was very arrogant and rather disinterested

    The check out staff were amazing Room was clean linen plentiful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent value and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms and bathrooms were smaller than it appears on the photos on their website, but not a major issue.

    The location was amazing very close to either St James or Museum Stations, easy walking distance to all the major shops like Pitt Street Mall, Queen Victoria Building even China Town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    10
    We were completely tired from our almost 19 hours of flying and they let us into our room about 4 h.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was very satisfied.

    Great food at the restaurant. Very comfortable and relaxing room. The young man at the front desk was beyond helpful in helping us with information about what we needed to do to board our cruise ship. I

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    9.6
    Location was great for us attending a show at the State...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Triple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was next to the lifts and we were woken up by then early which was a bit annoying.

    Location was great for us attending a show at the State Theater. Beautiful decor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    7.1
    Location, walking distance to many attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were not particularly friendly, and the noise from the building works next door was unbelievable, although it did stop at 10.30pm. for the room price paid, there should be double glazing on the windows.

    Location, walking distance to many attractions

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    10
    I'll come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Heritage building, no view-but quiet It was a shame the Lounge' was so quite. I remember it used to busy years ago-why not provide each room with a voucher for a drink or something to encourage patrons to utilise the facilities? The barman was lovely and actually waited for us to finish our drinks before he closed up!

    The room was spotless, we had a sleepin on the first morning & I didn't expect the room to be made as we left our room after 11, but upon our return that night, it was made! Thank you & even the biscuits replaced and my daughters clothes (that she left out), folded neatly on the bed! Happy Hour in the bar is a great for pre dinner drinks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable after resolving the a/c noise issue.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first room allocated to us was rather tired and had an extremely noisy a/c. Eventually we were offered a really lovely newly decorated room.

    We loved the inner city convenience for work. The ambience and building are delightful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    6.7
    Good location take earplugs
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy room; lots of traffic and construction noise.

    The hotel is really well situated and the beds are comfortable but the rooms are tired and the rooms are noisy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    5.8
    The location is perfect but the accommodation needs urgent updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning unit so noisy, could not sleep. Bathroom too small. Concerned about the old lifts. I understand the building is going tobe renovated but in stages. Needs to be done soon.

    Only ate breakfast once. Old fashioned food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant, relaxed, friendly boutique hotel in a great location within the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower head and water pressure were a bit disappointing. Not easy to get in and out of shower. Not big issues, though

    Quiet relaxed small hotel, helpful staff, olde world decor, enjoyable bar and informal eating area. We had a nice view of Hyde park from our particular room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    7.9
    Very handy for CBD, staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Did not like the fact that breakfast was cold on two days, even after asking the waitress to ask the chef to make sure food was hot. Trying to cut bacon with the knife provided was useless. No marmalade for three days was not good & being charged $3.60 for one small sausage was a bit much. Did not appreciate fire alarm going off twice in the night, with no explanation given the next day

    Very handy for CBD, staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    7.1
    We liked the charm of the building when we arrived and had a great sleep in the very comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We found the shower a little awkward to turn on with the way the glass partition was positioned. The lift was smooth but very slow going up and down and showed signs of needing some tlc .

    Bed was extremely comfortable and the hotel location was very convenient for our purposes. The building had a lot of charm.?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    9.2
    Only stayed two nights but felt at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ambiance and decor were a delight. A peaceful place in the heart of Sydney. within reach of shops, markets and transport. All staff were polite and cheery.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    5.8
    not sure if this establishment knows if it is a hotel or bed and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    weird opening hours / days for bar and restaurant means that it feels less than welcoming. Rooms could do with updating, by all means keep the quirky furniture, but those doors have all the soundproofing of a paper tissue

    perfect location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    6.3
    Would not stay here again nor recommend it to a friend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room on top floor. Window old and wouldn't close properly. NO View at all. Property needs a total makeover. The "bathrooms" was created out of closets and extremely narrow.

    Centrally located. Dining room for breakfast was great. Dinner service was terrible.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    6.3
    Good location, staff were nice but rooms & airconneex upgrading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No window to look out or open. It was frosted wire glass & the air con was old and didn’t work very well. The bathroom tiles were also cracked & some were missing.

    The shower was hot & powerful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    7.5
    Location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn’t like that Breakfast was Finished at 9:30, too early on public holiday and weekend The 7:00am start of the jackhammer next door.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    5.8
    Good location but....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was extremely dark. Poor lighting.... Quite small and pretty dated.... The building is old

    Located within the Cbd So handy for shopping and local bus train services etc. . Very busy area as you can expect in the CBD

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    7.5
    Very centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a shame that they didn't invest in double glazing before the building works started!!

    Very centrally located. Easy for shops and close to museum station. 20min walk to circular quay (pretty much in a straight line), close to Hyde park for buses to bondi and coogee. Checked in early and room was ready, yay! Staff are lovely and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: