Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Challis 3 stars

21-23 Challis Avenue, Potts Point, Potts Point, 2011 Sydney, Australia

#110 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1280 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    Not going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress Bathroom way to small No HD shelf in shower Lack of ventilation in bathroom Doors slamming all night And noice from other rooms

    Mattress needs replacing and rooms are very small. No handheld in shower and noice from other rooms not cool. Doors slamming all night very noisy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very small. It had all we needed, but it was really tiny. Also, not all staff members at reception were nice and welcoming.

    Location is great. Potts Point offers a diversity of good dining options, several great breakfast/brunch spots, a cool, relaxing vibe and is rather close to the botanic gardens and other tourist attractions. I loved staying in this area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Proximity to the city and the venue for the function we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was pokey with no views. Shower cubicle too small. Perhaps a queen bed for the size of the room would give more space in the room.

    Proximity to the city and the venue for the function we attended. Overall it suited our purpose. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    just a lovely experience. if ever i were in town, i'll definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the staffs were really helpful in checking in and out. they also provide airport service shuttle which is really convenient for us since our flight is super early in the morning. the location is not too bad since its not too far from the city and allows us a little breathing room, away from the buzzing city. overall, i really enjoyed my stay !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    beautiful clean up market place to stay, excellent high standards and friendly staff
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    where the carpet meet the bathroom there could be a better finish so that guests do not stump the bottom of there feet on the tile edge. could have done with a microwave.

    The room was immaculate, huge size and the bathroom was also huge. excellent accommodation at a very reasonable price. The staff were very customer focused and friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.0
    Very tired and in desperate need of a revamp
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold, drafty, very noisy, tired, shabby old towels, and generally in desperate need of a full revamp. Might be cheaper/quicker to knock down and start again. Staff were nice but this place is old and it really shows.

    Location and water pressure is really the only positive things I can say for this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    2.5
    Not for us- photos of room size deceiving
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were tiny, moved rooms twice. First time, the shower door wouldn’t open (shower door hung incorrectly) and second time moved to a shoe box. A very drafty place to stay as the room out the back (outside) meant the place is open to the wind. Nice place to look at and close to a number of place to eat. But not for us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Great stay overall wish I could of stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably just the stairs from the lift to my room.Even though it wasn't many stairs carrying a heavy suitcase up and down it was quiet a struggle.

    What I liked was the location and the shops and restaurants close by.I also like the balcony as well it was quiet a bonus to have a balcony.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    Adequate but I would likely not stay again unless cost was a real issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was extremely small. The shower door kept bouncing open, allowing steam to accumulate in the room. The air con did not work - it was a very cold night and I slept in my coat. As there was no iron in the room I had to go downstairs and outside to the laundry to iron my outfit. (the iron however was very good.)

    The room was extremely clean with great décor. The reception staffer was very kind and helpful. The room was very quiet. There were tea and coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location but a lodge, not a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we booked a king room based on previous reviews of small sized rooms we found the bathroom tiny. The bathroom door needed repainting and there was a limit on the Wi-Fi use which we weren't aware of prior to our stay. The windows were filthy on the outside spoiling a great view of the Sydney skyline, such A shame.

    The location was good, very close to Kings X Station and public transport. Fully functioning hair dryer was a bonus. The bed was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    Conformable with helpful service and excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to park in a public carpark then walk with my luggage + laptop to the hotel. This was particularly uncomfortable.

    Location of hotel is excellent a really upbeat part of sydney. The arrangements to pay for the public parking were also excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Good location, good value & a comfortable bed!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room wasn't very big & bathroom likewise, but adequate and for the price good value.

    Gorgeous houses converted into a comfortable hotel. Great location with cafes, shops and services. Easy access to the city. Lovely views across the harbour and a nice area to take a walk in. Hotel had a good value airport shuttle service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.8
    Room was cosy, nice bed and close to Kings cross station.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the nicest staff you’ll get at check in - personally it almost verged on rude and apathetic like one other review had mentioned. Rooms are very small and barely enough walking space. Bathroom in general was very small. Shower had minimal pressure and felt more like drizzles of water. We also had a room next to another house and you will definitely hear everything

    Room was cosy, nice bed and close to Kings cross station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Proximity to restaurant shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels are quite hidden from view. Its up on a shelf by the toilet bowl. Shelf too high to reach for children and small people. You have to get up on the toilet seat to reach the towels. No hooks as well to hang the towels. I rang up reception and they immediately gave me towels.

    Proximity to restaurant shops. Safe and secure. Good helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Clean and comfy if very small rooms. Well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The standard rooms are just too small to be fully comfortable. We had to go up and down steps to access the bathroom which was dangerous especially at night. The tea and coffee drawer is above the fridge in the small cupboard and so anything on there gets heated. To make a cup of tea you need to take up the space on the only shelf there which doubles as a small desk. Not much hanging space. No view unless you take a balcony room.

    Charming little hotel excellent location close to wharf precincts and Potts Point/Kings Cross dining out and shopping. Beds are very comfy. Lighting and power points good. Cleanliness is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.0
    My former #1 hotel in Sydney but not anymore
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed here a few times but never had this experience at Hotel Challis. Not only was this room super small but the room needed a good paint and the bathroom door needed replacing. The room was musty and accessed through an external fire escape. The in room wifi was woeful and mobile phone reception poor. There were no drinking glasses in the roo. The bathroom towels were hard and the bathroom amenities disappointing. I was really disatisfied this time round and this experience has motivated me to try elsewhere next trip.

    The location is superb. The staff were fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful building, nice surrounding with neighborhood feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had no room cleaning service during the entire stay. Shower has no good ventliation. Staff is a bit apathetic.

    Beautiful building, nice surrounding with neighborhood feel yet centrally located. Access to fully-equipped gym within 10min walk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent overnight accommodation in compact room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of iron and ironing board.

    The bed was excellent and room and bathroom was very clean and well maintained. Great for one person needing an overnight stay. The room was small but this was no surprise as sq.mt is articulated on booking.com. Not ideal for working as desk and chair are not designed for same. Lots of restaurants and station close by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Fine for a short stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and the steps were precarious as they are narrow.

    The hotel was well located but parking wasn’t easy due to one hour parking restrictions. The room was clean .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    A good stay in Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom sink was licking.

    We have stayed for 4 nights and all the receptionists were very friendly, helpful and smiling. This is a really big plus for the hotel. Very good location within 7-8 minutes walking from the train station, 5 minutes from Hop on - Hop off bus. The small room which we had was indeed small but clean and tidy. Being an old building it is noisy when people speak on the hallway but not such a big inconvenience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel, great value for money, perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    This is my favourite Sydney location. The Hotel is 10/10 and located in a wonderfully central area. Everything you need is within walking distance including the train station. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Safe, clean, comfortable in a quiet but convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Challis was a lovely find. The staff are always warm, welcoming and very helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is great (good cafes nearby, 5-10min walk to Kings Cross station). If you're looking for glamour, go elsewhere but for a good affordable, safe, comfortable hotel I highly recommend the Hotel Challis.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel and part of the Sydney lodges group
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite small so a stay for more than a few days would be challenging. Liked to 300 mb Wi-Fi for a 3 night stay which is unrealistic of you need to work.

    Great location. Friendly small hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    Clean, tidy, and the staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room is advertised as a ‘small double room’- it perhaps under describes how small it is. Not enough room to put bags away and unpack things. Price point for a room that size probably not warranted.

    Clean, tidy, and the staff were friendly. Good location. Can walk to the opera house in about 20 minutes casual pace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean,comfortable, soundproof and safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing could be improved - excellent value for money.

    Coffee shops and eateries close by. The hotel is a beautiful old building decorated to the highest standard which brings out its beauty. Bed was very clean and comfy. Small room but small cost also. Terrific location. Staff very friendly. Reduced fee for car parking. Great stay and great value. Would visit again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    The property is conveniently located within easy walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is conveniently located within easy walking distance of Elizabeth Bay, Woolloomooloo and the City. We had a small double room, and while small, it was well appointed, very comfortable bed and pillows, clean and recently renovated. The staff are pleasant and helpful. I would stay at Hotel Challis again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Hotel Challis
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than I anticipated however had all the essentials (fridge, desk, TV, etc). This room is probably better for only a couple of nights when you've got lots of things planned. I would recommend a larger room for a longer stay.

    The proximity to Potts Point was fantastic and amenities were of a good standard within the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Speed of check-in and check-out, the location and the access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room, not said on the description and the wifi and internet access is data capped...

    Speed of check-in and check-out, the location and the access to an airport shuttle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    I loved the cosy clean room, convenience, the location, cafe's and city were closeby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean, fresh and warm for a chilly night. The building was beautiful, staff were very nice and it was easy to find the place. I will definitely come back again when I want somewhere close tot he city but affordable to stay again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    A great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price but that's expected in Sydney.

    Cute place that's in a great location. Walkable to downtown yet in a great quiet area mins away from great restaurants and convenient stores. Receptionist was lovely and check in fast. Room was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking out the front to allow you to unload bagage etc. I thought room was abit pricey. Very very small room with no veiw from the window.

    Location was good. There was an elevator to get you and the bags to the upper floors.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    The location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was terrible. Also, the property doesn't have parking facilities - when asking the receptionist where to park, she mentioned the hotel had an arrangement with a parking lot, but that "she didn't know how to get there by car". She just said it was called "wilson parking". Turns out all parking facilities in Sydney are apparently called "Wilson", so we ended up parking in the wrong place, very far away. My recommendation is to instruct the staff better on how to reach locations around.

    The location is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    3.3
    Absolutely awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Definitely would not recommend unless you are looking for a really cheap hotel option. The room was so small the two of us could barely fit in it together. Tiny and very old bathroom. The whole hotel looks tired and worn down.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is in a good location just 10minutes walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the small room.It was very small.Just enough room for the bed no space for a suit case.The bathroom was so small that it was really hard to get into the shower.I thought that it was quite pricey for the room size.

    The hotel is in a good location just 10minutes walk from the nearest metro station.Bus to the city centre is just around the corner.The hotel and the room were clean and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    A great location, amenities and parking disappointed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, may I say pokey. The bathroom door closes heavily when you enter exit; difficult if you're in a rush and have hands full to get ready quickly. No tea/coffee facilities. No glass to get water for bedside table, need half a dozen small water bottles/carafe/ small coffee maker. No parking, makes getting luggage in and out an ordeal, parking for hire car is several blocks away. Staff were fine but not actively solving problems, would have been great for information to have been sent to say that a shuttle service existed to make me think twice about the parking etc. Disappointed.

    Great location, central and useful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Started badly, but excellent by the end.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the small room is REALLY small, which is why we upgraded. I wouldn't stay in that room - you couldn't even open the wardrobe as the bed was in the way, and there was no space for the bed to move. The area was also a little 'dodgy' feeling, and I wouldn't want to walk around there at night alone.

    We originally had an absolutely awful, tiny room, but the staff upgraded us (at a discounted rate) to their biggest room which had a balcony. AMAZING for sitting out enjoying the sydney sunshine. Very clean and comfy, which was amazing after 3 weeks backpacking. Very close to the botanic gardens, and just 25 minutes total from the opera house.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Great place to stay for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was located off a courtyard and there were a lot of footsteps early in the morning of people coming and going which woke me earlier than I had planned.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was small but adequate for one person. The location was great for me as I had family staying in a hotel in Woolloomooloo. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Friendly and clean hotel with small but lovely rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows were quite thick and stiff, not the most comfortable. It would have been nice to have complimentary body wash (liquid, rather than just bar soap).

    A lovely compact room. Plenty of space for one (I was traveling alone so was fine) may be a little tight for two. Nice hot shower and fairly convenient location. Staff were very helpful and the airport shuttle was excellent value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.7
    A little on the expensive side for the size of the room but a very pleasant stay, thankyou
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Earlier checkin would be helpful Room and bathroom were tiny, main door won't fully open because of the bed.

    Bed was comfortable and clean Quiet room Great pillows and towels Staff very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Very happy with our choice of hotel in Sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms a bit small but there are a choice of rooms.

    This is a small hotel with no restaurant facilities but there are plenty of great places nearby. The rooms are small but well designed and very clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. We will happily stay again if we can bear the long flight from London to Sydney, probably not then. We do recommend this hotel it is in a lovely building in a quiet street near to good restaurants. Kings Cross station is a short walk to get trains into the centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    The area is a perfect location for business or leisure...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area is a perfect location for business or leisure travelers to Sydney - you get to experience quiet village style living walking distance from Kings Cross station that takes you to Bondi or to the CBD in a matter of minutes. You can also walk to Woolloomooloo wharf in minutes, The Botanical Gardens, The Opera House and Circular Quay! After a busy day exploring, you can sit on the balcony with wine, cheese and crackers from the various artisanal shops on Macleay St. Heaven!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.0
    Decent price for Sydney.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a line of ants crawling out of the bathroom drain. Maybe it's an Australian thing, but the loudest bird I've ever encountered lives somewhere on the premises and WILL wake you before 6am.

    Decent price for Sydney. The short walk from Kings Cross train station is only moderately sketchy at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice but small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the room was really quite small...especially for the price.

    We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. Great location, very helpful prior to our visit as they sent travel details to get to them. Location was good. Lovely walk through the botanical gardens to the bridge and opera house. Room was cleaned everyday. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel overall, walls a bit thin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism is that you can literally hear everything from outside (we were on the ground floor, outside area) and from the neighbours. while not a problem during the day or even at night (luckily our neighbours went to sleep early), we were woken up every morning very early by other people. Overall recommended but bring some ear plugs

    We had a lovely stay at the hotel. The staff were very nice and a big advantage for us was the fact that we could check out during the night (which was necessary due to very early flights). Even though it was small, the room had everything you would need. The room and bathroom were very clean. The location is very good, probably about 10 mins walk to the train station. Plenty of restaurants and coffee shops around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money and excellent location. We would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was small and ergonomically challenged, e.g. very small wash basin and large tap! We are of average size and felt a little confined in the bathroom: I could not recommend it for larger folk.

    Great location for Harbour Bridge/Opera House and also the excellent Botanical Gardens. Room was quite small but was fine. It was well serviced and immaculately clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice boutique hotel, good location and price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room and bathroom - ok for a short stay. No breakfast on site, but café nearby.

    Nice boutique hotel, good location and price. Rooms nicely decorated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Hotel challis is a lovely boutqique hotel, in a great location with friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only reason I marked it a fraction down on facilities is that there is no onsite parking. But that’s common for the Potts Point area, and I did find a free street park about 500m away!

    Love the boutique style to this hotel, it’s not like every other high rise hotel - beautiful building and divine high ceilings inside! Beautiful property!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good and clean in general, great location and will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    It would have been nice to have had more detail known about the room before booking it because the room had no views and effectively was the attic. This meant the room was warm to hot all the time, we did leave the air-conditioner on all the time to stay cool, the A/C remote batteries needed replacing. The tissue box was emptied and never replenished with a new one. We stayed for over a week and I don't think our bed sheets was replace once during this time, I would of hated to have stayed here any longer due to this. House keeping started work in our general area between 3pm to 4:30pm, a tad late in the afternoon, most hotels have the house keeping finish at 2:30pm. Couldn't help but over hear other gusts asking if breakfast was available, we asked as well - this was a tad bit disappointing.

    The location is brilliant, all staff are extremely friendly and went out of their way to assist us, all up the motel was clean and we will defiantly stay again. It was great having a lift as well as the stairs option to get to your room. Clean towels every day, brilliant. Would recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a great location for sightseeing and eating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small, but it didn’t matter too much because we were out and about most of the day. No other complaints.

    The beds were very comfortable, the room was cute and nicely air conditioned, free wifi, great central location to walk to many attractions, many incredible restaurants and cafes close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were checked into a room someone else was in (it was after 10, so a little embarrassing) Nowhere to fill our 1.5l water bottle - couldn’t fit under taps, water filler too clunky. No other running water on the property. Booked 1230 shuttle bus - didn’t arrive til 1245, dtiver said there is no 1230 bus🙁

    Great location. Comfortable beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Stylish, comfortable hotel in Potts Point
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was slightly on the small side but fine for a one night stay.

    Clean cosy room with a comfortable bed. Good tea and coffee facilities in room. Apples and biscuits available. PC and printer access.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    The location good, probably 15 minutes walk from the Rocks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location good, probably 15 minutes walk from the Rocks where hotel prices are much more expensive. The is good selection of eateries nearby and we had a excellent outside breakfasts at a Restaurant 3 doors away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Fridges need upgrading!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    FRIDGE didn't work properly so we couldn't even keep the milk cold. I booked three rooms ( two for three nights and 1 for two nights) One of the three night stay with balcony and the 2 night stay with balcony. My balcony room was fine, but the other was so small that you couldn't even open the fridge fully as the bed was in the way. We did have a conversation with the desk staff regarding the fridges not working correctly but they just said it was normal. I not think that it is normal to have warm milk out of the fridge.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    4.6
    Unenjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the Hotel Room was dated, small, the bed was made with torn linen that did not seem clean. We opened the door and it slammed into the wardrobe. I could not sit at the desk because the chair did not come out enough for me to sit on without hitting the bed. (I am only 160 cm tall and weigh 56 kilos). I had to stand on the bed to let my husband through to the bathroom. Thank goodness it was only for one night. I found this room extremely expensive for what we got.

    Totally enjoyed the area surrounding Potts Point.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.3
    Simple stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were abrupt at times. Room slightly dated in places and despite being a small double, very little room for movement.

    Room was as expected and comfortable. Entrance lounge was nice as was complimentary toiletries. Bed was made nicely daily.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.8
    Good location but very small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a standard room, which is simply too small and uncomfortable. For the price, we did not expect such small room.

    The location is really good, very easy to get around. The Challis Avenue is a beautiful street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Excellent service, quality and location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only wish I booked earlier to get a better room type as I usually stay on the top floors. Room was still lovely though.

    The staff were so friendly and made the stay even more enjoyable! I've stayed before and it's my favourite property for location, boutique feel about styling and now staff! :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Awesome, close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome, close to everything! Walk to Botanical Gardens and Opera House, plenty of restaurants to try and close to train station 😃 lovely accommodation!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable. We had a room with balcony and enjoyed sitting out watching the street scene. The hotel is nicely decorated - modern and clean. Lovely sitting room by reception. The location was excellent - close to train and to major sights. Easy to obtain other transportation - Uber, taxi, airport shuttle. Close to a variety of restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Potts Point location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent Potts Point location. Good concept of hotel, with nicely decorated and comfortable rooms. The balcony was a nice touch where I could sit outside and smell the fragrant trees.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    the location is super.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was tinny...barely room for two bags to unpack! Old and clean...but nothing glamorous

    the location is super...VERY close to the parks and downtown

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location, close to everything, room was tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    FRIDGES needs to be upgraded as it didn’t keep anything cold and could be bigger, we couldn’t fit a six pack n a bottle of wine in it. We booked 3 rooms and none of the fridges worked properly. We did speak to the manager regarding the problem.

    Great location, close to everything, room was tidy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    Lovely, thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated in a charming area with a beautiful walk through the botanical gardens to the Opera house and circular quay. The bed was comfy, and I’m glad I opted for a balcony room, as space around the bed was ‘tight’ Staff were friendly and the bed was super comfy- the shower room was prone to flooding, but the pressure and temperature were both excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Great location Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a little gem, booked very last minute and had never stayed in this area before. We loved it, caught the train from the airport, transferred at central to Kings Cross. Just all too easy. Bed was very comfortable, the room was small as was the bathroom but as we were there less than 24 hours it was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were initially given a room with a wall in front of the window even though I had booked more than 3/12 ago. When I complained we were allocated a much better positioned room in the same price category.

    Location is great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    A really good budget hotel, highly recommended for those who don’t creep expectations on price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, good pricing, stayed in a smalller room, but expected at the price. A good property on all fronts and at the price exceeded expectations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.1
    Boutique hotel relatively walking distance from the Sydney...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff at the reception was not very friendly. Prepare for very small room with no space to put your luggage. Hotel is next to school so if your room face that side prepare for early morning noise.

    Boutique hotel relatively walking distance from the Sydney center and Opera house. Room was clean and bed comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    A very comfortable, convenient and affordable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Option to dine in my room (eg take in service) after a busy business day. Bathroom a bit cramped for space.

    Price good, onsite Business Centre very convenient. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Quiet room. Staff helpful with my queries.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Compact but pleasent room. Staff really need to cheer up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not very friendly at all and didn’t even look up from the desk as you passed through reception. Certainly seemed like they didn’t want to be there.

    Really comfy beds, lovely building and decor, good laundry facilities, nice local neighbourhood with plenty of restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    The room was nice and the bed & pillows were heaps...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking facilities, there wasn't any unless we drove 800 metre's down the road.

    The room was nice and the bed & pillows were heaps comfortable, location was excellent and we ate just up the street from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    Overall good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too far from circular Quay which is where most amenities seem to happen. Thirty minute walk up and down steep steps. The alternative is to take the tube.

    Comfort and cleanliness.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    Fine for a short stay to explore the city. Not many restaurants in local vicinity & a bit of a walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Size of the bedroom/bathroom very small, although spotless. Not much wardrobe/hanging space

    Launderette at Hotel available to use for a few pounds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Great price and location, the bathroom however was not the greatest, very clean but a strange design
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could pretty much hear every sound from the street and from the hallways. Also the bathroom floor level was not risen for the shower so the water just spread across the floor, right up to the toilet!

    The location was fantastic and the service from the staff was extremely friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Relaxing & very quiet at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was serviced without replacing milk, coffee, tea & cups & glasses wern't washed or replaced.

    Friendly & helpful reception staff. Loved the location close to fantastic restuarants & walking distance to opera house.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were recently redone, the bathroom floor in a small room were a bit uneven and would soak the bath mat and entire floor every time one would shower - but the place was beautiful regardless of the bathroom!

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location with public transport close by and easy to walk most places.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: