Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chifley On South Terrace 3.5 stars

226 South Tce, Adelaide CBD, 5000 Adelaide, Australia

#68 of 93 hotels in Adelaide

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1254 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    Room size was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities are getting tired. Curtains failed to close; lighting was poor; bathroom needed a makeover. Parking was very tight.

    Room size was great. Close to city and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Good low cost option in Adelaide
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Looking out towards the park is over a narrow verandah which is a bit grimy - probably need more regular cleaning or repainting. Rooms must soon be due for a refresh.

    Good value for money, comfortable room, pleasant view of the park

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    friendly staff, but a few disappointments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was not overly clean, and I didn't like that we were only provided with 2 towels. The fridge also froze everything we put above the bottom shelf.

    The staff were fantastic very helpful and friendly, location close to a few great shops and easy access to the city, Glenelg and southern suburbs of Adelaide.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    This was an OK hotel room for business travel, with friendly and helpful staff and good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room fit out is quite spartan - it doesn't include plates, and there is no mini bar or anything in the fridge.

    Room was comfy, fine for business travel, and was good value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Our room was nice and clean.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just wished they would update the photos online because we got a shock when we opened the doors and the room wasn't as fancy and new as the pictures we saw online. It was still nice and clean and for the price we paid for yeah we understand but it just took us by surprise that it didn't match what we saw when we made the booking that's all. Still loved it!

    Our room was nice and clean. It was very spacious and could fit two extra singles in there. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and our room is always made-up when we return from our event. Fresh towels and etc everyday. I would definitely stay there again and i recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    Position was great on South Terrace and free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very run down for the cost and bathroom was not clean, hair from previous guests still in bath tub. ☹️

    Position was great on South Terrace and free parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    4.2
    Very hard to enter as they were working on the lifts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard to enter as they were working on the lifts.. No hot cooked breakfast... Rooms old and tired with furniture stained.. there was mould around hand basin and shower cubical... Staff were grumpy...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    A comfortable stay close to the CBD.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind. It will be nice to have the guest lift on our next visit!

    Our room was very quiet which was great as my husband is having medical treatment. We have been staying at the Chifley a number of times over the past few months and it has always been good. Rooms are spacious and clean, the bed is very comfortable, shower excellent. We were at the end of the building on the third floor so had a lovely view of the park.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    I liked the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasnt a folder with local restaurants listed get TA food while the restaurant is closed, there was a ritzy magazine that listed the high end restaurants I didn't know what number to dial to get reception . A spare power point near the bed would be good to charge my phone all the points were used for lights and clock which are necessary but I have audio books to listen to so needed the phone near the bed....there was no guaranteed parking ...

    I liked the location The room and bathroom were a good size The pool is great there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Average room with a below average service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not friendly at all. I felt like I was an annoyance and not a customer.

    Good location for catching the tram to Glenelg or the free tram to the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location,comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was VERY tired, around the basin and shower area does need attention. We thought the bathroom needs a makeover.

    The bed was comfy, room was big enough. Towels were good. Will be great when the new lift is going.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    We found the hotel fine in most respects.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Taking too long to get the lift fixed, although the work was under way when we were there.

    We found the hotel fine in most respects. Very helpful when my wife became ill (through no fault of theirs).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was maintenance work being done in the hotel at 6:50am on Saturday morning, near our room. We were woken by a saw and a hammer. I’ve never had that at a hotel before, would have been great for them to wait until after 8am perhaps and allow guests to sleep.

    Loved the view of the park from our balcony. Just lovely to see.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.0
    Great location but in need of much some TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be fair, they are renovating so the lift was very dodgey and you had to walk through the old kitchen etc to get to it. But, the main issue was our room was very smelly, to the point we asked to be relocated. There was no drinking water in the fridge and no bikkies to have with your cup of tea.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Extremely friendly staff, overall room was great
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the dust under the bed , the electrical wires exposed next to bed , the toilet flush button was extremely hard to push ,my wife couldn't flush the toilet

    Extremely friendly staff, overall room was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    Convenient to where I needed to be.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts were not working and it sounded like they were working on them overnight. Lots of banging noises.

    Convenient to where I needed to be. Being able to book on line

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    good location
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no restaurant facilities available to guests - but available to groups!! needing to walk thru kitchen to use services lift while guest lift being fixed - I realise this is a temporary measure but takes the shine off in the mean times we ended up staying for two weeks while husband was in hospital and although asked was not considered for a discount

    location car parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    4.6
    not much to like - location was OK but the hotel was poor
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over all very dated - lift was broken, kitchen closed, dingy appearance, shower was terrible - too low and could not get decent flow or temperature. Car parking spaces were too small and half the car park was closed off

    not much to like - location was OK but the hotel was poor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.3
    Very convenient position for our appointment
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioner did not work on heat, Lots of construction happening at the time not causing too much interuption, lift awkard. Passage carpets stained

    Bed very comfortable. Parking very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Chifley is the Best
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Full marks to a great property!! From check in to check out nothing was too much for the staff. Friendly, knowledgeable, and professional. To Rodney, Christine, and all the other staff, I say "Thanks for a great stay"!! I will return!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.3
    The room was clean but the general feel was it was dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in need of modernisation. The main lift was out of action for the days we were there, which could be a problem for some guests.

    The location was fine with lots of facilities nearby. The tram service is also close this free service gives one access to all city facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    BEDS WERE COMFY BUT THE REVAMP THAT IS IN PROGRESS WAS A BIT...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE LIFT SITUATION WITH THE REVAMP --UNCOMFORTABLE BUT I KNOW IT HAS TO BE DONE AS THE OLD LIFT WAS EVER SO SCARY.

    BEDS WERE COMFY BUT THE REVAMP THAT IS IN PROGRESS WAS A BIT DISCOMRTING ESPECIALLY WITH THE LIFT SITUATION..ANY IMPROVEMENT ON THE OLD LIFT WILL BE A BONUS.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    One night stay.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that it was a cold breakfast not hot breakfast. Eg. No bacon or eggs etc just cereal and toast and yogurt and fruit etc. The bathroom didn't have exahust fans. The air conditioner heater didn't heat the room properly. The lift was out of order. Had to go through kitchen to get to the other lift.

    The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    5.8
    The bed was comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no designated parking, it's a public parking lot. The lift was out of order and the service lift was very scary sounding. Showers were very low, had to duck under it and bathrooms are very old

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    comfortable, clean, nice surrounding area, city skyline views, peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon check in I was asked for my drivers license to verify my identity,however I didn’t like the fact that hotel staff photocopied it and stated that it was a condition as per booking.com In an age of identity theft I was very uncomfortable with this and will seriously consider any further bookings . The shower head was positioned slightly lower than the norm, so I had to crouch down in order to wash my hair.

    The room was serviced daily and all was clean. The availabilty of on-site car parking. The location was nearby parks, tram line , etc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.8
    Basic
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, had to walk through the kitchen because was out of order No food offerings except breakfast Builders drilling early in the morning

    Reception was nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    Still adequate for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were unware of any of the renovations or closures at the time of booking.

    Currnetly very good value for a city location...but the hotel is generally tired but is in the process of being renovated. As a result the lift was closed, with guests using the service elevator accessed through the currently closed kitchen. Restaurant facilities were provided by an adjacent hotel. Car parking was limited as part of the car park was closed resulting in street parking for us on occassions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Car park is an absolute nightmare to park.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park is an absolute nightmare to park. Cars not parking in in their parks taking up 2. Lift not working had to use lift in kitchen area. No meals at night in hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.3
    Comfortable beds and great pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the room was very old and dirty. Bed was short sheeted my feet kept touching the elastic from the mattress protector. The very old lift was so noisy and our room was right next to it.

    Comfortable beds and great pillows

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Jan at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole of the complex needs updating which I realise will be very costly,hallway carpets don’t look clean,hot water was a issue in the shower for the first 2 days but appeared to be fixed when issue was raised with the front desk thank you

    Jan at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. She managed to organise a early check in time for us which was greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.4
    Great location, friendly staff, terrible facilities, needs further renovations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking terrible - limited number spaces, dark, wet, dirty Breakfast poor - limited options, no eggs etc, poor quantity and type of fruit, coffee terrible, mismatched cutlery Lift not working - many, many stairs or service lift (through kitchen) - small, old, felt unsafe Bathroom - mouldy, rusty Linens - clean and changed daily, but had holes and rips in sheet Airconditioner - smelt terrible so could not use Remoter control - filthy Floor smelt strongly of new paint

    Staff were friendly and location was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking area didn’t feel safe (low light and dingy) and it was very small. The rooms were dated and the construction work was noisy and inconvenient.

    Location was good. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    Elevator is old, slow and jumps at each floor, door opens...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator is old, slow and jumps at each floor, door opens whilst in motion. Limited selection for breakfast, no hot food. Car park was closed so had to park 5 mins walk down the road.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    The cleaning was not up to standard, hairs from previous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning was not up to standard, hairs from previous occupants found all through the bathroom, and no parking spaces after been given a parking pass.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Well positioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast stopped at 930 and the lady was a bit pushy to get us out. The elevator stopped operating at 11pm-6am so our late arrival was not ideal.

    Well positioned. Antique style hotel. The phones on the wall were really fun to see

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    The quirky decore and random design sense made me love this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were outdated and unappealing and beds weren’t to comfortable.

    The quirky decore and random design sense made me love this place. I am thankful to have stayed here. The song that comes to mind when I walked in the door was hotel California by the eagles.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay full of comforts of home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, all was good

    Great place to stay, only small problem was lift was being fixed. Service was great BED WAS FANTASTIC Nice big room with everything supplied Super value for money and I will certainly stay there again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Reasonable, comfortable and clean if outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel decor in the rooms is a bit old fashioned but everything worked. Shower over bath really just too dangerous. Must have separate when upgraded.

    Good pool for summer. Nice and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Felt like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking in the rain was inconvenient and would have loved a hot chocolate option available in the tea/coffee selection.

    The staff were friendly, helpful and polite. Regardless of early or late in the day, the staff greeted me like I was royalty or family. Travelling alone, I felt safe and confident arriving at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was quite small .As a older person the shower over the bath can be a problem.

    The room was well presented, the bed was very comfortable.We had a room overlooking a park. The room had a iron and ironing board . Close to bus and tram stops to go into the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable bed, spacious room, good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door to verandah could be pushed open when locked, parking is a pain, lighting in room very dim, photos made room look nicer than it was

    Comfortable bed, spacious room, good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    A nice comfortable stay within easy reach of the city CBD.
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dvd player but not really important as we had books.

    Our room was spacious and quiet, the decor nice, the bed very comfortable, the kitchenette facilities very good. It was also very clean as was the bathroom. We have booked the same room for future stays.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.2
    A convenient location but there are other better motels for the same value in good locations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception area and hall ways have been "upgraded" ... it looks cheap and tacky ... there seems to have been an increase in the rate per night yet the rooms are very aged and stuffy and the beds are saggy/soft

    I like the location of the Chifley

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money, but the Chifley has lost some of its shine.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't as I remembered it from previous visits.

    Its been a while since I last visited the Chifley and it seems that time has not been friendly. Memories of a warm and friendly bar, with the piano playing in the evenings, seems to be just that now, memories. The hotel looks like its struggling to find its place. Breakfast was very limited, unless one walked to another hotel down the road, however given the great rate for staying, I guess one has to remember that one gets what one pays for.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable hotel within walking distance to restaurants and the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the second stay at the hotel and a good improvement. Bed was comfortable and property - although dated and well in need of a solid refurb - was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    3.8
    Foyer presents beautifully.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room tacky. Bed not made well . Curtains ripped and hooks missing. bathroom tacky. Overall a feeling of uncleanness in the room

    Foyer presents beautifully. Parking provided and cheap. Free Wi-Fi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Lobby has been beautifully re done with modern furniture etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little bit of a walk to the center of town - about 20 minutes, we didn't mind but might be something for others to keep in mind.

    Lobby has been beautifully re done with modern furniture etc. Rooms are clean and beds comfy but it will go up a notch once the room furnishings match the lobby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Usually a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Luke warm shower and the shower gel and shampoo tubes had already been opened.

    I love staying at the Chifley, its all I need in a hotel. I hate having to complain.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.8
    The staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn’t work properly, the lift was broken down on arrival. Promised a park view, got a car park view.

    The staff were friendly. Room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.6
    Definitely do not recommend and would never stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet come out of the bathroom basin the shower was mouldy, the floor looked gross with stains and the bed sheets and blankets were stained and very uncomfortable.

    Lobby looks awesome and welcoming

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.4
    Needs an overhaul
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusty areas, the bathroom was very shabby and mouldy the rubber mat was mouldy. There is no facilities in the fridge apart from portions of long life milk and water glasses with no water. Tea and coffee making facilities but no biscuits. There was a sign to say if you require anything ( normal expected items ) you can go to the front desk to purchase. I’ve never seen this before. There was a continental breakfast but no option for a cooked one. I’m afraid that’s our last visit.

    There wasn’t a lot

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Quiet comfy rooms. Close to city trams and plenty of parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was pretty basic, but the food that was there was good.

    Clean room, good size, plenty of parking and a short walk to the free tram to North Terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Welcoming, efficient Reception. Spacious room, big bed. Lovely to have parklands just opposite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to have tv replaced as we could not get a signal on the first one. It was replaced swiftly by Rodney (Reception) and he set it up. Asked for quiet room but there was a family next door with young children. View not great at rear of property. Bathroom could do with a paint job.

    We were upgraded to a King bed room. Spacious bedroom with 2 bucket lounge chairs and table. Fridge not filled with goodies that are not required. Hot water in shower. Good internet connection free of charge. Close to Parklands.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Was upgraded to room 222 which was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was upgraded to room 222 which was great. However people using the stairs overnight and noisy elevator made it almost impossible to get some decent sleep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant enough but maybe better during quiet periods if u want a decent sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One big adjoining balcony ment we could hear our neighbors talking all night. Very small parking area

    Great location, especially with a young child, across the road is a lovely playground

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.8
    Needs a complete face lift not value for money bathrooms old breakfast very basic as well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really run down especially for the money you pay. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone. It needs a complete face lift.

    The location was good and parking was very handy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    The property suited our needs, reasonably priced on special, staff were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift is not available between 11 pm and 5.30 am, unless special request made to reception. Shower over bath - adequate but not desirable. The property is clean, however tired. The door to the balcony does not open very far. Small balcony, would not be able to sit out there.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location to the Coopers Ale House for our party was a brief walk. Two double beds in the room. Spacious room. Wardrobe space. Parking for $5. Good lighting in bathroom for makeup application. Felt safe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable close to town and things close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go to the hotel down the road for a meal, or an espresso coffee in the morning, because th room service had a surcharge of five dollars added.

    An aging five star hotel which was inexpensive and suited me perfectly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Great price and comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Is an old hotel that has been renovated but still feels slightly old (still all of the old bathrooms and mod-cons in the rooms). Is away from the centre of town but a quick taxi or tram ride in.

    Great price and comfy beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    We were happy with our accomodation and would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Park Lane Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No Complaints

    I liked how big the Suite was. I also liked the safety rail in the Bath. A big plus that was. Location to restuarants, public transport were great also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    It was a comfortable quiet stay and I would stay there again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift was a bit wonky and the night porter was a robot. My daughters tried to phone me on the hotel phone at about 6 pm as my mobile battery was v low and no one answered.

    Room was large, décor nice, no fancy pillows etc on bed (which annoy me because what do you do with them), bathroom clean, no traffic or residential noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Extremely comfortable and nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a restaurant for an evening meal

    The room which we had was vey nice, big and comfortable. We did have a problem with the air conditioner but that was very quickly resolved. Very happy with facilities, especially the laundry which we used.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Exceeded expectations and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to hang clothes in the wardrobe because of the direction of the hanging rails I used the drawers instead

    Breakfast was included and I wasn't aware of this until check in and that came as a nice surprise. We stayed 5 nights and evidently that is why.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, quiet and adequate amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for lactose free milk received soy. No lactose free spreads. Could have served a scoop of nuttlex. Plenty of customers have dietary requirements

    Very comfortable, quiet and adequate amenities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the lifts Springs popping out of the mattress Fights at 3am Stairs so noisy Should not have rooms put near lifts and stairs Definitely not worth 135$

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Convenient stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the room is outdated. But for the price that we paid, we were happy with it. If you just need a place to stay, shower and be near the city and is very affordable then consider this place.

    It was affordable,walking distance to the tram stop where we can hop on for free to go to city and back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    The Chiffley is a good value for money Hotel in a quite location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall we enjoyed our 5 night stay at the Chiffley in a self contained appartment. The Cleanliness of the furniture was unsatisfactory when we arrived very late. The black furnishings were very stained as there was no cleaning products or detergent provided we were unable to improve the situation ourselves. We were offered a room change but given we were very tired and partially unpacked we declined. The issue was sorted out ourselves the following day. It would be good to have a supply of detergent on hand for occupants to use during the duration of their stay, this would also benefit house staff. Would we stay at the Chiffley again .. yes we would no problems.

    We loved the fluffy towels and basic daily servicing. The views out to the city and the Adelaide Hills is very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.2
    The stay was not very enjoyable and would not recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Lift was noisy and scary. The carpet in the passage smelt and was dirty. The ironing board broken. The Phone didnt work. The light didnt work The shower tap dripped This list could go on

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.8
    Has seen better days
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs some TLC. I have stayed a couple of times before but this time was disappointing. Chipped paintwork, broken facilities (a/c controller, clothes line over bath, clock radio situation). There was a charge for parking that wasn't revealed until check in. Staff not particularly welcoming either.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location, amazing value for money!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and the lift to get up stairs were a little outdated, the air con wasn’t very cold

    Location was excellent, staff were very friendly, room was huge and comfortable! Value for money!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    A good , basic accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound deadening between rooms was poor. Just shows the age of the building. Basic breaky . If you want a cooked breakfast you must go elsewhere. Shower leaked badly.

    Clean and comfortable room and bed. Good sized room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony is common, running through perimeter of the building without any privacy between rooms. There are no chairs there to sit and u can’t really admire the view from your room as it s common balcony and someone might walk by your windows. Reception didn’t provide enough information on our arrival and in general the service didn’t meet our expectations.

    Good location Bed was good Nice view to the park from the balcony

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing. Very run down and tired. No private balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were very run down and tired looking. The room smelt of mild sewerage and quite unpleasant, and we suspected the toilet required replacement. We had cause to complain to staff re after hours noise / parties being held in neighbouring rooms and although they spoke with involved parties, it did not cease behaviour. Further complaints failed to result in any action, and we lost a lot of sleep.

    The staff were friendly and generally helpful. The breakfast offered for $11 per person is continental and fairly basic, but okay value for money. When pastries etc ran out they weren't replenished very quickly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel has become "tired" and is in urgent need of an upgrade.

    Hotel has a good position as a base to explore Adelaide city and surrounding area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    Value for money but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked king room, bed was 2 small mattresses pushed together and made up as one. Very uncomfortable. Elevator was unsettling and old.

    Lovely, helpful staff. Great location for city. Nice views. Pool was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: