Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of YTI Garden Hotel 3.5 stars

378 Little Bourke St, 3000 Melbourne, Australia

#285 of 474 Holiday rentals in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1485 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    Location, free internet, on the cheaper side
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, inconsistency of service, key cards often don't work, some of the staff wasn't very helpful, wobbly beds, no microwave.

    Location, free internet, on the cheaper side

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Would love to come back again for the good location and the reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no door in my shower room so the bathroom floor can be all wet after a shower. My room sometimes smells like a restaurant, not sure if the smells is from the restaurant near me or our neighbors next door.

    I like how we got a tiny kitchen and some tableware to use. The staffs are very friendly and helpful too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.2
    YTI needs serious updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    YTI needs serious updating to be charging those rates The bedspreads were smelly and broken Bed very uncomfortable Floor not clean - our white socks were black

    Location and surrounding Restaurants

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is a bit old as there is a sound from the floor when walking. might need some renovation. the bed for the single bed is too soft. not so comfortable.

    Great location. easy to locate. near a train station and others amenities. value for money. and staffs are quite friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff were all really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a fraction small.

    The staff were all really friendly and helpful. The room was basic but clean and fine. The location is brilliant. I’ve stayed there before and will stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issues was the bathroom did seem unclean purely because the tiles looked and felt dirty at the touch... and considering we have to shower in there it didn’t feel clean. Grouting should be done. The other issue was noise, not from the city but neighbors. Walls are a little too thin and can hear walking, talking n thumping etc.

    The location of the hotel was perfect. Right in the city centre, close to everything the city has to offer. Shops, restaurants and transport etc. Loved that we always had clean towels n beds done daily. Thank you

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    For the convenience, I would stay here again, the staff were both friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window in our bathroom wouldn't stay open. The bed was a little hard, but for the price and location it was good.

    The hotel is in the perfect position. Hardware Lane is right next door, great dumpling places down the street and close to the free trams and Bourke Street Mall.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Satisfying
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It would be great if there is a microwave in the room. The space of the room is decent. The price is average for the size of the room. But overall it is a satisfying experience!

    The location of the hotel is very good. The toilet is clean. The shop next door to the right is the famous Blok M, a halal Indonesian restaurant. It is also very convenient to have a place to cook in the room. Buying groceries fresh from the QV market and cook on your own is a more satisfying experience when coming in to Melbourne and exploring the city through its food!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit run down, but everything worked ok and the price matches the quality.

    Location is excellent - so close to shopping areas and excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location and accepted facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was much smaller than it appeared on the booking. The furniture was old although it was in a good condition.

    Location is magnificent. Near everything in Melbourne CBD. It was quiet safe.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic. Not too clean. Under beds was gross. Price list for breakables extortionate. $1500 if you damage TV - would cost $300 to replace max. Bedside lamp didn't work - cost to replace that $100. Would cost $20 in Kmart. Check everything works / is there and mention it straight away so you're not held responsible. Shower soaked the bathroom floor completely - bath mat was useless.

    Location. Beds were comfy. Pressure on shower was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is a tad small and the floor isn't carpeted ..

    While it isn't the flashest place the beds were very comfortable and the shower was excellent (water pressure). The location is perfect for shopping, footy etc in the heart of Melbourne

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Central location - good for foodies
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it was supposed to be non-smoking, someone had obviously been smoking out the window and the smell lingered in the room. The fan for the bathroom was also pretty useless.

    The location is great for walking around the CBD with plenty of great food and cafes nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    Happy with my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    All O.K.

    Excellent location. Staff very helpful. I left my bag & coat with reception early before I booked in later in the day. The studio on the 4th floor was very clean & spotless. Good natural light into the room. Excellent sleep because there was NO traffic noise from outside in Little Bourke street. Overall very happy & will stay here again. I would recomend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Great for travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv only had radio stations on it so nothing to watch and when the room would get cleaned - it looked very rushed with some days the bin being unlined again or items fallen out of the fridge.

    The location was fantastic for the price - the bed was comfortable and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    We couldn't have stayed in a better place as far as value for money goes.
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There could have been some more drinking glasses , cutlery, a can opener , a colander , coffee mugs.

    We stayed on the 2nd floor and the room even though small had all we needed. It was perfect for the 2 of us. The staff were very helpful and pleasant hosts. Location near Elizabeth Queen and Burke streets was amazing with great price. Highly recommend to all !!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    Easy and inexpensive trip to Melbourne for a conference
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Older but very comfortable room. Kitchen facilities in the room at that price is phenomenal! The location was unbeatable too, close to Melbourne's best coffee, etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    3.8
    The room was lacking cleanliness don't think the blinds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location was good

    The room was lacking cleanliness don't think the blinds had ever been dusted along with the furniture stove was disgusting rooms being used for storage and we were told we couldn't use them (but we had paid for the unit ) even though it said guest parking none was available had to park around the corner and pay, and was charged more than stated. The lights kept blowing first night we had a small mirror light for the bathroom the toilet only had a vanity mirror light, they replace the globes but others blew as quick as they changed them overall very poor and would never stay there again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Location is fairly central to CBD and Southern Cross railway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little noisy at times.

    Location is fairly central to CBD and Southern Cross railway station. It is also close to a lot of cafes and eating establishments. However if you have a car be mindful that the hotel is on a one way round which means you will need to approach it via the Elizabeth Street/Little Bourke Street intersection. Security is good, shower has a decent flow and Reception very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Convenient location and value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small reception, but ideally located close to everything. The hotel needs to be re-furbished, but the staff are friendly and very helpful. We did find a roach running into the suitcase. It is a bit noisy as well, but no more than many rooms in the CBD.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Very convenient for all amenities. Quiet and comfortable for a solo, elderly traveller!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea & Coffee available was good but how about a biscuit when you arrive, tired and needing a nibble!!!

    The bed was comfy with extra pillows and blanket available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    4.2
    It was terrrible ......
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The state of rooms was disgusting ,got new room . No better , lamp shades taped on to hold it together . No Hot Water in morn to shower , no phone to call reception Then not to be believed about hot water, no heater either . Was frozen as came out cold shower in morn ... not good enough....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    4.2
    Good location, bad rooms and service
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small with untight windows, and dirty with dust on corners, and mold in the bathroom sink, room service was sloppy. Quite noisy.

    Location was OK.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely fantastic value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. We got what we paid for. Next time might spend a little more to stay in a nicer room (aesthetics) if I was staying for more than 2 nights.

    Stayed in the $90/nt room Clean room with ensuite and bar fridge, tea and coffee Amazing location for $ Friendly staff $22 for 24 hours of parking included in stay in Melbourne CBD!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    overall good experience, but the broken windows were a bit scary
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was only one thing that could have been better about my stay, and that would have been if I could lock the windows, the lock on both bedroom and bathroom were broken so I had to try to sleep knowing the windows were unlocked, it was also hard to block out the outside noise as I could not close the windows all the way.

    The hotel was fine for my needs, as I only needed somewhere to sleep and shower, the bed was comfy too! The staff were very friendly and welcoming also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    4.2
    Would not recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Heater did not work. No insulation. No sound proofing. Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper due to fights in lane way beside building, rubbish trucks, delivery vans, noise from the hotel plumbing that seems to run through the wall behind the bed and a multitude of other disturbances in the night. Better still, stay somewhere else. There are plenty of budget rooms in Melbourne nicer than here.

    Location handy to the city. Good shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, easy to go anywhere in City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room’s facilities are a little bit old. The room has too limited space to tidy up our own luggages.

    Great location, easy to go anywhere in City. 900 meters from Southern cross station where you can take Sky bus to the airport. Good for value. Has kitchen to do easy cook.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Great value in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small and very basic but it has everything you need in good condition.

    Excellent location around the corner from great restaurants in Hardware Lane, and close to shops and transport. The room was quiet despite it’s central location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit noisy with garbage/bottle collection trucks just outside first thing in the morning, but was awake anyway, and that is what you get in the city. Not much other street noise though.

    Loved the location. Many great restaurants and cafes just around the corner or down the road. Very close to Bourke St Mall and Melbourne Central.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location in the CBD, crazy comfy bed and pillows,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was over a laneway and was a little noisy as people left pubs etc, shower was acceptable but could have been cleaner

    Great location in the CBD, crazy comfy bed and pillows, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent experience, great value of the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the street from 2100hr onwards, even though we were on the 4th floor still could hear it so loud!

    The beds and the pillow were super comfortable!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location and value for money
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment was clean, though a little extra care on behind the bathroom door and on the window shade would have been good. Toiletries, toilet paper and dishwashing liquid, needed to be topped up, or spare made available in the room.

    Comfy bed, good decor and not too squeezy as a twin room. Excellent value for money and great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    The location is great, close to trams, air bus drop off and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can hear literally everything from outside. The windows need replacing badly. Hotel is a little ran down and could do with a little spruce. Black out curtains and / or curtains big enough to cover windows would be good, mine was letting light in and consequently waking me up earlier than I would have liked :)

    The location is great, close to trams, air bus drop off and CBD. The Wifi is awesome here, despite me being on a higher floor I never had any troubles.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    4.6
    avoid it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor WiFi...poor lightings...foul smell in corridors. WiFi was so bad that i had to connect my mobile with laptop for just browsing.

    bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed the stay, will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underneath the beds haven't been cleaned in a long time by the amount of dust and rubbish under there.

    The room was beautiful, well maintained and clean. facilities were great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    We had a very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception mixed up our booking and gave us to start with a very dingy poky room with 2 single beds in it. We did get this corrected and got the actual accommodation we booked.

    We liked the location in CBD, the spacious window, the view over Little Bourke Street, and the natural light in the room. The air conditioner worked well, the room was a very comfortable temperature with the frost outside.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Cozy, fantastic location but no hot water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water the first time we stayed and not much warmer water at all the last time we stayed. Whatever had been used to clean the shower floor was still on the floor when I went to use it and caused everywhere to be foamy and slippery.

    Cozy bed, fantastic natural lighting, loved the lamp in the room, general utensils were great and friendly staff were helpful and hospitable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.4
    A pole in a northerly direction
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water for shower in winter Freezing room - aircon/heat did not work I asked one of the friendly cleaners and she changed the settings but still did not work. In the morning of leaving I just wanted to get out of there and head to a warm cafe!

    I liked the kettle - the only source of warmth in this freezing place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    good location, good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    kettle didn't work in our room which was disappointing. quite noisy as it's on a busy street with thin windows.

    great location. have stayed here twice now as they have good deals when you book in advance. lots of food nearby and just around the corner from bourke st mall and trams!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Melbourne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We have stayed there many times. Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Thanks Cosmo in particular. Parking near hotel is safe and secure and good value. We love this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.0
    The location was very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we were allocated was mouldy and damp, had peeling paint and a bedside lamp with broken wires! The valances looked very old and worn. Furniture was old. The lift carpet was disgusting. The owners need to spend some money on refurbishment.

    The location was very central.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and price. Ideal for solo or couple travelling.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small fridge would come out of the gap in the cabinetry when you tried to open the door No onsite parking Room sleeps 2 with free child in existing bedding but has only a double bed.

    Located in the heart of Melbourne the property has easy access to many of the local sights. The room was clean and modern. Shower had good pressure and bathroom was sparkling clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    A convenient inner city place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The milk satchels in the fridge were frozen because the fridge ice box was frozen up. The hairdryer was not working properly - no air flow and started glowing.

    The room was clean and the hotel was close to restaurants and the centre of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    The location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and it’s stunk like cigarette smoke. Even in the Hall way, it was that bad we had to put a towel under the door. I don’t know whether people were smoking in the Hall way or not but it certainly smelt that way.

    The location was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    The staff were friendly and i guess it was okay for what we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no views from the room and no balconies

    The staff were friendly and i guess it was okay for what we paid, was expecting a room with a view or some kind of balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking out was a pain as we had a unhelpful staff member that was more Sarcastic then helpful with the hotel Policy about lost room cards, as first he said it was $40 then said $50... he got it right at the end but he still gave us a hard time 🙁

    walking distance to everything and cafes, Bars and restaurants all around the area...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location and good value for money, but needs improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not sound proof so sometimes noisy at night, inconsiderate people playing loud music very late at night in room next to us. Room needed full-length mirror and new windows.

    Room was small but bed comfortable (very squeaky bed). Bathroom modern, and clean except for skirting boards. Overall our room was well equipped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    As we were out during the day this was adequate for our needs. Staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No place to put suitcases off the floor. If corner display cupboard removed could have a bench there. Light in kitchen not working. Rail to hang towels way too high and above toilet. Was room to install a double rail near hand basin.

    Beds and bedding clean and comfortable, excellent. Plenty of hot water and good shower. Staff friendly and helpful. Ideal location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    The bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the window was atrocious but I guess we weren't there for the view.

    The bed was comfortable. The water in the shower was lovely and hot. There was no traffic noise. It was a short walk into town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Cheap but wouldn’t stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel stank like cigarette smoke and parking is advertised as $10 for every exit but I didn’t exit and parked less than 24 hours and was charged $22. Car park was also quite a walk from the hotel

    Bathroom was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.2
    Below average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room desperately need to be refurbished totally.

    Even though we were upgraded upon arrival, room given looks very old and tired. Air conditioning did not work in the first instance, phone go call reception did not work, shower head wonky, room not clean stains on floor, bin pedal broken, stain on bed spread, pillows and everything in the room feels and look cheap and no doona just bedspread and sheets, noisy at night hearing activities outside the hotel. The room we stayed in desperately need an overhaul. The reception attendant on departure day, his shirt was so creased it was so noticeable, not presentable at all to represent the hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    All in all, I would pay a little extra to stay somewhere more comfortable next time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    While I expected the place to be cheap and cheerful, it was only cheap. The front desk staff were polite but unfriendly. The room was incredibly dated, bed linen very old and the mattress and pillows very uncomfortable.

    The price! We were staying in the city for convenience and wanted somewhere cheap and central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.3
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price for this hotel is way to expensive for what it it. As soon as you walk in you can smell smoke and chlorine even though it is a non smoking building. Not clean at all, The hallway was disgusting, felt sick walking through with the smell. Our rooms were very out dated with sticky tape over the lamps. The bed was very uncomfortable, it had a mattress than foam on top, which made the single bed even smaller to sleep in as it didn't cover the mattress. Horrible place to stay for that price. Will not even look back at staying at this place again.

    it was close to were we needed to be but will not stay here again. should have gone to the other hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.4
    Pobably not again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Went to make a coffee however Milk in fridge was frozen, bathroom light didn't work. Made a booking for 2 rooms on arrival only a booking for 1 room was made and Hotel was fully booked. Reception then had to locate another hotel for 1 of us to stay at. At least they picked up the bill for the extra cost.

    LOcation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    the afterhour security at the front door was lacking and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cleanliness underneath the bed can improve, as well as the shower. the desk was about to fall apart

    the afterhour security at the front door was lacking and allows strangers to walk-in and even operate the lift without security access card

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    3.3
    Filthy, terrible accommodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was filthy. The floors and walls were dirty. It smelt and the place was cramped. We booked for 2 adults and a child. There was no bed for the child. Staff said she was to sleep with us??? this was not appropriate.

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Great value in the heart of Melbourne CBD.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small and furniture a little dated. The walls were thin, a bit of noise from neighbouring rooms.

    Great central location in the heart of Melbourne CBD. The bathroom appeared clean and modern. The room was cozy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was requesting for a room with easy access to the lift since Ive brought a family member with wheelchair. Im surprised that we were given a room with a disable toilet facilities! The hotel is also next to an Indonesian restaurant serving halal food. Easy for us as Muslim travelers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    excellent place for shopping & eating in the city!
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms a bit small, clean but not pristine, floorboards not carpet.

    excellent location for shopping & lots of eating choices close by, staff were friendly, room was small but what I expected, was clean but not pristine, great to have a small kitchen in the room as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.4
    Descent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not specify that the sofa bed stated to be included in the package was only given if you specifically requested it on top of the booking. A little misleading.

    View was good. Proximity to most place in the CBD was ideal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    After staying for 3 days , checked out at 12.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After staying for 3 days , checked out at 12.30 pm on day 3 and they charged extra half a day , which I think was very unfair from the customer point of view. Was unable to negotiate with the incharge at that time at all. ( The charge for per night was 129$ )

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    2.9
    Never Again..
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about it. Very dirty. Blanket too warm for weather. No view at all like living in a bunker. Cooking utensils insufficient and dirty. Poorly lit room with no dressing table for woman. Never cleaned floors. Never provided shaving cream even though they kept a bottle for it. Did not refill hand soap bottle enough to go one day. Did not provide enough milk for four cups of tea a day. Mostly drunk people live here making noise throughout the night causing trouble for sleep. No safe to keep valuables. No lobby. What more?

    Absolutely nothing. I choose it only because I had to board next day and this was the cheapest hotel in Melbourne CBD. Now I understand why this hotel had vacancies.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Great experience, will definitely book again for our next trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    More lighting in the room please. It was a bit dark!

    Great Location, close to everything. The room was very clean and the staff especially dayshift female receptionist was very kind and very helpful with her great suggestion. We really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location at reasonable price
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neither reading light worked (wiring damaged by previous rough treatment), but replacement was quickly found by efficient reception guy. If that is the worst, then it’s pretty good!

    This was an unexpected return trip, two weeks following my last stay. Room rates did not go up over Easter, room was slightly larger. Welcome is efficient and businesslike. Local area is close to Bourke St mall and crammed with laneway restaurants. Small kitchen in rooms is good and well maintained. Thank you to room service who performed a convincing coughing fit for April Fools Day. Noice!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.2
    Not happy Jan
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets within building were revolting , looked like student accommodation not a hotel . Rubbish in bins next to lift left for over 24 hours cleaner walked past it plus in lift stuff on floor . Worst of all people smoking in the the rooms which filled out room didn't sleep at all . Management said couldn't do anything . Paid way to much for a hostel not hotel . When leaving they said they would leave it to management to call me !! This did not happen. Pay an extra $20 and get a nicer place to stay . Just looked dirty . Only bonus is location .

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    3.3
    Do not stay here! You've been warned!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I’ve stayed in a lot of hotels around the world, this hotel would have to rank the worst! I’m making you aware right now, if you are considering staying at the YTI Gardens Hotel in Melbourne - DON’T! It’s filthy! The mould in almost every room will have you running for the bleach before you think about taking your shoes off! There was bird dropping’s on the floor and lounge! The cleaners missed that obviously! There was a shower, but that didn’t work. Carpets dirty and stained. The noise outside during the night will have you yawning the whole of the next day. But the most disgusting thing - finding 6 used condoms under our bed! If you read reports to consider staying at places - do not stay here, even if you are desperate! Please pass this on to everyone you know that may visit Melbourne - stay away from YTI Gardens Hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Overall, hotel was great but noise at night-time from next door reduces overall score.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room backed onto a spot with airconditioning machines for the building next door, so there was always a humming noise happening, which made it difficult to fall asleep. And Also difficult to stay asleep. If the windows were double or triple glazed, it may not have been that noisy. Would be willing to come back to this hotel if I can be assured of a better room next time.

    Location was ideal for my purpose, quiet inside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    4.2
    Dirty room with no facilities. Wasted my money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very dirty and the facilities in the room were not what we had been told there would be. The fridge was not a bar fridge it was tiny. It wasn't big enough to hold milk, butter and cheese. Ridiculous. There were no utensils to cook with. We had a grotty frying pan and saucepan (which we wouldn't use as they were filthy), no plates just bowls. basically we were unable to cook in the room although we had paid for an apartment. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and need replacing. All in all this hotel does not meet the 3.5 stars it is supposed to have. It is terrible and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. It is also extremely expensive for what it is. I have contacted the manager who has said they will take my feedback on board but I am not holding my breath.....

    The location is great. Very close to all amenities and transport

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    Lucky i was only staying one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price, highly over priced for what it was, room was tiny, AC was noisy as hard to find literally a sign out the front that says Hotel no signage of the actual hotel name unless you look inside, could not recommend.

    close to where i needed to be

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location noisy wear ear plugs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment- Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise... street noise was terrible with single glaze windows we heard nearby restaurant and bar patrons, late night vehicles and early morning street cleaners and delivery vehicles. In the room the floor boards creaked and the air conditioning was noisy and had to be turned off. Drunk was roaming the floors knocking on doors looking for whoever.

    Location was great with easy walk to mall etc, restaurants close for dinner and cafe for breakfast. Room was as expected and a good size for a twin room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.4
    Very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to get a good nights sleep .

    Unfortunately very hard bed very uncomfortable Noisy overlooked alley that homeless live in at night . Noise all night . Cracked glass window . Recommend top on mattress and sound proofing .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.3
    Adequate room but not somewhere to linger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looks out into dirty central air shaft between buildings. Can't even see the sky.

    It is in an excellent location. Close to restaurants and public transport. Bed comfortable. Shower fine. Very quiet for city centre. Felt safe.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.1
    We stayed at YTI on our first trip to Melbourne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location

    We stayed at YTI on our first trip to Melbourne. The location was close to the city center. The room was basic, clean and comfortable. We would recommend this hotel for basic accommodation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Value for money in a great part of city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Furniture is a little tired, but at this price, with comfy bed and good kitchenette, it's all good.

    Met my expectations: great area of Melbourne to stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Very central, great water pressure, clean and comfortable...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows aren't double glazed so there was quite a lot of noise from outside that woke me up.

    Very central, great water pressure, clean and comfortable although furnishings were a little tired/shabby. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse YTI Garden Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: