Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Lodge Hotel 3.5 stars

Level 2, 15-17 Hunter Street, Sydney CBD, 2000 Sydney, Australia

#226 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 894 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.2
    Would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed had no spring to it, like sleeping on a concrete floor, difficult access with luggage due to no lifts, very small cramped room.

    Proximity to Circular Quay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    Needs new mattresses!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can feel the mattress springs in your back.. no face washers. 10 months ago I stay in the exact same room and had something gross on the wall in the cupboard, and it’s still there.. extra pillows are put in front so you can’t see it- room 402. Needs a lot of upgrades to be done.

    Close to everything. Cheaper than other hotels. Has stairs but I didn’t have a problem with that. Older people might complain though. I liked the kitchen area with appliances that aren’t in the room so you can still cook. Free wifi, tv

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location, helpful stuff but rooms would benefit from some refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms didn't have proper windows. Although the bedding itself was very clean, the rest of the room (bed overthrow, furniture, walls) looked very dated. It was in contrast with common area that looked absolutely fine.

    Location is brilliant - very central, close to Circular Quay and walking distance to major tourist attractions. Rooms had private en suite showers that were clean and looked as they had been recently refurbished.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Business travel rather than holidays
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was unaware when I booked that there was no elevator at the hotel. The information is there but it needs to be more prominent. The hotel is showing signs of wear. The bathroom rubbish bin hadn't been emptied when I checked in. This was quickly remedied.

    Great location walking distance to Wyndham station and Circular Quay. Able to open window for fresh air at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.7
    Basic budget hotel in great downtown location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were furnished with old cheap furniture and decor but this is an expectation for budget hotel. There were strong warnings about setting off the fire alarms by not closing bathroom door. Kettle had to be boiled inside bathroom as no plug outside due to setting off fire alarm, just be careful of this or you may risk a $997 fine! To have such obvious warnings suggests a design flaw. You could not stay here unless you were able to carry your own luggage up 2 flights of stairs. Managed only from 8-8.

    Great location close to Wyndham Station and very easy access from airport. The room we stayed in was large and had a modern,refurbished bathroom. Just 10 mins walk from circular quay and The Rocks. The price for this location is great value. But expect basics- if you are with just happy with a place to stay in CBD, this might be a good choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Great place for overnight stay-easy walking distance to circular quay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit disappointed that we couldn't boil kettle in room due to risk of setting off fire alarm. We had to boil it in the community kitchen and then walk back up the stairs with boiling water. I felt this was a real safety concern.

    Room good size,nice new large screen tv,fairly quiet despite being in middle of city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    Don't not stay unless backpacking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con filthy so could not be used, stairs to room very steep difficult with luggage. Beds were uncomfortable. Shady other guest. I think this hotel is best hired by the hour.

    Nil

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.3
    The staff were nice and waited for us as we arrived late.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air-conditioning seemed like it had not been cleaned for a while, we did not turn it on. The sheets had what appeared to be mould in one small spot, it was under the covers (topside) so did not notice initially, it might not have been mould but looked like it. Lots of steps on top floor (73 actually), good for my fitbit challenge.

    The staff were nice and waited for us as we arrived late.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Ok for the money but not where I would take someone trying to impress them
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I guess for the price the property is what I expected, the rooms just seemed a bit kind of stale, the rooms felt like they were just kind of maintained to a standard so as not to loose any bookings but I think if the company spent a bit of time on the property this would improve the overall ratings, the price at the moment seems right as not having any lift access and the location is great in the city of Sydney, but could do with some freshening up :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    We were only on a short stay and loved the location of this hotel and it's surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the fact that we had a window but it was covered in a film or such where you could not see out (maybe it looked out to a wall). Therefore we had no natural lighting. I didn't find the reception staff as friendly as other hotels we have stayed in but this can relate to various personalities.

    The excellent location. Good showers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Great location in CBD. Friendly, helpful staff. No lift only because its a historical building.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very comfortable. Great facilities with table and seat in room. Quite spacious for studio room. Communal kitchen allowing for cooking own meals.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    3.3
    Nevere again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dirty. Stained carpets. Sheets didn't fit bed properly. Staff reluctant to put things right. Poor English. Photos on web site don't match the property. We strayed before and after a cruise and asked for 1st floor rooms on our return and were advised this was available. We checked again on the morning of our arrival in Sydney and assured this would be available. When we checked in this was not the case. When we asked for our money back they were able to accommodate our request. Broken door on bathroom cabinet too.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location but marred by the lack of a lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of a lift was terrible as we had large cases for our two week cruise to New Zealand. Our ages range from 68 to 76 so we needed assistance, which was not available.

    location is it's main draw card.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing due to the smell.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room had bad mouldy smell which I mentioned to staff, not good for health. Shower was a pathetic dribble. Walked straight past it, easy to miss. No windows/natural light as they were painted over.

    The location was perfect for me, very central and not far from Wynyard Station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Cheap close to Wynyard station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were beyond uncomfortable and couldn’t open window for fresh air had to use air conditioner. Also didn’t receive wifi password

    Cheapest option that wasn’t a hostel that is kind of in a good location in the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    A great location but we will not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift. So difficult as we are 81 & 73 respectively. Also, a silly note "please do not use too much toilet roll"

    The hotel in a great location for where we needed to be

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    2.5
    Crappy, uncomfortable, smelled, worst hotel I've stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It stunk from the moment we entered,flight of stairs to next level, my room stunk, pathetic place, bed was crappy, couldn't sleep from the smell. If this is your preference in a hotel im amazed. Worst night out, stayed out late not to smell this dump.

    I didn't like anything about this place, ill never come to this dump. If i was you booking.com take this off your list.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift so people with heavy suitcases beware and a bit noisy however it is in the CBD and there was a bit of construction work around .

    Location is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    We were attending Hillsong Colour Conference in City and needed to relax as well Hotel was good!
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The other staff did not understand or accept our request for extra towels so we could have a shower at night after church conference as well as a shower in the morning.the second day the tea tray was not replenished nor was toilet paper supplied.

    Shelley was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.0
    Sydney stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance stairwell did not smell clean and front door did not automatically close when came in after hours. Room was ok but smelt slightly musty.

    Location great - 5 minutes to the rocks, Circular Quay and central city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    The City Lodge Hotel suited our purposes and was convenient for all that we had to do.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Airconditioning would turn off during the night. Windows were a bit small.

    Location was perfect for navigating Sydney by train or by walking. Staff were very helpful and informative.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.3
    Wouldnt stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hole in blanket, bathroom was very small, couldnt unlock our room at 2 am after a concert the key wouldnt work. They came and helped quickly tho. Floors are stained bad

    Location staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude, room hadn’t been thoroughly cleaned, there was hair from a previous person in the shower and a cotton bud under a bed, the room smelt

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.0
    Would stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little mould in the shower.. a little dust on the floor..

    Extremely good location. Helpful staff who helped us out with very late travel problems.. so kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.4
    Good location but too many issues causing poor sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't sleep for the noise of the road works outside. If we had of known we would have gone elsewhere. Also the bed was too short. I'm 5'9"and my feet were hanging over the end of the bed. The bathroom door also made a loud noise everytime it was opened or closed. The glass doors to the bathroom let the light into the bedroom when you went to the toilet during the night.

    Great location near circular quay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    4.2
    Was close to the railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not suitable for elderly or people that are not fit. No lifts and lots of stairs . Hard beds. Strange smell,had a family room but only had 2 cups and 2 glasses.

    Was close to the railway station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.7
    Hostel kind of accomodation. Central. 10min walk to the Library or the Hospital.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are really horrible if travelling with a big suitcase as i was. The noise from the street and from the stairs. The rooms really could use some soundproof changes.

    The location is very good in the cbd. Able to iron my clothes or wash them if needed or even cook some food was possible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be better with a lift to all levels. Our room's window only looked on a dark noisy service shaft.

    Handy to all visitor locations in centre city. Close to train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    A very reasonable price for excellent accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no lift, so it is a long flight of stairs up to the reception desk, and depending on which floor you are on, potentially another three flights of stairs. Good exercise, but don't have a heavy bag to carry. The windows are frosted over, so no view.

    The location was excellent, right in the CBD, close to trains and shops, theatre and restaurants. A heritage style building, the room had been updated and was modern and clean. A great place to stay for a short stay. There is a kitchen and lounge area separate to your room. Very much a hidden gem. Wilson Parking at Angel Place, Pitt Street is a secure parking station around the corner, with excellent overnight rates. A Tip: Book on line, it's cheaper!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.8
    Won’t be staying there again
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, the shower and basin in the bathroom had cold water and we had to use the staff sleeping quarters to have shower one floor down. We asked for extra bed and they didn’t bother to take the huge chair out of the room leaving no room to walk around the bed. The room was also booked for three people and the only gave us two towels on two occasions, so we had to go down to reception to ask for extra.

    Close to mayor train lines and shops

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.4
    The location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does not meet expectations - rooms look different than the pictures, there is a very small window with no view, there is no elevator and the room is really small. Air conditioner did not seem to work.

    The location is very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Perfect central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location on the Main Street within walking distance to everything. No need for the Hop On Hop Off! There was a central kitchen for anyone to use as well an iron and board.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevators. Also, there was a yellow spot on the sheet on the bed and smells a little like urinate. The rest of the room was clean. Spacious room, perfect for a couple or one person-

    Location of hotel it’s great, amenities and restaurants at walking distances.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    2.9
    Lugging luggage up stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lugging luggage up stairs. Mold and hole in ceiling. And the possibility of a fine if the steam from shower or kettle set off fire alarm and the fine of $1770.00. Staff talking in front of door in Chinese loudly. Won’t go there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.0
    Good location of the hotel, close to everything.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite dirty. There was hair on the bed linen everywhere and the bed linen was very dirty and hat lots of stains. The furniture was old and dated.

    Good location of the hotel, close to everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    5.4
    It served its purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to take the kettle to another floor, by stairs, to boil the jug. Apparently the steam sets off the fire alarm. Not good enough.

    The bathroom, though tiny, was modern and the water pressure was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.3
    Don't expect too much for a budget stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are a bit old. There is no lift in the hotel, we have to carry our lugguages to the fourth floor on steps.

    Great location, close to railway station and main Wharf.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    ok for an overnight stay but because of all the stairs wouldnt stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    didn't like so many flights of stairs being both in our 70's , the kettle had to be boiled in the bathroom instead of near where the teacups were. Asked receptionist about markets and she told us where to go and said thought they closed at 5pm but when we walked down to there found they did not open on a Tuesday, being a popular place she should have known or just checked open times

    The room was comfortable and clean, we were able to leave our suitcases at reception if we were not able to leave them there we would have had to find alternative accommodation, good kitchen facilities and lounge to guests to use

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs to rooms. Door wouldn’t always shut properly. Kept beeping. You were advised to shut the bathroom door to the room otherwise the smoke detector could go off and if it did you’d receive a $1140- bill. Made you a bit nervous to shower. There was a shower door too though. You got a kettle in your room but you had to take it up or down ( depending on room ) to a kitchen. The kitchen was very well set up though and it looked as if you could cook in it. Also there was a Lounge you could sit in. Quite nice. Needed a bit of a paint in areas of the room, but was clean. Bathroom had been updated but the main glass bathroom door was heavy and the hinges weren’t working properly. Saw a cockroach in the shower cubicle at night. Was very good value in Sydney though and very close to Circular Quay.

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    A good place to stay for a short visit to Sydney CBD
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner was on a timer so it turned off automatically every hour. While it didn’t bother me, there is no lift so you have to take your bags up stairs.

    City Lodge is centrally located. It is 10 minutes walk to Circular Quay and 3 minutes to Wynyard Railway Station. The facilities are quite comfortable without being luxurious. It provides good value for money in central Sydney. The room was quiet at night. There is a good Malaysian restaurant about 50 metres away and convenience stores close by.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.5
    Great value if your looking for something basic in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC didn't work very well in the room and also the room is a strange shape making it difficult to walk around the bed. Stairs are steep.

    Great location, right next to train station and not that far of a walk to CBD and tourist spots. Convenience store and restaurants on same street. Has a large communal kitchen and living area to use. Bed was comfortable Overall great for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.1
    Good value for low end-price point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift so luggage had to be carried up stairs. Decor was outdated.

    Booked room for a one night stay following a cruise. Wasn't looking for anything special other than a decent place to lay my head before flight home. Hotel is conveniently located in Sydney CBD. Based on other reviews I wasn't expecting high-end amenities, but it did came at a low end price-point. For the price this was a good deal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    4.2
    This hotel is dirty and disgusting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is gross. The floors and rooms are dirty. It was disgusting. Just walking in the room in bare feet made our skin crawl. It isn't clean! We will never even consider staying here again

    It Is in a great location. That is the only good thing about it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.1
    Good location, friendly staff, some maintenance issues need attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioner needs cleaning (Vents dirty). Some mold on bathroom ceiling. Double bed is 2 single beds pushed together which is uncomfortable if you lay over the join.

    Good location & friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    Great nights sleep with everything you need for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing would be stairs to hotel, if your old or not good on your feet that would be quite hard if not impossible did see any lifts. But we were fine carring our heavy cases.

    The bed was the best I’ve slept in other than my own and that is what I want. Close to Circular Quays

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.5
    Fine for a short overnight stay but having no lift I’d have to go elsewhere next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Rooms start on first floor our room was on the second after initially being put on third floor. There was no way we could manage our luggage (14 day cruise worth) on our own. There was no staff who could even help us. The location was excellent. The room was comfortable but no view at all, and the shower recess needs some attention along with extra power points.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    It’s a nice place, clean and tidy. There are no frills. You have to walk up and down stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t control the air conditioning from the room and the method to do so was inconvenient. Probably not a big deal, but it was a hot night and that was a pain... To get to your room you have to walk up stairs - this wasn’t clear when i booked and didn’t bother me - but i did have to help some elderly people with their bags on the way out ....

    The room was very clean and tidy. Everything worked.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    5.5
    Very glad we only had one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet and shower were in second bedroom with glass frosted doors access only through bedroom no privacy at all. 2 cups 3 towels for 4 adult guests . 84 steps to our room narrow and steep slippery when wet .rooms were very musty def would not stay again !!!!

    Position was excelent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    5.8
    adaquate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom was cramped shower/toilet/ hand basin was tightly squeezed together and only frosted glass door so not much privacy .

    could come and go as you pleased

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    Reasonably priced for the location and facilities. Fine for just a stopover night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was tiny, shower leaked and it all smelt a bit strange. Very loud in the early morning with cleaners in other rooms and people above us.

    Free wifi, close proximity to train station and the air conditioning and block out curtains.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location and very clean. Staff was helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The night works on George street, but that couldn't be helped. My elderly mother found the steps a bit difficult.

    An easy walk through the Hunter Arcade from Wynard Station, and it the exit was right next to the Hotel. Plenty of nearby places for Breakfast and once the light rail comes into service and they open up George street, it's in a perfect location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    The location was good for NYE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was 4 floors up and was a real problem with 4 big cases and no lift! The room was tired and needed updated. There is only one fire escape and that’s the front door! One to think about!

    The location was good for NYE.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.9
    value of money. if you are single or two, that place is perfect..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    stairs; we had booked the family ensuite which was on the fourth floor and there is no lift but we already knew that..

    location of the hotel is excellent. everything in cbd is on the walking distance

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    4.2
    Average place to stay but with a handy location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    taps in the bathroom dripped all night, air con water hose runs into the bathroom and leaks on the floor so you get wet feet every time you go to the toilet

    comfy bed, handy location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.1
    Our room was comfortable and well presented, but with no lift we would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We discovered when we arrived that we were on the fourth floor and there was no lift. The receptionist was very helpful and carried up a suitcase as did another guest who came behind us. We are a retired couple with some health problems and carrying cases up like that would have been very difficult. Had the fact there was no lift been advertised we'd have looked elsewhere.

    The room was very comfortable and there was no traffic noise. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.2
    Ultra convenient location for CBD.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift (but we knew that!)

    Excellent location. Very close to a wide range of places to eat. Easy walking distance to all central attractions and underground train stations. Reception happy to store luggage after checkout until we were ready to go to airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    5.0
    see above
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was adequate but a real problem for anyone with a disability of suitcases! Stairs between floors and very steep and narrow and not conducive to an enjoyable stay. were very noncommital - no friendliness, not ---- nothing, just blank. Stayed because of its location to circular quay to board a ship, won't return.

    Closeness to Circular Quay - that all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    4.2
    Razoável
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad cleaning. There is no elevator! The kitchen is terrible no panela. The bedroom is glued to the kitchen. Any noise listens inside the room. if you need to cook do not look for this hotel. the toilet when it triggers the discharge makes an unbearable noise.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    it was good for one night, suited us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the TV didn't work,we asked the desk if they could fix it. but the TV still pixilated, only could get poor ABC, the stairs were a workout

    close to the city

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    5.4
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only 1 room key for 2 people. Smudges all over the walls. Not the cleanest bathroom/room. Room furnishings quite old and worn.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    5.4
    Not what we anticapated nor the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Basically nothing. The room was on the fourth floor (72 steps up) , no lift. One window that looked out onto a blank cement wall, no screen, dirty) The property was located next to a convience store and booze place. Broken bottles on the street next to our entry and exit to the hotel. Not worth the money.

    The staff was nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m use to staying in low price accommodation so rare to what I would expect - but this place wins as my lowest review ever. Stairs, yes there are lots however the issue is it’s heritage listed and has the old stairs before standards came in - so they are very steep with huge heights between each step so it does make it harder than most places with stairs to go up and down - however I was expecting stairs and just wanted to warn how these were a little more painful than usual. The bed - the floor would have been nicer. It was 2 bottom parts on top of each other with a quilt under the sheet for ‘softness’. I barely slept and couldn’t move for days after 2 nights on basically wood. Then there was the fact I booked this as 4 adults and a child only to find when I got there it was a room for 4 people - even had a sign in big letters stating max. 4 people. No bed of course for our child. Luckily they do give extra sheets and pillows and we made a bed on 2 chairs. Then the bathroom - first you have lovely mould everywhere - not just the around the shower type but huge patches just growing on the door frame - easy to honestly clean but no one has. I’m use to outdated and hard to get to and clean mould in some places but this was just disgusting laziness. Then the shower head is broken and is basically just a handheld shower making it hard to soap up and wash off while trying not to touch anything Incase you catch something. Plus trying to work quick as they have a warning the steam will set off the fire alarm and the fine is over $1,500 yet no way to vent the steam in the bathroom - so may as well have a cold shower. If it wasn’t for the fact I couldn’t find somewhere else to stay for 5 people that day in our price range I wouldn’t have stayed. Will never stay there again which is rare for me to say.

    Location and price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    3.8
    Worse hotel I have ever stayed at. Will never stay again. Price should only be $80 -$100
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel had only stairs that were not mentioned on the website. No lift we had to walk up 4 lots of 20 stairs with suitcases. Cockroaches were in our room. Rooms were old and air con didn't work very well. I would never recommend this property. Someone in a wheelchair went to go to the hotel when we were there and had to find and pay for another hotel as there is 20 stairs just to check in. We were charged $4 for stuff we didn't use and still waiting for a refund. Six of us stayed there and no one was happy. One room had no hot water and lots of noise from the kitchen.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Good communal facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift so struggle with luggage up step stairs.( We did know before booking).

    Good location for walking to circular quay to board cruise ship. Good communal kitchen and lounge facilities and lots of information available for travellers/backpackers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Really good location, right in the middle of the CBD.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stairs to go up to the rooms can be difficult for some persons

    Really good location, right in the middle of the CBD. Big and clean room, quiet surrounding even if in the middle of the CBD. A real value for money, highly recommended

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    4.6
    Very very expensive for what it is. You are just paying for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely hard beds, very small family room, exposed wires in the main hallway, non Australian compliant safety glass in the bathroom, the glass just sits in metal framing, very dangerous. Lots stairs

    Location was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    5.0
    Good location but be prepared to carry your luggage upstairs without any help from a porter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel does not have a lift. The reception is 2 floors above ground level and our room was 2 floors above that. This was noted on the booking but in very small print ans was not highlighted. I would not have booked this hotel if I had noticed this.

    The hotel is situated in a very good location for visiting Sydney

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    2.5
    Hostal not a hotel with few facilties, poor rooms, poor value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Musty cramped room, small window, mould in shower room, 3 flights of narrow stairs - dangerous for older people, no external fire escape, poor security

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Location, price, good nights sleep, modern bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure about the escape plan if there's a fire.

    I have to say that for the price I had a brand new bathroom, totally quiet night (I'm a light sleeper), the bed was fine, beers was $4 a can and I'm walking distance to Curcular Quay and the entire CBD area. For the price I could not have asked for more.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.8
    I won't return for another stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very out-dated, the bedding had tears in the bed cover & pillow cases, the carpet was dirty, windows were dusty. Lots of stairs. Didn't smell very good.

    There was a bed, the bathroom looked new-ish & it was clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff allocate me a room in level 4 (room number in invoice is level 2), telling me no room left in level 2, no lift, needs to climb all the way up and down. The staff told me it is a good excercise. I am not coming to your hotel to excercise!

    Good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    3.3
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    27 stairs straight up with two 50lb cases was a real problem!! And the place smelled so bad of asain food you could hardly breathe,dirty carpet ,mold in the shower,don't think the location is worth it it's not!!

    Location only

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    I enjoy the location and stayed here every year for several years. Just ensure access is available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On returning to the room on the second night of stay, Sunday night, the swipe cards we had did not open the door. This was a bit of an issue as my friend was in need of a comfort stop. Had to make several attempts to open door before calling the emergency number and waking up a staff member to open door for us with Master swipe card. Also shower head could not be tightened and had to be held in hand.

    easy check-in and early access to room. Good location, No street noise. Plenty of room. Clean and tidy with all the basics available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    For the cost it was what we expected, however as mentioned due to there being no lift we will not be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We should have been advised that there were was no lift. Totally ridiculous trying to carrying suitcases up and down 4 flights of stairs. You have a health and safety problem. We will not be going back to your hotel.

    The location was excellent to the train station and circular quay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was fine, its an older hotel but we knew that when we booked. it was the location we were after

    location was perfect. within walking distance to train and circular quay

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: