Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ady's Place Backpackers, Sydney

103-105 Palmer Street, Woolloomooloo, 2011 Sydney, Australia

#303 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 121 hostel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited space I kitchen .

    Most conveniently located to transport, restaurants,sport facilities and gardens. The staff are diligent about cleaning . It was a secure and convenient location. Bed linen was spotless and I slept well. Friendly and sociable place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waking up to a vacuum every single morning at 6 am!!! They vacuum the corridor at 6 am every day. Why they don't just do that at 2pm is ridiculously stupid. Constant cold showers as there not enough facilities. Only one sink and two showers you can never have a shower or brush your teeth. Only two washing machines you can never get your laundry done.

    Location is pretty good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most overcrowded hostel I've ever been to. 99% of people there are students hence everything is a huge mess, it's dirty and everyday there is a party inside. Did I mentioned the conditions of bathrooms and "showers"? I'll spare you the nasty details and tell you the following: overall conditions in this place are simply inhumane - and I've been in many hostels over the years but this is way too much to accept or to even tolerate. Pay a little bit more and book in a proper hotel because it's gonna be worth it.

    Location maybe?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small.. kitchen small.. bedrooms and bathrooms.. not enough space for all the people that stays there. Hard to socialise

    Great location, wifi and breakfast. Confy beds and lockers in room. Clean hostel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. They had TV room, Bed sheets were prepaired on arrival, room had private shower. Very good place for backpackers. Very good location inside of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The romms are really small, so there is nearly no space for the luggage. There is only one bathroom with two showers and toilets per floor. Common area, as specifically those for eating, is to small.

    Rooms were cleaned every day, common areas and facilities several times a day. The bed lines were changed completely after every guest. Free breakfast every day and free pancakes on Sundays as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not enough space for the amount of guest in the building. The rooms, bathrooms and kitchen area are quite small and cramped.

    The room was very clean and new, the beds were really comfortable. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm and it was fairly quiet. The hostel is within walking distance of all sight seeing spots.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I never received my key deposit back, left very early morning on the 29th of April, the night manager took my card details and he told me that they would transfer the money to my card, but this never happened. 40 AUD (me and my friend’s key deposit) missing, even if we returned the key as instructed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were not very clean or functional. Lots of the stall doors didn’t close and the sink area was too small

    Staff was awesome and it was nice having breakfast included

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't expect too much of the bathrooms. They are small and quite old. I can say it was clean enough for a hostel, but not that clean. The kitchen is too small for such a big hostel like adys is.

    They've got a good and free wifi in all the hostel places. The bunks are big enough for a person who is almost 6.6 feet tall like me. But the rooms aren't so big. They got big lockers in all rooms and plugs near each bunk, good point.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot. Their was only two showers and two toilets. The bathroom was very cramped.

    The hostel was always super clean. Super helpful staff. Nice rooftop area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities are TOO small

    The hostel it has a great location, the place is clean and the staff very friendly, wifi works great!!! BUT the rooms, kitchen, tv room, everything is very small, so I didn't find that was a comfortable place in that way! To sleep is great, but just for that, because there is no much room! Staff was very helpful and trying to help all the time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dorms were a bit hot and stuffy at night even with the fan on, and toilets were a bit tight and cramped. However, it was a very low form rate of $25 per night and everything else was fine so overall good value for money.

    Very friendly staff at check in. Comfy beds and decent lockers in the dorms. Breakfast included in dorm rate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is full of backpackers who talks very loud throughout the night. Very small kithen and limited sitting area. All of the bathrooms doors are need to be fix.. and no place to put or hang your towel in the bathroom.

    Staff are very nice and frendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dont like the kings cross area personally for a number of reasons(nothing to do wif the hostel) the kitchen is a little small for the amount of ppl staying one other minor thing 2 toilets n 2 showers per level is mot enough other than that

    Its newly renovated hostel, most ppl r easy going, free wifi actually runs smooth n fast (unheard generally wen its free) new beds n mattresses were comfortable, new staff positive vibes everything is fresh

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is noisy everynight, all night long. It was a nightmare to a long stay. There is no rule for being quiet after certain time and the staff told me they could not do anything.

    Cleaner than average in Sydney.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms hot, one fan, no air con anywhere, no way of getting heat out of the kitchen and our room above was boiling. No lights next to the beds so if someone is already asleep you can't see anything. There are lockers but not big enough for a suitcase and the beds are too low to put big ones under so some luggage stays in the middle of the room in the way. The rooms are small and narrow so it's hard to get past people. The light from the hall comes in every time someone opens the door and shines on about 4 people. There are plugs but they should have a light plugged into one socket. Bathrooms outdated, no bath mat, see through shower curtain on one of the showers, the other has a door and is over a bath but has no shower curtain so the floor gets all wet, doors broken and some don't shut, toilets small, you hit people with the door when you go in, there's only one mirror and none in the rooms so once two people are doing their makeup there's no room in the bathroom atall. Men's tap loose, one shower one just comes off. Kitchen small, hard to get to anything and lots of people staying, not enough storage space. Staff used the kitchen on movie night to make popcorn in microwave which means noone could use it to cook their dinner and that should be the priority over the free popcorn. WiFi was only in the tiny reception area with no room as people need to check in and pass there, we couldn't even connect to it if more than a few people were there. People use the TV room to drink and play music so can't hear the tv, needs speakers at the back as a small wall blocks the sound. Too hot for the duvets so a sheet would be better. Room key deposit is fine but you should be able to just have one key for two of you if you want so you only have to pay one deposit. Windows are smashed.

    Short walk to main places in Sydney, 10 minute walk to tube. TV room is good Beds are comfortable, duvets and pillows are nice Lockers for bags

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it would be better if someone looking after the hostel at night because it’s too noisy and looks like everyone can do whatever they wanted.

    The staff were nice (especially the one who checked me in), the bed is not squeaky, very clean because this hostel was new.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -No locks at the door rooms, -2 toilets for the whole level (really?!?!?) - broken windows in the shower, also not covered so everybody from outside can watch you having a shower -needed to change beds in night because of rain and broken windows (wet beds and all our stuff become wet) -workers came at 7 in the morning and started to drill holes in to the doors (loud powertools) -super smal kitchen (no place at breakfast)

    It’s a brand new hostel. We stayed there for the first night after the opening and we got a really fair price. Nice rooftop area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had give 20$ security deposit while we didn't get keys for the room as 'they were not ready yet'. Super overcrowded as all rooms seem to be dorms with very small bathrooms and supersmall kitchen area. Social room would be a very small tv room. I don't think wifi was working everywhere in the building as I couldn't even see the network in my room.

    The place just opened. New beds, beddings. Relatively clean. Good location. Supercheap (we only paid 19$ pp pn for a 6 bed dorm).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public rooms weren't that clean, even if they were cleaned every morning. Further on the kitchen we're closed between 10pm and 8 am, so if you have to leave early there was no possibility to have breakfast before. But overall I can recommend this hostel.

    Due to renovation works at Adys Place we were booked to the Funkhouse Backpackers (same group). Hollie was an awesome host. The room was nice, clean and well equipped (with ventilation and TV). The hostel is in a great location direct at the train station Kings Cross so you could get everywhere really fast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It need more toilets & bathrooms.

    Strong wifi, Friendly staff, Location, Free Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit cramped.

    Great location and good management. Safe, clean and central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bigger bathrooms would have been nice, but works without any problems or hassle 😊

    Really good breakfast and nice with free coffee and te

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Everything is a gem

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water

    Bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small kitchen

    Basic Breakfast (Toast, Jam, Oats, Milk) awesome rooftop Barbecue (vegan option available:))

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    kitchen is very small and no enough tables for so many people

    Clean, bed was comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of eating area, toilets, shower curtains that weren't see through and hot water (though this was a one off)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Was way too hot in our room. A fan is not enough...

    Very kind staff. Loved the roof top to socialise with people from all around the world.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was extremely crowded

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tidy and clean. I'll come again 😁

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms could be better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t see nothing bad

    Really friendly environment, really clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bed and rooms, the rooms and many places of the hostel had bad smells. The fridges are worse.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse Ady's Place Backpackers, Sydney traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: